On this page:
Price Doogee S58 Pro
Unpacking
First configuration
Finish
Specifications
CPU / GPU Performance
Benchmark Antutu/3DMark
Network performance
Wifi performance
GPS performance
Battery range
Photo camera test
Hardware
Photoquality
Video quality
Audio quality
Screen quality
Biometry
Operating system
Test / Review conclusion
Questions answers

Best new price:
128.17 EUR
See the offer | eBay DE

66 other prices available in other stores.

Doogee S58 Pro comprehensive test / review

Doogee s58 Pro test / review

Category: Tests / Reviews

When I started testing phones on my blog, Xiaomi was still a somewhat exotic brand for most Europeans. This is no longer the case today and I wanted to test a brand that I had never tested before.[b][b]There are many Chinese brands that are still unknown in Europe and many of them will still be unknown in 3 years time, some will even have disappeared from the landscape. I chose Doogee because this brand has been around for 7 years and is growing every year. [b][b]There is something funny about the Doogee brand, if I had a dog, I could call it Doogee but the name is curious for a smartphone brand. Doogee mainly makes phones that are known to be unbreakable and are aimed at professionals (e.g. construction site workers) or outdoor sports enthusiasts who don't want to break their phone at the first shock. The brand may have a funny side, but that's not the case with phones![b][b]I recently tested another such phone, the Ulefone Armor 7, the Doogee is much cheaper but addresses the same segment.[b][b][b][b]linkManufacturer web site: https://www.doogee.cc/[b]linkSite where I have bought the Doogee S58 Pro: https://www.banggood.com/custlink/vGDYFr8wp6[b]

Structure of my tests

I test the phones according to a pre-established structure (see below) to provide you with as much information as possible. Unfortunately, this takes a long time. Some tests like network performance tests take several days and for photo tests I sometimes have to wait until the weather is suitable to take pictures in good conditions. I am therefore obliged to publish the tests step by step, so I invite you to come back if the test is not complete at the time of your visit.[b]
How are my tests different from others on the web?

- I usually buy the devices with my own money, so price is just as important as you are!
- I keep the devices for at least a few weeks (sometimes more) to see what they are worth in real conditions.
- I answer (when possible) your questions to help you decide before you buy
- no one pays me to do these reviews, so I'm completely neutral and independent...
- My pages are not filled with ads



Xiaomi Redmi Note 10: test / review
Redmi 9A test / review
Nokia 5.3 Test / Review
Xiaomi Mi 11 Lite test / review
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9T: test / review
Xiaomi Mi Watch Lite : test / review
Redmi 9C test / review
Umidigi A9 Pro test / review
Xiaomi Mi 10T Pro : test / review
Poco M3 : test / review

Price Doogee S58 Pro

The list below shows the prices for the Doogee S58 Pro from more than 50 sites around the world. If you are not satisfied with any price, you can subscribe to a price alert to be the first to be notified when the price drops.[b]
2020 Android 10 Smartphone DOOGEE S58 Pro/S40 Pro 6+64GB/4+64GB Outdoor Handy 4G...
2021-03-03 21:15
128 EUR
DOOGEE S58 Pro Global 5,71 Zoll IP68 Wasserdichtes NFC 6 GB 64 GB 4G Smartphone...
2021-03-03 07:14
132 EUR
DOOGEE S58 Pro Global 5.71 pouces IP68 étanche NFC 6GB 64GB 4G Smartphone...
2021-03-03 21:10
132 EUR
DOOGEE S58 Pro Global 5.71 pulgadas IP68 Impermeable NFC 6GB 64GB 4G Smartphone...
2021-03-03 21:20
132 EUR
DOOGEE S58 Pro Global 5.71 inch IP68 Waterproof NFC 6GB 64GB 4G Smartphone...
2021-03-03 21:05
160 USD
DOOGEE S58 Pro Smartphone Robuste IP68 étanche 5.71" 6Go + 64Go 16MP Trois Caméras 5180mAh Batteri...
2021-03-03 20:22
136 EUR
[b]
helpThe above links are affiliate links from companies such as Amazon, Gearbest, Aliexpress,... If you appreciate my work, I would be grateful if you could purchase these products through these links. It costs you absolutely nothing but I get a small commission that allows me to buy the material I test. Thank you very much!

Timeline

14/10/2020 : I bought the Doogee s58 Pro on Banggood for 110€.[b]26/10/2020: I have received the Doogee s58 Pro, so I can start the test.[b][b]

Why this phone?

I bought my first unbreakable phone a few months ago, I had bought the Ulefone Armor 7. I bought this phone out of curiosity and thinking that my test would only be of interest to people who need a solid phone for their work. I was quite surprised by the success of the phone and also by the public interested in this kind of phone. I hadn't imagined that sportsmen and women would be interested in this kind of phone, but it is indeed the case.[b][b]So I decided to test another phone of the same kind with a much more affordable price. [b][b]

Unpacking

[b][b]The Doogee's box has a special shape, I was not expecting a box like this at all. The Ulefone was packed in an industrial design box and in a format similar to other brands. The Doogee comes in a flat box that does not look like an industrial phone. [b][b]The contents of the box are well spaced out and include the phone, user manual, charger, USB C cable, USB to Jack connector and a small plastic scraper for cleaning the phone. This is an original accessory but it gives a fairly clear indication of the expected use of the phone.[b][b][b][b][b]
Length : 162.8
Width : 81
Thickness : 15.9
Weight : 284
Jack output : No
USB Type : Type C

First configuration

Setting up the Doogee s58 Pro follows the same steps as most Android phones with connecting to the network, updating the phone and recovering data from your old phone.[b][b]This procedure is minimal as Doogee is one of those manufacturers that do not impose any applications on you. Doogee does not install unwanted applications, I know that some visitors value this, so I'd rather say so.[b][b]

Finish

[b]The design of the Doogee s58 pro made me smile a little when I first picked it up. I'm sure that other manufacturers invest millions of Euros in the design of their phones, this is probably not the case with this Doogee and it is a perfect choice.[b][b]The Doogoo s58 pro is a work tool that is designed to withstand shocks rather than being a fashion item to be displayed in the evening. So the Doogee has a very industrial and rugged design but in this particular genre I think it's pretty good.[b][b][b]The front surface of the phone is quite large but the screen is actually quite small, it is one of the smallest screens I have ever had the opportunity to test, it measures less than 6 inches diagonally with a 61% occupancy rate. The screen is well protected by reinforced edges and I was surprised by the strength of the lighting which is really overwhelming for a phone of this size. The screen of the Ulefone Armor 7 is much less bright.[b][b][b]The sides follow the same line as the rest of the phone, they are reinforced with metal elements, the keys are also metal. There are the usual start and volume buttons on the right and on the left the red button is a customizable button. It is possible to associate a function or application to it for faster access.[b][b][b]The top and bottom of the phone are wrapped in a semi-rigid material to absorb shocks, the USB type C port is even completely covered by a cover.[b][b][b][b]The back of the phone is also well protected, the photo module is completely integrated in the back of the phone and protected by a resistant glass. I hope that this glass will not distort the colours of the photos as on the Ulefone Armor 7.[b][b]The loudspeaker is also located in the back, this is an unusual positioning, it will probably require some adaptation as the sound will come out of the back of the phone.[b][b]All in all I can't consider the Doogee s58 pro to be well finished but that's not the point anyway. In the industrial genre I think it's quite good.[b][b]

Specifications

[b]The information below comes from the Device Info HW application. The application provides detailed technical information about the tested phone.The Doogee S58 Pro doesn't have a technical specification that makes you dream, but at this price and for this kind of phone, it doesn't really pose a problem.[b][b]What I noticed:[b]- the screen has a resolution of 720p[b]- it uses a Mediatek processor which often results in better GPS performance[b][b][b][b]

CPU / GPU Performance

CPU : MediaTek Helio P22 MT6762
GPU : PowerVR GE8320
Memory (RAM) : 6 Gb
Storage : 64 Gb

Benchmark Antutu/3DMark

As I wrote in the previous paragraph, the Doogee S58 Pro is not a performance bully but this phone was not designed for a performance seeking audience. So an Antutu performance test doesn't make much sense but there are still some interesting elements.[b][b]I got an overall score of 92084 points, that's not much and it was predictable. On the other hand the CPU performance is better than the Huawei Y6 which has a similar configuration and the memory score is not very far from the Samsung Galaxy A21s. These elements probably explain why the Doogee is not appallingly slow in use. [b][b]The Doogee uses a sleek version of Android, which may also explain why it is fluid in use as an overlayer could have penalized it.[b][b][b][b]
Antutu score : 92084
Antutu CPU : 35248
Antutu GPU : 12861
Antutu UX : 16437
Antutu Mem : 27538
3D Mark Open GL : 424
[b]Top 10 - performance ranking based on Antutu
1. Oppo Find X2 Pro - 605184
2. Oneplus 8t - 595000
3. Xiaomi Mi 10t Pro - 581650
4. Oneplus 8 Pro - 579417
5. Xiaomi Mi 10 - 579114
6. Poco F2 Pro - 569559
7. Samsung Galaxy S20 Fe - 565000
8. Samsung Galaxy S20 - 503905
9. Huawei P40 - 466765
10. Huawei P40 Pro - 466765

Number of smartphones in the ranking:116
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:94/116

Note: this ranking only contains the phones I tested as well as a few others that I added for reference.
[b]Gaming[b]To test the performance in game, I download the mobile PUBG game and evaluate the in-game experience, graphics level and depth of vision. This game is quite demanding and should help you evaluating the performance of a phone.[b][b]I tested PUBG Mobile on the Doogee S58 Pro as I do with all other phones. The game works without any problem but you have to make some concessions on the experience like accepting jerky movements or evolving in a poor graphic environment. The textures are not very nice but with this level of performance, it is not possible to do better.[b][b]

Network performance

After testing the wifi and finding that the signal was below average, I was worried that the same could happen with the 4G signal. Fortunately, this is not the case. I took just over 800 measurements and I got an average signal of -96.22 dBm, which is a little above average.[b][b]The signal was fairly stable over all the measurements as it never went below -98 dBm and the best signal I got was -95 dBm. [b][b]
3G frequencies : B1 (2100), B2 (1900), B5 (850), B8 (900)
4G frequencies : B1 (2100), B3 (1800), B7 (2600), B8 (900), B20 (800)
Bluetooth : Bluetooth 5.0LE
Volte : Yes
NFC : Yes
Number measurements : 856
Average signal : -96.22
Choose your country to check if your phone is compatible:


The frequencies displayed below will allow you to see if this phone is compatible with your operator or if you will be able to use it in the country where you are going on vacation.


Signal 4G (before december 2020)[b]The ability to pick up the network correctly is an essential element for a phone but it is only very rarely measured. To measure a phone's ability to pick up the network, I perform a large number of measurements on the same cells to be able to compare phones under similar conditions. The signal is measured in dBm, a value of -90dBm indicates a worse signal than -70dBm. These measurements are therefore taken under real conditions and not in a laboratory, they are not scientific but give a good indication of performance. [b][b]Network signal sensitivity rating
Phone tested:Average signal (dBm)Number of measurements:
Xiaomi Mi 9t Pro-881600
Xiaomi Redmi Note 5-91.305600
Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite-93788
Samsung Galaxy A70-94.5111975
Nokia 5.3-94.98531
Realme 6-95.142301
Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro-95.9221599
Xiaomi Mi A3-95.951000
Huawei Y6 2019-95.951199
Doogee S58 Pro-96.22856
Redmi 9a-96.481000
Meizu Note 9-96.68937
Motorola G8 Power-96.881032
Xiaomi Redmi Note 7-97.011430
Redmi 9c-97.041000
Umidigi S3 Pro-97.131200
Xiaomi Redmi Note 8-97.34879
Samsung Galaxy A21s-97.781000
Umidigi F1-97.82298
Ulefone Armor 7e-98.71000
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite-991000
Honor 9x-99.14899
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s-99.41860
Poco F2 Pro-99.81247
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9-100.791785
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g-100.881198
Poco X3-101.19821
Umidigi F2-101.47712
[b][b]Signal 4G (from December 2020)[b]I decided to change the methodology for measuring the network because I noticed that the configuration of the mobile network changes over time. This makes it more difficult to compare phones because the conditions are no longer exactly the same.[b][b]To overcome this problem, I set up a device that captures 24 hours a day about ten parameters from the mobile network (ex: cell id, rssi, rsrq, snr, frequency,...). I then place the phone next to the device for 24 to 48 hours taking the same measurements so that I can compare them. [b][b] Overview of the phones tested with this methodology[b][b]
Phone tested:MeasurementsAvg signal (reference)Avg signal (phone)Min/Max (reference)Min/Max (phone)
Samsung Galaxy S10+457-93.06-97.39-89 / -98-97 / -99
Xiaomi Mi 9t Pro669-93.69-95.84-90 / -95-92 / -98
Poco F2 Pro1438-91.02-94.99-89 / -94-94 / -96
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g1645-90.77-95.02- 88 / -98-95 / -100
Poco X3821-94.89-103.19-91 / -97.7-101 / -104
Umidigi Bison2343-92.71-96.46-90 / -99-94 / -102
Oukitel C211101-92.04-94.99-90 / -97-92 / -95
Poco M31116-92.09-91.74-88 / -98-90 / -99
Xiaomi Mi 10t Pro1071-90.61-94.03-88 / -94-94 / -96
Umidigi A9 Pro981-90.40-94.01-88 / -95-93 / -95
Redmi Note 9t1201-92.149-91.71-90 / -97-91 / -97
[b][b][b][b]Download/Upload speed[b]To test the download speed, I have identified some 4G cells offering good performance where I test all my devices several times to see what download and upload speed they can achieve.[b]Top 10 - speed ranking in download
1. Samsung Galaxy S20 D:351Mbps U: 20Mbps
2. Poco X3 D:232Mbps U: 55Mbps
3. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g D:223Mbps U: 52Mbps
4. Poco F2 Pro D:207Mbps U: 53Mbps
5. Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite D:153Mbps U: 68Mbps
6. Xiaomi Mi A3 D:150Mbps U: 60Mbps
7. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s D:150Mbps U: 60Mbps
8. Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite D:149Mbps U: 60Mbps
9. Samsung Galaxy A21s D:147Mbps U: 51Mbps
10. Huawei Y6 2019 D:145Mbps U: 61Mbps

Number of smartphones in the ranking:30
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:0/30

Note: the theoretical maximum speed of a telephone is often limited by the configuration of the mobile network and the congestion of the network at the time of the measurement. So maybe you could get a higher speed on another network
[b][b]

Wifi performance

To test a phone's ability to receive the network properly, I take measurements near my router and then remotely (and always at the same place). This gives me an average in dBm where a value of -90 dBm indicates poorer performance than a value at -30 dBm.[b]
Wifi frequencies : 802.11a, 802.11b, 802.11g, 802.11n, 802.11n 5GHz, 802.11ac
Download speed : 165
Signal / close : -26
Signal / distant : -76
Wifi signal[b]I measured a -26dBm signal near the router and lost the signal at the remote location where I usually do my remote tests. [b][b]The Doogee doesn't pick up wifi very well when you move away from the router, in 5Ghz I lost the signal after about ten meters, I regained some range in 2.4Ghz but the range is still limited. [b][b][b][b][b]Top 10 - wifi sensitivity ranking
1. Poco F2 Pro -11dBm
2. Samsung Galaxy A21s -13dBm
3. Redmi Note 9t -15dBm
4. Poco X3 -17dBm
5. Xiaomi Mi 10t Pro -18dBm
6. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s -18dBm
7. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro -19dBm
8. Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite -19dBm
9. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g -19dBm
10. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 -19dBm

Number of smartphones in the ranking:36
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:20/36

[b]Download/Upload speed[b]To test the speed in Wifi, I connect to my router in 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz (if available) and use the Ookla application to measure the speed.[b]Top 10 - wifi download speed ranking
1. Samsung Galaxy S20 351Mbps
2. Poco F2 Pro 341Mbps
3. Redmi Note 9t 332Mbps
4. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro 319Mbps
5. Umidigi Bison 306Mbps
6. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g 300Mbps
7. Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite 260Mbps
8. Poco X3 251Mbps
9. Xiaomi Redmi Note 7 250Mbps
10. Umidigi F1 220Mbps

Number of smartphones in the ranking:35
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:22/35

Note: I have a 400Mbps line and a modem capable of delivering higher speed, but I can never be sure how much bandwidth is available when doing a test.
[b]

GPS performance

[b]To test the quality of the GPS signal I use the Offline Maps application and I make the same train trip in pedestrian mode. Why? In pedestrian mode, the GPS does not artificially correct the signal to stick to the road, it has no markings, so you can see the actual position. I then use an application to measure the accuracy of the signal. [b][b]When I tested the Ulefone Armor 7, I received a lot of messages from hikers who wanted to know if the GPS was accurate enough for hiking. As the Doogee S58 Pro is aimed at the same type of audience, I did my GPS accuracy test in the forest to see how accurate it would be. The forest was not very dense and some of the foliage had already fallen (autumn) but the GPS signal was quite good with an accuracy of 1 to 2 meters in the woods.[b][b]I took another video showing the map this time, here again the positioning is correct. The orientation is not good but I have not yet found a phone capable of giving the right orientation. I first passed within 1m of the river, then went into a more wooded area and got closer to the pond. [b][b][b][b][b][b]Top 10 - GPS accuracy ranking
1. Oukitel C21 1m
2. Redmi 9a 1m
3. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 1m
4. Redmi 9c 2m
5. Umidigi Bison 2m
6. Redmi Note 9t 2m
7. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g 3m
8. Xiaomi Mi 10t Pro 3m
9. Umidigi A9 Pro 3m
10. Samsung Galaxy A21s 4m

Number of smartphones in the ranking:12
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:0/12

Note: An accuracy of 3 meters or less can easily be corrected by a good GPS application. Phone performance also plays a role in how fast your display updates, so good accuracy could be compromised by too slow a display.
[b]

Battery range

Capacity : 5180
Fast charge : Yes
W max : 15
Range (100% brightness) : 845.00
Range (50% brightness) : 1908.00
Charging time : 177.00
Discharge speed (100%) : 0.12
Discharge score (100%) : 6.13
Discharge speed (50%) : 0.05
Discharge score (50%) : 2.71
Charging speed : 0.56
Charging score : 29.27
From March 2020, I replaced my subjective battery test with a technical test to better measure the real behaviour of the battery. Now I test the autonomy and charging time under absolutely identical conditions. I perform several measurements, so this test alone takes several days during which I cannot use the phone for anything else.

Battery life - methodology
To test the battery life, I measure the battery consumption every minute in strictly identical conditions to be able to compare phones and also to allow you to evaluate your phone in the same conditions. I rule out any influence of applications that could interfere with the measurement. The autonomy is not linear, the battery sometimes discharges much faster at the end. This is a frustrating phenomenon but with my measurements, you will know if you need to find a charger quickly.

Battery life
The battery of the Doogee s58 Pro has a capacity of 5180 mAh and has discharged from 100% to 1% in 845.00 minutes with 100% brightness, it has discharged from 100% to 1% in 1908.00 minutes with 50% brightness. I obtain in this way an average discharge speed of 0.12% per minute with 100% luminosity and 0.05% per minute with 50% luminosity, the consumption is therefore 6.13 mA per minute with 100% luminosity and 2.71 with 50% luminosity. To be able to compare the efficiency of the phone and its influence on the battery, you have to compare the 6.13 (or 50%) score with that of other smartphones, the figure should be as low as possible.

Charging time - methodology
To test the charging time, I always use the same charger with the same cable. I measure the charging time minute by minute to see the evolution of the charge as well as the charging speed. The charging speed of a battery is not linear, it is often faster at the beginning and slower at the end. The charger is compatible with fast charging.

Charging time
The battery of the Doogee s58 Pro has a capacity of 5180 mAh and has been charged from 1% to 100% in 177.00 minutes. This gives me an average charging speed of 0.56% per minute and therefore an increase of 29.27 mA per minute. To compare the performance of the Doogee s58 Pro compared to other phones, you should use the 29.27 per minute score, this score should be as high as possible.

Important note: the charging speed is not always linear, the graph below gives you an indication of the battery behaviour.

The following table lists the phones tested with the technical battery test, they are ranked in order of efficiency. A higher battery capacity should logically result in a higher battery life but it is not always the case and it does not give any indication of the efficiency of a phone.

SmartphoneCapacity (mAh)Battery life (minutes)Efficiency ScoreBattery life (minutes) / 50%Efficiency Score / 50%Charging time.Score charging
Oukitel C214000497.008.051324.003.02167.0023.95
Honor 9x4000770.005.191333.003.00151.0026.49
Nokia 5.34000549.007.291096.003.65199.0020.10
Samsung Galaxy S204000565.007.081217.003.29136.0029.41
Umidigi A9 Pro4150552.007.521562.002.66112.0037.05
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g4160749.005.551541.002.70163.0025.52
Realme 64300704.006.111104.003.89162.0026.54
Poco F2 Pro47001150.004.091536.003.06180.0026.11
Redmi 9c5000656.007.621915.002.61170.0029.41
Umidigi Bison5000550.009.091471.003.40238.0021.01
Redmi Note 9t5000766.006.532054.002.43148.0033.78
Redmi 9a5000694.007.201902.002.63195.0025.64
Motorola G8 Power5000912.005.482792.001.79311.0016.08
Samsung Galaxy A21s5000729.006.861283.003.90166.0030.12
Xiaomi Redmi Note 95020650.007.721808.002.78162.0030.99
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s5020663.007.571876.002.68224.0022.41
Umidigi F25150927.005.561854.002.78299.0017.22
Poco X35160653.007.901654.003.12181.0028.51
Doogee S58 Pro5180845.006.131908.002.71177.0029.27
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite5260827.006.361609.003.27208.0025.29
Ulefone Armor 7e5500768.007.161140.004.82179.0030.73
Poco M36000842.007.131898.003.16217.0027.65

helpHow to read these figures?
The battery capacity is an important element in determining the autonomy of a phone but it is not the only factor. A phone with a large battery may have a shorter battery life if it consumes more power. If I had to take an example from everyday life, I would use the universe of the car. If a car has a large fuel tank, it should be able to drive a longer distance unless its average fuel consumption is higher. The battery efficiency score works the same way, it should be as low as possible and represents the energy consumption of the phone. These differences in efficiency are often related to the brightness of the screen, large bright screens will tend to consume more energy and even if they have a large battery, their range will be shorter.

In summary [b][b]The Doogee S58 Pro has a huge 5180 mAh battery, which in theory should give it an enormous range. The reality is slightly different as the Doogee S58 Pro is penalised by its very bright display. When the display is switched on at 100%, the Doogee lasts 845 minutes. This is a good score but other phones with a smaller battery (and a less bright screen) do better. On the other hand, with a 50% screen, the battery life increases to 1908 minutes. The brightness of the screen seems to have a linear impact on the battery, doubling the brightness will halve the battery life. This is not the case for all phones. [b][b]To enjoy good battery life, you'll have to play a little with the phone's lighting to find the level of lighting and battery life that suits you.[b][b]

Photo camera test

To test the quality of photos produced by a phone, I do a technical test (resolution, sharpness, chromatic aberration,...) in studio (identical conditions) to evaluate the technical part objectively. From the second half of 2020, I built my own laboratory to take completely objective technical measurements. I then take pictures in real conditions to see how the camera performs. I then evaluate these photos according to my criteria but I publish the photos so that you can evaluate the result according to your criteria.[b]

Hardware

Selfie / resolution : 16
Selfie / sensor : Samsung
Resolution : 16
Sensor : Sony IMX298 Exmor RS
mm wide angle : 3.936 mm
mm ultra wide angle : 1.84 mm
The Doogee S58 Pro is equipped with a Sony IMX298 Exmor RS main sensor. Although Sony sensors generally offer good image quality, this sensor is quite old as the Xiaomi Mi 5 launched in 2016 was already using it. [b][b]Default app[b][b]

Photoquality

Photo test / studio[b][b][b]The Doogee S58 Pro is only equipped with a Sony IMX 298 main sensor at the rear and a macro module. The test will therefore be very quick.[b][b]I was quite amazed at the quality of the main sensor in the studio, the exposure is really good, the colours are quite faithful although they could be a bit more saturated. The sharpness is quite good as well. I didn't expect a good result with a sensor that has been around for 5 years. However, I did notice that the sensor was having trouble finding the focus area, it was constantly moving from a front to a back area and vice versa.[b][b]The macro module is not very good, it allows you to take very close photos but the colouring is bad, the photo is very noisy and the resolution is not very good. The presence of this macro sensor is therefore not very interesting.[b][b][b][b][b]Photo test / sunny[b][b][b]I didn't expect to be able to take great pictures with the Doogee S58 Pro but the result is still a bit better than I expected.[b][b]I took these photos at the end of the day in low light, so nature is bathed in orange light. The Doogee S58 Pro produces photos with too much warm colouring because even though the light was indeed orange it was not as orange as in the photo. The sky was slightly blue but here too the colour temperature is also too warm. [b][b]The sharpness of the image is correct but the dynamic range is quite low because the sky is quickly overexposed. If you want to take pictures with a very bright sky, most of the time you will get a completely white sky and the rest of the picture will be quite dark. [b][b]I tested the normal photo mode, the HDR mode and the pro mode and it is with the pro mode that I got the best results. To do this I adjusted the colour temperature, lowered the exposure a notch and locked the ISOs at 200. The photo showing my shadow was taken in pro mode with these settings.[b][b]So the Doogee s58 does not produce extraordinary quality photos but in this price range ([b][b][b][b][b][b]Photo test / cloudy[b][b]Test photo / night[b]Not yet available / tested[b][b][b]

Video quality

Stabilisation[b][b][b]The Doogee S58 Pro does not have effective video stabilisation, so impacts are quite visible. Pixel recalculation is also highly visible.[b][b]Video normale conditions[b][b]The quality of the video follows a bit the same trend as the quality of the photo. The colour temperature is too high and the dynamic range is reduced. The Doogee s58 Pro seems to have difficulty focusing as the video shakes and moves for no apparent reason. Video quality is clearly not a strength of this phone.[b][b]Video low light[b]The Doogee S58 Pro does not have a night mode, so it is unable to produce quality night-time video.[b][b]

Audio quality

To test the quality of the phone's audio output, I connect the device's audio output to a measuring tool, then play sounds on all frequencies and measure the differences between the original sound and the sound produced by the phone. In this way I measure the phone's ability to correctly reproduce all sounds.[b]
Frequency Respons : +0.12 / -0.11
Noise Level : -93.6
Dynamic Range : 93.9
THD : 16.904
Intermodulation : 17.126
Stereo crosstalk : 0.2
Frequency Response[b]This test is intended to test the device's ability to correctly reproduce all frequencies. The white line in the middle of the graph is the ideal situation and the other colors come from tests on different phones. A deviation from the reference line indicates a deviation from the ideal situation. To see good sound at all frequencies, it is therefore necessary to get as close as possible to the reference line. [b][b]The Doogee S58 Pro is capable of reproducing most frequencies but its performance is not linear. The white curve is not smooth and if I compare it with the Redmi Note 9, it follows the same trend but is much less consistent. I have not noticed these differences when listening with headphones, the sound is similar to what a Redmi Note 9 is capable of producing.[b][b]The sound quality without headphones is appalling, the sound is shrill and unpleasant. With headphones the experience is much better, the Doogee offers a sound performance (in terms of frequencies) equivalent to the Redmi Note 9.[b][b]Dynamic Range[b]This test is designed to test a phone's ability to play sounds at different volume levels. Here too, the phones must be as close as possible to the reference.[b][b]The Doogee S58 Pro offers powerful sound at the limit of what is bearable, I was surprised by the sound power of this phone to the point that I had to remove my headset. This phone looks rough but the sound it produces is just as rough. It is one of the loudest phones I have ever tested.[b][b]Unfortunately this power is accompanied by a very pronounced distortion, the sounds get mixed up and the quality is greatly degraded.[b][b]Noise Level[b]This test aims to identify if the device under test is able to reproduce sounds without too much noise. A high score indicates a low parasite rate, a lower score indicates a higher presence of parasites.[b][b]The Doogee S58 Pro does not present any interference problems, we see here the effect of the volume on the curve where it is very close to the reference while the Redmi Note 9 is dropped.[b][b]Concert recording[b]The purpose of this test is to measure the recording quality of the phone when there is a lot of ambient noise. Since I don't have the opportunity to go to a concert every time I test a phone, I simulate the noise of a concert in a closed environment.

Screen quality

To test the screen, I use a colorimetric probe that measures the color accuracy of a screen, as well as other parameters to see if a screen is able to correctly reproduce an image. I also test the brightness level to determine if the screen will be able to display an image in full sunlight.[b]
Screen size : 5.71
Resolution : 720 x 1520
Ratio : 19:9
Protection : Corning Gorilla Glass
Type : IPS LCD
% occupancy : 61
dE white : 9.8
dE red : 6.2
dE green : 2.6
dE blue : 4.6
dE jaune : 5.3
dE cyan : 9.7
dE magenta : 6.5
White temperature : 8201
Contrast : 2146:1
Brightness : 644
Colorimetry[b]I measured a colour deviation of 6.38, not a great score but it is not catastrophic. The colorimetry is very cold, I measured a white at 8201K there it should be at 6500k. I haven't found any possibility of changing the colour temperature to alleviate the problem.[b][b][b]Top 10 - ranking of the best screens by colorimetry
1. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g dE = 0.73
2. Xiaomi Mi 10t Pro dE = 0.83
3. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 dE = 1.2
4. Samsung Galaxy S20 dE = 1.4
5. Poco M3 dE = 1.4
6. Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite dE = 1.46
7. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s dE = 1.47
8. Honor 9x dE = 1.5
9. Poco F2 Pro dE = 1.73
10. Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite dE = 1.91

Number of smartphones in the ranking:36
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:32/36

Note: the colorimetric difference is measured in dE. After three, the human eye will perceive a colorimetric difference, so the dE should be the lowest. The tests were all carried out with a colorimetric probe.
[b]Brightness / Contrast[b]The first time I started the phone, I found the display to be particularly bright and this is confirmed by the sensor. When the brightness is pushed to 100%, the screen is capable of producing 644 cd/m², which is absolutely huge. With such brightness the screen is readable in almost all conditions. This phone is designed to be used outdoors, which is probably why Doogee is able to provide such a high level of brightness to the screen.[b][b]I measured a contrast ratio of 2146:1, which is an excellent score for this type of display.[b]Light Absorption/Reflection[b]The smartphone screen reflect light and sometimes turn them into a real mirror. This mirror effect makes it harder to read. [b][b]The absorption index below indicates the percentage of light absorbed by the screen. The readability of a screen is better when the absorption index is high.[b][b]
Phone tested:% light absorption
Samsung Galaxy S10+58
Xiaomi Mi 9T Pro52
Honor 9x65
Redmi Note 9s55
Motorola G8 Power60
Realme 654
Umidigi F248
Poco F2 Pro52
Redmi Note 956
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite53
Samsung Galaxy S2047
Samsung Galaxy A21s53
The phones tested have an average absroption rate of54 %

Biometry

The Doogee S58 Pro has a fingerprint sensor on the back of the phone. This fingerprint sensor works very well and is very fast. [b][b]

Operating system

[b][b][b]The Doogee S58 Pro runs on Android 10 and doesn't carry all sorts of unwanted applications like with Samsung, Huawei or Xiaomi.[b][b]The applications are sorted on the right screen, there is no application drawer or specific search engine, which is a bit of a shame.[b][b]For the rest, this version of Android is very similar to what is found on most other phones on Android 10. I was positively surprised by the fluidity of the interface because unlike other low performance phones, the transition from one screen to another is done without jerking.[b][b]

Encoutered bugs

Not yet available / tested[b][b]

Accessories Doogee S58 Pro

To better enjoy your experience with your smartphone, I offer links to all kinds of accessories that you might find useful

Protective cover / case doogee s58 pro
Screen protection film doogee s58 pro
Memory card doogee s58 pro
USB Cable / Charger doogee s58 pro
Headphones doogee s58 pro
Bike rack doogee s58 pro

Compare Doogee S58 Pro with the others

I assigned a score of 1 to 10 for each test that determines the strengths and weaknesses of a product. I am using 0 for criteria that have not (yet) been tested. A score of 1 to 3 indicates poor performance (and yes, it does), a score of 4 to 6 indicates average performance, a score of 7 to 8 indicates good performance, and a score of 9 and 10 indicates exceptional performance. .
The score is calculated based on my measurements and when there are no measurements, it is a subjective opinion based on my experience.

The scores are not static, they change over time because the performance of new products changes and this must be taken into account.

Doogee s58 Pro
Finish quality5.006.00
Battery performance7.008.00
CPU performance4.006.5
GPU performance2.006.5
Screen quality5.007.00
Photo quality5.505.00
Video quality5.005.00
Wi-Fi performance5.007.00
Mobile download speed6.005.00
Mobile network sensitivity7.506.00
Frequency coverage6.007.00
Audio quality6.56.00
GPS performance7.006.00
Operating system7.008.00
Overall score78.589
Global ranking
1. Samsung Galaxy S20 112 / 140
2. Poco F2 Pro 111 / 140
3. Samsung Galaxy S10+ 107 / 140
4. Xiaomi Mi 9t Pro 106 / 140
5. Poco X3 102 / 140
6. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g 101 / 140
7. Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite 101 / 140
8. Redmi Note 9t 100.5 / 140
9. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro 100 / 140
10. Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite 98 / 140
11. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s 98 / 140
12. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 97 / 140
13. Poco M3 95.5 / 140
14. Xiaomi Redmi Note 7 94 / 140
15. Realme 6 93 / 140
16. Umidigi A9 Pro 92 / 140
17. Umidigi Bison 92 / 140
18. Oukitel C21 89.5 / 140
19. Nokia 5.3 89 / 140
20. Xiaomi Mi A3 89 / 140
21. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 89 / 140
22. Motorola G8 Power 89 / 140
23. Honor 9x 88 / 140
24. Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite 86 / 140
25. Meizu Note 9 86 / 140
26. Xiaomi Redmi Note 5 85 / 140
27. Umidigi S3 Pro 83 / 140
28. Umidigi F2 82 / 140
29. Samsung Galaxy A21s 82 / 140
30. Redmi 9a 81 / 140
31. Redmi 9c 80 / 140
32. Ulefone Armor 7e 80 / 140
33. Doogee S58 Pro 78.5 / 140
34. Honor 8x 78 / 140
35. Umidigi F1 77 / 140
36. Huawei Y6 2019 74 / 140
37. Xiaomi Mi 10t Pro 57 / 70
38. Elephone U5 0 / 0

Test / Review conclusion

[b]The Doogee S58 Pro is a phone for a specific audience. On the one hand there is a professional audience who will use this phone as a working tool that will not break at the first drop. On the other hand, there is an audience with outdoor activities such as hiking for example. [b][b]Does this telephone fulfil its mission for both of these audiences? Yes, and its qualities are not limited to its solidity and waterproofness. I was positively surprised by this phone. Its price positioning (I bought it for 110€!) and its low performance gave me the impression that the phone was going to be slow and impractical for everyday use, but this is not the case. Of course it looks a bit rough to be considered a fashionable phone but it does what it is meant to do and does it properly.[b][b]The Doogee s58 Pro certainly offers no less than a normal phone in the same price range. It has good 4G network sensitivity, the listening sound is good even if it is a bit muffled by its protective armour. It offers good GPS performance and its very bright screen will allow you to use it under the sun without any problems.[b][b]The quality of photos and videos is not extraordinary but it is no less good than other phones in the same price range. For games, it's the same, it allows you to play games like PUBG mobile but with a lower level of graphics.[b][b]From a purely practical point of view I was generated by the protection of the USB port because I use cables with magnetic connectors, I had to switch back to a traditional cable because my cables did not fit into the USB slot. I also find that the buttons on the side are a little bit raised and I had trouble distinguishing the volume buttons.[b][b]This is the first Doogee I've tested, I think I'll test others because for 110€ there aren't many other phones of this type.[b][b]Strengths[b]Solidity[b]Waterproofing[b]GPS[b]Screen brightness[b]4G network sensitivity[b][b][b]Weaknesses[b]Poor quality rear speaker sound (for music)[b]Below average wifi signal[b]Low performance [b]Average photo/video quality but equivalent to the competition[b][b][b]Alternatives to this product[b][b]I have not yet tested many phones of this type, so far I have only tested the Ulefone Armor 7. Other brands offer phones of this type, there is notably Oukitel or Blackview but I have not yet bought any. So I will only compare the Doogee with the Ulefone.[b][b]The Ulefone is much more expensive than the Doogee (about 3x) but it doesn't offer 3x more features. I would say that apart from the performance aspect, the Doogee offers a much better price/performance ratio.[b][b]

Comments

Join the discussion / Ask your questions

Your comment will be published after validation. I respond to over 1500 comments a year in my spare time, so I can't always respond very quickly. Your email address will not be publicly visible and it will not be used for commercial purposes.









Be notified by email when a response is published