Huawei has made itself known in recent months through its many setbacks with the American justice system, the company is nevertheless doing very well and its phones have never sold so well. From their range of cameras, you probably know the mid-range or high-end that is at the top of the range for photo quality, but what about the entry-level? Not everyone can afford a €500 phone, what can we expect from a €100 phone?

Manufacturer web site:
Huawei.com

My test, your questions

How are my tests different from others on the web?
- I buy the devices with my money most of the time, price is just as important as it is for you!
- I keep the devices at least a few weeks (sometimes more) to see what they are worth in real conditions.
- I answer (when possible) questions to help you decide before you buy
- My blog is available in 6 languages: French, Dutch, English, German, Spanish and Italian.
- I don't live off my blog, nobody pays me to do these tests, I'm completely independent.
- My pages are not full of ads

Other tests:
Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite test, review and price
Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro test / review and price - 2 Comment(s)
Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 test, review and price - 2 Comment(s)
Huawei Y6 2019 test, review and price
Xiaomi Mi A3 test, review and price - 2 Comment(s)
Meizu Note 9 test, review and price - 12 Comment(s)
Umidigi S3 Pro test, review and price - 24 Comment(s)
Xiaomi Redmi Note 7 test, review and price - 14 Comment(s)
Umidigi F1 test, review and price - 4 Comment(s)
Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite test, review and price - 25 Comment(s)

Price Huawei Y6 2019

The list below shows the prices for the Huawei Y6 2019 from more than 50 sites around the world. If you are not satisfied with any price, you can subscribe to a price alert to be the first to be notified when the price drops.


The links below are advertising links that allow me to buy the tested material in complete neutrality. If you like the work done on this blog, you can support me by buying through these links. It will cost you absolutely nothing, you will always benefit from the best prices.
99 USD - (2019-11-16 14:59) Huawei Protective pouzdro Huawei Y6 2019 čiré - (Geekbuying.com - CN)
99 USD - (2019-11-16 12:25) Huawei Protective pouzdro Huawei Y6 2019 čiré - (Geekbuying.com - CN)
99 USD - (2019-11-16 14:21) Huawei Protective pouzdro Huawei Y6 2019 čiré - (Geekbuying.com - CN)
99 USD - (2019-11-16 12:37) Huawei Protective pouzdro Huawei Y6 2019 čiré - (Geekbuying.com - CN)
99 USD - (2019-11-16 14:14) Huawei Protective pouzdro Huawei Y6 2019 čiré - (Geekbuying.com - CN)
114.93 USD - (2019-11-16 13:50) Huawei Y6 2019 Sapphire Blue 6.09" 2gb/32gb Dual S - (Amazon.es - ES)
116.04 USD - (2019-11-16 13:44) Huawei Y6 2019 32 GB Amber Brown NEU OVP Dual SIM - (eBay DE - DE)
118.25 USD - (2019-11-16 06:43) Huawei Y6 2019 Midnight Black 6.09" 2gb/32gb Dual - (Amazon.es - ES)
119.58 USD - (2019-11-16 14:52) Huawei Y6 2019 15.5 cm (6.09") 2 GB 32 GB Dual SIM - (Amazon.co.uk - UK)
120.79 USD - (2019-11-16 07:56) Huawei Y6 2019 Midnight Black 6.09" 2gb/32gb Dual - (Amazon.it - IT)
121 USD - (2019-11-16 14:02) Huawei Y6 2019 Sapphire Blue 6.09" 2gb/32gb Dual S - (Amazon.it - IT)
122.67 USD - (2019-11-16 14:02) Huawei Y6 2019 Amber Brown 6.09" 2gb/32gb Dual Sim - (Amazon.it - IT)
123.77 USD - (2019-11-15 23:55) Huawei Y6 2019 Smartphone Débloqué 4G (6,09 pouc - (Amazon France - FR)
125.98 USD - (2019-11-16 14:34) Huawei Y6 2019 Smartphone Débloqué 4G (6,09 pouc - (Amazon France - FR)
127.03 USD - (2019-11-16 13:34) Huawei Y6 2019 32GB Midnight Black Negro Nuevo. En - (eBay ES - ES)
127.09 USD - (2019-11-16 14:02) Huawei Y6 2019 Tim Midnight Black 6.09" 2gb/32gb D - (Amazon.it - IT)
127.09 USD - (2019-11-16 14:02) Huawei Y6 2019 Tim Sapphire Blue 6.09" 2gb/32gb Du - (Amazon.it - IT)
126.9 USD - (2019-11-14 16:03) Smartphone Huawei Y6 2019 6,09" Quad Core 2 GB RAM - (Aliexpress - CN)
139.47 USD - (2019-11-16 13:50) Huawei Y6 2019 Amber Brown 6.09" 2gb/32gb Dual Sim - (Amazon.es - ES)
141.98 USD - (2019-11-16 14:52) Huawei Y6 2019 32 GB 6.09 inch FullView Dewdrop Di - (Amazon.co.uk - UK)
142.1 USD - (2019-11-16 14:34) Huawei Y6 2019 Smartphone Débloqué 4G (6,09 pouc - (Amazon France - FR)
142.56 USD - (2019-11-16 13:50) Huawei Y6 2019 Tim Midnight Black 6.09" 2gb/32gb D - (Amazon.es - ES)
143.56 USD - (2019-11-16 13:44) Smartphone Huawei Y6 2019 32 GB 2 GB 6,1" IPS 4K A - (eBay DE - DE)
143.56 USD - (2019-11-16 13:44) Huawei Y6 2019 (Brown) - (eBay DE - DE)
143.56 USD - (2019-11-16 13:44) Huawei Y6 2019 (Black) - (eBay DE - DE)
143.66 USD - (2019-11-16 13:44) Huawei Y6 2019 32GB Schwarz (Dual SIM) - NEU - - (eBay DE - DE)
145.41 USD - (2019-11-16 00:14) Huawei Y6 2019 Tim Sapphire Blue 6.09" 2gb/32gb Du - (Amazon.es - ES)
151.66 USD - (2019-11-16 07:12) Huawei Y6 2019 32 GB 6.09 inch FullView Dewdrop Di - (Amazon.co.uk - UK)
153.59 USD - (2019-11-16 14:52) Huawei Y6 2019 32 GB 6.09 inch FullView Dewdrop Di - (Amazon.co.uk - UK)
164.66 USD - (2019-11-14 15:53) Huawei Y6 2019 - bruin - dual sim - (Art & Craft - BE)
164.66 USD - (2019-11-14 15:53) Huawei Y6 2019 - zwart - dual sim - (Art & Craft - BE)
164.66 USD - (2019-11-14 15:53) Huawei Y6 2019 - blauw - dual sim - (Art & Craft - BE)
Price alert: I have developed a tool that allows me to find the best prices and I propose it to you so that you can also enjoy it.

Send me an alert to Missing email address IncorrectMail when the price falls below USD Please set a price limit Your price limit is not correct

Your email address will never be used for anything else than this alert



Timeline


16/09/19: purchase of the Huawei Y6 2019 from Amazon France
17/09/19: audio quality test, screen quality
18/09/19: photo quality test
19/08/19: test gaming, wifia

Why this phone?


I have not yet tested an entry-level phone because I have so far focused on the mid-range range between 200 and 300€. My test will not aim to show that this phone is not as good as a 200€ device because it doesn't make sense. I would especially like to test this phone for what it is, namely an entry-level phone that is aimed at a different audience. Does this phone offer a good value for money for a price of 100€? This is what we will see in this test.

Structure of my tests

I test the phones according to a pre-established structure (see below) to provide you with as much information as possible. Unfortunately, this takes a long time. Some tests like network performance tests take several days and for photo tests I sometimes have to wait until the weather is suitable to take pictures in good conditions. I am therefore obliged to publish the tests step by step, so I invite you to come back if the test is not complete at the time of your visit.

Unpacking

Huawei Y6 2019
Lenght (mm)156.3159.2
Width (mm)73.575.2
Thickness (mm)88.1
Weight (g)150186
Jackyesyes
USB typeMicroUSBType C
USB norm2.02.0
Infrarednoyes



The Huawei Y6 box contains most of the basic elements that you will find with other brands. There is the phone wrapped in plastic film, a pocket containing the needle for the SIM drawer as well as two booklets, a USB cable, a wall charger and a pair of headphones.



First configuration


The first configuration of the device reminds me strongly of the Honor 8x I tested in 2018. First of all, there are the classic screens where the device offers you to retrieve your data from your account but you will then be confronted several times with the Huawei layer which will try to make you create an account or add recommended applications. Every major brand does this kind of thing but Huawei insists a little more than his rival Xiaomi. The device will propose you to create a Huawei account, a cloud account, install applications,... By refusing everything, I noticed that the device had still installed a whole series of applications provided by Huawei even though I hadn't asked for anything.

The first configuration is not difficult but it is probably the slowest I have ever tried. Some steps take several minutes and in the end I think the first configuration took about 15 minutes. Unfortunately, it doesn't stop there because the phone will then download all the applications you installed on your previous phone and it can really take hours. I had started the configuration around 9pm and at 11pm, the device had not finished installing the applications. I use about thirty applications. According to the notification screen, the installation of the applications was completed at 3am. During installation, the device's processor is so busy that it is difficult to use the phone without noticing a slowdown. I have had exactly the same problem with other phones, so don't be in a hurry to use it.

During the configuration phase, I configured access to my wifi network and noticed that the phone was not compatible with the 5Ghz frequency, this could explain why some steps were particularly slow because the 2.4Ghz frequency is slower than the 5Ghz frequency, I will test this later on this page.

Finish



I didn't see many tests of this device before I bought it but the ones I found were very negative, so I expected to get a phone with very average finishes but that's not the case at all. The phone is made of plastic, that's true but it's the case with most phones in this price range. Plastic reflects light strongly and gives it a more aesthetic appearance.

Overall I find the finish very good for a device of this price, the plastic sinks a little when you press hard but I have found the same on other phones much more expensive. The choice of material will lead you to leave many fingerprints and the slightest dust will be visible but this is also often the case on other phones.

Top

You will find a speaker of reasonable size and a jack connector for the headphones. There is also a small hole that reminds me of the one in the SIM drawer, but I don't know what its use is.

Bottom

Underneath the device you will find a USB port and two sound grids, but only one is actually used.

Sides
On the left of the phone, you will find the SIM drawer and on the right the volume buttons and the ignition button. The position of the buttons is quite comparable with most of the other devices I have tested. The buttons are made of plastic but the whole is well integrated, I did not encounter any problems in use.
Back

The back of the Huawei Y6 2019 is very simple, it is covered with a uniform light-reflecting plastic, you will find a single-lens camera at the top left and the Huawei brand below.

Screen
The screen occupies 79% of the total surface, it is not the best phone in terms of screen occupancy but it is not the worst either. At the top, you will find a notch for the front camera, this notch is quite comparable to what you will find at other manufacturers, I have placed the Y6 2019 next to a Xiaomi Mi A3, the cameras are very similar in their format.



Huawei has printed his mark on the lower edge, this lower edge is a little thicker than what I have seen so far but it has never been a problem for me. Huawei had the good idea to install a plastic film to protect the screen, so you won't have to install one yourself and get angry to chase away the bubbles that have slipped under the plastic film.

The Huawei Y6 2019 does not play the card of innovation or creativity, but that is not what I expect from an entry-level phone, so you should never lose sight of that. The finishes are all completely correct. The device is quite small and lightweight compared to the other phones I've tested, so you won't feel like you're walking around with a brick in your pocket.

Which frequencies are used in Europe?

3G : B1 (2100), B2 (1900), B5 (850), B8 (900)
4G : B1 (2100), B20 (800), B3 (1800), B38 (TDD 2600), B4 (1700/2100 AWS 1), B40 (TDD 2300), B5 (850), B7 (2600), B8 (900), B28 (700)

It is of course always necessary to check the specific frequencies of your provider because some European wireless carriers use different frequencies (but these cases are rare). Please note that the frequencies indicated below were valid at the time of writing this article, they will not be updated, so I cannot guarantee that they are correct.

I have added a few other European countries so that you can check the countries where you go on holiday, if the local operator does not support the same frequencies, you may no longer have a network.

BE
4G Proximus: 2100Mhz, 1800Mhz, 2600Mhz, 800Mhz
3G Proximus: 2100Mhz, 900Mhz

4G Orange: 2600Mhz, 1800Mhz, 800Mhz
3G Orange: 2100Mhz, 900Mhz

4G Base: 2600Mhz, 1800Mhz, 800Mhz
3G Base: 2100Mhz

FR
4G Orange: 2600Mhz, 1800Mhz, 800Mhz
3G Orange: 2100Mhz, 900Mhz

4G SFR: 2600Mhz, 2100Mhz, 1800Mhz, 800Mhz
3G SFR: 2100Mhz, 900Mhz

4G Bouygues: 2600Mhz, 2100Mhz, 1800Mhz, 800Mhz, 700Mhz
3G Bouygues: 2100Mhz, 900Mhz

4G Free: 2600Mhz, 1800Mhz, 700Mhz
3G Free: 2100Mhz, 900Mhz

ES
Movistar 4G: 2600, 1800, 800
Movistar 3G: 2100, 900

Orange 4G: 2600, 1800, 800
Orange 3G: 2100, 900

Vodafone 4G: 2600, 1800, 800
Vodafone 3G: 2100, 900

Yoigo
Yoigo 4G: 1800
Yoigo 3G: 2100

DE
E-Plus 4G: 2600, 800
E-Plus 3G: 2100

O2
O2 4G: 2600, 1800, 800
O2 3G: 2100

T-Mobile
T-Mobile 4G: 2600, 1800, 800
T-Mobile 3G: 2100

Vodafone
Vodafone 4G: 2600, 1800, 800
Vodafone 3G: 2100

IT
Tre 4G: 2600, 1800, 1500, 800
Tre 3G: 2100, 900

Telecom Italia 4G: 2600, 1800, 1500, 800
Telecom Italia 3G: 2100, 900

Vodafone 4G: 2600, 1800, 1500, 800
Vodafone 3G: 2100, 900

Wind 4G: 2600, 800
Wind 3G: 2100, 900

CH
Salt Mobile 4G: 2600, 1800, 800
Salt Mobile 3G: 2100, 900

Sunrise 4G: 2600, 1800, 800
Sunrise 3G: 2100, 900

Swisscom 4G: 2600, 1800, 800
Swisscom 3G: 2100, 900

NL
KPN 4G: 2600, 1800, 800
KPN 3G: 2100

Tele2 4G: 2600, 800

T-Mobile 4G: 2600, 2100, 1800, 900
T-Mobile 3G: 2100, 900

Vodafone 4G: 2600, 1800, 800
Vodafone 3G: 2100, 900

UK
Three 4G: 1800, 800
Three 3G: 2100

EE 4G: 2600, 1800, 800
EE 3G: 2100

O2 4G: 1800, 800
O2 3G: 2100, 900

Virgin Mobile 4G: 2600, 1800 B9, 800
Virgin Mobile 3G: 2100

Vodafone 4G: 2600, 2100, 1!00, 800
Vodafone 3G: 2100, 900

3G/4G support


The Huawei Y6 2019 does not support a large number of frequencies compared to the other devices I have tested but it covers most of the frequencies used in Europe, so you will not see the difference with other phones. For France, the frequency B28 used by Free is missing.

3G Frequencies:
B1 (2100), B8 (900)
4G Frequencies:
B1 (2100), B3 (1800), B7 (2600), B8 (900), B20 (800)

Network/Radio performance

Huawei Y6 2019
3G frequenciesB1, B3, B7, B8, B20B1,B2,B4,B5,B6
4G frequenciesB1, B8B1,B2,B3,B4,B5,B7,B8,B20,B38,B40
5G frequencies//
//
GPSA-GPS, Beidou, GLONASS, GPSA-GPS, Beidou, Galileo, GLONASS, GPS
Wifi802.11b, 802.11g, 802.11n802.11a, 802.11ac, 802.11b, 802.11g, 802.11n, 802.11n 5GHz
BluetoothBluetooth 4.2 LEBluetooth 5.0 LE
SAR (head)0.2900.591
SAR (body)1.0501.274
VoLTEyesyes
Wifi calls/yes
NFCnono


Signal 4G
The ability to pick up the network correctly is an essential element for a phone but it is only very rarely measured. To measure a phone's ability to pick up the network, I perform a large number of measurements on the same cells to be able to compare phones under similar conditions. The signal is measured in dBm, a value of -90dBm indicates a worse signal than -70dBm. These measurements are therefore taken under real conditions and not in a laboratory, they are not scientific but give a good indication of performance.
To measure network performance, I collect the signal strength in dBm of each cell during my travels. All measurements are performed under the same conditions to be able to compare results across multiple phones. The strength of the signal obtained by a telephone gives an indication of its ability to receive the network well. The final result gives you an unscientific indication of the reception quality of each phone. These results could be different on another network or under different conditions. To fully understand the signal value, a signal of -95 dBm indicates average reception while a signal of -60 dBm indicates a very good signal.

Umidigi F1
Average signal : -96.79 dBm
Number of measurements performed : 298

Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite
Average signal : -94.89 dBm
Number of measurements performed : 403

Xiaomi Redmi Note 5
Average signal : -91.45 dBm
Number of measurements performed : 528

Umidigi S3 Pro
Average signal : -97.13 dBm
Number of measurements performed : 1200

Samsung Galaxy S10+
Average signal : -97.96 dBm
Number of measurements performed : 1445

Redmi Note 7
Average signal : -97.01 dBm
Number of measurements performed : 1430

Xiaomi Mi A3
Average signal : -95.95 dBm
Number of measurements performed : 1199

Huawei Y6 2019
Average signal : -95.60 dBm
Number of measurements performed : 1586

Redmi Note 8 Pro
Average signal : -95.92 dBm
Number of measurements performed : 1599

Meizu Note 9
Average signal : -96.68 dBm
Number of measurements performed : 937

Comparison Huawei Y6 2019 with another device

The graph below shows the comparison between the two devices. The best device should have the largest number of measurements close to the center. The comparison is made only on the cells common to both devices. The measurements were carried out under the same conditions.

Phone 1:
Huawei Y6 2019
Phone 2:
Xiaomi Mi A3
Performance evaluation:


The Huawei Y6 is in the upper average to catch the network, it does as well as the Xiaomi Mi A3 which costs twice the price. What we expect from a basic phone is that it allows you to call in good conditions, this is the case of this Huawei Y6 because it picks up the network well. Unfortunately, the sound is a little less good, but it's a problem with the loudspeaker.

Download / mobile
To test the download speed, I have identified some 4G cells offering good performance where I test all my devices several times to see what download and upload speed they can achieve.

70 Mbps
50 Mbps
Performance evaluation:
The Huawei Y6 is an entry-level phone that does very well in the entry-level segment, it offers a higher download performance than other phones I have tested. With 70 Mbps in download and 50 Mbps in download, Huawei will allow you to use 4G streaming services without any problems.


Wifi signal
To test a phone's ability to receive the network properly, I take measurements near my router and then remotely (and always at the same place). This gives me an average in dBm where a value of -90 dBm indicates poorer performance than a value at -30 dBm.

Signal strength close to router:
-30 dBm
Signal strength away from router:
-69 dBm

Performance evaluation:
The signal strength picked up by the Y6 2019 is good. The measurement near the router is even among the best. The remote measurement is very similar to what I have measured with other phones.

Download / Wifi
To test the speed in Wifi, I connect to my router in 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz (if available) and use the Ookla application to measure the speed.
Huawei Y6 2019
Radio capacity-95.95-97.01
125250
6140
-71-70


Max upload speed:
50 Mbps
Max download speed:
21 Mbps

Performance evaluation:
The Huawei Y6 2019 only supports the 2.4Ghz frequency, so it is limited in speed compared to a device supporting the 5Ghz but despite this limitation, the Y6 2019 perfectly exploits the frequency because it reaches without any problem the maximum speed for this frequency.

GPS signal
To test the quality of the GPS signal I use the Offline Maps application and I make the same train trip in pedestrian mode. Why? In pedestrian mode, the GPS does not artificially correct the signal to stick to the road, it has no markings, so you can see the actual position.


The GPS positioning of the Huawei is OK, you can notice that the measured position is quite close to the rail track and sometimes deviates from it by about 1 meter. The signal sometimes disappears when the movement is not fast and I pass under a bridge but I have observed the same thing on other telephones. The Huawei therefore offers correct positioning with some errors at low speed.

However, I must add that the weakness of its processor may cause some problems when you have to react quickly. If you enter a roundabout and use the GPS to guide you, the phone may very well be slightly behind schedule. It is not systematic but it can happen.

Battery range

Huawei Y6 2019
Capacity30204000
Fast charging/yes
Max charging W/18


With a small 3020 mAh battery, you can't expect a long battery life, yet the Huawei Y6 does quite well. This phone is not designed for intensive use, so it can last several days with normal use. I don't have a use considered normal when I do a test and in the end I last a maximum of two days with the battery. If I play one hour of audio streaming, the battery decreases by about 20%.

Audio quality

To test the quality of the phone's audio output, I connect the device's audio output to a measuring tool, then play sounds on all frequencies and measure the differences between the original sound and the sound produced by the phone. In this way I measure the phone's ability to correctly reproduce all sounds.
When I take my measurements, I don't know the result before the end, I can only rely on a graph representing the signal coming out of the phone. What struck me about the Huawei Y6 was the amplitude of the curve, which seemed really important to me. Once the test was finished, I was not surprised to see that the Huawei is the phone with a very powerful sound, it far exceeds the Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite and even the Samsung Galaxy S10+ but this is at the price of sound quality. The bass is very powerful but the treble quality is low and the sound is very distorted. You have to lower the volume by one or two notches to get back to an acceptable distortion and at this volume level, the power is still present.

Frequency Response
This test is intended to test the device's ability to correctly reproduce all frequencies. The white line in the middle of the graph is the ideal situation and the other colors come from tests on different phones. A deviation from the reference line indicates a deviation from the ideal situation. To see good sound at all frequencies, it is therefore necessary to get as close as possible to the reference line


Up to 500 Hz, the Huawei deviates slightly from the reference like the Redmi Note 7, it then joins the Redmi Note 7 curve and the reference curve up to 10khz where it begins to stall in the high frequencies. The difference does not seem significant on the graph but it is perceptible when listening and this measure is in line with my subjective observation, the trebles are not as good as the other phones I have tested.

Dynamic Range
This test is designed to test a phone's ability to play sounds at different volume levels. Here too, the phones must be as close as possible to the reference

The Huawei curve merges with the reference and other phones, meaning that the volume does not affect the phone's ability to play most frequencies.

Noise Level
This test aims to identify if the device under test is able to reproduce sounds without too much noise. A high score indicates a low parasite rate, a lower score indicates a higher presence of parasites.


The Huawei has a good score here, the interference is imperceptible, it is even very close to the norm over a wide frequency range.

CPU / GPU Performance

Huawei Y6 2019
CPUMediaTek Helio A22Qualcomm Snapdragon 660
GPUIMG PowerVR GE-class GPUAdreno 512
RAM memory2 Gb3 - 6 Gb
Storage memory32 Gb32 - 128 Gb
Max memory card/Max 256 Gb


CPU/GPU type
The Huawei Y6 2019 is equipped with a Helio A22 MediaTek processor that offers modest performance and comes with a graphics processor that I have never tested before but it also offers modest performance. Is that a problem? If you are a basic user, no, if you want to use resource-intensive applications or games, you should choose another device.

Benchmark 3DMark
I get a score of 258 points (OpenGL) and 269 points (Vulkan) with 3Dmark. It's very low but it was perfectly predictable for this kind of phone.

Benchmark Antutu
Huawei Y6 2019
Antutu - global64018143242
Antutu - CPU2946666553
Antutu - GPU862130755
Antutu - UX1915738930
Antutu - MEM67747004
3DMark - OpenGL2581354
3DMark - Vulkan2691299


I get a score of 64018 points on Antutu, it's the lowest score I got with Antutu but as I write above, it's the first entry-level phone I've tested. It is especially at the GPU level that the score is particularly low, so large games or graphics applications should be excluded.


Gaming
To test the performance in game, I download the mobile PUBG game and evaluate the in-game experience, graphics level and depth of vision. This game is quite demanding and should help you evaluating the performance of a phone.


With the results of the Antutu benchmark, I expected nothing extraordinary for the PUBG test and was surprised to see that the game is playable. The graphic level is at its lowest and the fast movements stutter a little bit, but it is possible to play with PUBG. Lighter games will therefore not be a problem. I think screen resolution makes it possible to play this kind of game because the GPU has to be less strenuous than a screen in high resolution. I had already had this kind of surprise with the Xiaomi Mi A3.

Photo camera test

Huawei Y6 2019
Resolution - front812
Sensor - front/Omnivision OV13855
Resolution - back1348
Sensor - back/Samsung S5KGM1
Video resolution/4k
//
//
//


Hardware
Huawei does not communicate anything about the type of sensor used in the Huawei Y6, so it is probably not a Sony or Samsung sensor. I also don't have a point of comparison with another phone.

Photo quality


Default app
The default application is simplified to the maximum, it offers a photo mode, a video mode, a "beautify" mode, a panorama mode, an HDR mode and a PRO mode. The possibilities offered by the application are limited to the basic settings, only in PRO mode does the application offer advanced settings.

Photo test / studio


The Huawei Y6 is equipped with a unique 3.62mm lens, it is located between the zoom and wide angle. The focus was on the front of the police car, the sharpness area is comparable to other phones, the Huawei opens at f/1.8, the depth of field is low but the sensor captures more light. The sharpness is good, the grid with the Ford logo is perfectly readable. The colours are not quite correct but it is not catastrophic. The blue of the police car is very light and the white is a little too yellowed. I thought I would get worse results with this phone but I must admit that it looks like other phones that are a little more expensive.



Photo test / sunny


For this test I took pictures while the sun was offering a beautiful light in the late afternoon, the conditions were ideal to take good pictures. I took some pictures in the fields where there were yellow and purple flowers, I also took some pictures of the sunflowers nearby.

The pictures taken by the Huawei are rather bland, they seem veiled, some colors like yellow stand out quite well but most of the other colors are too dark. Sharpness is good for subjects close to the lens, but the further away you get, the harder it is to distinguish the details. I didn't expect a great performance on the photo level, so I'm not surprised by the result. If you are not demanding in terms of photography, this result will probably be enough for you. If you want good quality photos, you will have to pay a little more money.



Photo test / cloudy


Photos taken on cloudy days have some perfectly predictable defects for this type of phone. When the focus is on the shadow area, the sky turns completely white and a focus on the sky plunges the rest of the picture into darkness. The colors are not correct either, the color temperature is a little too high and this has the effect of yellowing the photos as for photos in full sun. The sharpness of the photo is however quite good.



\
Test photo / night
The Huawei Y6 2019 is clearly not a phone designed for photography and even less for night photography, it will quickly rise in ISO and digital noise is very visible from 800 ISO.

Video quality


Stabilisation
As for each of my tests, I start with a video made under the same conditions to be able to compare the quality and stabilization with the other devices.



The Huawei Y6 2019 does not seem to have optical stabilization, the video is ok despite the lack of stabilization but it is clear that it will not be a good candidate to make action videos. This is not what you expect from a phone of this type.

Video normale conditions
As you can see from the previous video, the Huawei produces videos with the same defects as the photo sensor for colors. If you observe the branches in contact with the sky, you will also see chromatic aberration. The phone does not change the focus and shutter speed fast enough, so you see jumps in brightness. I exported this video to place it on YouTube and I noticed that the Huawei was producing videos in 3GP, I hadn't seen this format for a long time. The codec used is also not at the h264 or h265 level.

Video low light
When the brightness decreases, the defects of the video are even more visible. On this video we see that the camera is not fast enough to focus, it goes from blur to focus visibly. For the brightness it is the same, we can clearly see the changes in the opening of the shutter.



Screen quality

To test the screen, I use a colorimetric probe that measures the color accuracy of a screen, as well as other parameters to see if a screen is able to correctly reproduce an image. I also test the brightness level to determine if the screen will be able to display an image in full sunlight.
Huawei Y6 2019
Size (inch)6.096.3
Resolution720x15601080x2340
Ratio19.5:919:09:00
Protection/Corning Gorilla Glass 5
TypeIPS LCDIPS LCD
Surface (%)7981.4
dE White8.96,9
dE Red4.03,5
dE Green0.91,1
dE Blue1.72,3
dE Yellow3.12
dE Cyan4.94,7
dE Magenta3.91,6
Contrast//
Max brightness476433,473


Colorimetry


For an entry-level phone, I didn't expect any marvels in terms of colorimetry and screen quality. By placing my Xiaomi Mi A3 next to the Huawei (see photo above in this article), I could already see clearly that the white was not white. The comparison is not very accurate because the Xiaomi has an Amoled screen but even without this comparison, you will see that the white is not white, it is a little yellowish.
The probe confirms what I saw to the eye, the difference with white is almost 9dE. I expected to get a bad result on the other colours but to my surprise this is not the case. I get an average dE of 3.9, it's not bad! If you look at the measurements in the table above this paragraph you will see that some colours are very accurate such as green and blue. On the image produced with the probe, you can see that the tips of the triangles are quite close to the reference, it is mainly the white in the middle that deviates from the norm in a visible way.

In this test, what bothers me the most is the deviation of the white from the standard because all the menus are on a white background. I have found a solution to mitigate the problem. From the phone settings it is possible to adjust the color temperature, the phone also offers a warmer or colder temperature. Neither of these two proposals improves the situation. However, you can adjust the temperature manually and if you push the green setting a little up to make the white come out of the center of the screen, you will be able to reduce the white deviation from the white. I managed to get a dE of 5.9 for white, it's much better. Obviously this kind of adjustment will cause other colors to deviate but the result is a subjective choice, I prefer a deterioration on some colors to guarantee a better white.

At the screen definition level, if you really pay attention, you will see that the pixel density is less than what you would find on devices at 150=200€. Again for an average user, this will not matter, but since my assessment is based on figures, I must say so.
Brightness
In automatic mode, the brightness adapts to the ambient light as most phones do, this adaptation seems to me to work correctly. For the probe test, I measure the maximum brightness to see what the phone is capable of producing and I was surprised to see that the Huawei has gone up to 476 cd/m, it is better than a Redmi Note 7 and this should make the screen readable in full sunlight.
Contrast
The contrast on an IPS screen is always lower than what you can see on an Amoled screen and this is also true here. The contrast ratio is not strong enough to create a very clear difference between the colors. The image is therefore less bright and the blacks tend to turn grey.

Biometry


The Huawei Y6 does not have a borrow sensor, it is quite rare nowadays. It has 2D facial recognition and works correctly, but if you occasionally wear glasses, the phone may not recognize you if you have registered your face without glasses.

Facial recognition and screen opening are not very fast, sometimes giving the impression that recognition has not worked.

Operating system


The Huawei Y6 2019 runs on Android 9 with the Huawei overlay called EMUI (version 9.1). This overlay is accompanied by several applications installed by default such as a theme application, a music application and other tools/applications that Huawei has decided to install on your phone. I understand very well that each manufacturer wants to install its applications but some defy common sense, how can we imagine that a Huawei (or Xiaomi) can compete with a Google (or other company of this calibre) on certain applications? It is really time for these companies to understand that they should focus on their business rather than getting into lost battles.

The Huawei overcoat is easy to use and offers many possibilities such as those found at Samsung or Xiaomi.


Home screen
The main screen is composed of the usual widget for the weather, the search engine, a few preselected icons and 5 shortcuts at the bottom of the screen.

Up
At the top you will find the usual screen for notifications that does not seem to fit my use. After a few days of use, the icons were still the same as when the phone was first started.
Down
There is no menu or screen down but you can activate the gesture navigation that will allow you to list all open applications from the bottom.
Right
On the right you will find all the applications installed on the phone. As the applications I use were installed from another phone, EMUI only placed them one after the other without any real logic. As the display is quite dense, it is sometimes difficult to find your way around.

Encoutered bugs


Not yet available / tested

Accessories Huawei Y6 2019

To better enjoy your experience with your smartphone, I propose links to all kinds of accessories that could be useful to you.

Protection cover huawei-y6-2019
Protective film / Tempered glass huawei-y6-2019
Memory card huawei-y6-2019
USB cable huawei-y6-2019
Headset huawei-y6-2019
Bicycle accessories huawei-y6-2019

Compare Huawei Y6 2019 with the others

Here is a ranking of the different results obtained through my tests. A score of 1 indicates a very poor performance while a score of 6 indicates an exceptional result. The score is a subjective measure, the ranking, on the other hand, is most of the time derived from a measure

Battery life
Umidigi F1 : 5
Umidigi S3 Pro : 5
Redmi Note 8 Pro : 4.5
Xiaomi Mi A3 : 4
Xiaomi Redmi Note 5 : 4
Redmi Note 7 : 4
Meizu Note 9 : 4
Honor 8x : 4
Samsung Galaxy S10+ : 4
Huawei Y6 2019 : 3.5
Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite : 3

Processor power (CPU)
Samsung Galaxy S10+ : 6
Redmi Note 8 Pro : 5.3
Meizu Note 9 : 5
Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite : 4.5
Redmi Note 7 : 4.5
Honor 8x : 4.5
Umidigi S3 Pro : 4.5
Xiaomi Mi A3 : 4.4
Umidigi F1 : 4
Xiaomi Redmi Note 5 : 3.5
Huawei Y6 2019 : 2

Graphics chipset power (GPU)
Samsung Galaxy S10+ : 6
Redmi Note 8 Pro : 5.3
Meizu Note 9 : 5
Umidigi F1 : 4.5
Umidigi S3 Pro : 4.5
Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite : 4
Xiaomi Mi A3 : 4.1
Redmi Note 7 : 4
Honor 8x : 4
Xiaomi Redmi Note 5 : 3.5
Huawei Y6 2019 : 2

Display quality
Samsung Galaxy S10+ : 6
Redmi Note 8 Pro : 4.5
Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite : 4
Xiaomi Redmi Note 5 : 4
Redmi Note 7 : 4
Meizu Note 9 : 4
Xiaomi Mi A3 : 3.8
Honor 8x : 3.5
Umidigi S3 Pro : 3.5
Umidigi F1 : 3.5
Huawei Y6 2019 : 3

Photo quality
Samsung Galaxy S10+ : 6
Redmi Note 8 Pro : 5.3
Redmi Note 7 : 5
Meizu Note 9 : 5
Xiaomi Redmi Note 5 : 4.5
Xiaomi Mi A3 : 4.3
Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite : 4
Honor 8x : 3.5
Umidigi S3 Pro : 3.5
Umidigi F1 : 2
Huawei Y6 2019 : 2

Video quality
Samsung Galaxy S10+ : 5
Redmi Note 8 Pro : 4.8
Redmi Note 7 : 4.5
Xiaomi Mi A3 : 4.5
Meizu Note 9 : 4
Xiaomi Redmi Note 5 : 4
Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite : 3.5
Honor 8x : 3
Umidigi S3 Pro : 3
Umidigi F1 : 2
Huawei Y6 2019 : 2

Finishing quality
Samsung Galaxy S10+ : 5.5
Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite : 5
Umidigi S3 Pro : 5
Redmi Note 8 Pro : 4.5
Xiaomi Mi A3 : 4.5
Honor 8x : 4.5
Redmi Note 7 : 4.5
Meizu Note 9 : 4.5
Xiaomi Redmi Note 5 : 3.5
Umidigi F1 : 3.5
Huawei Y6 2019 : 3.5

Wifi performance
Redmi Note 8 Pro : 5.5
Xiaomi Redmi Note 5 : 5
Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite : 5
Xiaomi Mi A3 : 5
Samsung Galaxy S10+ : 4
Redmi Note 7 : 4
Meizu Note 9 : 4
Umidigi F1 : 3.5
Umidigi S3 Pro : 3.5
Huawei Y6 2019 : 3.5
Honor 8x : 3

Download speed 4G
Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite : 5
Xiaomi Redmi Note 5 : 5
Xiaomi Mi A3 : 5
Redmi Note 8 Pro : 4.5
Honor 8x : 4
Samsung Galaxy S10+ : 4
Meizu Note 9 : 4
Redmi Note 7 : 4
Huawei Y6 2019 : 3
Umidigi S3 Pro : 3
Umidigi F1 : 2.5

Signal quality
Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite : 4
Xiaomi Redmi Note 5 : 4
Xiaomi Mi A3 : 3.8
Redmi Note 8 Pro : 3.8
Huawei Y6 2019 : 3.8
Meizu Note 9 : 3.5
Redmi Note 7 : 3.5
Honor 8x : 3.5
Samsung Galaxy S10+ : 3
Umidigi S3 Pro : 3
Umidigi F1 : 3

Supported frequencies
Samsung Galaxy S10+ : 5
Umidigi F1 : 5
Umidigi S3 Pro : 5
Redmi Note 8 Pro : 4.5
Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite : 3.5
Xiaomi Mi A3 : 3.5
Redmi Note 7 : 3.5
Meizu Note 9 : 3.5
Xiaomi Redmi Note 5 : 3.5
Honor 8x : 3.5
Huawei Y6 2019 : 3

Audio quality
Samsung Galaxy S10+ : 5
Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite : 4.5
Redmi Note 8 Pro : 4.5
Xiaomi Redmi Note 5 : 4
Redmi Note 7 : 4
Xiaomi Mi A3 : 4
Umidigi S3 Pro : 3.5
Meizu Note 9 : 3.5
Honor 8x : 3
Umidigi F1 : 3
Huawei Y6 2019 : 3

GPS quality
Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite : 4
Redmi Note 7 : 4.5
Redmi Note 8 Pro : 4.5
Xiaomi Redmi Note 5 : 4
Honor 8x : 4
Xiaomi Mi A3 : 4
Samsung Galaxy S10+ : 4
Umidigi S3 Pro : 4
Meizu Note 9 : 3.5
Umidigi F1 : 3.5
Huawei Y6 2019 : 3.5

Ease of use of the operating system
Samsung Galaxy S10+ : 5.5
Redmi Note 8 Pro : 5
Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite : 5
Xiaomi Redmi Note 5 : 5
Redmi Note 7 : 5
Umidigi S3 Pro : 4.5
Meizu Note 9 : 4.5
Xiaomi Mi A3 : 4
Honor 8x : 4
Umidigi F1 : 4
Huawei Y6 2019 : 3.5

Final score
Samsung Galaxy S10+ : 69 / 84
Redmi Note 8 Pro : 66.5 / 84
Redmi Note 7 : 59 / 84
Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite : 59 / 84
Xiaomi Mi A3 : 58.9 / 84
Meizu Note 9 : 58 / 84
Xiaomi Redmi Note 5 : 57.5 / 84
Umidigi S3 Pro : 55.5 / 84
Honor 8x : 52 / 84
Umidigi F1 : 49 / 84
Huawei Y6 2019 : 41.3 / 84

Test / Review conclusion


The Huawei Y6 2019 is an entry-level phone, it is the first phone of its kind I have tested and it is therefore not surprising to find it last in the ranking. Should you avoid this phone? It depends on its price. At the time of testing, some stores were selling it for 150€, it is too expensive because for this price, other phones like the Redmi Note 7 are much better. In the price zone around 100€ this phone can find a place among some users who do not want to spend a fortune on a phone.

We sometimes forget that the primary purpose of a telephone is to correctly pick up the network and make calls, the Huawei fulfils this mission very well because it picks up the network well. Beyond these basic features, the Huawei offers features typical of a smartphone but does not shine in any area.
This phone will therefore be suitable for an audience that is not looking for the latest technology but still wants to be able to surf comfortably or take a few pictures. This phone could also be suitable as the first smartphone for a child or an elderly person.

Strengths
[+] Battery life
[+] Network capture

Weaknesses
[-] Performance/Slow
[-] Photo quality