On this page:
Price Oukitel C21
Unpacking
First configuration
Finish
Specifications
CPU / GPU Performance
Benchmark Antutu/3DMark
Network performance
Wifi performance
GPS performance
Battery range
Photo camera test
Hardware
Photoquality
Video quality
Audio quality
Screen quality
Biometry
Operating system
Test / Review conclusion
Questions answers

Best new price:
98.666 EUR
See the offer | Amazon.com

75 other prices available in other stores.

Oukitel C21: test / review without double talk

Oukitel C21 : test / review

Category: Tests / Reviews

In my almost desperate search to find credible alternatives to Xiaomi in the under €200 segment, this time I let myself be tempted by Oukitel. [b][b]I had never tested a phone of this brand before but the Oukitel C21 has a very aggressive price positioning (around 100€) for similar characteristics to a Redmi Note 9.[b][b]Oukitel is not a recent brand, the company was founded in 2007 in China. Oukitel sells smartphones as well as electronic cigarettes and portable batteries...it's a rather particular combination of products, I hope this Oukitel C21 will not go up in smoke.[b][b][b][b][b]linkManufacturer web site: https://oukitel.com/[b]linkSite where I have bought the Oukitel C21: https://www.banggood.com/custlink/KmKhHSbEf9[b]

Structure of my tests

I test the phones according to a pre-established structure (see below) to provide you with as much information as possible. Unfortunately, this takes a long time. Some tests like network performance tests take several days and for photo tests I sometimes have to wait until the weather is suitable to take pictures in good conditions. I am therefore obliged to publish the tests step by step, so I invite you to come back if the test is not complete at the time of your visit.[b]
How are my tests different from others on the web?

- I usually buy the devices with my own money, so price is just as important as you are!
- I keep the devices for at least a few weeks (sometimes more) to see what they are worth in real conditions.
- I answer (when possible) your questions to help you decide before you buy
- no one pays me to do these reviews, so I'm completely neutral and independent...
- My pages are not filled with ads



Xiaomi Redmi Note 9T: test / review
Xiaomi Mi Watch Lite : test / review
Redmi 9C test / review
Umidigi A9 Pro test / review
Xiaomi Mi 10T Pro : test / review
Poco M3 : test / review
Umidigi Bison: test / review
Redmi 9A test / review
Poco X3 test / review
Oukitel C21 : test / review

Price Oukitel C21

The list below shows the prices for the Oukitel C21 from more than 50 sites around the world. If you are not satisfied with any price, you can subscribe to a price alert to be the first to be notified when the price drops.[b]
OUKITEL Y1000 Unlocked Phones, Rugged Smartphone Android 9.0 Phones IP68 Waterproof 6.1" 32+2GB/128G...
2021-01-27 00:21
120 USD
Smartphone Débloqué 10000mAh, téléphone Portable OUKITEL K7 Power Dual SIM 4G Android 8.1, écra...
2021-01-27 11:01
100 EUR
Smartphone ohne Vertrag OUKITEL C21, Android 10 Dual-SIM-Handy, 20 MP AI Selfie+16MP Quad-Kamera, 6,...
2021-01-27 11:01
110 EUR
OUKITEL C21 4G Smartphone...
2021-01-27 07:32
140 USD
OUKITEL C21 Android 10.0 Smartphone 4G Celular Octa Core Mobile Phone Helio P60 20MP Al Selfie Camer...
2021-01-27 07:32
145 USD
OUKITEL C21 Smartphone 6.4" FHD 4G+64GB Octa Core 4000mAh 20MP Quad Camera...
2021-01-26 21:04
145 USD
[b]
helpThe above links are affiliate links from companies such as Amazon, Gearbest, Aliexpress,... If you appreciate my work, I would be grateful if you could purchase these products through these links. It costs you absolutely nothing but I get a small commission that allows me to buy the material I test. Thank you very much!

Timeline

28/10/2020 I bought the Oukitel C21 on Banggood[b]12/11/2020 I have received the Oukitel C21 and the test can begin[b][b]

Why this phone?

As I wrote in the introduction of this article, I was looking for an alternative to Xiaomi and I finally bought 3 phones: an Umidigi A9 Pro, an Elephone U5 and finally the Oukitel C21.[b][b]I bought this phone for less than 100€ and yet it offers a price/performance ratio equivalent to a Redmi Note 9 and is cheaper. Usually Xiaomi offers the best price/performance ratio. Beyond the price, other features caught my attention.[b][b]The Oukitel C21 has a metal coating, which is quite rare in this price range. It is quite light and the screen occupies 85% of the front surface. The screen is quite large and offers a resolution of 1080 x 2310 where even Xiaomi is happy with 720p in this price range.[b][b]So this phone looks very interesting, I'm curious to see what it's made of.[b][b]

Unpacking

[b]The Oukitel C21 is delivered in an orange box with no distinguishing mark. The box contains the phone, a transparent plastic cover (directly installed on the phone), a manual, a USB cable type C, a charger and a needle to open the sim drawer.[b][b]I have never felt like I had a 100€ phone in my hands. At first glance the phone can compare with what you find around 200€.[b][b][b]
Length : 157.3
Width : 75.5
Thickness : 8.7
Weight : 170
Jack output : No
USB Type : Type C
Infrared port : No

First configuration

The initial configuration of the Oukitel C21 follows the same path as most phones running Android. Oukitel has not added anything to register you to an unwanted service or application. [b][b][b][b]

Finish

[b][b]The Oukitel C21 is my first Oukitel. I had no preconceived ideas about the level of finish, I didn't expect anything extraordinary because in this price range the finish is often quite basic. [b][b]This Oukitel C21 surprised me positively. Its coating is partially metal and the smartphone is in its entirety quite well finished. The big photo block on the back hardly comes out of the back of the smartphone where Xiaomi produces phones with a photo block that comes out quite strongly on the back.[b][b]The buttons on the right are placed high up but are easy to access. The fingerprint sensor on the other hand is located in the photo block at the back, it is a very unusual place that will require some time to adapt because after a few days, I still had a tendency to put my finger on the camera rather than on the fingerprint sensor.[b][b]Underneath there is a USB type C port and a sound sensor but no audio jack connector, so you have to go through a USB to jack adapter. There is no USB to jack adapter in the box and I find this deplorable as it will force you to buy one separately.[b][b]The SIM drawer can hold 2 SIMs or 1 SIM + 1 memory card.[b][b]The display takes up 85% of the front of the phone, it is above average and the borders are quite thin. The front camera is offered as a punch in the top left corner, it is bigger than what is found on more expensive models but it is rather well integrated into the screen.[b][b]The Oukitel C21 offers a much higher level of finish than other phones in this price range. I recently tested a Redmi 9C which sells for the same price but offers a lower level of finish. I would even say that the Oukitel C21 offers a level of finish comparable to smartphones like the Nokia 5.3, the Redmi Note 9 or the Samsung Galaxy A21s...these phones cost twice as much![b][b][b][b]

Specifications

[b]The information below comes from the Device Info HW application. The application provides detailed technical information about the tested phone.I tested the 4Gb / 64 Gb version and here are the main features of the phone:[b][b][b][b]

CPU / GPU Performance

CPU : MediaTek Helio P60 (MT6771)
GPU : ARM Mali-G72 MP3 700MHz
Memory (RAM) : 4 Gb
Storage : 64 Gb

Benchmark Antutu/3DMark

As I wrote in the previous paragraph, the Oukitel C21 is not a performance-oriented telephone. I expected to get an Antutu score close to the Redmi Note 9 but I got a lower score without really noticing a noticeable difference in use.[b][b]I scored 148637 points with Antutu. If I look in the same price range I have about 110,000 points with the Redmi 9C. The Oukitel outperforms a Samsung A21s (150-200€) and approaches the Nokia 5.3 (150-200€). The Oukitel C21 therefore offers a very good price/performance ratio.[b][b][b][b]
Antutu score : 148637
Antutu CPU : 61981
Antutu GPU : 25540
Antutu UX : 33004
Antutu Mem : 28112
3D Mark Open GL : 1170
[b]Top 10 - performance ranking based on Antutu
1. Oppo Find X2 Pro - 605184
2. Oneplus 8t - 595000
3. Xiaomi Mi 10t Pro - 581650
4. Oneplus 8 Pro - 579417
5. Xiaomi Mi 10 - 579114
6. Poco F2 Pro - 569559
7. Samsung Galaxy S20 Fe - 565000
8. Samsung Galaxy S20 - 503905
9. Huawei P40 - 466765
10. Huawei P40 Pro - 466765

Number of smartphones in the ranking:116
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:65/116

Note: this ranking only contains the phones I tested as well as a few others that I added for reference.
[b]Gaming[b]To test the performance in game, I download the mobile PUBG game and evaluate the in-game experience, graphics level and depth of vision. This game is quite demanding and should help you evaluating the performance of a phone.[b][b]I tested PUBG Mobile on the Oukitel C21 and despite the low performance of this phone, PUBG Mobile is perfectly playable. The textures are degraded but I didn't feel any jerks in game, the animations were also quite correct.[b][b]

Network performance

The Oukitel C21 provides basic frequency coverage that will allow telephone use in most countries except where operators use frequency B28 (700 Mhz).[b][b]
3G frequencies : B1 (2100), B8 (900)
4G frequencies : B1 (2100), B3 (1800), B7 (2600), B8 (900), B19 (800), B20 (800)
Bluetooth : Bluetooth 5.0 LE
Volte : Yes
NFC : No
Number measurements : 1101
Average signal (reference) : -92.04
Average signal (telephone) : -94.99
Average deviation reference/telephone : -2.95
Min/Max signal (reference) : -90 / -97
Min/Max signal (phone) : -92 / -95
Choose your country to check if your phone is compatible:


The frequencies displayed below will allow you to see if this phone is compatible with your operator or if you will be able to use it in the country where you are going on vacation.


Signal 4G (before december 2020)[b]The ability to pick up the network correctly is an essential element for a phone but it is only very rarely measured. To measure a phone's ability to pick up the network, I perform a large number of measurements on the same cells to be able to compare phones under similar conditions. The signal is measured in dBm, a value of -90dBm indicates a worse signal than -70dBm. These measurements are therefore taken under real conditions and not in a laboratory, they are not scientific but give a good indication of performance. [b][b]Network signal sensitivity rating
Phone tested:Average signal (dBm)Number of measurements:
Xiaomi Mi 9t Pro-881600
Xiaomi Redmi Note 5-91.305600
Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite-93788
Samsung Galaxy A70-94.5111975
Nokia 5.3-94.98531
Realme 6-95.142301
Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro-95.9221599
Xiaomi Mi A3-95.951000
Huawei Y6 2019-95.951199
Doogee S58 Pro-96.22856
Redmi 9a-96.481000
Meizu Note 9-96.68937
Motorola G8 Power-96.881032
Xiaomi Redmi Note 7-97.011430
Redmi 9c-97.041000
Umidigi S3 Pro-97.131200
Xiaomi Redmi Note 8-97.34879
Samsung Galaxy A21s-97.781000
Umidigi F1-97.82298
Ulefone Armor 7e-98.71000
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite-991000
Honor 9x-99.14899
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s-99.41860
Poco F2 Pro-99.81247
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9-100.791785
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g-100.881198
Poco X3-101.19821
Umidigi F2-101.47712
[b][b]Signal 4G (from December 2020)[b]I decided to change the methodology for measuring the network because I noticed that the configuration of the mobile network changes over time. This makes it more difficult to compare phones because the conditions are no longer exactly the same.[b][b]To overcome this problem, I set up a device that captures 24 hours a day about ten parameters from the mobile network (ex: cell id, rssi, rsrq, snr, frequency,...). I then place the phone next to the device for 24 to 48 hours taking the same measurements so that I can compare them. [b][b] Overview of the phones tested with this methodology[b][b]
Phone tested:MeasurementsAvg signal (reference)Avg signal (phone)Min/Max (reference)Min/Max (phone)
Samsung Galaxy S10+457-93.06-97.39-89 / -98-97 / -99
Xiaomi Mi 9t Pro669-93.69-95.84-90 / -95-92 / -98
Poco F2 Pro1438-91.02-94.99-89 / -94-94 / -96
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g1645-90.77-95.02- 88 / -98-95 / -100
Poco X3821-94.89-103.19-91 / -97.7-101 / -104
Umidigi Bison2343-92.71-96.46-90 / -99-94 / -102
Oukitel C211101-92.04-94.99-90 / -97-92 / -95
Poco M31116-92.09-91.74-88 / -98-90 / -99
Xiaomi Mi 10t Pro1071-90.61-94.03-88 / -94-94 / -96
Umidigi A9 Pro981-90.40-94.01-88 / -95-93 / -95
Redmi Note 9t1201-92.149-91.71-90 / -97-91 / -97
[b][b]The Oukitel C21 is the second phone I have tested with the new network protocol and I have obtained really interesting results. [b][b]My measuring device obtained an average signal of - 92.04 dBm over the duration of the test (1101 measurements). The Oukitel obtained an average signal of -94.99 dBm. The deviation is 2.95 dBm where the Poco X3 (first device measured) obtained a deviation of 8 dBm. The Oukitel C21 therefore scores very close to my measuring device and this is an indication that it is able to pick up the network correctly.[b][b]
[b][b]On the graph I see that the Oukitel obtains measurements very close to those obtained by the measuring device but what is also interesting is to see the stability of the signal. The measurements of the Oukitel result in an almost perfect circle where the measuring device shows irregularities. [b][b]In summary, the Oukitel C21 offers good sensitivity to the 4G network and also manages to keep a very stable signal.[b][b][b][b]Download/Upload speed[b]To test the download speed, I have identified some 4G cells offering good performance where I test all my devices several times to see what download and upload speed they can achieve.[b]Top 10 - speed ranking in download
1. Samsung Galaxy S20 D:351Mbps U: 20Mbps
2. Poco X3 D:232Mbps U: 55Mbps
3. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g D:223Mbps U: 52Mbps
4. Poco F2 Pro D:207Mbps U: 53Mbps
5. Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite D:153Mbps U: 68Mbps
6. Xiaomi Mi A3 D:150Mbps U: 60Mbps
7. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s D:150Mbps U: 60Mbps
8. Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite D:149Mbps U: 60Mbps
9. Samsung Galaxy A21s D:147Mbps U: 51Mbps
10. Huawei Y6 2019 D:145Mbps U: 61Mbps

Number of smartphones in the ranking:30
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:0/30

Note: the theoretical maximum speed of a telephone is often limited by the configuration of the mobile network and the congestion of the network at the time of the measurement. So maybe you could get a higher speed on another network
[b][b]

Wifi performance

To test a phone's ability to receive the network properly, I take measurements near my router and then remotely (and always at the same place). This gives me an average in dBm where a value of -90 dBm indicates poorer performance than a value at -30 dBm.[b]
Wifi frequencies : 802.11a, 802.11b, 802.11g, 802.11n, 802.11n 5GHz
Wifi signal[b]Not yet available / tested[b][b][b]Top 10 - wifi sensitivity ranking
1. Poco F2 Pro -11dBm
2. Samsung Galaxy A21s -13dBm
3. Poco X3 -17dBm
4. Xiaomi Mi 10t Pro -18dBm
5. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s -18dBm
6. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro -19dBm
7. Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite -19dBm
8. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g -19dBm
9. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 -19dBm
10. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 -19dBm

Number of smartphones in the ranking:34
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:0/34

[b]Download/Upload speed[b]To test the speed in Wifi, I connect to my router in 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz (if available) and use the Ookla application to measure the speed.[b]Top 10 - wifi download speed ranking
1. Samsung Galaxy S20 351Mbps
2. Poco F2 Pro 341Mbps
3. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro 319Mbps
4. Umidigi Bison 306Mbps
5. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g 300Mbps
6. Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite 260Mbps
7. Poco X3 251Mbps
8. Xiaomi Redmi Note 7 250Mbps
9. Umidigi F1 220Mbps
10. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 211Mbps

Number of smartphones in the ranking:33
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:0/33

Note: I have a 400Mbps line and a modem capable of delivering higher speed, but I can never be sure how much bandwidth is available when doing a test.
[b]

GPS performance

[b]To test the quality of the GPS signal I use the Offline Maps application and I make the same train trip in pedestrian mode. Why? In pedestrian mode, the GPS does not artificially correct the signal to stick to the road, it has no markings, so you can see the actual position. I then use an application to measure the accuracy of the signal. [b][b]The Oukitel is equipped with a Mediatek CPU and this often results in good performance for GPS. My test confirms this as I obtained a level of accuracy of 1m on a clear sky. I then moved under the trees and the accuracy returned to 2m. The trees had no leaves but this means that the Oukitel C21 is picking up the GPS signal well even under the trees. [b][b]However, I have no signal with the Galileo network.[b][b][b]Top 10 - GPS accuracy ranking
1. Oukitel C21 1m
2. Redmi 9a 1m
3. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 1m
4. Redmi 9c 2m
5. Umidigi Bison 2m
6. Xiaomi Mi 10t Pro 3m
7. Samsung Galaxy A21s 4m

Number of smartphones in the ranking:8
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:1/8

Note: An accuracy of 3 meters or less can easily be corrected by a good GPS application. Phone performance also plays a role in how fast your display updates, so good accuracy could be compromised by too slow a display.
[b]

Battery range

Capacity : 4000
Fast charge : Yes
W max : 18
Range (100% brightness) : 497.00
Range (50% brightness) : 1324.00
Charging time : 167.00
Discharge speed (100%) : 0.20
Discharge score (100%) : 8.05
Discharge speed (50%) : 0.08
Discharge score (50%) : 3.02
Charging speed : 0.60
Charging score : 23.95
From March 2020, I replaced my subjective battery test with a technical test to better measure the real behaviour of the battery. Now I test the autonomy and charging time under absolutely identical conditions. I perform several measurements, so this test alone takes several days during which I cannot use the phone for anything else.

Battery life - methodology
To test the battery life, I measure the battery consumption every minute in strictly identical conditions to be able to compare phones and also to allow you to evaluate your phone in the same conditions. I rule out any influence of applications that could interfere with the measurement. The autonomy is not linear, the battery sometimes discharges much faster at the end. This is a frustrating phenomenon but with my measurements, you will know if you need to find a charger quickly.

Battery life
The battery of the Oukitel C21 has a capacity of 4000 mAh and has discharged from 100% to 1% in 497.00 minutes with 100% brightness, it has discharged from 100% to 1% in 1324.00 minutes with 50% brightness. I obtain in this way an average discharge speed of 0.20% per minute with 100% luminosity and 0.08% per minute with 50% luminosity, the consumption is therefore 8.05 mA per minute with 100% luminosity and 3.02 with 50% luminosity. To be able to compare the efficiency of the phone and its influence on the battery, you have to compare the 8.05 (or 50%) score with that of other smartphones, the figure should be as low as possible.

Charging time - methodology
To test the charging time, I always use the same charger with the same cable. I measure the charging time minute by minute to see the evolution of the charge as well as the charging speed. The charging speed of a battery is not linear, it is often faster at the beginning and slower at the end. The charger is compatible with fast charging.

Charging time
The battery of the Oukitel C21 has a capacity of 4000 mAh and has been charged from 1% to 100% in 167.00 minutes. This gives me an average charging speed of 0.60% per minute and therefore an increase of 23.95 mA per minute. To compare the performance of the Oukitel C21 compared to other phones, you should use the 23.95 per minute score, this score should be as high as possible.

Important note: the charging speed is not always linear, the graph below gives you an indication of the battery behaviour.

The following table lists the phones tested with the technical battery test, they are ranked in order of efficiency. A higher battery capacity should logically result in a higher battery life but it is not always the case and it does not give any indication of the efficiency of a phone.

SmartphoneCapacity (mAh)Battery life (minutes)Efficiency ScoreBattery life (minutes) / 50%Efficiency Score / 50%Charging time.Score charging
Oukitel C214000497.008.051324.003.02167.0023.95
Honor 9x4000770.005.191333.003.00151.0026.49
Nokia 5.34000549.007.291096.003.65199.0020.10
Samsung Galaxy S204000565.007.081217.003.29136.0029.41
Umidigi A9 Pro4150552.007.521562.002.66112.0037.05
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g4160749.005.551541.002.70163.0025.52
Realme 64300704.006.111104.003.89162.0026.54
Poco F2 Pro47001150.004.091536.003.06180.0026.11
Redmi 9c5000656.007.621915.002.61170.0029.41
Umidigi Bison5000550.009.091471.003.40238.0021.01
Redmi Note 9t5000766.006.532054.002.43148.0033.78
Redmi 9a5000694.007.201902.002.63195.0025.64
Motorola G8 Power5000912.005.482792.001.79311.0016.08
Samsung Galaxy A21s5000729.006.861283.003.90166.0030.12
Xiaomi Redmi Note 95020650.007.721808.002.78162.0030.99
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s5020663.007.571876.002.68224.0022.41
Umidigi F25150927.005.561854.002.78299.0017.22
Poco X35160653.007.901654.003.12181.0028.51
Doogee S58 Pro5180845.006.131908.002.71177.0029.27
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite5260827.006.361609.003.27208.0025.29
Ulefone Armor 7e5500768.007.161140.004.82179.0030.73
Poco M36000842.007.131898.003.16217.0027.65

helpHow to read these figures?
The battery capacity is an important element in determining the autonomy of a phone but it is not the only factor. A phone with a large battery may have a shorter battery life if it consumes more power. If I had to take an example from everyday life, I would use the universe of the car. If a car has a large fuel tank, it should be able to drive a longer distance unless its average fuel consumption is higher. The battery efficiency score works the same way, it should be as low as possible and represents the energy consumption of the phone. These differences in efficiency are often related to the brightness of the screen, large bright screens will tend to consume more energy and even if they have a large battery, their range will be shorter.

In summary When the screen brightness is pushed to 100%, the phone consumes 2.6 times more than with 50% brightness. This puts the Oukitel C21 at the bottom of the table for battery life with the screen brightness at maximum. If I measure the range at 50%, the Oukitel C21 scores better than average.[b][b]This difference between 50% and 100% can be seen quite clearly on the following graph:[b]
[b][b]100% energy efficiency is therefore not very good. You have to reduce the brightness to find the ideal configuration.[b][b]Battery charging time is in the average of phones with the same type of battery.[b][b][b]

Photo camera test

To test the quality of photos produced by a phone, I do a technical test (resolution, sharpness, chromatic aberration,...) in studio (identical conditions) to evaluate the technical part objectively. From the second half of 2020, I built my own laboratory to take completely objective technical measurements. I then take pictures in real conditions to see how the camera performs. I then evaluate these photos according to my criteria but I publish the photos so that you can evaluate the result according to your criteria.[b]

Hardware

Selfie / resolution : 20
Selfie / sensor : Samsung S5K3T1
Resolution : 16
Sensor : Omnivision OV16880
mm wide angle : 3.4 mm
The Oukitel C21 uses an Omnivision OV16880 sensor as the main sensor at the rear and the Samsung S5K3T1 for the selfie camera. I have not yet tested a phone with this combination of sensors, so I would not be able to compare the results with another phone using the same hardware.[b][b]Default app[b]The default photo application is quite basic because the Oukitel C21 has only two sensors on the back (the main sensor + one macro sensor). [b][b]The main sensor is supported by a depth sensor and an auxiliary sensor. So there are three physical sensors for one picture.[b][b]The application offers the following modes:[b]- video[b]- bokeh (for portraits)[b]- image[b]- beauty (for selfies)[b]- Extra: pro, macro, filters[b][b]The photo application is therefore nothing extraordinary, but it has the advantage of being very simple and not drowning the user in thousands of options.[b][b]When the brightness drops, I notice that the camera stutters a little, you can feel the lack of power to process the image quickly enough.[b][b][b]

Photoquality

Photo test / studio[b]
[b][b]For this first studio photo test, I didn't take a lot of pictures because I can only test the main sensor and the macro sensor.[b][b]The main sensor produces a very good result. The photo could be a bit more exposed but the sharpness is good and the colours are correctly rendered (with a bit of underexposure). [b][b]The macro sensor also delivers good results for this kind of sensor. The resolution is too low (2 MP), so the photo is pixelated but if it is displayed at the right size, the quality is not bad at all. Usually macro sensors deliver a poor quality photo, this is not the case here. [b][b]I am positively surprised by the quality of these photos in the studio, I am curious to see if this phone will be able to produce such good photos in real conditions.[b][b][b][b][b]Photo test / sunny[b]
[b][b]When I test entry-level phones like this Oukitel C21, I don't expect very good photo results. The Oukitel C21 produces fairly good results for this price range. The quality of the photos is obviously not comparable to a 500€ phone but the result is interesting.[b][b]When the light is good, the C21 is able to capture many details, and the sharpness is sometimes too pronounced. The colour temperature is a little too warm but on the introductory photo to this paragraph it is not disturbing. The photo was taken at the end of November, so the sun is quite low and produces a more orange light which is well reproduced on this photo. On the other hand, the phone needs one or two seconds to focus, so sometimes you need to pay attention before pressing the shutter button.[b][b][b]
[b][b]The problem of colour temperature can be seen a bit more in this picture, the vegetation is actually not as reddish.[b][b]
[b][b]At the end of the day, the reddish effect is even more visible. When the brightness drops, the differences between light and dark areas become more pronounced and the Oukitel is not very good at compensating for this difference (there is no HDR). This means that one will soon find oneself with either a white sky or a ground completely in shadow. By playing a little with the pro mode it is possible to reduce the problem but I doubt that many users have the patience to use this mode.[b][b]The Oukitel C21 is not the smartphone of the century for photography but we must not lose sight of the fact that this phone sells for around 100€ and that for this price, the result is not as bad.[b][b][b][b][b][b]Photo test / cloudy[b]Not yet available / tested[b][b][b]Test photo / night[b][b]

Video quality

Stabilisation[b][b][b]The Oukitel C21 does not stabilise videos, which is not surprising because in this price range no phone is capable of stabilising a video correctly. [b][b]Video normale conditions[b][b]The Oukitel C21 is capable of producing 1080p videos but they are not of exceptional quality. The phone obviously needs time to focus and if there is movement, the transition from blur to sharpness is quite visible. For static videos, the problem is less visible, the video is actually quite sharp.[b][b]The colour temperature is a little too high, giving a reddish colour to the vegetation, it is the same as for the photos as it is the same sensor.[b][b][b][b]In a vertical position, rapid movements will not be corrected quickly enough and a blur of movement will appear. With a slow movement, this problem is much less present.[b][b]Video low light[b]

Audio quality

To test the quality of the phone's audio output, I connect the device's audio output to a measuring tool, then play sounds on all frequencies and measure the differences between the original sound and the sound produced by the phone. In this way I measure the phone's ability to correctly reproduce all sounds.[b]
Frequency Respons : +0.01 / -0.13
Noise Level : -92
Dynamic Range : 91.8
THD : 0.00211
Intermodulation : 0.00819
Stereo crosstalk : 0
Frequency Response[b]This test is intended to test the device's ability to correctly reproduce all frequencies. The white line in the middle of the graph is the ideal situation and the other colors come from tests on different phones. A deviation from the reference line indicates a deviation from the ideal situation. To see good sound at all frequencies, it is therefore necessary to get as close as possible to the reference line.
[b][b]The Oukitel C21 is capable of reproducing most frequencies correctly, it offers a performance equivalent to the Redmi 9C. This frequency coverage is also quite comparable to other more expensive phones such as the Redmi Note 9s.[b][b]Dynamic Range[b]This test is designed to test a phone's ability to play sounds at different volume levels. Here too, the phones must be as close as possible to the reference.
[b]The Oukitel C21 delivers a powerful sound but despite this power, the distortion is very low and the frequency coverage is very good. I was surprised by this result because smartphones that deliver a powerful sound are often subject to distortion, which is not the case with the Oukitel C21.[b][b][b]Noise Level[b]This test aims to identify if the device under test is able to reproduce sounds without too much noise. A high score indicates a low parasite rate, a lower score indicates a higher presence of parasites.
[b][b]The Oukitel C21 does not present any interference problems, it is one of the telephones that comes closest to the reference.[b][b]I am not at the end of my surprises with this phone. The audio test reveals that it is capable of doing as well and sometimes even better than phones twice as expensive.[b][b]Concert recording[b]The purpose of this test is to measure the recording quality of the phone when there is a lot of ambient noise. Since I don't have the opportunity to go to a concert every time I test a phone, I simulate the noise of a concert in a closed environment.

Screen quality

To test the screen, I use a colorimetric probe that measures the color accuracy of a screen, as well as other parameters to see if a screen is able to correctly reproduce an image. I also test the brightness level to determine if the screen will be able to display an image in full sunlight.[b]
Screen size : 6.4
Resolution : 1080 x 2310
Ratio : 19.5:9
Type : TFT LCD
% occupancy : 85
dE white : 6.5
dE red : 3.0
dE green : 5.5
dE blue : 4.6
dE jaune : 5.5
dE cyan : 4.9
dE magenta : 3.9
White temperature : 7474
Contrast : 1200:1
Brightness : 380
Colorimetry[b]
[b][b]The Oukitel C21 offers a resolution of 1080 x 2310 pixels and 85% occupancy of the front surface of the phone. This is not in itself a revolution except that this phone costs 100€ and at this price, you will hardly find a screen with such a good definition.[b][b]The resolution is not the only good surprise, the colorimetry is also quite good. I measured a dE 4.8 and again in this price range, it's very rare. This score is only slightly lower than what I got with the Poco X3. Beyond the score which is remarkable for this price range, I also see that the colour differences are fairly uniform. I usually measure larger deviations on some colours but here the deviations are more or less the same for all colours.[b][b]What I regret is that it is not possible to modify the colour temperature to try to lower the white temperature but at this price, one should not dream.[b][b][b]Top 10 - ranking of the best screens by colorimetry
1. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g dE = 0.73
2. Xiaomi Mi 10t Pro dE = 0.83
3. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 dE = 1.2
4. Samsung Galaxy S20 dE = 1.4
5. Poco M3 dE = 1.4
6. Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite dE = 1.46
7. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s dE = 1.47
8. Honor 9x dE = 1.5
9. Poco F2 Pro dE = 1.73
10. Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite dE = 1.91

Number of smartphones in the ranking:36
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:27/36

Note: the colorimetric difference is measured in dE. After three, the human eye will perceive a colorimetric difference, so the dE should be the lowest. The tests were all carried out with a colorimetric probe.
[b]Brightness / Contrast[b]I measured a maximum brightness of 380 cd/m², which is enough for everyday use but in full sunlight the screen may be harder to read. I tried to get a higher value by flooding the brightness sensor but this did not change the values.[b][b]Light Absorption/Reflection[b]The smartphone screen reflect light and sometimes turn them into a real mirror. This mirror effect makes it harder to read. [b][b]The absorption index below indicates the percentage of light absorbed by the screen. The readability of a screen is better when the absorption index is high.[b][b]
Phone tested:% light absorption
Samsung Galaxy S10+58
Xiaomi Mi 9T Pro52
Honor 9x65
Redmi Note 9s55
Motorola G8 Power60
Realme 654
Umidigi F248
Poco F2 Pro52
Redmi Note 956
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite53
Samsung Galaxy S2047
Samsung Galaxy A21s53
The phones tested have an average absroption rate of54 %

Biometry

The Oukitel C21 is equipped with a fingerprint sensor on the back but this sensor is in a rather unusual place and as I wrote above, it takes some getting used to. This sensor is located next to the photo sensor and when touching it, it is difficult to distinguish the two.[b][b]When the finger is positioned correctly, the sensor is quite fast and efficient.[b][b]

Operating system

[b][b][b]The Oukitel C21 runs on Android 10 without any overlay added by the manufacturer. It is therefore a streamlined version of Android that highlights Google's services for all common applications. Oukitel has not forced the installation of unwanted applications.[b][b]I haven't noticed any differences with other phones on Android 10, the phone is responsive enough to switch from one screen to another without latency, Android menus open quickly. [b][b]

Encoutered bugs

Not yet available / tested[b][b]

Accessories Oukitel C21

To better enjoy your experience with your smartphone, I offer links to all kinds of accessories that you might find useful

Protective cover / case oukitel c21
Screen protection film oukitel c21
Memory card oukitel c21
USB Cable / Charger oukitel c21
Headphones oukitel c21
Bike rack oukitel c21

Compare Oukitel C21 with the others

I assigned a score of 1 to 10 for each test that determines the strengths and weaknesses of a product. I am using 0 for criteria that have not (yet) been tested. A score of 1 to 3 indicates poor performance (and yes, it does), a score of 4 to 6 indicates average performance, a score of 7 to 8 indicates good performance, and a score of 9 and 10 indicates exceptional performance. .
The score is calculated based on my measurements and when there are no measurements, it is a subjective opinion based on my experience.

The scores are not static, they change over time because the performance of new products changes and this must be taken into account.

Oukitel C21
Finish quality7.006.00
Battery performance6.508.00
CPU performance6.006.5
GPU performance6.006.5
Screen quality7.007.00
Photo quality5.505.00
Video quality5.505.00
Wi-Fi performance6.007.00
Mobile download speed6.005.00
Mobile network sensitivity7.006.00
Frequency coverage6.007.00
Audio quality6.006.00
GPS performance8.006.00
Operating system7.008.00
Overall score89.589
Global ranking
1. Samsung Galaxy S20 112 / 140
2. Poco F2 Pro 111 / 140
3. Samsung Galaxy S10+ 107 / 140
4. Xiaomi Mi 9t Pro 106 / 140
5. Poco X3 102 / 140
6. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g 101 / 140
7. Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite 101 / 140
8. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro 100 / 140
9. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s 98 / 140
10. Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite 98 / 140
11. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 97 / 140
12. Xiaomi Redmi Note 7 94 / 140
13. Realme 6 93 / 140
14. Umidigi Bison 92 / 140
15. Umidigi A9 Pro 92 / 140
16. Oukitel C21 89.5 / 140
17. Xiaomi Mi A3 89 / 140
18. Motorola G8 Power 89 / 140
19. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 89 / 140
20. Nokia 5.3 89 / 140
21. Honor 9x 88 / 140
22. Meizu Note 9 86 / 140
23. Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite 86 / 140
24. Xiaomi Redmi Note 5 85 / 140
25. Umidigi S3 Pro 83 / 140
26. Samsung Galaxy A21s 82 / 140
27. Umidigi F2 82 / 140
28. Redmi 9a 81 / 140
29. Redmi 9c 80 / 140
30. Ulefone Armor 7e 80 / 140
31. Doogee S58 Pro 78.5 / 140
32. Honor 8x 78 / 140
33. Poco M3 77.5 / 110
34. Umidigi F1 77 / 140
35. Huawei Y6 2019 74 / 140
36. Xiaomi Mi 10t Pro 57 / 70
37. Elephone U5 0 / 0

Test / Review conclusion

[b]I chose to test the Oukitel C21 out of curiosity and also to find an alternative to Xiaomi in this price segment. I was positively surprised on many points such as the level of finish, the quality of the screen, the GPS signal and the price/performance ratio.[b][b]For a selling price of around 100€ you have a phone that on some points tickles phones priced at 200€. It's obviously not perfect but I haven't encountered any major problems so for some points it's just an average phone and on others it manages to out-perform more expensive phones. [b][b]If I go back to my original motivation, is the Oukitel C21 able to compete with the Redmi Note 9? I would say yes because the scores are very close while the C21 is cheaper. It will depend a bit on your priorities because the Redmi is a champion in autonomy and offers a more powerful operating system.[b][b]If I only look at the price you have to compare the C21 with the Redmi 9C. In this duel it is the Oukitel that wins with a good lead.[b][b][b][b][b]Strengths[b]Price/performance ratio[b]Finishing level[b]GPS performance[b][b][b]Weaknesses[b]Wifi signal[b]4G frequency coverage[b]Photo focus latency[b]Colour temperature for photos[b][b][b]Alternatives to this product[b][b]If I take the price as a reference, compare the Oukitel C21 with the Redmi 9C and in this comparison the C21 is the winner.[b][b]If I take the price out of the criteria, you have to compare the Oukitel with phones like the Redmi Note 9, the Honor 9x, the Samsung Galaxy A21s. These phones are all more expensive than the Oukitel and the choice between these phones will mainly depend on the strengths and weaknesses that are important for your daily use.[b][b]

Comments

Join the discussion / Ask your questions

Your comment will be published after validation. I respond to over 1500 comments a year in my spare time, so I can't always respond very quickly. Your email address will not be publicly visible and it will not be used for commercial purposes.









Be notified by email when a response is published