On this page:
Price Poco M3
Unpacking
First configuration
Finish
Specifications
CPU / GPU Performance
Benchmark Antutu/3DMark
Network performance
Wifi performance
GPS performance
Battery range
Photo camera test
Hardware
Photoquality
Video quality
Audio quality
Screen quality
Biometry
Operating system
Test / Review conclusion
Questions answers

Best new price:
99 EUR
See the offer | eBay DE

59 other prices available in other stores.

Poco M3 : test / comprehensive review without double talk

Poco M3 : test / review

Category: Tests / Reviews

The Poco brand had not been used by Xiaomi since 2018 and 2020 marked the return of the brand with 3 new models. The Poco F2 Pro came first by attacking the top of the range, the Poco X3 came next by attacking the middle of the range and the little last one, the Poco M3, comes to attack the entry level with a launch for Black Friday 2020 and an announced price of 129€! [b][b]With each Poco, I have the impression that Xiaomi takes out the flattening roller to push the competition even further with ever lower prices. I'm really struggling to find credible alternatives in the same price range.[b][b]I usually think a lot before buying a phone but I bought the Poco X3 blind because I was very satisfied with the F2 Pro. I did the same with this Poco M3 and I'm curious to see what it has in store for 129€.[b][b][b]linkManufacturer web site: https://www.poco.net/global/[b]linkSite where I have bought the Poco M3: https://s.zbanx.com/r/D23tPcHW7g58[b]

Structure of my tests

I test the phones according to a pre-established structure (see below) to provide you with as much information as possible. Unfortunately, this takes a long time. Some tests like network performance tests take several days and for photo tests I sometimes have to wait until the weather is suitable to take pictures in good conditions. I am therefore obliged to publish the tests step by step, so I invite you to come back if the test is not complete at the time of your visit.[b]
How are my tests different from others on the web?

- I usually buy the devices with my own money, so price is just as important as you are!
- I keep the devices for at least a few weeks (sometimes more) to see what they are worth in real conditions.
- I answer (when possible) your questions to help you decide before you buy
- no one pays me to do these reviews, so I'm completely neutral and independent...
- My pages are not filled with ads



Xiaomi Redmi Note 9T: test / review
Xiaomi Mi Watch Lite : test / review
Redmi 9C test / review
Umidigi A9 Pro test / review
Xiaomi Mi 10T Pro : test / review
Poco M3 : test / review
Umidigi Bison: test / review
Redmi 9A test / review
Poco X3 test / review
Oukitel C21 : test / review

Price Poco M3

The list below shows the prices for the Poco M3 from more than 50 sites around the world. If you are not satisfied with any price, you can subscribe to a price alert to be the first to be notified when the price drops.[b]
Xiaomi POCO M3 - 4/64GB - Dual Sim - blau, NEU & OVP mit Rechnung...
2021-01-25 21:12
99 EUR
Xiaomi POCO M3 - 4/64GB - Dual Sim - gelb, NEU & OVP mit Rechnung...
2021-01-26 14:11
99 EUR
Xiaomi Mi Poco M3 4GB 64GB 6,53" FHD+ 6000mAh Blau Global Version # NEU # OVP #...
2021-01-25 21:12
100 EUR
Xiaomi Poco M3 Black 64GB Neu +OVP...
2021-01-26 14:11
100 EUR
Xiaomi Smartphone POCO M3 schwarz 4+128GB ROM 6000mAh 6.53 "Display,Quick Charge...
2021-01-25 14:11
100 EUR
Xiaomi - POCO M3 - Yellow - 64 GB - 4 GB Ram - Neu - OVP...
2021-01-26 21:12
100 EUR
[b]
helpThe above links are affiliate links from companies such as Amazon, Gearbest, Aliexpress,... If you appreciate my work, I would be grateful if you could purchase these products through these links. It costs you absolutely nothing but I get a small commission that allows me to buy the material I test. Thank you very much!

Timeline

27/11/2020 I order the Poco M3 on Aliexpress at introductory price[b][b]18/12/2020 I finally received the Poco M3, so I can start testing it.[b]

Why this phone?

As I wrote above, I tested the Poco F2 Pro and the Poco X3 earlier this year. I really liked both phones, the price/performance ratio is absolutely unbeatable. These two Poco's have pushed the limits of what you can get for this price. The Poco M3 comes with an even lower price, so it will be available to an even wider audience.[b][b]Beyond the price of the Poco M3, its features are close to the Redmi Note 9, these two phones have a lot in common. They are the same size but the Poco is a little thicker to accommodate a larger battery. The screen has the same size and resolution. The performance is similar even if the architecture is different. It is also possible that the Poco will take over the camera from the Redmi, if this is the case I hope it won't take over the poor colour management of the latter.[b][b]The Poco therefore looks like a Redmi Note 9 with a higher battery capacity. The comparison could therefore be interesting.[b][b]

Unpacking

[b][b]Xiaomi uses the colour orange for its phones and to differentiate itself from the main brand, Poco uses yellow. The box is therefore yellow and contains the phone, a transparent cover, a manual, a needle to open the sim drawer, a charger and a USB cable. [b][b][b][b]
Length : 162.3
Width : 77.3
Thickness : 9.6
Weight : 198
Jack output : Yes
USB Type : Type C

First configuration

The configuration of the Poco M3 is identical to the other models of the brand, Xiaomi has just added a possibility to exit the configuration quite quickly in case you want to make an urgent call. You can set up your e-mail box and fingerprint later.[b][b]Xiaomi has recently introduced an additional question to encourage you to sign up for the Xiaomi Cloud. They are becoming more and more insistent.[b][b]

Finish

[b][b]The Poco M3 is an entry-level phone, so don't expect a glass or metal back. The Poco M3 is made of plastic and the back of the phone is covered with a texture that reminds me of a crocodile skin. I hadn't seen this kind of texture for almost 2 years. This doesn't affect the quality of the phone, the Poco M3 doesn't follow the trend that phones should be shiny with all kinds of lighting effects. The advantage of this kind of texture is that it doesn't slip.[b][b]The Poco M3 has a slightly peculiar configuration on the back with a photo block on the left but which is extended by a smooth surface across the entire width of the phone. Every Poco launched in 2020 is different, I have the impression that Poco has not yet found the ideal format to represent the brand with its own identity. I have read many reviews of this format, I personally have nothing against it, this phone is just different and the choice of Poco does not affect the use of the phone. So it's all a matter of taste.[b][b]As for the rest, the Poco follows the market guidelines with a jack connector at the top of the phone, an infrared sensor, a USB C port and a mono speakerphone at the bottom of the phone. The fingerprint sensor is on the side like the Redmi Note 9S and the Poco X3. The SIM drawer can hold two SIM cards and an extra micro SD memory card (not at the expense of the SIM cards).[b][b] The finishes are not of the premium type but overall I think the Poco M3 is pretty good.[b][b][b][b]

Specifications

[b]The information below comes from the Device Info HW application. The application provides detailed technical information about the tested phone.I tested the Poco M3 in its 4Gb/64Gb version. The full features are available in the screenshots below this paragraph.[b][b][b][b]

CPU / GPU Performance

CPU : Qualcomm Snapdragon 662
GPU : Qualcomm AdreNo 610
Memory (RAM) : 4 Gb
Storage : 64 Gb - 128 Gb

Benchmark Antutu/3DMark

I scored 185,000 points with Antutu, this puts the Poco M3 at a Redmi Note 9 level. The price positioning of the Poco is lower than the Redmi, the price/performance ratio is therefore favourable to the Poco.[b][b][b][b]
Antutu score : 185690
Antutu CPU : 72074
Antutu GPU : 34783
Antutu UX : 36819
Antutu Mem : 42014
3D Mark Open GL : 1149
[b]Top 10 - performance ranking based on Antutu
1. Oppo Find X2 Pro - 605184
2. Oneplus 8t - 595000
3. Xiaomi Mi 10t Pro - 581650
4. Oneplus 8 Pro - 579417
5. Xiaomi Mi 10 - 579114
6. Poco F2 Pro - 569559
7. Samsung Galaxy S20 Fe - 565000
8. Samsung Galaxy S20 - 503905
9. Huawei P40 - 466765
10. Huawei P40 Pro - 466765

Number of smartphones in the ranking:116
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:52/116

Note: this ranking only contains the phones I tested as well as a few others that I added for reference.
[b]Gaming[b]To test the performance in game, I download the mobile PUBG game and evaluate the in-game experience, graphics level and depth of vision. This game is quite demanding and should help you evaluating the performance of a phone.Not yet available / tested[b][b]

Network performance

The Poco M3 supports most of the 3G/4G frequencies used in Europe, and has become a standard at Xiaomi where 2 years ago this was not the case at all. The B28 / 700 Mhz frequency is also available.[b][b]
3G frequencies : B1 (2100), B2 (1900), B4 (1700/2100 AWS A-F), B5 (850), B8 (900)
4G frequencies : B1 (2100), B2 (1900), B3 (1800), B4 (1700/2100 AWS 1), B5 (850), B7 (2600), B8 (900), B20 (800), B28 (700), B38 (TDD 2600), B40 (TDD 2300), B41 (TDD 2500)
Bluetooth : Bluetooth 5.0 LE
Volte : Yes
NFC : No
Number measurements : 1116
Average signal (reference) : -92.09
Average signal (telephone) : -91.74
Average deviation reference/telephone : 0.35
Min/Max signal (reference) : -88 / -98
Min/Max signal (phone) : -90 / -99
Choose your country to check if your phone is compatible:


The frequencies displayed below will allow you to see if this phone is compatible with your operator or if you will be able to use it in the country where you are going on vacation.


Signal 4G (before december 2020)[b]The ability to pick up the network correctly is an essential element for a phone but it is only very rarely measured. To measure a phone's ability to pick up the network, I perform a large number of measurements on the same cells to be able to compare phones under similar conditions. The signal is measured in dBm, a value of -90dBm indicates a worse signal than -70dBm. These measurements are therefore taken under real conditions and not in a laboratory, they are not scientific but give a good indication of performance. [b][b]Network signal sensitivity rating
Phone tested:Average signal (dBm)Number of measurements:
Xiaomi Mi 9t Pro-881600
Xiaomi Redmi Note 5-91.305600
Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite-93788
Samsung Galaxy A70-94.5111975
Nokia 5.3-94.98531
Realme 6-95.142301
Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro-95.9221599
Xiaomi Mi A3-95.951000
Huawei Y6 2019-95.951199
Doogee S58 Pro-96.22856
Redmi 9a-96.481000
Meizu Note 9-96.68937
Motorola G8 Power-96.881032
Xiaomi Redmi Note 7-97.011430
Redmi 9c-97.041000
Umidigi S3 Pro-97.131200
Xiaomi Redmi Note 8-97.34879
Samsung Galaxy A21s-97.781000
Umidigi F1-97.82298
Ulefone Armor 7e-98.71000
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite-991000
Honor 9x-99.14899
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s-99.41860
Poco F2 Pro-99.81247
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9-100.791785
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g-100.881198
Poco X3-101.19821
Umidigi F2-101.47712
[b][b]Signal 4G (from December 2020)[b]I decided to change the methodology for measuring the network because I noticed that the configuration of the mobile network changes over time. This makes it more difficult to compare phones because the conditions are no longer exactly the same.[b][b]To overcome this problem, I set up a device that captures 24 hours a day about ten parameters from the mobile network (ex: cell id, rssi, rsrq, snr, frequency,...). I then place the phone next to the device for 24 to 48 hours taking the same measurements so that I can compare them. [b][b] Overview of the phones tested with this methodology[b][b]
Phone tested:MeasurementsAvg signal (reference)Avg signal (phone)Min/Max (reference)Min/Max (phone)
Samsung Galaxy S10+457-93.06-97.39-89 / -98-97 / -99
Xiaomi Mi 9t Pro669-93.69-95.84-90 / -95-92 / -98
Poco F2 Pro1438-91.02-94.99-89 / -94-94 / -96
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g1645-90.77-95.02- 88 / -98-95 / -100
Poco X3821-94.89-103.19-91 / -97.7-101 / -104
Umidigi Bison2343-92.71-96.46-90 / -99-94 / -102
Oukitel C211101-92.04-94.99-90 / -97-92 / -95
Poco M31116-92.09-91.74-88 / -98-90 / -99
Xiaomi Mi 10t Pro1071-90.61-94.03-88 / -94-94 / -96
Umidigi A9 Pro981-90.40-94.01-88 / -95-93 / -95
Redmi Note 9t1201-92.149-91.71-90 / -97-91 / -97
[b][b]The Poco M3 is the 8th phone I have tested with my new 4G test protocol and it is clearly the best. I usually get quite average results with Chinese brands but here Poco did very well.[b][b]I took over 1000 measurements comparing the results with my reference device. For the first time I have a phone that scores better than my reference device. [b][b]On the following graph you can see that the Poco measurements are almost identical to the measurements of my reference device. The results are so close that at first I thought it was an error in the manipulation of the data but after several checks I came to the same conclusion. [b][b]
[b][b]The Poco M3 is currently the best phone in terms of network sensitivity.[b][b][b][b]Download/Upload speed[b]To test the download speed, I have identified some 4G cells offering good performance where I test all my devices several times to see what download and upload speed they can achieve.[b]Top 10 - speed ranking in download
1. Samsung Galaxy S20 D:351Mbps U: 20Mbps
2. Poco X3 D:232Mbps U: 55Mbps
3. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g D:223Mbps U: 52Mbps
4. Poco F2 Pro D:207Mbps U: 53Mbps
5. Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite D:153Mbps U: 68Mbps
6. Xiaomi Mi A3 D:150Mbps U: 60Mbps
7. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s D:150Mbps U: 60Mbps
8. Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite D:149Mbps U: 60Mbps
9. Samsung Galaxy A21s D:147Mbps U: 51Mbps
10. Huawei Y6 2019 D:145Mbps U: 61Mbps

Number of smartphones in the ranking:30
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:0/30

Note: the theoretical maximum speed of a telephone is often limited by the configuration of the mobile network and the congestion of the network at the time of the measurement. So maybe you could get a higher speed on another network
[b][b]

Wifi performance

To test a phone's ability to receive the network properly, I take measurements near my router and then remotely (and always at the same place). This gives me an average in dBm where a value of -90 dBm indicates poorer performance than a value at -30 dBm.[b]
Wifi frequencies : 802.11a , 802.11b , 802.11g , 802.11n , 802.11n 5GHz , 802.11ac
Wifi signal[b]Not yet available / tested[b][b][b]Top 10 - wifi sensitivity ranking
1. Poco F2 Pro -11dBm
2. Samsung Galaxy A21s -13dBm
3. Poco X3 -17dBm
4. Xiaomi Mi 10t Pro -18dBm
5. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s -18dBm
6. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro -19dBm
7. Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite -19dBm
8. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g -19dBm
9. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 -19dBm
10. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 -19dBm

Number of smartphones in the ranking:34
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:0/34

[b]Download/Upload speed[b]To test the speed in Wifi, I connect to my router in 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz (if available) and use the Ookla application to measure the speed.[b]Top 10 - wifi download speed ranking
1. Samsung Galaxy S20 351Mbps
2. Poco F2 Pro 341Mbps
3. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro 319Mbps
4. Umidigi Bison 306Mbps
5. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g 300Mbps
6. Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite 260Mbps
7. Poco X3 251Mbps
8. Xiaomi Redmi Note 7 250Mbps
9. Umidigi F1 220Mbps
10. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 211Mbps

Number of smartphones in the ranking:33
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:0/33

Note: I have a 400Mbps line and a modem capable of delivering higher speed, but I can never be sure how much bandwidth is available when doing a test.
[b]

GPS performance

[b]To test the quality of the GPS signal I use the Offline Maps application and I make the same train trip in pedestrian mode. Why? In pedestrian mode, the GPS does not artificially correct the signal to stick to the road, it has no markings, so you can see the actual position. I then use an application to measure the accuracy of the signal. Not yet available / tested[b][b][b]Top 10 - GPS accuracy ranking
1. Oukitel C21 1m
2. Redmi 9a 1m
3. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 1m
4. Redmi 9c 2m
5. Umidigi Bison 2m
6. Xiaomi Mi 10t Pro 3m
7. Samsung Galaxy A21s 4m

Number of smartphones in the ranking:8
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:0/8

Note: An accuracy of 3 meters or less can easily be corrected by a good GPS application. Phone performance also plays a role in how fast your display updates, so good accuracy could be compromised by too slow a display.
[b]

Battery range

Capacity : 6000
Fast charge : Yes
W max : 18
Range (100% brightness) : 842.00
Range (50% brightness) : 1898.00
Charging time : 217.00
Discharge speed (100%) : 0.12
Discharge score (100%) : 7.13
Discharge speed (50%) : 0.05
Discharge score (50%) : 3.16
Charging speed : 0.46
Charging score : 27.65
From March 2020, I replaced my subjective battery test with a technical test to better measure the real behaviour of the battery. Now I test the autonomy and charging time under absolutely identical conditions. I perform several measurements, so this test alone takes several days during which I cannot use the phone for anything else.

Battery life - methodology
To test the battery life, I measure the battery consumption every minute in strictly identical conditions to be able to compare phones and also to allow you to evaluate your phone in the same conditions. I rule out any influence of applications that could interfere with the measurement. The autonomy is not linear, the battery sometimes discharges much faster at the end. This is a frustrating phenomenon but with my measurements, you will know if you need to find a charger quickly.

Battery life
The battery of the Poco M3 has a capacity of 6000 mAh and has discharged from 100% to 1% in 842.00 minutes with 100% brightness, it has discharged from 100% to 1% in 1898.00 minutes with 50% brightness. I obtain in this way an average discharge speed of 0.12% per minute with 100% luminosity and 0.05% per minute with 50% luminosity, the consumption is therefore 7.13 mA per minute with 100% luminosity and 3.16 with 50% luminosity. To be able to compare the efficiency of the phone and its influence on the battery, you have to compare the 7.13 (or 50%) score with that of other smartphones, the figure should be as low as possible.

Charging time - methodology
To test the charging time, I always use the same charger with the same cable. I measure the charging time minute by minute to see the evolution of the charge as well as the charging speed. The charging speed of a battery is not linear, it is often faster at the beginning and slower at the end. The charger is compatible with fast charging.

Charging time
The battery of the Poco M3 has a capacity of 6000 mAh and has been charged from 1% to 100% in 217.00 minutes. This gives me an average charging speed of 0.46% per minute and therefore an increase of 27.65 mA per minute. To compare the performance of the Poco M3 compared to other phones, you should use the 27.65 per minute score, this score should be as high as possible.

Important note: the charging speed is not always linear, the graph below gives you an indication of the battery behaviour.

The following table lists the phones tested with the technical battery test, they are ranked in order of efficiency. A higher battery capacity should logically result in a higher battery life but it is not always the case and it does not give any indication of the efficiency of a phone.

SmartphoneCapacity (mAh)Battery life (minutes)Efficiency ScoreBattery life (minutes) / 50%Efficiency Score / 50%Charging time.Score charging
Oukitel C214000497.008.051324.003.02167.0023.95
Honor 9x4000770.005.191333.003.00151.0026.49
Nokia 5.34000549.007.291096.003.65199.0020.10
Samsung Galaxy S204000565.007.081217.003.29136.0029.41
Umidigi A9 Pro4150552.007.521562.002.66112.0037.05
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g4160749.005.551541.002.70163.0025.52
Realme 64300704.006.111104.003.89162.0026.54
Poco F2 Pro47001150.004.091536.003.06180.0026.11
Redmi 9c5000656.007.621915.002.61170.0029.41
Umidigi Bison5000550.009.091471.003.40238.0021.01
Redmi Note 9t5000766.006.532054.002.43148.0033.78
Redmi 9a5000694.007.201902.002.63195.0025.64
Motorola G8 Power5000912.005.482792.001.79311.0016.08
Samsung Galaxy A21s5000729.006.861283.003.90166.0030.12
Xiaomi Redmi Note 95020650.007.721808.002.78162.0030.99
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s5020663.007.571876.002.68224.0022.41
Umidigi F25150927.005.561854.002.78299.0017.22
Poco X35160653.007.901654.003.12181.0028.51
Doogee S58 Pro5180845.006.131908.002.71177.0029.27
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite5260827.006.361609.003.27208.0025.29
Ulefone Armor 7e5500768.007.161140.004.82179.0030.73
Poco M36000842.007.131898.003.16217.0027.65

helpHow to read these figures?
The battery capacity is an important element in determining the autonomy of a phone but it is not the only factor. A phone with a large battery may have a shorter battery life if it consumes more power. If I had to take an example from everyday life, I would use the universe of the car. If a car has a large fuel tank, it should be able to drive a longer distance unless its average fuel consumption is higher. The battery efficiency score works the same way, it should be as low as possible and represents the energy consumption of the phone. These differences in efficiency are often related to the brightness of the screen, large bright screens will tend to consume more energy and even if they have a large battery, their range will be shorter.

In summary The Poco M3 has a huge 6000 mAh battery, which is clearly above average. This battery offers an autonomy of 2 to 3 days in normal use but it is not the most efficient battery.[b][b]With the display on at 100%, I got a battery life of 842 minutes, that's a good score but I have tested other phones that offer better battery life with a lower capacity battery. This can be explained by the brightness of the screen which is above average.[b][b]With the display on at 50%, I obtained a battery life of 1898 minutes, this is also a good score but here again I have tested other phones that do better with a smaller battery.[b][b]The consumption according to the lighting of the screen is therefore almost linear, the consumption at 50% is almost half of the consumption at 100%. So there are no surprises here unlike some phones where I have a much higher ratio.[b][b]
[b][b]The Poco M3 took 217 minutes to fully charge the battery, which is an average score. Charging speed is higher in the first percentages of the battery and slows down in the last 10 percentages.[b][b]
[b][b]

Photo camera test

To test the quality of photos produced by a phone, I do a technical test (resolution, sharpness, chromatic aberration,...) in studio (identical conditions) to evaluate the technical part objectively. From the second half of 2020, I built my own laboratory to take completely objective technical measurements. I then take pictures in real conditions to see how the camera performs. I then evaluate these photos according to my criteria but I publish the photos so that you can evaluate the result according to your criteria.[b]

Hardware

Selfie / resolution : 8
Resolution : 48
Sensor : Samsung S5KGM1
mm wide angle : 4.71mm
The Poco M3 is equipped with a Samsung S5KGM1 sensor that is also found in many other phones such as the Redmi Note 9 where the image processing was catastrophic. However, this sensor has proven itself on other models by offering good photo quality, so I hope that Xiaomi has not made the same mistake with this Poco M3.[b][b]Default app[b]The default photo application of the Poco M3 is identical to the other Xiaomi phones running MIUI 12. Xiaomi gradually simplified the photo application because it had become complex to use with too many choices on the same screen. However, there is still the same problem of displaying the parameters over the photo, these parameters are unreadable if you are photographing a very bright scene.[b][b][b]

Photoquality

Photo test / studio[b]
[b]I usually test the studio photos before taking pictures outdoors but this time I did the opposite. The outdoor photos are available later in the article. The studio photos are not good, the colour processing is very bad, the exposure time is not good either and it is clearly a software problem as I was able to get a much better result in PRO mode as on the photo below.[b][b]
[b]I tried almost all the photo modes (AI, HDR, night,...) and each time the exposure time and colour management is not good. It was the same thing with the Redmi Note 9, it's really deplorable because the sensor is able to produce good photos (example in PRO mode).[b][b]Fortunately I got better results outdoors.[b][b][b][b][b]Photo test / sunny[b]
[b][b]Before taking my first outdoor pictures, I had some apprehensions related to the bad experience of the Redmi Note 9 which uses the same camera. Fortunately, the Poco M3 brings some improvements but not all problems are solved yet. I really felt like I had to play a balancing act to find the right compromise for the photos. On the first photo I gave priority to the sky and the sky is correctly rendered whereas everything below the horizon line is a little too dark. By focusing below the horizon line, I have the opposite. The Poco M3 therefore has a too limited dynamic range which will often generate overlay for the sky or underexposure for the ground. [b][b]Can this problem be avoided? Yes, there are several solutions. The Poco M3 has AI, HDR, night, ... modes. These modes are designed to correct this type of problem. For each photo I have tried the different modes and the result is really very different.As a general rule, AI tends to force the colours and I find that the result is not good. HDR on the other hand does much better but tends to produce slightly under-exposed photos, so you need to target an area that is neither too light nor too dark. All this is obviously too complicated for the average person and I think it's a shame because the camera is capable of producing beautiful photos if you're willing to make some effort.[b][b]Fortunately there is an easier solution than the trial and error game with the different photo modes available. The Poco M3 works with Gcam![b][b]First of all, here is a photo taken without Gcam and with HDR+AI activated:[b]
[b][b]With Gcam without special settings:[b]
[b][b]The result is therefore quite good for a phone in this price range. I don't understand why Xiaomi let this quality problem pass because it is not a hardware problem, it is a (bad) choice in the software. So I'm not going to give a good rating to the photo even though it is possible to produce good photos with Gcam or PRO mode because I think that a consumer phone should be able to be used without any modifications on the part of the user.[b][b][b][b][b]Photo test / cloudy[b]Not yet available / tested[b][b][b]Test photo / night[b]Not yet available / tested[b][b][b]

Video quality

Stabilisation[b][b][b]The Poco M3 does not have video stabilisation, which is no surprise, I have not yet tested effective stabilisation in this price range.[b][b]Video normale conditions[b][b]The Poco M3 is capable of producing 1080p video at 30fps. The video produces colours that are a bit too warm, the trees should not be so orange and the dynamic range is not very high because the sky is often overexposed. The change of exposure is visible but quite fast.[b][b]The Poco M3 produces videos with a quality equivalent to what we find in this price range there.[b][b]Video low light[b]Not yet available / tested[b][b]

Audio quality

To test the quality of the phone's audio output, I connect the device's audio output to a measuring tool, then play sounds on all frequencies and measure the differences between the original sound and the sound produced by the phone. In this way I measure the phone's ability to correctly reproduce all sounds.[b]
Frequency Respons : +0.01 / -0.1
Noise Level : -97.1
Dynamic Range : 94.5
THD : 7.275
Intermodulation : 5.789
Stereo crosstalk : -90.3
Frequency Response[b]This test is intended to test the device's ability to correctly reproduce all frequencies. The white line in the middle of the graph is the ideal situation and the other colors come from tests on different phones. A deviation from the reference line indicates a deviation from the ideal situation. To see good sound at all frequencies, it is therefore necessary to get as close as possible to the reference line.
[b][b]The Poco M3 is capable of reproducing most frequencies correctly, it is better in low frequencies than the Poco X3 but it stalls faster in high frequencies. The sound quality of the M3 is less fine than the X3 but in this price range the result is very correct.[b][b]Dynamic Range[b]This test is designed to test a phone's ability to play sounds at different volume levels. Here too, the phones must be as close as possible to the reference.
[b][b]The Poco M3 offers powerful sound, and this power comes at a price in terms of sound quality. When pushed to the limit, the Poco M3 has quite a lot of sound distortion. If I keep between 80 and 90% of the volume, the sound is still powerful and the distortion is much more limited.[b][b]Noise Level[b]This test aims to identify if the device under test is able to reproduce sounds without too much noise. A high score indicates a low parasite rate, a lower score indicates a higher presence of parasites.
[b][b]I haven't noticed any sound interference problems, the Poco M3 produces good sound up to 80/90% of the volume.[b][b]Concert recording[b]The purpose of this test is to measure the recording quality of the phone when there is a lot of ambient noise. Since I don't have the opportunity to go to a concert every time I test a phone, I simulate the noise of a concert in a closed environment.Not yet available / tested[b][b]

Screen quality

To test the screen, I use a colorimetric probe that measures the color accuracy of a screen, as well as other parameters to see if a screen is able to correctly reproduce an image. I also test the brightness level to determine if the screen will be able to display an image in full sunlight.[b]
Screen size : 6.53
Resolution : 1080 x 2340
Ratio : 19.5:9
Protection : Corning Gorilla Glass 3
Type : LTPS LCD
% occupancy : 83
dE white : 3.2
dE red : 1.0
dE green : 1.4
dE blue : 0.8
dE jaune : 1.1
dE cyan : 1.9
dE magenta : 0.4
White temperature : 6451
Contrast : 1800:1
Brightness : 440
Colorimetry[b]
[b][b]I think the Poco M3 uses the same screen as the Redmi Note 9 as it has many similarities. I had a good colour matching score with the Redmi Note 9 but my first test of the Poco M3 resulted in a poor score. I had forgotten that Xiaomi had a tendency to set their phones to a colour profile that was too saturated and by bringing the colour profile back to a standard mode, I got one of the best colorimetries for this type of screen. The Poco M3 screen not only offers good resolution but also very accurate colorimetry.[b][b][b]Top 10 - ranking of the best screens by colorimetry
1. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g dE = 0.73
2. Xiaomi Mi 10t Pro dE = 0.83
3. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 dE = 1.2
4. Samsung Galaxy S20 dE = 1.4
5. Poco M3 dE = 1.4
6. Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite dE = 1.46
7. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s dE = 1.47
8. Honor 9x dE = 1.5
9. Poco F2 Pro dE = 1.73
10. Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite dE = 1.91

Number of smartphones in the ranking:36
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:5/36

Note: the colorimetric difference is measured in dE. After three, the human eye will perceive a colorimetric difference, so the dE should be the lowest. The tests were all carried out with a colorimetric probe.
[b]Brightness / Contrast[b]The Poco M3 offers a maximum brightness of around 390 cd/m² but with the "sun mode", this brightness can rise to 440 cd/m². So you should be able to use this phone outdoors on sunny days but I think you may need to tilt the screen to avoid glare and poor readability.[b][b]Light Absorption/Reflection[b]The smartphone screen reflect light and sometimes turn them into a real mirror. This mirror effect makes it harder to read. [b][b]The absorption index below indicates the percentage of light absorbed by the screen. The readability of a screen is better when the absorption index is high.[b][b]
Phone tested:% light absorption
Samsung Galaxy S10+58
Xiaomi Mi 9T Pro52
Honor 9x65
Redmi Note 9s55
Motorola G8 Power60
Realme 654
Umidigi F248
Poco F2 Pro52
Redmi Note 956
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite53
Samsung Galaxy S2047
Samsung Galaxy A21s53
The phones tested have an average absroption rate of54 %

Biometry

Not yet available / tested[b][b]

Operating system

[b]Not yet available / tested[b][b]

Encoutered bugs

Not yet available / tested[b][b]

Accessories Poco M3

To better enjoy your experience with your smartphone, I offer links to all kinds of accessories that you might find useful

Protective cover / case poco m3
Screen protection film poco m3
Memory card poco m3
USB Cable / Charger poco m3
Headphones poco m3
Bike rack poco m3

Compare Poco M3 with the others

I assigned a score of 1 to 10 for each test that determines the strengths and weaknesses of a product. I am using 0 for criteria that have not (yet) been tested. A score of 1 to 3 indicates poor performance (and yes, it does), a score of 4 to 6 indicates average performance, a score of 7 to 8 indicates good performance, and a score of 9 and 10 indicates exceptional performance. .
The score is calculated based on my measurements and when there are no measurements, it is a subjective opinion based on my experience.

The scores are not static, they change over time because the performance of new products changes and this must be taken into account.

Poco M3
Finish quality6.56.00
Battery performance7.008.00
CPU performance6.56.5
GPU performance6.56.5
Screen quality8.007.00
Photo quality6.55.00
Video quality6.55.00
Wi-Fi performance0.007.00
Mobile download speed0.005.00
Mobile network sensitivity8.006.00
Frequency coverage7.007.00
Audio quality7.006.00
GPS performance0.006.00
Operating system8.008.00
Overall score77.589
Global ranking
1. Samsung Galaxy S20 112 / 140
2. Poco F2 Pro 111 / 140
3. Samsung Galaxy S10+ 107 / 140
4. Xiaomi Mi 9t Pro 106 / 140
5. Poco X3 102 / 140
6. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g 101 / 140
7. Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite 101 / 140
8. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro 100 / 140
9. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s 98 / 140
10. Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite 98 / 140
11. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 97 / 140
12. Xiaomi Redmi Note 7 94 / 140
13. Realme 6 93 / 140
14. Umidigi Bison 92 / 140
15. Umidigi A9 Pro 92 / 140
16. Oukitel C21 89.5 / 140
17. Xiaomi Mi A3 89 / 140
18. Motorola G8 Power 89 / 140
19. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 89 / 140
20. Nokia 5.3 89 / 140
21. Honor 9x 88 / 140
22. Meizu Note 9 86 / 140
23. Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite 86 / 140
24. Xiaomi Redmi Note 5 85 / 140
25. Umidigi S3 Pro 83 / 140
26. Samsung Galaxy A21s 82 / 140
27. Umidigi F2 82 / 140
28. Redmi 9a 81 / 140
29. Redmi 9c 80 / 140
30. Ulefone Armor 7e 80 / 140
31. Doogee S58 Pro 78.5 / 140
32. Honor 8x 78 / 140
33. Poco M3 77.5 / 110
34. Umidigi F1 77 / 140
35. Huawei Y6 2019 74 / 140
36. Xiaomi Mi 10t Pro 57 / 70
37. Elephone U5 0 / 0

Test / Review conclusion

[b]Not yet available / tested[b][b]Strengths[b]Not yet available / tested[b][b][b]Weaknesses[b]Not yet available / tested[b][b][b]Alternatives to this product[b][b]Not yet available / tested[b][b]

Comments

Join the discussion / Ask your questions

Your comment will be published after validation. I respond to over 1500 comments a year in my spare time, so I can't always respond very quickly. Your email address will not be publicly visible and it will not be used for commercial purposes.









Be notified by email when a response is published