On this page:
Price Redmi 9c
Unpacking
First configuration
Finish
Specifications
CPU / GPU Performance
Benchmark Antutu/3DMark
Network performance
Wifi performance
GPS performance
Battery range
Photo camera test
Hardware
Photoquality
Video quality
Audio quality
Screen quality
Biometry
Operating system
Test / Review conclusion
Questions answers

Best new price:
98.1 EUR
See the offer | EdwayBuy

59 other prices available in other stores.



Redmi 9C test / avis (unbiased and non commercial)

Redmi 9C test / review

Category: Tests / Reviews

I mainly test phones between 200 and 300€ because they offer everything you would expect from a phone and that gives me something interesting to test.

I sometimes make exceptions by buying entry-level phones but so far I have been disappointed. For example, I had tested the Huawei Y6 which was sold for the price of a Redmi Note 8 but couldn't compete with the Xiaomi in any way.

I decided to test the entry level Xiaomi with this Redmi 9C and bought the Redmi 9A which you can find in another article. These two phones are sold for less than 100€ but they offer a price/performance ratio that you won't find in the competition.

I obviously expect the Redmi 9C to come in at the bottom of the performance rankings but I'm curious to see what it has in store and whether Xiaomi will once again have managed to conquer a price segment with the best offer.



Structure of my tests

I test the phones according to a pre-established structure (see below) to provide you with as much information as possible. Unfortunately, this takes a long time. Some tests like network performance tests take several days and for photo tests I sometimes have to wait until the weather is suitable to take pictures in good conditions. I am therefore obliged to publish the tests step by step, so I invite you to come back if the test is not complete at the time of your visit.

How are my tests different from others on the web?

- I usually buy the devices with my own money, so price is just as important as you are!
- I keep the devices for at least a few weeks (sometimes more) to see what they are worth in real conditions.
- I answer (when possible) your questions to help you decide before you buy
- no one pays me to do these reviews, so I'm completely neutral and independent...
- My pages are not filled with ads



Poco F2 review - test - specs
Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite test, review and price
Umidigi F1 test, review and price
Honor 8x test, review and price
Xiaomi Redmi Note 5 test and review
Umidigi F2 test / review / specs
Leeco Coolpad Cool1 test and review
Motorola G8 Power test, review and price
Realme 6 test, review and price
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s test, review and price

Price Redmi 9c

The list below shows the prices for the Redmi 9c from more than 50 sites around the world. If you are not satisfied with any price, you can subscribe to a price alert to be the first to be notified when the price drops.
Xiaomi Redmi 9C 6,53 pouces 2Go 32Go 5000mAh Helio G35 4G Smartphone Version globale...
2020-10-22 07:01
109 USD
XIAOMI REDMI 9C 32Go Bleu Écran 6,53" HD+ IA Caméra 13MP+2MP+2MP 5000mAh Batterie Double SIM...
2020-10-20 21:53
104 EUR
Xiaomi Redmi 9C 2Go 32Go Orange...
2020-10-20 21:53
104 EUR
XIAOMI REDMI 9C 32Go Orange Écran 6,53" HD+ IA Caméra 13MP+2MP 5000mAh Batterie Double SIM...
2020-10-20 21:53
104 EUR
Xiaomi Redmi 9C 2Go 32Go Bleu...
2020-10-20 21:53
104 EUR
Xiaomi Redmi 9C 2Go 32Go Gris minuit...
2020-10-20 21:53
104 EUR



helpThe above links are affiliate links from companies such as Amazon, Gearbest, Aliexpress,... If you appreciate my work, I would be grateful if you could purchase these products through these links. It costs you absolutely nothing but I get a small commission that allows me to buy the material I test. Thank you very much!

Timeline

02/09/2020 purchase of the Redmi 9C for 94€ on Edwaybuy.
04/09/2020 I received the phone, so the test can start.

Why this phone?

I hadn't yet bought an entry-level Redmi, I was convinced that there was no reason to test them. I changed my mind with the arrival of the Redmi 9C and Redmi 9A as these two phones are comparable to what the competition is doing but they cost much less.

For less than 100€ you can find mainly Chinese phones like Umidigi, Doogee or Cubot. If I add criteria to my selection such as a battery like the Redmi's, a large screen and reasonable performance...there's nothing left!

Unpacking

redmi 9C test avis review recencione analisis opinion beoordeling 1

The Redmi 9C is an entry-level phone, so I don't expect to be surprised by the contents of the box.

The box of the Redmi 9C looks like the boxes of the Redmi Note, the contents are about the same but there is no transparent shell. The usual USB chargers and cables are present.



Length : 164.9
Width : 77.1
Thickness : 9
Weight : 196
Jack output : Yes
USB Type : Micro USB
Infrared port : No

First configuration

I couldn't take a screenshot during the start-up procedure of the Redmi 9C, I had the same problem with the Redmi 9A. I guess this is a common restriction for both phones.

The startup procedure has been standardised on most Xiaomi phones running MIUI 12. It doesn't present any difficulty, restoring the backup might be a bit slower because the phone is slower and it is not compatible with the 5Ghz frequency in wifi.

Xiaomi will try to seduce with its cloud at the end of the procedure, they added a shortcut to register with a Google account, so don't be fooled if you don't need the cloud.

Finish

redmi 9C test avis review recencione analisis opinion beoordeling 8

This is the first time I have tested an entry-level Xiaomi phone. I had had the opportunity to test entry-level models from other brands and the finish was the first visible element of the phone's price positioning.

This Redmi 9C surprised me positively. Plastic is ubiquitous but the finishes are good for a phone in this price range.

redmi 9C test avis review recencione analisis opinion beoordeling 6

The screen is quite large (6.53 inches) and takes up 81% of the available space. The borders are visible but no more than a mid-range phone. The front camera is housed in a notch, as was often the case a year or two ago.


redmi 9C test avis review recencione analisis opinion beoordeling 9
The back of the phone uses a ribbed texture that makes the phone look less monotonous. There is also a fingerprint sensor and a photo module with 3 sensors. This module stands out a little but without interfering with the use of the phone.

The rest of the phone has a very classic configuration with the SIM drawer on the left (2 SIM slots + 1 memory card slot), the usual buttons are available on the right, they are clearly visible and well positioned. At the bottom there is a micro USB port, which is a pity because today all phones come out with a USB C port. The phone is also equipped with an audio jack output.



Specifications


The information below comes from the Device Info HW application. The application provides detailed technical information about the tested phone.I bought the Redmi 9c in a 2Gb / 32Gb version, there is also a 4Gb / 64Gb version.

Buyers of this phone will probably not buy it for its features.

Here is an overview of the features:


CPU / GPU Performance

CPU : Mediatek Helio G35
GPU : IMG PowerVR GE8320 680MHz
Memory (RAM) : 2 - 4 Gb
Storage : 32-64Gb

Benchmark Antutu/3DMark

Testing a phone like the Redmi 9c with Antutu doesn't make much sense because this phone was not designed to break performance records.

I got a score of just over 110,000 points with Antutu, which should be enough for everyday use such as surfing the internet, watching some videos and playing some little games.

Antutu score : 110214

Top 10 - performance ranking based on Antutu
1. Poco F2 Pro - 569559
2. Samsung Galaxy S20 - 503905
3. Xiaomi Mi 9t Pro - 430403
4. Xiaomi Mi Mix 3 5g - 385000
5. Oppo Reno 5g - 375000
6. Meizu 16s - 374190
7. Xiaomi Mi 9 - 372006
8. Sony Xperia 1 - 372000
9. Lg G8s Thinq - 371000
10. Lg V50 Thinq 5g - 370000

Number of smartphones in the ranking:102
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:74/102

Note: this ranking only contains the phones I tested as well as a few others that I added for reference.

Gaming
To test the performance in game, I download the mobile PUBG game and evaluate the in-game experience, graphics level and depth of vision. This game is quite demanding and should help you evaluating the performance of a phone.

The Redmi 9C is not a phone designed for gaming, so I didn't expect to be able to play PUBG Mobile in good conditions and yet the result is not that bad.

The loading time of the game was very long, it took me several minutes to get into the game but once in the game, the gaming experience is not too bad. The level of graphics is at a minimum, the animations are not always fluid and sometimes the reaction time was not fast enough but overall the game was playable.

Network performance

The Redmi 9C supports most European frequencies, so you should be able to use it everywhere.

3G frequencies : B1 (2100), B2 (1900), B4 (1700/2100 AWS A-F), B5 (850), B8 (900)
4G frequencies : B1 (2100), B2 (1900), B3 (1800), B4 (1700/2100 AWS 1), B5 (850), B7 (2600), B8 (900), B20 (800), B28 (700), B38 (TDD 2600), B40 (TDD 2300), B41 (TDD 2500)
Bluetooth : Bluetooth 5.0 LE
SAR / head : 0.355
SAR / body : 0.779
Volte : Yes
NFC : No
Number measurements : 1000
Average signal : -97.04
Download speed : 48
Upload speed : 20
Choose your country to check if your phone is compatible:


The frequencies displayed below will allow you to see if this phone is compatible with your operator or if you will be able to use it in the country where you are going on vacation.


Signal 4G
The ability to pick up the network correctly is an essential element for a phone but it is only very rarely measured. To measure a phone's ability to pick up the network, I perform a large number of measurements on the same cells to be able to compare phones under similar conditions. The signal is measured in dBm, a value of -90dBm indicates a worse signal than -70dBm. These measurements are therefore taken under real conditions and not in a laboratory, they are not scientific but give a good indication of performance.

Network signal sensitivity rating
Phone tested:Average signal (dBm)Number of measurements:
Xiaomi Mi 9t Pro-881600
Xiaomi Redmi Note 5-91.305600
Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite-93788
Samsung Galaxy A70-94.5111975
Nokia 5.3-94.98531
Realme 6-95.142301
Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro-95.9221599
Xiaomi Mi A3-95.951000
Huawei Y6 2019-95.951199
Redmi 9a-96.481000
Meizu Note 9-96.68937
Motorola G8 Power-96.881032
Xiaomi Redmi Note 7-97.011430
Redmi 9c-97.041000
Umidigi S3 Pro-97.131200
Xiaomi Redmi Note 8-97.34879
Samsung Galaxy A21s-97.781000
Umidigi F1-97.82298
Ulefone Armor 7e-98.71000
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite-991000
Honor 9x-99.14899
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s-99.41860
Poco F2 Pro-99.81247
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9-100.791785
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g-100.881198
Umidigi F2-101.47712

With exactly 1000 measurements, I obtained an average signal of -97.04 dB. It's been a long time since I've tested a Xiaomi that ranked above average.

The Redmi 9c scores well on the network level, it outperforms most of the other Xiaomi I tested this year. I also get a better score than the Samsung Galaxy A21s with which I have an average signal of -97.78.


Download/Upload speed
To test the download speed, I have identified some 4G cells offering good performance where I test all my devices several times to see what download and upload speed they can achieve.
Top 10 - speed ranking in download
1. Samsung Galaxy S20 D:351Mbps U: 20Mbps
2. Poco X3 D:232Mbps U: 55Mbps
3. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g D:223Mbps U: 52Mbps
4. Poco F2 Pro D:207Mbps U: 53Mbps
5. Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite D:153Mbps U: 68Mbps
6. Xiaomi Mi A3 D:150Mbps U: 60Mbps
7. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s D:150Mbps U: 60Mbps
8. Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite D:149Mbps U: 60Mbps
9. Samsung Galaxy A21s D:147Mbps U: 51Mbps
10. Huawei Y6 2019 D:145Mbps U: 61Mbps

Number of smartphones in the ranking:30
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:30/30

Note: the theoretical maximum speed of a telephone is often limited by the configuration of the mobile network and the congestion of the network at the time of the measurement. So maybe you could get a higher speed on another network

The Redmi 9C is not very fast in 4G but this should not stop you from using the phone. The speed in 4G allows you to surf the internet, watch videos on Youtube and use applications. You probably won't be able to use the phone as a modem because the speed will probably not be fast enough for comfort of use.


Wifi performance

To test a phone's ability to receive the network properly, I take measurements near my router and then remotely (and always at the same place). This gives me an average in dBm where a value of -90 dBm indicates poorer performance than a value at -30 dBm.
Wifi frequencies : 802.11b, 802.11g, 802.11n
Download speed : 43
Signal / close : -19
Signal / distant : -62
Wifi signal
With an average signal of -19 dBm close to the router and -63 dBm remotely, the Redmi 9c offers a good sensitivity to the wifi signal (above average).


Top 10 - wifi sensitivity ranking
1. Poco F2 Pro -11dBm
2. Samsung Galaxy A21s -13dBm
3. Poco X3 -17dBm
4. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s -18dBm
5. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro -19dBm
6. Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite -19dBm
7. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g -19dBm
8. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 -19dBm
9. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 -19dBm
10. Redmi 9a -19dBm

Number of smartphones in the ranking:30
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:11/30


Download/Upload speed
To test the speed in Wifi, I connect to my router in 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz (if available) and use the Ookla application to measure the speed.The Redmi 9C (as well as the Redmi 9A) are only compatible with wifi frequency (2.4Ghz) and unfortunately this affects the download performance.

I measured a little less than 50 Mbps for downloading, this is much less than phones running on 5Ghz but this speed should be enough to watch videos on Youtube.


Top 10 - wifi download speed ranking
1. Samsung Galaxy S20 351Mbps
2. Poco F2 Pro 341Mbps
3. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro 319Mbps
4. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g 300Mbps
5. Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite 260Mbps
6. Poco X3 251Mbps
7. Xiaomi Redmi Note 7 250Mbps
8. Umidigi F1 220Mbps
9. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 211Mbps
10. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 207Mbps

Number of smartphones in the ranking:30
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:28/30

Note: I have a 400Mbps line and a modem capable of delivering higher speed, but I can never be sure how much bandwidth is available when doing a test.

GPS performance


To test the quality of the GPS signal I use the Offline Maps application and I make the same train trip in pedestrian mode. Why? In pedestrian mode, the GPS does not artificially correct the signal to stick to the road, it has no markings, so you can see the actual position. I then use an application to measure the accuracy of the signal.

The Redmi 9C is equipped with a Mediatek processor which often results in better GPS accuracy. Once again, the Redmi 9C achieves an accuracy level of 2 metres.

However, the low power of the Redmi 9C will be a problem for fast travelers as the phone will have to refresh fast maps and latency may occur.

Top 10 - GPS accuracy ranking
1. Redmi 9a 1m
2. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 1m
3. Redmi 9c 2m
4. Samsung Galaxy A21s 4m

Number of smartphones in the ranking:5
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:3/5

Note: An accuracy of 3 meters or less can easily be corrected by a good GPS application. Phone performance also plays a role in how fast your display updates, so good accuracy could be compromised by too slow a display.

Battery range

Capacity : 5000
Fast charge : Yes
W max : 10
Range (100% brightness) : 656.00
Range (50% brightness) : 1915.00
Charging time : 170.00
Discharge speed (100%) : 0.15
Discharge score (100%) : 7.62
Discharge speed (50%) : 0.05
Discharge score (50%) : 2.61
Charging speed : 0.59
Charging score : 29.41
From March 2020, I replaced my subjective battery test with a technical test to better measure the real behaviour of the battery. Now I test the autonomy and charging time under absolutely identical conditions. I perform several measurements, so this test alone takes several days during which I cannot use the phone for anything else.

Battery life - methodology
To test the battery life, I measure the battery consumption every minute in strictly identical conditions to be able to compare phones and also to allow you to evaluate your phone in the same conditions. I rule out any influence of applications that could interfere with the measurement. The autonomy is not linear, the battery sometimes discharges much faster at the end. This is a frustrating phenomenon but with my measurements, you will know if you need to find a charger quickly.

Battery life
The battery of the Redmi 9c has a capacity of 5000 mAh and has discharged from 100% to 1% in 656.00 minutes with 100% brightness, it has discharged from 100% to 1% in 1915.00 minutes with 50% brightness. I obtain in this way an average discharge speed of 0.15% per minute with 100% luminosity and 0.05% per minute with 50% luminosity, the consumption is therefore 7.62 mA per minute with 100% luminosity and 2.61 with 50% luminosity. To be able to compare the efficiency of the phone and its influence on the battery, you have to compare the 7.62 (or 50%) score with that of other smartphones, the figure should be as low as possible.

Charging time - methodology
To test the charging time, I always use the same charger with the same cable. I measure the charging time minute by minute to see the evolution of the charge as well as the charging speed. The charging speed of a battery is not linear, it is often faster at the beginning and slower at the end. The charger is compatible with fast charging.

Charging time
The battery of the Redmi 9c has a capacity of 5000 mAh and has been charged from 1% to 100% in 170.00 minutes. This gives me an average charging speed of 0.59% per minute and therefore an increase of 29.41 mA per minute. To compare the performance of the Redmi 9c compared to other phones, you should use the 29.41 per minute score, this score should be as high as possible.

Important note: the charging speed is not always linear, the graph below gives you an indication of the battery behaviour.

The following table lists the phones tested with the technical battery test, they are ranked in order of efficiency. A higher battery capacity should logically result in a higher battery life but it is not always the case and it does not give any indication of the efficiency of a phone.

SmartphoneCapacity (mAh)Battery life (minutes)Efficiency ScoreBattery life (minutes) / 50%Efficiency Score / 50%Charging time.Score charging
Honor 9x4000770.005.191333.003.00151.0026.49
Samsung Galaxy S204000565.007.081217.003.29136.0029.41
Nokia 5.34000549.007.291096.003.65199.0020.10
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g4160749.005.551541.002.70163.0025.52
Realme 64300704.006.111104.003.89162.0026.54
Poco F2 Pro47001150.004.091536.003.06180.0026.11
Redmi 9c5000656.007.621915.002.61170.0029.41
Redmi 9a5000694.007.201902.002.63195.0025.64
Samsung Galaxy A21s5000729.006.861283.003.90166.0030.12
Motorola G8 Power5000912.005.482792.001.79311.0016.08
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s5020663.007.571876.002.68224.0022.41
Xiaomi Redmi Note 95020650.007.721808.002.78162.0030.99
Umidigi F25150927.005.561854.002.78299.0017.22
Poco X35160653.007.901654.003.12181.0028.51
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite5260827.006.361609.003.27208.0025.29
Ulefone Armor 7e5500768.007.161140.004.82179.0030.73

helpHow to read these figures?
The battery capacity is an important element in determining the autonomy of a phone but it is not the only factor. A phone with a large battery may have a shorter battery life if it consumes more power. If I had to take an example from everyday life, I would use the universe of the car. If a car has a large fuel tank, it should be able to drive a longer distance unless its average fuel consumption is higher. The battery efficiency score works the same way, it should be as low as possible and represents the energy consumption of the phone. These differences in efficiency are often related to the brightness of the screen, large bright screens will tend to consume more energy and even if they have a large battery, their range will be shorter.

In summary With a 5000 mAh battery and a phone that doesn't require a lot of performance, I should have good autonomy. Tests show that this is indeed the case but with a small downside. When the screen is switched on at full power, consumption rises exponentially because with 100% brightness, the Redmi 9c consumes 3 times more energy than at 50%.

This can be seen in the following graph:
redmi 9c batterie test
The consumption is linear but the battery discharges 3 times faster when the brightness is 100%. With 50% brightness, I obtained more than 32 hours of autonomy, which is an excellent score.

The battery charging time is average for this type of phone. It is not completely linear, the last percentages take longer.

redmi 9c batterie charge test

With 32 hours of autonomy in continuous use, you should be able to last 3 to 4 days in regular use without any problem, so the Redmi 9c has a very good autonomy.

Photo camera test

To test the quality of photos produced by a phone, I do a technical test (resolution, sharpness, chromatic aberration,...) in studio (identical conditions) to evaluate the technical part objectively. From the second half of 2020, I built my own laboratory to take completely objective technical measurements. I then take pictures in real conditions to see how the camera performs. I then evaluate these photos according to my criteria but I publish the photos so that you can evaluate the result according to your criteria.

Hardware

Selfie / resolution : 5
Resolution : 13
mm wide angle : 3.43 mm
Xiaomi did not communicate any information about the photo sensors, so I don't know what type of sensor was used in the Redmi 9c. Looking at the specifications, I couldn't find a similar sensor in the other phones I tested.

The main sensor is a 3.43mm sensor with 13 million pixels. There is no ultra wide angle sensor. This sensor is also used in the Redmi 9a.


Default app
The default photo application of the Redmi 9c is the same as in most Xiaomi running MIUI 12. The phone's poor performance is felt when using the photo application as it reacts slower than on other mid-range models. Switching from one mode (e.g. photo to video) to the other will be done with low latency.


Photoquality

Photo test / studio
Main sensor



I was positively surprised by the quality of the photo of the Redmi 9c in the studio. I was expecting a bad result but it is not the case. The photo is a bit underexposed but the sharpness is really good for a phone in this price range. The colours look pretty good too even though the lack of contrast gives the impression that a veil is covering the photo.


Analysis of the colorimetry reveals that the Redmi 9c deviates from the norm mainly on greens and blues. The colorimetric deviations of the other colours are in the average.



If I look at where these colours deviate, I see that green deviates towards yellow, blue deviates towards a lighter blue. Photos with a blue sky should therefore appear with a lighter blue than in reality. The vegetation will probably take on a warmer colouring.



Photo test / sunny


For less than 100€, you can't expect to find a phone capable of producing very good photos...and yet this Redmi 9c is doing quite well!

The technical test of the photo showed that the phone was going to produce blues that were a bit too light and greens that were slipping towards yellow. This can be seen in this photo without it becoming a problem. Apart from these two elements, the colours are well restored. The sharpness is also good.

If I compare the photo with the price with a better phone at the same time, this is what it looks like:
poco x3 redmi 9c 9a


Here we see that the blues are deeper, the green does not slide towards yellow and the colour temperature is generally cooler.

Here are some other pictures taken with the Redmi 9c which confirm the observations:




Photo test / cloudy


The Redmi 9c is put in difficulty when the light decreases because all the vegetation is in an underexposed zone and the sky shows a significant overexposure. The sharpness is correct but with such a difference between the exposure areas, the photo loses a lot of detail.




Test photo / night
Not yet available / tested


Video quality

Stabilisation


The Redmi 9c does not have stabilisation, so shocks are not dampened, but in this price range no phone offers stabilisation.

Video normale conditions

The light conditions were not ideal for the video test but I think the Redmi 9c does really well for a phone under 100€. The sharpness is good, the focus is fast and the movement is not too jerky.

The colours are not always correct and the exposure could be better but again in this price range the result is more than correct.

Video low light
Not yet available / tested

Audio quality

To test the quality of the phone's audio output, I connect the device's audio output to a measuring tool, then play sounds on all frequencies and measure the differences between the original sound and the sound produced by the phone. In this way I measure the phone's ability to correctly reproduce all sounds.
Frequency Respons : +0.03 / -0.12
Noise Level : -89.1
Dynamic Range : 89.1
THD : 0.00138
Intermodulation : 0.012
Stereo crosstalk : -87.3
I first tested the Redmi 9C in subjective listening and without headphones, the sound quality of the loudspeaker is not very good. The sound is quite muffled and the highs are exaggerated. Fortunately, the sound is much better when listening with headphones.

The Redmi 9C delivers good sound quality but lacks a little power. In this price range, this is quite normal, I would even say that the sound is technically at the level of phones over 150€.

Frequency Response
This test is intended to test the device's ability to correctly reproduce all frequencies. The white line in the middle of the graph is the ideal situation and the other colors come from tests on different phones. A deviation from the reference line indicates a deviation from the ideal situation. To see good sound at all frequencies, it is therefore necessary to get as close as possible to the reference line.

I compared the Redmi 9C with the Redmi Note 9 and got a very comparable result. They both have a very similar performance with a slight quality stall at around 2khz which becomes more pronounced above 10khz. This can be heard if you are used to listening to music on a good quality device but for the average person I imagine the sound quality will be quite acceptable.

Dynamic Range
This test is designed to test a phone's ability to play sounds at different volume levels. Here too, the phones must be as close as possible to the reference.
I again compared the Redmi 9C to the Redmi Note 9 and was surprised to see that the Redmi 9C performs better than the Redmi Note 9 when the volume increases. The Redmi 9C offers a more powerful sound than the Redmi Note 9 with better stability across all frequencies. The Redmi Note 9 suffers from a rather obvious power problem.

Noise Level
This test aims to identify if the device under test is able to reproduce sounds without too much noise. A high score indicates a low parasite rate, a lower score indicates a higher presence of parasites.

The Redmi 9C has no interference problems and again outperforms the Redmi Note 9 in this test.

Concert recording
The purpose of this test is to measure the recording quality of the phone when there is a lot of ambient noise. Since I don't have the opportunity to go to a concert every time I test a phone, I simulate the noise of a concert in a closed environment.Not yet available / tested

Screen quality

To test the screen, I use a colorimetric probe that measures the color accuracy of a screen, as well as other parameters to see if a screen is able to correctly reproduce an image. I also test the brightness level to determine if the screen will be able to display an image in full sunlight.
Screen size : 6.53
Resolution : 720 x 1600
Ratio : 20:9
Type : IPS LCD
% occupancy : 81
dE white : 4.9
dE red : 3.6
dE green : 2.7
dE blue : 1.9
dE jaune : 1.2
dE cyan : 2.7
dE magenta : 1.5
White temperature : 6238
Contrast : 1704:1
Brightness : 380
Colorimetry

The Redmi 9c uses an LCD-type screen that occupies 81% of the space with a resolution of 720x1600. The pixel density is lower than average, so the pixel deviation is slightly visible if you pay attention.

At the colorimetric level I measured a deviation dE of 2.6, this is an excellent score. However, you need to change the display configuration to set the colour temperature back to "standard" in the display settings otherwise the phone will present a poorer colourimetry.


Top 10 - ranking of the best screens by colorimetry
1. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g dE = 0.73
2. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 dE = 1.2
3. Samsung Galaxy S20 dE = 1.4
4. Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite dE = 1.46
5. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s dE = 1.47
6. Honor 9x dE = 1.5
7. Poco F2 Pro dE = 1.73
8. Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite dE = 1.91
9. Samsung Galaxy S10+ dE = 2.01
10. Xiaomi Mi 9t Pro dE = 2.11

Number of smartphones in the ranking:29
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:12/29

Note: the colorimetric difference is measured in dE. After three, the human eye will perceive a colorimetric difference, so the dE should be the lowest. The tests were all carried out with a colorimetric probe.

Brightness / Contrast
I measured a luminosity of 380 cd/m² with my probe, which is a fairly average score. The Redmi 9c also has a "sunlight type" parameter to allow a better reading of the screen in full sunlight. This parameter does not give enough brightness to the screen to be perfectly readable in full sun.

I measured a contrast ratio of 1704:1 with my probe, which is an above average score for this type of screen.

The Redmi 9c may be an entry-level phone, but it can compete with more expensive phones like the Samsung Galaxy A21s.

Light Absorption/Reflection
The smartphone screen reflect light and sometimes turn them into a real mirror. This mirror effect makes it harder to read.

The absorption index below indicates the percentage of light absorbed by the screen. The readability of a screen is better when the absorption index is high.

Phone tested:% light absorption
Samsung Galaxy S10+58
Xiaomi Mi 9T Pro52
Honor 9x65
Redmi Note 9s55
Motorola G8 Power60
Realme 654
Umidigi F248
Poco F2 Pro52
Redmi Note 956
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite53
Samsung Galaxy S2047
Samsung Galaxy A21s53
The phones tested have an average absroption rate of54 %

Biometry

The Redmi 9c is equipped with a fingerprint sensor on the back, this sensor works very well but is slower than average due to the poor performance of the phone.

Operating system

The Redmi 9C runs on MIUI 12 and the experience is not degraded compared to another device using the same operating system. The reaction time is obviously slower than on a faster device but this does not affect the operation of the phone.


Encoutered bugs

Not yet available / tested

Accessories Redmi 9c

To better enjoy your experience with your smartphone, I offer links to all kinds of accessories that you might find useful

Protective cover / case redmi 9c
Screen protection film redmi 9c
Memory card redmi 9c
USB Cable / Charger redmi 9c
Headphones redmi 9c
Bike rack redmi 9c

Compare Redmi 9c with the others

I assigned a score of 1 to 10 for each test that determines the strengths and weaknesses of a product. I am using 0 for criteria that have not (yet) been tested. A score of 1 to 3 indicates poor performance (and yes, it does), a score of 4 to 6 indicates average performance, a score of 7 to 8 indicates good performance, and a score of 9 and 10 indicates exceptional performance. .
The score is calculated based on my measurements and when there are no measurements, it is a subjective opinion based on my experience.

The scores are not static, they change over time because the performance of new products changes and this must be taken into account.

Redmi 9c
Finish quality6.006.00
Battery performance8.006.00
CPU performance3.005.00
GPU performance3.005.00
Screen quality6.005.00
Photo quality5.505.00
Video quality5.505.00
Wi-Fi performance5.005.00
Mobile download speed5.005.00
Mobile network sensitivity7.006.00
Frequency coverage7.006.00
Audio quality6.006.00
GPS performance6.006.00
Operating system7.007.00
Overall score8078
Global ranking
1. Samsung Galaxy S20 112 / 140
2. Poco F2 Pro 111 / 140
3. Samsung Galaxy S10+ 107 / 140
4. Xiaomi Mi 9t Pro 106 / 140
5. Poco X3 102 / 140
6. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g 101 / 140
7. Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite 101 / 140
8. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro 100 / 140
9. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s 98 / 140
10. Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite 98 / 140
11. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 97 / 140
12. Xiaomi Redmi Note 7 94 / 140
13. Realme 6 93 / 140
14. Motorola G8 Power 91 / 140
15. Nokia 5.3 89 / 140
16. Xiaomi Mi A3 89 / 140
17. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 88 / 140
18. Honor 9x 88 / 140
19. Meizu Note 9 86 / 140
20. Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite 86 / 140
21. Xiaomi Redmi Note 5 85 / 140
22. Umidigi S3 Pro 83 / 140
23. Umidigi F2 82 / 140
24. Samsung Galaxy A21s 82 / 140
25. Redmi 9a 81 / 140
26. Redmi 9c 80 / 140
27. Ulefone Armor 7e 80 / 140
28. Honor 8x 78 / 140
29. Umidigi F1 77 / 140
30. Huawei Y6 2019 74 / 140

Test / Review conclusion

The Redmi 9C is an entry-level phone that has started to be sold at around €100. For this price, you won't find many phones with a large screen, a large battery, several photo sensors, ... Xiaomi has once again managed to establish itself in a price segment with a proposal that makes sense.

So, yes, the Redmi 9C is not a performance war machine but it is probably not the priority of buyers of this type of phone. It's slower than most phones I've tested but it's not the slowest.

The Redmi 9C should be seen as a lighter version of the Redmi Note 9 which costs around 50€ more and it even allows itself to be better than the Redmi Note 9 in some aspects.

The Redmi is not a "simple" phone as it runs on MIUI 12 like the other Xiaomi phones, it should be seen as a complete smartphone with some concessions such as performance.


Strengths
Prices
Battery life
4G network sensitivity


Weaknesses
Slow
MicroUSB port instead of USB-C
Wifi only in 2.4Ghz
Download speed


Alternatives to this product

Comments

Join the discussion / Ask your questions

Your comment will be published after validation. I respond to over 1500 comments a year in my spare time, so I can't always respond very quickly. Your email address will not be publicly visible and it will not be used for commercial purposes.









Be notified by email when a response is published