On this page:
Price Samsung Galaxy S20
Unpacking
First configuration
Finish
Specifications
CPU / GPU Performance
Benchmark Antutu/3DMark
Network performance
Wifi performance
GPS performance
Battery range
Photo camera test
Hardware
Photoquality
Video quality
Audio quality
Screen quality
Biometry
Operating system
Test / Review conclusion
Questions answers

Best new price:
400 EUR
See the offer | eBay FR

148 other prices available in other stores.



Samsung Galaxy S20: review / test (detailed and unbiased)

Samsung Galaxy S20 test / review

Category: Tests / Reviews

Chinese manufacturers are invading Samsung's territory a little more each year, but so far Samsung has always managed to keep its high-end smartphones safe from comparison.

With the arrival of the Poco F2 Pro from Xiaomi, things may change, so it was a good opportunity for me to test the Samsung Galaxy S20.

I had tested a Samsung Galaxy S10+ last year and even if it's a very good phone, I'm one of the only ones to have discovered some important flaws such as its poor radio signal quality making it lose the network faster than a mid-range phone.

So I'm going to let you discover what the Galaxy S20 has in its belly.



linkManufacturer web site: https://www.samsung.com

Structure of my tests

I test the phones according to a pre-established structure (see below) to provide you with as much information as possible. Unfortunately, this takes a long time. Some tests like network performance tests take several days and for photo tests I sometimes have to wait until the weather is suitable to take pictures in good conditions. I am therefore obliged to publish the tests step by step, so I invite you to come back if the test is not complete at the time of your visit.

How are my tests different from others on the web?

- I usually buy the devices with my own money, so price is just as important as you are!
- I keep the devices for at least a few weeks (sometimes more) to see what they are worth in real conditions.
- I answer (when possible) your questions to help you decide before you buy
- no one pays me to do these reviews, so I'm completely neutral and independent...
- My pages are not filled with ads



Poco F2 review - test - specs
Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite test, review and price
Umidigi F1 test, review and price
Honor 8x test, review and price
Xiaomi Redmi Note 5 test and review
Umidigi F2 test / review / specs
Leeco Coolpad Cool1 test and review
Motorola G8 Power test, review and price
Realme 6 test, review and price
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s test, review and price

Price Samsung Galaxy S20

The list below shows the prices for the Samsung Galaxy S20 from more than 50 sites around the world. If you are not satisfied with any price, you can subscribe to a price alert to be the first to be notified when the price drops.
Samsung Galaxy S20 SM-G780F/DS - 128GB - Cloud Lavender (Unlocked)...
2020-10-20 14:12
400 EUR
Samsung Galaxy S20 SM-G980F/DS - 128GB - Cosmic Gray (Ohne Simlock) (Dual SIM)...
2020-10-21 20:18
470 EUR
Samsung Galaxy S20 FE G780F 128GB Dual Sim GSM Unlocked Android Smart Phone - International Version ...
2020-10-22 12:56
568 USD
Samsung Galaxy S20 FE SM-G780F/DS 128GB/6GB RAM DUAL SIM (FACTORY UNLOCKED) 6.5"...
2020-10-21 20:06
570 USD
Samsung Galaxy S20 FE SM-G780F/DS 128GB 6GB RAM (FACTORY UNLOCKED) 6.5" Dual Sim...
2020-10-21 20:06
570 USD
Samsung Galaxy S20 FE G780F 128GB Dual Sim GSM Unlocked Android Smart Phone - International Version ...
2020-10-20 15:05
568 USD



helpThe above links are affiliate links from companies such as Amazon, Gearbest, Aliexpress,... If you appreciate my work, I would be grateful if you could purchase these products through these links. It costs you absolutely nothing but I get a small commission that allows me to buy the material I test. Thank you very much!

Timeline

10/06/20 purchase of the Samsung Galaxy S20 at Orange Belgium
12/06/20 start of the test

Why this phone?

I'm not in the habit of testing high-end smartphones because they're just too expensive. I pay for my phones like everyone else, giving 800€ for a phone hurts my wallet.

However, I sometimes make exceptions so I don't lose my edge in the high-end segment. Last year I tested the Samsung Galaxy s10+, this year it will be the Samsung Galaxy S20 and I probably won't buy another one.

My annual choice for the high-end segment was also motivated by the arrival of the Poco F2 Pro which comes to compete with the S20 on its territory for almost half its price. The battle is likely to be interesting, so I'm going to test both phones at the same time.

Unpacking

samsung galaxy s20 test avis review recensione opinion beoordeling photo 1

I'm so used to testing entry-level phones that I don't pay attention to the packaging because often the box contains the bare minimum.

The Samsung Galaxy S20 is a high-end phone and you can feel it right from the packaging. Its black box is sober but the interior is arranged in small compartments containing small boxes with various accessories. The Samsung Galaxy S20 is delivered with a charger, a USB cable type C, earphones and the cushions to be placed on the earphones. The box also contains a manual and a needle to open the sim drawer.

The contents of the box is not exceptional but the whole is carefully packed.



Length : 151.7
Width : 69.1
Thickness : 7.9
Weight : 163
Jack output : No
USB Type : Type C

First configuration

All Androids phones offer a fairly similar start-up procedure and even brands with their own interface generally follow the same line of conduct.

This was the case for Samsung as well but with the S20, a lot has changed to the point that the boot procedure is not at all like anything I've tested before.

The procedure starts with a screen that asks you to accept the terms and conditions and all sorts of things about privacy. Some criteria are optional but when you go to accept the terms and conditions, the phone will select all the optional criteria even if you hadn't selected them. You can always deselect them before going to the next step but I find that very borderline for a brand like Samsung.

After accepting the terms and conditions, you should normally retrieve the information from your previous phone and until now a Google account was sufficient. Samsung is now forcing the installation of the Smart Switch application on your old phone to sync the content with the Galaxy S20. The usual procedure with Android is simple and works very well, Samsung didn't need to add an extra application. It's not very convenient but it hides something else in reality. By accepting the transfer you accept Samsung conditions on your old device as well. This way you allow Samsung to see what you transfer while this type of information was only accessible by Google in the past. It's hard to say what Samsung will do with this information but the fact that I don't have a choice bothers me.

The rest of the process follows a more classic path and in the end, Samsung will invite you to create an account like Xiaomi or Huawei does and if you don't want to, you will receive a small reminder screen to encourage you to register a second time. This practice is quite common among most manufacturers, they all want to free themselves from the power of Google. I can understand the strategy but it doesn't make me want to share my information with every manufacturer when I change phones.



I usually don't have as much to say for this section of the test and that' s not all, I have one last piece of information to bring up. The Samsung Galaxy S20 was almost burning up after the startup procedure. This is a problem I had already noticed on the Galaxy S10+ when I was filming but here I encountered the problem of overheating on something simple enough that should not lead to overheating.

Finish

samsung galaxy s20 test avis review recensione opinion beoordeling photo 4

Samsung manufactures high-end phones with impeccable finishes. I had already noticed it with the S10+, this Galaxy S20 is very elegant and nothing is left to chance. Samsung has managed to put a large screen in a phone of below average size and weight, I had almost forgotten what it was like to have such a thin phone with such a good fit in my hand.

samsung galaxy s20 test avis review recensione opinion beoordeling photo 7

The top of the phone is covered with metal where the edges alternate between metal and glass. This will probably help to protect the phone from scratches that can easily appear on this part of the phone. The SIM drawer is at the top of the phone.

samsung galaxy s20 test avis review recensione opinion beoordeling photo 12

The bottom of the phone follows the same logic as the top with its metallic outline. It has a USB C port and a speakerphone. The Galaxy S20 offers two exits for the sound, the first one is at the bottom, the second one is very discreet, it is located at the level of the listening speaker where the ear is usually placed.

samsung galaxy s20 test avis review recensione opinion beoordeling photo 9

When I tested the S10+, I was disturbed by the position of the buttons because the on/off button was high on the right and the volume buttons were on the left. Samsung reverted to a more conventional configuration with the volume buttons and the on/off button on the right side of the phone. These buttons are metallic and give an impression of solidity, you can feel the effect of the pressure.

samsung galaxy s20 test avis review recensione opinion beoordeling photo 8

With the S10+, Samsung had made an original choice with a glass back reflecting the light with blue and red. The Galaxy S20 is much more sober, it offers a glass back in a plain and sober color. The surface is perfectly smooth and will quickly leave fingerprints but this is the case for all phones using this kind of surface.

The photo sensor is located in the top left corner and is visible from the back of the phone. This has become quite common.

samsung galaxy s20 test avis review recensione opinion beoordeling photo 14

The screen of the Samsung Galaxy S20 occupies 89% of the screen area where the screen of the S10+ occupied 86% of the screen area. The Samsung Galaxy S20 therefore offers an almost perfect full-screen experience.

I was expecting the Samsung Galaxy S20 to offer an impeccable level of finish and it really does, I even find that this model has a better level of finish than the S10+. The feeling given by the finishes is something very personal and very subjective but I think Samsung has managed to produce a beautiful phone with proportions that are almost ideal for one-handed use.

Specifications


The information below comes from the Device Info HW application. The application provides detailed technical information about the tested phone.I tested the 8Gb / 128Gb version of the Samsung Galaxy S20, this phone is codenamed SM-G980F. There is another version that is 5G compatible but I have not tested it.



CPU / GPU Performance

CPU : Samsung ExyNos 990
GPU : ARM Mali-G77 MP11
Memory (RAM) : 8 - 12 Gb
Storage : 128 Gb

Benchmark Antutu/3DMark

The Samsung Galaxy S20 scores over 500,000 points with Antutu, that's 150% more than I got with a Galaxy S10+. The gain in performance is absolutely huge. Chinese manufacturers are also making progress in this area, but the difference between two generations is not as marked.

The Galaxy S20 gains in performance at CPU and GPU level, Samsung did not try to compromise. Bravo Samsung!



The Samsung Galaxy S20 scores 6802 points in the 3D Mark Sling Shot Extreme test. This is simply the best score I've been able to measure so far and it's probably one of the best scores at the time of writing.

With a score like this, you will be able to play all the games without any performance issues.

Antutu score : 503905
Antutu CPU : 152798
Antutu GPU : 208904
Antutu UX : 72115
Antutu Mem : 70088
3D Mark Open GL : 6802
3D Mark Vulkan : 6282

Top 10 - performance ranking based on Antutu
1. Poco F2 Pro - 569559
2. Samsung Galaxy S20 - 503905
3. Xiaomi Mi 9t Pro - 430403
4. Xiaomi Mi Mix 3 5g - 385000
5. Oppo Reno 5g - 375000
6. Meizu 16s - 374190
7. Xiaomi Mi 9 - 372006
8. Sony Xperia 1 - 372000
9. Lg G8s Thinq - 371000
10. Lg V50 Thinq 5g - 370000

Number of smartphones in the ranking:102
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:2/102

Note: this ranking only contains the phones I tested as well as a few others that I added for reference.

Gaming
To test the performance in game, I download the mobile PUBG game and evaluate the in-game experience, graphics level and depth of vision. This game is quite demanding and should help you evaluating the performance of a phone.With such power, the Samsung Galaxy S20 can not be challenged by PUBG Mobile.



The game is perfectly fluid, the depth of vision is maximum, the textures are very detailed. I don't think any game available today is capable of putting the Samsung Galaxy S20 in trouble.

Network performance

Unlike Chinese manufacturers, Samsung produces phones with global coverage, so you don't have to worry about which version to buy.

The Galaxy S20 offers a very wide frequency coverage, you will be able to use all frequencies available in Europe.

3G frequencies : B1 (2100), B2 (1900), B4 (1700/2100 AWS A-F), B5 (850), B6 (800), B8 (900)
4G frequencies : B1 (2100), B2 (1900), B3 (1800), B4 (1700/2100 AWS 1), B5 (850), B7 (2600), B8 (900), B12 (700), B17 (700), B20 (800), B26 (850), B28 (700), B32 (1500), B38 (TDD 2600), B40 (TDD 2300), B41 (TDD 2500), B66 (1700/2100)
Bluetooth : Bluetooth 5.0 LE
SAR / head : 0.279
Volte : Yes
NFC : Yes
Download speed : 351
Upload speed : 20
Choose your country to check if your phone is compatible:


The frequencies displayed below will allow you to see if this phone is compatible with your operator or if you will be able to use it in the country where you are going on vacation.


Signal 4G
The ability to pick up the network correctly is an essential element for a phone but it is only very rarely measured. To measure a phone's ability to pick up the network, I perform a large number of measurements on the same cells to be able to compare phones under similar conditions. The signal is measured in dBm, a value of -90dBm indicates a worse signal than -70dBm. These measurements are therefore taken under real conditions and not in a laboratory, they are not scientific but give a good indication of performance.

Network signal sensitivity rating
Phone tested:Average signal (dBm)Number of measurements:
Xiaomi Mi 9t Pro-881600
Xiaomi Redmi Note 5-91.305600
Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite-93788
Samsung Galaxy A70-94.5111975
Nokia 5.3-94.98531
Realme 6-95.142301
Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro-95.9221599
Xiaomi Mi A3-95.951000
Huawei Y6 2019-95.951199
Redmi 9a-96.481000
Meizu Note 9-96.68937
Motorola G8 Power-96.881032
Xiaomi Redmi Note 7-97.011430
Redmi 9c-97.041000
Umidigi S3 Pro-97.131200
Xiaomi Redmi Note 8-97.34879
Samsung Galaxy A21s-97.781000
Umidigi F1-97.82298
Ulefone Armor 7e-98.71000
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite-991000
Honor 9x-99.14899
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s-99.41860
Poco F2 Pro-99.81247
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9-100.791785
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g-100.881198
Umidigi F2-101.47712

Not yet available / tested


Download/Upload speed
To test the download speed, I have identified some 4G cells offering good performance where I test all my devices several times to see what download and upload speed they can achieve.
Top 10 - speed ranking in download
1. Samsung Galaxy S20 D:351Mbps U: 20Mbps
2. Poco X3 D:232Mbps U: 55Mbps
3. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g D:223Mbps U: 52Mbps
4. Poco F2 Pro D:207Mbps U: 53Mbps
5. Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite D:153Mbps U: 68Mbps
6. Xiaomi Mi A3 D:150Mbps U: 60Mbps
7. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s D:150Mbps U: 60Mbps
8. Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite D:149Mbps U: 60Mbps
9. Samsung Galaxy A21s D:147Mbps U: 51Mbps
10. Huawei Y6 2019 D:145Mbps U: 61Mbps

Number of smartphones in the ranking:30
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:1/30

Note: the theoretical maximum speed of a telephone is often limited by the configuration of the mobile network and the congestion of the network at the time of the measurement. So maybe you could get a higher speed on another network

Not yet available / tested


Wifi performance

To test a phone's ability to receive the network properly, I take measurements near my router and then remotely (and always at the same place). This gives me an average in dBm where a value of -90 dBm indicates poorer performance than a value at -30 dBm.
Wifi frequencies : 802.11a, 802.11b, 802.11g, 802.11n, 802.11n 5GHz, 802.11ac, WiFi 6 (802.11ax)
Download speed : 351
Signal / close : -21
Signal / distant : -74
Wifi signal
I measured a signal of -23 dBm near the router, it's a good score that ranks the Samsung Galaxy S20 a little above average.

At distance I measured a signal of -74 dBm, this score and an average score, it is neither good nor bad.

I think that the back of the phone is used to pick up wifi because the signal was better when the back of the phone was free of any obstacle.





Top 10 - wifi sensitivity ranking
1. Poco F2 Pro -11dBm
2. Samsung Galaxy A21s -13dBm
3. Poco X3 -17dBm
4. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s -18dBm
5. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro -19dBm
6. Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite -19dBm
7. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g -19dBm
8. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 -19dBm
9. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 -19dBm
10. Redmi 9a -19dBm

Number of smartphones in the ranking:30
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:13/30


Download/Upload speed
To test the speed in Wifi, I connect to my router in 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz (if available) and use the Ookla application to measure the speed.I got a download speed of over 350 Mbps and the speed seemed artificially limited, I suspect that the Galaxy S20 can easily go higher but my internet provider did not allow me to go higher.

With a score like that, the Galaxy S20 ranks among the best phones I've tested.




Top 10 - wifi download speed ranking
1. Samsung Galaxy S20 351Mbps
2. Poco F2 Pro 341Mbps
3. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro 319Mbps
4. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g 300Mbps
5. Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite 260Mbps
6. Poco X3 251Mbps
7. Xiaomi Redmi Note 7 250Mbps
8. Umidigi F1 220Mbps
9. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 211Mbps
10. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 207Mbps

Number of smartphones in the ranking:30
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:1/30

Note: I have a 400Mbps line and a modem capable of delivering higher speed, but I can never be sure how much bandwidth is available when doing a test.

GPS performance


To test the quality of the GPS signal I use the Offline Maps application and I make the same train trip in pedestrian mode. Why? In pedestrian mode, the GPS does not artificially correct the signal to stick to the road, it has no markings, so you can see the actual position. I then use an application to measure the accuracy of the signal. The Samsung Galaxy S20 captures a wide range of satellites such as GPS network, Galileo, Beidou, ... etc....

I tested the accuracy of the positioning and unfortunately it is not good, I obtained an accuracy of 4 meters with fluctuations between 4 and 6 meters while I was in a completely clear area. I also filtered the satellites and I did not get a better accuracy with Galileo.



I still have to do a road test to confirm if this is accurate.


Top 10 - GPS accuracy ranking
1. Redmi 9a 1m
2. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 1m
3. Redmi 9c 2m
4. Samsung Galaxy A21s 4m

Number of smartphones in the ranking:5
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:0/5

Note: An accuracy of 3 meters or less can easily be corrected by a good GPS application. Phone performance also plays a role in how fast your display updates, so good accuracy could be compromised by too slow a display.

Battery range

Capacity : 4000
Fast charge : Yes
W max : 25
Range (100% brightness) : 565.00
Range (50% brightness) : 1217.00
Charging time : 136.00
Discharge speed (100%) : 0.18
Discharge score (100%) : 7.08
Discharge speed (50%) : 0.08
Discharge score (50%) : 3.29
Charging speed : 0.74
Charging score : 29.41
From March 2020, I replaced my subjective battery test with a technical test to better measure the real behaviour of the battery. Now I test the autonomy and charging time under absolutely identical conditions. I perform several measurements, so this test alone takes several days during which I cannot use the phone for anything else.

Battery life - methodology
To test the battery life, I measure the battery consumption every minute in strictly identical conditions to be able to compare phones and also to allow you to evaluate your phone in the same conditions. I rule out any influence of applications that could interfere with the measurement. The autonomy is not linear, the battery sometimes discharges much faster at the end. This is a frustrating phenomenon but with my measurements, you will know if you need to find a charger quickly.

Battery life
The battery of the Samsung Galaxy S20 has a capacity of 4000 mAh and has discharged from 100% to 1% in 565.00 minutes with 100% brightness, it has discharged from 100% to 1% in 1217.00 minutes with 50% brightness. I obtain in this way an average discharge speed of 0.18% per minute with 100% luminosity and 0.08% per minute with 50% luminosity, the consumption is therefore 7.08 mA per minute with 100% luminosity and 3.29 with 50% luminosity. To be able to compare the efficiency of the phone and its influence on the battery, you have to compare the 7.08 (or 50%) score with that of other smartphones, the figure should be as low as possible.

Charging time - methodology
To test the charging time, I always use the same charger with the same cable. I measure the charging time minute by minute to see the evolution of the charge as well as the charging speed. The charging speed of a battery is not linear, it is often faster at the beginning and slower at the end. The charger is compatible with fast charging.

Charging time
The battery of the Samsung Galaxy S20 has a capacity of 4000 mAh and has been charged from 1% to 100% in 136.00 minutes. This gives me an average charging speed of 0.74% per minute and therefore an increase of 29.41 mA per minute. To compare the performance of the Samsung Galaxy S20 compared to other phones, you should use the 29.41 per minute score, this score should be as high as possible.

Important note: the charging speed is not always linear, the graph below gives you an indication of the battery behaviour.

The following table lists the phones tested with the technical battery test, they are ranked in order of efficiency. A higher battery capacity should logically result in a higher battery life but it is not always the case and it does not give any indication of the efficiency of a phone.

SmartphoneCapacity (mAh)Battery life (minutes)Efficiency ScoreBattery life (minutes) / 50%Efficiency Score / 50%Charging time.Score charging
Honor 9x4000770.005.191333.003.00151.0026.49
Samsung Galaxy S204000565.007.081217.003.29136.0029.41
Nokia 5.34000549.007.291096.003.65199.0020.10
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g4160749.005.551541.002.70163.0025.52
Realme 64300704.006.111104.003.89162.0026.54
Poco F2 Pro47001150.004.091536.003.06180.0026.11
Redmi 9c5000656.007.621915.002.61170.0029.41
Redmi 9a5000694.007.201902.002.63195.0025.64
Samsung Galaxy A21s5000729.006.861283.003.90166.0030.12
Motorola G8 Power5000912.005.482792.001.79311.0016.08
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s5020663.007.571876.002.68224.0022.41
Xiaomi Redmi Note 95020650.007.721808.002.78162.0030.99
Umidigi F25150927.005.561854.002.78299.0017.22
Poco X35160653.007.901654.003.12181.0028.51
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite5260827.006.361609.003.27208.0025.29
Ulefone Armor 7e5500768.007.161140.004.82179.0030.73

helpHow to read these figures?
The battery capacity is an important element in determining the autonomy of a phone but it is not the only factor. A phone with a large battery may have a shorter battery life if it consumes more power. If I had to take an example from everyday life, I would use the universe of the car. If a car has a large fuel tank, it should be able to drive a longer distance unless its average fuel consumption is higher. The battery efficiency score works the same way, it should be as low as possible and represents the energy consumption of the phone. These differences in efficiency are often related to the brightness of the screen, large bright screens will tend to consume more energy and even if they have a large battery, their range will be shorter.

In summary [battery product="samsung-galaxy-s20" capa="4000" lg="en"]

Battery life has never been a strength for Samsung, and this new Galaxy S20 won't fundamentally change that. With a 4000 mAh battery, Samsung is a bit behind its Chinese competitors. Luckily the Galaxy S20 manages its battery well enough to get by. It offers a performance comparable to the Honor 9x which was already good enough in this area.

Photo camera test

To test the quality of photos produced by a phone, I do a technical test (resolution, sharpness, chromatic aberration,...) in studio (identical conditions) to evaluate the technical part objectively. From the second half of 2020, I built my own laboratory to take completely objective technical measurements. I then take pictures in real conditions to see how the camera performs. I then evaluate these photos according to my criteria but I publish the photos so that you can evaluate the result according to your criteria.

Hardware

Selfie / resolution : 10
Resolution : 64
Sensor : Samsung Bright S5KGW2
Video resolution : 8k
mm wide angle : 5.4mm
mm ultra wide angle : 2.2mm
On the market, there are two major manufacturers for photo sensors, there is Samsung and there is Sony. On these high-end models, Samsung has always managed to combine optical quality and processing quality, the Galaxy S10+ was one of the best photo phone at the time of its release.

The Galaxy S20 is equipped with a standard Samsung S5K2LD 12 megapixel sensor that is also found in the Galaxy S20+. It is also equipped with a Samsung Bright S5KGW2 zoom which is an evolution of the sensor used in the Redmi Note 8 Pro. The last sensor is a Samsung S5K2LA ultra wide angle sensor that I haven't seen in other phones yet.

Default app
I've tested a lot of Chinese phones in the last few months and although they are all progressing on the photo level, they haven't bothered to review their default photo app and you often end up with a huge amount of options that are often useless.

Samsung has taken the step of not going in that direction and that's fine. The default application has 4 modes (photo, video, single take, plus) to give quick access to the most common features. If you want more, you can access the other functions in the "more" menu.

The zoom button is superimposed on the screen as in Xiaomi but Samsung has added a bubble around the icons which allows you to see these icons much better when the brightness is important. The zoom can be adjusted in steps but Samsung also offers the possibility to set exactly the desired zoom level. The options for each mode can be found at the top of the screen.

Samsung doesn't seem to want to rush into the pixel war where a Xiaomi constantly tries to increase the number of available pixels. For photography, the standard is 12 million pixels for Samsung and there is a 64 million pixel mode. For video on the other hand, Samsung offers the possibility to shoot videos in 8k, I have not yet seen this possibility on another phone.




Photoquality

Photo test / studio
First example: ƒ/1.8 1/423 5.4 mm 50 ISO
samsung galaxy s20 test avis review recensione opinion prueba test photo 1

Exposure: slightly underexposed
Sharpness: very good
Colours: slightly too dark
Depth of field: good
Distortion: none
Chromatic aberration: none
Vignetting: none
Digital noise: none

The Galaxy S20's main sensor does quite well in the studio because many phones can't handle artificial light well. The picture could have been a little more exposed but if you look at my pictures taken with other phones, you'll see that the Samsung does well without being the best.

Second example: ƒ/2.2 1/322 2.2 mm 50 ISO
samsung galaxy s20 test avis review recensione opinion prueba test photo 3

Exposure: slightly underexposed
Sharpness: medium
Colours: slightly too dark
Depth of field: shallow
Distortion: slight
Chromatic aberration: none
Vignetting: none
Digital noise: visible

The wide-angle sensor produces a picture quite similar to the basic sensor if you look only at the exposure and colors. However, the sharpness is poorer, the depth of field is shallow, and despite ISO 25, the image is grainy.

Third example: ƒ/1.8 1/309 5.4 mm 50 ISO
samsung galaxy s20 test avis review recensione opinion prueba test photo 4

Exposure: slightly underexposed
Sharpness: medium
Colours: slightly too dark
Depth of field: shallow
Distortion: slight
Chromatic aberration: none
Vignetting: none
Digital noise: visible

The Galaxy S20 does not have an optical zoom, it is a digital zoom made from the main sensor (see first picture). The properties of the image are therefore the same as the first photo, but with the zoom, you can better realize the level of sharpness of the photo. The level of detail is really excellent, the contours are precise without being forced.

If I take these photos individually, I think that the Samsung produces good photos in the studio but it is only by comparing it with other phones that we can see it.


samsung galaxy s20 test avis review recensione opinion prueba test photo 5
The Redmi Note 9s produces a picture with colors a little too warm but the sharpness is as good as the Samsung's, the exposure is also better.


The Realme 6 also produces pictures with too warm colours but here the exposure is less good and the sharpness less pronounced.

The Samsung therefore produces good photos but the gap with entry-level phones is not as large as it used to be.


Photo test / sunny
First example: ƒ/1,8 1/3296 5,4 mm 50 ISO
samsung galaxy s20 test review avis recensione prueba opinion beoordeling photo qualite sun 9

Exposure: good
Sharpness: very good
Colours: perfectly saturated
Depth of field: good
Distortion: none
Chromatic aberration: none
Vignetting: none
Digital noise: none

I tested the Galaxy S10+ last year and at that time it was one of the best photo phones. The Galaxy S20 raises the bar a bit higher by offering bright, properly saturated photos and exemplary sharpness.

I had taken my Sony A7 III with me during the Samsung photo test so I could compare a good smartphone with a very good SLR camera.

sony alpha a7 iii test photo 6

The Sony produces sharper, more saturated photos, but the Samsung's performance is far from being ridiculous. The Sony costs almost 2000€ without optics, the Samsung costs less than 1000€ and offers an ease of use that the Sony can't offer.

Let's go back down to earth for a moment to compare the Samsung with another smartphone that is positioned as a competitor to the Galaxy S20. Here's a picture taken with the Poco F2 Pro
poco f2 pro test review avis recensione prueba opinion beoordeling photo qualite 4
This phone costs 30 to 40% less than the Samsung and delivers a good performance as well. The colors are duller but the sky is more detailed.

Second example: ƒ/2 1/670 5.9 mm 50 ISO
samsung galaxy s20 test review avis recensione prueba opinion beoordeling photo qualite sun 11
Exposure: good
Sharpness: very good but smooth in clouds
Colours: good saturation
Depth of field: good
Distortion: none
Chromatic aberration: none
Vignetting: none
Digital noise: none

I had used the zoom for my studio test and probably went too far because I had gotten a digital zoom. With this picture I discovered that the Samsung had an optical zoom, the difference in focal length is not very important but the zoom is real, I think the Samsung combines an optical and digital zoom.

You can see here that the zoom focuses on one where the clouds are denser and this is reflected in the image processing, the color processing is different, the colors are warmer but the sharpness is still good. The details of the sluice in the background of the image can be seen quite well.

Third example: ƒ/2,2 1/2376 2,2 mm ISO 50
samsung galaxy s20 test review avis recensione prueba opinion beoordeling photo qualite sun 10
Exposure: good
Sharpness: very good
Colours: good saturation
Depth of field: good
Distortion: slight
Chromatic aberration: none
Vignetting: none
Digital noise: none

The wide-angle focal length is not the shortest among all the phones I tested but it's enough to capture a wide enough landscape without losing quality. Wide-angle sensors are usually not as good as other sensors, this is not the case with this Galaxy S20, the wide-angle sensor produces excellent pictures, I even find that the color processing is better than with the main sensor.

These three examples illustrate quite well what the Galaxy S20 is able to do, here are some other examples that will confirm what I described above.



In good light conditions like these, the Galaxy S20 is therefore one of the best cameras like the s10+ was when it was released.



Photo test / cloudy
Not yet available / tested


Test photo / night
Not yet available / tested


Video quality

Stabilisation
I haven't had the opportunity to test many phones with effective video stabilization, the Samsung Galaxy S10+ was the best phone I could test. The Galaxy S20 will not only offer good stabilization but it will do it in 8k! Video stabilization requires a lot of processing power and doing it in 8k requires even more power.



Video normale conditions

The Samsung Galaxy S20 is one of the first phones to be able to film in 8k. The quality of the videos is really good and the most surprising thing is that the phone is able to play them without any problem where playing this kind of video on a computer can be a problem.

I find here the optical qualities of the sensor with a good level of exposure, saturated colors and a very good level of sharpness. The movements are also quite fluid.

Samsung has set the bar very high, this phone is probably one of the best phones for video.

Video low light
Not yet available / tested

Audio quality

To test the quality of the phone's audio output, I connect the device's audio output to a measuring tool, then play sounds on all frequencies and measure the differences between the original sound and the sound produced by the phone. In this way I measure the phone's ability to correctly reproduce all sounds.
Samsung's high-end phones are generally good for audio quality and I think this Galaxy S20 will follow the same trend.

The Samsung Galaxy S20 is equipped with two external speakers, one located on the lower edge of the phone and the other installed at the speakerphone level for telephony.

It is therefore capable of producing stereo sound and even though the sound produced by the speakers will never be able to compete with a real audio installation, the Galaxy S20 manages to produce a very good sound.

All I have to do now is to do the technical test to see if it is capable of knocking out the S10+ which was until now the best phone in terms of audio quality.

Update:
The Samsung Galaxy S20 does not have a jack port that allows me to do my technical test, the phone does not come with an adapter. I tried the USB to Jack adapter from another phone but the Samsung was displaying an error message.

I bought an adapter on Aliexpress and it will probably take 2 or 3 weeks before I receive it and can perform this test.

Frequency Response
This test is intended to test the device's ability to correctly reproduce all frequencies. The white line in the middle of the graph is the ideal situation and the other colors come from tests on different phones. A deviation from the reference line indicates a deviation from the ideal situation. To see good sound at all frequencies, it is therefore necessary to get as close as possible to the reference line. Not yet available / tested

Dynamic Range
This test is designed to test a phone's ability to play sounds at different volume levels. Here too, the phones must be as close as possible to the reference.Not yet available / tested

Noise Level
This test aims to identify if the device under test is able to reproduce sounds without too much noise. A high score indicates a low parasite rate, a lower score indicates a higher presence of parasites.Not yet available / tested

Concert recording
The purpose of this test is to measure the recording quality of the phone when there is a lot of ambient noise. Since I don't have the opportunity to go to a concert every time I test a phone, I simulate the noise of a concert in a closed environment.Not yet available / tested

Screen quality

To test the screen, I use a colorimetric probe that measures the color accuracy of a screen, as well as other parameters to see if a screen is able to correctly reproduce an image. I also test the brightness level to determine if the screen will be able to display an image in full sunlight.
Screen size : 6.2
Resolution : 1440 x 3200
Ratio : 20:9
Protection : Corning Gorilla Glass 6
Type : Amoled
% occupancy : 89
dE white : 1
dE red : 2.8
dE green : 1.3
dE blue : 2.2
dE jaune : 1.1
dE cyan : 1.1
dE magenta : 0.3
White temperature : 6443
Contrast : 2000000:1
Brightness : 510
Colorimetry
samsung galaxy s20 test avis review recensione opinion beoordeling screen calibration

Samsung produces its own screens and generally these screens are of very good quality. The best display I had been able to test so far was the Samsung Galaxy S10+, so I was curious to see if the S20 could do better.

I won't make you wait any longer, the Galaxy S20 has a better screen than the S10+, this screen is superb. Colorimetrically, it gets an average dE of 1.4 where I got 2.0 with the S10+. In addition to colorimetric accuracy, Samsung's Amoled screen offers infinite contrasts, the blacks are truly black and this gives unparalleled depth to the images. I've already tested phones for less than 200€ that offered good colorimetry but what they lack is the image depth offered by the Samsung and that makes all the difference.

It is possible to change the color settings from the phone settings. By default, the Samsung uses a mode where the colors are very saturated, it gives the impression that all the colors are more vivid and it's nice to look at but from a colorimetric point of view it's incorrect. It is therefore necessary to switch to normal mode to obtain the values of this test.

The white temperature is also excellent, I measured 6443K where the white should be at 6500K, so the whites are quite white where many phones offer a slightly bluish white.


Top 10 - ranking of the best screens by colorimetry
1. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g dE = 0.73
2. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 dE = 1.2
3. Samsung Galaxy S20 dE = 1.4
4. Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite dE = 1.46
5. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s dE = 1.47
6. Honor 9x dE = 1.5
7. Poco F2 Pro dE = 1.73
8. Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite dE = 1.91
9. Samsung Galaxy S10+ dE = 2.01
10. Xiaomi Mi 9t Pro dE = 2.11

Number of smartphones in the ranking:29
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:3/29

Note: the colorimetric difference is measured in dE. After three, the human eye will perceive a colorimetric difference, so the dE should be the lowest. The tests were all carried out with a colorimetric probe.

Brightness / Contrast
When I push the brightness to the maximum and without external constraints, the Samsung Galaxy S20 produces a maximum brightness of 330 cd/m², this is a very average value which is more than enough to read the screen when the light is not too strong. On the other hand if I expose the phone to a strong source of light (ex: sun), the brightness climbs to 510 cd/m². This is not the highest value I could measure but it is enough to use the phone in the sun.

The great strength of the amoled screens is the contrast and this can be seen as soon as the phone starts up where you can see the Samsung logo literally floating on a black screen where an entry level phone will only be able to display a dark grey. The viewing angles are also excellent.

Light Absorption/Reflection
The smartphone screen reflect light and sometimes turn them into a real mirror. This mirror effect makes it harder to read.

The absorption index below indicates the percentage of light absorbed by the screen. The readability of a screen is better when the absorption index is high.

Phone tested:% light absorption
Samsung Galaxy S10+58
Xiaomi Mi 9T Pro52
Honor 9x65
Redmi Note 9s55
Motorola G8 Power60
Realme 654
Umidigi F248
Poco F2 Pro52
Redmi Note 956
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite53
Samsung Galaxy S2047
Samsung Galaxy A21s53
The phones tested have an average absroption rate of54 %

Biometry

Not yet available / tested

Operating system

Not yet available / tested


Encoutered bugs

Not yet available / tested

Accessories Samsung Galaxy S20

To better enjoy your experience with your smartphone, I offer links to all kinds of accessories that you might find useful

Protective cover / case samsung galaxy s20
Screen protection film samsung galaxy s20
Memory card samsung galaxy s20
USB Cable / Charger samsung galaxy s20
Headphones samsung galaxy s20
Bike rack samsung galaxy s20

Compare Samsung Galaxy S20 with the others

I assigned a score of 1 to 10 for each test that determines the strengths and weaknesses of a product. I am using 0 for criteria that have not (yet) been tested. A score of 1 to 3 indicates poor performance (and yes, it does), a score of 4 to 6 indicates average performance, a score of 7 to 8 indicates good performance, and a score of 9 and 10 indicates exceptional performance. .
The score is calculated based on my measurements and when there are no measurements, it is a subjective opinion based on my experience.

The scores are not static, they change over time because the performance of new products changes and this must be taken into account.

Samsung Galaxy S20
Finish quality8.006.00
Battery performance7.006.00
CPU performance9.005.00
GPU performance9.005.00
Screen quality9.005.00
Photo quality9.005.00
Video quality9.005.00
Wi-Fi performance9.005.00
Mobile download speed7.005.00
Mobile network sensitivity7.006.00
Frequency coverage7.006.00
Audio quality8.006.00
GPS performance6.006.00
Operating system8.007.00
Overall score11278
Global ranking
1. Samsung Galaxy S20 112 / 140
2. Poco F2 Pro 111 / 140
3. Samsung Galaxy S10+ 107 / 140
4. Xiaomi Mi 9t Pro 106 / 140
5. Poco X3 102 / 140
6. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g 101 / 140
7. Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite 101 / 140
8. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro 100 / 140
9. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s 98 / 140
10. Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite 98 / 140
11. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 97 / 140
12. Xiaomi Redmi Note 7 94 / 140
13. Realme 6 93 / 140
14. Motorola G8 Power 91 / 140
15. Nokia 5.3 89 / 140
16. Xiaomi Mi A3 89 / 140
17. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 88 / 140
18. Honor 9x 88 / 140
19. Meizu Note 9 86 / 140
20. Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite 86 / 140
21. Xiaomi Redmi Note 5 85 / 140
22. Umidigi S3 Pro 83 / 140
23. Umidigi F2 82 / 140
24. Samsung Galaxy A21s 82 / 140
25. Redmi 9a 81 / 140
26. Redmi 9c 80 / 140
27. Ulefone Armor 7e 80 / 140
28. Honor 8x 78 / 140
29. Umidigi F1 77 / 140
30. Huawei Y6 2019 74 / 140

Test / Review conclusion

Not yet available / tested


Strengths
Not yet available / tested


Weaknesses
Not yet available / tested


Alternatives to this product

Comments

Join the discussion / Ask your questions

Your comment will be published after validation. I respond to over 1500 comments a year in my spare time, so I can't always respond very quickly. Your email address will not be publicly visible and it will not be used for commercial purposes.









Be notified by email when a response is published