Before leaving...

Thanks for your visite. If you like my work, you can support me with the following possibilities:
Subscribe to my YouTube channel
I post full test videos every month. By subscribing you will be notified of each new video, but the number of YouTube subscribers is important to obtain products to test.

Subscribe

Subscribe to my page on Facebook
I regularly post updates on Facebook, I also organize contests to win prizes. Here too, the number of fans is important to obtain material.

Subscribe

Use my links
I don't display ads on my site because I don't like it. My only source is from purchases you make from my links. I earn a meager commission on every purchase (about 2% on average), it costs you nothing and keeps me going. Here are some links to buy your products:

Amazon.com == Aliexpress == Banggood

x
On this page:
Price Samsung Galaxy S20
Unpacking
First configuration
Finish
Specifications
CPU / GPU Performance
Benchmark Antutu/3DMark
Network performance
Wifi performance
GPS performance
Battery range
Photo camera test
Hardware
Photoquality
Video quality
Audio quality
Screen quality
Biometry
Operating system
Test / Review conclusion
Questions answers

Notification new articles: YouTube Facebook

Samsung Galaxy S20 test / review

Samsung Galaxy S20: review / test (detailed and unbiased)
Category: Tests / Reviews

Chinese manufacturers are invading Samsung's territory a little more each year, but so far Samsung has always managed to keep its high-end smartphones safe from comparison. [b][b]With the arrival of the Poco F2 Pro from Xiaomi, things may change, so it was a good opportunity for me to test the Samsung Galaxy S20.[b][b]I had tested a Samsung Galaxy S10+ last year and even if it's a very good phone, I'm one of the only ones to have discovered some important flaws such as its poor radio signal quality making it lose the network faster than a mid-range phone.[b][b]So I'm going to let you discover what the Galaxy S20 has in its belly.[b][b][b][b]linkManufacturer web site: https://www.samsung.com[b]

Structure of my tests

I test the phones according to a pre-established structure (see below) to provide you with as much information as possible. Unfortunately, this takes a long time. Some tests like network performance tests take several days and for photo tests I sometimes have to wait until the weather is suitable to take pictures in good conditions. I am therefore obliged to publish the tests step by step, so I invite you to come back if the test is not complete at the time of your visit.[b]
How are my tests different from others on the web?

- I usually buy the devices with my own money, so price is just as important as you are!
- I keep the devices for at least a few weeks (sometimes more) to see what they are worth in real conditions.
- I answer (when possible) your questions to help you decide before you buy
- no one pays me to do these reviews, so I'm completely neutral and independent...
- My pages are not filled with ads



Redmi 10A: test and review
Redmi 10: test / review
TCL 10 Pro: test / review / price
TCL 30 SE : test / review / price
Poco M4 Pro 4G : test / review
OnePlus Nord 2T test / review
Poco F4 : test / review
Poco X4 GT : test / review
Oukitel WP18: test and review
Poco F4 GT: test / full review

Price Samsung Galaxy S20

The list below shows the prices for the Samsung Galaxy S20 from more than 50 sites around the world. If you are not satisfied with any price, you can subscribe to a price alert to be the first to be notified when the price drops.[b]
Samsung Galaxy S20 Mobile Phone; Sim Free Smartphone - Cloud Blue, (UK Version)...
2022-09-24 20:06
241 EUR
Samsung Galaxy S20 FE 5G, 128GB, Cloud Navy - T-Mobile (Renewed)...
2022-09-24 06:13
251 EUR
Samsung Galaxy S20 FE 5G, 128GB, Cloud Navy - for AT&T (Renewed)...
2022-09-24 19:54
256 EUR
Samsung Galaxy S20 FE 5G UW 128GB for Verizon (Cloud Navy) (Renewed)...
2022-09-24 18:46
257 EUR
Samsung Galaxy S20 FE Dual SIM 128GB 6GB RAM SM-G780F/DS Cloud White...
2022-09-24 20:06
258 EUR
Samsung Galaxy S20 FE 5G G781U Verizon Locked Android Cell Phone 128GB US Version Smartphone Pro-Gra...
2022-09-24 18:46
262 EUR
[b]
helpThe above links are affiliate links from companies such as Amazon, Gearbest, Aliexpress,... If you appreciate my work, I would be grateful if you could purchase these products through these links. It costs you absolutely nothing but I get a small commission that allows me to buy the material I test. Thank you very much!

Timeline

10/06/20 purchase of the Samsung Galaxy S20 at Orange Belgium[b]12/06/20 start of the test[b][b]

Why this phone?

I'm not in the habit of testing high-end smartphones because they're just too expensive. I pay for my phones like everyone else, giving 800€ for a phone hurts my wallet. [b][b]However, I sometimes make exceptions so I don't lose my edge in the high-end segment. Last year I tested the Samsung Galaxy s10+, this year it will be the Samsung Galaxy S20 and I probably won't buy another one.[b][b]My annual choice for the high-end segment was also motivated by the arrival of the Poco F2 Pro which comes to compete with the S20 on its territory for almost half its price. The battle is likely to be interesting, so I'm going to test both phones at the same time.[b][b]

Unpacking

samsung galaxy s20 test avis review recensione opinion beoordeling photo 1[b][b]I'm so used to testing entry-level phones that I don't pay attention to the packaging because often the box contains the bare minimum. [b][b]The Samsung Galaxy S20 is a high-end phone and you can feel it right from the packaging. Its black box is sober but the interior is arranged in small compartments containing small boxes with various accessories. The Samsung Galaxy S20 is delivered with a charger, a USB cable type C, earphones and the cushions to be placed on the earphones. The box also contains a manual and a needle to open the sim drawer.[b][b]The contents of the box is not exceptional but the whole is carefully packed.[b][b][b][b]
Length : 151.7
Width : 69.1
Thickness : 7.9
Weight : 163
Jack output : No
USB Type : Type C

First configuration

All Androids phones offer a fairly similar start-up procedure and even brands with their own interface generally follow the same line of conduct.[b][b]This was the case for Samsung as well but with the S20, a lot has changed to the point that the boot procedure is not at all like anything I've tested before.[b][b]The procedure starts with a screen that asks you to accept the terms and conditions and all sorts of things about privacy. Some criteria are optional but when you go to accept the terms and conditions, the phone will select all the optional criteria even if you hadn't selected them. You can always deselect them before going to the next step but I find that very borderline for a brand like Samsung.[b][b]After accepting the terms and conditions, you should normally retrieve the information from your previous phone and until now a Google account was sufficient. Samsung is now forcing the installation of the Smart Switch application on your old phone to sync the content with the Galaxy S20. The usual procedure with Android is simple and works very well, Samsung didn't need to add an extra application. It's not very convenient but it hides something else in reality. By accepting the transfer you accept Samsung conditions on your old device as well. This way you allow Samsung to see what you transfer while this type of information was only accessible by Google in the past. It's hard to say what Samsung will do with this information but the fact that I don't have a choice bothers me.[b][b]The rest of the process follows a more classic path and in the end, Samsung will invite you to create an account like Xiaomi or Huawei does and if you don't want to, you will receive a small reminder screen to encourage you to register a second time. This practice is quite common among most manufacturers, they all want to free themselves from the power of Google. I can understand the strategy but it doesn't make me want to share my information with every manufacturer when I change phones.[b][b][b][b]I usually don't have as much to say for this section of the test and that' s not all, I have one last piece of information to bring up. The Samsung Galaxy S20 was almost burning up after the startup procedure. This is a problem I had already noticed on the Galaxy S10+ when I was filming but here I encountered the problem of overheating on something simple enough that should not lead to overheating.[b][b]

Finish

samsung galaxy s20 test avis review recensione opinion beoordeling photo 4[b][b]Samsung manufactures high-end phones with impeccable finishes. I had already noticed it with the S10+, this Galaxy S20 is very elegant and nothing is left to chance. Samsung has managed to put a large screen in a phone of below average size and weight, I had almost forgotten what it was like to have such a thin phone with such a good fit in my hand.[b][b]samsung galaxy s20 test avis review recensione opinion beoordeling photo 7[b][b]The top of the phone is covered with metal where the edges alternate between metal and glass. This will probably help to protect the phone from scratches that can easily appear on this part of the phone. The SIM drawer is at the top of the phone.[b][b]samsung galaxy s20 test avis review recensione opinion beoordeling photo 12[b][b]The bottom of the phone follows the same logic as the top with its metallic outline. It has a USB C port and a speakerphone. The Galaxy S20 offers two exits for the sound, the first one is at the bottom, the second one is very discreet, it is located at the level of the listening speaker where the ear is usually placed.[b][b]samsung galaxy s20 test avis review recensione opinion beoordeling photo 9[b][b]When I tested the S10+, I was disturbed by the position of the buttons because the on/off button was high on the right and the volume buttons were on the left. Samsung reverted to a more conventional configuration with the volume buttons and the on/off button on the right side of the phone. These buttons are metallic and give an impression of solidity, you can feel the effect of the pressure.[b][b]samsung galaxy s20 test avis review recensione opinion beoordeling photo 8[b][b]With the S10+, Samsung had made an original choice with a glass back reflecting the light with blue and red. The Galaxy S20 is much more sober, it offers a glass back in a plain and sober color. The surface is perfectly smooth and will quickly leave fingerprints but this is the case for all phones using this kind of surface.[b][b]The photo sensor is located in the top left corner and is visible from the back of the phone. This has become quite common.[b][b]samsung galaxy s20 test avis review recensione opinion beoordeling photo 14[b][b]The screen of the Samsung Galaxy S20 occupies 89% of the screen area where the screen of the S10+ occupied 86% of the screen area. The Samsung Galaxy S20 therefore offers an almost perfect full-screen experience.[b][b]I was expecting the Samsung Galaxy S20 to offer an impeccable level of finish and it really does, I even find that this model has a better level of finish than the S10+. The feeling given by the finishes is something very personal and very subjective but I think Samsung has managed to produce a beautiful phone with proportions that are almost ideal for one-handed use.[b][b]

Specifications

[b]The information below comes from the Device Info HW application. The application provides detailed technical information about the tested phone.I tested the 8Gb / 128Gb version of the Samsung Galaxy S20, this phone is codenamed SM-G980F. There is another version that is 5G compatible but I have not tested it.[b][b][b][b]

CPU / GPU Performance

CPU : Samsung ExyNos 990
GPU : ARM Mali-G77 MP11
Memory (RAM) : 8 - 12 Gb
Storage : 128 Gb

Benchmark Antutu/3DMark

The Samsung Galaxy S20 scores over 500,000 points with Antutu, that's 150% more than I got with a Galaxy S10+. The gain in performance is absolutely huge. Chinese manufacturers are also making progress in this area, but the difference between two generations is not as marked.[b][b]The Galaxy S20 gains in performance at CPU and GPU level, Samsung did not try to compromise. Bravo Samsung![b][b][b][b] The Samsung Galaxy S20 scores 6802 points in the 3D Mark Sling Shot Extreme test. This is simply the best score I've been able to measure so far and it's probably one of the best scores at the time of writing.[b][b]With a score like this, you will be able to play all the games without any performance issues.[b][b]
Antutu score : 503905
Antutu CPU : 152798
Antutu GPU : 208904
Antutu UX : 72115
Antutu Mem : 70088
3D Mark Open GL : 6802
3D Mark Vulkan : 6282
[b]Top 10 - performance ranking based on Antutu
1. Poco F4 Gt - 853016
2. Realme Gt - 811858
3. Black Shark 4 Pro - 759986
4. Poco X4 Gt - 714577
5. Oppo Find X2 Pro - 605184
6. Oneplus 8t - 595000
7. Poco F3 - 589677
8. Xiaomi Mi 10t Pro - 581650
9. Oneplus 8 Pro - 579417
10. Xiaomi Mi 10 - 579114

Number of smartphones in the ranking:147
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:15/147

Note: this ranking only contains the phones I tested as well as a few others that I added for reference.
[b]Gaming[b]To test the performance in game, I download the mobile PUBG game and evaluate the in-game experience, graphics level and depth of vision. This game is quite demanding and should help you evaluating the performance of a phone.With such power, the Samsung Galaxy S20 can not be challenged by PUBG Mobile.[b][b][b][b]The game is perfectly fluid, the depth of vision is maximum, the textures are very detailed. I don't think any game available today is capable of putting the Samsung Galaxy S20 in trouble.[b][b]

Network performance

Unlike Chinese manufacturers, Samsung produces phones with global coverage, so you don't have to worry about which version to buy.[b][b]The Galaxy S20 offers a very wide frequency coverage, you will be able to use all frequencies available in Europe.[b][b]
3G frequencies : B1 (2100), B2 (1900), B4 (1700/2100 AWS A-F), B5 (850), B6 (800), B8 (900)
4G frequencies : B1 (2100), B2 (1900), B3 (1800), B4 (1700/2100 AWS 1), B5 (850), B7 (2600), B8 (900), B12 (700), B17 (700), B20 (800), B26 (850), B28 (700), B32 (1500), B38 (TDD 2600), B40 (TDD 2300), B41 (TDD 2500), B66 (1700/2100)
Bluetooth : Bluetooth 5.0 LE
SAR / head : 0.279
Volte : Yes
NFC : Yes
Download speed : 351
Upload speed : 20
Choose your country to check if your phone is compatible:


The frequencies displayed below will allow you to see if this phone is compatible with your operator or if you will be able to use it in the country where you are going on vacation.


Signal 4G (before december 2020)[b]The ability to pick up the network correctly is an essential element for a phone but it is only very rarely measured. To measure a phone's ability to pick up the network, I perform a large number of measurements on the same cells to be able to compare phones under similar conditions. The signal is measured in dBm, a value of -90dBm indicates a worse signal than -70dBm. These measurements are therefore taken under real conditions and not in a laboratory, they are not scientific but give a good indication of performance. [b][b]Network signal sensitivity rating
Phone tested:Average signal (dBm)Number of measurements:
Xiaomi Mi 9t Pro-881600
Xiaomi Redmi Note 5-91.305600
Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite-93788
Samsung Galaxy A70-94.5111975
Nokia 5.3-94.98531
Realme 6-95.142301
Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro-95.9221599
Xiaomi Mi A3-95.951000
Huawei Y6 2019-95.951199
Doogee S58 Pro-96.22856
Redmi 9a-96.481000
Meizu Note 9-96.68937
Motorola G8 Power-96.881032
Xiaomi Redmi Note 7-97.011430
Redmi 9c-97.041000
Umidigi S3 Pro-97.131200
Xiaomi Redmi Note 8-97.34879
Samsung Galaxy A21s-97.781000
Umidigi F1-97.82298
Ulefone Armor 7e-98.71000
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite-991000
Honor 9x-99.14899
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s-99.41860
Poco F2 Pro-99.81247
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9-100.791785
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g-100.881198
Poco X3-101.19821
Umidigi F2-101.47712
[b]Not yet available / tested[b][b][b]Signal 4G (from December 2020)[b]I decided to change the methodology for measuring the network because I noticed that the configuration of the mobile network changes over time. This makes it more difficult to compare phones because the conditions are no longer exactly the same.[b][b]To overcome this problem, I set up a device that captures 24 hours a day about ten parameters from the mobile network (ex: cell id, rssi, rsrq, snr, frequency,...). I then place the phone next to the device for 24 to 48 hours taking the same measurements so that I can compare them. [b][b] Overview of the phones tested with this methodology[b][b]
Phone tested:MeasurementsAvg signal (reference)Avg signal (phone)Min/Max (reference)Min/Max (phone)
Samsung Galaxy S10+457-93.06-97.39-89 / -98-97 / -99
Xiaomi Mi 9t Pro669-93.69-95.84-90 / -95-92 / -98
Poco F2 Pro1438-91.02-94.99-89 / -94-94 / -96
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g1645-90.77-95.02- 88 / -98-95 / -100
Poco X3821-94.89-103.19-91 / -97.7-101 / -104
Umidigi Bison2343-92.71-96.46-90 / -99-94 / -102
Oukitel C211101-92.04-94.99-90 / -97-92 / -95
Poco M31116-92.09-91.74-88 / -98-90 / -99
Xiaomi Mi 10t Pro1071-90.61-94.03-88 / -94-94 / -96
Umidigi A9 Pro981-90.40-94.01-88 / -95-93 / -95
Redmi Note 9t1201-92.149-91.71-90 / -97-91 / -97
Xiaomi Redmi Note 10999-92.35-93.99-88 / -97-92 / -98
Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro877-89.72-90.56- 88 / -92-89 / -95
Poco X3 Pro1876-91.45-92.91-90 / -94-90 / -96
Poco F31382-90.79-94.2-89 / -94-93 / -98
Oneplus Nord N100896-91.23-96.005-88 / - 99-96 / -99
Xiaomi Mi 11 Lite2875-91.36-91.49-87 / -96-90 / -96
Samsung Galaxy A521427-89.27-93.39-87 / -98-92 / -96
Doogee S96 Pro1259-94.2-91.21-90 / -102-88 / -95
Xiaomi Redmi Note 10s957-92.07-97.62-90 / -102-96 / -102
Poco M3 Pro1247-91.76-102.97-99 / -104-88 / -98
Realme Gt843-96.49-94.02-93 / -101- 92 / -96
F150 R20221002-92.4-105.1-90 / -97-98 / -110
Umidigi Bison Pro936-94.2-104.98-91 / -98-95 / -105
Redmi 102141-94.74-100.92-92 / -98-99 / -101
Tcl 10 Pro871-93.43-94.001-92 / -96-93 / -95
Poco M4 Pro570-93.71-96.78-91 / -98-95 / -99
Google Pixel 51444-91.02-97.02-90 / -94-97 / -101
Xiaomi 11t1576-92.305-92.003-90 / -96-92 / -93
Redmi Note 111223-92.5-91.32-92/-97-90 / -93
Black Shark 4 Pro2383-95.178-95.42-90 / -100-93 / -101
Redmi Note 11 Pro349-95.33-93-89 / -101-92 / -94
Poco M4 Pro 4g1202-90.85-88.95-87 / - 95-88 / -98
Tcl 30 Se567-92.11-92.85-88 / -98-99 / -93
Poco X4 Pro562-92.06-94.01-90 / -95-95 / -93
Redmi Note 11 Pro Plus 5g945-93.5-93.54-91 / -97-92 / -97
Poco F4 Gt832-95.02-93.09-90 / -99 -93 / -97
Oukitel Wp181351-95.94-92.92-91 / -97-92 / -97
Poco X4 Gt387-96.99-96.505-96 / -98-95 / -98
Poco F4524-95.78-95.04-93 / -99-94/-96
Oneplus Nord 2t1340-98.83-96.305-95 / -102-90 / -99
Redmi 10a707-89.026-97.97-87 / -91-97 / -103
[b][b][b][b]Download/Upload speed[b]To test the download speed, I have identified some 4G cells offering good performance where I test all my devices several times to see what download and upload speed they can achieve.[b]Top 10 - speed ranking in download
1. Samsung Galaxy S20 D:351Mbps U: 20Mbps
2. Poco X3 D:232Mbps U: 55Mbps
3. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g D:223Mbps U: 52Mbps
4. Poco F2 Pro D:207Mbps U: 53Mbps
5. Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite D:153Mbps U: 68Mbps
6. Xiaomi Mi A3 D:150Mbps U: 60Mbps
7. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s D:150Mbps U: 60Mbps
8. Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite D:149Mbps U: 60Mbps
9. Samsung Galaxy A21s D:147Mbps U: 51Mbps
10. Huawei Y6 2019 D:145Mbps U: 61Mbps

Number of smartphones in the ranking:30
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:1/30

Note: the theoretical maximum speed of a telephone is often limited by the configuration of the mobile network and the congestion of the network at the time of the measurement. So maybe you could get a higher speed on another network
[b]Not yet available / tested[b][b][b]

Wifi performance

To test a phone's ability to receive the network properly, I take measurements near my router and then remotely (and always at the same place). This gives me an average in dBm where a value of -90 dBm indicates poorer performance than a value at -30 dBm.[b]
Wifi frequencies : 802.11a, 802.11b, 802.11g, 802.11n, 802.11n 5GHz, 802.11ac, WiFi 6 (802.11ax)
Download speed : 351
Signal / close : -21
Signal / distant : -74
Wifi signal[b]I measured a signal of -23 dBm near the router, it's a good score that ranks the Samsung Galaxy S20 a little above average. [b][b]At distance I measured a signal of -74 dBm, this score and an average score, it is neither good nor bad.[b][b]I think that the back of the phone is used to pick up wifi because the signal was better when the back of the phone was free of any obstacle.[b][b][b][b][b][b]Top 10 - wifi sensitivity ranking
1. Poco F2 Pro -11dBm
2. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro -12dBm
3. Realme Gt -12dBm
4. Samsung Galaxy A21s -13dBm
5. Redmi Note 11 Pro -13dBm
6. Oneplus Nord N100 -15dBm
7. Poco X3 Pro -15dBm
8. Poco F3 -15dBm
9. Redmi Note 9t -15dBm
10. Black Shark 4 Pro -15dBm

Number of smartphones in the ranking:67
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:36/67

[b]Download/Upload speed[b]To test the speed in Wifi, I connect to my router in 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz (if available) and use the Ookla application to measure the speed.I got a download speed of over 350 Mbps and the speed seemed artificially limited, I suspect that the Galaxy S20 can easily go higher but my internet provider did not allow me to go higher. [b][b]With a score like that, the Galaxy S20 ranks among the best phones I've tested.[b][b][b][b][b]Top 10 - wifi download speed ranking
1. Redmi Note 11 Pro Plus 5g 866Mbps
2. Poco F4 866Mbps
3. Poco F4 Gt 866Mbps
4. Poco X4 Gt 866Mbps
5. Oneplus Nord 2t 866Mbps
6. Black Shark 4 Pro 866Mbps
7. Poco M4 Pro 4g 433Mbps
8. Poco X4 Pro 433Mbps
9. Redmi Note 11 Pro 433Mbps
10. Poco F3 398Mbps

Number of smartphones in the ranking:64
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:14/64

Note: I have a 400Mbps line and a modem capable of delivering higher speed, but I can never be sure how much bandwidth is available when doing a test.
[b]

GPS performance

[b]To test the quality of the GPS signal I use the Offline Maps application and I make the same train trip in pedestrian mode. Why? In pedestrian mode, the GPS does not artificially correct the signal to stick to the road, it has no markings, so you can see the actual position. I then use an application to measure the accuracy of the signal. The Samsung Galaxy S20 captures a wide range of satellites such as GPS network, Galileo, Beidou, ... etc....[b][b]I tested the accuracy of the positioning and unfortunately it is not good, I obtained an accuracy of 4 meters with fluctuations between 4 and 6 meters while I was in a completely clear area. I also filtered the satellites and I did not get a better accuracy with Galileo.[b][b][b][b]I still have to do a road test to confirm if this is accurate.[b][b][b]Top 10 - GPS accuracy ranking
1. Poco X4 Gt 1m
2. Oukitel C21 1m
3. Redmi 9a 1m
4. Redmi 10a 1m
5. Doogee S96 Pro 1m
6. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10s 1m
7. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 1m
8. Umidigi Bison Pro 1m
9. Tcl 30 Se 1m
10. Redmi 10 1m

Number of smartphones in the ranking:38
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:0/38

Note: An accuracy of 3 meters or less can easily be corrected by a good GPS application. Phone performance also plays a role in how fast your display updates, so good accuracy could be compromised by too slow a display.
[b]

Battery range

Capacity : 4000
Fast charge : Yes
W max : 25
Range (100% brightness) : 565.00
Range (50% brightness) : 1217.00
Charging time : 136.00
Discharge speed (100%) : 0.18
Discharge score (100%) : 7.08
Discharge speed (50%) : 0.08
Discharge score (50%) : 3.29
Charging speed : 0.74
Charging score : 29.41
From March 2020, I replaced my subjective battery test with a technical test to better measure the real behaviour of the battery. Now I test the autonomy and charging time under absolutely identical conditions. I perform several measurements, so this test alone takes several days during which I cannot use the phone for anything else.

Battery life - methodology
To test the battery life, I measure the battery consumption every minute in strictly identical conditions to be able to compare phones and also to allow you to evaluate your phone in the same conditions. I rule out any influence of applications that could interfere with the measurement. The autonomy is not linear, the battery sometimes discharges much faster at the end. This is a frustrating phenomenon but with my measurements, you will know if you need to find a charger quickly.

Battery life
The battery of the Samsung Galaxy S20 has a capacity of 4000 mAh and has discharged from 100% to 1% in 565.00 minutes with 100% brightness, it has discharged from 100% to 1% in 1217.00 minutes with 50% brightness. I obtain in this way an average discharge speed of 0.18% per minute with 100% luminosity and 0.08% per minute with 50% luminosity, the consumption is therefore 7.08 mA per minute with 100% luminosity and 3.29 with 50% luminosity. To be able to compare the efficiency of the phone and its influence on the battery, you have to compare the 7.08 (or 50%) score with that of other smartphones, the figure should be as low as possible.

Charging time - methodology
To test the charging time, I always use the same charger with the same cable. I measure the charging time minute by minute to see the evolution of the charge as well as the charging speed. The charging speed of a battery is not linear, it is often faster at the beginning and slower at the end. The charger is compatible with fast charging.

Charging time
The battery of the Samsung Galaxy S20 has a capacity of 4000 mAh and has been charged from 1% to 100% in 136.00 minutes. This gives me an average charging speed of 0.74% per minute and therefore an increase of 29.41 mA per minute. To compare the performance of the Samsung Galaxy S20 compared to other phones, you should use the 29.41 per minute score, this score should be as high as possible.

Important note: the charging speed is not always linear, the graph below gives you an indication of the battery behaviour.

The following table lists the phones tested with the technical battery test, they are ranked in order of efficiency. A higher battery capacity should logically result in a higher battery life but it is not always the case and it does not give any indication of the efficiency of a phone.

SmartphoneCapacity (mAh)Battery life (minutes)Efficiency ScoreBattery life (minutes) / 50%Efficiency Score / 50%Charging time.Score charging
Samsung Galaxy S204000565.007.081217.003.29136.0029.41
Nokia 5.34000549.007.291096.003.65199.0020.10
Oukitel C214000497.008.051324.003.02167.0023.95
Honor 9x4000770.005.191333.003.00151.0026.49
Google Pixel 54080773.005.281559.002.6281.0050.37
Umidigi A9 Pro4150552.007.521562.002.66112.0037.05
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g4160749.005.551541.002.70163.0025.52
Realme 64300704.006.111104.003.89162.0026.54
Realme Gt4500574.007.841057.004.2687.0051.72
Tcl 10 Pro4500465.009.68889.005.06133.0033.83
Poco F44500554.008.1211413.949845.92
Redmi Note 11 Pro Plus 5g4500525.008.5712113.7224187.50
Oneplus Nord 2t45006936.4914923.0212137.19
Samsung Galaxy A524500652.006.901239.003.63165.0027.27
Black Shark 4 Pro4500425.0010.59937.004.8029.00155.17
Poco F34520657.006.881840.002.46122.0037.05
Poco F2 Pro47001150.004.091536.003.06180.0026.11
Poco F4 Gt4700365.0012.8810824.3438123.68
Umidigi Bison Pro5000610.008.201632.003.06255.0019.61
Redmi 105000664.007.531684.002.97165.0030.30
Poco M4 Pro5000634.007.891600.003.13123.0040.65
Poco M3 Pro5000657.007.611647.003.04131.0038.17
Xiaomi Redmi Note 10s5000636.007.861556.003.21161.0031.06
Xiaomi 11t5000476.0010.501204.004.1597.0051.55
Redmi Note 115000592.008.451 376.003.6369.0072.46
Poco M4 Pro 4g5000723.006.921 500.003.3377.0064.94
Tcl 30 Se50006507.691 225.004.0817229.07
Poco X4 Pro5000643.007.7813613.677467.57
Oneplus Nord N1005000808.006.191278.003.91663.007.54
Redmi 9c5000656.007.621915.002.61170.0029.41
Samsung Galaxy A21s5000729.006.861283.003.90166.0030.12
Xiaomi Redmi Note 105000691.007.241728.002.89193.0025.91
Redmi Note 9t5000766.006.532054.002.43148.0033.78
Motorola G8 Power5000912.005.482792.001.79311.0016.08
Umidigi Bison5000550.009.091471.003.40238.0021.01
Redmi 9a5000694.007.201902.002.63195.0025.64
Xiaomi Redmi Note 95020650.007.721808.002.78162.0030.99
Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro5020625.008.031557.003.22213.0023.57
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s5020663.007.571876.002.68224.0022.41
Poco X4 Gt5080726.007.0015383.3011344.96
Umidigi F25150927.005.561854.002.78299.0017.22
Poco X3 Pro5160648.007.961688.003.06138.0037.39
Poco X35160653.007.901654.003.12181.0028.51
Doogee S58 Pro5180845.006.131908.002.71177.0029.27
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite5260827.006.361609.003.27208.0025.29
Ulefone Armor 7e5500768.007.161140.004.82179.0030.73
Poco M36000842.007.131898.003.16217.0027.65
Doogee S96 Pro6350929.006.841405.004.52424.0014.98
F150 R20228300879.009.441498.005.54243.0034.16
Oukitel Wp18125002 733.004.5728594.3736234.53

helpHow to read these figures?
The battery capacity is an important element in determining the autonomy of a phone but it is not the only factor. A phone with a large battery may have a shorter battery life if it consumes more power. If I had to take an example from everyday life, I would use the universe of the car. If a car has a large fuel tank, it should be able to drive a longer distance unless its average fuel consumption is higher. The battery efficiency score works the same way, it should be as low as possible and represents the energy consumption of the phone. These differences in efficiency are often related to the brightness of the screen, large bright screens will tend to consume more energy and even if they have a large battery, their range will be shorter.

In summary [battery product="samsung-galaxy-s20" capa="4000" lg="en"][b][b]Battery life has never been a strength for Samsung, and this new Galaxy S20 won't fundamentally change that. With a 4000 mAh battery, Samsung is a bit behind its Chinese competitors. Luckily the Galaxy S20 manages its battery well enough to get by. It offers a performance comparable to the Honor 9x which was already good enough in this area.[b][b]

Photo camera test

To test the quality of photos produced by a phone, I do a technical test (resolution, sharpness, chromatic aberration,...) in studio (identical conditions) to evaluate the technical part objectively. From the second half of 2020, I built my own laboratory to take completely objective technical measurements. I then take pictures in real conditions to see how the camera performs. I then evaluate these photos according to my criteria but I publish the photos so that you can evaluate the result according to your criteria.[b]

Hardware

Selfie / resolution : 10
Resolution : 64
Sensor : Samsung Bright S5KGW2
Video resolution : 8k
mm wide angle : 5.4mm
mm ultra wide angle : 2.2mm
On the market, there are two major manufacturers for photo sensors, there is Samsung and there is Sony. On these high-end models, Samsung has always managed to combine optical quality and processing quality, the Galaxy S10+ was one of the best photo phone at the time of its release.[b][b]The Galaxy S20 is equipped with a standard Samsung S5K2LD 12 megapixel sensor that is also found in the Galaxy S20+. It is also equipped with a Samsung Bright S5KGW2 zoom which is an evolution of the sensor used in the Redmi Note 8 Pro. The last sensor is a Samsung S5K2LA ultra wide angle sensor that I haven't seen in other phones yet.[b][b]Default app[b]I've tested a lot of Chinese phones in the last few months and although they are all progressing on the photo level, they haven't bothered to review their default photo app and you often end up with a huge amount of options that are often useless.[b][b]Samsung has taken the step of not going in that direction and that's fine. The default application has 4 modes (photo, video, single take, plus) to give quick access to the most common features. If you want more, you can access the other functions in the "more" menu.[b][b]The zoom button is superimposed on the screen as in Xiaomi but Samsung has added a bubble around the icons which allows you to see these icons much better when the brightness is important. The zoom can be adjusted in steps but Samsung also offers the possibility to set exactly the desired zoom level. The options for each mode can be found at the top of the screen. [b][b]Samsung doesn't seem to want to rush into the pixel war where a Xiaomi constantly tries to increase the number of available pixels. For photography, the standard is 12 million pixels for Samsung and there is a 64 million pixel mode. For video on the other hand, Samsung offers the possibility to shoot videos in 8k, I have not yet seen this possibility on another phone.[b][b][b][b][b]

Photoquality

Photo test / studio[b]First example: ƒ/1.8 1/423 5.4 mm 50 ISO[b]samsung galaxy s20 test avis review recensione opinion prueba test photo 1[b][b]Exposure: slightly underexposed[b]Sharpness: very good[b]Colours: slightly too dark[b]Depth of field: good[b]Distortion: none[b]Chromatic aberration: none[b]Vignetting: none[b]Digital noise: none[b][b]The Galaxy S20's main sensor does quite well in the studio because many phones can't handle artificial light well. The picture could have been a little more exposed but if you look at my pictures taken with other phones, you'll see that the Samsung does well without being the best.[b][b]Second example: ƒ/2.2 1/322 2.2 mm 50 ISO[b]samsung galaxy s20 test avis review recensione opinion prueba test photo 3[b][b]Exposure: slightly underexposed[b]Sharpness: medium[b]Colours: slightly too dark[b]Depth of field: shallow[b]Distortion: slight[b]Chromatic aberration: none[b]Vignetting: none[b]Digital noise: visible[b][b]The wide-angle sensor produces a picture quite similar to the basic sensor if you look only at the exposure and colors. However, the sharpness is poorer, the depth of field is shallow, and despite ISO 25, the image is grainy. [b][b]Third example: ƒ/1.8 1/309 5.4 mm 50 ISO[b]samsung galaxy s20 test avis review recensione opinion prueba test photo 4[b][b]Exposure: slightly underexposed[b]Sharpness: medium[b]Colours: slightly too dark[b]Depth of field: shallow[b]Distortion: slight[b]Chromatic aberration: none[b]Vignetting: none[b]Digital noise: visible[b][b]The Galaxy S20 does not have an optical zoom, it is a digital zoom made from the main sensor (see first picture). The properties of the image are therefore the same as the first photo, but with the zoom, you can better realize the level of sharpness of the photo. The level of detail is really excellent, the contours are precise without being forced.[b][b]If I take these photos individually, I think that the Samsung produces good photos in the studio but it is only by comparing it with other phones that we can see it.[b][b][b]samsung galaxy s20 test avis review recensione opinion prueba test photo 5[b]The Redmi Note 9s produces a picture with colors a little too warm but the sharpness is as good as the Samsung's, the exposure is also better. [b][b][b]The Realme 6 also produces pictures with too warm colours but here the exposure is less good and the sharpness less pronounced.[b][b]The Samsung therefore produces good photos but the gap with entry-level phones is not as large as it used to be.[b][b][b]Photo test / sunny[b]First example: ƒ/1,8 1/3296 5,4 mm 50 ISO[b]samsung galaxy s20 test review avis recensione prueba opinion beoordeling photo qualite sun 9[b][b]Exposure: good[b]Sharpness: very good[b]Colours: perfectly saturated[b]Depth of field: good[b]Distortion: none[b]Chromatic aberration: none[b]Vignetting: none[b]Digital noise: none[b][b]I tested the Galaxy S10+ last year and at that time it was one of the best photo phones. The Galaxy S20 raises the bar a bit higher by offering bright, properly saturated photos and exemplary sharpness. [b][b]I had taken my Sony A7 III with me during the Samsung photo test so I could compare a good smartphone with a very good SLR camera.[b][b]sony alpha a7 iii test photo 6[b][b]The Sony produces sharper, more saturated photos, but the Samsung's performance is far from being ridiculous. The Sony costs almost 2000€ without optics, the Samsung costs less than 1000€ and offers an ease of use that the Sony can't offer. [b][b]Let's go back down to earth for a moment to compare the Samsung with another smartphone that is positioned as a competitor to the Galaxy S20. Here's a picture taken with the Poco F2 Pro[b]poco f2 pro test review avis recensione prueba opinion beoordeling photo qualite 4[b]This phone costs 30 to 40% less than the Samsung and delivers a good performance as well. The colors are duller but the sky is more detailed.[b][b]Second example: ƒ/2 1/670 5.9 mm 50 ISO[b]samsung galaxy s20 test review avis recensione prueba opinion beoordeling photo qualite sun 11[b]Exposure: good[b]Sharpness: very good but smooth in clouds[b]Colours: good saturation[b]Depth of field: good[b]Distortion: none[b]Chromatic aberration: none[b]Vignetting: none[b]Digital noise: none[b][b]I had used the zoom for my studio test and probably went too far because I had gotten a digital zoom. With this picture I discovered that the Samsung had an optical zoom, the difference in focal length is not very important but the zoom is real, I think the Samsung combines an optical and digital zoom.[b][b]You can see here that the zoom focuses on one where the clouds are denser and this is reflected in the image processing, the color processing is different, the colors are warmer but the sharpness is still good. The details of the sluice in the background of the image can be seen quite well.[b][b]Third example: ƒ/2,2 1/2376 2,2 mm ISO 50[b]samsung galaxy s20 test review avis recensione prueba opinion beoordeling photo qualite sun 10[b]Exposure: good[b]Sharpness: very good [b]Colours: good saturation[b]Depth of field: good[b]Distortion: slight[b]Chromatic aberration: none[b]Vignetting: none[b]Digital noise: none[b][b]The wide-angle focal length is not the shortest among all the phones I tested but it's enough to capture a wide enough landscape without losing quality. Wide-angle sensors are usually not as good as other sensors, this is not the case with this Galaxy S20, the wide-angle sensor produces excellent pictures, I even find that the color processing is better than with the main sensor.[b][b]These three examples illustrate quite well what the Galaxy S20 is able to do, here are some other examples that will confirm what I described above.[b][b][b][b]In good light conditions like these, the Galaxy S20 is therefore one of the best cameras like the s10+ was when it was released.[b][b][b][b]Photo test / cloudy[b]Not yet available / tested[b][b][b]Test photo / night[b]Not yet available / tested[b][b][b]

Video quality

Stabilisation[b]I haven't had the opportunity to test many phones with effective video stabilization, the Samsung Galaxy S10+ was the best phone I could test. The Galaxy S20 will not only offer good stabilization but it will do it in 8k! Video stabilization requires a lot of processing power and doing it in 8k requires even more power.[b][b][b][b]Video normale conditions[b][b]The Samsung Galaxy S20 is one of the first phones to be able to film in 8k. The quality of the videos is really good and the most surprising thing is that the phone is able to play them without any problem where playing this kind of video on a computer can be a problem.[b][b]I find here the optical qualities of the sensor with a good level of exposure, saturated colors and a very good level of sharpness. The movements are also quite fluid.[b][b]Samsung has set the bar very high, this phone is probably one of the best phones for video. [b][b]Video low light[b]Not yet available / tested[b][b]

Audio quality

To test the quality of the phone's audio output, I connect the device's audio output to a measuring tool, then play sounds on all frequencies and measure the differences between the original sound and the sound produced by the phone. In this way I measure the phone's ability to correctly reproduce all sounds.[b]
Samsung's high-end phones are generally good for audio quality and I think this Galaxy S20 will follow the same trend.[b][b]The Samsung Galaxy S20 is equipped with two external speakers, one located on the lower edge of the phone and the other installed at the speakerphone level for telephony.[b][b]It is therefore capable of producing stereo sound and even though the sound produced by the speakers will never be able to compete with a real audio installation, the Galaxy S20 manages to produce a very good sound. [b][b]All I have to do now is to do the technical test to see if it is capable of knocking out the S10+ which was until now the best phone in terms of audio quality.[b][b]Update:[b]The Samsung Galaxy S20 does not have a jack port that allows me to do my technical test, the phone does not come with an adapter. I tried the USB to Jack adapter from another phone but the Samsung was displaying an error message.[b][b]I bought an adapter on Aliexpress and it will probably take 2 or 3 weeks before I receive it and can perform this test.[b][b]Frequency Response[b]This test is intended to test the device's ability to correctly reproduce all frequencies. The white line in the middle of the graph is the ideal situation and the other colors come from tests on different phones. A deviation from the reference line indicates a deviation from the ideal situation. To see good sound at all frequencies, it is therefore necessary to get as close as possible to the reference line. Not yet available / tested[b][b]Dynamic Range[b]This test is designed to test a phone's ability to play sounds at different volume levels. Here too, the phones must be as close as possible to the reference.Not yet available / tested[b][b]Noise Level[b]This test aims to identify if the device under test is able to reproduce sounds without too much noise. A high score indicates a low parasite rate, a lower score indicates a higher presence of parasites.Not yet available / tested[b][b]Concert recording[b]The purpose of this test is to measure the recording quality of the phone when there is a lot of ambient noise. Since I don't have the opportunity to go to a concert every time I test a phone, I simulate the noise of a concert in a closed environment.Not yet available / tested[b][b]

Screen quality

To test the screen, I use a colorimetric probe that measures the color accuracy of a screen, as well as other parameters to see if a screen is able to correctly reproduce an image. I also test the brightness level to determine if the screen will be able to display an image in full sunlight.[b]
Screen size : 6.2
Resolution : 1440 x 3200
Ratio : 20:9
Protection : Corning Gorilla Glass 6
Type : Amoled
% occupancy : 89
dE white : 1
dE red : 2.8
dE green : 1.3
dE blue : 2.2
dE jaune : 1.1
dE cyan : 1.1
dE magenta : 0.3
White temperature : 6443
Contrast : 2000000:1
Brightness : 510
Colorimetry[b]samsung galaxy s20 test avis review recensione opinion beoordeling screen calibration[b][b]Samsung produces its own screens and generally these screens are of very good quality. The best display I had been able to test so far was the Samsung Galaxy S10+, so I was curious to see if the S20 could do better.[b][b]I won't make you wait any longer, the Galaxy S20 has a better screen than the S10+, this screen is superb. Colorimetrically, it gets an average dE of 1.4 where I got 2.0 with the S10+. In addition to colorimetric accuracy, Samsung's Amoled screen offers infinite contrasts, the blacks are truly black and this gives unparalleled depth to the images. I've already tested phones for less than 200€ that offered good colorimetry but what they lack is the image depth offered by the Samsung and that makes all the difference.[b][b]It is possible to change the color settings from the phone settings. By default, the Samsung uses a mode where the colors are very saturated, it gives the impression that all the colors are more vivid and it's nice to look at but from a colorimetric point of view it's incorrect. It is therefore necessary to switch to normal mode to obtain the values of this test.[b][b]The white temperature is also excellent, I measured 6443K where the white should be at 6500K, so the whites are quite white where many phones offer a slightly bluish white.[b][b][b]Top 10 - ranking of the best screens by colorimetry
1. Poco X4 Gt dE = 0.6
2. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g dE = 0.73
3. Xiaomi Mi 10t Pro dE = 0.83
4. Redmi Note 11 dE = 0.91
5. Google Pixel 5 dE = 1.11
6. Realme Gt dE = 1.17
7. Xiaomi Mi 11 Lite dE = 1.19
8. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 dE = 1.2
9. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 dE = 1.23
10. Poco M4 Pro 4g dE = 1.31

Number of smartphones in the ranking:67
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:12/67

Note: the colorimetric difference is measured in dE. After three, the human eye will perceive a colorimetric difference, so the dE should be the lowest. The tests were all carried out with a colorimetric probe.
[b]Brightness / Contrast[b]When I push the brightness to the maximum and without external constraints, the Samsung Galaxy S20 produces a maximum brightness of 330 cd/m², this is a very average value which is more than enough to read the screen when the light is not too strong. On the other hand if I expose the phone to a strong source of light (ex: sun), the brightness climbs to 510 cd/m². This is not the highest value I could measure but it is enough to use the phone in the sun.[b][b] The great strength of the amoled screens is the contrast and this can be seen as soon as the phone starts up where you can see the Samsung logo literally floating on a black screen where an entry level phone will only be able to display a dark grey. The viewing angles are also excellent.[b][b]Light Absorption/Reflection[b]The smartphone screen reflect light and sometimes turn them into a real mirror. This mirror effect makes it harder to read. [b][b]The absorption index below indicates the percentage of light absorbed by the screen. The readability of a screen is better when the absorption index is high.[b][b]
Phone tested:% light absorption
Samsung Galaxy S10+58
Xiaomi Mi 9T Pro52
Honor 9x65
Redmi Note 9s55
Motorola G8 Power60
Realme 654
Umidigi F248
Poco F2 Pro52
Redmi Note 956
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite53
Samsung Galaxy S2047
Samsung Galaxy A21s53
The phones tested have an average absroption rate of54 %

Biometry

The Samsung Galaxy S20 is equipped with a fingerprint sensor located on the screen. The positioning of this sensor is correct but I find that its efficiency could be better, I often have to go through it several times to unlock the screen and overall it's a slower process than a classical fingerprint sensor.[b][b]Facial recognition works well, I didn't notice any differences with other devices. If the brightness drops, the efficiency decreases, it's the same with other phones.[b][b][b]

Operating system

Samsung is one of the few manufacturers capable of providing a brand specific operating system. The Samsung UI system is undoubtedly one of the most advanced on Android. If you're used to Samsung and then have to switch to a phone running a pure Android version, you'll probably regret your Samsung. [b][b]This maturity of the operating system offers many advantages because you don't need to download applications for all sorts of uses but the flip side of the coin is that you are linked to Samsung. The Korean manufacturer pre-installs a large number of applications, they are not mandatory but Samsung will try to favour them. It's not dramatic but some people are really allergic to the presence of unwanted applications.[b][b]Overall I like Samsung UI quite a lot, it's a complete and easy to use system. [b][b]The things I like less are the following:[b][b]Samsung Daily[b]Samsung Daily aggregates information for you, this information is available on the screen on the left of the home screen. This news feed is much less relevant than what I find for example on the Xiaomi. [b][b]Keyboard[b]Samsung's keyboard can become very annoying when you have to write messages in several languages because it will impose its choices on you and you will have to make changes all the time afterwards.[b][b]Classification of applications:[b]Samsung's application drawer classifies applications with no apparent logic, applications are not sorted alphabetically or by date of installation, everything is mixed up.[b][b][b]

Encoutered bugs

Not yet available / tested[b][b]

Accessories Samsung Galaxy S20

To better enjoy your experience with your smartphone, I offer links to all kinds of accessories that you might find useful

Protective cover / case samsung galaxy s20
Screen protection film samsung galaxy s20
Memory card samsung galaxy s20
USB Cable / Charger samsung galaxy s20
Headphones samsung galaxy s20
Bike rack samsung galaxy s20

Compare Samsung Galaxy S20 with the others

I assigned a score of 1 to 10 for each test that determines the strengths and weaknesses of a product. I am using 0 for criteria that have not (yet) been tested. A score of 1 to 3 indicates poor performance (and yes, it does), a score of 4 to 6 indicates average performance, a score of 7 to 8 indicates good performance, and a score of 9 and 10 indicates exceptional performance. .
The score is calculated based on my measurements and when there are no measurements, it is a subjective opinion based on my experience.

The scores are not static, they change over time because the performance of new products changes and this must be taken into account.

Samsung Galaxy S20
Finish quality8.006.00
Battery performance7.008.00
CPU performance9.006.5
GPU performance9.006.5
Screen quality9.007.00
Photo quality8.55.00
Video quality8.55.00
Wi-Fi performance9.007.00
Mobile download speed7.005.00
Mobile network sensitivity7.006.00
Frequency coverage7.007.00
Audio quality8.006.00
GPS performance6.006.00
Operating system8.008.00
Overall score11189
Global ranking
1. Black Shark 4 Pro 114 / 140
2. Realme Gt 112.5 / 140
3. Oneplus Nord 2t 111.5 / 140
4. Poco F2 Pro 111.5 / 140
5. Samsung Galaxy S20 111 / 140
6. Poco F4 Gt 110.5 / 140
7. Google Pixel 5 109.6 / 140
8. Poco F3 108.5 / 140
9. Poco X4 Gt 108 / 140
10. Poco X3 Pro 107.5 / 140
11. Samsung Galaxy S10+ 107 / 140
12. Xiaomi 11t 107 / 140
13. Redmi Note 11 Pro Plus 5g 106.5 / 140
14. Xiaomi Mi 9t Pro 106 / 140
15. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro 105.5 / 140
16. Samsung Galaxy A52 104 / 140
17. Xiaomi Mi 11 Lite 104 / 140
18. Tcl 10 Pro 104 / 140
19. Redmi Note 11 Pro 103 / 140
20. Poco X4 Pro 102.5 / 140
21. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10s 102 / 140
22. Poco M4 Pro 4g 102 / 140
23. Poco M4 Pro 101.5 / 140
24. Redmi Note 11 101 / 140
25. Poco X3 101 / 140
26. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g 101 / 140
27. Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite 101 / 140
28. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 101 / 140
29. Redmi Note 9t 100.5 / 140
30. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro 100 / 140
31. Poco F4 98 / 130
32. Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite 98 / 140
33. Poco M3 Pro 98 / 140
34. Doogee S96 Pro 98 / 140
35. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s 98 / 140
36. Redmi 10 97.5 / 140
37. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 97 / 140
38. F150 R2022 95 / 140
39. Umidigi Bison Pro 95 / 140
40. Poco M3 94.5 / 140
41. Xiaomi Redmi Note 7 94 / 140
42. Realme 6 93 / 140
43. Umidigi Bison 92 / 140
44. Tcl 30 Se 92 / 140
45. Umidigi A9 Pro 92 / 140
46. Oukitel C21 89.5 / 140
47. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 89 / 140
48. Xiaomi Mi A3 89 / 140
49. Motorola G8 Power 89 / 140
50. Nokia 5.3 89 / 140
51. Oneplus Nord N100 88.5 / 140
52. Honor 9x 88 / 140
53. Meizu Note 9 86 / 140
54. Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite 86 / 140
55. Xiaomi Redmi Note 5 85 / 140
56. Umidigi S3 Pro 83 / 140
57. Samsung Galaxy A21s 82 / 140
58. Umidigi F2 82 / 140
59. Redmi 9a 81 / 140
60. Oukitel Wp18 81 / 140
61. Redmi 9c 80 / 140
62. Ulefone Armor 7e 80 / 140
63. Doogee S58 Pro 78.5 / 140
64. Honor 8x 78 / 140
65. Umidigi F1 77 / 140
66. Huawei Y6 2019 74 / 140
67. Xiaomi Mi 10t Pro 57 / 70
68. Redmi 10a 14 / 20
69. Elephone U5 0 / 0

Test / Review conclusion

The Samsung Galaxy S20 is expensive, it's probably the most expensive phone I've tested in 2020. Is it the best phone? Based on the score, yes, it is the best phone I have tested because it scores the highest but it only scores a few points higher than other phones that cost less. It is the eternal debate on the cost of the big brands compared to the Chinese competitors who are trying to make a place for themselves on the market, so I will limit myself to summarising the performance of the phone, each one will judge the relevance of the price according to his means.[b][b]The Samsung Galaxy S20 swims a little against the current in terms of its size. Most Chinese competitors produce large phones and they are generally quite heavy. The Galaxy S20 is smaller and lighter than most of the phones I test.[b][b]On the performance side, the Galaxy S20 offers a high level of performance but is being overtaken by phones like the Poco F2 Pro, performance is no longer a territory occupied by the big brands. The Galaxy S20 heats up quite strongly when it is used, its cooling is less efficient than the Poco F2 Pro.[b][b]For the picture, the Galaxy S20 is undoubtedly one of the best phones in 2020. I'm not sure it has the best sensor from a technical point of view but Samsung has managed to add a really effective processing layer, the sensor gives good results in just about any conditions. [b][b]The Galaxy S20 is a reference on many points, its weaknesses are not really big weaknesses as the lowest scores are average scores, if I had to name just one I would probably take the GPS which offers a precision a little below average.[b][b][b]Strengths[b]Quality of finish[b]Size/weight[b]Screen quality (120hz)[b]Photo quality[b]Speed 4G/Wifi[b]Performance for games[b][b][b]Weaknesses[b]Battery life (in 120hz, one day of autonomy max)[b]GPS accuracy[b]Fingerprint reader a bit slow[b]Cooling[b][b][b]Alternatives to this product[b][b]Price aside, the Poco F2 Pro is a credible alternative to the Galaxy S20. It offers better performance, better cooling, longer battery life,... for 200€ less.[b][b]In the same price range, you have to consider phones like the Xiaomi Mi 10 or the top of the range at Oneplus or Huawei.[b][b]

laurent willen Laurent Willen
Instead of watching nonsense on TV or YouTube, I spend my time in the evenings testing products and sharing my passion for technology, travel and photography.

I run this site in my own name and completely independently, no one pays me to do so.

I have more than 20 years of experience in the digital world, I have managed and developed many high traffic websites in companies in Belgium such as Mobistar, Microsoft, Immoweb, BrusselsAirlines, Proximus, Orange,...

Comments

Join the discussion / Ask your questions

Your comment will be published after validation. I respond to over 1500 comments a year in my spare time, so I can't always respond very quickly. Your email address will not be publicly visible and it will not be used for commercial purposes.









Be notified by email when a response is published