On this page:
Price OnePlus Nord N100
Unpacking
First configuration
Finish
Specifications
CPU / GPU Performance
Benchmark Antutu/3DMark
Network performance
Wifi performance
GPS performance
Battery range
Photo camera test
Hardware
Photo quality
Video quality
Audio quality
Screen quality
Biometry
Operating system
Test / Review conclusion
Questions answers

Subscribe
Subscribe to my YouTube channel to receive updates.

OnePlus Nord N100: test / review

[TEST] OnePlus Nord N100: test / review
Category: Smartphones

I have never tested OnePlus phones before buying this OnePlus Nord N100 because OnePlus mainly produces high end phones which are quite expensive. With the arrival of the "North" range, OnePlus decided to attack the entry level, so I had no more excuses, I had to test this new model. [b][b] OnePlus is mainly positioned in a premium segment and declining a phone for the entry level is an exercise that will force OnePlus to make sacrifices while keeping a philosophy close to their other products. With a price around 150 €, the OnePlus Nord N100 will have to face phones like the Redmi Note 10 or the Poco X3 which on paper seem to exceed the OnePlus on many points. It is not therefore a given but at the end of this test, you will be able to judge yourself if this phone is made for you. [b][b][b][b][b]linkManufacturer web site: https://www.oneplus.com/[b]linkSite where I have bought the OnePlus Nord N100: https://s.click.aliexpress.com/e/_AFhjH4[b]

Structure of my tests

I test the phones according to a pre-established structure (see below) to provide you with as much information as possible. Unfortunately, this takes a long time. Some tests like network performance tests take several days and for photo tests I sometimes have to wait until the weather is suitable to take pictures in good conditions. I am therefore obliged to publish the tests step by step, so I invite you to come back if the test is not complete at the time of your visit.[b]
How are my tests different from others on the web?

- I usually buy the devices with my own money, so price is just as important as you are!
- I keep the devices for at least a few weeks (sometimes more) to see what they are worth in real conditions.
- I answer (when possible) your questions to help you decide before you buy
- no one pays me to do these reviews, so I'm completely neutral and independent...
- My pages are not filled with ads



Xiaomi 11T: test / review / photo quality
Google Pixel 5 test / review
TCL 10 Pro: test / review / price
Samsung Galaxy A21s test / review
Samsung Galaxy A52: test / review
Umidigi Bison Pro : test / review
Poco X3 Pro : test / review
Redmi 10: test / review
iiiF150 R2022 : test / review
Realme 6 test, review and price

Price OnePlus Nord N100

The list below shows the prices for the OnePlus Nord N100 from more than 50 sites around the world. If you are not satisfied with any price, you can subscribe to a price alert to be the first to be notified when the price drops.[b]
OnePlus Nord N100 Midnight Frost Unlocked Smartphone​, 4GB+64GB, US Version, Model BE2011...
2021-11-30 17:32
134 USD
OnePlus Nord N100 LTE 4GB(RAM)+64GB 90Hz Display (T-Mobile/Sprint Unlocked) BE2012 Long Lasting Batt...
2021-11-30 05:01
140 USD
OnePlus Nord N100 64GB 4GB RAM Dual sim GSM Factory Unlocked Global Version NEW...
2021-11-30 15:01
152 USD
OnePlus Nord N100 (64GB, 4GB) 6.52", 90Hz Refresh Rate, 5000mAh Battery, Dual SIM GSM Unlocked Globa...
2021-11-30 17:32
152 USD
OnePlus Nord N100 64Go Gris mat...
2021-11-29 20:08
209 EUR
New OnePlus Nord N100 Midnight Frost 6.52" 64GB Dual SIM 4G Android 10 Sim Free...
2021-11-30 15:16
150 EUR
[b]
helpThe above links are affiliate links from companies such as Amazon, Gearbest, Aliexpress,... If you appreciate my work, I would be grateful if you could purchase these products through these links. It costs you absolutely nothing but I get a small commission that allows me to buy the material I test. Thank you very much!

Timeline

April 1, 2021: Order of the OnePlus Nord N100 on Aliexpress [b] April 6, 2021: I received the OnePlus, the delivery was fast, I can start the test[b]

Why this phone?

The price is an essential criterion of choice in the phones that I test, the usual price of OnePlus is well above the phones that I usually buy but with its 128 €, this OnePlus N100 almost automatically became a target for a test. The price is obviously not the only motivation, my curiosity also plays a role and I always take a look at the technical specifications. [b][b] On paper this OnePlus Nord N100 is not a benchmark in terms of performance and I could not find any information on the photo sensor used. The level of finish on the other hand seems rather good, the screen uses a frequency of 90hz occupying 90% of the available space, the phone has two speakers for sound in stereo and the battery capacity is above the average. [b][b][b]

Unpacking

I received the OnePlus Nord N100 in its black packaging and a small red bag containing a European charger because oddly the version with a European charger was more expensive while the phone is exactly the same. The choice of black for the box gives a more premium effect despite the price of the phone, the packaging is fairly standard but consistent with the brand. [b][b] The box contains the phone, a manual (safety instructions!), A charger and a USB cable. The box therefore contains the strict minimum as is also the case for Xiaomi in this price range. [b][b][b]
Length : 164.9
Width : 75.1
Thickness : 8.5
Weight : 188
Jack output : Yes
USB Type : Type C
Infrared port : No

First configuration

The configuration of the OnePlus Nord N100 is slightly different from what I have seen on other Android phones, you must first accept the terms and conditions of OnePlus before recovering your files from a previous phone (Android or iOS) and go through the usual steps. OnePlus has inserted a screen to get you to sign up for the program for its Improvement Program, this is the first time I've seen this at such a high level in a phone setup. Apart from this screen, there are no other forced services like a cloud or that sort of thing that can be found at Samsung or Xiaomi. [b][b][b]

Finish

What does a premium brand do when it starts marketing an entry-level product? It makes sacrifices and the most obvious temptation is to offer entry-level finishes. Fortunately, this is not the case with this OnePlus Nord N100, OnePlus has designed a sober and elegant phone. The use of plastic is quite successful, the back does not deform, it offers metallic reflections and the photo sensor is well integrated. [b][b] I was a little surprised by the position of the buttons. The volume buttons are on the left below the sim drawer while most manufacturers place these buttons on the other side. I find that this is a rather risky choice because when you are used to using volume buttons on the right, the use of these buttons on the left will require some adaptations in your habits. I find the buttons on the right easier to access. The start button is quite small and is located on the top edge of the right side. [b][b] The OnePlus Nord N100 is equipped with two stereo speakers, one at the top and one at the bottom of the phone, it is a configuration similar to the latest models from Redmi / Xiaomi. This type of construction achieves sound of equal power and quality from either side of the phone. [b][b] The screen occupies a large area and is only interrupted by a punch at the top left. The borders are visible and the lower one is also quite thick. [b][b] The OnePlus Nord N100 has a fairly elongated shape allowing it to be easily held with one hand, but this format will result in your videos in landscape format being displayed with a large black border on the left and right. At first glance, the screen looks good. [b][b][b]

Specifications

[b]The information below comes from the Device Info HW application. The application provides detailed technical information about the tested phone.I bought the 4Gb / 64 Gb version of the OnePlus Nord N100, there were also no other versions at the same time to write this test. I took a screenshot of the tech specs below. The wifi chipset is the same as on the Redmi Note 10 range. In terms of sound, it is a chipset that I have not yet tested. I couldn't find any additional information about the camera either. [b][b][b]

CPU / GPU Performance

CPU : Qualcomm Snapdragon 460
GPU : Qualcomm AdreNo 610
Memory (RAM) : 4 Gb
Storage : 64 Gb
[b][b]The OnePlus Nord N100 is equipped with a Qualcomm Snapdragon 460 processor, it is a CPU offering entry level performance which should be below the Redmi Note 10. This CPU is also used in the Nokia 3.4, the Oppo A32 or the Realme C15. [b][b] For the graphics part, the OnePlus Nord N100 is based on a Qualcomm Adreno 610 GPU, it is also an entry-level GPU which should offer lower performance than Redmi Note 10.[b]

Benchmark Antutu/3DMark

I got a little over 145,000 points with Antutu, this ranks the OnePlus Nord n100 quite low in the ranking and compared to other phones of the same price, the OnePlus Nord N100 lags a bit behind. If you are used to this kind of phone, you will not experience any problems on a daily basis. On the other hand, I am used to changing phones often and I feel that this OnePlus Nord N100 is a bit slow when it is necessary to change the screen or when, for example, it is necessary to use the keyboard, there is a noticeable latency between your request and the telephone answer. [b][b][b]
Antutu score : 145269
Antutu CPU : 57753
Antutu GPU : 22566
Antutu UX : 25719
Antutu Mem : 39231
[b]Top 10 - performance ranking based on Antutu
1. Realme Gt - 811858
2. Oppo Find X2 Pro - 605184
3. Oneplus 8t - 595000
4. Poco F3 - 589677
5. Xiaomi Mi 10t Pro - 581650
6. Oneplus 8 Pro - 579417
7. Xiaomi Mi 10 - 579114
8. Poco F2 Pro - 569559
9. Samsung Galaxy S20 Fe - 565000
10. Xiaomi 11t - 527127

Number of smartphones in the ranking:133
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:84/133

Note: this ranking only contains the phones I tested as well as a few others that I added for reference.
[b]Gaming[b]To test the performance in game, I download the mobile PUBG game and evaluate the in-game experience, graphics level and depth of vision. This game is quite demanding and should help you evaluating the performance of a phone. The OnePlus Nord N100 is not a phone designed for gamers but you can use it to play games like PUBG Mobile with some sacrifices on graphics quality. As the screen is not in HD, the phone needs less resources to run a game of this type, but despite everything, the level of graphics is quite low. The textures load quite slowly but once in the game, the experience is correct and I did not experience any problem with fluidity.[b]

Network performance

The OnePlus Nord N100 offers good coverage of the frequencies used in Europe, it is even compatible with the B28 frequency in 700 MHz used by some operators such as Bouygues in France.[b]
3G frequencies : B1 (2100), B2 (1900), B4 (1700/2100 AWS A-F), B5 (850), B8 (900)
4G frequencies : B1 (2100), B2 (1900), B3 (1800), B4 (1700/2100 AWS 1), B5 (850), B7 (2600), B8 (900), B12 (700), B17 (700), B20 (800), B28b (700), B28a (700), B38 (TDD 2600), B40 (TDD 2300), B41 (TDD 2500)
Bluetooth : Bluetooth 5.0 LE
Volte : Yes
NFC : No
Number measurements : 896
Average signal (reference) : -91.23
Average signal (telephone) : -96.005
Average deviation reference/telephone : -4.775
Min/Max signal (reference) : -88 / - 99
Min/Max signal (phone) : -96 / -99
Choose your country to check if your phone is compatible:


The frequencies displayed below will allow you to see if this phone is compatible with your operator or if you will be able to use it in the country where you are going on vacation.


Signal 4G (before december 2020)[b]The ability to pick up the network correctly is an essential element for a phone but it is only very rarely measured. To measure a phone's ability to pick up the network, I perform a large number of measurements on the same cells to be able to compare phones under similar conditions. The signal is measured in dBm, a value of -90dBm indicates a worse signal than -70dBm. These measurements are therefore taken under real conditions and not in a laboratory, they are not scientific but give a good indication of performance. [b][b]Network signal sensitivity rating
Phone tested:Average signal (dBm)Number of measurements:
Xiaomi Mi 9t Pro-881600
Xiaomi Redmi Note 5-91.305600
Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite-93788
Samsung Galaxy A70-94.5111975
Nokia 5.3-94.98531
Realme 6-95.142301
Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro-95.9221599
Xiaomi Mi A3-95.951000
Huawei Y6 2019-95.951199
Doogee S58 Pro-96.22856
Redmi 9a-96.481000
Meizu Note 9-96.68937
Motorola G8 Power-96.881032
Xiaomi Redmi Note 7-97.011430
Redmi 9c-97.041000
Umidigi S3 Pro-97.131200
Xiaomi Redmi Note 8-97.34879
Samsung Galaxy A21s-97.781000
Umidigi F1-97.82298
Ulefone Armor 7e-98.71000
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite-991000
Honor 9x-99.14899
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s-99.41860
Poco F2 Pro-99.81247
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9-100.791785
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g-100.881198
Poco X3-101.19821
Umidigi F2-101.47712
[b][b]Signal 4G (from December 2020)[b]I decided to change the methodology for measuring the network because I noticed that the configuration of the mobile network changes over time. This makes it more difficult to compare phones because the conditions are no longer exactly the same.[b][b]To overcome this problem, I set up a device that captures 24 hours a day about ten parameters from the mobile network (ex: cell id, rssi, rsrq, snr, frequency,...). I then place the phone next to the device for 24 to 48 hours taking the same measurements so that I can compare them. [b][b] Overview of the phones tested with this methodology[b][b]
Phone tested:MeasurementsAvg signal (reference)Avg signal (phone)Min/Max (reference)Min/Max (phone)
Samsung Galaxy S10+457-93.06-97.39-89 / -98-97 / -99
Xiaomi Mi 9t Pro669-93.69-95.84-90 / -95-92 / -98
Poco F2 Pro1438-91.02-94.99-89 / -94-94 / -96
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g1645-90.77-95.02- 88 / -98-95 / -100
Poco X3821-94.89-103.19-91 / -97.7-101 / -104
Umidigi Bison2343-92.71-96.46-90 / -99-94 / -102
Oukitel C211101-92.04-94.99-90 / -97-92 / -95
Poco M31116-92.09-91.74-88 / -98-90 / -99
Xiaomi Mi 10t Pro1071-90.61-94.03-88 / -94-94 / -96
Umidigi A9 Pro981-90.40-94.01-88 / -95-93 / -95
Redmi Note 9t1201-92.149-91.71-90 / -97-91 / -97
Xiaomi Redmi Note 10999-92.35-93.99-88 / -97-92 / -98
Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro877-89.72-90.56- 88 / -92-89 / -95
Poco X3 Pro1876-91.45-92.91-90 / -94-90 / -96
Poco F31382-90.79-94.2-89 / -94-93 / -98
Oneplus Nord N100896-91.23-96.005-88 / - 99-96 / -99
Xiaomi Mi 11 Lite2875-91.36-91.49-87 / -96-90 / -96
Samsung Galaxy A521427-89.27-93.39-87 / -98-92 / -96
Doogee S96 Pro1259-94.2-91.21-90 / -102-88 / -95
Xiaomi Redmi Note 10s957-92.07-97.62-90 / -102-96 / -102
Poco M3 Pro1247-91.76-102.97-99 / -104-88 / -98
Realme Gt843-96.49-94.02-93 / -101- 92 / -96
F150 R20221002-92.4-105.1-90 / -97-98 / -110
Umidigi Bison Pro936-94.2-104.98-91 / -98-95 / -105
Redmi 102141-94.74-100.92-92 / -98-99 / -101
Tcl 10 Pro871-93.43-94.001-92 / -96-93 / -95
Poco M4 Pro570-93.71-96.78-91 / -98-95 / -99
[b][b]
I performed 896 4G signal measurements with the OnePlus Nord N100 and got an average signal of -96.005 dBm while my measuring device got an average signal of -91.23 dBm over the same period . The difference is significant and this places the OnePlus Nord in the low average of the ranking. This means that if you live in an area where the network coverage is not very good, this phone may have quality problems. I saw large fluctuations with my meter (especially at night), I guess the network operator made some changes which affected the signal performance.[b][b][b]Download/Upload speed[b]To test the download speed, I have identified some 4G cells offering good performance where I test all my devices several times to see what download and upload speed they can achieve.[b]Top 10 - speed ranking in download
1. Samsung Galaxy S20 D:351Mbps U: 20Mbps
2. Poco X3 D:232Mbps U: 55Mbps
3. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g D:223Mbps U: 52Mbps
4. Poco F2 Pro D:207Mbps U: 53Mbps
5. Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite D:153Mbps U: 68Mbps
6. Xiaomi Mi A3 D:150Mbps U: 60Mbps
7. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s D:150Mbps U: 60Mbps
8. Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite D:149Mbps U: 60Mbps
9. Samsung Galaxy A21s D:147Mbps U: 51Mbps
10. Huawei Y6 2019 D:145Mbps U: 61Mbps

Number of smartphones in the ranking:30
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:0/30

Note: the theoretical maximum speed of a telephone is often limited by the configuration of the mobile network and the congestion of the network at the time of the measurement. So maybe you could get a higher speed on another network
[b][b]

Wifi performance

To test a phone's ability to receive the network properly, I take measurements near my router and then remotely (and always at the same place). This gives me an average in dBm where a value of -90 dBm indicates poorer performance than a value at -30 dBm.[b]
Wifi frequencies : 802.11a , 802.11b , 802.11g , 802.11n , 802.11n 5GHz , 802.11ac
Download speed : 142
Signal / close : -15
Signal / distant : -67
Wifi signal[b]The OnePlus Nord N100 uses the same chipset for wifi as the Redmi Note 10 and Redmi Note 10 Pro, so the result of my measurements is very similar. I got -15 dBm near my router and -67 dBm at a distance, these are in the upper average of my measurements.[b][b]Top 10 - wifi sensitivity ranking
1. Poco F2 Pro -11dBm
2. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro -12dBm
3. Realme Gt -12dBm
4. Samsung Galaxy A21s -13dBm
5. Oneplus Nord N100 -15dBm
6. Poco X3 Pro -15dBm
7. Poco F3 -15dBm
8. Redmi Note 9t -15dBm
9. Samsung Galaxy A52 -17dBm
10. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10s -17dBm

Number of smartphones in the ranking:52
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:5/52

[b]Download/Upload speed[b]To test the speed in Wifi, I connect to my router in 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz (if available) and use the Ookla application to measure the speed.[b]Top 10 - wifi download speed ranking
1. Poco F3 398Mbps
2. Poco X3 Pro 389Mbps
3. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro 367Mbps
4. Samsung Galaxy S20 351Mbps
5. Poco F2 Pro 341Mbps
6. Redmi Note 9t 332Mbps
7. Realme Gt 330Mbps
8. Doogee S96 Pro 328Mbps
9. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10s 325Mbps
10. Poco M3 Pro 323Mbps

Number of smartphones in the ranking:51
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:41/51

Note: I have a 400Mbps line and a modem capable of delivering higher speed, but I can never be sure how much bandwidth is available when doing a test.
[b]

GPS performance

[b]To test the quality of the GPS signal I use the Offline Maps application and I make the same train trip in pedestrian mode. Why? In pedestrian mode, the GPS does not artificially correct the signal to stick to the road, it has no markings, so you can see the actual position. I then use an application to measure the accuracy of the signal. The GPS test reveals an accuracy level of 3 meters, which is an average score. I got this score in the open, so you have to add a few yards under a thick layer of branches. [b][b] I also checked the supported frequencies and I think the OnePuls Nord N100 is able to handle multiple frequencies as I see L1 and L5 for GPS, E1 and E5 for Galileo.[b][b]Top 10 - GPS accuracy ranking
1. Oukitel C21 1m
2. Redmi 9a 1m
3. Doogee S96 Pro 1m
4. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10s 1m
5. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 1m
6. Umidigi Bison Pro 1m
7. Redmi 10 1m
8. Poco M4 Pro 1m
9. Redmi 9c 2m
10. Umidigi Bison 2m

Number of smartphones in the ranking:28
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:0/28

Note: An accuracy of 3 meters or less can easily be corrected by a good GPS application. Phone performance also plays a role in how fast your display updates, so good accuracy could be compromised by too slow a display.
[b]

Battery range

Capacity : 5000
Fast charge : Yes
W max : 18
Range (100% brightness) : 808.00
Range (50% brightness) : 1278.00
Charging time : 663.00
Discharge speed (100%) : 0.12
Discharge score (100%) : 6.19
Discharge speed (50%) : 0.08
Discharge score (50%) : 3.91
Charging speed : 0.15
Charging score : 7.54
From March 2020, I replaced my subjective battery test with a technical test to better measure the real behaviour of the battery. Now I test the autonomy and charging time under absolutely identical conditions. I perform several measurements, so this test alone takes several days during which I cannot use the phone for anything else.

Battery life - methodology
To test the battery life, I measure the battery consumption every minute in strictly identical conditions to be able to compare phones and also to allow you to evaluate your phone in the same conditions. I rule out any influence of applications that could interfere with the measurement. The autonomy is not linear, the battery sometimes discharges much faster at the end. This is a frustrating phenomenon but with my measurements, you will know if you need to find a charger quickly.

Battery life
The battery of the OnePlus Nord N100 has a capacity of 5000 mAh and has discharged from 100% to 1% in 808.00 minutes with 100% brightness, it has discharged from 100% to 1% in 1278.00 minutes with 50% brightness. I obtain in this way an average discharge speed of 0.12% per minute with 100% luminosity and 0.08% per minute with 50% luminosity, the consumption is therefore 6.19 mA per minute with 100% luminosity and 3.91 with 50% luminosity. To be able to compare the efficiency of the phone and its influence on the battery, you have to compare the 6.19 (or 50%) score with that of other smartphones, the figure should be as low as possible.

Charging time - methodology
To test the charging time, I always use the same charger with the same cable. I measure the charging time minute by minute to see the evolution of the charge as well as the charging speed. The charging speed of a battery is not linear, it is often faster at the beginning and slower at the end. The charger is compatible with fast charging.

Charging time
The battery of the OnePlus Nord N100 has a capacity of 5000 mAh and has been charged from 1% to 100% in 663.00 minutes. This gives me an average charging speed of 0.15% per minute and therefore an increase of 7.54 mA per minute. To compare the performance of the OnePlus Nord N100 compared to other phones, you should use the 7.54 per minute score, this score should be as high as possible.

Important note: the charging speed is not always linear, the graph below gives you an indication of the battery behaviour.

The following table lists the phones tested with the technical battery test, they are ranked in order of efficiency. A higher battery capacity should logically result in a higher battery life but it is not always the case and it does not give any indication of the efficiency of a phone.

SmartphoneCapacity (mAh)Battery life (minutes)Efficiency ScoreBattery life (minutes) / 50%Efficiency Score / 50%Charging time.Score charging
Oukitel C214000497.008.051324.003.02167.0023.95
Honor 9x4000770.005.191333.003.00151.0026.49
Nokia 5.34000549.007.291096.003.65199.0020.10
Samsung Galaxy S204000565.007.081217.003.29136.0029.41
Umidigi A9 Pro4150552.007.521562.002.66112.0037.05
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g4160749.005.551541.002.70163.0025.52
Realme 64300704.006.111104.003.89162.0026.54
Realme Gt4500574.007.841057.004.2687.0051.72
Samsung Galaxy A524500652.006.901239.003.63165.0027.27
Tcl 10 Pro4500465.009.68889.005.06133.0033.83
Poco F34520657.006.881840.002.46122.0037.05
Poco F2 Pro47001150.004.091536.003.06180.0026.11
Oneplus Nord N1005000808.006.191278.003.91663.007.54
Xiaomi Redmi Note 10s5000636.007.861556.003.21161.0031.06
Poco M3 Pro5000657.007.611647.003.04131.0038.17
Xiaomi Redmi Note 105000691.007.241728.002.89193.0025.91
Redmi Note 9t5000766.006.532054.002.43148.0033.78
Umidigi Bison Pro5000610.008.201632.003.06255.0019.61
Redmi 105000664.007.531684.002.97165.0030.30
Poco M4 Pro5000634.007.891600.003.13123.0040.65
Redmi 9a5000694.007.201902.002.63195.0025.64
Samsung Galaxy A21s5000729.006.861283.003.90166.0030.12
Motorola G8 Power5000912.005.482792.001.79311.0016.08
Redmi 9c5000656.007.621915.002.61170.0029.41
Umidigi Bison5000550.009.091471.003.40238.0021.01
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s5020663.007.571876.002.68224.0022.41
Xiaomi Redmi Note 95020650.007.721808.002.78162.0030.99
Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro5020625.008.031557.003.22213.0023.57
Umidigi F25150927.005.561854.002.78299.0017.22
Poco X35160653.007.901654.003.12181.0028.51
Poco X3 Pro5160648.007.961688.003.06138.0037.39
Doogee S58 Pro5180845.006.131908.002.71177.0029.27
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite5260827.006.361609.003.27208.0025.29
Ulefone Armor 7e5500768.007.161140.004.82179.0030.73
Poco M36000842.007.131898.003.16217.0027.65
Doogee S96 Pro6350929.006.841405.004.52424.0014.98
F150 R20228300879.009.441498.005.54243.0034.16

helpHow to read these figures?
The battery capacity is an important element in determining the autonomy of a phone but it is not the only factor. A phone with a large battery may have a shorter battery life if it consumes more power. If I had to take an example from everyday life, I would use the universe of the car. If a car has a large fuel tank, it should be able to drive a longer distance unless its average fuel consumption is higher. The battery efficiency score works the same way, it should be as low as possible and represents the energy consumption of the phone. These differences in efficiency are often related to the brightness of the screen, large bright screens will tend to consume more energy and even if they have a large battery, their range will be shorter.

In summary I was a little surprised with the results of the battery test, I thought I made a mistake somewhere, so I did it again a few times but got the same result. Each time I took more than 10 hours to fully charge the phone, I've never seen that. I first used my usual charger, I changed the cables, I used the charger that came in the box but I got about the same result each time. 10 hours to charge a phone is excessively long! [b][b] On the other hand, autonomy is average and I would even say that with the screen turned on at 100%, the OnePlus Nord N100 ranks rather well in the table. By going to 50% of brightness, the autonomy gain is not spectacular, you will not double the autonomy, the ideal level will undoubtedly be between 50 and 100%.[b]

Photo camera test

To test the quality of photos produced by a phone, I do a technical test (resolution, sharpness, chromatic aberration,...) in studio (identical conditions) to evaluate the technical part objectively. From the second half of 2020, I built my own laboratory to take completely objective technical measurements. I then take pictures in real conditions to see how the camera performs. I then evaluate these photos according to my criteria but I publish the photos so that you can evaluate the result according to your criteria.[b]

Hardware

Selfie / resolution : 8
Resolution : 13
mm wide angle : 3.462mm
I could not find the technical specifications of the photosensors used by the OnePlus Nord N100. I see that it is equipped with a 13 Mpix sensor at the back and a focal length of 3.462mm, I did not find other sensors among those I tested which have the same characteristics as this one . The front camera is an 8 Mpix sensor with a focal length of 2.749mm, here too I have not found other phones with this sensor.[b]Default app[b] As this is the first time I've tested a OnePlus, it's also a first for the default photo app. This application works according to the same principles as the default Android application with a simplification of the menus. The OnePlus Nord N100 is not a photo-oriented phone, so the options are limited. The photo mode however offers an HDR mode, a "vibrant colors" mode and filters.[b][b]

Photo quality

Photo test / studio[b]
OnePlus has not communicated information on the photo sensor used and the results obtained by these first photos do not give me any indication that could tell me which sensor it is. [b][b] Since there is only one photo sensor (excluding macro), photo mode only offers one zoom level. It is possible to associate the HDR and a mode to improve the colors but the photo application does not offer anything more. I took pictures with these different possibilities and I also took a picture in manual mode (the picture at the top of this paragraph). [b][b] As with many phones, the OnePlus Nord N100 does not expose photos enough when placed under artificial light, so photos in auto mode are all a bit underexposed . If I use pro mode to correct the exposure, the problem goes away, so it's a matter of tuning. With the photo in pro mode, I see that the sensor is able to take fairly sharp photos, the colors and saturation are good, I should have increased the color temperature a little because the rendering is a little too cold. [b][b] The main sensor of the OnePlus Nord N100 seems to produce photos of equivalent quality to what we find in this price range, the result is good but you have to see how the camera will behave outdoors in daylight. [b][b][b]Photo test / sunny[b]
I didn't really have any expectations from the OnePlus Nord N100 because it's an entry-level phone but I was pleasantly surprised. I took these photos on a cloudy day with alternating sun and shade. When the sun is shining, the OnePlus Nord N100 produces photos that are a bit underexposed but this problem can be corrected by using HDR mode in automatic mode. So you get better-exposed photos without effort. The color saturation is quite good, when HDR is used the sky is very blue and the vegetation offers a nice color palette. The sharpness is correct but I can see a lot of chromatic aberration at the temples, this can only be seen by zooming in the photo. [b][b] In this price range most phones produce average quality photos, so does this phone but I expected worse so in the end I'm pretty happy. The main flaw of the sensor is its inability to find the right exposure, so there are many gray areas that can be mitigated by HDR. [b][b]Photo test / cloudy[b]Not yet available / tested[b][b][b]Test photo / night[b]Not yet available / tested[b][b][b]

Video quality

Stabilisation[b] The OnePlus Nord N100 does not offer video stabilization, even at 1080p, so the shocks are clearly visible in the video. I have yet to test an entry-level phone capable of stabilizing video, so this is not an abnormal result.[b]Video normale conditions Videos produced by this phone suffer from the same underexposure issue as photos with the main sensor but here there is no HDR to correct the problem. This video was taken in the sun, yet it is too dark. [b][b] Focusing is fast but you can see the jumps in exposure when I go from a dark area to a bright area. The zoom is convenient but the quality degrades quickly because the phone is limited to 1080p.[b]Video low light[b]Not yet available / tested[b][b]

Audio quality

To test the quality of the phone's audio output, I connect the device's audio output to a measuring tool, then play sounds on all frequencies and measure the differences between the original sound and the sound produced by the phone. In this way I measure the phone's ability to correctly reproduce all sounds.[b]
Frequency Respons : +2.1 / -1.66
Noise Level : -95.5
Dynamic Range : 95.1
THD : 1.9666
Intermodulation : 1.1173
Stereo crosstalk : -91.8
Frequency Response[b]This test is intended to test the device's ability to correctly reproduce all frequencies. The white line in the middle of the graph is the ideal situation and the other colors come from tests on different phones. A deviation from the reference line indicates a deviation from the ideal situation. To see good sound at all frequencies, it is therefore necessary to get as close as possible to the reference line.
I test all the phones with the volume at maximum and this OnePlus Nord N100 produces a particularly powerful sound but at maximum volume the sound undergoes a strong distortion which is very visible on this graph. The OnePlus deviates from all frequencies and you have to lower the sound significantly enough to fall back to a normal level of distortion.[b]Dynamic Range[b]This test is designed to test a phone's ability to play sounds at different volume levels. Here too, the phones must be as close as possible to the reference.
I compared the OnePlus with the Redmi Note 10 which is in the same price range and it is clear that the OnePlus produces more powerful sound across all frequencies.[b]Noise Level[b]This test aims to identify if the device under test is able to reproduce sounds without too much noise. A high score indicates a low parasite rate, a lower score indicates a higher presence of parasites.
I did not notice any noise interference problem with the OnePlus, the result for this test is good.[b]Concert recording[b]The purpose of this test is to measure the recording quality of the phone when there is a lot of ambient noise. Since I don't have the opportunity to go to a concert every time I test a phone, I simulate the noise of a concert in a closed environment.Not yet available / tested[b][b]

Screen quality

To test the screen, I use a colorimetric probe that measures the color accuracy of a screen, as well as other parameters to see if a screen is able to correctly reproduce an image. I also test the brightness level to determine if the screen will be able to display an image in full sunlight.[b]
Screen size : 6.52
Resolution : 720 x 1440
Ratio : 20:9
Type : LCD IPS
% occupancy : 90
dE white : 4.6
dE red : 4.3
dE green : 3.1
dE blue : 1.7
dE jaune : 2.1
dE cyan : 5.4
dE magenta : 2.6
White temperature : 6722
Contrast : 1630:1
Brightness : 378
Colorimetry[b]
I obtained a dE of 3.4 with my colorimetric probe, it is a good score which shows that the screen is able to reproduce the colors without too many deviations. The competition is doing much better, however, the Redmi Note 10 scores much better and uses an Amoled screen that offers infinite contrast. The OnePlus isn't bad, it's the Redmi that outperforms all phones at the moment. [b][b][b][b]Top 10 - ranking of the best screens by colorimetry
1. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g dE = 0.73
2. Xiaomi Mi 10t Pro dE = 0.83
3. Realme Gt dE = 1.17
4. Xiaomi Mi 11 Lite dE = 1.19
5. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 dE = 1.2
6. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 dE = 1.23
7. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro dE = 1.31
8. Samsung Galaxy S20 dE = 1.4
9. Poco M3 dE = 1.4
10. Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite dE = 1.46

Number of smartphones in the ranking:52
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:29/52

Note: the colorimetric difference is measured in dE. After three, the human eye will perceive a colorimetric difference, so the dE should be the lowest. The tests were all carried out with a colorimetric probe.
[b]Brightness / Contrast[b]I measured a brightness of 378 cd / m² with my probe and despite the presence of a light sensor, I was unable to push the brightness to a higher level. On a daily basis you can use this phone in almost all conditions but under strong light you may not be able to read the screen. [b][b] I measured a contrast of 1630: 1, which is pretty good for an IPS screen but not enough compared to the Amoled screens offered by the competition.[b]Light Absorption/Reflection[b]The smartphone screen reflect light and sometimes turn them into a real mirror. This mirror effect makes it harder to read. [b][b]The absorption index below indicates the percentage of light absorbed by the screen. The readability of a screen is better when the absorption index is high.[b][b]
Phone tested:% light absorption
Samsung Galaxy S10+58
Xiaomi Mi 9T Pro52
Honor 9x65
Redmi Note 9s55
Motorola G8 Power60
Realme 654
Umidigi F248
Poco F2 Pro52
Redmi Note 956
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite53
Samsung Galaxy S2047
Samsung Galaxy A21s53
The phones tested have an average absroption rate of54 %

Biometry

Not yet available / tested[b][b]

Operating system

[b]Not yet available / tested[b][b]

Encoutered bugs

Not yet available / tested[b][b]

Accessories OnePlus Nord N100

To better enjoy your experience with your smartphone, I offer links to all kinds of accessories that you might find useful

Protective cover / case oneplus nord n100
Screen protection film oneplus nord n100
Memory card oneplus nord n100
USB Cable / Charger oneplus nord n100
Headphones oneplus nord n100
Bike rack oneplus nord n100

Compare OnePlus Nord N100 with the others

I assigned a score of 1 to 10 for each test that determines the strengths and weaknesses of a product. I am using 0 for criteria that have not (yet) been tested. A score of 1 to 3 indicates poor performance (and yes, it does), a score of 4 to 6 indicates average performance, a score of 7 to 8 indicates good performance, and a score of 9 and 10 indicates exceptional performance. .
The score is calculated based on my measurements and when there are no measurements, it is a subjective opinion based on my experience.

The scores are not static, they change over time because the performance of new products changes and this must be taken into account.

OnePlus Nord N100
Finish quality7.56.00
Battery performance7.008.00
CPU performance5.006.5
GPU performance5.006.5
Screen quality6.007.00
Photo quality6.005.00
Video quality6.005.00
Wi-Fi performance6.007.00
Mobile download speed6.005.00
Mobile network sensitivity6.006.00
Frequency coverage7.007.00
Audio quality6.006.00
GPS performance7.006.00
Operating system8.008.00
Overall score88.589
Global ranking
1. Realme Gt 112.5 / 140
2. Poco F2 Pro 111.5 / 140
3. Poco F3 111.5 / 140
4. Samsung Galaxy S20 111 / 140
5. Poco X3 Pro 107.5 / 140
6. Samsung Galaxy S10+ 107 / 140
7. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro 106.5 / 140
8. Xiaomi Mi 9t Pro 106 / 140
9. Samsung Galaxy A52 104 / 140
10. Tcl 10 Pro 104 / 140
11. Xiaomi Mi 11 Lite 104 / 140
12. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10s 102 / 140
13. Poco M4 Pro 101.5 / 140
14. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g 101 / 140
15. Poco X3 101 / 140
16. Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite 101 / 140
17. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 101 / 140
18. Redmi Note 9t 100.5 / 140
19. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro 100 / 140
20. Poco M3 Pro 98 / 140
21. Doogee S96 Pro 98 / 140
22. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s 98 / 140
23. Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite 98 / 140
24. Redmi 10 97.5 / 140
25. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 97 / 140
26. Umidigi Bison Pro 95 / 140
27. F150 R2022 95 / 140
28. Poco M3 94.5 / 140
29. Xiaomi Redmi Note 7 94 / 140
30. Realme 6 93 / 140
31. Umidigi A9 Pro 92 / 140
32. Umidigi Bison 92 / 140
33. Oukitel C21 89.5 / 140
34. Xiaomi Mi A3 89 / 140
35. Nokia 5.3 89 / 140
36. Motorola G8 Power 89 / 140
37. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 89 / 140
38. Oneplus Nord N100 88.5 / 140
39. Honor 9x 88 / 140
40. Meizu Note 9 86 / 140
41. Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite 86 / 140
42. Xiaomi Redmi Note 5 85 / 140
43. Umidigi S3 Pro 83 / 140
44. Samsung Galaxy A21s 82 / 140
45. Umidigi F2 82 / 140
46. Redmi 9a 81 / 140
47. Redmi 9c 80 / 140
48. Ulefone Armor 7e 80 / 140
49. Doogee S58 Pro 78.5 / 140
50. Honor 8x 78 / 140
51. Umidigi F1 77 / 140
52. Huawei Y6 2019 74 / 140
53. Xiaomi Mi 10t Pro 57 / 70
54. Xiaomi 11t 16 / 20
55. Google Pixel 5 15 / 20
56. Elephone U5 0 / 0

Test / Review conclusion

[b]In a universe where Xiaomo / Poco does not exist, this OnePlus Nord N100 could occupy an interesting place in the entry level. It's a beautiful phone, with a well-developed operating system, sufficient performance for everyday life and sufficient photo quality for the vast majority of entry-level phone buyers. Other than the huge battery charging time, I haven't found any major flaws with this phone. It is not very powerful and does not offer anything extraordinary but for this price there, it is rarely the case. [b][b] Unfortunately for OnePlus there is a strong competitor in this price range, Xiaomi recently launched the Redmi Note 10 which is sold at a similar price to this OnePlus. The Redmi Note 10 does better than the OnePuls in all areas, it can barely come up with some criteria as well. It is therefore not technical elements that will separate these two phones, it is rather emotional elements such as your subjective preference for one phone over another. As the OnePlus doesn't have any big flaws and if you don't have special requirements, it will certainly appeal to a large audience. [b][b] If you choose a phone in a purely rational way, I advise you instead to go for the Redmi Note 10 that I also tested.[b]Strengths[b]Finish level [b] Autonomy with screen at 100% [b] Operating system [b] Dual frequency in GPS [b] Compatible with many frequencies [b][b][b]Weaknesses[b]Average 4G network sensitivity [b] Very long battery charging time [b] Average performance (CPU, GPU and download) [b] in photo / video [b][b][b]Alternatives to this product[b][b]Not yet available / tested[b][b]
Subscribe
Subscribe to my YouTube channel to receive updates.

Comments

Join the discussion / Ask your questions

Your comment will be published after validation. I respond to over 1500 comments a year in my spare time, so I can't always respond very quickly. Your email address will not be publicly visible and it will not be used for commercial purposes.









Be notified by email when a response is published