Before leaving...

Thanks for your visite. If you like my work, you can support me with the following possibilities:
Subscribe to my YouTube channel
I post full test videos every month. By subscribing you will be notified of each new video, but the number of YouTube subscribers is important to obtain products to test.

Subscribe

Subscribe to my page on Facebook
I regularly post updates on Facebook, I also organize contests to win prizes. Here too, the number of fans is important to obtain material.

Subscribe

Use my links
I don't display ads on my site because I don't like it. My only source is from purchases you make from my links. I earn a meager commission on every purchase (about 2% on average), it costs you nothing and keeps me going. Here are some links to buy your products:

Amazon.com == Aliexpress == Banggood

x
On this page:
offer
Price Poco F4
Unpacking
First configuration
Finish
Specifications
CPU / GPU Performance
Benchmark Antutu/3DMark
Load test
Network performance
Wifi performance
GPS performance
Battery range
Photo camera test
Hardware
Photo quality
Video quality
External audio quality
Audio quality (headphones)
Screen quality
Biometry
Operating system
Test / Review conclusion
Questions answers

Notification new articles: YouTube Facebook

Poco F4 : test / review

Poco F4 : test / review
Category: Smartphones

I'm a regular on the F range at Poco, I started by buying the Poco F2 Pro and I really liked this phone (I still have it by the way), I then bought the Poco F3, the Poco F4 GT and now that the Poco F4 is out I couldn't not buy it. However, do not believe that I am a compulsive buyer who buys everything that comes out, no, my choices are based on purely pragmatic criteria and my satisfaction with previous models. I hope Poco has resisted the temptation to re-use components from their other phones by changing the bare minimum to justify launching a new model.

offer

Get a 50€ discount in the presale phase at Goboo: Poco F4 / -50€ [b] After the phase presale, Goboo will undoubtedly remain the cheapest store. I bought mine from them.[b][b][b]linkManufacturer web site: https://po.co[b]linkSite where I have bought the Poco F4: https://s.zbanx.com/r/kFxgOquluKN1[b]

Structure of my tests

I test the phones according to a pre-established structure (see below) to provide you with as much information as possible. Unfortunately, this takes a long time. Some tests like network performance tests take several days and for photo tests I sometimes have to wait until the weather is suitable to take pictures in good conditions. I am therefore obliged to publish the tests step by step, so I invite you to come back if the test is not complete at the time of your visit.[b]
How are my tests different from others on the web?

- I usually buy the devices with my own money, so price is just as important as you are!
- I keep the devices for at least a few weeks (sometimes more) to see what they are worth in real conditions.
- I answer (when possible) your questions to help you decide before you buy
- no one pays me to do these reviews, so I'm completely neutral and independent...
- My pages are not filled with ads



Redmi 10: test / review
TCL 10 Pro: test / review / price
TCL 30 SE : test / review / price
Poco M4 Pro 4G : test / review
OnePlus Nord 2T test / review
Poco F4 : test / review
Poco X4 GT : test / review
Oukitel WP18: test and review
Poco F4 GT: test / full review
Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro test / review and price

Price Poco F4

The list below shows the prices for the Poco F4 from more than 50 sites around the world. If you are not satisfied with any price, you can subscribe to a price alert to be the first to be notified when the price drops.[b]
Xiaomi POCO F4 5G Versión Global 6.67" 120 Hz 64MP OIS 67W NFC Garantía 3 Años...
2022-08-18 14:21
349 EUR
Xiaomi Poco F4 128GB 6GB RAM (FACTORY UNLOCKED) 6.67" 64MP (Global)...
2022-08-18 14:02
351 EUR
Xiaomi POCO F4 5G 6GB Ram 128GB Rom Dual Sim - Black...
2022-08-18 14:02
352 EUR
Xiaomi POCO F4 5G 6GB Ram 128GB Rom Dual Sim - Green...
2022-08-18 14:02
358 EUR
Poco F4 5G - Smartphone da 6+128 GB, Nebula Green (Versione ES + 3 anni di garanzia) con Alexa Manos...
2022-08-19 01:04
370 EUR
Xiaomi Poco F4 5G Smartphone 6 + 128 Go, Nebula Green (Version ES + 3 Ans de Garantie) avec Alexa...
2022-08-19 01:03
376 EUR
[b]
helpThe above links are affiliate links from companies such as Amazon, Gearbest, Aliexpress,... If you appreciate my work, I would be grateful if you could purchase these products through these links. It costs you absolutely nothing but I get a small commission that allows me to buy the material I test. Thank you very much!

Timeline

June 27, 2022: purchase of the Poco F4 in presale on Goboo [b] June 28, 2022: the package is already on the way [b][b]

Why this phone?

Poco brand phones had a very particular design until the previous generation but it seems that Poco wanted to appeal to a wider audience by making its new range more neutral. The Poco F4 is no exception to the rule and apart from the circular photo block (like on the Poco F2 Pro), the phone looks like any other phone today. Too bad but luckily I don't buy phones for their outward appearance. What are the interesting elements of this new model? [b] - the phone should be very performance with a combination of Snapdragon 870 for the CPU and an Adreno 650 for the GPU [b] - UFS 3.1 (already present in the F3) for memory access very fast [b] - LPDDR5 memory (always for fast memory) [b] - liquid cooling [b] - photo sensor with OIS [b] - dual frequency GPS [b] - 67W fast charge [b] - dolby atmos sound [b] ...etc... [b] This phone will not bring a revolution but it takes everything we are right to expect on the top of the range with a price lower than the competition. It's a bit like Redmi's niche with added performance.[b]

Unpacking

Poco may still be looking for a little more on the design of their phones, but in terms of the boxes, it's good, I think they found what they were looking for. Poco boxes haven't changed in a long time and the use of yellow and black is very brand specific. The box contains the phone, a 67W charger, a USB-C cable, transparent silicone protection, a needle to open the sim drawer and a manual. I was pleasantly surprised to see that Poco had also added a USB to Jack adapter since the phone does not have a Jack output. [b]
Length : 163.2
Width : 75.9
Thickness : 7.7
Weight : 195
Jack output : No
USB Type : Type C
Infrared port : Yes

First configuration

The Poco F4 is released with MIUI 13 and therefore follows the same process for initial setup as other phones running the same operating system. I noticed some small changes in the screens with in particular more possibilities for search engines but the change that annoys me the most is the recovery of data from the previous phone. The default method is cable transfer, I don't understand this choice, it makes no sense with the Google environment where everything is saved in the cloud. Those who keep everything local without synchronization are a minority, it's obviously their right to do that but I don't understand Poco's choice. [b][b] I also increasingly feel the presence of Google's additional services. There is of course the assistant which could be switched to one screen, there are now two screens. There is also Google Pay and at each opportunity, Google will slip into the configuration. It's not good or bad, it's just an observation. [b][b][b]

Finish

The F range from Poco indicates that this phone belongs to the high end. Even if the top of the Poco range is not yet comparable to the top of the Apple or Samsung range, this phone has a very good level of finish, especially for this price range.
The screen occupies 86% of the front surface, the borders at the top are quite thin, they are thicker at the bottom of the phone. The screen is only interrupted by a small selfie sensor located at the top and in the middle of the screen.
On the lower part of the phone, there is a USB C port, a sound sensor, one of the two external speakers and the sim drawer which can hold two sim cards or a sim card in combination with a card memory. The sim drawer is of the double-sided type.
At the top we find an infrared emitter, a sound sensor and the other external speaker. The speakers are not placed in the same place on each side of the phone and with this kind of configuration I often tend to block the output of one of the two speakers depending on the position of my hands because a priori my hands are positioned the same on both sides.
The back is uniform with a reflective surface like glass but I think the phone as a whole is made up of plastic, the same is the case with the bezel.
Poco has tested many possibilities for integrating photo sensors on the back of the phone, I saw large horizontal rectangular blocks, vertical blocks, squares, circles,... and the Poco F4 unites everything in one with a circle contained in a square which is integrated into a rectangle. Everything stands out a bit from the back of the phone, but I've seen much larger sensors on other Pocos or Xiaomi. [b][b] Poco's F range has always been a little wiser than the Poco X or M, this Poco F4 follows this trend with a very classic but nevertheless successful design. As I wrote above, the top of the Poco range is not comparable with the top of the Samsung range but it is still very correct for this price level.[b]

Specifications

[b]The information below comes from the Device Info HW application. The application provides detailed technical information about the tested phone. I tested the Poco F4 in its 6Gb / 128 Gb version and you will find all the technical characteristics in the screens below. [b][b] There are a few interesting elements in these specifications: [b] - UFS 3.1 flash memory: very fast memory access, this will ensure comfort in everyday use [b] - LPDDR5 memory type: good memory performance [b] - using QCA6390 wifi chip, I don't think I have tested this chip before [b] - Qualcomm aptX audio playback (amplification benefit ) [b] - screen frequency of 60 / 90 and 120 Hz [b] - extended screen color coverage [b] - "only" 4500 mAh battery where most of the phones have a 5000 mAh battery today [b][b][b][b]

CPU / GPU Performance

CPU : Qualcomm Snapdragon 870
GPU : Qualcomm AdreNo 650
Memory (RAM) : 6 - 8 Gb
Storage : 128 - 256 Gb
[b][b]The Poco F4 runs on a Qualcomm architecture and this therefore concerns the CPU, GPU, wifi, bluetooth, GPS and sound output. [b][b] It relies on a Snapdragon 870 for the CPU part, it's a high-end processor but it's not the most powerful at the moment, the Poco X4 GT does better in pure performance by being less expensive. We find this CPU in other phones such as the Motorola Edge 20 Pro, the ZTE Axon 41, the Black Shark 5 or the Xiaomi 12X. [b][b] For the graphics part, it is based on an Adreno 650 which should deliver good performance while remaining behind the GT range at Poco. Even if it's not the most powerful, this Adreno 650 could represent a good compromise between performance and cooling since the latest phones in the GT range that I tested tended to overheat quite quickly. [b][b] With this CPU/GPU combination, I don't directly see a game or an application that could put this phone in failure, everything will be in the details and a framerate can be lower.[b]

Benchmark Antutu/3DMark

I got a score of 572548 points with Antutu v8, that's about the same as with the Poco F3, so there's not really any progress on that side and that's normal because the Poco F3 used the same CPU/GPU. For a performance oriented brand this is a little disappointing but it won't impact day to day use, the Poco F4 is a performance phone and I'm sure a large majority of buyers of this kind of phone do not fully utilize the performance. [b][b]

Load test

To test the energy efficiency of a phone I push all its components to the limit for several minutes, first sequentially and then pushing all the way in at the same time. I observe the real computing power, the ability to keep the phone at a good temperature, the battery consumption. This kind of test also allows you to see if the phone is able to exploit all its power when everything is running at the same time because even if the CPU and the GPU are powerful, when they work together they may not give 100% of their performance. [b][b] The Poco F4 has a less power-hungry but also less efficient CPU than the Poco X4 GT. I have an average consumption of 6.57W for the Poco F4 CPU against 7.2W on the Poco X4 GT but with 26% less performance. The gain in energy is lower than the loss in performance. For the GPU part on the other hand, the performance between the two phones is quite similar but here it is the Poco F4 which consumes more energy. I don't have many phones with this type of test yet but for now the Poco F4 ranks 3rd in power efficiency behind the Poco X4 GT and the Redmi Note 11 Pro+. [b][b] During the duration of the test, the battery rose to 41°C at the end of the test and I obtained an average of 32.9°C, this is an average result which shouldn't bother you if you play with this phone for a long time. [b][b][b]
Antutu score : 572548
Antutu CPU : 159650
Antutu GPU : 239922
Antutu UX : 90810
Antutu Mem : 82166
[b]Top 10 - performance ranking based on Antutu
1. Poco F4 Gt - 853016
2. Realme Gt - 811858
3. Black Shark 4 Pro - 759986
4. Poco X4 Gt - 714577
5. Oppo Find X2 Pro - 605184
6. Oneplus 8t - 595000
7. Poco F3 - 589677
8. Xiaomi Mi 10t Pro - 581650
9. Oneplus 8 Pro - 579417
10. Xiaomi Mi 10 - 579114

Number of smartphones in the ranking:146
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:11/146

Note: this ranking only contains the phones I tested as well as a few others that I added for reference.
[b]Gaming[b]To test the performance in game, I download the mobile PUBG game and evaluate the in-game experience, graphics level and depth of vision. This game is quite demanding and should help you evaluating the performance of a phone. As I wrote in the performance review, this phone may not be the best but it is good enough to perform well in game with PUBG Mobile. I got a frame rate of around 40 fps with the textures in HD and the few slowdowns I encountered came from network lag.[b][b][b]

Network performance

The Poco F4 offers very wide frequency coverage in 3G, 4G and 5G. So you should be able to use it anywhere in Europe.[b]
3G frequencies : B1 (2100), B2 (1900), B4 (1700/2100 AWS A-F), B5 (850), B6 (800), B8 (900), B19 (800)
4G frequencies : B1 (2100), B2 (1900), B3 (1800), B4 (1700/2100 AWS 1), B5 (850), B7 (2600), B8 (900), B12 (700), B17 (700), B18 (800), B19 (800), B20 (800), B26 (850), B28b (700), B28a (700), B38 (TDD 2600), B40 (TDD 2300), B41 (TDD 2500)
5G frequencies : n1 (2100), n3 (1800), n5 (850), n7 (2600), n8 (900), n20 (800), n28b (700), n28a (700), n38 (2600), n40 (2300), n41 (2500), n77 (3700), n78 (3500)
Volte : Yes
VoWifi : Yes
NFC : Yes
Number measurements : 524
Average signal (reference) : -95.78
Average signal (telephone) : -95.04
Average deviation reference/telephone : 0.74
Min/Max signal (reference) : -93 / -99
Min/Max signal (phone) : -94/-96
Choose your country to check if your phone is compatible:


The frequencies displayed below will allow you to see if this phone is compatible with your operator or if you will be able to use it in the country where you are going on vacation.


Signal 4G (from December 2020)[b]I decided to change the methodology for measuring the network because I noticed that the configuration of the mobile network changes over time. This makes it more difficult to compare phones because the conditions are no longer exactly the same.[b][b]To overcome this problem, I set up a device that captures 24 hours a day about ten parameters from the mobile network (ex: cell id, rssi, rsrq, snr, frequency,...). I then place the phone next to the device for 24 to 48 hours taking the same measurements so that I can compare them. [b][b] Overview of the phones tested with this methodology[b][b]
Phone tested:MeasurementsAvg signal (reference)Avg signal (phone)Min/Max (reference)Min/Max (phone)
Samsung Galaxy S10+457-93.06-97.39-89 / -98-97 / -99
Xiaomi Mi 9t Pro669-93.69-95.84-90 / -95-92 / -98
Poco F2 Pro1438-91.02-94.99-89 / -94-94 / -96
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g1645-90.77-95.02- 88 / -98-95 / -100
Poco X3821-94.89-103.19-91 / -97.7-101 / -104
Umidigi Bison2343-92.71-96.46-90 / -99-94 / -102
Oukitel C211101-92.04-94.99-90 / -97-92 / -95
Poco M31116-92.09-91.74-88 / -98-90 / -99
Xiaomi Mi 10t Pro1071-90.61-94.03-88 / -94-94 / -96
Umidigi A9 Pro981-90.40-94.01-88 / -95-93 / -95
Redmi Note 9t1201-92.149-91.71-90 / -97-91 / -97
Xiaomi Redmi Note 10999-92.35-93.99-88 / -97-92 / -98
Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro877-89.72-90.56- 88 / -92-89 / -95
Poco X3 Pro1876-91.45-92.91-90 / -94-90 / -96
Poco F31382-90.79-94.2-89 / -94-93 / -98
Oneplus Nord N100896-91.23-96.005-88 / - 99-96 / -99
Xiaomi Mi 11 Lite2875-91.36-91.49-87 / -96-90 / -96
Samsung Galaxy A521427-89.27-93.39-87 / -98-92 / -96
Doogee S96 Pro1259-94.2-91.21-90 / -102-88 / -95
Xiaomi Redmi Note 10s957-92.07-97.62-90 / -102-96 / -102
Poco M3 Pro1247-91.76-102.97-99 / -104-88 / -98
Realme Gt843-96.49-94.02-93 / -101- 92 / -96
F150 R20221002-92.4-105.1-90 / -97-98 / -110
Umidigi Bison Pro936-94.2-104.98-91 / -98-95 / -105
Redmi 102141-94.74-100.92-92 / -98-99 / -101
Tcl 10 Pro871-93.43-94.001-92 / -96-93 / -95
Poco M4 Pro570-93.71-96.78-91 / -98-95 / -99
Google Pixel 51444-91.02-97.02-90 / -94-97 / -101
Xiaomi 11t1576-92.305-92.003-90 / -96-92 / -93
Redmi Note 111223-92.5-91.32-92/-97-90 / -93
Black Shark 4 Pro2383-95.178-95.42-90 / -100-93 / -101
Redmi Note 11 Pro349-95.33-93-89 / -101-92 / -94
Poco M4 Pro 4g1202-90.85-88.95-87 / - 95-88 / -98
Tcl 30 Se567-92.11-92.85-88 / -98-99 / -93
Poco X4 Pro562-92.06-94.01-90 / -95-95 / -93
Redmi Note 11 Pro Plus 5g945-93.5-93.54-91 / -97-92 / -97
Poco F4 Gt832-95.02-93.09-90 / -99 -93 / -97
Oukitel Wp181351-95.94-92.92-91 / -97-92 / -97
Poco X4 Gt387-96.99-96.505-96 / -98-95 / -98
Poco F4524-95.78-95.04-93 / -99-94/-96
Oneplus Nord 2t1340-98.83-96.305-95 / -102-90 / -99
[b][b]I performed 524 measurements to assess the quality of the 4G signal (I don't have 5G at home) and obtained an average score of -95.04 dBm with the Poco F4 and a score of -95.78 dBm with the probe , the difference is not very big and the Poco even does better than the reference. Beyond the good score, I notice that the signal is very stable throughout the duration of the measurements, the differences are so small that they are not visible on the graph. The deviations were not very high with the probe either but we can clearly see that the Poco is more stable.
[b][b][b]Download/Upload speed[b]To test the download speed, I have identified some 4G cells offering good performance where I test all my devices several times to see what download and upload speed they can achieve.[b]Top 10 - speed ranking in download
1. Samsung Galaxy S20 D:351Mbps U: 20Mbps
2. Poco X3 D:232Mbps U: 55Mbps
3. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g D:223Mbps U: 52Mbps
4. Poco F2 Pro D:207Mbps U: 53Mbps
5. Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite D:153Mbps U: 68Mbps
6. Xiaomi Mi A3 D:150Mbps U: 60Mbps
7. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s D:150Mbps U: 60Mbps
8. Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite D:149Mbps U: 60Mbps
9. Samsung Galaxy A21s D:147Mbps U: 51Mbps
10. Huawei Y6 2019 D:145Mbps U: 61Mbps

Number of smartphones in the ranking:30
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:0/30

Note: the theoretical maximum speed of a telephone is often limited by the configuration of the mobile network and the congestion of the network at the time of the measurement. So maybe you could get a higher speed on another network
[b][b]

Wifi performance

To test a phone's ability to receive the network properly, I take measurements near my router and then remotely (and always at the same place). This gives me an average in dBm where a value of -90 dBm indicates poorer performance than a value at -30 dBm.[b]
Wifi frequencies : 802.11a , 802.11b , 802.11g , 802.11n , 802.11n 5GHz , 802.11ac, WiFi 6 (802.11ax)
Download speed : 866
Signal / close : -26
Signal / distant : -62
Wifi signal[b]Since the Poco F4 runs on the same architecture as the Poco F3, I expected to get very similar results, but unfortunately that's not the case. I had obtained a very good signal near the router with the F3 but with the F4 the best signal I obtained was -25dBm against -16 with the F3. The signal stabilized around -30dbm which ranks this F4 in the low average of the ranking. I suspect that the position of the wifi antennas and the case of the phone play a role because by changing the orientation of the phone, the signal changed quite strongly. The distance test, on the other hand, is more conclusive with -60 dBm against -67 with the F3. [b][b] My measurements are always made under the same conditions, so this result is surprising and must necessarily be linked to the telephone. This signal deficit is not catastrophic but it is visible in my measurements. I would see if this lack of sensitivity is felt in use.[b][b]Top 10 - wifi sensitivity ranking
1. Poco F2 Pro -11dBm
2. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro -12dBm
3. Realme Gt -12dBm
4. Samsung Galaxy A21s -13dBm
5. Redmi Note 11 Pro -13dBm
6. Oneplus Nord N100 -15dBm
7. Poco X3 Pro -15dBm
8. Poco F3 -15dBm
9. Redmi Note 9t -15dBm
10. Black Shark 4 Pro -15dBm

Number of smartphones in the ranking:66
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:48/66

[b]Download/Upload speed[b]To test the speed in Wifi, I connect to my router in 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz (if available) and use the Ookla application to measure the speed.[b]Top 10 - wifi download speed ranking
1. Redmi Note 11 Pro Plus 5g 866Mbps
2. Poco F4 866Mbps
3. Poco F4 Gt 866Mbps
4. Poco X4 Gt 866Mbps
5. Oneplus Nord 2t 866Mbps
6. Black Shark 4 Pro 866Mbps
7. Poco M4 Pro 4g 433Mbps
8. Poco X4 Pro 433Mbps
9. Redmi Note 11 Pro 433Mbps
10. Poco F3 398Mbps

Number of smartphones in the ranking:64
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:2/64

Note: I have a 400Mbps line and a modem capable of delivering higher speed, but I can never be sure how much bandwidth is available when doing a test.
[b]

GPS performance

[b]To test the accuracy of the GPS signal, I use two positioning applications to evaluate the difference between the actual position and the position indicated by the phone. This test is done outdoors with nothing to obstruct the signal. An accuracy level of up to 3 meters can easily be corrected by an application (e.g. Google Maps).[b][b] Poco F4 is compatible with A-GPS, GLONASS, Beidou, QZSS, Galileo, GPS (L1+L5), GLONASS (L1), BeiDou (B1), Galileo (E1) networks +E5a), BeiDou (B2), NavIC System and QZSS (L1 + L5). The blanket is therefore very wide, it is one of the widest blankets I have tested so far. The signal quickly establishes itself to 3 meters accuracy with a large amount of satellites available. The Poco F4 is dual band, which means that it uses two frequencies on certain networks for better positioning. Even if the accuracy is 3m, your maps application will be able to position you in the right place fairly quickly.[b][b]Top 10 - GPS accuracy ranking
1. Oukitel C21 1m
2. Redmi 9a 1m
3. Doogee S96 Pro 1m
4. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10s 1m
5. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 1m
6. Umidigi Bison Pro 1m
7. Tcl 30 Se 1m
8. Redmi 10 1m
9. Poco M4 Pro 1m
10. Poco M4 Pro 4g 1m

Number of smartphones in the ranking:36
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:19/36

Note: An accuracy of 3 meters or less can easily be corrected by a good GPS application. Phone performance also plays a role in how fast your display updates, so good accuracy could be compromised by too slow a display.
[b]

Battery range

To test battery life I developed an application that measures the battery level minute by minute until the battery is empty. This application consumes about ten percent of the phone's resources and I do a test with 100 brightness. This test aims to reproduce a contemplative use of a phone (e.g. surfing the internet, reading articles, spending time on social networks). These results are not valid for intensive gaming/streaming use.
Capacity : 4500
Fast charge : Yes
W max : 67
Range (100% brightness) : 554.00
Range (50% brightness) : 1141
Charging time : 98
Discharge speed (100%) : 0.18
Discharge score (100%) : 8.12
Discharge speed (50%) : 0.09
Discharge score (50%) : 3.94
Charging speed : 1.02
Charging score : 45.92
From March 2020, I replaced my subjective battery test with a technical test to better measure the real behaviour of the battery. Now I test the autonomy and charging time under absolutely identical conditions. I perform several measurements, so this test alone takes several days during which I cannot use the phone for anything else.

Battery life - methodology
To test the battery life, I measure the battery consumption every minute in strictly identical conditions to be able to compare phones and also to allow you to evaluate your phone in the same conditions. I rule out any influence of applications that could interfere with the measurement. The autonomy is not linear, the battery sometimes discharges much faster at the end. This is a frustrating phenomenon but with my measurements, you will know if you need to find a charger quickly.

Battery life
The battery of the Poco F4 has a capacity of 4500 mAh and has discharged from 100% to 1% in 554.00 minutes with 100% brightness, it has discharged from 100% to 1% in 1141 minutes with 50% brightness. I obtain in this way an average discharge speed of 0.18% per minute with 100% luminosity and 0.09% per minute with 50% luminosity, the consumption is therefore 8.12 mA per minute with 100% luminosity and 3.94 with 50% luminosity. To be able to compare the efficiency of the phone and its influence on the battery, you have to compare the 8.12 (or 50%) score with that of other smartphones, the figure should be as low as possible.

Charging time - methodology
To test the charging time, I always use the same charger with the same cable. I measure the charging time minute by minute to see the evolution of the charge as well as the charging speed. The charging speed of a battery is not linear, it is often faster at the beginning and slower at the end. The charger is compatible with fast charging.

Charging time
The battery of the Poco F4 has a capacity of 4500 mAh and has been charged from 1% to 100% in 98 minutes. This gives me an average charging speed of 1.02% per minute and therefore an increase of 45.92 mA per minute. To compare the performance of the Poco F4 compared to other phones, you should use the 45.92 per minute score, this score should be as high as possible.

Important note: the charging speed is not always linear, the graph below gives you an indication of the battery behaviour.

The following table lists the phones tested with the technical battery test, they are ranked in order of efficiency. A higher battery capacity should logically result in a higher battery life but it is not always the case and it does not give any indication of the efficiency of a phone.

SmartphoneCapacity (mAh)Battery life (minutes)Efficiency ScoreBattery life (minutes) / 50%Efficiency Score / 50%Charging time.Score charging
Honor 9x4000770.005.191333.003.00151.0026.49
Samsung Galaxy S204000565.007.081217.003.29136.0029.41
Oukitel C214000497.008.051324.003.02167.0023.95
Nokia 5.34000549.007.291096.003.65199.0020.10
Google Pixel 54080773.005.281559.002.6281.0050.37
Umidigi A9 Pro4150552.007.521562.002.66112.0037.05
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g4160749.005.551541.002.70163.0025.52
Realme 64300704.006.111104.003.89162.0026.54
Realme Gt4500574.007.841057.004.2687.0051.72
Tcl 10 Pro4500465.009.68889.005.06133.0033.83
Samsung Galaxy A524500652.006.901239.003.63165.0027.27
Black Shark 4 Pro4500425.0010.59937.004.8029.00155.17
Redmi Note 11 Pro Plus 5g4500525.008.5712113.7224187.50
Poco F44500554.008.1211413.949845.92
Oneplus Nord 2t45006936.4914923.0212137.19
Poco F34520657.006.881840.002.46122.0037.05
Poco F2 Pro47001150.004.091536.003.06180.0026.11
Poco F4 Gt4700365.0012.8810824.3438123.68
Redmi 9c5000656.007.621915.002.61170.0029.41
Poco M4 Pro 4g5000723.006.921 500.003.3377.0064.94
Xiaomi Redmi Note 10s5000636.007.861556.003.21161.0031.06
Poco M3 Pro5000657.007.611647.003.04131.0038.17
Redmi 9a5000694.007.201902.002.63195.0025.64
Umidigi Bison Pro5000610.008.201632.003.06255.0019.61
Redmi 105000664.007.531684.002.97165.0030.30
Poco M4 Pro5000634.007.891600.003.13123.0040.65
Xiaomi 11t5000476.0010.501204.004.1597.0051.55
Oneplus Nord N1005000808.006.191278.003.91663.007.54
Xiaomi Redmi Note 105000691.007.241728.002.89193.0025.91
Tcl 30 Se50006507.691 225.004.0817229.07
Redmi Note 9t5000766.006.532054.002.43148.0033.78
Motorola G8 Power5000912.005.482792.001.79311.0016.08
Poco X4 Pro5000643.007.7813613.677467.57
Umidigi Bison5000550.009.091471.003.40238.0021.01
Samsung Galaxy A21s5000729.006.861283.003.90166.0030.12
Redmi Note 115000592.008.451 376.003.6369.0072.46
Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro5020625.008.031557.003.22213.0023.57
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s5020663.007.571876.002.68224.0022.41
Xiaomi Redmi Note 95020650.007.721808.002.78162.0030.99
Poco X4 Gt5080726.007.0015383.3011344.96
Umidigi F25150927.005.561854.002.78299.0017.22
Poco X3 Pro5160648.007.961688.003.06138.0037.39
Poco X35160653.007.901654.003.12181.0028.51
Doogee S58 Pro5180845.006.131908.002.71177.0029.27
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite5260827.006.361609.003.27208.0025.29
Ulefone Armor 7e5500768.007.161140.004.82179.0030.73
Poco M36000842.007.131898.003.16217.0027.65
Doogee S96 Pro6350929.006.841405.004.52424.0014.98
F150 R20228300879.009.441498.005.54243.0034.16
Oukitel Wp18125002 733.004.5728594.3736234.53

helpHow to read these figures?
The battery capacity is an important element in determining the autonomy of a phone but it is not the only factor. A phone with a large battery may have a shorter battery life if it consumes more power. If I had to take an example from everyday life, I would use the universe of the car. If a car has a large fuel tank, it should be able to drive a longer distance unless its average fuel consumption is higher. The battery efficiency score works the same way, it should be as low as possible and represents the energy consumption of the phone. These differences in efficiency are often related to the brightness of the screen, large bright screens will tend to consume more energy and even if they have a large battery, their range will be shorter.

In summary
I measured a charging time of 98 minutes with a UGREEN 100 watt charger, the charge should be able to be faster with the charger delivered with the phone but the graph is intended to show how the charge behaves and we see here that the charge slows down after 80% as it does on many phones but the speed loss is not as high as usual. It takes 16 minutes to get to 20% and the last 20 percent about 20 minutes. [b][b]
the screen at 50% leads to a battery life of 1141 minutes, while with the screen at 100% the battery life drops to 554 minutes, the screen consumption is therefore almost perfectly linear. I also measured the consumption of the screen in isolation and by changing the frequencies available. At 60hz, the screen consumes about 0.68w while at 120h the screen consumes 0.8W. You will therefore lose a little autonomy with the screen at 120hz but the difference is not very significant. [b][b] With normal use, you should last almost 2 days with a full battery, but with intensive use (ex: gaming), the autonomy will drop sharply. With my charging test that lasts about 8 minutes, I lost 5.25% battery. [b][b][b]

Photo camera test

To test the quality of photos produced by a phone, I do a technical test (resolution, sharpness, chromatic aberration,...) in studio (identical conditions) to evaluate the technical part objectively. From the second half of 2020, I built my own laboratory to take completely objective technical measurements. I then take pictures in real conditions to see how the camera performs. I then evaluate these photos according to my criteria but I publish the photos so that you can evaluate the result according to your criteria.[b]

Hardware

Selfie / resolution : 20
Selfie / sensor : Sony IMX596
Resolution : 64
Sensor : Omnivision OV64B40
The Poco F4's primary sensor is a 64MP Omnivision OV64B40 sensor. I've never tested this sensor in another phone and I admit to having some apprehension about Omnivision sensors because I haven't yet obtained very good results with this type of sensor. This sensor may be the first that will make me change my mind and I hope that will be the case because the F4 is supposed to represent the top of the range at Poco and installing an average quality sensor there is likely to affect commercial success of this phone. [b][b] For the ultra wide angle sensor, it is also an Omnivision sensor and there too I hope to be positively surprised. The selfie sensor is a Sony IMX 596, but here I have a rather positive view because Sony has been able to demonstrate its ability to produce good sensors on many occasions. The Poco F4 still has the latest macro sensor from GalacyCore, but you shouldn't expect much from this kind of sensor. [b][b][b]

Photo quality

Photo quality (indoor/studio)[b]The studio test is carried out under the same conditions so that the results can be compared on an equal basis. I calibrate my lighting for each test to obtain the same brightness and colour temperature. This test is a preliminary analysis of the technical qualities of a camera. Most phones fail this test, so you should also read the results of the other tests in the following paragraphs.[b][b] Main sensor: Omnivision OV64B40
To test this sensor, I directly took a photo in pro mode to see what it had inside and the result is interesting. With the correct shutter speed, the photo is correctly exposed (it's slightly underexposed in auto mode), the sharpness looks really good (look at the rubix cube texture), the colors look correct to me as well. In automatic mode, the exposure is a little less good, but it's about the average of the photos I take in the studio. The colors are darker but it's related to the exposure, I don't see too much difference towards blue or yellow. This first studio test is encouraging. [b][b]
This photo confirms what I thought of the sharpness on the first image. The sharpness in the center is excellent, it deteriorates a little on the periphery but the level of sharpness remains good. The color rendition looks quite good as I'm photographing a non-reflective surface here, so the colors returned are darker and better contrasted. I'm curious to see how this sensor will fare in daylight. Secondary sensor: Omnivision ov8856
Ultra wide-angle sensors have almost all the same faults and this one is no exception. The exposure level is two or three notches below the photo taken with the main sensor, the distortion is significant but with objects seen up close it is normal, the sharpness does not seem very good because I cannot distinguish the rubix cube texture. I also see noise appearing everywhere and chromatic aberrations. This sensor will therefore probably not shine outdoors either because its technical qualities are not of a very high level. [b][b]
This second photo confirms my first verdict, the sharpness is bad, even in the center. I can barely read the text of the Canadian note and on the periphery it's even worse. I see a lot of noise here and the outlines of the image look like a mush of pixels. I have little hope that this sensor can produce good results outdoors. [b][b][b][b]Photo: technical test[b]I was inspired by industrial technical tests to create my own technical test to evaluate the technical quality of a camera. This test is an objective assessment of a camera's ability to render a scene correctly. [b][b]I test the following elements:[b]- centre sharpness, peripheral sharpness[b]- colour fidelity based on 24 reference colours[b]- level of chromatic aberration[b]- dynamic range (ability to capture dark and light areas without loss)[b]- distortion[b][b]The technical evaluation may differ from the subjective evaluation as the feeling of a photo will be influenced by the processing provided by each manufacturer.[b][b] Main sensor: Omnivision OV64B40
To test this sensor, I directly took a photo in pro mode to see what it had inside and the result is interesting. With the correct shutter speed, the photo is correctly exposed (it's slightly underexposed in auto mode), the sharpness looks really good (look at the rubix cube texture), the colors look correct to me as well. In automatic mode, the exposure is a little less good, but it's about the average of the photos I take in the studio. The colors are darker but it's related to the exposure, I don't see too much difference towards blue or yellow. This first studio test is encouraging. [b][b]
This photo confirms what I thought of the sharpness on the first image. The sharpness in the center is excellent, it deteriorates a little on the periphery but the level of sharpness remains good. The color rendition looks quite good as I'm photographing a non-reflective surface here, so the colors returned are darker and better contrasted. I'm curious to see how this sensor will fare in daylight. Secondary sensor: Omnivision ov8856
Ultra wide-angle sensors have almost all the same faults and this one is no exception. The exposure level is two or three notches below the photo taken with the main sensor, the distortion is significant but with objects seen up close it is normal, the sharpness does not seem very good because I cannot distinguish the rubix cube texture. I also see noise appearing everywhere and chromatic aberrations. This sensor will therefore probably not shine outdoors either because its technical qualities are not of a very high level. [b][b]
This second photo confirms my first verdict, the sharpness is bad, even in the center. I can barely read the text of the Canadian note and on the periphery it's even worse. I see a lot of noise here and the outlines of the image look like a mush of pixels. I have little hope that this sensor can produce good results outdoors. [b][b][b][b]Outdoor photo quality[b]Not yet available / tested[b][b][b]Test photo / night[b]Not yet available / tested[b][b][b]

Video quality

Stabilisation[b]Not yet available / tested[b][b]Video normale conditionsNot yet available / tested[b][b]Video low light[b]Not yet available / tested[b][b]

External audio quality

[b]This test is intended to give you an overview of the volume and sound quality during calls and when listening to music through the external speakers. [b][b] Audio/music test [b] The Poco F4 is capable of producing sound in Dolby Atmos and therefore can produce good quality sound . I measured a volume that exceeded 80 dB at times, it's a little above average. The highs are very marked (a bit too much I think), the low frequencies are well rendered but lack a bit of depth like on most speakers of this type. The sound is of comparable quality to other recently launched Pocos (X and F range) but does not reach the level of sound produced by the high-end Samsung. [b][b] Audio test / calls [b] To measure the volume in call, I made an error which is visible on the video, the sound was not at maximum and therefore the volume was too low. I realized this after uploading the video to YouTube. The sound level without speaker is good and the sound quality is good, the sound is quite soft and even if the high frequencies are a bit louder, the sound quality for calls is good.[b]

Audio quality (headphones)

To test the quality of the phone's audio output, I connect the device's audio output to a measuring tool, then play sounds on all frequencies and measure the differences between the original sound and the sound produced by the phone. In this way I measure the phone's ability to correctly reproduce all sounds.[b]
Frequency Respons : -2.13,-5.12
Noise Level : -90.6
Dynamic Range : 90.6
THD : 0.0062
Intermodulation : 0.00380
Stereo crosstalk : -6.8
I used the usb to jack adapter that came with this phone to test the sound quality through headphones. Overall the quality is good but I notice fairly marked differences on the high frequencies where the signal deviates from the standard by 2 to 5 db, the difference on the low frequencies is much less important. Some higher-pitched sounds will therefore be somewhat muffled by other frequencies. Only experienced users may be able to notice this. [b][b] The Poco F4 does not produce a very powerful sound through the headphones because I arrive at around 90 dB, it is below average and it is felt with the headphones because even with the sound at maximum, the volume is quite bearable. The advantage of a controlled volume is that the sound is not distorted. [b][b] I notice a small regression in sound fidelity for the latest Pocos I've tested but this shouldn't affect your choice unless you're a purist. The measurements I take are objective observations but that does not mean that the sound is degraded to the point that anyone can notice it.[b]

Screen quality

To test the screen, I use a colorimetric probe that measures the color accuracy of a screen, as well as other parameters to see if a screen is able to correctly reproduce an image. I also test the brightness level to determine if the screen will be able to display an image in full sunlight.[b]
Screen size : 6.67
Resolution : 1080 x 2400
Ratio : 20:9
Type : Amoled
% occupancy : 86
dE white : 3.6
dE red : 1.5
dE green : 1.1
dE blue : 1.1
dE jaune : 1.1
dE cyan : 1.4
dE magenta : 1.4
White temperature : 6373
Contrast : 1000000:1
Brightness : 700
Colorimetry[b]
The Poco F4 is equipped with a good quality AMOLED screen, but to take advantage of more realistic colorimetry, you must use the "normal" mode in the screen settings. With these parameters, I obtain a dE of 1.61. Separate color measurements are very good with an average around 1.5, it is white that deviates the most with a dE of 3.6 and a color temperature of 6400k (ideally 6500k is needed). This small gap is not really visible to the untrained eye.[b][b]Top 10 - ranking of the best screens by colorimetry
1. Poco X4 Gt dE = 0.6
2. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g dE = 0.73
3. Xiaomi Mi 10t Pro dE = 0.83
4. Redmi Note 11 dE = 0.91
5. Google Pixel 5 dE = 1.11
6. Realme Gt dE = 1.17
7. Xiaomi Mi 11 Lite dE = 1.19
8. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 dE = 1.2
9. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 dE = 1.23
10. Poco M4 Pro 4g dE = 1.31

Number of smartphones in the ranking:66
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:19/66

Note: the colorimetric difference is measured in dE. After three, the human eye will perceive a colorimetric difference, so the dE should be the lowest. The tests were all carried out with a colorimetric probe.
[b]Brightness / Contrast[b]In normal mode, I measured a brightness of 471 cd/m² and in adaptive mode I measured a brightness of 700 cd/m². With such brightness, you will be able to read your screen in the sun without having to seek shade. The surface of the screen is quite reflective though, so you'll likely need to angle the screen to avoid mirroring. [b][b] The contrast is infinite, the blacks are deep and do not turn gray like on IPS screens. [b][b] The screen is also Dolby Vision compatible, which means that if you watch a film encoded in Dolby Vision, you will benefit from a livelier image with less marked shadow areas such as with an HDR process. The 120hz frequency will also ensure visual comfort and movements on the screen will be more fluid. [b][b][b]

Biometry

The phone is equipped with a side fingerprint sensor (power button), this sensor works very well and its location is the same as on most phones. Facial recognition is done in 2D.[b]

Operating system

[b]The Poco F4 runs on MIUI 13, so the experience is exactly the same as on other Pocos/Xiaomi. MIUI is a modified version (a fork) of Android which is developed by Xiaomi, this operating system is very close to Android in its philosophy but has been enriched over time by Xiaomi. The main criticisms that can be addressed to it are the presence of a large number of unsolicited applications and the presence of advertisements. Applications can be stored in a drawer, they will not bore you. I must be lucky for the ads because I haven't seen any.[b]

Encoutered bugs

Not yet available / tested[b][b]

Accessories Poco F4

To better enjoy your experience with your smartphone, I offer links to all kinds of accessories that you might find useful

Protective cover / case poco f4
Screen protection film poco f4
Memory card poco f4
USB Cable / Charger poco f4
Headphones poco f4
Bike rack poco f4

Compare Poco F4 with the others

I assigned a score of 1 to 10 for each test that determines the strengths and weaknesses of a product. I am using 0 for criteria that have not (yet) been tested. A score of 1 to 3 indicates poor performance (and yes, it does), a score of 4 to 6 indicates average performance, a score of 7 to 8 indicates good performance, and a score of 9 and 10 indicates exceptional performance. .
The score is calculated based on my measurements and when there are no measurements, it is a subjective opinion based on my experience.

The scores are not static, they change over time because the performance of new products changes and this must be taken into account.

Poco F4
Finish quality7.56.00
CPU performance7.56.5
GPU performance7.56.5
Screen quality7.57.00
Wi-Fi performance7.007.00
Mobile network sensitivity8.006.00
Frequency coverage8.007.00
GPS performance7.56.00
Operating system8.008.00
Overall score68.589
Global ranking
1. Black Shark 4 Pro 114 / 140
2. Realme Gt 112.5 / 140
3. Oneplus Nord 2t 111.5 / 140
4. Poco F2 Pro 111.5 / 140
5. Samsung Galaxy S20 111 / 140
6. Poco F4 Gt 110.5 / 140
7. Google Pixel 5 109.6 / 140
8. Poco F3 108.5 / 140
9. Poco X4 Gt 108 / 140
10. Poco X3 Pro 107.5 / 140
11. Xiaomi 11t 107 / 140
12. Samsung Galaxy S10+ 107 / 140
13. Redmi Note 11 Pro Plus 5g 106.5 / 140
14. Xiaomi Mi 9t Pro 106 / 140
15. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro 105.5 / 140
16. Xiaomi Mi 11 Lite 104 / 140
17. Tcl 10 Pro 104 / 140
18. Samsung Galaxy A52 104 / 140
19. Redmi Note 11 Pro 103 / 140
20. Poco X4 Pro 102.5 / 140
21. Poco M4 Pro 4g 102 / 140
22. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10s 102 / 140
23. Poco M4 Pro 101.5 / 140
24. Redmi Note 11 101 / 140
25. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 101 / 140
26. Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite 101 / 140
27. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g 101 / 140
28. Poco X3 101 / 140
29. Redmi Note 9t 100.5 / 140
30. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro 100 / 140
31. Poco M3 Pro 98 / 140
32. Doogee S96 Pro 98 / 140
33. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s 98 / 140
34. Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite 98 / 140
35. Redmi 10 97.5 / 140
36. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 97 / 140
37. F150 R2022 95 / 140
38. Umidigi Bison Pro 95 / 140
39. Poco M3 94.5 / 140
40. Xiaomi Redmi Note 7 94 / 140
41. Realme 6 93 / 140
42. Umidigi A9 Pro 92 / 140
43. Umidigi Bison 92 / 140
44. Tcl 30 Se 92 / 140
45. Oukitel C21 89.5 / 140
46. Nokia 5.3 89 / 140
47. Xiaomi Mi A3 89 / 140
48. Motorola G8 Power 89 / 140
49. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 89 / 140
50. Oneplus Nord N100 88.5 / 140
51. Honor 9x 88 / 140
52. Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite 86 / 140
53. Meizu Note 9 86 / 140
54. Xiaomi Redmi Note 5 85 / 140
55. Umidigi S3 Pro 83 / 140
56. Samsung Galaxy A21s 82 / 140
57. Umidigi F2 82 / 140
58. Redmi 9a 81 / 140
59. Oukitel Wp18 81 / 140
60. Ulefone Armor 7e 80 / 140
61. Redmi 9c 80 / 140
62. Doogee S58 Pro 78.5 / 140
63. Honor 8x 78 / 140
64. Umidigi F1 77 / 140
65. Huawei Y6 2019 74 / 140
66. Poco F4 68.5 / 90
67. Xiaomi Mi 10t Pro 57 / 70
68. Elephone U5 0 / 0

Test / Review conclusion

[b]Not yet available / tested[b][b]Strengths[b]Not yet available / tested[b][b][b]Weaknesses[b]Not yet available / tested[b][b][b]Alternatives to this product[b][b]Not yet available / tested[b][b]

laurent willen Laurent Willen
Instead of watching nonsense on TV or YouTube, I spend my time in the evenings testing products and sharing my passion for technology, travel and photography.

I run this site in my own name and completely independently, no one pays me to do so.

I have more than 20 years of experience in the digital world, I have managed and developed many high traffic websites in companies in Belgium such as Mobistar, Microsoft, Immoweb, BrusselsAirlines, Proximus, Orange,...

Comments

Join the discussion / Ask your questions

Your comment will be published after validation. I respond to over 1500 comments a year in my spare time, so I can't always respond very quickly. Your email address will not be publicly visible and it will not be used for commercial purposes.









Be notified by email when a response is published