Before leaving...

Thanks for your visite. If you like my work, you can support me with the following possibilities:
Subscribe to my YouTube channel
I post full test videos every month. By subscribing you will be notified of each new video, but the number of YouTube subscribers is important to obtain products to test.

Subscribe

Subscribe to my page on Facebook
I regularly post updates on Facebook, I also organize contests to win prizes. Here too, the number of fans is important to obtain material.

Subscribe

Use my links
I don't display ads on my site because I don't like it. My only source is from purchases you make from my links. I earn a meager commission on every purchase (about 2% on average), it costs you nothing and keeps me going. Here are some links to buy your products:

Amazon.com == Aliexpress == Banggood

x
On this page:
offer
Price Poco M4 Pro 4G
Unpacking
First configuration
Finish
Specifications
CPU / GPU Performance
Benchmark Antutu/3DMark
Network performance
Wifi performance
GPS performance
Battery range
Photo camera test
Hardware
Photo quality
Video quality
External audio quality
Audio quality (headphones)
Screen quality
Biometry
Operating system
Test / Review conclusion
Questions answers

Notification new articles: YouTube Facebook

Poco M4 Pro 4G : test / review

Poco M4 Pro 4G : test / review (+ promo code)
Category: Smartphones

Poco continues to conquer the world by launching many new phone models each year and despite the opulence of the offer, I find that the Poco range has so far been quite simple with its M, X or F range with each times a pro variant. I tested the Poco M4 5G at the end of 2021 and I knew that a new device from the M range was in the works, I thought it was the Poco M5 but no, it is actually the Poco M4 Pro 4G. A priori, one could wonder if it is not the same phone with just 4G but no, it is a completely different phone. [b][b] This Poco M4 Pro in 4G version differs from the 5G version on several levels, it starts with its appearance and goes up to a choice of completely different technical components. Rather than comparing it to the Poco M4 Pro 5G, it should rather be compared with the Redmi Note 11 Pro which uses a common base with this new Poco. Complicated? I will try to shed some light on this new version to help you choose between the 4G version and the 5G version. [b][b]

offer

For the launch of the Poco M4 Pro 4G, take advantage of a temporary reduction of €20 which will reduce the price from €199 to 179€. To take advantage of it: Poco M4 Pro 4G 179€ [b][b][b]linkManufacturer web site: https://www.po.co/global/[b]linkSite where I have bought the Poco M4 Pro 4G: Not yet available / tested[b][b]

Structure of my tests

I test the phones according to a pre-established structure (see below) to provide you with as much information as possible. Unfortunately, this takes a long time. Some tests like network performance tests take several days and for photo tests I sometimes have to wait until the weather is suitable to take pictures in good conditions. I am therefore obliged to publish the tests step by step, so I invite you to come back if the test is not complete at the time of your visit.[b]
How are my tests different from others on the web?

- I usually buy the devices with my own money, so price is just as important as you are!
- I keep the devices for at least a few weeks (sometimes more) to see what they are worth in real conditions.
- I answer (when possible) your questions to help you decide before you buy
- no one pays me to do these reviews, so I'm completely neutral and independent...
- My pages are not filled with ads



Redmi 10A: test and review
Redmi 10: test / review
TCL 10 Pro: test / review / price
TCL 30 SE : test / review / price
Poco M4 Pro 4G : test / review
OnePlus Nord 2T test / review
Poco F4 : test / review
Poco X4 GT : test / review
Oukitel WP18: test and review
Poco F4 GT: test / full review

Price Poco M4 Pro 4G

The list below shows the prices for the Poco M4 Pro 4G from more than 50 sites around the world. If you are not satisfied with any price, you can subscribe to a price alert to be the first to be notified when the price drops.[b]
POCO M4 Pro - 128GB - 6GB - 5000mah - Power Black (Unlocked) (Dual SIM) NEW...
2022-09-23 06:19
155 EUR
Poco M4 PRO 5G 64GB 4GB RAM Factory Unlocked (GSM Only | No CDMA - not Compatible with Verizon/Sprin...
2022-09-24 20:40
165 EUR
Android Phone, Blackview A95, 8GB+128GB, 4G Dual SIM Unlocked Cell Phones, Android 11 Unlocked Smart...
2022-09-24 13:02
175 EUR
global version poco m4 pro 5g smartphone 64gb/128gb rom mtk dimensity 810 90hz 6.6" dotdisplay 50mp ...
2022-09-24 14:13
178 EUR
POCO M4 Pro - Smartphone 5G, 4GB RAM 64GB ROM, 6nm MediaTek Dimensity 810, 90Hz 6.6'' FHD+ Dot Displ...
2022-09-24 18:56
190 EUR
POCO M5 - Smartphone 4+64GB, écran 6.58" 90Hz FullHD+, MediaTek Helio G99, Triple caméra 50MP, 500...
2022-09-24 20:14
190 EUR
[b]
helpThe above links are affiliate links from companies such as Amazon, Gearbest, Aliexpress,... If you appreciate my work, I would be grateful if you could purchase these products through these links. It costs you absolutely nothing but I get a small commission that allows me to buy the material I test. Thank you very much!

Timeline

February 14, 2022: after some setbacks with customs, I finally receive the Poco M4 Pro 4G, the test can finally start [b] February 28, 2022: marketing date of the new Poco. [b][b]

Why this phone?

Despite the growing number of models at Poco, I have managed to test all the Pocos released since 2020 and have never been disappointed so far. Some models are obviously more interesting than others, but Poco has managed to establish itself as the champion of the price/performance relationship without depriving itself of an audience who just wants a good phone. The gamer format has faded a bit over time. The M range represents the entry level at Poco but the M Pro range has evolved so much in two generations that we can hardly consider these models as entry-level models, especially if we compare them with the competition. [b][b] The Poco M4 4G brings a number of improvements over the 5G version, yet it's usually the opposite. It's not on the performance side that you have to look for the improvement because this 4G version is a little less powerful, but it's rather on the side of the main camera that you have to look for the difference. This Poco is equipped with an Omnivision sensor, a Sony IMX 471 which is found in particular in several OnePlus models including the OnePlus 9 Pro and a second Sony sensor for ultra wide angle photos.[b]

Unpacking

The box of this new Poco broadly follows the Poco identity with the dominance of yellow and black. The box of this 4G version is slightly different from that of the 5G version but no very visible distinctive sign, so you will have to be careful to be sure you are buying the right version. The box contains the phone, a transparent soft silicone protection, a 33W charger and a USB type C cable. [b]
Length : 163.6
Width : 75.8
Thickness : 8.8
Weight : 179
Jack output : Yes
USB Type : Type C

First configuration

The Poco M3 starts its life by shipping MIUI 13, the configuration screens have been slightly improved but without fundamentally changing the experience. Since it's the Poco brand, you won't have to skip the screens to register for the Xiaomi cloud, but Xiaomi has found a new trick. At the end of the configuration, you will have the possibility of activating wallpapers in carousel mode. It's a great idea and I've always found these Xiaomi atmospheres and animations to be quite successful, but this time these screens will create an opportunity to create advertising cookies. Xiaomi is transparent and honest because you are not only warned about cookies but you have the possibility to refuse them. Many people are allergic to this kind of process, but you should know that advertising is part of Xiaomi's business model and that this allows them to market phones at competitive prices.[b]

Finish

As I write these lines, I don't know how many colors will be available for this new version, but I can already see some differences with the 5G version. The version I tested was completely black with a large photo block of the same color. On the 5G version, the photo block stood out quite strongly from the back of the phone, this is less the case with this new version where the photo block occupies the entire width of the phone. You can therefore put it on its back without it being unbalanced. The composition of the back is similar to the 5G version, this version just uses a more reflective plastic. [b][b]
The photo block is quite uniform, it forms a whole with the logo and occupies almost the entire width of the phone. The main sensor is accompanied by two other sensors and an LED for the flash.
On the right side we find the usual volume and ignition buttons, the latter is also equipped with a fingerprint sensor. The position of these buttons is roughly the same as on the brand's other phones.
On the other side we find the sim drawer which can accommodate two sim cards and a memory card, this drawer is therefore quite long.
Below is one of the two external speakers, a sound sensor and the USB-C port.
Above we find the audio output jack, the second speaker which is not on the same side as the one below, a sound sensor and an infrared transmitter.
The selfie sensor is centered in the form of a punch of a similar size to other phones in this price range. The borders are clearly visible but nothing abnormal either for this type of phone. [b][b] The Poco M4 Pro broadly takes up the codes of the M range but with a few small changes in terms of colors and the integration of the photo module and I find that this new integration of the photo module is more successful than in the previous model. The level of finish is generally the same.[b]

Specifications

[b]The information below comes from the Device Info HW application. The application provides detailed technical information about the tested phone. I tested the 4Gb / 64Gb version of the Poco M4 Pro 4G, you will find the technical characteristics of this model in the following screenshots. The code name for this model is 2201117PG. [b][b] In summary: [b] - Mediatek architecture (CPU, GPU, Wifi, GPS, Bluetooth) [b] - 6.43 inch screen in 2400x1800 and 90Hz [b] - 5000 mAh battery [b] - Omnivision main sensor [b][b][b][b]

CPU / GPU Performance

CPU : MediaTek Helio G96
GPU : ARM Mali-G57 MC2 900MHz
Memory (RAM) : 6 Gb
Storage : 128 - 256 Gb
[b][b]The Poco M4 Pro 4G runs on a Mediatek architecture like the previous version. For the CPU, it relies on a MediaTek Helio G96 4G which is also available on the Redmi Note 11 Pro, Redmi Note 11s as well as a few other lesser known models. This CPU offers decent performance that will give you a good level of comfort for almost all everyday uses. [b][b] For the graphics part it is equipped with an ARM Mali-G57 MC2 900MHz, here it is also the same as the Redmi Note 11 Pro and it is also a bit the same performance thing. We cannot consider this model as a model designed for gaming, but you will be able to play most games without problems with sometimes some concessions on the level of detail. [b][b] I got good results with the modem paired with this architecture when testing the Redmi Note 11 Pro, so I should get good 4G network sensitivity on this phone.[b]

Benchmark Antutu/3DMark

I got a score of 253,000 points with this phone, it's a score that puts this phone in a comfort zone where a large audience will find happiness. The phone is responsive and access to apps is fast. [b]
Antutu score : 253903
Antutu CPU : 85446
Antutu GPU : 60415
Antutu UX : 50899
Antutu Mem : 57143
[b]Top 10 - performance ranking based on Antutu
1. Poco F4 Gt - 853016
2. Realme Gt - 811858
3. Black Shark 4 Pro - 759986
4. Poco X4 Gt - 714577
5. Oppo Find X2 Pro - 605184
6. Oneplus 8t - 595000
7. Poco F3 - 589677
8. Xiaomi Mi 10t Pro - 581650
9. Oneplus 8 Pro - 579417
10. Xiaomi Mi 10 - 579114

Number of smartphones in the ranking:147
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:64/147

Note: this ranking only contains the phones I tested as well as a few others that I added for reference.
[b]Gaming[b]To test the performance in game, I download the mobile PUBG game and evaluate the in-game experience, graphics level and depth of vision. This game is quite demanding and should help you evaluating the performance of a phone. The Poco M4 Pro 4G is not a phone designed for gamers but the Poco brand has always been able to offer a good price/performance ratio and this is again the case with this model . Even though it can't compete with models like Poco X3 Pro, it still offers a good gaming experience. PUBG Mobile can run in HD and I didn't notice any lag while playing. For other games more greedy, you may have to lower the level of graphics but again, this should not prevent you from playing.[b][b][b]

Network performance

The Poco M4 Pro 4G offers a wide enough frequency coverage to be used anywhere in Europe.[b]
Number measurements : 1202
Average signal (reference) : -90.85
Average signal (telephone) : -88.95
Average deviation reference/telephone : 1.9
Min/Max signal (reference) : -87 / - 95
Min/Max signal (phone) : -88 / -98
Choose your country to check if your phone is compatible:


The frequencies displayed below will allow you to see if this phone is compatible with your operator or if you will be able to use it in the country where you are going on vacation.


Signal 4G (from December 2020)[b]I decided to change the methodology for measuring the network because I noticed that the configuration of the mobile network changes over time. This makes it more difficult to compare phones because the conditions are no longer exactly the same.[b][b]To overcome this problem, I set up a device that captures 24 hours a day about ten parameters from the mobile network (ex: cell id, rssi, rsrq, snr, frequency,...). I then place the phone next to the device for 24 to 48 hours taking the same measurements so that I can compare them. [b][b] Overview of the phones tested with this methodology[b][b]
Phone tested:MeasurementsAvg signal (reference)Avg signal (phone)Min/Max (reference)Min/Max (phone)
Samsung Galaxy S10+457-93.06-97.39-89 / -98-97 / -99
Xiaomi Mi 9t Pro669-93.69-95.84-90 / -95-92 / -98
Poco F2 Pro1438-91.02-94.99-89 / -94-94 / -96
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g1645-90.77-95.02- 88 / -98-95 / -100
Poco X3821-94.89-103.19-91 / -97.7-101 / -104
Umidigi Bison2343-92.71-96.46-90 / -99-94 / -102
Oukitel C211101-92.04-94.99-90 / -97-92 / -95
Poco M31116-92.09-91.74-88 / -98-90 / -99
Xiaomi Mi 10t Pro1071-90.61-94.03-88 / -94-94 / -96
Umidigi A9 Pro981-90.40-94.01-88 / -95-93 / -95
Redmi Note 9t1201-92.149-91.71-90 / -97-91 / -97
Xiaomi Redmi Note 10999-92.35-93.99-88 / -97-92 / -98
Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro877-89.72-90.56- 88 / -92-89 / -95
Poco X3 Pro1876-91.45-92.91-90 / -94-90 / -96
Poco F31382-90.79-94.2-89 / -94-93 / -98
Oneplus Nord N100896-91.23-96.005-88 / - 99-96 / -99
Xiaomi Mi 11 Lite2875-91.36-91.49-87 / -96-90 / -96
Samsung Galaxy A521427-89.27-93.39-87 / -98-92 / -96
Doogee S96 Pro1259-94.2-91.21-90 / -102-88 / -95
Xiaomi Redmi Note 10s957-92.07-97.62-90 / -102-96 / -102
Poco M3 Pro1247-91.76-102.97-99 / -104-88 / -98
Realme Gt843-96.49-94.02-93 / -101- 92 / -96
F150 R20221002-92.4-105.1-90 / -97-98 / -110
Umidigi Bison Pro936-94.2-104.98-91 / -98-95 / -105
Redmi 102141-94.74-100.92-92 / -98-99 / -101
Tcl 10 Pro871-93.43-94.001-92 / -96-93 / -95
Poco M4 Pro570-93.71-96.78-91 / -98-95 / -99
Google Pixel 51444-91.02-97.02-90 / -94-97 / -101
Xiaomi 11t1576-92.305-92.003-90 / -96-92 / -93
Redmi Note 111223-92.5-91.32-92/-97-90 / -93
Black Shark 4 Pro2383-95.178-95.42-90 / -100-93 / -101
Redmi Note 11 Pro349-95.33-93-89 / -101-92 / -94
Poco M4 Pro 4g1202-90.85-88.95-87 / - 95-88 / -98
Tcl 30 Se567-92.11-92.85-88 / -98-99 / -93
Poco X4 Pro562-92.06-94.01-90 / -95-95 / -93
Redmi Note 11 Pro Plus 5g945-93.5-93.54-91 / -97-92 / -97
Poco F4 Gt832-95.02-93.09-90 / -99 -93 / -97
Oukitel Wp181351-95.94-92.92-91 / -97-92 / -97
Poco X4 Gt387-96.99-96.505-96 / -98-95 / -98
Poco F4524-95.78-95.04-93 / -99-94/-96
Oneplus Nord 2t1340-98.83-96.305-95 / -102-90 / -99
Redmi 10a707-89.026-97.97-87 / -91-97 / -103
[b][b]
I took over 1200 measurements to measure the 4G signal quality of this phone and got an excellent score of -88.95 dBm, this is the best signal level I could get since I do this network test. My probe obtained an average signal of -90.85 dBm at the same time, so the Poco M4 Pro 4G has excellent network sensitivity and its signal remained very stable throughout the test.[b][b][b]Download/Upload speed[b]To test the download speed, I have identified some 4G cells offering good performance where I test all my devices several times to see what download and upload speed they can achieve.[b]Top 10 - speed ranking in download
1. Samsung Galaxy S20 D:351Mbps U: 20Mbps
2. Poco X3 D:232Mbps U: 55Mbps
3. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g D:223Mbps U: 52Mbps
4. Poco F2 Pro D:207Mbps U: 53Mbps
5. Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite D:153Mbps U: 68Mbps
6. Xiaomi Mi A3 D:150Mbps U: 60Mbps
7. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s D:150Mbps U: 60Mbps
8. Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite D:149Mbps U: 60Mbps
9. Samsung Galaxy A21s D:147Mbps U: 51Mbps
10. Huawei Y6 2019 D:145Mbps U: 61Mbps

Number of smartphones in the ranking:30
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:0/30

Note: the theoretical maximum speed of a telephone is often limited by the configuration of the mobile network and the congestion of the network at the time of the measurement. So maybe you could get a higher speed on another network
[b][b]

Wifi performance

To test a phone's ability to receive the network properly, I take measurements near my router and then remotely (and always at the same place). This gives me an average in dBm where a value of -90 dBm indicates poorer performance than a value at -30 dBm.[b]
Download speed : 433
Signal / close : -19
Signal / distant : -55
Wifi signal[b]I measured an average signal of -19 dBm near the router and an average signal of -55 dBm at a distance, these are very similar values to what I had obtained with the Poco M4 Pro 5G. This score places this Poco a little above average.[b][b]Top 10 - wifi sensitivity ranking
1. Poco F2 Pro -11dBm
2. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro -12dBm
3. Realme Gt -12dBm
4. Samsung Galaxy A21s -13dBm
5. Redmi Note 11 Pro -13dBm
6. Oneplus Nord N100 -15dBm
7. Poco X3 Pro -15dBm
8. Poco F3 -15dBm
9. Redmi Note 9t -15dBm
10. Black Shark 4 Pro -15dBm

Number of smartphones in the ranking:67
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:25/67

[b]Download/Upload speed[b]To test the speed in Wifi, I connect to my router in 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz (if available) and use the Ookla application to measure the speed.[b]Top 10 - wifi download speed ranking
1. Redmi Note 11 Pro Plus 5g 866Mbps
2. Poco F4 866Mbps
3. Poco F4 Gt 866Mbps
4. Poco X4 Gt 866Mbps
5. Oneplus Nord 2t 866Mbps
6. Black Shark 4 Pro 866Mbps
7. Poco M4 Pro 4g 433Mbps
8. Poco X4 Pro 433Mbps
9. Redmi Note 11 Pro 433Mbps
10. Poco F3 398Mbps

Number of smartphones in the ranking:64
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:7/64

Note: I have a 400Mbps line and a modem capable of delivering higher speed, but I can never be sure how much bandwidth is available when doing a test.
[b]

GPS performance

[b]To test the accuracy of the GPS signal, I use two positioning applications to evaluate the difference between the actual position and the position indicated by the phone. This test is done outdoors with nothing to obstruct the signal. An accuracy level of up to 3 meters can easily be corrected by an application (e.g. Google Maps).[b][b] This Poco M4 Pro uses a Mediatek chip for GPS. I got 1 meter accuracy fairly quickly, which is often the case with Mediatek chips. I also checked if this phone was able to pick up multiple frequencies but only found the usual L1, B1, E1.[b][b]Top 10 - GPS accuracy ranking
1. Poco X4 Gt 1m
2. Oukitel C21 1m
3. Redmi 9a 1m
4. Redmi 10a 1m
5. Doogee S96 Pro 1m
6. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10s 1m
7. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 1m
8. Umidigi Bison Pro 1m
9. Tcl 30 Se 1m
10. Redmi 10 1m

Number of smartphones in the ranking:38
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:12/38

Note: An accuracy of 3 meters or less can easily be corrected by a good GPS application. Phone performance also plays a role in how fast your display updates, so good accuracy could be compromised by too slow a display.
[b]

Battery range

To test battery life I developed an application that measures the battery level minute by minute until the battery is empty. This application consumes about ten percent of the phone's resources and I do a test with 100 brightness. This test aims to reproduce a contemplative use of a phone (e.g. surfing the internet, reading articles, spending time on social networks). These results are not valid for intensive gaming/streaming use.
Capacity : 5000
Fast charge : Yes
W max : 33
Range (100% brightness) : 723.00
Range (50% brightness) : 1 500.00
Charging time : 77.00
Discharge speed (100%) : 0.14
Discharge score (100%) : 6.92
Discharge speed (50%) : 0.07
Discharge score (50%) : 3.33
Charging speed : 1.30
Charging score : 64.94
From March 2020, I replaced my subjective battery test with a technical test to better measure the real behaviour of the battery. Now I test the autonomy and charging time under absolutely identical conditions. I perform several measurements, so this test alone takes several days during which I cannot use the phone for anything else.

Battery life - methodology
To test the battery life, I measure the battery consumption every minute in strictly identical conditions to be able to compare phones and also to allow you to evaluate your phone in the same conditions. I rule out any influence of applications that could interfere with the measurement. The autonomy is not linear, the battery sometimes discharges much faster at the end. This is a frustrating phenomenon but with my measurements, you will know if you need to find a charger quickly.

Battery life
The battery of the Poco M4 Pro 4G has a capacity of 5000 mAh and has discharged from 100% to 1% in 723.00 minutes with 100% brightness, it has discharged from 100% to 1% in 1 500.00 minutes with 50% brightness. I obtain in this way an average discharge speed of 0.14% per minute with 100% luminosity and 0.07% per minute with 50% luminosity, the consumption is therefore 6.92 mA per minute with 100% luminosity and 3.33 with 50% luminosity. To be able to compare the efficiency of the phone and its influence on the battery, you have to compare the 6.92 (or 50%) score with that of other smartphones, the figure should be as low as possible.

Charging time - methodology
To test the charging time, I always use the same charger with the same cable. I measure the charging time minute by minute to see the evolution of the charge as well as the charging speed. The charging speed of a battery is not linear, it is often faster at the beginning and slower at the end. The charger is compatible with fast charging.

Charging time
The battery of the Poco M4 Pro 4G has a capacity of 5000 mAh and has been charged from 1% to 100% in 77.00 minutes. This gives me an average charging speed of 1.30% per minute and therefore an increase of 64.94 mA per minute. To compare the performance of the Poco M4 Pro 4G compared to other phones, you should use the 64.94 per minute score, this score should be as high as possible.

Important note: the charging speed is not always linear, the graph below gives you an indication of the battery behaviour.

The following table lists the phones tested with the technical battery test, they are ranked in order of efficiency. A higher battery capacity should logically result in a higher battery life but it is not always the case and it does not give any indication of the efficiency of a phone.

SmartphoneCapacity (mAh)Battery life (minutes)Efficiency ScoreBattery life (minutes) / 50%Efficiency Score / 50%Charging time.Score charging
Samsung Galaxy S204000565.007.081217.003.29136.0029.41
Nokia 5.34000549.007.291096.003.65199.0020.10
Oukitel C214000497.008.051324.003.02167.0023.95
Honor 9x4000770.005.191333.003.00151.0026.49
Google Pixel 54080773.005.281559.002.6281.0050.37
Umidigi A9 Pro4150552.007.521562.002.66112.0037.05
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g4160749.005.551541.002.70163.0025.52
Realme 64300704.006.111104.003.89162.0026.54
Realme Gt4500574.007.841057.004.2687.0051.72
Tcl 10 Pro4500465.009.68889.005.06133.0033.83
Poco F44500554.008.1211413.949845.92
Redmi Note 11 Pro Plus 5g4500525.008.5712113.7224187.50
Oneplus Nord 2t45006936.4914923.0212137.19
Samsung Galaxy A524500652.006.901239.003.63165.0027.27
Black Shark 4 Pro4500425.0010.59937.004.8029.00155.17
Poco F34520657.006.881840.002.46122.0037.05
Poco F2 Pro47001150.004.091536.003.06180.0026.11
Poco F4 Gt4700365.0012.8810824.3438123.68
Umidigi Bison Pro5000610.008.201632.003.06255.0019.61
Redmi 105000664.007.531684.002.97165.0030.30
Poco M4 Pro5000634.007.891600.003.13123.0040.65
Poco M3 Pro5000657.007.611647.003.04131.0038.17
Xiaomi Redmi Note 10s5000636.007.861556.003.21161.0031.06
Xiaomi 11t5000476.0010.501204.004.1597.0051.55
Redmi Note 115000592.008.451 376.003.6369.0072.46
Poco M4 Pro 4g5000723.006.921 500.003.3377.0064.94
Tcl 30 Se50006507.691 225.004.0817229.07
Poco X4 Pro5000643.007.7813613.677467.57
Oneplus Nord N1005000808.006.191278.003.91663.007.54
Redmi 9c5000656.007.621915.002.61170.0029.41
Samsung Galaxy A21s5000729.006.861283.003.90166.0030.12
Xiaomi Redmi Note 105000691.007.241728.002.89193.0025.91
Redmi Note 9t5000766.006.532054.002.43148.0033.78
Motorola G8 Power5000912.005.482792.001.79311.0016.08
Umidigi Bison5000550.009.091471.003.40238.0021.01
Redmi 9a5000694.007.201902.002.63195.0025.64
Xiaomi Redmi Note 95020650.007.721808.002.78162.0030.99
Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro5020625.008.031557.003.22213.0023.57
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s5020663.007.571876.002.68224.0022.41
Poco X4 Gt5080726.007.0015383.3011344.96
Umidigi F25150927.005.561854.002.78299.0017.22
Poco X3 Pro5160648.007.961688.003.06138.0037.39
Poco X35160653.007.901654.003.12181.0028.51
Doogee S58 Pro5180845.006.131908.002.71177.0029.27
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite5260827.006.361609.003.27208.0025.29
Ulefone Armor 7e5500768.007.161140.004.82179.0030.73
Poco M36000842.007.131898.003.16217.0027.65
Doogee S96 Pro6350929.006.841405.004.52424.0014.98
F150 R20228300879.009.441498.005.54243.0034.16
Oukitel Wp18125002 733.004.5728594.3736234.53

helpHow to read these figures?
The battery capacity is an important element in determining the autonomy of a phone but it is not the only factor. A phone with a large battery may have a shorter battery life if it consumes more power. If I had to take an example from everyday life, I would use the universe of the car. If a car has a large fuel tank, it should be able to drive a longer distance unless its average fuel consumption is higher. The battery efficiency score works the same way, it should be as low as possible and represents the energy consumption of the phone. These differences in efficiency are often related to the brightness of the screen, large bright screens will tend to consume more energy and even if they have a large battery, their range will be shorter.

In summary The Poco M4 Pro is equipped with a 5000 mAh battery with 33W fast charging. In this price range, the 33W fast charge is quite rare and can charge the battery from 1 to 100% in 77 minutes. It takes about 14 minutes to charge the first 20 percent but the charging speed decreases sharply for the last 20 percent because it took 25 minutes to charge the last 20 percent.
I measured a battery life of just over 700 minutes with the screen brightness at 100% and 1500 minutes with the screen brightness at 50%. Autonomy is therefore quite linear in relation to the brightness of the screen, it is also in the average of phones in this price range. You should be able to last 2-3 days with normal use before needing to charge your phone.
[b]

Photo camera test

To test the quality of photos produced by a phone, I do a technical test (resolution, sharpness, chromatic aberration,...) in studio (identical conditions) to evaluate the technical part objectively. From the second half of 2020, I built my own laboratory to take completely objective technical measurements. I then take pictures in real conditions to see how the camera performs. I then evaluate these photos according to my criteria but I publish the photos so that you can evaluate the result according to your criteria.[b]

Hardware

Selfie / resolution : 8
Selfie / sensor : Sony IMX 355
Resolution : 64
Sensor : Omnivision OV64B40
The Poco M4 Pro 4G is equipped with the following sensors: [b] - 64MP Omnivision OV64B40, I have already tested this sensor on the Redmi Note 10s, I was not very impressed with the results. [b] - Sony IMX 471 with 16 million pixels for selfies, it's the same as on the OnePlus 9 Pro [b] - Sony IMX 355 with 8 million pixels for ultra wide angle photos , I've tested this sensor dozens of times [b] - 2MP Galaxy Core GC02M1 for macros. [b][b]

Photo quality

Photo quality (indoor/studio)[b]The studio test is carried out under the same conditions so that the results can be compared on an equal basis. I calibrate my lighting for each test to obtain the same brightness and colour temperature. This test is a preliminary analysis of the technical qualities of a camera. Most phones fail this test, so you should also read the results of the other tests in the following paragraphs.[b][b]
The Omnivision OV64B40 sensor is also present in the Redmi Note 10s and I don't see any change in image processing between the Redmi and this Poco. The photo is underexposed like most of the phones I test, the sharpness is good and I don't see any trace of too much processing, the colors are sufficiently saturated and I don't notice any digital noise. From a purely technical point of view, this sensor passes this first test with a good result. I've added photos taken in different modes below and I've also added photos taken with the ultra-wide-angle sensor that I've tested many times on other phones. [b][b]
In this photo we can see that the sharpness in the center is correct without being excessive, but this sharpness deteriorates on the periphery. I can't rule out a problem with the angle for the shot, but if so, it shows that the area of sharpness isn't very deep and that the degradation is still very real.[b][b]Photo: technical test[b]I was inspired by industrial technical tests to create my own technical test to evaluate the technical quality of a camera. This test is an objective assessment of a camera's ability to render a scene correctly. [b][b]I test the following elements:[b]- centre sharpness, peripheral sharpness[b]- colour fidelity based on 24 reference colours[b]- level of chromatic aberration[b]- dynamic range (ability to capture dark and light areas without loss)[b]- distortion[b][b]The technical evaluation may differ from the subjective evaluation as the feeling of a photo will be influenced by the processing provided by each manufacturer.[b][b]
The Omnivision OV64B40 sensor is also present in the Redmi Note 10s and I don't see any change in image processing between the Redmi and this Poco. The photo is underexposed like most of the phones I test, the sharpness is good and I don't see any trace of too much processing, the colors are sufficiently saturated and I don't notice any digital noise. From a purely technical point of view, this sensor passes this first test with a good result. I've added photos taken in different modes below and I've also added photos taken with the ultra-wide-angle sensor that I've tested many times on other phones. [b][b]
In this photo we can see that the sharpness in the center is correct without being excessive, but this sharpness deteriorates on the periphery. I can't rule out a problem with the angle for the shot, but if so, it shows that the area of sharpness isn't very deep and that the degradation is still very real.[b][b]Outdoor photo quality[b] Omnivision OV64B40 [b]
The weather was not very nice outside when I took these photos, I took advantage of a lull in the storm Eunice to go take pictures. The light was not very good and the scenery was very muddy. It's also the first time I've tested this Omnivision sensor and since I've never had an extraordinary experience with the other sensors of this brand, I didn't have high expectations regarding the quality of the photos. However, I was surprised by the quality of the photos produced by this sensor. Photos are too dark but that's often the case when lighting isn't ideal, dynamic range is good, I see very few overexposed or underexposed areas, colors also seem fairly accurate. Sharpness is good, tree branch detail is really good, I don't see any traces of sharpening processing either. This sensor therefore has undeniable qualities with in particular a beautiful natural sharpness which rises above the average. [b][b] Sony IMX 355 [b]
This type of sensor (ultra wide angle) produces almost no never photos of superior quality to the main sensor but this Sony IMX 355 manages to do better than the average. The sharpness is average, there are chromatic aberrations, there is smoothing but all this is usual for this kind of sensor. The colors are on the other hand more faithful than the main sensor, it is one of the strengths of this Sony sensor. [b][b][b]Test photo / night[b]Not yet available / tested[b][b][b]

Video quality

Stabilisation[b] The Poco M4 Pro 4G is capable of filming in 1080p and 30 frames per second, it is not possible to film in 4k. Stabilization is good for a phone in this price class, the image vibrates only briefly with each step, and the image is recalculated quite quickly. It is probably the limitation to 1080p that allows this because with a 4k video, a phone of this power could not stabilize the image correctly.[b]Video normale conditions This phone is limited to 1080p and 30 frames per second but the videos it produces are quite good for this price category. The video is quite dark but the brightness was not good and most phones produce underexposed video in these conditions. Focus is fast, exposure jumps are noticeable but quick, sharpness is also good and dynamic range is also good, the sky doesn't turn white when I drop below the horizon line. This Poco M4 Pro 4G offers better sharpness than the previous model.[b]Video low light[b]Not yet available / tested[b][b]

External audio quality

[b]This test is intended to give you an overview of the volume and sound quality during calls and when listening to music through the external speakers. [b][b] The Poco M4 Pro 4G produces medium power sound from its external speakers, the sound is focused on the treble without it being really problematic, the bass sounds are a bit lacking deep but for a phone in this price range, it's quite normal. [b][b] The call volume is quite low compared to what I have already measured, the external speaker makes up for this shortcoming. The sound is also quite focused on the treble and also lacks depth. The conversations are completely understandable, it's just an almost aesthetic problem with the sound.[b]

Audio quality (headphones)

To test the quality of the phone's audio output, I connect the device's audio output to a measuring tool, then play sounds on all frequencies and measure the differences between the original sound and the sound produced by the phone. In this way I measure the phone's ability to correctly reproduce all sounds.[b]
Frequency Respons : +0.02 / -0.19
Noise Level : -89.6
Dynamic Range : 89.5
THD : 0.00171
Intermodulation : 0.021
Stereo crosstalk : -81.5
With headphones the sound is of much better quality than with the external speakers, the Poco manages to produce faithful sound on almost all frequencies, it deviates from the norm in the treble but the The difference is not very important. It most likely uses the same hardware for sound as the Redmi Note 11 Pro as I got the exact same result with that phone.[b]

Screen quality

To test the screen, I use a colorimetric probe that measures the color accuracy of a screen, as well as other parameters to see if a screen is able to correctly reproduce an image. I also test the brightness level to determine if the screen will be able to display an image in full sunlight.[b]
Screen size : 6.43
Resolution : 1080 x 2400
Ratio : 20:9
Type : Amoled
% occupancy : 84
dE white : 1.3
dE red : 1.5
dE green : 1.4
dE blue : 1.5
dE jaune : 0.9
dE cyan : 1.3
dE magenta : 1.3
White temperature : 6388
Contrast : 1000000:1
Brightness : 414
Colorimetry[b]
The Poco screen is not configured correctly when it leaves the factory, you have to switch to standard mode to obtain almost perfect colorimetry with a dE of 1.33. White, on the other hand, is a little too warm with a temperature of 6388K, but most users won't even notice it, the difference is so small.[b][b]Top 10 - ranking of the best screens by colorimetry
1. Poco X4 Gt dE = 0.6
2. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g dE = 0.73
3. Xiaomi Mi 10t Pro dE = 0.83
4. Redmi Note 11 dE = 0.91
5. Google Pixel 5 dE = 1.11
6. Realme Gt dE = 1.17
7. Xiaomi Mi 11 Lite dE = 1.19
8. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 dE = 1.2
9. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 dE = 1.23
10. Poco M4 Pro 4g dE = 1.31

Number of smartphones in the ranking:67
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:10/67

Note: the colorimetric difference is measured in dE. After three, the human eye will perceive a colorimetric difference, so the dE should be the lowest. The tests were all carried out with a colorimetric probe.
[b]Brightness / Contrast[b]I measured a brightness of 414cm/m² and couldn't get the brightness to higher even when flooding the sensor with light. This brightness is sufficient for most situations but will be insufficient for readability in direct sunlight. This phone can normally go higher but I don't know where the sensor is to get there. [b][b] The contrast is infinite thanks to the amoled, the screen also supports a frequency of 90hz for better fluidity in the movements on the screen. The previous model used an LCD screen, so this is an important development.[b]

Biometry

This phone is equipped with a fingerprint sensor on the side placed on the ignition button. This sensor works very well, it is well placed and is very fast.[b]

Operating system

[b]This phone runs under MIUI 13 as soon as it is marketed, it is also one of the first to run this version of Xiaomi's operating system. MIUI 13 brings a performance boost compared to the previous version (12.5) and can manage multitasking even better (up to 14 applications open simultaneously). MIUI 13 also brings some improvements to the interface and the customization of it.[b]

Encoutered bugs

Not yet available / tested[b][b]

Accessories Poco M4 Pro 4G

To better enjoy your experience with your smartphone, I offer links to all kinds of accessories that you might find useful

Protective cover / case poco m4 pro 4g
Screen protection film poco m4 pro 4g
Memory card poco m4 pro 4g
USB Cable / Charger poco m4 pro 4g
Headphones poco m4 pro 4g
Bike rack poco m4 pro 4g

Compare Poco M4 Pro 4G with the others

I assigned a score of 1 to 10 for each test that determines the strengths and weaknesses of a product. I am using 0 for criteria that have not (yet) been tested. A score of 1 to 3 indicates poor performance (and yes, it does), a score of 4 to 6 indicates average performance, a score of 7 to 8 indicates good performance, and a score of 9 and 10 indicates exceptional performance. .
The score is calculated based on my measurements and when there are no measurements, it is a subjective opinion based on my experience.

The scores are not static, they change over time because the performance of new products changes and this must be taken into account.

Poco M4 Pro 4G
Finish quality7.006.00
Battery performance7.508.00
CPU performance7.006.5
GPU performance7.006.5
Screen quality7.507.00
Photo quality7.005.00
Video quality7.005.00
Wi-Fi performance7.507.00
Mobile download speed7.005.00
Mobile network sensitivity8.006.00
Frequency coverage7.007.00
Audio quality7.006.00
GPS performance7.506.00
Operating system8.008.00
Overall score10289
Global ranking
1. Black Shark 4 Pro 114 / 140
2. Realme Gt 112.5 / 140
3. Oneplus Nord 2t 111.5 / 140
4. Poco F2 Pro 111.5 / 140
5. Samsung Galaxy S20 111 / 140
6. Poco F4 Gt 110.5 / 140
7. Google Pixel 5 109.6 / 140
8. Poco F3 108.5 / 140
9. Poco X4 Gt 108 / 140
10. Poco X3 Pro 107.5 / 140
11. Samsung Galaxy S10+ 107 / 140
12. Xiaomi 11t 107 / 140
13. Redmi Note 11 Pro Plus 5g 106.5 / 140
14. Xiaomi Mi 9t Pro 106 / 140
15. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro 105.5 / 140
16. Samsung Galaxy A52 104 / 140
17. Xiaomi Mi 11 Lite 104 / 140
18. Tcl 10 Pro 104 / 140
19. Redmi Note 11 Pro 103 / 140
20. Poco X4 Pro 102.5 / 140
21. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10s 102 / 140
22. Poco M4 Pro 4g 102 / 140
23. Poco M4 Pro 101.5 / 140
24. Redmi Note 11 101 / 140
25. Poco X3 101 / 140
26. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g 101 / 140
27. Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite 101 / 140
28. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 101 / 140
29. Redmi Note 9t 100.5 / 140
30. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro 100 / 140
31. Poco F4 98 / 130
32. Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite 98 / 140
33. Poco M3 Pro 98 / 140
34. Doogee S96 Pro 98 / 140
35. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s 98 / 140
36. Redmi 10 97.5 / 140
37. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 97 / 140
38. F150 R2022 95 / 140
39. Umidigi Bison Pro 95 / 140
40. Poco M3 94.5 / 140
41. Xiaomi Redmi Note 7 94 / 140
42. Realme 6 93 / 140
43. Umidigi Bison 92 / 140
44. Tcl 30 Se 92 / 140
45. Umidigi A9 Pro 92 / 140
46. Oukitel C21 89.5 / 140
47. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 89 / 140
48. Xiaomi Mi A3 89 / 140
49. Motorola G8 Power 89 / 140
50. Nokia 5.3 89 / 140
51. Oneplus Nord N100 88.5 / 140
52. Honor 9x 88 / 140
53. Meizu Note 9 86 / 140
54. Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite 86 / 140
55. Xiaomi Redmi Note 5 85 / 140
56. Umidigi S3 Pro 83 / 140
57. Samsung Galaxy A21s 82 / 140
58. Umidigi F2 82 / 140
59. Redmi 9a 81 / 140
60. Oukitel Wp18 81 / 140
61. Redmi 9c 80 / 140
62. Ulefone Armor 7e 80 / 140
63. Doogee S58 Pro 78.5 / 140
64. Honor 8x 78 / 140
65. Umidigi F1 77 / 140
66. Huawei Y6 2019 74 / 140
67. Xiaomi Mi 10t Pro 57 / 70
68. Redmi 10a 14 / 20
69. Elephone U5 0 / 0

Test / Review conclusion

[b]The Poco M4 Pro 4G is at the entry level of the Poco range and yet it could be confused with a mid-range phone from another brand (ex: Samsung). This new 4G version differs from the previous 5G version on the following points: better photo quality, more memory, better screen and it is lighter for identical dimensions. This new Poco will therefore settle in the entry level with the same promise as the previous models by offering a very good price/performance ratio without neglecting those who are not interested in performance. [b][b] This Poco M4 Pro 4G is not a degraded version of the 5G version, it is even the opposite in some respects. I was positively surprised by the quality of the photos, this phone cannot compete with the top of the range but the quality of the photos approaches what a Sony IMX 682 can do, the sharpness is good and without aggressive treatment , the colors are also quite faithful. [b][b] The screen is another of the qualities of this phone, it offers infinite contrast thanks to the amoled but has color fidelity worthy of the top of the range. Its 90hz frequency will allow it to distinguish itself from other brands in addition to the other qualities already mentioned. There are not many quality amoled screens for less than 200€. [b][b] Network sensitivity is also very good, I had measured equivalent results with the Redmi Note 11 Pro and that's normal because these two phones use the same architecture. It's the same for the GPS and the wifi which obtain a score above the average (sensitivity and precision). [b][b] On the battery side, it's the fast charge that will give this phone some extra points, the autonomy is good but is average. [b][b] Faults? I did not find any major flaws. I find the call volume to be a little below average and the sound to be a little too high-pitched. It is the same for the sound delivered by the external speaker. If we keep in mind that this is a phone for less than 200€, we can hardly fault it.[b]Strengths[b]Screen quality [b] 4G sensitivity [b] GPS accuracy [b] Wi-Fi sensitivity [b] Price/performance ratio [b] Video stabilization [b] Battery charging speed [b][b][b]Weaknesses[b]Call volume [b] High pitch (call + speakerphone) [b] Screen brightness (not found sensor) [b][b][b]Alternatives to this product[b][b]Not yet available / tested[b][b]

laurent willen Laurent Willen
Instead of watching nonsense on TV or YouTube, I spend my time in the evenings testing products and sharing my passion for technology, travel and photography.

I run this site in my own name and completely independently, no one pays me to do so.

I have more than 20 years of experience in the digital world, I have managed and developed many high traffic websites in companies in Belgium such as Mobistar, Microsoft, Immoweb, BrusselsAirlines, Proximus, Orange,...

Comments

Join the discussion / Ask your questions

Your comment will be published after validation. I respond to over 1500 comments a year in my spare time, so I can't always respond very quickly. Your email address will not be publicly visible and it will not be used for commercial purposes.









Be notified by email when a response is published