On this page:
Price Poco X3 Pro
Unpacking
First configuration
Finish
Specifications
CPU / GPU Performance
Benchmark Antutu/3DMark
Network performance
Wifi performance
GPS performance
Battery range
Photo camera test
Hardware
Photo quality
Video quality
Audio quality
Screen quality
Biometry
Operating system
Test / Review conclusion
Questions answers

Promo code
Promo code: Poco x3 Pro is still available for 199€ at Goboo.com (EU warranty)


Poco X3 Pro 199€

Subscribe
Subscribe to my YouTube channel to receive updates.
[TEST] Poco X3 Pro: test / review (take advantage of the launch offer!)

Poco X3 Pro : test / review

Category: Smartphones

The Poco family has grown, two new models were announced at the end of March to be marketed in early April, these are the Poco X3 Pro and the Poco F3. This article will focus on the Poco X3 Pro. [b][b] I had tested the Poco X3 last year, this phone had a good score except for the network sensitivity where it was among the worst phones tested. The Poco X3 was marketed aimed at gamers because it offered a very interesting price / performance ratio. I found at the time that this positioning was too limited because the Poco X3 could meet the expectations of a much larger audience than gamers. The Poco X3 Pro seems to be following the same path taking a big leap forward in performance and here too Poco is aimed at a gaming audience but again I think this phone will appeal to a wider audience. [b][b] What are the changes made by this Poco X3 Pro compared to the previous model? [b] The Poco X3 Pro broadly covers the specifics of the X3 range, it is very similar in size and its design is also very similar, so it is not in terms of its exterior appearance that it will stand out from the previous model. The screen also appears to be identical (size, resolution and IPS LCD in both cases). The weight is the same (215 gr) [b][b] For the photo part, the front camera seems to be the same, on the other hand for the main sensor at the back I note a regression. The Poco X3 used the Sony IMX 682 where the Poco X3 Pro uses the Sony IMX 582. The Sony IMX 582 is not a bad photo sensor but this regression is curious. [b][b] The novelty comes from the CPU and GPU which should increase performance by 50% compared to the previous model, this performance increase will be accompanied by an adapted cooling system. 5G is also making its appearance with the N1 2100 MHz frequency. [b][b] Why should we buy it with so little new? [b] The Poco X3 stood out compared to its report price / performance, it's the same with the Poco X3 Pro, it is launched at 199 dollars from April 1. The Poco X3 Pro therefore becomes the most powerful phone in this price range. [b][b] If you want to take advantage of this introductory offer: Poco X3 Pro at $ 199 (Aliexpress exclusive)[b][b][b]linkManufacturer web site: https://www.po.co/global/[b]linkSite where I have bought the Poco X3 Pro: https://s.click.aliexpress.com/e/_AOTTLS[b]

Structure of my tests

I test the phones according to a pre-established structure (see below) to provide you with as much information as possible. Unfortunately, this takes a long time. Some tests like network performance tests take several days and for photo tests I sometimes have to wait until the weather is suitable to take pictures in good conditions. I am therefore obliged to publish the tests step by step, so I invite you to come back if the test is not complete at the time of your visit.[b]
How are my tests different from others on the web?

- I usually buy the devices with my own money, so price is just as important as you are!
- I keep the devices for at least a few weeks (sometimes more) to see what they are worth in real conditions.
- I answer (when possible) your questions to help you decide before you buy
- no one pays me to do these reviews, so I'm completely neutral and independent...
- My pages are not filled with ads



iiiF150 R2022 : test / review
Realme 6 test, review and price
Xiaomi Redmi Note 7 test, review and price
Umidigi F1 test, review and price
Poco M3 Pro : test / review
Redmi Note 10s : test / review
Poco F2 review - test - specs
Lemfo Lem15: test / review / price
Realme GT 5G : test / review
Samsung Galaxy A52: test / review

Price Poco X3 Pro

The list below shows the prices for the Poco X3 Pro from more than 50 sites around the world. If you are not satisfied with any price, you can subscribe to a price alert to be the first to be notified when the price drops.[b]
Poco X3 Pro | 128GB 6GB RAM | Factory Unlocked (GSM ONLY)...
2021-09-21 14:00
211 USD
Poco X3 Pro | 128GB 6GB RAM | Factory Unlocked (GSM ONLY | Not Compatible with Verizon/Sprint/Boost)...
2021-09-22 15:41
240 USD
Poco X3 Pro | 128GB 6GB RAM | Factory Unlocked (GSM ONLY | Not Compatible with Verizon/Sprint/Boost)...
2021-09-22 15:41
248 USD
Xiaomi Poco X3 Pro 6GB 128GB 6.67'' 48MP GSM Factory Unlocked Global Version...
2021-09-22 14:00
248 USD
Poco X3 Pro | 128GB 6GB RAM | Factory Unlocked (GSM ONLY | Not Compatible with Verizon/Sprint/Boost)...
2021-09-22 15:41
249 USD
Xiaomi Poco X3 Pro 128GB/256GB Factory Unlocked 6.67" 48MP 6GB/8GB RAM Global...
2021-09-22 14:00
250 USD
[b]
helpThe above links are affiliate links from companies such as Amazon, Gearbest, Aliexpress,... If you appreciate my work, I would be grateful if you could purchase these products through these links. It costs you absolutely nothing but I get a small commission that allows me to buy the material I test. Thank you very much!

Timeline

04/01/2021 Order of the Poco X3 Pro in presale on Aliexpress.[b] 04/07/2021 I have received the Poco X3 Pro, so the test can begin.[b]

Why this phone?

Since I have to buy most of the phones that I test and don't have unlimited means, I have to make choices like you and sometimes those choices mean I have to buy a phone based on a hunch because no one has it. 'tested before. Fortunately, there are elements that allow me to improve my intuition and among those there is the history of the brand [b][b] The Poco brand reappeared on the market in 2020 after few years of silence, I bought all the Poco that were launched in 2020 (Poco F2 PRo, Poco X3, Poco M3) and each time Poco has managed to establish itself as the best alternative to Xiaomi in each segment of price. So I don't take a lot of risks buying this new Poco blindly. [b][b] The Poco X3 Pro does not bring great innovations, this is also rarely the case at Xiaomi, its strong point is its price / performance ratio. There is currently nothing more powerful than the Poco X3 Pro at this price point. Power is an argument for gamers but not only because beyond performance, the Poco X3 Pro takes the good basics of the Poco X3 which was already a good phone. If you missed the X3, then you can catch up on the X3 Pro with a more capable phone. Gamer or not gamer, so it doesn't matter.[b]

Unpacking

The Poco brand returned to the market in 2020 and has asserted itself with a very pronounced style that can be found right from the packaging. Poco's two basic colors are black and yellow, no other brand uses the same color combination, you can't go wrong. [b][b] The box of the Poco X3 Pro is quite classic, it contains the phone wrapped in protective plastic, a charger, a USB-C cable and a soft and transparent silicone shell. Poco added some Poco stickers in the sleeve with the manual, I don't know if they are for the phone or if you need to stick them on your car but I found it funny. Poco undoubtedly relies on its customers to talk about the brand. [b][b][b]
Length : 165
Width : 76.8
Thickness : 9.4
Weight : 215
Jack output : Yes
USB Type : Type C
Infrared port : Yes

First configuration

The first configuration of the Poco X3 Pro is in all respects similar to the brand's other phones running MIUI 12 with still this partially subtle approach to encourage you to use the Xiaomi cloud rather than the Google one. The phone can recover applications from another phone and it turns out that my last backup was that of the Poco X3. So I used this backup to configure the Poco X3 Pro and I was very surprised by the installation speed of the 81 applications in my backup. This process can sometimes take a long time on slower phones, I didn't have to wait longer than 10 minutes on the Poco X3 Pro. This comes from the storage technology used by the Poco X3 Pro, it uses UFS 3.1 which can double your file transfer speed. So this is not just a selling point, it can be felt very quickly when using the phone.[b]

Finish

The Poco X3 Pro uses the same lines as the Poco X3, we can recognize it by its size and its large photo block which stands out at the back of the phone. The X3 Pro also takes the same type of design on the back with the Poco branding on a smooth strip wedged between two hatched strips. It was already the case on the previous model, I just find that the color effect is more successful on the Poco X3 Pro, I felt less the plastic effect that this kind of phone can sometimes cause. [b][b] For the rest of the phone it's really very classic, the phone is imposing and heavy but it offers a huge screen area of 6.67 inches. It is in any case not in its format and its design that the Poco X3 Pro will stand out. [b][b] When I tested the previous model, I was often asked the question about the gaming orientation of the model. Poco undoubtedly wants to push this phone towards gamers but that does not mean that it is not suitable for non-gamers, on the contrary. It's a versatile phone that will appeal to a larger segment of the population, so don't stop at its gaming aspect. [b][b] I took some pictures of the Poco X3 Pro next to the previous model and apart from the color you really have to look to find differences. [b][b][b]

Specifications

[b]The information below comes from the Device Info HW application. The application provides detailed technical information about the tested phone.The Poco X3 Pro is positioned as a performance-oriented phone for a moderate price, and that's certainly its easiest selling point to explain. I would add to that some other interesting elements like the use of UFS 3.1 memory which has the effect of offering very good read / write performance. In UFS 3.1 the Poco X3 Pro offers a reading speed up to 3x faster than a phone using UFS 2.0. [b][b] The Poco X3 Pro is also equipped with a powerful heat dissipation system which not only helps preserve the components when you push performance hard but you won't either. that sometimes unpleasant feeling of heat when playing or filming in 4k. The Samsung Galaxy S20 is a good example of a phone with poor heat dissipation, sometimes it can get so hot that you are going to want to take your hand away. I did a temperature test by running a greedy app for more than 10 minutes, the temperature only rose 8 ° C to reach 32 ° C. It's a great performance. [b][b] The screen takes the same basics of what Poco has already done for other models by offering a large IPS LCD screen with a refresh rate of up to 240hz. This will make your gaming experience even smoother. [b][b] I took a screenshot of the technical specifications below. I see some differences compared to the previous model like the sound chipset and the magnetometer. The screen does not seem to be the same, that of the Poco X3 Pro indicates a frequency of 60hz where the previous model indicated 120hz. [b][b][b]

CPU / GPU Performance

CPU : Qualcomm Snapdragon 860
GPU : Qualcomm AdreNo 640
Memory (RAM) : 6 - 8Gb
Storage : 128 - 256 Gb
[b][b]The Poco X3 Pro is equipped with a Qualcomm Snapdragon 860 CPU, I think it is the first phone that is equipped with this CPU. So I don't have a reference in another phone to compare the performance but in theory, the Poco X3 Pro should be able to offer a performance comparable to a Huawei P40 or even a Samsung Galaxy S20. These phones cost 2-3 times more than the Poco. The price / performance ratio is therefore extremely competitive. [b][b] The Poco X3 Pro is equipped with a Qualcomm Adreno 640 GPU which also offers a level of performance comparable to what is done at the top of the range. So you can play any game or use any application with this phone and with 6Gb of base memory, multitasking will not be a problem.[b]

Benchmark Antutu/3DMark

I got a score of 486466 points with Antutu, this places the Poco X3 Pro among the best performing phones I have tested. The result does not surprise me, Poco wanted to offer a super powerful phone for a super aggressive price, they took up the challenge because in this price zone, there is nothing that can exceed a Poco X3 Pro ( for the moment anyway). [b][b] Beyond this result, there is also something else that I wanted to mention. The score is the result of several tests including specific tests on the CPU, GPU, memory and fluidity of the phone. The performance of the CPU is excellent, that of the GPU is even better but the memory score is really impressive because we find here the effect of UFS 3.1, the memory score of the Poco X3 Pro exceeds the score of the Samsung Galaxy S20 which costs 3 times more expensive! [b][b] This phone has been positioned as a phone for gamers and it responds well to this expectation but its performance and especially its memory performance make it a particularly fluid phone to use and this would appeal to a audience much larger than that of gamers. [b][b][b]
Antutu score : 486466
Antutu CPU : 137702
Antutu GPU : 192371
Antutu UX : 70259
Antutu Mem : 86134
[b]Top 10 - performance ranking based on Antutu
1. Realme Gt - 811858
2. Oppo Find X2 Pro - 605184
3. Oneplus 8t - 595000
4. Poco F3 - 589677
5. Xiaomi Mi 10t Pro - 581650
6. Oneplus 8 Pro - 579417
7. Xiaomi Mi 10 - 579114
8. Poco F2 Pro - 569559
9. Samsung Galaxy S20 Fe - 565000
10. Samsung Galaxy S20 - 503905

Number of smartphones in the ranking:128
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:11/128

Note: this ranking only contains the phones I tested as well as a few others that I added for reference.
[b]Gaming[b]To test the performance in game, I download the mobile PUBG game and evaluate the in-game experience, graphics level and depth of vision. This game is quite demanding and should help you evaluating the performance of a phone. In-game performance is one of the main selling points of the Poco X3 Pro and performance is guaranteed. PUBG Mobile can run in maximum detail and the game does not experience any stuttering. The experience is therefore very good, but the screen also plays a big role and this is not seen on the video. With its refresh rate at 240hz, the movements are perfectly fluid and to top it off, the phone does not heat up.[b]

Network performance

The Poco X3 Pro is compatible with most 3G and 4G frequencies in Europe, it is also compatible with n1 / 2100 Mhz frequency in 5G but it only offers one frequency, so it will not support 5G in all the countries.[b]
3G frequencies : B1 (2100), B2 (1900), B4 (1700/2100 AWS A-F), B5 (850), B8 (900)
4G frequencies : B1 (2100), B2 (1900), B3 (1800), B4 (1700/2100 AWS 1), B5 (850), B7 (2600), B8 (900), B20 (800), B28b (700), B28a (700), B38 (TDD 2600), B40 (TDD 2300), B41 (TDD 2500)
Bluetooth : Bluetooth 5.0 LE
Volte : Yes
VoWifi : Yes
NFC : Yes
Number measurements : 1876
Average signal (reference) : -91.45
Average signal (telephone) : -92.91
Average deviation reference/telephone : -1.46
Min/Max signal (reference) : -90 / -94
Min/Max signal (phone) : -90 / -96
Choose your country to check if your phone is compatible:


The frequencies displayed below will allow you to see if this phone is compatible with your operator or if you will be able to use it in the country where you are going on vacation.


Signal 4G (before december 2020)[b]The ability to pick up the network correctly is an essential element for a phone but it is only very rarely measured. To measure a phone's ability to pick up the network, I perform a large number of measurements on the same cells to be able to compare phones under similar conditions. The signal is measured in dBm, a value of -90dBm indicates a worse signal than -70dBm. These measurements are therefore taken under real conditions and not in a laboratory, they are not scientific but give a good indication of performance. [b][b]Network signal sensitivity rating
Phone tested:Average signal (dBm)Number of measurements:
Xiaomi Mi 9t Pro-881600
Xiaomi Redmi Note 5-91.305600
Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite-93788
Samsung Galaxy A70-94.5111975
Nokia 5.3-94.98531
Realme 6-95.142301
Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro-95.9221599
Xiaomi Mi A3-95.951000
Huawei Y6 2019-95.951199
Doogee S58 Pro-96.22856
Redmi 9a-96.481000
Meizu Note 9-96.68937
Motorola G8 Power-96.881032
Xiaomi Redmi Note 7-97.011430
Redmi 9c-97.041000
Umidigi S3 Pro-97.131200
Xiaomi Redmi Note 8-97.34879
Samsung Galaxy A21s-97.781000
Umidigi F1-97.82298
Ulefone Armor 7e-98.71000
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite-991000
Honor 9x-99.14899
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s-99.41860
Poco F2 Pro-99.81247
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9-100.791785
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g-100.881198
Poco X3-101.19821
Umidigi F2-101.47712
[b][b]Signal 4G (from December 2020)[b]I decided to change the methodology for measuring the network because I noticed that the configuration of the mobile network changes over time. This makes it more difficult to compare phones because the conditions are no longer exactly the same.[b][b]To overcome this problem, I set up a device that captures 24 hours a day about ten parameters from the mobile network (ex: cell id, rssi, rsrq, snr, frequency,...). I then place the phone next to the device for 24 to 48 hours taking the same measurements so that I can compare them. [b][b] Overview of the phones tested with this methodology[b][b]
Phone tested:MeasurementsAvg signal (reference)Avg signal (phone)Min/Max (reference)Min/Max (phone)
Samsung Galaxy S10+457-93.06-97.39-89 / -98-97 / -99
Xiaomi Mi 9t Pro669-93.69-95.84-90 / -95-92 / -98
Poco F2 Pro1438-91.02-94.99-89 / -94-94 / -96
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g1645-90.77-95.02- 88 / -98-95 / -100
Poco X3821-94.89-103.19-91 / -97.7-101 / -104
Umidigi Bison2343-92.71-96.46-90 / -99-94 / -102
Oukitel C211101-92.04-94.99-90 / -97-92 / -95
Poco M31116-92.09-91.74-88 / -98-90 / -99
Xiaomi Mi 10t Pro1071-90.61-94.03-88 / -94-94 / -96
Umidigi A9 Pro981-90.40-94.01-88 / -95-93 / -95
Redmi Note 9t1201-92.149-91.71-90 / -97-91 / -97
Xiaomi Redmi Note 10999-92.35-93.99-88 / -97-92 / -98
Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro877-89.72-90.56- 88 / -92-89 / -95
Poco X3 Pro1876-91.45-92.91-90 / -94-90 / -96
Poco F31382-90.79-94.2-89 / -94-93 / -98
Oneplus Nord N100896-91.23-96.005-88 / - 99-96 / -99
Xiaomi Mi 11 Lite2875-91.36-91.49-87 / -96-90 / -96
Samsung Galaxy A521427-89.27-93.39-87 / -98-92 / -96
Doogee S96 Pro1259-94.2-91.21-90 / -102-88 / -95
Xiaomi Redmi Note 10s957-92.07-97.62-90 / -102-96 / -102
Poco M3 Pro1247-91.76-102.97-99 / -104-88 / -98
Realme Gt843-96.49-94.02-93 / -101- 92 / -96
F150 R20221002-92.4-105.1-90 / -97-98 / -110
[b][b]The Poco X3 was at the bottom of the 4G signal sensitivity rankings and I have received numerous testimonials that its network connectivity is not very good. The Poco X3 Pro uses a different modem so I expected the results to be better and luckily it is. I carried out more than 1800 measurements to obtain an average of -92.91 dBm with the Poco against -91.45 dBm for my measuring device. The Poco is not the best phone in the ranking, but it is a big step up from the previous model. [b]
On the measurement graph, we see that the red zone (measuring device) obtains a better signal (best = minimum value) on plus or minus 50% of the measurements, this means die that the Poco managed to do better than the measuring device, this is not common. The Poco X3 Pro therefore has good sensitivity to the 4G network.[b][b][b]Download/Upload speed[b]To test the download speed, I have identified some 4G cells offering good performance where I test all my devices several times to see what download and upload speed they can achieve.[b]Top 10 - speed ranking in download
1. Samsung Galaxy S20 D:351Mbps U: 20Mbps
2. Poco X3 D:232Mbps U: 55Mbps
3. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g D:223Mbps U: 52Mbps
4. Poco F2 Pro D:207Mbps U: 53Mbps
5. Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite D:153Mbps U: 68Mbps
6. Xiaomi Mi A3 D:150Mbps U: 60Mbps
7. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s D:150Mbps U: 60Mbps
8. Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite D:149Mbps U: 60Mbps
9. Samsung Galaxy A21s D:147Mbps U: 51Mbps
10. Huawei Y6 2019 D:145Mbps U: 61Mbps

Number of smartphones in the ranking:30
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:0/30

Note: the theoretical maximum speed of a telephone is often limited by the configuration of the mobile network and the congestion of the network at the time of the measurement. So maybe you could get a higher speed on another network
[b][b]

Wifi performance

To test a phone's ability to receive the network properly, I take measurements near my router and then remotely (and always at the same place). This gives me an average in dBm where a value of -90 dBm indicates poorer performance than a value at -30 dBm.[b]
Wifi frequencies : 802.11a , 802.11b , 802.11g , 802.11n , 802.11n 5GHz , 802.11ac
Download speed : 389
Signal / close : -15
Signal / distant : -66
Wifi signal[b]The Poco X3 Pro uses the same WiFi chip as the Redmi Note 10 and I got a very similar sensitivity score with = 15 dBm near the router and -65 dBm away. It's a good score, the Poco X3 Pro has good wifi sensitivity.[b][b]Top 10 - wifi sensitivity ranking
1. Poco F2 Pro -11dBm
2. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro -12dBm
3. Realme Gt -12dBm
4. Samsung Galaxy A21s -13dBm
5. Oneplus Nord N100 -15dBm
6. Poco X3 Pro -15dBm
7. Poco F3 -15dBm
8. Redmi Note 9t -15dBm
9. Samsung Galaxy A52 -17dBm
10. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10s -17dBm

Number of smartphones in the ranking:48
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:6/48

[b]Download/Upload speed[b]To test the speed in Wifi, I connect to my router in 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz (if available) and use the Ookla application to measure the speed.[b]Top 10 - wifi download speed ranking
1. Poco F3 398Mbps
2. Poco X3 Pro 389Mbps
3. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro 367Mbps
4. Samsung Galaxy S20 351Mbps
5. Poco F2 Pro 341Mbps
6. Redmi Note 9t 332Mbps
7. Realme Gt 330Mbps
8. Doogee S96 Pro 328Mbps
9. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10s 325Mbps
10. Poco M3 Pro 323Mbps

Number of smartphones in the ranking:47
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:2/47

Note: I have a 400Mbps line and a modem capable of delivering higher speed, but I can never be sure how much bandwidth is available when doing a test.
[b]

GPS performance

[b]To test the quality of the GPS signal I use the Offline Maps application and I make the same train trip in pedestrian mode. Why? In pedestrian mode, the GPS does not artificially correct the signal to stick to the road, it has no markings, so you can see the actual position. I then use an application to measure the accuracy of the signal. I obtained an accuracy at 3 meters outside, it is an average score and the difference of 3m can be corrected by your gps application which will put you back on the path . The power of the phone will have a major advantage here in updating your map, you will not have the effect of delay between your position and what the map will display. [b][b] I took a look at the GPS frequencies used and I only saw one frequency for each network (GPS, Galileo, ...).[b][b]Top 10 - GPS accuracy ranking
1. Oukitel C21 1m
2. Redmi 9a 1m
3. Doogee S96 Pro 1m
4. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10s 1m
5. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 1m
6. Redmi 9c 2m
7. Umidigi Bison 2m
8. Poco M3 Pro 2m
9. F150 R2022 2m
10. Redmi Note 9t 2m

Number of smartphones in the ranking:23
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:16/23

Note: An accuracy of 3 meters or less can easily be corrected by a good GPS application. Phone performance also plays a role in how fast your display updates, so good accuracy could be compromised by too slow a display.
[b]

Battery range

Capacity : 5160
Fast charge : Yes
W max : 33
Range (100% brightness) : 648.00
Range (50% brightness) : 1688.00
Charging time : 138.00
Discharge speed (100%) : 0.15
Discharge score (100%) : 7.96
Discharge speed (50%) : 0.06
Discharge score (50%) : 3.06
Charging speed : 0.72
Charging score : 37.39
From March 2020, I replaced my subjective battery test with a technical test to better measure the real behaviour of the battery. Now I test the autonomy and charging time under absolutely identical conditions. I perform several measurements, so this test alone takes several days during which I cannot use the phone for anything else.

Battery life - methodology
To test the battery life, I measure the battery consumption every minute in strictly identical conditions to be able to compare phones and also to allow you to evaluate your phone in the same conditions. I rule out any influence of applications that could interfere with the measurement. The autonomy is not linear, the battery sometimes discharges much faster at the end. This is a frustrating phenomenon but with my measurements, you will know if you need to find a charger quickly.

Battery life
The battery of the Poco X3 Pro has a capacity of 5160 mAh and has discharged from 100% to 1% in 648.00 minutes with 100% brightness, it has discharged from 100% to 1% in 1688.00 minutes with 50% brightness. I obtain in this way an average discharge speed of 0.15% per minute with 100% luminosity and 0.06% per minute with 50% luminosity, the consumption is therefore 7.96 mA per minute with 100% luminosity and 3.06 with 50% luminosity. To be able to compare the efficiency of the phone and its influence on the battery, you have to compare the 7.96 (or 50%) score with that of other smartphones, the figure should be as low as possible.

Charging time - methodology
To test the charging time, I always use the same charger with the same cable. I measure the charging time minute by minute to see the evolution of the charge as well as the charging speed. The charging speed of a battery is not linear, it is often faster at the beginning and slower at the end. The charger is compatible with fast charging.

Charging time
The battery of the Poco X3 Pro has a capacity of 5160 mAh and has been charged from 1% to 100% in 138.00 minutes. This gives me an average charging speed of 0.72% per minute and therefore an increase of 37.39 mA per minute. To compare the performance of the Poco X3 Pro compared to other phones, you should use the 37.39 per minute score, this score should be as high as possible.

Important note: the charging speed is not always linear, the graph below gives you an indication of the battery behaviour.

The following table lists the phones tested with the technical battery test, they are ranked in order of efficiency. A higher battery capacity should logically result in a higher battery life but it is not always the case and it does not give any indication of the efficiency of a phone.

SmartphoneCapacity (mAh)Battery life (minutes)Efficiency ScoreBattery life (minutes) / 50%Efficiency Score / 50%Charging time.Score charging
Samsung Galaxy S204000565.007.081217.003.29136.0029.41
Oukitel C214000497.008.051324.003.02167.0023.95
Nokia 5.34000549.007.291096.003.65199.0020.10
Honor 9x4000770.005.191333.003.00151.0026.49
Umidigi A9 Pro4150552.007.521562.002.66112.0037.05
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g4160749.005.551541.002.70163.0025.52
Realme 64300704.006.111104.003.89162.0026.54
Realme Gt4500574.007.841057.004.2687.0051.72
Samsung Galaxy A524500652.006.901239.003.63165.0027.27
Poco F34520657.006.881840.002.46122.0037.05
Poco F2 Pro47001150.004.091536.003.06180.0026.11
Oneplus Nord N1005000808.006.191278.003.91663.007.54
Xiaomi Redmi Note 105000691.007.241728.002.89193.0025.91
Redmi Note 9t5000766.006.532054.002.43148.0033.78
Xiaomi Redmi Note 10s5000636.007.861556.003.21161.0031.06
Poco M3 Pro5000657.007.611647.003.04131.0038.17
Redmi 9a5000694.007.201902.002.63195.0025.64
Motorola G8 Power5000912.005.482792.001.79311.0016.08
Samsung Galaxy A21s5000729.006.861283.003.90166.0030.12
Redmi 9c5000656.007.621915.002.61170.0029.41
Umidigi Bison5000550.009.091471.003.40238.0021.01
Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro5020625.008.031557.003.22213.0023.57
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s5020663.007.571876.002.68224.0022.41
Xiaomi Redmi Note 95020650.007.721808.002.78162.0030.99
Umidigi F25150927.005.561854.002.78299.0017.22
Poco X35160653.007.901654.003.12181.0028.51
Poco X3 Pro5160648.007.961688.003.06138.0037.39
Doogee S58 Pro5180845.006.131908.002.71177.0029.27
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite5260827.006.361609.003.27208.0025.29
Ulefone Armor 7e5500768.007.161140.004.82179.0030.73
Poco M36000842.007.131898.003.16217.0027.65
Doogee S96 Pro6350929.006.841405.004.52424.0014.98
F150 R20228300879.009.441498.005.54243.0034.16

helpHow to read these figures?
The battery capacity is an important element in determining the autonomy of a phone but it is not the only factor. A phone with a large battery may have a shorter battery life if it consumes more power. If I had to take an example from everyday life, I would use the universe of the car. If a car has a large fuel tank, it should be able to drive a longer distance unless its average fuel consumption is higher. The battery efficiency score works the same way, it should be as low as possible and represents the energy consumption of the phone. These differences in efficiency are often related to the brightness of the screen, large bright screens will tend to consume more energy and even if they have a large battery, their range will be shorter.

In summary The Poco X3 Pro has a 5160 mAh battery, it is an above average capacity which mechanically translates into good autonomy of 3 to 4 days in normal use and 1 to 2 days in intensive use.
The battery charge is fairly fast up to 80%, beyond this percentage the charge is much slower as shown in this graph. It took almost 30 minutes for the last 20 percent. This is not abnormal behavior, I have often seen this kind of behavior. [b][b] I got a battery life very similar to the Poco X3, it's normal because it's exactly the same battery. With the screen on to the maximum, the phone lasts for more than 10 hours and with the screen at 50%, the battery life increases to 28 hours. It's not the best score I got, but it's more than enough to get good battery life. The energy consumption is not linear, if the screen is on at 100% it consumes almost 3 times more than at 50%.[b]

Photo camera test

To test the quality of photos produced by a phone, I do a technical test (resolution, sharpness, chromatic aberration,...) in studio (identical conditions) to evaluate the technical part objectively. From the second half of 2020, I built my own laboratory to take completely objective technical measurements. I then take pictures in real conditions to see how the camera performs. I then evaluate these photos according to my criteria but I publish the photos so that you can evaluate the result according to your criteria.[b]

Hardware

Selfie / resolution : 20
Selfie / sensor : Samsung S5K3T2
Resolution : 48
Sensor : Sony IMX582 Exmor RS
mm wide angle : 4.71 mm
mm ultra wide angle : 1.6 mm
The Poco X3 Pro does not innovate at the photo level because it re-uses a sensor launched two years ago. I had already had the opportunity to test the Sony IMX 582 with a Xiaomi in 2019, it was at the time a good photo sensor and it is still the case today but there are other more powerful models. . Poco therefore bet everything on the performance of the phone rather than focusing on the photo as was the case for the Redmi Note 10 Pro. I find it unfortunate but I also understand the reasons which pushed them to do it. If this Poco was a reference in terms of photography, it would compete with other models from Xiaomi.[b]Default app[b]The default photo application has not changed since MIUI 12, it is overall well designed and allows you to customize the most frequently used modes. I repeat it often but the biggest flaw of this application is to display the settings in superimposition of the photo zone and in full light these settings are absolutely illegible.[b][b]

Photo quality

Photo test / studio[b]
The Poco X3 Pro uses the Sony IMX 582 as the main sensor, it is not a new sensor, I tested it for the first time on a Xiaomi ... 2 years ago! Xiaomi has decided to re-use it for several new models like the Redmi Note 10 and the Poco X3 Pro. It is not a bad sensor, quite the contrary, but it is not very innovative. [b][b] For its passage in the studio, I obtain the same kind of result as the other models using this sensor. Under artificial light the sensor produces photos that are a little too dark, this can be easily corrected in pro mode by playing with the shutter speed. The level of sharpness is good, the depth of field is quite low, the colors are correctly rendered. No surprise here, the result is quite comparable to other phones in this price range. [b][b][b][b]Photo test / sunny[b] Main sensor: Sony IMX 582
The weather was quite cloudy for this photo outing, I had beautiful sunshine at the start and then the weather gradually got better overcast and the light quality has deteriorated. These are ideal conditions for testing the camera under quite different conditions. [b][b] On sunny days, the Sony IMX 582 produces good photos with good detail. The photos are correctly exposed, the colors lack saturation a little (the sky tends towards cyan when it was indeed blue), the level of detail is good. When the light goes down, the Sony IMX 582 tends to take pictures that are slightly too dark like the pictures in my studio. This makes it possible to keep a maximum of details, for example at cloud level, but all the rest of the decor is immersed in a darker area. To reduce this problem, limit the presence of the sky to about 1/3 of the photo. [b][b] I have sometimes taken the same photo several times alternating AI / HDR and night mode but I did not find that these features produced good results because the AI tends to give a bluish tint to photos and HDR is not very useful if the light is good. [b][b] In manual mode (introductory photo of this paragraph), it is possible to force the exposure so that it brings out areas that are too dark and give a little more saturation to the colors , the Sony IMX 582 is capable of producing RAW files that you can edit later with Photoshop. [b][b] [b][b] Ultra wide angle sensor
Sensors of this type produce generally poorer photos than the main sensor, there are several reasons for this. First there is the amount of light entering the sensor, the photos produced are often darker. Distortion is another common problem with this kind of sensor. So don't expect to take better photos with this kind of sensor, but I think they are moving in the right direction. The ultra wide angle sensor of the Poco X3 Pro positively surprised me because under the sun it produces better exposed photos than the main sensor and the colors are also more saturated, the sky is blue instead of cyan. On the other hand, there is a loss in terms of details but I find that it is quite limited compared to what I have already had the opportunity to test. [b][b] When the brightness decreases, the underexposure is clearly visible but it has the advantage of keeping the detail at sky level. [b][b]Photo test / cloudy[b]Not yet available / tested[b][b][b]Test photo / night[b]
The Poco X3 Pro does well for night photography as long as you use night mode and limit yourself to the main sensor. In normal mode, the Sony IMX 582 is perfectly capable of taking night photos but they will lack detail and digital noise will be visible. In night mode, it recomposes multiple photos to produce a single one with better exposure and a higher level of detail. Night mode really works for static scenes, I'm still surprised how easily such photos can be produced. [b][b] On the other hand, the ultra wide-angle sensor should be forgotten for this kind of photo, it is not able to capture enough light to properly expose the photo. The photos are very dark and very smooth, the loss of details is really very important. [b][b] Gcam works very well on the Poco X3, I added the mention "gcam" on the photos taken with this application. The result is good, but the difference with Xiaomi's night mode is not really obvious. The advantage of Gcam lies in the possibility of using much more advanced settings but not many people will tire of doing this kind of thing because the results with the default settings are already very good. Gcam is a bit slower than night mode but for very dark scenes like a starry sky you can get very good results. [b][b]

Video quality

Stabilisation[b] I often write that video stabilization is a feature that is only effective on high end phones and so far that was true until this Poco came along on the market. The Poco X3 Pro is the first mid-range phone I've tested that offers decent stabilization in 4k, it's even quite impressive. The pixel recalculation is almost invisible and the jerking of the steps is almost completely absorbed.[b]Video normale conditions1080p video test with zoom [b] [b][b] 4k video test 30 fps with zoom [b] [b][b] The Poco X3 Pro is capable of filming in 4k 30 fps. The quality of the video is quite good, the video is quite sharp, the focus is fast and the exposure changes are not visible. The zoom level is quite good, especially in 4k where the loss of detail still makes it possible to clearly distinguish the geese that I film in the second video. The IMX 582 sensor may not be brand new, but it is still capable of producing good videos. [b][b][b]Video low light[b]Not yet available / tested[b][b]

Audio quality

To test the quality of the phone's audio output, I connect the device's audio output to a measuring tool, then play sounds on all frequencies and measure the differences between the original sound and the sound produced by the phone. In this way I measure the phone's ability to correctly reproduce all sounds.[b]
Frequency Respons : +0.01 / -0.09
Noise Level : -93.1
Dynamic Range : 93.1
THD : 0.00169
Intermodulation : 0.013
Stereo crosstalk : -76.1
Frequency Response[b]This test is intended to test the device's ability to correctly reproduce all frequencies. The white line in the middle of the graph is the ideal situation and the other colors come from tests on different phones. A deviation from the reference line indicates a deviation from the ideal situation. To see good sound at all frequencies, it is therefore necessary to get as close as possible to the reference line.
The Poco X3 Pro is able to reproduce most frequencies fairly faithfully, deviations from the reference are minimal. I compared it with its predecessor and the difference is not very big, the Poco X3 Pro offers better reproduction of sound at low frequencies and slightly worse reproduction of sound at high frequency. To the ear, the difference is imperceptible. The sound quality is good on all frequencies.[b]Dynamic Range[b]This test is designed to test a phone's ability to play sounds at different volume levels. Here too, the phones must be as close as possible to the reference.
The Poco X3 Pro produces quite a powerful sound, more powerful than the X3, and the quality of this sound remains good at maximum volume, the distortion is really limited.[b]Noise Level[b]This test aims to identify if the device under test is able to reproduce sounds without too much noise. A high score indicates a low parasite rate, a lower score indicates a higher presence of parasites.
I haven't noticed any interference problem with the Poco X3 Pro. This phone produces good sound quality, it is undoubtedly one of the best references in this price range. It lacks a little something to be compared to phones like the Samsung Galaxy S10 + but with such a price difference the Poco X3 Pro offers a lot better value for money.[b]Concert recording[b]The purpose of this test is to measure the recording quality of the phone when there is a lot of ambient noise. Since I don't have the opportunity to go to a concert every time I test a phone, I simulate the noise of a concert in a closed environment.Not yet available / tested[b][b]

Screen quality

To test the screen, I use a colorimetric probe that measures the color accuracy of a screen, as well as other parameters to see if a screen is able to correctly reproduce an image. I also test the brightness level to determine if the screen will be able to display an image in full sunlight.[b]
Screen size : 6.67
Resolution : 1080 x 2400
Ratio : 20:9
Type : LCD IPS
% occupancy : 84
dE white : 5.2
dE red : 0.9
dE green : 1.1
dE blue : 1.7
dE jaune : 1.2
dE cyan : 2.5
dE magenta : 1.5
White temperature : 5907
Contrast : 1211:1
Brightness : 470
Colorimetry[b]
The Poco X3 Pro uses an IPS LCD display and I find it a shame that Xiaomi did not make the same effort as with the Redmi range by using an Amoled display. The IPS LCD screen of the Poco X3 Pro offers good colorimetry, I measured a dE of 2.0, it is a very good score but it is in terms of contrast that this screen loses a bit in quality compared to the Redmi range.[b][b]Top 10 - ranking of the best screens by colorimetry
1. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g dE = 0.73
2. Xiaomi Mi 10t Pro dE = 0.83
3. Realme Gt dE = 1.17
4. Xiaomi Mi 11 Lite dE = 1.19
5. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 dE = 1.2
6. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 dE = 1.23
7. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro dE = 1.31
8. Samsung Galaxy S20 dE = 1.4
9. Poco M3 dE = 1.4
10. Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite dE = 1.46

Number of smartphones in the ranking:48
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:19/48

Note: the colorimetric difference is measured in dE. After three, the human eye will perceive a colorimetric difference, so the dE should be the lowest. The tests were all carried out with a colorimetric probe.
[b]Brightness / Contrast[b]I measured a contrast of just over 1200: 1, it's a pretty average contrast and as I wrote in the previous paragraph, it's particularly a shame because Xiaomi has shown that they can market a screen Amoled in this price range. This lack of contrast is not a blocking point but it is visible to a trained eye. [b][b] I measured a maximum brightness of 470 cd / m² (in sun mode), this is a good score that will allow you to use the screen in almost all conditions brightness, the latest Redmi also do better at this level.[b]Light Absorption/Reflection[b]The smartphone screen reflect light and sometimes turn them into a real mirror. This mirror effect makes it harder to read. [b][b]The absorption index below indicates the percentage of light absorbed by the screen. The readability of a screen is better when the absorption index is high.[b][b]
Phone tested:% light absorption
Samsung Galaxy S10+58
Xiaomi Mi 9T Pro52
Honor 9x65
Redmi Note 9s55
Motorola G8 Power60
Realme 654
Umidigi F248
Poco F2 Pro52
Redmi Note 956
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite53
Samsung Galaxy S2047
Samsung Galaxy A21s53
The phones tested have an average absroption rate of54 %

Biometry

The fingerprint sensor is located exactly in the same place as the previous model and that's a good thing, this placement is ideal for positioning the thumb there. The fingerprint sensor responds fairly quickly. From a hardware point of view, Xiaomi uses the exact same sensor on several of these models.[b]

Operating system

[b]Not yet available / tested[b][b]

Encoutered bugs

Not yet available / tested[b][b]

Accessories Poco X3 Pro

To better enjoy your experience with your smartphone, I offer links to all kinds of accessories that you might find useful

Protective cover / case poco x3 pro
Screen protection film poco x3 pro
Memory card poco x3 pro
USB Cable / Charger poco x3 pro
Headphones poco x3 pro
Bike rack poco x3 pro

Compare Poco X3 Pro with the others

I assigned a score of 1 to 10 for each test that determines the strengths and weaknesses of a product. I am using 0 for criteria that have not (yet) been tested. A score of 1 to 3 indicates poor performance (and yes, it does), a score of 4 to 6 indicates average performance, a score of 7 to 8 indicates good performance, and a score of 9 and 10 indicates exceptional performance. .
The score is calculated based on my measurements and when there are no measurements, it is a subjective opinion based on my experience.

The scores are not static, they change over time because the performance of new products changes and this must be taken into account.

Poco X3 Pro
Finish quality7.56.00
Battery performance78.00
CPU performance8.006.5
GPU performance8.56.5
Screen quality7.007.00
Photo quality7.005.00
Video quality7.005.00
Wi-Fi performance8.57.00
Mobile download speed8.005.00
Mobile network sensitivity8.006.00
Frequency coverage8.007.00
Audio quality8.006.00
GPS performance7.006.00
Operating system8.008.00
Overall score107.589
Global ranking
1. Realme Gt 112.5 / 140
2. Poco F2 Pro 111.5 / 140
3. Poco F3 111.5 / 140
4. Samsung Galaxy S20 111 / 140
5. Poco X3 Pro 107.5 / 140
6. Samsung Galaxy S10+ 107 / 140
7. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro 106.5 / 140
8. Xiaomi Mi 9t Pro 106 / 140
9. Samsung Galaxy A52 104 / 140
10. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 101.5 / 140
11. Poco X3 101 / 140
12. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g 101 / 140
13. Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite 101 / 140
14. Redmi Note 9t 100.5 / 140
15. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro 100 / 140
16. Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite 98 / 140
17. Doogee S96 Pro 98 / 140
18. Poco M3 Pro 98 / 140
19. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s 98 / 140
20. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 97 / 140
21. Xiaomi Mi 11 Lite 96.5 / 130
22. Poco M3 94.5 / 140
23. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10s 94.5 / 130
24. Xiaomi Redmi Note 7 94 / 140
25. Realme 6 93 / 140
26. Umidigi Bison 92 / 140
27. Umidigi A9 Pro 92 / 140
28. Oukitel C21 89.5 / 140
29. Xiaomi Mi A3 89 / 140
30. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 89 / 140
31. Nokia 5.3 89 / 140
32. Motorola G8 Power 89 / 140
33. Oneplus Nord N100 88.5 / 140
34. Honor 9x 88 / 140
35. Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite 86 / 140
36. Meizu Note 9 86 / 140
37. Xiaomi Redmi Note 5 85 / 140
38. Umidigi S3 Pro 83 / 140
39. Samsung Galaxy A21s 82 / 140
40. Umidigi F2 82 / 140
41. Redmi 9a 81 / 140
42. Redmi 9c 80 / 140
43. Ulefone Armor 7e 80 / 140
44. Doogee S58 Pro 78.5 / 140
45. Honor 8x 78 / 140
46. Umidigi F1 77 / 140
47. Huawei Y6 2019 74 / 140
48. Xiaomi Mi 10t Pro 57 / 70
49. F150 R2022 53.5 / 80
50. Elephone U5 0 / 0

Test / Review conclusion

[b]The Poco X3 had shaken the mid-range by offering the best price / performance ratio, the Poco X3 Pro managed to do even better by offering even more performance for a price similar to the launch price of the Poco X3 in 2020. Xiaomi complicates the life of traditional brands by always offering more for a price lower than the competition but with the Poco brand they have created a competitor for their own brand. Poco thus becomes a competitor for Xiaomi, only the positioning of the product is a little different where Xiaomi is to be considered as a mainstream brand and where Poco is more oriented for gamers. [b][b] For around 200 € you have the best performing phone on the market in this price range, nothing comes close to the Poco for the moment. So, yes, everything seems to indicate that this phone is made for gamers but don't stop there. The performance offered by this phone is not only useful to gamers, it is also very useful in all everyday tasks thanks to an ultra fast memory (UFS 3.1). Loading apps, switching between apps, and the responsiveness of the phone will make you feel like your previous phone was really slow. [b][b] The Poco X3 Pro is not only a powerful phone, it takes other elements of a recipe that works with for example an ultra fluid screen of 120hz, a large battery of 5160 mAh and a good camera for this price range. The design of the phone is very divisive, it is not as neutral as a Redmi but it is all a matter of taste. I see a lot of comments all over the place about the photo block on the back of the phone, yes it's not very stylish but if that's the only big flaw in the phone it's probably not a big deal. [b][b] The Poco X3 had a big weakness in the network sensitivity, this weakness has been fixed on the X3 Pro, the network sensitivity is now much better. If this X3 Pro corrects the major flaw of the X3, what are its weaknesses then? The Poco X3 Pro could undoubtedly do better in some aspects but we must not forget its price point which erases almost all the parts of this test where the Poco X3 Pro is just average. So I'm not going to look for weaknesses to fill in boxes, if the photo is important to you, there are probably better but that does not mean that the Poco X3 Pro is bad. [b][b] What annoyed me a little every day was a small detail. The back of the phone is made of two types of coverings, when I felt the change from one to the other, I always felt like I had scratched my phone. The smooth part stands out a little more than the matte part and you can feel it when you grip it.[b]Strengths[b]- unbeatable price / performance ratio [b] - memory speed, responsiveness of the phone [b] - 120hz screen well calibrated in standard mode [b] - good 4G and wifi sensitivity [b] - good sound quality [b][b][b]Weaknesses[b]- optical unit at the rear rather protruding [b] - size (size / weight) [b][b][b]Alternatives to this product[b][b]There is no real equivalent to the Poco X3 Pro in this price range, the Redmi Note 10 and Redmi Note 10 Pro are certainly the closest to the Poco in terms of price / performance. For a phone offering the same level of performance from Samsung, it is necessary to go beyond 400 €. Among other Chinese brands, I don't see any direct competition in this segment either, Poco has managed to create a genre in the mid-range. I could compare the Poco to the Nubia or Black Shark but here too the price point is significantly higher.[b]
Subscribe
Subscribe to my YouTube channel to receive updates.

Comments

Join the discussion / Ask your questions

Your comment will be published after validation. I respond to over 1500 comments a year in my spare time, so I can't always respond very quickly. Your email address will not be publicly visible and it will not be used for commercial purposes.









Be notified by email when a response is published