On this page:
Price Poco X3 Pro
Unpacking
First configuration
Finish
Specifications
CPU / GPU Performance
Benchmark Antutu/3DMark
Network performance
Wifi performance
GPS performance
Battery range
Photo camera test
Hardware
Photo quality
Video quality
Audio quality
Screen quality
Biometry
Operating system
Test / Review conclusion
Questions answers

Promo code
Promo code: Poco x3 Pro is still available for 199€ at Goboo.com (EU warranty)


Poco X3 Pro 199€

[TEST] Poco X3 Pro: test / review (take advantage of the launch offer!)

Poco X3 Pro : test / review

Category: Smartphones

The Poco family has grown, two new models were announced at the end of March to be marketed in early April, these are the Poco X3 Pro and the Poco F3. This article will focus on the Poco X3 Pro. [b][b] I had tested the Poco X3 last year, this phone had a good score except for the network sensitivity where it was among the worst phones tested. The Poco X3 was marketed aimed at gamers because it offered a very interesting price / performance ratio. I found at the time that this positioning was too limited because the Poco X3 could meet the expectations of a much larger audience than gamers. The Poco X3 Pro seems to be following the same path taking a big leap forward in performance and here too Poco is aimed at a gaming audience but again I think this phone will appeal to a wider audience. [b][b] What are the changes made by this Poco X3 Pro compared to the previous model? [b] The Poco X3 Pro broadly covers the specifics of the X3 range, it is very similar in size and its design is also very similar, so it is not in terms of its exterior appearance that it will stand out from the previous model. The screen also appears to be identical (size, resolution and IPS LCD in both cases). The weight is the same (215 gr) [b][b] For the photo part, the front camera seems to be the same, on the other hand for the main sensor at the back I note a regression. The Poco X3 used the Sony IMX 682 where the Poco X3 Pro uses the Sony IMX 582. The Sony IMX 582 is not a bad photo sensor but this regression is curious. [b][b] The novelty comes from the CPU and GPU which should increase performance by 50% compared to the previous model, this performance increase will be accompanied by an adapted cooling system. 5G is also making its appearance with the N1 2100 MHz frequency. [b][b] Why should we buy it with so little new? [b] The Poco X3 stood out compared to its report price / performance, it's the same with the Poco X3 Pro, it is launched at 199 dollars from April 1. The Poco X3 Pro therefore becomes the most powerful phone in this price range. [b][b] If you want to take advantage of this introductory offer: Poco X3 Pro at $ 199 (Aliexpress exclusive)[b][b][b]linkManufacturer web site: https://www.po.co/global/[b]linkSite where I have bought the Poco X3 Pro: https://s.click.aliexpress.com/e/_AOTTLS[b]

Structure of my tests

I test the phones according to a pre-established structure (see below) to provide you with as much information as possible. Unfortunately, this takes a long time. Some tests like network performance tests take several days and for photo tests I sometimes have to wait until the weather is suitable to take pictures in good conditions. I am therefore obliged to publish the tests step by step, so I invite you to come back if the test is not complete at the time of your visit.[b]
How are my tests different from others on the web?

- I usually buy the devices with my own money, so price is just as important as you are!
- I keep the devices for at least a few weeks (sometimes more) to see what they are worth in real conditions.
- I answer (when possible) your questions to help you decide before you buy
- no one pays me to do these reviews, so I'm completely neutral and independent...
- My pages are not filled with ads



Xiaomi Mi 11 Lite test / review
Poco X3 Pro : test / review
OnePlus Nord N100: test / review
Poco F3 Test / Review
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite test / review
Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro : test / review
Xiaomi Redmi Note 10: test / review
Redmi 9A test / review
Nokia 5.3 Test / Review
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9T: test / review

Price Poco X3 Pro

The list below shows the prices for the Poco X3 Pro from more than 50 sites around the world. If you are not satisfied with any price, you can subscribe to a price alert to be the first to be notified when the price drops.[b]
Xiaomi Poco X3 Pro Smartphone,6GB 128GB Teléfono Móvil,Procesador Snapdragon™ 860 de Qualcomm,Do...
2021-04-17 09:41
219 EUR
Poco X3 Pro 6GB 128GB Smartphone NFC 6,67" Snapdragon 860 Móvil Versión Global...
2021-04-17 06:21
234 EUR
Xiaomi Poco X3 Pro Smartphone, 6 GB, 128 GB, Qualcomm Snapdragon ™ 860, 6,67 Zoll FHD Punkt-Displa...
2021-04-17 07:44
234 EUR
Xiaomi Poco X3 Pro 128GB Phantom Black Dual SIM...
2021-04-17 07:44
244 EUR
Poco X3 Pro - 128GB - Zwart...
2021-04-17 09:00
248 EUR
Xiaomi Poco X3 Pro Smartphone,6GB 128GB Telefono Cellulare,Processore Qualcomm Snapdragon ™ 860, D...
2021-04-17 06:50
249 EUR
[b]
helpThe above links are affiliate links from companies such as Amazon, Gearbest, Aliexpress,... If you appreciate my work, I would be grateful if you could purchase these products through these links. It costs you absolutely nothing but I get a small commission that allows me to buy the material I test. Thank you very much!

Timeline

04/01/2021 Order of the Poco X3 Pro in presale on Aliexpress.[b] 04/07/2021 I have received the Poco X3 Pro, so the test can begin.[b]

Why this phone?

Since I have to buy most of the phones that I test and don't have unlimited means, I have to make choices like you and sometimes those choices mean I have to buy a phone based on a hunch because no one has it. 'tested before. Fortunately, there are elements that allow me to improve my intuition and among those there is the history of the brand [b][b] The Poco brand reappeared on the market in 2020 after few years of silence, I bought all the Poco that were launched in 2020 (Poco F2 PRo, Poco X3, Poco M3) and each time Poco has managed to establish itself as the best alternative to Xiaomi in each segment of price. So I don't take a lot of risks buying this new Poco blindly. [b][b] The Poco X3 Pro does not bring great innovations, this is also rarely the case at Xiaomi, its strong point is its price / performance ratio. There is currently nothing more powerful than the Poco X3 Pro at this price point. Power is an argument for gamers but not only because beyond performance, the Poco X3 Pro takes the good basics of the Poco X3 which was already a good phone. If you missed the X3, then you can catch up on the X3 Pro with a more capable phone. Gamer or not gamer, so it doesn't matter.[b]

Unpacking

The Poco brand returned to the market in 2020 and has asserted itself with a very pronounced style that can be found right from the packaging. Poco's two basic colors are black and yellow, no other brand uses the same color combination, you can't go wrong. [b][b] The box of the Poco X3 Pro is quite classic, it contains the phone wrapped in protective plastic, a charger, a USB-C cable and a soft and transparent silicone shell. Poco added some Poco stickers in the sleeve with the manual, I don't know if they are for the phone or if you need to stick them on your car but I found it funny. Poco undoubtedly relies on its customers to talk about the brand. [b][b][b]
Length : 165
Width : 76.8
Thickness : 9.4
Weight : 215
Jack output : Yes
USB Type : Type C
Infrared port : Yes

First configuration

The first configuration of the Poco X3 Pro is in all respects similar to the brand's other phones running MIUI 12 with still this partially subtle approach to encourage you to use the Xiaomi cloud rather than the Google one. The phone can recover applications from another phone and it turns out that my last backup was that of the Poco X3. So I used this backup to configure the Poco X3 Pro and I was very surprised by the installation speed of the 81 applications in my backup. This process can sometimes take a long time on slower phones, I didn't have to wait longer than 10 minutes on the Poco X3 Pro. This comes from the storage technology used by the Poco X3 Pro, it uses UFS 3.1 which can double your file transfer speed. So this is not just a selling point, it can be felt very quickly when using the phone.[b]

Finish

The Poco X3 Pro uses the same lines as the Poco X3, we can recognize it by its size and its large photo block which stands out at the back of the phone. The X3 Pro also takes the same type of design on the back with the Poco branding on a smooth strip wedged between two hatched strips. It was already the case on the previous model, I just find that the color effect is more successful on the Poco X3 Pro, I felt less the plastic effect that this kind of phone can sometimes cause. [b][b] For the rest of the phone it's really very classic, the phone is imposing and heavy but it offers a huge screen area of 6.67 inches. It is in any case not in its format and its design that the Poco X3 Pro will stand out. [b][b] When I tested the previous model, I was often asked the question about the gaming orientation of the model. Poco undoubtedly wants to push this phone towards gamers but that does not mean that it is not suitable for non-gamers, on the contrary. It's a versatile phone that will appeal to a larger segment of the population, so don't stop at its gaming aspect. [b][b] I took some pictures of the Poco X3 Pro next to the previous model and apart from the color you really have to look to find differences. [b][b][b]

Specifications

[b]The information below comes from the Device Info HW application. The application provides detailed technical information about the tested phone.The Poco X3 Pro is positioned as a performance-oriented phone for a moderate price, and that's certainly its easiest selling point to explain. I would add to that some other interesting elements like the use of UFS 3.1 memory which has the effect of offering very good read / write performance. In UFS 3.1 the Poco X3 Pro offers a reading speed up to 3x faster than a phone using UFS 2.0. [b][b] The Poco X3 Pro is also equipped with a powerful heat dissipation system which not only helps preserve the components when you push performance hard but you won't either. that sometimes unpleasant feeling of heat when playing or filming in 4k. The Samsung Galaxy S20 is a good example of a phone with poor heat dissipation, sometimes it can get so hot that you are going to want to take your hand away. I did a temperature test by running a greedy app for more than 10 minutes, the temperature only rose 8 ° C to reach 32 ° C. It's a great performance. [b][b] The screen takes the same basics of what Poco has already done for other models by offering a large IPS LCD screen with a refresh rate of up to 240hz. This will make your gaming experience even smoother. [b][b] I took a screenshot of the technical specifications below. I see some differences compared to the previous model like the sound chipset and the magnetometer. The screen does not seem to be the same, that of the Poco X3 Pro indicates a frequency of 60hz where the previous model indicated 120hz. [b][b][b]

CPU / GPU Performance

CPU : Qualcomm Snapdragon 860
GPU : Qualcomm AdreNo 640
Memory (RAM) : 6 - 8Gb
Storage : 128 - 256 Gb
[b][b]The Poco X3 Pro is equipped with a Qualcomm Snapdragon 860 CPU, I think it is the first phone that is equipped with this CPU. So I don't have a reference in another phone to compare the performance but in theory, the Poco X3 Pro should be able to offer a performance comparable to a Huawei P40 or even a Samsung Galaxy S20. These phones cost 2-3 times more than the Poco. The price / performance ratio is therefore extremely competitive. [b][b] The Poco X3 Pro is equipped with a Qualcomm Adreno 640 GPU which also offers a level of performance comparable to what is done at the top of the range. So you can play any game or use any application with this phone and with 6Gb of base memory, multitasking will not be a problem.[b]

Benchmark Antutu/3DMark

I got a score of 486466 points with Antutu, this places the Poco X3 Pro among the best performing phones I have tested. The result does not surprise me, Poco wanted to offer a super powerful phone for a super aggressive price, they took up the challenge because in this price zone, there is nothing that can exceed a Poco X3 Pro ( for the moment anyway). [b][b] Beyond this result, there is also something else that I wanted to mention. The score is the result of several tests including specific tests on the CPU, GPU, memory and fluidity of the phone. The performance of the CPU is excellent, that of the GPU is even better but the memory score is really impressive because we find here the effect of UFS 3.1, the memory score of the Poco X3 Pro exceeds the score of the Samsung Galaxy S20 which costs 3 times more expensive! [b][b] This phone has been positioned as a phone for gamers and it responds well to this expectation but its performance and especially its memory performance make it a particularly fluid phone to use and this would appeal to a audience much larger than that of gamers. [b][b][b]
Antutu score : 486466
Antutu CPU : 137702
Antutu GPU : 192371
Antutu UX : 70259
Antutu Mem : 86134
[b]Top 10 - performance ranking based on Antutu
1. Oppo Find X2 Pro - 605184
2. Oneplus 8t - 595000
3. Poco F3 - 589677
4. Xiaomi Mi 10t Pro - 581650
5. Oneplus 8 Pro - 579417
6. Xiaomi Mi 10 - 579114
7. Poco F2 Pro - 569559
8. Samsung Galaxy S20 Fe - 565000
9. Samsung Galaxy S20 - 503905
10. Poco X3 Pro - 486466

Number of smartphones in the ranking:121
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:10/121

Note: this ranking only contains the phones I tested as well as a few others that I added for reference.
[b]Gaming[b]To test the performance in game, I download the mobile PUBG game and evaluate the in-game experience, graphics level and depth of vision. This game is quite demanding and should help you evaluating the performance of a phone. In-game performance is one of the main selling points of the Poco X3 Pro and performance is guaranteed. PUBG Mobile can run in maximum detail and the game does not experience any stuttering. The experience is therefore very good, but the screen also plays a big role and this is not seen on the video. With its refresh rate at 240hz, the movements are perfectly fluid and to top it off, the phone does not heat up.[b]

Network performance

The Poco X3 Pro is compatible with most 3G and 4G frequencies in Europe, it is also compatible with n1 / 2100 Mhz frequency in 5G but it only offers one frequency, so it will not support 5G in all the countries.[b]
3G frequencies : B1 (2100), B2 (1900), B4 (1700/2100 AWS A-F), B5 (850), B8 (900)
4G frequencies : B1 (2100), B2 (1900), B3 (1800), B4 (1700/2100 AWS 1), B5 (850), B7 (2600), B8 (900), B20 (800), B28b (700), B28a (700), B38 (TDD 2600), B40 (TDD 2300), B41 (TDD 2500)
5G frequencies : n1 (2100)
Bluetooth : Bluetooth 5.0 LE
Volte : Yes
VoWifi : Yes
NFC : Yes
Number measurements : 1876
Average signal (reference) : -91.45
Average signal (telephone) : -92.91
Average deviation reference/telephone : -1.46
Min/Max signal (reference) : -90 / -94
Min/Max signal (phone) : -90 / -96
Choose your country to check if your phone is compatible:


The frequencies displayed below will allow you to see if this phone is compatible with your operator or if you will be able to use it in the country where you are going on vacation.


Signal 4G (before december 2020)[b]The ability to pick up the network correctly is an essential element for a phone but it is only very rarely measured. To measure a phone's ability to pick up the network, I perform a large number of measurements on the same cells to be able to compare phones under similar conditions. The signal is measured in dBm, a value of -90dBm indicates a worse signal than -70dBm. These measurements are therefore taken under real conditions and not in a laboratory, they are not scientific but give a good indication of performance. [b][b]Network signal sensitivity rating
Phone tested:Average signal (dBm)Number of measurements:
Xiaomi Mi 9t Pro-881600
Xiaomi Redmi Note 5-91.305600
Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite-93788
Samsung Galaxy A70-94.5111975
Nokia 5.3-94.98531
Realme 6-95.142301
Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro-95.9221599
Xiaomi Mi A3-95.951000
Huawei Y6 2019-95.951199
Doogee S58 Pro-96.22856
Redmi 9a-96.481000
Meizu Note 9-96.68937
Motorola G8 Power-96.881032
Xiaomi Redmi Note 7-97.011430
Redmi 9c-97.041000
Umidigi S3 Pro-97.131200
Xiaomi Redmi Note 8-97.34879
Samsung Galaxy A21s-97.781000
Umidigi F1-97.82298
Ulefone Armor 7e-98.71000
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite-991000
Honor 9x-99.14899
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s-99.41860
Poco F2 Pro-99.81247
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9-100.791785
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g-100.881198
Poco X3-101.19821
Umidigi F2-101.47712
[b][b]Signal 4G (from December 2020)[b]I decided to change the methodology for measuring the network because I noticed that the configuration of the mobile network changes over time. This makes it more difficult to compare phones because the conditions are no longer exactly the same.[b][b]To overcome this problem, I set up a device that captures 24 hours a day about ten parameters from the mobile network (ex: cell id, rssi, rsrq, snr, frequency,...). I then place the phone next to the device for 24 to 48 hours taking the same measurements so that I can compare them. [b][b] Overview of the phones tested with this methodology[b][b]
Phone tested:MeasurementsAvg signal (reference)Avg signal (phone)Min/Max (reference)Min/Max (phone)
Samsung Galaxy S10+457-93.06-97.39-89 / -98-97 / -99
Xiaomi Mi 9t Pro669-93.69-95.84-90 / -95-92 / -98
Poco F2 Pro1438-91.02-94.99-89 / -94-94 / -96
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g1645-90.77-95.02- 88 / -98-95 / -100
Poco X3821-94.89-103.19-91 / -97.7-101 / -104
Umidigi Bison2343-92.71-96.46-90 / -99-94 / -102
Oukitel C211101-92.04-94.99-90 / -97-92 / -95
Poco M31116-92.09-91.74-88 / -98-90 / -99
Xiaomi Mi 10t Pro1071-90.61-94.03-88 / -94-94 / -96
Umidigi A9 Pro981-90.40-94.01-88 / -95-93 / -95
Redmi Note 9t1201-92.149-91.71-90 / -97-91 / -97
Xiaomi Redmi Note 10999-92.35-93.99-88 / -97-92 / -98
Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro877-89.72-90.56- 88 / -92-89 / -95
Poco X3 Pro1876-91.45-92.91-90 / -94-90 / -96
Oneplus Nord N100896-91.23-96.005-88 / - 99-96 / -99
[b][b]The Poco X3 was at the bottom of the 4G signal sensitivity rankings and I have received numerous testimonials that its network connectivity is not very good. The Poco X3 Pro uses a different modem so I expected the results to be better and luckily it is. I carried out more than 1800 measurements to obtain an average of -92.91 dBm with the Poco against -91.45 dBm for my measuring device. The Poco is not the best phone in the ranking, but it is a big step up from the previous model. [b]
On the measurement graph, we see that the red zone (measuring device) obtains a better signal (best = minimum value) on plus or minus 50% of the measurements, this means die that the Poco managed to do better than the measuring device, this is not common. The Poco X3 Pro therefore has good sensitivity to the 4G network.[b][b][b]Download/Upload speed[b]To test the download speed, I have identified some 4G cells offering good performance where I test all my devices several times to see what download and upload speed they can achieve.[b]Top 10 - speed ranking in download
1. Samsung Galaxy S20 D:351Mbps U: 20Mbps
2. Poco X3 D:232Mbps U: 55Mbps
3. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g D:223Mbps U: 52Mbps
4. Poco F2 Pro D:207Mbps U: 53Mbps
5. Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite D:153Mbps U: 68Mbps
6. Xiaomi Mi A3 D:150Mbps U: 60Mbps
7. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s D:150Mbps U: 60Mbps
8. Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite D:149Mbps U: 60Mbps
9. Samsung Galaxy A21s D:147Mbps U: 51Mbps
10. Huawei Y6 2019 D:145Mbps U: 61Mbps

Number of smartphones in the ranking:30
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:0/30

Note: the theoretical maximum speed of a telephone is often limited by the configuration of the mobile network and the congestion of the network at the time of the measurement. So maybe you could get a higher speed on another network
[b][b]

Wifi performance

To test a phone's ability to receive the network properly, I take measurements near my router and then remotely (and always at the same place). This gives me an average in dBm where a value of -90 dBm indicates poorer performance than a value at -30 dBm.[b]
Wifi frequencies : 802.11a , 802.11b , 802.11g , 802.11n , 802.11n 5GHz , 802.11ac
Download speed : 389
Signal / close : -15
Signal / distant : -66
Wifi signal[b]The Poco X3 Pro uses the same WiFi chip as the Redmi Note 10 and I got a very similar sensitivity score with = 15 dBm near the router and -65 dBm away. It's a good score, the Poco X3 Pro has good wifi sensitivity.[b][b]Top 10 - wifi sensitivity ranking
1. Poco F2 Pro -11dBm
2. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro -12dBm
3. Samsung Galaxy A21s -13dBm
4. Oneplus Nord N100 -15dBm
5. Poco X3 Pro -15dBm
6. Redmi Note 9t -15dBm
7. Poco X3 -17dBm
8. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 -17dBm
9. Xiaomi Mi 10t Pro -18dBm
10. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s -18dBm

Number of smartphones in the ranking:40
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:5/40

[b]Download/Upload speed[b]To test the speed in Wifi, I connect to my router in 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz (if available) and use the Ookla application to measure the speed.[b]Top 10 - wifi download speed ranking
1. Poco X3 Pro 389Mbps
2. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro 367Mbps
3. Samsung Galaxy S20 351Mbps
4. Poco F2 Pro 341Mbps
5. Redmi Note 9t 332Mbps
6. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro 319Mbps
7. Umidigi Bison 306Mbps
8. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g 300Mbps
9. Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite 260Mbps
10. Poco X3 251Mbps

Number of smartphones in the ranking:39
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:1/39

Note: I have a 400Mbps line and a modem capable of delivering higher speed, but I can never be sure how much bandwidth is available when doing a test.
[b]

GPS performance

[b]To test the quality of the GPS signal I use the Offline Maps application and I make the same train trip in pedestrian mode. Why? In pedestrian mode, the GPS does not artificially correct the signal to stick to the road, it has no markings, so you can see the actual position. I then use an application to measure the accuracy of the signal. I obtained an accuracy at 3 meters outside, it is an average score and the difference of 3m can be corrected by your gps application which will put you back on the path . The power of the phone will have a major advantage here in updating your map, you will not have the effect of delay between your position and what the map will display. [b][b] I took a look at the GPS frequencies used and I only saw one frequency for each network (GPS, Galileo, ...).[b][b]Top 10 - GPS accuracy ranking
1. Oukitel C21 1m
2. Redmi 9a 1m
3. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 1m
4. Redmi 9c 2m
5. Umidigi Bison 2m
6. Redmi Note 9t 2m
7. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro 3m
8. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 3m
9. Poco F3 3m
10. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g 3m

Number of smartphones in the ranking:16
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:11/16

Note: An accuracy of 3 meters or less can easily be corrected by a good GPS application. Phone performance also plays a role in how fast your display updates, so good accuracy could be compromised by too slow a display.
[b]

Battery range

Capacity : 5160
Fast charge : Yes
W max : 33
Not yet available / tested[b][b]

Photo camera test

To test the quality of photos produced by a phone, I do a technical test (resolution, sharpness, chromatic aberration,...) in studio (identical conditions) to evaluate the technical part objectively. From the second half of 2020, I built my own laboratory to take completely objective technical measurements. I then take pictures in real conditions to see how the camera performs. I then evaluate these photos according to my criteria but I publish the photos so that you can evaluate the result according to your criteria.[b]

Hardware

Selfie / resolution : 20
Selfie / sensor : Samsung S5K3T2
Resolution : 48
Sensor : Sony IMX582 Exmor RS
mm wide angle : 4.71 mm
mm ultra wide angle : 1.6 mm
The Poco X3 Pro does not innovate at the photo level because it re-uses a sensor launched two years ago. I had already had the opportunity to test the Sony IMX 582 with a Xiaomi in 2019, it was at the time a good photo sensor and it is still the case today but there are other more powerful models. . Poco therefore bet everything on the performance of the phone rather than focusing on the photo as was the case for the Redmi Note 10 Pro. I find it unfortunate but I also understand the reasons which pushed them to do it. If this Poco was a reference in terms of photography, it would compete with other models from Xiaomi.[b]Default app[b]The default photo application has not changed since MIUI 12, it is overall well designed and allows you to customize the most frequently used modes. I repeat it often but the biggest flaw of this application is to display the settings in superimposition of the photo zone and in full light these settings are absolutely illegible.[b][b]

Photo quality

Photo test / studio[b]
The Poco X3 Pro uses the Sony IMX 582 as the main sensor, it is not a new sensor, I tested it for the first time on a Xiaomi ... 2 years ago! Xiaomi has decided to re-use it for several new models like the Redmi Note 10 and the Poco X3 Pro. It is not a bad sensor, quite the contrary, but it is not very innovative. [b][b] For its passage in the studio, I obtain the same kind of result as the other models using this sensor. Under artificial light the sensor produces photos that are a little too dark, this can be easily corrected in pro mode by playing with the shutter speed. The level of sharpness is good, the depth of field is quite low, the colors are correctly rendered. No surprise here, the result is quite comparable to other phones in this price range. [b][b][b][b]Photo test / sunny[b] Main sensor: Sony IMX 582
The weather was quite cloudy for this photo outing, I had beautiful sunshine at the start and then the weather gradually got better overcast and the light quality has deteriorated. These are ideal conditions for testing the camera under quite different conditions. [b][b] On sunny days, the Sony IMX 582 produces good photos with good detail. The photos are correctly exposed, the colors lack saturation a little (the sky tends towards cyan when it was indeed blue), the level of detail is good. When the light goes down, the Sony IMX 582 tends to take pictures that are slightly too dark like the pictures in my studio. This makes it possible to keep a maximum of details, for example at cloud level, but all the rest of the decor is immersed in a darker area. To reduce this problem, limit the presence of the sky to about 1/3 of the photo. [b][b] I have sometimes taken the same photo several times alternating AI / HDR and night mode but I did not find that these features produced good results because the AI tends to give a bluish tint to photos and HDR is not very useful if the light is good. [b][b] In manual mode (introductory photo of this paragraph), it is possible to force the exposure so that it brings out areas that are too dark and give a little more saturation to the colors , the Sony IMX 582 is capable of producing RAW files that you can edit later with Photoshop. [b][b] [b][b] Ultra wide angle sensor
Sensors of this type produce generally poorer photos than the main sensor, there are several reasons for this. First there is the amount of light entering the sensor, the photos produced are often darker. Distortion is another common problem with this kind of sensor. So don't expect to take better photos with this kind of sensor, but I think they are moving in the right direction. The ultra wide angle sensor of the Poco X3 Pro positively surprised me because under the sun it produces better exposed photos than the main sensor and the colors are also more saturated, the sky is blue instead of cyan. On the other hand, there is a loss in terms of details but I find that it is quite limited compared to what I have already had the opportunity to test. [b][b] When the brightness decreases, the underexposure is clearly visible but it has the advantage of keeping the detail at sky level. [b][b]Photo test / cloudy[b]Not yet available / tested[b][b][b]Test photo / night[b]Not yet available / tested[b][b][b]

Video quality

Stabilisation[b] I often write that video stabilization is a feature that is only effective on high end phones and so far that was true until this Poco came along on the market. The Poco X3 Pro is the first mid-range phone I've tested that offers decent stabilization in 4k, it's even quite impressive. The pixel recalculation is almost invisible and the jerking of the steps is almost completely absorbed.[b]Video normale conditions1080p video test with zoom [b] [b][b] 4k video test 30 fps with zoom [b] [b][b] The Poco X3 Pro is capable of filming in 4k 30 fps. The quality of the video is quite good, the video is quite sharp, the focus is fast and the exposure changes are not visible. The zoom level is quite good, especially in 4k where the loss of detail still makes it possible to clearly distinguish the geese that I film in the second video. The IMX 582 sensor may not be brand new, but it is still capable of producing good videos. [b][b][b]Video low light[b]Not yet available / tested[b][b]

Audio quality

To test the quality of the phone's audio output, I connect the device's audio output to a measuring tool, then play sounds on all frequencies and measure the differences between the original sound and the sound produced by the phone. In this way I measure the phone's ability to correctly reproduce all sounds.[b]
Frequency Respons : +0.01 / -0.09
Noise Level : -93.1
Dynamic Range : 93.1
THD : 0.00169
Intermodulation : 0.013
Stereo crosstalk : -76.1
Frequency Response[b]This test is intended to test the device's ability to correctly reproduce all frequencies. The white line in the middle of the graph is the ideal situation and the other colors come from tests on different phones. A deviation from the reference line indicates a deviation from the ideal situation. To see good sound at all frequencies, it is therefore necessary to get as close as possible to the reference line.
The Poco X3 Pro is able to reproduce most frequencies fairly faithfully, deviations from the reference are minimal. I compared it with its predecessor and the difference is not very big, the Poco X3 Pro offers better reproduction of sound at low frequencies and slightly worse reproduction of sound at high frequency. To the ear, the difference is imperceptible. The sound quality is good on all frequencies.[b]Dynamic Range[b]This test is designed to test a phone's ability to play sounds at different volume levels. Here too, the phones must be as close as possible to the reference.
The Poco X3 Pro produces quite a powerful sound, more powerful than the X3, and the quality of this sound remains good at maximum volume, the distortion is really limited.[b]Noise Level[b]This test aims to identify if the device under test is able to reproduce sounds without too much noise. A high score indicates a low parasite rate, a lower score indicates a higher presence of parasites.
I haven't noticed any interference problem with the Poco X3 Pro. This phone produces good sound quality, it is undoubtedly one of the best references in this price range. It lacks a little something to be compared to phones like the Samsung Galaxy S10 + but with such a price difference the Poco X3 Pro offers a lot better value for money.[b]Concert recording[b]The purpose of this test is to measure the recording quality of the phone when there is a lot of ambient noise. Since I don't have the opportunity to go to a concert every time I test a phone, I simulate the noise of a concert in a closed environment.Not yet available / tested[b][b]

Screen quality

To test the screen, I use a colorimetric probe that measures the color accuracy of a screen, as well as other parameters to see if a screen is able to correctly reproduce an image. I also test the brightness level to determine if the screen will be able to display an image in full sunlight.[b]
Screen size : 6.67
Resolution : 1080 x 2400
Ratio : 20:9
Type : LCD IPS
% occupancy : 84
dE white : 5.2
dE red : 0.9
dE green : 1.1
dE blue : 1.7
dE jaune : 1.2
dE cyan : 2.5
dE magenta : 1.5
White temperature : 5907
Contrast : 1211:1
Brightness : 470
Colorimetry[b]
The Poco X3 Pro uses an IPS LCD display and I find it a shame that Xiaomi did not make the same effort as with the Redmi range by using an Amoled display. The IPS LCD screen of the Poco X3 Pro offers good colorimetry, I measured a dE of 2.0, it is a very good score but it is in terms of contrast that this screen loses a bit in quality compared to the Redmi range.[b][b]Top 10 - ranking of the best screens by colorimetry
1. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g dE = 0.73
2. Xiaomi Mi 10t Pro dE = 0.83
3. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 dE = 1.2
4. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 dE = 1.23
5. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro dE = 1.31
6. Samsung Galaxy S20 dE = 1.4
7. Poco M3 dE = 1.4
8. Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite dE = 1.46
9. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s dE = 1.47
10. Honor 9x dE = 1.5

Number of smartphones in the ranking:40
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:14/40

Note: the colorimetric difference is measured in dE. After three, the human eye will perceive a colorimetric difference, so the dE should be the lowest. The tests were all carried out with a colorimetric probe.
[b]Brightness / Contrast[b]I measured a contrast of just over 1200: 1, it's a pretty average contrast and as I wrote in the previous paragraph, it's particularly a shame because Xiaomi has shown that they can market a screen Amoled in this price range. This lack of contrast is not a blocking point but it is visible to a trained eye. [b][b] I measured a maximum brightness of 470 cd / m² (in sun mode), this is a good score that will allow you to use the screen in almost all conditions brightness, the latest Redmi also do better at this level.[b]Light Absorption/Reflection[b]The smartphone screen reflect light and sometimes turn them into a real mirror. This mirror effect makes it harder to read. [b][b]The absorption index below indicates the percentage of light absorbed by the screen. The readability of a screen is better when the absorption index is high.[b][b]
Phone tested:% light absorption
Samsung Galaxy S10+58
Xiaomi Mi 9T Pro52
Honor 9x65
Redmi Note 9s55
Motorola G8 Power60
Realme 654
Umidigi F248
Poco F2 Pro52
Redmi Note 956
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite53
Samsung Galaxy S2047
Samsung Galaxy A21s53
The phones tested have an average absroption rate of54 %

Biometry

The fingerprint sensor is located exactly in the same place as the previous model and that's a good thing, this placement is ideal for positioning the thumb there. The fingerprint sensor responds fairly quickly. From a hardware point of view, Xiaomi uses the exact same sensor on several of these models.[b]

Operating system

[b]Not yet available / tested[b][b]

Encoutered bugs

Not yet available / tested[b][b]

Accessories Poco X3 Pro

To better enjoy your experience with your smartphone, I offer links to all kinds of accessories that you might find useful

Protective cover / case poco x3 pro
Screen protection film poco x3 pro
Memory card poco x3 pro
USB Cable / Charger poco x3 pro
Headphones poco x3 pro
Bike rack poco x3 pro

Compare Poco X3 Pro with the others

I assigned a score of 1 to 10 for each test that determines the strengths and weaknesses of a product. I am using 0 for criteria that have not (yet) been tested. A score of 1 to 3 indicates poor performance (and yes, it does), a score of 4 to 6 indicates average performance, a score of 7 to 8 indicates good performance, and a score of 9 and 10 indicates exceptional performance. .
The score is calculated based on my measurements and when there are no measurements, it is a subjective opinion based on my experience.

The scores are not static, they change over time because the performance of new products changes and this must be taken into account.

Poco X3 Pro
Finish quality7.56.00
Battery performance7.008.00
CPU performance8.006.5
GPU performance8.56.5
Screen quality8.007.00
Photo quality7.005.00
Video quality7.005.00
Wi-Fi performance8.57.00
Mobile download speed8.005.00
Mobile network sensitivity8.006.00
Frequency coverage8.007.00
Audio quality8.006.00
GPS performance7.006.00
Operating system8.008.00
Overall score108.589
Global ranking
1. Samsung Galaxy S20 112 / 140
2. Poco F2 Pro 111 / 140
3. Poco X3 Pro 108.5 / 140
4. Samsung Galaxy S10+ 107 / 140
5. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro 106.5 / 140
6. Xiaomi Mi 9t Pro 106 / 140
7. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 102 / 140
8. Poco X3 102 / 140
9. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g 101 / 140
10. Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite 101 / 140
11. Redmi Note 9t 100.5 / 140
12. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro 100 / 140
13. Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite 98 / 140
14. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s 98 / 140
15. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 97 / 140
16. Poco M3 95.5 / 140
17. Xiaomi Redmi Note 7 94 / 140
18. Realme 6 93 / 140
19. Umidigi Bison 92 / 140
20. Umidigi A9 Pro 92 / 140
21. Oukitel C21 89.5 / 140
22. Motorola G8 Power 89 / 140
23. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 89 / 140
24. Nokia 5.3 89 / 140
25. Xiaomi Mi A3 89 / 140
26. Oneplus Nord N100 88.5 / 140
27. Honor 9x 88 / 140
28. Meizu Note 9 86 / 140
29. Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite 86 / 140
30. Xiaomi Redmi Note 5 85 / 140
31. Umidigi S3 Pro 83 / 140
32. Samsung Galaxy A21s 82 / 140
33. Umidigi F2 82 / 140
34. Redmi 9a 81 / 140
35. Redmi 9c 80 / 140
36. Ulefone Armor 7e 80 / 140
37. Doogee S58 Pro 78.5 / 140
38. Honor 8x 78 / 140
39. Umidigi F1 77 / 140
40. Huawei Y6 2019 74 / 140
41. Xiaomi Mi 10t Pro 57 / 70
42. Poco F3 48 / 60
43. Elephone U5 0 / 0

Test / Review conclusion

[b]Not yet available / tested[b][b]Strengths[b]Not yet available / tested[b][b][b]Weaknesses[b]Not yet available / tested[b][b][b]Alternatives to this product[b][b]Not yet available / tested[b][b]

Comments

Join the discussion / Ask your questions

Your comment will be published after validation. I respond to over 1500 comments a year in my spare time, so I can't always respond very quickly. Your email address will not be publicly visible and it will not be used for commercial purposes.









Be notified by email when a response is published