On this page:
Price Xiaomi Redmi Note 10s
Unpacking
First configuration
Finish
Specifications
CPU / GPU Performance
Benchmark Antutu/3DMark
Network performance
Wifi performance
GPS performance
Battery range
Photo camera test
Hardware
Photo quality
Video quality
Audio quality
Screen quality
Biometry
Operating system
Test / Review conclusion
Questions answers

Best new price:
152.991 EUR
See the offer | EdwayBuy

82 other prices available in other stores.

Subscribe
Subscribe to my YouTube channel to receive updates.
[REVIEW] Redmi Note 10s : test / review

Redmi Note 10s : test / review

Category: Smartphones

The Redmi S range first appeared in 2020 with the Redmi Note 9s. The Redmi Note 10s is a phone that fits between the Redmi Note 10 and the Redmi Note 10 Pro. The Redmi Note 10s should be seen as a phone that will take over the external appearance (size / weight) of the Redmi Note 10 with a little more performance and a better camera. It is therefore a mid-range phone that offers a good price / performance ratio and sometimes it is details that will distinguish it from the other two models. [b][b] Xiaomi launches so many models that sometimes it's hard to choose, so I'll try to highlight things that might tip you in favor of this phone. There is never really a big winner at Xiaomi, their phones are always good at something and not so good at other things, so the choice will have to be based on what is important to you. If for example the photo is a priority with you, I would say that the Redmi Note 10s should be the best choice but I could only confirm that after finishing this test.[b][b][b]linkManufacturer web site: https://www.mi.com[b]linkSite where I have bought the Xiaomi Redmi Note 10s: https://s.click.aliexpress.com/e/_9ulmmV[b]

Structure of my tests

I test the phones according to a pre-established structure (see below) to provide you with as much information as possible. Unfortunately, this takes a long time. Some tests like network performance tests take several days and for photo tests I sometimes have to wait until the weather is suitable to take pictures in good conditions. I am therefore obliged to publish the tests step by step, so I invite you to come back if the test is not complete at the time of your visit.[b]
How are my tests different from others on the web?

- I usually buy the devices with my own money, so price is just as important as you are!
- I keep the devices for at least a few weeks (sometimes more) to see what they are worth in real conditions.
- I answer (when possible) your questions to help you decide before you buy
- no one pays me to do these reviews, so I'm completely neutral and independent...
- My pages are not filled with ads



iiiF150 R2022 : test / review
Realme 6 test, review and price
Xiaomi Redmi Note 7 test, review and price
Umidigi F1 test, review and price
Poco M3 Pro : test / review
Redmi Note 10s : test / review
Poco F2 review - test - specs
Lemfo Lem15: test / review / price
Realme GT 5G : test / review
Samsung Galaxy A52: test / review

Price Xiaomi Redmi Note 10s

The list below shows the prices for the Xiaomi Redmi Note 10s from more than 50 sites around the world. If you are not satisfied with any price, you can subscribe to a price alert to be the first to be notified when the price drops.[b]
Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro 4G Phablet 6Go de RAM 128Go de ROM Version EU...
2021-09-18 07:01
170 USD
Redmi Note 9 4GB+128GB Version EU...
2021-09-18 07:01
175 USD
Xiaomi Redmi Note 10S 6GB 128GB Handy 6,43” AMOLED NFC Smartphone Global Version...
2021-09-18 14:19
251 EUR
global version xiaomi redmi note 10s 6gb 64gb/128gb smartphone 10 s 64mp quad camera helio g95 amole...
2021-09-18 02:38
200 USD
new global version xiaomi redmi note 10s 6gb 64gb/128gb smartphone 10s 64mp quad camera helio g95 am...
2021-09-18 13:45
200 USD
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9T | 128GB 4GB RAM | Android 10 MIUI 12 | 5000 mAh 18W Fast Charging | Octa-core |...
2021-09-18 17:45
213 USD
[b]
helpThe above links are affiliate links from companies such as Amazon, Gearbest, Aliexpress,... If you appreciate my work, I would be grateful if you could purchase these products through these links. It costs you absolutely nothing but I get a small commission that allows me to buy the material I test. Thank you very much!

Timeline

May 12, 2020: I buy the Redmi Note 10s on Aliexpress for pre-order, I imagine that I will have to wait 3 weeks before receiving it. [b] June 23, 2020: I finally received the Redmi Note 10s after more than a month of waiting, it seems that someone came on foot from China to deliver it to me.[b]

Why this phone?

I'm always looking for good deals, I have scripts that run 24 hours a day to find the right prices. I had seen that Xiaomi was going to launch a Redmi Note 10s but I hadn't paid too much attention because I had already bought a lot of Xiaomi this year. I am all alone to do my tests, I have to make choices. I changed my mind when I received an alert for the Redmi Note 10s and its launch offer close to 150 €. At this price, it is a price close to the Poco range and the Redmi Note 10s is far from being ridiculous compared to the Poco range and it is equipped with a good photo sensor with the Samsung GW3 that I tested on the Xiaomi Mi 11 Lite. [b][b] So before overdosing on Xiaomi, I still let myself be tempted by this Redmi Note 10s, I think that this phone will find its place in the Xiaomi range and that it will come to do shade to the PRO version which is barely a little more powerful and which does not offer a better photo sensor.[b]

Unpacking

Xiaomi has standardized almost all of its boxes so it is not on the basis of the box that the Redmi Note 10s will stand out, in addition to its packaging it has a family resemblance with the Redmi Note 10 , we could almost confuse them. The box contains the phone, a transparent soft silicone case, a manual, a charger and a type-c usb cable. [b]
Length : 160.5
Width : 74.5
Thickness : 8.3
Weight : 179
Jack output : Yes
USB Type : Type C
Infrared port : Yes

First configuration

The Redmi Note 10s is the first phone I tested with MIUI 12.5 installed by default, I have never tested this version of MIUI on other phones before. Does this change anything? Yes and no. The graphical interface of the phone configuration is different, the screens have been revised with more space for illustrations and the interface is generally more airy. The configuration steps do not change and the fact of having redesigned the MIUI screens, the difference between these screens produced by Xiaomi and those imposed by Google becomes even more obvious. [b][b] The improvement is therefore mainly of a cosmetic order and the remarks I made previously remain entirely valid with in particular this desire of Xiaomi to try to impose its cloud and its applications is a constant at Xiaomi. [b]

Finish

The Redmi Note 10s is an entry level phone but at Xiaomi using the term "entry level" is not derogatory because year after year Xiaomi has managed to produce more and more phones interesting in this price range and today Xiaomi is undoubtedly the brand that offers the best quality / price compromise. The Redmi Note 10s has a lot of similarities with the Redmi Note 10 (therefore without an S). It has more or less the same dimensions, the photo block is very similar and the material used on the back of the phone is almost identical. [b][b] The back of the phone is made of plastic and offers a slightly metallic reflection of light. This is a recipe that Xiaomi has already used on other phones by varying the colors and the type of photo block. This format is nothing original but I find that the whole is quite successful, it does not breathe premium but the phone does not deform on the back as was the case with the Redmi Note 9. [b][b]
The photo unit sticks out a bit at the back of the phone but this effect is not very marked like on a Poco, this sensor unit is composed of a sensor main (Omnivision), a secondary ultra wide angle sensor (Sony), a portrait sensor (Omnivision) and finally a macro sensor (also Omnivision). Even if the photo sensors are not the same as on the Redmi Note 10, the optical unit uses the same type of format. [b][b]
The screen occupies 83% of the front panel, borders are visible but they are quite comparable to other models of the brand in this price range. The screen is interrupted by a photo sensor in the form of a punch, here too it is quite classic, the punch is quite visible but not annoying. [b][b]
Below we find the usual elements such as the usb type c port, the audio jack connector and a speaker. The Redmi Note 10s produces stereo sound, the other speaker is located at the listening speaker. [b][b] The Redmi Note 10s does not shine with its originality but it offers a really good level of finish for this price range, it assumes an entry-level character without neglecting its exterior appearance.[b]

Specifications

[b]The information below comes from the Device Info HW application. The application provides detailed technical information about the tested phone. I bought the 6Gb / 64Gb version and you will find all the technical characteristics of the phone on the following screenshots. [b][b] Here are the peculiarities I noticed compared to the Redmi Note 10: [b] - The Redmi Note 10s uses the same screen [b] - The Redmi Note 10s uses the same fingerprint sensor [b] - The Redmi Note 10s offers 2Gb more RAM [b] - The wifi chipset is completely different and you will see in the rest of this test that this is a good thing [b] - The GPS of the Redmi Note 10s uses a Mediatek chipset which offers better accuracy than other brands [b][b]

CPU / GPU Performance

CPU : MediaTek Helio G95
GPU : Arm Mali-G76
Memory (RAM) : 6 - 8Gb
Storage : 64 - 128 Gb
[b][b]Xiaomi does not seem to want to bind itself to a particular manufacturer for its CPUs and GPUs, some models are equipped with Snapdragon processors and others with Mediatek processors. What does this change for the consumer? Not much because these processors offer more or less the same performance with sometimes some pure performance differences and sometimes better energy management. The most visible factor of difference between these two families of processors is the precision of the GPS where I have never obtained a precision below 3 meters with a Snapdragon whereas with a Mediatek, I obtained a level precision of 1 meter. The Redmi Note 10s is equipped with a Mediatek processor, so I would expect the GPS performance to be better than the Redmi Note 10 Pro. [b][b] For the graphics part we find the same two families of GPUs with on one side the Qualcomm Adreno and on the other the ARM Mali, the Redmi Note 10s uses an ARM Mali G76 that the 'we also find in other phones like the Huawei P30, Redmi Note 8 Pro, Realme 6 and many more. It is therefore not a last generation GPU but it offers a good level of performance for a majority of users.[b]

Benchmark Antutu/3DMark

I got a score of just over 276,000 points with Antutu, this score puts the Redmi Note 10s above the Redmi Note 10 and below the Redmi Note 10 Pro. The Redmi Note 9T and the Samsung Galaxy A52 are other examples of phones that are very similar in performance. [b][b] With such a high score, the Redmi Note 10s will give you a comfortable everyday experience and you can even play most of the games without having to make too many sacrifices on the level of graphics. Only more greedy games like Fortnite will be a little less fluid. [b]
Antutu score : 276632
Antutu CPU : 84178
Antutu GPU : 90822
Antutu UX : 51274
Antutu Mem : 50358
[b]Top 10 - performance ranking based on Antutu
1. Realme Gt - 811858
2. Oppo Find X2 Pro - 605184
3. Oneplus 8t - 595000
4. Poco F3 - 589677
5. Xiaomi Mi 10t Pro - 581650
6. Oneplus 8 Pro - 579417
7. Xiaomi Mi 10 - 579114
8. Poco F2 Pro - 569559
9. Samsung Galaxy S20 Fe - 565000
10. Samsung Galaxy S20 - 503905

Number of smartphones in the ranking:128
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:44/128

Note: this ranking only contains the phones I tested as well as a few others that I added for reference.
[b]Gaming[b]To test the performance in game, I download the mobile PUBG game and evaluate the in-game experience, graphics level and depth of vision. This game is quite demanding and should help you evaluating the performance of a phone. I was able to use UHD and HDR mode on PUBG Mobile with the Redmi Note 10s, this is the first time these options have been available for a phone in this price range. The experience is generally very good but the application I use to record the videos did not record the video with a sufficiently high FPS, it gives an impression of display delay but in reality there is none. not. The experience for this kind of game is therefore more than satisfactory.[b]

Network performance

The Redmi Note 10s is not 5G compatible but I wouldn't be surprised to see a 5G version appear later this year. For 3G / 4G frequencies, the Redmi Note 10s offers good frequency coverage that will allow you to use it anywhere in Europe.[b]
3G frequencies : B1 (2100), B2 (1900), B4 (1700/2100 AWS A-F), B5 (850), B8 (900)
4G frequencies : B1 (2100), B2 (1900), B3 (1800), B4 (1700/2100 AWS 1), B5 (850), B7 (2600), B8 (900), B20 (800), B28b (700), B28a (700), B38 (TDD 2600), B40 (TDD 2300), B41 (TDD 2500)
Bluetooth : Bluetooth 5.0 LEFaible consommation d'énergie
SAR / head : 0.599
SAR / body : 0.904
Volte : Yes
VoWifi : Yes
NFC : Yes
Number measurements : 957
Average signal (reference) : -92.07
Average signal (telephone) : -97.62
Average deviation reference/telephone : -5.55
Min/Max signal (reference) : -90 / -102
Min/Max signal (phone) : -96 / -102
Choose your country to check if your phone is compatible:


The frequencies displayed below will allow you to see if this phone is compatible with your operator or if you will be able to use it in the country where you are going on vacation.


Signal 4G (before december 2020)[b]The ability to pick up the network correctly is an essential element for a phone but it is only very rarely measured. To measure a phone's ability to pick up the network, I perform a large number of measurements on the same cells to be able to compare phones under similar conditions. The signal is measured in dBm, a value of -90dBm indicates a worse signal than -70dBm. These measurements are therefore taken under real conditions and not in a laboratory, they are not scientific but give a good indication of performance. [b][b]Network signal sensitivity rating
Phone tested:Average signal (dBm)Number of measurements:
Xiaomi Mi 9t Pro-881600
Xiaomi Redmi Note 5-91.305600
Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite-93788
Samsung Galaxy A70-94.5111975
Nokia 5.3-94.98531
Realme 6-95.142301
Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro-95.9221599
Xiaomi Mi A3-95.951000
Huawei Y6 2019-95.951199
Doogee S58 Pro-96.22856
Redmi 9a-96.481000
Meizu Note 9-96.68937
Motorola G8 Power-96.881032
Xiaomi Redmi Note 7-97.011430
Redmi 9c-97.041000
Umidigi S3 Pro-97.131200
Xiaomi Redmi Note 8-97.34879
Samsung Galaxy A21s-97.781000
Umidigi F1-97.82298
Ulefone Armor 7e-98.71000
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite-991000
Honor 9x-99.14899
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s-99.41860
Poco F2 Pro-99.81247
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9-100.791785
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g-100.881198
Poco X3-101.19821
Umidigi F2-101.47712
[b][b]Signal 4G (from December 2020)[b]I decided to change the methodology for measuring the network because I noticed that the configuration of the mobile network changes over time. This makes it more difficult to compare phones because the conditions are no longer exactly the same.[b][b]To overcome this problem, I set up a device that captures 24 hours a day about ten parameters from the mobile network (ex: cell id, rssi, rsrq, snr, frequency,...). I then place the phone next to the device for 24 to 48 hours taking the same measurements so that I can compare them. [b][b] Overview of the phones tested with this methodology[b][b]
Phone tested:MeasurementsAvg signal (reference)Avg signal (phone)Min/Max (reference)Min/Max (phone)
Samsung Galaxy S10+457-93.06-97.39-89 / -98-97 / -99
Xiaomi Mi 9t Pro669-93.69-95.84-90 / -95-92 / -98
Poco F2 Pro1438-91.02-94.99-89 / -94-94 / -96
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g1645-90.77-95.02- 88 / -98-95 / -100
Poco X3821-94.89-103.19-91 / -97.7-101 / -104
Umidigi Bison2343-92.71-96.46-90 / -99-94 / -102
Oukitel C211101-92.04-94.99-90 / -97-92 / -95
Poco M31116-92.09-91.74-88 / -98-90 / -99
Xiaomi Mi 10t Pro1071-90.61-94.03-88 / -94-94 / -96
Umidigi A9 Pro981-90.40-94.01-88 / -95-93 / -95
Redmi Note 9t1201-92.149-91.71-90 / -97-91 / -97
Xiaomi Redmi Note 10999-92.35-93.99-88 / -97-92 / -98
Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro877-89.72-90.56- 88 / -92-89 / -95
Poco X3 Pro1876-91.45-92.91-90 / -94-90 / -96
Poco F31382-90.79-94.2-89 / -94-93 / -98
Oneplus Nord N100896-91.23-96.005-88 / - 99-96 / -99
Xiaomi Mi 11 Lite2875-91.36-91.49-87 / -96-90 / -96
Samsung Galaxy A521427-89.27-93.39-87 / -98-92 / -96
Doogee S96 Pro1259-94.2-91.21-90 / -102-88 / -95
Xiaomi Redmi Note 10s957-92.07-97.62-90 / -102-96 / -102
Poco M3 Pro1247-91.76-102.97-99 / -104-88 / -98
Realme Gt843-96.49-94.02-93 / -101- 92 / -96
F150 R20221002-92.4-105.1-90 / -97-98 / -110
[b][b]I performed 957 measurements in 4G to assess the network sensitivity of the Redmi Note 10s and unfortunately Xiaomi took a step back because the sensitivity of this phone is significantly lower than the best Xiaomi I have tested over the past 6 months. On the whole test, I got a difference of more than 5 dBm between this phone and my measuring device where the Redmi Note 10 got a score very close to the measuring device. [b][b] On the following graph, we can clearly see that this phone never manages to match the sensitivity of my measuring device:
The score is however not as bad than with a Poco X3 but in this price range, the Redmi Note 10 and the Redmi Note 10 Pro do better.[b][b][b]Download/Upload speed[b]To test the download speed, I have identified some 4G cells offering good performance where I test all my devices several times to see what download and upload speed they can achieve.[b]Top 10 - speed ranking in download
1. Samsung Galaxy S20 D:351Mbps U: 20Mbps
2. Poco X3 D:232Mbps U: 55Mbps
3. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g D:223Mbps U: 52Mbps
4. Poco F2 Pro D:207Mbps U: 53Mbps
5. Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite D:153Mbps U: 68Mbps
6. Xiaomi Mi A3 D:150Mbps U: 60Mbps
7. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s D:150Mbps U: 60Mbps
8. Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite D:149Mbps U: 60Mbps
9. Samsung Galaxy A21s D:147Mbps U: 51Mbps
10. Huawei Y6 2019 D:145Mbps U: 61Mbps

Number of smartphones in the ranking:30
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:0/30

Note: the theoretical maximum speed of a telephone is often limited by the configuration of the mobile network and the congestion of the network at the time of the measurement. So maybe you could get a higher speed on another network
[b][b]

Wifi performance

To test a phone's ability to receive the network properly, I take measurements near my router and then remotely (and always at the same place). This gives me an average in dBm where a value of -90 dBm indicates poorer performance than a value at -30 dBm.[b]
Wifi frequencies : 802.11a , 802.11b , 802.11g , 802.11n , 802.11n 5GHz , 802.11ac
Download speed : 325
Signal / close : -17
Signal / distant : -67
Wifi signal[b]I measured a signal of -17 dBm near the router and -67 dBm at a distance, these are good values, they are exactly the same values I got with the Redmi Note 10 while the Redmi Note 10s uses another wifi chipset. The difference between these two phones will be more visible in the download test. The Redmi Note 10s therefore offers good wifi sensitivity.[b][b]Top 10 - wifi sensitivity ranking
1. Poco F2 Pro -11dBm
2. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro -12dBm
3. Realme Gt -12dBm
4. Samsung Galaxy A21s -13dBm
5. Oneplus Nord N100 -15dBm
6. Poco X3 Pro -15dBm
7. Poco F3 -15dBm
8. Redmi Note 9t -15dBm
9. Samsung Galaxy A52 -17dBm
10. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10s -17dBm

Number of smartphones in the ranking:48
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:10/48

[b]Download/Upload speed[b]To test the speed in Wifi, I connect to my router in 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz (if available) and use the Ookla application to measure the speed.[b]Top 10 - wifi download speed ranking
1. Poco F3 398Mbps
2. Poco X3 Pro 389Mbps
3. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro 367Mbps
4. Samsung Galaxy S20 351Mbps
5. Poco F2 Pro 341Mbps
6. Redmi Note 9t 332Mbps
7. Realme Gt 330Mbps
8. Doogee S96 Pro 328Mbps
9. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10s 325Mbps
10. Poco M3 Pro 323Mbps

Number of smartphones in the ranking:47
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:9/47

Note: I have a 400Mbps line and a modem capable of delivering higher speed, but I can never be sure how much bandwidth is available when doing a test.
[b]

GPS performance

[b]To test the quality of the GPS signal I use the Offline Maps application and I make the same train trip in pedestrian mode. Why? In pedestrian mode, the GPS does not artificially correct the signal to stick to the road, it has no markings, so you can see the actual position. I then use an application to measure the accuracy of the signal. The Redmi Note 10s uses a Mediatek GPS chip, chips from this brand usually offer a higher level of accuracy and this is the case again for this phone as I get accuracy at 1m outdoors and this accuracy drops to 2-3 meters in the car or behind a window.[b][b]Top 10 - GPS accuracy ranking
1. Oukitel C21 1m
2. Redmi 9a 1m
3. Doogee S96 Pro 1m
4. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10s 1m
5. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 1m
6. Redmi 9c 2m
7. Umidigi Bison 2m
8. Poco M3 Pro 2m
9. F150 R2022 2m
10. Redmi Note 9t 2m

Number of smartphones in the ranking:23
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:4/23

Note: An accuracy of 3 meters or less can easily be corrected by a good GPS application. Phone performance also plays a role in how fast your display updates, so good accuracy could be compromised by too slow a display.
[b]

Battery range

Capacity : 5000
Fast charge : Yes
W max : 33
Range (100% brightness) : 636.00
Range (50% brightness) : 1556.00
Charging time : 161.00
Discharge speed (100%) : 0.16
Discharge score (100%) : 7.86
Discharge speed (50%) : 0.06
Discharge score (50%) : 3.21
Charging speed : 0.62
Charging score : 31.06
From March 2020, I replaced my subjective battery test with a technical test to better measure the real behaviour of the battery. Now I test the autonomy and charging time under absolutely identical conditions. I perform several measurements, so this test alone takes several days during which I cannot use the phone for anything else.

Battery life - methodology
To test the battery life, I measure the battery consumption every minute in strictly identical conditions to be able to compare phones and also to allow you to evaluate your phone in the same conditions. I rule out any influence of applications that could interfere with the measurement. The autonomy is not linear, the battery sometimes discharges much faster at the end. This is a frustrating phenomenon but with my measurements, you will know if you need to find a charger quickly.

Battery life
The battery of the Xiaomi Redmi Note 10s has a capacity of 5000 mAh and has discharged from 100% to 1% in 636.00 minutes with 100% brightness, it has discharged from 100% to 1% in 1556.00 minutes with 50% brightness. I obtain in this way an average discharge speed of 0.16% per minute with 100% luminosity and 0.06% per minute with 50% luminosity, the consumption is therefore 7.86 mA per minute with 100% luminosity and 3.21 with 50% luminosity. To be able to compare the efficiency of the phone and its influence on the battery, you have to compare the 7.86 (or 50%) score with that of other smartphones, the figure should be as low as possible.

Charging time - methodology
To test the charging time, I always use the same charger with the same cable. I measure the charging time minute by minute to see the evolution of the charge as well as the charging speed. The charging speed of a battery is not linear, it is often faster at the beginning and slower at the end. The charger is compatible with fast charging.

Charging time
The battery of the Xiaomi Redmi Note 10s has a capacity of 5000 mAh and has been charged from 1% to 100% in 161.00 minutes. This gives me an average charging speed of 0.62% per minute and therefore an increase of 31.06 mA per minute. To compare the performance of the Xiaomi Redmi Note 10s compared to other phones, you should use the 31.06 per minute score, this score should be as high as possible.

Important note: the charging speed is not always linear, the graph below gives you an indication of the battery behaviour.

The following table lists the phones tested with the technical battery test, they are ranked in order of efficiency. A higher battery capacity should logically result in a higher battery life but it is not always the case and it does not give any indication of the efficiency of a phone.

SmartphoneCapacity (mAh)Battery life (minutes)Efficiency ScoreBattery life (minutes) / 50%Efficiency Score / 50%Charging time.Score charging
Samsung Galaxy S204000565.007.081217.003.29136.0029.41
Oukitel C214000497.008.051324.003.02167.0023.95
Nokia 5.34000549.007.291096.003.65199.0020.10
Honor 9x4000770.005.191333.003.00151.0026.49
Umidigi A9 Pro4150552.007.521562.002.66112.0037.05
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g4160749.005.551541.002.70163.0025.52
Realme 64300704.006.111104.003.89162.0026.54
Realme Gt4500574.007.841057.004.2687.0051.72
Samsung Galaxy A524500652.006.901239.003.63165.0027.27
Poco F34520657.006.881840.002.46122.0037.05
Poco F2 Pro47001150.004.091536.003.06180.0026.11
Oneplus Nord N1005000808.006.191278.003.91663.007.54
Xiaomi Redmi Note 105000691.007.241728.002.89193.0025.91
Redmi Note 9t5000766.006.532054.002.43148.0033.78
Xiaomi Redmi Note 10s5000636.007.861556.003.21161.0031.06
Poco M3 Pro5000657.007.611647.003.04131.0038.17
Redmi 9a5000694.007.201902.002.63195.0025.64
Motorola G8 Power5000912.005.482792.001.79311.0016.08
Samsung Galaxy A21s5000729.006.861283.003.90166.0030.12
Redmi 9c5000656.007.621915.002.61170.0029.41
Umidigi Bison5000550.009.091471.003.40238.0021.01
Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro5020625.008.031557.003.22213.0023.57
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s5020663.007.571876.002.68224.0022.41
Xiaomi Redmi Note 95020650.007.721808.002.78162.0030.99
Umidigi F25150927.005.561854.002.78299.0017.22
Poco X35160653.007.901654.003.12181.0028.51
Poco X3 Pro5160648.007.961688.003.06138.0037.39
Doogee S58 Pro5180845.006.131908.002.71177.0029.27
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite5260827.006.361609.003.27208.0025.29
Ulefone Armor 7e5500768.007.161140.004.82179.0030.73
Poco M36000842.007.131898.003.16217.0027.65
Doogee S96 Pro6350929.006.841405.004.52424.0014.98
F150 R20228300879.009.441498.005.54243.0034.16

helpHow to read these figures?
The battery capacity is an important element in determining the autonomy of a phone but it is not the only factor. A phone with a large battery may have a shorter battery life if it consumes more power. If I had to take an example from everyday life, I would use the universe of the car. If a car has a large fuel tank, it should be able to drive a longer distance unless its average fuel consumption is higher. The battery efficiency score works the same way, it should be as low as possible and represents the energy consumption of the phone. These differences in efficiency are often related to the brightness of the screen, large bright screens will tend to consume more energy and even if they have a large battery, their range will be shorter.

In summary The Redmi Note 10s is equipped with a 5000 mAh battery, this type of capacity has almost become a standard at Xiaomi. The battery charges fairly quickly (161 minutes) but at the end the last 10 percent take longer. It takes about 35 minutes to reach 20%. [b][b]
I measured an autonomy of 636 minutes with the screen at 100% and 1556 minutes (a little over 25 hours) with the screen at 50%, l he autonomy is not linear and when the screen is at 100% brightness, it consumes 2.48 times more energy than at 50%. This battery life is good and comparable to most Xiaomi phones in this price range. It will allow you to last about 3 days using normal use and between one and two days in more intensive use (unless you play for hours with the screen at 100%).
[b]

Photo camera test

To test the quality of photos produced by a phone, I do a technical test (resolution, sharpness, chromatic aberration,...) in studio (identical conditions) to evaluate the technical part objectively. From the second half of 2020, I built my own laboratory to take completely objective technical measurements. I then take pictures in real conditions to see how the camera performs. I then evaluate these photos according to my criteria but I publish the photos so that you can evaluate the result according to your criteria.[b]

Hardware

Selfie / resolution : 13
Selfie / sensor : Sony IMX355
Resolution : 64
Sensor : Omnivision OV64B
The Redmi Note 10s is equipped with a Samsung GW3 48 Mpix sensor. I had the opportunity to test this sensor in the Xiaomi Mi 11 Lite and I was positively surprised with the result. I have not yet finished my technical tests of this sensor but I see in particular that it offers better color rendering than the Redmi Note 10 Pro which is however supposed to offer better image quality. The Redmi Note 10s is the cheapest Samsung GW3 equipped phone at the moment. [b][b] For the ultra wide angle part, the Redmi Note 10s takes over the Sony IMX 355 which I tested in at least 5 other phones this year. The quality of ultra wide angle sensors is inferior to the quality of wide angle sensors but this Sony IMX 355 is doing quite well.[b]Default app[b] The default photo app of the Redmi Note 10s is the same as on most phones running MIUI 12, I didn't notice any change on MIUI 12.5. The settings at the top of the screen are easy to use and read thanks to the use of the black background, those at the bottom of the screen are still and always superimposed on the image which makes them absolutely unreadable when the scene is very bright.[b][b]

Photo quality

Photo test / studio[b]
I had not yet had the opportunity to test the Omnivision OV64B sensor, Xiaomi usually uses Samsung or Sony sensors. I took pictures with this sensor and the ultra wide angle sensor by browsing all the available modes (normal, AI, HDR, AI + HDR, Pro, night, ...). In normal mode, the Omnivision sensor produces underexposed photos, which is almost always the case when I take photos in the studio. I had to increase the exposure time by two notches to get the correct brightness. The sharpness is very good in the center, but the area of sharpness is very narrow. The graduated vertical line on the color checker is very sharp, but the Google logo on the rubix cube is already in a less sharp area. The fact that the subject is so close to the phone tends to exacerbate the problem, it remains to be seen whether this sharpness problem will still be present for outdoor photos where the subjects are further away. I'm going to do a separate technical test for color accuracy because with the underexposure of these photos, I can't really form an opinion. [b][b] The ultra wide angle sensor is a Sony IMX 355, it is the most used ultra wide angle sensor at Xiaomi this year. I have already tested it at least 5 or 6 times this year. This type of sensor always produces photos of lower quality than the main sensor, but in this range of sensors, the Sony IMX 355 is undoubtedly one of the best sensors. The studio test shows that the Sony manages exposure better than the Omnivision sensor, there are obviously large deformations but this is normal, this sensor is not designed to take close-up photos. The sharpness in the center is a little worse than that of the Omnivision sensor and it is normal for this kind of sensor but the area of sharpness is wider than with the Omnivision sensor. [b][b][b][b]Photo test / sunny[b]
Main sensor: Omnivision OV64B I haven't tested many Omnivision brand sensors and the ones I tested were rarely good cameras. So I had a little apprehension before testing this Redmi Note 10s and unfortunately my intuition was good. Before going into the details of this analysis, I will first reframe the context. The Redmi Note 10s is sold between 150 and 200 €, in this price range there are smartphones equipped with sensors such as the Sony IMX 582 or sometimes even the Sony IMX 682. The competition is therefore tough and to be able to compete with these cameras. , we have to set the bar high enough. [b][b] I chose this first photo because it illustrates quite well what this Omnivision sensor is capable of doing. I took this photo under the sun, the light was good. The first thing that strikes me are the colors, they are bland and the photo lacks contrast. The AI mode corrects this but sometimes forcing the colors to an unreal saturation. The dynamic range is not very wide either because the sky is very clear and the clouds are not very well drawn. The sharpness is fairly average, the foliage quickly loses sharpness. [b][b] I took a photo at the same time with a phone using a Sony IMX 682 and this is what it looks like: [b]
The framing is slightly different but there is only a few seconds of difference between these two photos. [b][b] The Omnivision sensor of this Redmi Note 10s therefore does not reach the level of the competition and for a little less money the Redmi Note 10 or the Poco X3 do better. Secondary sensor: Sony IMX355
The Sony IMX 355 is an "old acquaintance", I have tested this camera on many other phones and among ultra wide-angle sensors are without doubt one of the best. It produces images with all the faults of sensors of this type but these faults (smoothing, blurring, distortion, chromatic aberration, etc.) are less pronounced. [b][b]Photo test / cloudy[b]Not yet available / tested[b][b][b]Test photo / night[b]Not yet available / tested[b][b][b]

Video quality

Stabilisation[b] I haven't yet tested many entry-level smartphones capable of stabilizing 4k video and it's not the Redmi Note 10s that will change the situation. Stabilization in 4k is not effective, the shocks of walking are very visible and are not sufficiently damped.[b]Video normale conditions The Redmi Note 10s is capable of filming in 4k 30 FPS like most phones in this price range. The result is unfortunately not at the level of other Xiaomi models such as the Redmi Note 10 or the Poco X3. The colors are dull, the dynamic range is not very wide and the exposure jumps are very noticeable while this phone is good enough to avoid this kind of problem. The sharpness is not exceptional either, it is the kind of quality that would have been acceptable a year or two ago but today we find much better for the same price.[b]Video low light[b]Not yet available / tested[b][b]

Audio quality

To test the quality of the phone's audio output, I connect the device's audio output to a measuring tool, then play sounds on all frequencies and measure the differences between the original sound and the sound produced by the phone. In this way I measure the phone's ability to correctly reproduce all sounds.[b]
Frequency Respons : 0.04 / -0.17
Noise Level : -93
Dynamic Range : 93
THD : 0.00180
Intermodulation : 0.205
Stereo crosstalk : -84.8
Frequency Response[b]This test is intended to test the device's ability to correctly reproduce all frequencies. The white line in the middle of the graph is the ideal situation and the other colors come from tests on different phones. A deviation from the reference line indicates a deviation from the ideal situation. To see good sound at all frequencies, it is therefore necessary to get as close as possible to the reference line.
I compared the Redmi Note 10s with the previous model (Redmi Note 9s) and I can see a very marked improvement in the sound quality. The Redmi Note 9 did not reproduce sounds well on all frequencies, its performance was erratic. The Redmi Note 10s does not have this problem and is moreover able to cover a wider frequency range, the highs deviate quite quickly from the norm, however, the sound will therefore lack finesse.[b]Dynamic Range[b]This test is designed to test a phone's ability to play sounds at different volume levels. Here too, the phones must be as close as possible to the reference.
The Redmi Note 10s produces a powerful sound with a limited level of distortion, the power is comparable to other Xiaomis that I have tested recently, Xiaomi has undoubtedly re-used the same speakers on several models. The volume level as well as the low distortion is quite comparable to other Xiaomi phones in this price range.[b]Noise Level[b]This test aims to identify if the device under test is able to reproduce sounds without too much noise. A high score indicates a low parasite rate, a lower score indicates a higher presence of parasites.
I did not notice any interference with the Redmi Note 10s, the sound behaves significantly better than the Redmi Note 9s, this new model of the S range is therefore much better than its predecessor but ranks in the average of other phones in the same price range.[b]Concert recording[b]The purpose of this test is to measure the recording quality of the phone when there is a lot of ambient noise. Since I don't have the opportunity to go to a concert every time I test a phone, I simulate the noise of a concert in a closed environment.Not yet available / tested[b][b]

Screen quality

To test the screen, I use a colorimetric probe that measures the color accuracy of a screen, as well as other parameters to see if a screen is able to correctly reproduce an image. I also test the brightness level to determine if the screen will be able to display an image in full sunlight.[b]
Screen size : 6.43
Resolution : 1080 x 2400
Ratio : 20:9
Type : Amoled
% occupancy : 83
dE white : 2.6
dE red : 3.8
dE green : 2.2
dE blue : 2.2
dE jaune : 4.2
dE cyan : 3.6
dE magenta : 0.9
White temperature : 6587
Contrast : 4500000:1
Brightness : 729
Colorimetry[b]
The Redmi Note 10s uses the same screen as the Redmi Note 10, yet I got a slightly higher dE (even in standard mode). I got a dE score of 2.78 with this phone, it's a good score but Xiaomi calibrated this screen less well than on the Redmi Note 10. A priori the difference should not be visible to the naked eye because with a dE below 3, we do not really perceive the differences. The white on the other hand is very white, the temperature of the white is almost perfect and the black is very black thanks to the use of an amoled screen.[b][b]Top 10 - ranking of the best screens by colorimetry
1. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g dE = 0.73
2. Xiaomi Mi 10t Pro dE = 0.83
3. Realme Gt dE = 1.17
4. Xiaomi Mi 11 Lite dE = 1.19
5. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 dE = 1.2
6. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 dE = 1.23
7. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro dE = 1.31
8. Samsung Galaxy S20 dE = 1.4
9. Poco M3 dE = 1.4
10. Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite dE = 1.46

Number of smartphones in the ranking:48
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:24/48

Note: the colorimetric difference is measured in dE. After three, the human eye will perceive a colorimetric difference, so the dE should be the lowest. The tests were all carried out with a colorimetric probe.
[b]Brightness / Contrast[b]I got a very high brightness level on this Redmi Note 10s, I measured a brightness of 729cd / m² in sun mode, it's really a lot. I got a similar score with the Redmi Note 10, such a brightness level will allow you to use the phone in direct sunlight. [b][b] Xiaomi was the first to bring amoled screens below € 200 and the Redmi Note 10s also benefits. The use of amoled offers almost infinite contrast and therefore in this price range, the screen of the Redmi Note 10s is undoubtedly one of the best.[b]Light Absorption/Reflection[b]The smartphone screen reflect light and sometimes turn them into a real mirror. This mirror effect makes it harder to read. [b][b]The absorption index below indicates the percentage of light absorbed by the screen. The readability of a screen is better when the absorption index is high.[b][b]
Phone tested:% light absorption
Samsung Galaxy S10+58
Xiaomi Mi 9T Pro52
Honor 9x65
Redmi Note 9s55
Motorola G8 Power60
Realme 654
Umidigi F248
Poco F2 Pro52
Redmi Note 956
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite53
Samsung Galaxy S2047
Samsung Galaxy A21s53
The phones tested have an average absroption rate of54 %

Biometry

The Redmi Note 10s uses a side fingerprint sensor like on most Xiaomi phones released this year. This fingerprint sensor works really well to such an extent that when I have to test a phone with another type of sensor (ex: under the screen), I tend to turn it off.[b]

Operating system

[b] The interface of MIUI 12.5 has not changed much compared to the previous version. The setup screens have been embellished but that doesn't fundamentally change the experience. The new features are not immediately obvious because they are mainly functionalities that have been improved. [b][b] What's new? [b] - launch of MIUI +: this feature allows you to associate your phone with your computer as offered by Samsung with Samsung Dex. The association is done by a QR code but I think the Redmi Note 10s does not have access to this feature because I did not see it in the settings [b] - security reinforcement, it is by possible example of running an application in a sandbox to prevent a poorly kept application from end up infecting the rest of the system. [b] - a new note-taking tool with the ability to draw [b] - new sounds, live wallpapers [b] - reduced power consumption [b][b]

Encoutered bugs

Not yet available / tested[b][b]

Accessories Xiaomi Redmi Note 10s

To better enjoy your experience with your smartphone, I offer links to all kinds of accessories that you might find useful

Protective cover / case redmi note 10s
Screen protection film redmi note 10s
Memory card redmi note 10s
USB Cable / Charger redmi note 10s
Headphones redmi note 10s
Bike rack redmi note 10s

Compare Xiaomi Redmi Note 10s with the others

I assigned a score of 1 to 10 for each test that determines the strengths and weaknesses of a product. I am using 0 for criteria that have not (yet) been tested. A score of 1 to 3 indicates poor performance (and yes, it does), a score of 4 to 6 indicates average performance, a score of 7 to 8 indicates good performance, and a score of 9 and 10 indicates exceptional performance. .
The score is calculated based on my measurements and when there are no measurements, it is a subjective opinion based on my experience.

The scores are not static, they change over time because the performance of new products changes and this must be taken into account.

Xiaomi Redmi Note 10s
Finish quality7.56.00
CPU performance7.56.5
GPU performance7.56.5
Screen quality87.00
Photo quality6.55.00
Video quality6.55.00
Wi-Fi performance7.57.00
Mobile download speed7.005.00
Mobile network sensitivity6.56.00
Frequency coverage7.007.00
Audio quality7.006.00
GPS performance8.006.00
Operating system8.008.00
Overall score94.589
Global ranking
1. Realme Gt 112.5 / 140
2. Poco F2 Pro 111.5 / 140
3. Poco F3 111.5 / 140
4. Samsung Galaxy S20 111 / 140
5. Poco X3 Pro 107.5 / 140
6. Samsung Galaxy S10+ 107 / 140
7. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro 106.5 / 140
8. Xiaomi Mi 9t Pro 106 / 140
9. Samsung Galaxy A52 104 / 140
10. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 101.5 / 140
11. Poco X3 101 / 140
12. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g 101 / 140
13. Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite 101 / 140
14. Redmi Note 9t 100.5 / 140
15. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro 100 / 140
16. Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite 98 / 140
17. Doogee S96 Pro 98 / 140
18. Poco M3 Pro 98 / 140
19. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s 98 / 140
20. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 97 / 140
21. Xiaomi Mi 11 Lite 96.5 / 130
22. Poco M3 94.5 / 140
23. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10s 94.5 / 130
24. Xiaomi Redmi Note 7 94 / 140
25. Realme 6 93 / 140
26. Umidigi Bison 92 / 140
27. Umidigi A9 Pro 92 / 140
28. Oukitel C21 89.5 / 140
29. Xiaomi Mi A3 89 / 140
30. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 89 / 140
31. Nokia 5.3 89 / 140
32. Motorola G8 Power 89 / 140
33. Oneplus Nord N100 88.5 / 140
34. Honor 9x 88 / 140
35. Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite 86 / 140
36. Meizu Note 9 86 / 140
37. Xiaomi Redmi Note 5 85 / 140
38. Umidigi S3 Pro 83 / 140
39. Samsung Galaxy A21s 82 / 140
40. Umidigi F2 82 / 140
41. Redmi 9a 81 / 140
42. Redmi 9c 80 / 140
43. Ulefone Armor 7e 80 / 140
44. Doogee S58 Pro 78.5 / 140
45. Honor 8x 78 / 140
46. Umidigi F1 77 / 140
47. Huawei Y6 2019 74 / 140
48. Xiaomi Mi 10t Pro 57 / 70
49. F150 R2022 53.5 / 80
50. Elephone U5 0 / 0

Test / Review conclusion

[b]I tend to trust Xiaomi and I often buy their smartphones without having read any reviews on the internet. In most cases it goes well and there are cases where unfortunately Xiaomi takes a wrong step. Xiaomi has flooded us with so much new models this year that the competition among the various Xiaomi models is stiff and you have to compare Xiaomi with Xiaomi first before looking at what is being done elsewhere. The Redmi Note 10s is not a bad phone but it does not compare with other Xiaomi phones in the same price bracket, I am thinking in particular of the Redmi Note 10 or the Poco X3 (or even the Poco X3 Pro depending on the price). 'possible promotions). [b][b] The Redmi Note 10s has a price / performance positioning and in this game, it comes out a winner if we limit ourselves to the Redmi range. As soon as you look across the wall at Poco, you quickly find yourself with more fierce competition. I imagine not everyone is a fan of the Poco design and this Redmi Note 10s might find its place among those looking for low-cost performance without the Poco gamer-type identity. The Redmi Note 10s has a good amoled screen, this also distinguishes it from the Poco which is limited to an IPS screen. Unfortunately, I cannot give it more positive points compared to the Poco. [b][b] The photo part of this Redmi is clearly not at the level of what Xiaomi usually does and as it is an important purchase criterion for many buyers, I recommend looking instead on the side of the Redmi Note 10 (see my test) or even the Poco X3 (with or without Pro). The other weakness of this phone is the sensitivity to the 4G network, it is below average so if there are any of you who use their phones for phones (yes it still happens), the Redmi Note 10 does better. . [b][b] Apart from performance, design and screen, the rest are pretty average. The sound is good without being extraordinary, the GPS signal is average, the battery is average, ... In short, I will not spend too long on this phone, I have seen more positive tests on this phone and I do not understand so I let you judge for yourself the quality of the photos as well as the other points that I put together in this test.[b]Strengths[b]- finish [b] - performance [b] - screen [b] - correct battery life [b] - wifi download speed [b][b][b]Weaknesses[b]- network sensitivity in 4G [b] - photo / video quality [b][b][b]Alternatives to this product[b][b]If performance is not a priority for you, I would recommend the Redmi Note 10 instead. If performance is important, the Poco x3 Pro will do much better in performance but also for many other points.[b]
Subscribe
Subscribe to my YouTube channel to receive updates.

Comments

Join the discussion / Ask your questions

Your comment will be published after validation. I respond to over 1500 comments a year in my spare time, so I can't always respond very quickly. Your email address will not be publicly visible and it will not be used for commercial purposes.









Be notified by email when a response is published