On this page:
Price Ulefone Armor 7E
Unpacking
First configuration
Finish
Specifications
CPU / GPU Performance
Benchmark Antutu/3DMark
Network performance
Wifi performance
GPS performance
Battery range
Photo camera test
Hardware
Photoquality
Video quality
Audio quality
Screen quality
Biometry
Operating system
Test / Review conclusion
Questions answers

Best new price:
119.99 EUR
See the offer | eBay DE

96 other prices available in other stores.

Ulefone Armor 7 and 7E full test / review (comprehensive and honest)

Ulefone Armor 7 and 7E test / review

Category: Tests / Reviews

When I started testing smartphones, Xiaomi was still an exotic brand that was very little known to the mainstream. Today everyone is talking about Xiaomi so I thought I should explore new horizons and choose a Chinese brand completely unknown in Europe.[b][b]The Ulefone Armor 7 is not a phone like the others, it is designed to withstand shocks and the few videos circulating about its solidity are impressive. The Ulefone Armor 7 has a brutal aspect and it is not the kind of phone you will be able to show off with.[b][b]Beyond its rough aspect, the specifications are also interesting, if it had a more fashionable look, I could have compared it to a Redmi from Xiaomi.[b][b]The Ulefone Armor 7 is available in two versions, the Armor 7 and the Armor 7E. I bought the Armor 7E but the test remains completely valid for the Armor 7 because the phones are not very different.[b][b][b][b]linkManufacturer web site: https://www.ulefone.com/[b][b]

Structure of my tests

I test the phones according to a pre-established structure (see below) to provide you with as much information as possible. Unfortunately, this takes a long time. Some tests like network performance tests take several days and for photo tests I sometimes have to wait until the weather is suitable to take pictures in good conditions. I am therefore obliged to publish the tests step by step, so I invite you to come back if the test is not complete at the time of your visit.[b]
How are my tests different from others on the web?

- I usually buy the devices with my own money, so price is just as important as you are!
- I keep the devices for at least a few weeks (sometimes more) to see what they are worth in real conditions.
- I answer (when possible) your questions to help you decide before you buy
- no one pays me to do these reviews, so I'm completely neutral and independent...
- My pages are not filled with ads



Xiaomi Mi 11 Lite test / review
Poco X3 Pro : test / review
OnePlus Nord N100: test / review
Poco F3 Test / Review
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite test / review
Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro : test / review
Xiaomi Redmi Note 10: test / review
Redmi 9A test / review
Nokia 5.3 Test / Review
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9T: test / review

Price Ulefone Armor 7E

The list below shows the prices for the Ulefone Armor 7E from more than 50 sites around the world. If you are not satisfied with any price, you can subscribe to a price alert to be the first to be notified when the price drops.[b]
Ulefone Armor X8 5.7" Smartphone Android 10 OctaCore Dual SIM Handy Ohne Vertrag...
2021-04-11 06:21
120 EUR
Ulefone Armor X8 (2020) Rugged Smartphone - 4 GB RAM + 64 GB ROM, Fotocamera da 13 MP, 5080 mAh, HD ...
2021-04-11 09:41
127 EUR
Ulefone Armor X8 IP68 Étanche 5,7 pouces 4 Go 64 Go NFC 4G Smartphone robuste...
2021-04-11 06:13
133 EUR
Ulefone Armor X8 Téléphone Portable pour Chantier 4GB RAM 64GB 5,7 'Smartphone...
2021-04-11 06:13
140 EUR
Ulefone Armor X8 Baustellenhandy 4GB RAM 64GB 5,7 Zoll Smartphone Outdoor...
2021-04-11 06:21
140 EUR
Ulefone Armor X8 Movil para Construcción 4GB RAM 64GB 5,7 Zoll Smartphone Libre...
2021-04-11 06:28
140 EUR
[b]
helpThe above links are affiliate links from companies such as Amazon, Gearbest, Aliexpress,... If you appreciate my work, I would be grateful if you could purchase these products through these links. It costs you absolutely nothing but I get a small commission that allows me to buy the material I test. Thank you very much!

Timeline

12/05/2020 Purchase of Ulefone Armor 7 / 7E on Banggood[b]05/06/2020 Receiving the phone and start of this review[b][b]

Why this phone?

I usually test phones that have a good sales potential because since I am alone and not sponsored, I have to make the right choices to hope to make some money. The Ulefone Armor 7 doesn't really meet those conditions and yet I took the risk of testing it.[b][b]The Ulefone Armor 7 / 7E is a phone designed to be shock and water resistant, so it is aimed at people who are in an activity that could damage the phone. It is therefore not the kind of phone to be used for showing off. There are many videos on Youtube where the phone is mistreated, here is one from Gearbest:[b][b][b][b]Beyond the brutal aspect of the telephone, it is solidly equipped with elements that could be of interest to another type of public. It has a large 5500 mAh battery, it has a Mediatek processor offering a performance superior to a Redmi Note 9, it uses a Samsung photo sensor (the same as the Redmi Note 9), it is compatible with many frequencies, ... etc... If we disregard its exterior appearance, this phone could very well compete with very popular devices such as those of the Redmi range.[b][b][b]

Unpacking

The box of the Ulefone Armor 7 is much bigger than the boxes I'm used to receive, it's also heavier. The phone alone weighs almost 300 grams but the box is also full of accessories.[b][b]The box contains the phone, a charger, a reinforced usb cable, a usb to jack adapter, a normal usb to c type adapter, a usb to usb c type adapter, a strap to hold the phone and a user manual. [b][b]The design of the box does not leave too much doubt about what to expect from the phone, I felt like unpacking a toolbox.[b][b][b][b]
Length : 165.8
Width : 81
Thickness : 13.9
Weight : 290
Jack output : No
USB Type : Type C

First configuration

The startup of Ulefone Armor 7 does not deviate from the standard Android configuration, Ulefone will not try to sell you an additional product, the startup procedure goes straight to the point.[b][b][b][b]

Finish

ulefone armor 7 7e test avis review recensione opinion beoordeling 9[b][b]The Ulefone Armor 7 / 7E is not a phone like the others, it is very heavy (almost 300 grams!), it is very thick and seems to be protected by an armor. Ulefone does not make elegant phones, these phones are made to resist to shocks. The phone has a rough look but the finish is impeccable, nothing is left to chance. Ulefone fully assumes its position and the phone gives an impression of solidity.[b][b][b]ulefone armor 7 7e test avis review recensione opinion beoordeling 8[b][b]The 4 corners of the phone are protected by a hard coating to absorb shocks. The top of the phone is only interrupted by a small watertight opening to allow the infrared port to be used.[b][b]ulefone armor 7 7e test avis review recensione opinion beoordeling 7[b][b]The bottom of the phone follows the same logic as the top with the corners protected by a shock-proof coating. Only one USB C port interrupts the phone's path. This USB port is water resistant like the rest of the phone.[b][b]ulefone armor 7 7e test avis review recensione opinion beoordeling 16[b][b]The sides of the phone are reinforced with metal and the configuration of the buttons is quite atypical. On the left there is a SIM drawer and a quick access button a bit like some Samsung models.[b][b]On the right side, there is a side fingerprint sensor like on the Redmi Note 9s and it works really well. The usual power and volume buttons are a little bit higher. These buttons are quite small and circular. Luckily they are easy to distinguish by touch.[b][b]ulefone armor 7 7e test avis review recensione opinion beoordeling 11[b][b]The back of the phone is protected by a uniform plastic coating. The photo sensor is almost invisible, unlike most phones today. The triple photo sensor is accompanied by 5 LED diodes so that the phone can be used as a flashlight. These diodes are very powerful.[b][b]At the bottom of the phone there is a notch to attach a strap, so you can attach your phone to your work clothes.[b][b]ulefone armor 7 7e test avis review recensione opinion beoordeling 12[b][b]The 6.3" screen occupies only 72% of the front of the phone, so the borders are larger than average but it is a choice to protect the screen. The screen still offers an important comfort of use.[b][b][b][b]

Specifications

[b]The information below comes from the Device Info HW application. The application provides detailed technical information about the tested phone.I have tested the 7E version and you will find all the features on the following pictures:[b][b][b][b]If I disregard the phone's peculiar design, its specifications put it on an equal footing with more popular devices like the Redmi Note 8 / Redmi Note 8 Pro. [b][b]

CPU / GPU Performance

CPU : MediaTek Helio P90
GPU : IMG PowerVR GM9446
Memory (RAM) : 4 Gb
Storage : 128 Gb

Benchmark Antutu/3DMark

As I wrote above, I didn't expect this phone to offer a good level of performance, yet I got a score of 210,000 points on Antutu, this puts it at the same level as a Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite.[b][b][b][b][b] I got a score of 1187 points with 3D mark, this places the Ulefone Armor 7 at the level of the Redmi Note 8.[b][b]
Antutu score : 210300
Antutu CPU : 80989
Antutu GPU : 40962
Antutu UX : 42094
Antutu Mem : 46255
3D Mark Open GL : 1187
[b]Top 10 - performance ranking based on Antutu
1. Poco F3 - 610000
2. Oppo Find X2 Pro - 605184
3. Oneplus 8t - 595000
4. Xiaomi Mi 10t Pro - 581650
5. Oneplus 8 Pro - 579417
6. Xiaomi Mi 10 - 579114
7. Poco F2 Pro - 569559
8. Samsung Galaxy S20 Fe - 565000
9. Samsung Galaxy S20 - 503905
10. Poco X3 Pro - 486466

Number of smartphones in the ranking:121
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:51/121

Note: this ranking only contains the phones I tested as well as a few others that I added for reference.
[b]Gaming[b]To test the performance in game, I download the mobile PUBG game and evaluate the in-game experience, graphics level and depth of vision. This game is quite demanding and should help you evaluating the performance of a phone.PUBG Mobile runs without any problem on the Ulefone Armor 7E, the graphics are not at their highest level but the game experience is quite comparable to a Redmi Note 9.[b][b][b][b]

Network performance

The Ulefone Armor 7 / 7E offers very wide frequency coverage, so you can use it just about anywhere in the world.[b][b]
3G frequencies : B1 (2100), B2 (1900), B4 (1700/2100 AWS A-F), B5 (850), B8 (900), B34 (TD 2000), B39 (TD 1900+)
4G frequencies : B1 (2100), B2 (1900), B3 (1800), B4 (1700/2100 AWS 1), B5 (850), B7 (2600), B8 (900), B12 (700), B13 (700), B17 (700), B18 (800), B19 (800), B20 (800), B25 (1900+), B26 (850), B28 (700), B34 (TDD 2100), B38 (TDD 2600), B39 (TDD 1900), B40 (TDD 2300), B41 (TDD 2500), B66 (1700/2100), B71 (600)
Bluetooth : Bluetooth 5.0 LE
VoWifi : Yes
Number measurements : 1000
Average signal : -98.7
Download speed : 60
Upload speed : 60
Choose your country to check if your phone is compatible:


The frequencies displayed below will allow you to see if this phone is compatible with your operator or if you will be able to use it in the country where you are going on vacation.


Signal 4G[b]The ability to pick up the network correctly is an essential element for a phone but it is only very rarely measured. To measure a phone's ability to pick up the network, I perform a large number of measurements on the same cells to be able to compare phones under similar conditions. The signal is measured in dBm, a value of -90dBm indicates a worse signal than -70dBm. These measurements are therefore taken under real conditions and not in a laboratory, they are not scientific but give a good indication of performance. [b][b]Network signal sensitivity rating
Phone tested:Average signal (dBm)Number of measurements:
Xiaomi Mi 9t Pro-881600
Xiaomi Redmi Note 5-91.305600
Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite-93788
Samsung Galaxy A70-94.5111975
Nokia 5.3-94.98531
Realme 6-95.142301
Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro-95.9221599
Xiaomi Mi A3-95.951000
Huawei Y6 2019-95.951199
Doogee S58 Pro-96.22856
Redmi 9a-96.481000
Meizu Note 9-96.68937
Motorola G8 Power-96.881032
Xiaomi Redmi Note 7-97.011430
Redmi 9c-97.041000
Umidigi S3 Pro-97.131200
Xiaomi Redmi Note 8-97.34879
Samsung Galaxy A21s-97.781000
Umidigi F1-97.82298
Ulefone Armor 7e-98.71000
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite-991000
Honor 9x-99.14899
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s-99.41860
Poco F2 Pro-99.81247
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9-100.791785
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g-100.881198
Poco X3-101.19821
Umidigi F2-101.47712
[b]I obtained an average score of -98.7 dBm over 1000 measurements, this signal level ranks the Ulefone Armor 7 in the average. What is expected of a phone of this type is that it is also able to call in good conditions and the Ulefone does what is expected of it.[b][b][b]Download/Upload speed[b]To test the download speed, I have identified some 4G cells offering good performance where I test all my devices several times to see what download and upload speed they can achieve.[b]Top 10 - speed ranking in download
1. Samsung Galaxy S20 D:351Mbps U: 20Mbps
2. Poco X3 D:232Mbps U: 55Mbps
3. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g D:223Mbps U: 52Mbps
4. Poco F2 Pro D:207Mbps U: 53Mbps
5. Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite D:153Mbps U: 68Mbps
6. Xiaomi Mi A3 D:150Mbps U: 60Mbps
7. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s D:150Mbps U: 60Mbps
8. Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite D:149Mbps U: 60Mbps
9. Samsung Galaxy A21s D:147Mbps U: 51Mbps
10. Huawei Y6 2019 D:145Mbps U: 61Mbps

Number of smartphones in the ranking:30
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:25/30

Note: the theoretical maximum speed of a telephone is often limited by the configuration of the mobile network and the congestion of the network at the time of the measurement. So maybe you could get a higher speed on another network
[b]I got a comfortable speed of 60 Mbps download and upload. The phone can probably go higher but the antennas I had access to during this test did not allow me to go higher.[b][b][b]

Wifi performance

To test a phone's ability to receive the network properly, I take measurements near my router and then remotely (and always at the same place). This gives me an average in dBm where a value of -90 dBm indicates poorer performance than a value at -30 dBm.[b]
Wifi frequencies : 802.11a, 802.11b, 802.11g, 802.11n, 802.11n 5GHz, 802.11ac
Download speed : 150
Signal / close : -28
Signal / distant : -74
Wifi signal[b]I measured a signal of -28 dBM near the router and -74 dBm remotely, these are scores in the average, so the Ulefone is neither good nor bad.[b][b][b][b][b]Top 10 - wifi sensitivity ranking
1. Poco F2 Pro -11dBm
2. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro -12dBm
3. Samsung Galaxy A21s -13dBm
4. Oneplus Nord N100 -15dBm
5. Poco X3 Pro -15dBm
6. Redmi Note 9t -15dBm
7. Poco X3 -17dBm
8. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 -17dBm
9. Xiaomi Mi 10t Pro -18dBm
10. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s -18dBm

Number of smartphones in the ranking:40
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:27/40

[b]Download/Upload speed[b]To test the speed in Wifi, I connect to my router in 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz (if available) and use the Ookla application to measure the speed.I got a download speed of 320 Mbps with the Ulefone Armor 7, that's an excellent score. I didn't expect this kind of phone to be efficient at wifi level at all, it's a surprising result.[b][b][b]Top 10 - wifi download speed ranking
1. Poco X3 Pro 389Mbps
2. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro 367Mbps
3. Samsung Galaxy S20 351Mbps
4. Poco F2 Pro 341Mbps
5. Redmi Note 9t 332Mbps
6. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro 319Mbps
7. Umidigi Bison 306Mbps
8. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g 300Mbps
9. Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite 260Mbps
10. Poco X3 251Mbps

Number of smartphones in the ranking:39
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:28/39

Note: I have a 400Mbps line and a modem capable of delivering higher speed, but I can never be sure how much bandwidth is available when doing a test.
[b]

GPS performance

[b]To test the quality of the GPS signal I use the Offline Maps application and I make the same train trip in pedestrian mode. Why? In pedestrian mode, the GPS does not artificially correct the signal to stick to the road, it has no markings, so you can see the actual position. I then use an application to measure the accuracy of the signal. [b][b]The Ulefone Armor 7's GPS accuracy test shows that this phone picks up the signal very quickly and achieves a very good level of accuracy. The signal also remains very stable, so the Ulefone Armor 7 is a good phone for GPS.[b][b]A road test also shows that the Ulefone deviates very little from the trajectory. [b][b][b]Top 10 - GPS accuracy ranking
1. Oukitel C21 1m
2. Redmi 9a 1m
3. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 1m
4. Redmi 9c 2m
5. Umidigi Bison 2m
6. Redmi Note 9t 2m
7. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro 3m
8. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 3m
9. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g 3m
10. Poco X3 Pro 3m

Number of smartphones in the ranking:15
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:0/15

Note: An accuracy of 3 meters or less can easily be corrected by a good GPS application. Phone performance also plays a role in how fast your display updates, so good accuracy could be compromised by too slow a display.
[b]

Battery range

Capacity : 5500
Fast charge : Yes
W max : 15
Range (100% brightness) : 768.00
Range (50% brightness) : 1140.00
Charging time : 179.00
Discharge speed (100%) : 0.13
Discharge score (100%) : 7.16
Discharge speed (50%) : 0.09
Discharge score (50%) : 4.82
Charging speed : 0.56
Charging score : 30.73
From March 2020, I replaced my subjective battery test with a technical test to better measure the real behaviour of the battery. Now I test the autonomy and charging time under absolutely identical conditions. I perform several measurements, so this test alone takes several days during which I cannot use the phone for anything else.

Battery life - methodology
To test the battery life, I measure the battery consumption every minute in strictly identical conditions to be able to compare phones and also to allow you to evaluate your phone in the same conditions. I rule out any influence of applications that could interfere with the measurement. The autonomy is not linear, the battery sometimes discharges much faster at the end. This is a frustrating phenomenon but with my measurements, you will know if you need to find a charger quickly.

Battery life
The battery of the Ulefone Armor 7E has a capacity of 5500 mAh and has discharged from 100% to 1% in 768.00 minutes with 100% brightness, it has discharged from 100% to 1% in 1140.00 minutes with 50% brightness. I obtain in this way an average discharge speed of 0.13% per minute with 100% luminosity and 0.09% per minute with 50% luminosity, the consumption is therefore 7.16 mA per minute with 100% luminosity and 4.82 with 50% luminosity. To be able to compare the efficiency of the phone and its influence on the battery, you have to compare the 7.16 (or 50%) score with that of other smartphones, the figure should be as low as possible.

Charging time - methodology
To test the charging time, I always use the same charger with the same cable. I measure the charging time minute by minute to see the evolution of the charge as well as the charging speed. The charging speed of a battery is not linear, it is often faster at the beginning and slower at the end. The charger is compatible with fast charging.

Charging time
The battery of the Ulefone Armor 7E has a capacity of 5500 mAh and has been charged from 1% to 100% in 179.00 minutes. This gives me an average charging speed of 0.56% per minute and therefore an increase of 30.73 mA per minute. To compare the performance of the Ulefone Armor 7E compared to other phones, you should use the 30.73 per minute score, this score should be as high as possible.

Important note: the charging speed is not always linear, the graph below gives you an indication of the battery behaviour.

The following table lists the phones tested with the technical battery test, they are ranked in order of efficiency. A higher battery capacity should logically result in a higher battery life but it is not always the case and it does not give any indication of the efficiency of a phone.

SmartphoneCapacity (mAh)Battery life (minutes)Efficiency ScoreBattery life (minutes) / 50%Efficiency Score / 50%Charging time.Score charging
Samsung Galaxy S204000565.007.081217.003.29136.0029.41
Nokia 5.34000549.007.291096.003.65199.0020.10
Oukitel C214000497.008.051324.003.02167.0023.95
Honor 9x4000770.005.191333.003.00151.0026.49
Umidigi A9 Pro4150552.007.521562.002.66112.0037.05
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g4160749.005.551541.002.70163.0025.52
Realme 64300704.006.111104.003.89162.0026.54
Poco F2 Pro47001150.004.091536.003.06180.0026.11
Motorola G8 Power5000912.005.482792.001.79311.0016.08
Umidigi Bison5000550.009.091471.003.40238.0021.01
Redmi 9a5000694.007.201902.002.63195.0025.64
Redmi 9c5000656.007.621915.002.61170.0029.41
Redmi Note 9t5000766.006.532054.002.43148.0033.78
Samsung Galaxy A21s5000729.006.861283.003.90166.0030.12
Xiaomi Redmi Note 105000691.007.241728.002.89193.0025.91
Oneplus Nord N1005000808.006.191278.003.91663.007.54
Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro5020625.008.031557.003.22213.0023.57
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s5020663.007.571876.002.68224.0022.41
Xiaomi Redmi Note 95020650.007.721808.002.78162.0030.99
Umidigi F25150927.005.561854.002.78299.0017.22
Poco X35160653.007.901654.003.12181.0028.51
Doogee S58 Pro5180845.006.131908.002.71177.0029.27
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite5260827.006.361609.003.27208.0025.29
Ulefone Armor 7e5500768.007.161140.004.82179.0030.73
Poco M36000842.007.131898.003.16217.0027.65

helpHow to read these figures?
The battery capacity is an important element in determining the autonomy of a phone but it is not the only factor. A phone with a large battery may have a shorter battery life if it consumes more power. If I had to take an example from everyday life, I would use the universe of the car. If a car has a large fuel tank, it should be able to drive a longer distance unless its average fuel consumption is higher. The battery efficiency score works the same way, it should be as low as possible and represents the energy consumption of the phone. These differences in efficiency are often related to the brightness of the screen, large bright screens will tend to consume more energy and even if they have a large battery, their range will be shorter.

In summary [battery product="ulefone-armor-7e" capa="5500" lg="en"][b][b]The Ulefone 7E is equipped with a 5500 mAh battery, this is the largest battery I've tested so far and no surprise, this battery will allow you to last several days of autonomy.[b][b]If I look at the results of my tests, I see that despite the good battery life, the Ulefone does not have an efficient power management. If I compare it with the Motorola G8 Power which has a 5000 mAh battery, the Ulefone holds 19 hours with 50% brightness where the Motorola holds more than 40 hours with less battery capacity.[b][b]

Photo camera test

To test the quality of photos produced by a phone, I do a technical test (resolution, sharpness, chromatic aberration,...) in studio (identical conditions) to evaluate the technical part objectively. From the second half of 2020, I built my own laboratory to take completely objective technical measurements. I then take pictures in real conditions to see how the camera performs. I then evaluate these photos according to my criteria but I publish the photos so that you can evaluate the result according to your criteria.[b]

Hardware

Selfie / resolution : 16
Resolution : 48
Sensor : Samsung S5KGM1
Video resolution : 2160p
mm wide angle : 5.43 mm
mm ultra wide angle : 2.13 mm
The Ulefone Armor 7 / 7E is equipped with a 48 million pixel Samsung S5KGM1 sensor, this sensor is used in many other phones. This sensor is capable of producing good photos but the final result always depends on the processing applied to the photo.[b][b]Default app[b]The default photo application of the Ulefone Armor 7 is a bit atypical like the rest of the phone. It offers a limited number of choices, which makes the application easier except for one thing: the choice of the sensor. Most phones allow you to switch from one sensor to another by choosing the zoom level directly from the main screen, this choice is not available on the Ulefone. You have to go to the settings and choose the image size to change the sensor. This is far from being practical because the image size tells you nothing about the focal length used.[b][b]The photo application seems to apply a color treatment to the photos that makes the colors cooler and it's a pity because this sensor has already proven itself in other cameras.[b][b]I tried Gcam and OpenCam to check if the color problem was still present and unfortunately it is the case. You can however use settings in these applications that will alleviate the problem.[b][b][b][b]

Photoquality

Photo test / studio[b]To test the Ulefone Armor 7 in the studio, I mainly focused on the different photo modes available. So I took again the same scene without filter, with/without HDR, in 64 million pixels, ...[b][b]ulefone armor 7e test review avis recensione prueba opinion beoordeling specifications 6[b][b][b]The different photo modes don't change much to the basic image, the colorimetry is sometimes different, but this is not obvious.[b][b]I find that the sensor of the Ulefone has interesting optical qualities because the photo offers a good level of sharpness, the blurs are not too aggressive and I don't see any distortion despite the use of a 2.8mm sensor. The only big defect of the image is the too cold coloring, this problem is even more visible on pictures taken outdoors.[b][b][b][b][b]Photo test / sunny[b]First example: ƒ/1.7 1/5618 2.8 mm 118 ISO[b][b][b]Exposure: slightly underexposed[b]Sharpness: good[b]Colours: cold[b]Depth of field: good[b]Distortion: none[b]Chromatic aberration: none[b]Vignetting: none[b]Digital noise: none[b][b]The ultra-wide angle module of this phone produces technically correct photos if you look at elements such as sharpness or depth of field. Unfortunately, there is an element that spoils everything: the color temperature is much too low and completely distorts the photo. This is a great pity because with the right colour temperature, the photo would have been good.[b][b]Second example: ƒ/1,7 1/6369 2,8 mm 125 ISO[b][b][b]Exposure: slightly underexposed[b]Sharpness: good[b]Colours: cold[b]Depth of field: good[b]Distortion: none[b]Chromatic aberration: none[b]Vignetting: none[b]Digital noise: none[b][b]Here too it is the same and it is the same for all the photos that will follow. The color treatment of the Ulefone is bad. It's a problem related to the photo processing because when I force a higher color temperature, the colors come much closer to reality, so the problem can be circumvented by the PRO mode or another application but it's not normal. A phone should be able to take correct pictures without the user having to make any effort.[b][b][b][b][b]Photo test / cloudy[b]Not yet available / tested[b][b][b]Test photo / night[b]Not yet available / tested[b][b][b]

Video quality

Stabilisation[b]The Ulefone Armor 7 doesn't have video stabilization, so the shakes are clearly visible as on the following video:[b][b][b]Video normale conditionsThe Ulefone Armor 7 produces videos with colors that are too cold, it's the same problem as for photos. [b][b][b][b]Video low light[b]Not yet available / tested[b][b]

Audio quality

To test the quality of the phone's audio output, I connect the device's audio output to a measuring tool, then play sounds on all frequencies and measure the differences between the original sound and the sound produced by the phone. In this way I measure the phone's ability to correctly reproduce all sounds.[b]
Frequency Respons : 0.33 / -0.64
Noise Level : -81.4
Dynamic Range : 81.7
THD : 24.479
Intermodulation : 22.279
Stereo crosstalk : -78.6
The Ulefone Armor 7 is not a phone designed for music, so I didn't expect to discover an extraordinary phone for the audio quality test.[b][b]In reality, the Ulefone is a phone in the average price range. It produces an acceptable sound but if you push the volume up, the sound will be of poor quality. The level of distortion is very important.[b][b]Frequency Response[b]This test is intended to test the device's ability to correctly reproduce all frequencies. The white line in the middle of the graph is the ideal situation and the other colors come from tests on different phones. A deviation from the reference line indicates a deviation from the ideal situation. To see good sound at all frequencies, it is therefore necessary to get as close as possible to the reference line. ulefone armor 7 frequency respons[b][b]The Ulefone Armor is capable of reproducing most of the frequencies correctly as long as the volume is not pushed to the maximum. It detaches itself more quickly from the reference in high-pitched sounds.[b][b]Dynamic Range[b]This test is designed to test a phone's ability to play sounds at different volume levels. Here too, the phones must be as close as possible to the reference.ulefone armor 7 dynamic range[b][b]Volume plays a big role in the ability to reproduce sound correctly. The sound produced by the Ulefone is not very powerful and when pushed to the maximum, the distortion is very high.[b][b]Noise Level[b]This test aims to identify if the device under test is able to reproduce sounds without too much noise. A high score indicates a low parasite rate, a lower score indicates a higher presence of parasites.ulefone armor 7 noise level[b][b]The sound quality of the Ulefone is similar to what I have been able to test in the same price range, the difference is mainly in the power of the sound where the Ulefone is far below average.[b][b]As I mentioned above, this Ulefone was not designed to be a music phone and therefore it does not deliver a high level of performance but this is quite normal.[b][b]Concert recording[b]The purpose of this test is to measure the recording quality of the phone when there is a lot of ambient noise. Since I don't have the opportunity to go to a concert every time I test a phone, I simulate the noise of a concert in a closed environment.Not yet available / tested[b][b]

Screen quality

To test the screen, I use a colorimetric probe that measures the color accuracy of a screen, as well as other parameters to see if a screen is able to correctly reproduce an image. I also test the brightness level to determine if the screen will be able to display an image in full sunlight.[b]
Screen size : 6.3
Resolution : 1080 x 2400
Ratio : 19.5:9
Protection : Corning Gorilla Glass 5
Type : IPS LCD
% occupancy : 72
dE white : 8.5
dE red : 3.4
dE green : 5.7
dE blue : 6.1
dE jaune : 7.5
dE cyan : 4.0
dE magenta : 4.7
White temperature : 7552
Contrast : 1455:1
Brightness : 361
Colorimetry[b][b][b]The Ulefone Armor 7 screen does not produce correct colorimetry, the colors are too cold. I measured a temperature of 7500k for the whites, it's much too high and it makes the whites a little blue. The other colors are on the other hand more faithful to reality. In the end I get a dE of 5.7, it's not the best screen on the market but it's far from being the worst. This screen is in the average.[b][b][b][b]Top 10 - ranking of the best screens by colorimetry
1. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g dE = 0.73
2. Xiaomi Mi 10t Pro dE = 0.83
3. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 dE = 1.2
4. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 dE = 1.23
5. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro dE = 1.31
6. Samsung Galaxy S20 dE = 1.4
7. Poco M3 dE = 1.4
8. Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite dE = 1.46
9. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s dE = 1.47
10. Honor 9x dE = 1.5

Number of smartphones in the ranking:40
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:33/40

Note: the colorimetric difference is measured in dE. After three, the human eye will perceive a colorimetric difference, so the dE should be the lowest. The tests were all carried out with a colorimetric probe.
[b]Brightness / Contrast[b]I measured a brightness of 361 cd/m by setting the brightness to the maximum, this brightness can still increase when the phone is exposed to strong light. The display is readable in bright light but it would need just a little more brightness to be usable in all conditions. Screen protection also seems to play a role in light reflection.[b][b] The Ulefone Armor 7E's screen offers a contrast ratio of 1455:1, which puts it in the average range of screens of this type.[b][b]Light Absorption/Reflection[b]The smartphone screen reflect light and sometimes turn them into a real mirror. This mirror effect makes it harder to read. [b][b]The absorption index below indicates the percentage of light absorbed by the screen. The readability of a screen is better when the absorption index is high.[b][b]
Phone tested:% light absorption
Samsung Galaxy S10+58
Xiaomi Mi 9T Pro52
Honor 9x65
Redmi Note 9s55
Motorola G8 Power60
Realme 654
Umidigi F248
Poco F2 Pro52
Redmi Note 956
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite53
Samsung Galaxy S2047
Samsung Galaxy A21s53
The phones tested have an average absroption rate of54 %

Biometry

Not yet available / tested[b][b]

Operating system

The Ulefone Armor 7 runs Android 9, it's quite rare to still find phones launched in 2020 that run Android 9. This shouldn't stop you from taking full advantage of the phone but as this is the first Ulefone I've bought, I don't know if Ulefone offers a good update tracking. It will take a few more years anyway before Android 9 is completely discontinued.[b][b][b]

Encoutered bugs

Not yet available / tested[b][b]

Accessories Ulefone Armor 7E

To better enjoy your experience with your smartphone, I offer links to all kinds of accessories that you might find useful

Protective cover / case ulefone armor 7e
Screen protection film ulefone armor 7e
Memory card ulefone armor 7e
USB Cable / Charger ulefone armor 7e
Headphones ulefone armor 7e
Bike rack ulefone armor 7e

Compare Ulefone Armor 7E with the others

I assigned a score of 1 to 10 for each test that determines the strengths and weaknesses of a product. I am using 0 for criteria that have not (yet) been tested. A score of 1 to 3 indicates poor performance (and yes, it does), a score of 4 to 6 indicates average performance, a score of 7 to 8 indicates good performance, and a score of 9 and 10 indicates exceptional performance. .
The score is calculated based on my measurements and when there are no measurements, it is a subjective opinion based on my experience.

The scores are not static, they change over time because the performance of new products changes and this must be taken into account.

Ulefone Armor 7E
Finish quality5.006.00
Battery performance6.008.00
CPU performance6.006.5
GPU performance6.006.5
Screen quality5.007.00
Photo quality4.005.00
Video quality4.005.00
Wi-Fi performance5.007.00
Mobile download speed5.005.00
Mobile network sensitivity7.006.00
Frequency coverage7.007.00
Audio quality5.006.00
GPS performance8.006.00
Operating system7.008.00
Overall score8089
Global ranking
1. Samsung Galaxy S20 112 / 140
2. Poco F2 Pro 111 / 140
3. Samsung Galaxy S10+ 107 / 140
4. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro 106.5 / 140
5. Xiaomi Mi 9t Pro 106 / 140
6. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 102 / 140
7. Poco X3 102 / 140
8. Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite 101 / 140
9. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g 101 / 140
10. Redmi Note 9t 100.5 / 140
11. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro 100 / 140
12. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s 98 / 140
13. Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite 98 / 140
14. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 97 / 140
15. Poco M3 95.5 / 140
16. Xiaomi Redmi Note 7 94 / 140
17. Realme 6 93 / 140
18. Umidigi A9 Pro 92 / 140
19. Umidigi Bison 92 / 140
20. Oukitel C21 89.5 / 140
21. Motorola G8 Power 89 / 140
22. Nokia 5.3 89 / 140
23. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 89 / 140
24. Xiaomi Mi A3 89 / 140
25. Oneplus Nord N100 88.5 / 140
26. Honor 9x 88 / 140
27. Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite 86 / 140
28. Meizu Note 9 86 / 140
29. Xiaomi Redmi Note 5 85 / 140
30. Umidigi S3 Pro 83 / 140
31. Samsung Galaxy A21s 82 / 140
32. Umidigi F2 82 / 140
33. Redmi 9a 81 / 140
34. Redmi 9c 80 / 140
35. Ulefone Armor 7e 80 / 140
36. Doogee S58 Pro 78.5 / 140
37. Honor 8x 78 / 140
38. Umidigi F1 77 / 140
39. Huawei Y6 2019 74 / 140
40. Poco X3 Pro 71.5 / 90
41. Xiaomi Mi 10t Pro 57 / 70
42. Elephone U5 0 / 0

Test / Review conclusion

The Ulefone Armor 7 / 7E is an atypical phone which is mainly aimed at a public looking for a solid phone. The Ulefone is heavy, it is imposing and looks like a phone from a science fiction movie from the 80s. [b][b]It's not a phone you should buy for its photo or video quality, but it offers everything a modern smartphone can offer like a large screen, a good battery life, it runs on Android and will meet most of your daily needs.[b][b]I was positively surprised by this phone because it is reliable and powerful. Its network performance is good, it picks up the GPS well and the phone is responsive on a daily basis.[b][b]I have not tested this phone in detail as I usually do because some tests don't make much sense. By buying this phone, you are not buying a fashionable object, you are buying a work tool.[b][b][b]Strengths[b]Solidity[b]Autonomy[b]powerful LED[b]Big screen[b][b][b]Weaknesses[b]Photo/video[b]Weight/Height[b][b][b]Alternatives to this product[b][b]

Comments

Join the discussion / Ask your questions

Your comment will be published after validation. I respond to over 1500 comments a year in my spare time, so I can't always respond very quickly. Your email address will not be publicly visible and it will not be used for commercial purposes.









Be notified by email when a response is published