On this page:
Price Umidigi Bison
Unpacking
First configuration
Finish
Specifications
CPU / GPU Performance
Benchmark Antutu/3DMark
Network performance
Wifi performance
GPS performance
Battery range
Photo camera test
Hardware
Photoquality
Video quality
Audio quality
Screen quality
Biometry
Operating system
Test / Review conclusion
Questions answers

Best new price:
158.39 EUR
See the offer | eBay DE

37 other prices available in other stores.

Umidigi Bison : test / review

Umidigi Bison: test / review

Category: Tests / Reviews

I started testing smartphones known to be unbreakable with the Ulefone Armor 7, I didn't expect much but I was positively surprised by the phone but also by the number of visitors for this test.[b][b]I made a second attempt with the Doogee S58 Pro and came to the same conclusion. So I let myself be tempted by the Umidigi Bison which offers a better price/performance ratio than the other two. From an aesthetic point of view, it also stands out from the other two, it has a less rough and more neat appearance. [b][b]The Umidigi brand is not very well known in Europe but this is the fourth model of this brand that I'm testing, so I'm going to see if this small Chinese manufacturer has progressed since my last test.[b][b][b][b][b]linkManufacturer web site: https://www.umidigi.com[b]linkSite where I have bought the Umidigi Bison: https://www.banggood.com/custlink/mm3YFkWmjy[b]

Structure of my tests

I test the phones according to a pre-established structure (see below) to provide you with as much information as possible. Unfortunately, this takes a long time. Some tests like network performance tests take several days and for photo tests I sometimes have to wait until the weather is suitable to take pictures in good conditions. I am therefore obliged to publish the tests step by step, so I invite you to come back if the test is not complete at the time of your visit.[b]
How are my tests different from others on the web?

- I usually buy the devices with my own money, so price is just as important as you are!
- I keep the devices for at least a few weeks (sometimes more) to see what they are worth in real conditions.
- I answer (when possible) your questions to help you decide before you buy
- no one pays me to do these reviews, so I'm completely neutral and independent...
- My pages are not filled with ads



Xiaomi Mi 11 Lite test / review
Poco X3 Pro : test / review
OnePlus Nord N100: test / review
Poco F3 Test / Review
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite test / review
Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro : test / review
Xiaomi Redmi Note 10: test / review
Redmi 9A test / review
Nokia 5.3 Test / Review
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9T: test / review

Price Umidigi Bison

The list below shows the prices for the Umidigi Bison from more than 50 sites around the world. If you are not satisfied with any price, you can subscribe to a price alert to be the first to be notified when the price drops.[b]
UMIDIGI BISON 6GB+128GB Outdoor Handy Robustes Smartphone Ohne Vertrag 5000mAh...
2021-04-11 06:22
158 EUR
UMIDIGI BISON Rugged Smartphone Waterproof Shockproof 6GB 128GB Factory Unlocked...
2021-04-11 06:07
245 USD
Umidigi Bison Rugged Smartphone Waterproof Shockproof 6GB 128GB GSM Unlocked NEW...
2021-04-10 06:07
165 USD
UMIDIGI BISON 6.3" Waterproof Rugged Smartphone 6GB+128GB NFC Android 5000mAh...
2021-04-11 06:07
170 USD
UMIDIGI BISON Rugged Smartphone Téléphone portable antichoc étanche et robuste...
2021-04-11 06:14
150 EUR
UMIDIGI BISON 6GB+128GB Outdoor Handy 5000mAh Robustes Smartphone Ohne Vertrag...
2021-04-11 06:22
150 EUR
[b]
helpThe above links are affiliate links from companies such as Amazon, Gearbest, Aliexpress,... If you appreciate my work, I would be grateful if you could purchase these products through these links. It costs you absolutely nothing but I get a small commission that allows me to buy the material I test. Thank you very much!

Timeline

28/10/2020: I order the Umidigi Bison on Banggood for 129€.[b]10/12/2020: after more than a month's wait, I finally get the phone and the test can start.[b][b]

Why this phone?

When I buy rugged smartphones I know that I always have to make sacrifices on common features such as photo quality. [b][b]With this Umidigi Bison, I was tempted because it offers performance equivalent to the Redmi Note 9 for a lower price. It uses a Sony IMX 586 sensor that has already proven itself on many other phones, I have never seen this sensor in a phone in this price range before.[b][b]I also find Umidigi's usual generosity in terms of memory, 6GB / 128 Gb for a phone under 150€ is very rare. This generosity also comes through a large 5000 mAh battery. Umidigi has always managed to stand out in both of these areas.[b][b]However, not everything is perfect at Umidigi. They have never been able to offer a phone with good photo processing, the operating system wasn't always up to scratch but I haven't tested Umidigi for almost 10 months now, so I'm curious to see if the situation has improved.[b][b]

Unpacking

[b][b]The Umidigi Bison's box is really very basic, the previous models of the brand were a little better highlighted with the packaging. It doesn't matter but the difference with the previous models is obvious.[b][b]The box contains the minimum essentials with the phone, a cable, a charger and a manual. The phone, on the other hand, made a better impression on me than the packaging. For a phone of this type, it looks less rough than the previous phones I tested.[b][b][b][b]
Length : 162.5
Width : 79.9
Thickness : 12.8
Weight : 250
Jack output : Yes
USB Type : Type C
Infrared port : No

First configuration

Umidigi uses a pure Android version, which means that they have not changed the experience by adding unwanted applications. The initial configuration therefore follows exactly the same path as all phones on Android without modification.[b][b]

Finish

[b][b]Telephones like the Umidigi Bison are generally not very beautiful, they don't play the card of elegance and finesse. Those who buy this kind of phone probably don't pay much attention to aesthetics. However, the Umidigi Bison manages to distinguish itself by offering an elegant design for a phone of this kind. Although the phone is still a bit rough and massive, Umidigi has taken a big step towards a wider audience.[b][b]The Umidigi Bison is quite large, it is as long as a Poco F2 Pro but much thicker. This is a common point with the Ulefone Armor and the Doogee S58 Pro. The phone is actually smaller but is protected by a plastic armour to better absorb shocks. The 5000 mAh battery also plays a role in its thickness.[b][b]The Umidigi Bison has a rather peculiar configuration with a fingerprint sensor on the left side of the phone, so it is with your index finger that you will have to unlock the phone and it is better to have a big hand to reach the fingerprint sensor, it is a rather curious choice. A little below the fingerprint sensor, Umidigi has placed a button which is associated with a voice note application. It surprised me a bit at first but it's a great idea, it avoids taking notes. I'll probably have to get used to it but I've often pressed this button by accident.[b][b]On the right are the usual volume and power buttons. These buttons don't stick out much from the edge of the phone and it will take a bit of getting used to finding the buttons by touch. A little further down, Umidigi has added a button that opens the camera directly, this is also a very good idea.[b][b]At the back the phone has an almost completely smooth back, which is quite rare for this kind of phone. A speaker output is placed at the back and the photo module is at the top left with a main sensor accompanied by an ultra wide angle sensor, a depth sensor and a macro sensor. The sensor for selfie is present in the form of a notch quite visible on the screen.[b][b]The Umidigi Bison therefore differs positively from the Ulefone and Doogee with some good ideas and a more neat appearance.[b][b][b][b][b]

Specifications

[b]The information below comes from the Device Info HW application. The application provides detailed technical information about the tested phone.[b]

CPU / GPU Performance

CPU : MediaTek Helio P60 (MT6771)
GPU : ARM Mali-G72 MP3 700MHz
Memory (RAM) : 6 Gb
Storage : 128 Gb

Benchmark Antutu/3DMark

With an entry-level CPU and GPU, you should not expect a big score on Antutu. I got a score of 172448 points on Antutu v8, this ranks the Umidigi Bison slightly below a Redmi Note 9 for a slightly lower price. The Umidigi Bison therefore offers a good price/performance ratio.[b][b][b][b]
Antutu score : 172448
Antutu CPU : 62397
Antutu GPU : 29718
Antutu UX : 33442
Antutu Mem : 46891
3D Mark Open GL : 1260
[b]Top 10 - performance ranking based on Antutu
1. Poco F3 - 610000
2. Oppo Find X2 Pro - 605184
3. Oneplus 8t - 595000
4. Xiaomi Mi 10t Pro - 581650
5. Oneplus 8 Pro - 579417
6. Xiaomi Mi 10 - 579114
7. Poco F2 Pro - 569559
8. Samsung Galaxy S20 Fe - 565000
9. Samsung Galaxy S20 - 503905
10. Poco X3 Pro - 486466

Number of smartphones in the ranking:121
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:63/121

Note: this ranking only contains the phones I tested as well as a few others that I added for reference.
[b]Gaming[b]To test the performance in game, I download the mobile PUBG game and evaluate the in-game experience, graphics level and depth of vision. This game is quite demanding and should help you evaluating the performance of a phone.[b][b]The Umidigi Bison is not a gaming phone, but it offers sufficient performance to play most mobile games. PUBG Mobile works without any problems, the gaming experience is completely correct. On the video you can see quite clearly that the textures load at the last moment and that the depth of vision is not very important but this does not spoil the gaming experience.[b][b][b]

Network performance

Umidigi has always been generous in frequency coverage and this is also the case for this Umidigi Bison. It supports 22 frequencies in 4G, which is quite rare![b][b]
3G frequencies : B1 (2100), B2 (1900), B4 (1700/2100 AWS A-F), B5 (850), B6 (800), B8 (900), B19 (800)
4G frequencies : B1 (2100), B2 (1900), B3 (1800), B4 (1700/2100 AWS 1), B5 (850), B7 (2600), B8 (900), B12 (700), B13 (700), B17 (700), B18 (800), B19 (800), B20 (800), B26 (850), B28 (700), B34 (TDD 2100), B38 (TDD 2600), B39 (TDD 1900), B40 (TDD 2300), B41 (TDD 2500), B66 (1700/2100)
Bluetooth : Bluetooth 4.2
Number measurements : 2343
Average signal (reference) : -92.71
Average signal (telephone) : -96.46
Average deviation reference/telephone : -3.75
Min/Max signal (reference) : -90 / -99
Min/Max signal (phone) : -94 / -102
Choose your country to check if your phone is compatible:


The frequencies displayed below will allow you to see if this phone is compatible with your operator or if you will be able to use it in the country where you are going on vacation.


Signal 4G (before december 2020)[b]The ability to pick up the network correctly is an essential element for a phone but it is only very rarely measured. To measure a phone's ability to pick up the network, I perform a large number of measurements on the same cells to be able to compare phones under similar conditions. The signal is measured in dBm, a value of -90dBm indicates a worse signal than -70dBm. These measurements are therefore taken under real conditions and not in a laboratory, they are not scientific but give a good indication of performance. [b][b]Network signal sensitivity rating
Phone tested:Average signal (dBm)Number of measurements:
Xiaomi Mi 9t Pro-881600
Xiaomi Redmi Note 5-91.305600
Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite-93788
Samsung Galaxy A70-94.5111975
Nokia 5.3-94.98531
Realme 6-95.142301
Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro-95.9221599
Xiaomi Mi A3-95.951000
Huawei Y6 2019-95.951199
Doogee S58 Pro-96.22856
Redmi 9a-96.481000
Meizu Note 9-96.68937
Motorola G8 Power-96.881032
Xiaomi Redmi Note 7-97.011430
Redmi 9c-97.041000
Umidigi S3 Pro-97.131200
Xiaomi Redmi Note 8-97.34879
Samsung Galaxy A21s-97.781000
Umidigi F1-97.82298
Ulefone Armor 7e-98.71000
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite-991000
Honor 9x-99.14899
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s-99.41860
Poco F2 Pro-99.81247
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9-100.791785
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g-100.881198
Poco X3-101.19821
Umidigi F2-101.47712
[b][b]Signal 4G (from December 2020)[b]I decided to change the methodology for measuring the network because I noticed that the configuration of the mobile network changes over time. This makes it more difficult to compare phones because the conditions are no longer exactly the same.[b][b]To overcome this problem, I set up a device that captures 24 hours a day about ten parameters from the mobile network (ex: cell id, rssi, rsrq, snr, frequency,...). I then place the phone next to the device for 24 to 48 hours taking the same measurements so that I can compare them. [b][b] Overview of the phones tested with this methodology[b][b]
Phone tested:MeasurementsAvg signal (reference)Avg signal (phone)Min/Max (reference)Min/Max (phone)
Samsung Galaxy S10+457-93.06-97.39-89 / -98-97 / -99
Xiaomi Mi 9t Pro669-93.69-95.84-90 / -95-92 / -98
Poco F2 Pro1438-91.02-94.99-89 / -94-94 / -96
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g1645-90.77-95.02- 88 / -98-95 / -100
Poco X3821-94.89-103.19-91 / -97.7-101 / -104
Umidigi Bison2343-92.71-96.46-90 / -99-94 / -102
Oukitel C211101-92.04-94.99-90 / -97-92 / -95
Poco M31116-92.09-91.74-88 / -98-90 / -99
Xiaomi Mi 10t Pro1071-90.61-94.03-88 / -94-94 / -96
Umidigi A9 Pro981-90.40-94.01-88 / -95-93 / -95
Redmi Note 9t1201-92.149-91.71-90 / -97-91 / -97
Xiaomi Redmi Note 10999-92.35-93.99-88 / -97-92 / -98
Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro877-89.72-90.56- 88 / -92-89 / -95
Oneplus Nord N100896-91.23-96.005-88 / - 99-96 / -99
[b][b]This Umidigi Bison is not the first Umidigi I have tested and the other models have never shone in terms of network sensitivity. In the 4G performance ranking, Umidigi's were generally in the bottom positions.[b][b]Is this still the case with this model? No, Umidigi has really improved a lot. I still don't have many measurements with my new test protocol, but Umidigi is not at the bottom of the ranking.[b][b]I have made more than 2300 measurements where the average signal deviated by 3.75 dBa from the reference, the difference between the minimum and maximum was above average. This shows that this phone is more sensitive to network fluctuations. [b][b]
[b][b]The graph shows the measurements taken by the reference device and the Umidigi, the signal level should be the highest. The Umidigi never exceeds the reference but the deviation is within the good average of my measurements.[b][b][b][b]Download/Upload speed[b]To test the download speed, I have identified some 4G cells offering good performance where I test all my devices several times to see what download and upload speed they can achieve.[b]Top 10 - speed ranking in download
1. Samsung Galaxy S20 D:351Mbps U: 20Mbps
2. Poco X3 D:232Mbps U: 55Mbps
3. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g D:223Mbps U: 52Mbps
4. Poco F2 Pro D:207Mbps U: 53Mbps
5. Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite D:153Mbps U: 68Mbps
6. Xiaomi Mi A3 D:150Mbps U: 60Mbps
7. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s D:150Mbps U: 60Mbps
8. Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite D:149Mbps U: 60Mbps
9. Samsung Galaxy A21s D:147Mbps U: 51Mbps
10. Huawei Y6 2019 D:145Mbps U: 61Mbps

Number of smartphones in the ranking:30
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:0/30

Note: the theoretical maximum speed of a telephone is often limited by the configuration of the mobile network and the congestion of the network at the time of the measurement. So maybe you could get a higher speed on another network
[b][b]

Wifi performance

To test a phone's ability to receive the network properly, I take measurements near my router and then remotely (and always at the same place). This gives me an average in dBm where a value of -90 dBm indicates poorer performance than a value at -30 dBm.[b]
Wifi frequencies : 802.11a, 802.11b, 802.11g, 802.11n, 802.11n 5GHz, 802.11ac
Download speed : 306
Signal / close : -28
Signal / distant : -75
Wifi signal[b]I measured a -25 dBm signal near the router and a -75 dBm signal at a distance. The Umidigi is in the middle range for the measurement close to the router. For the remote measurement it is at the bottom of the ranking, so the distance will play an important role in the signal quality.[b][b][b]Top 10 - wifi sensitivity ranking
1. Poco F2 Pro -11dBm
2. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro -12dBm
3. Samsung Galaxy A21s -13dBm
4. Oneplus Nord N100 -15dBm
5. Poco X3 Pro -15dBm
6. Redmi Note 9t -15dBm
7. Poco X3 -17dBm
8. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 -17dBm
9. Xiaomi Mi 10t Pro -18dBm
10. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s -18dBm

Number of smartphones in the ranking:40
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:26/40

[b]Download/Upload speed[b]To test the speed in Wifi, I connect to my router in 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz (if available) and use the Ookla application to measure the speed.[b]Top 10 - wifi download speed ranking
1. Poco X3 Pro 389Mbps
2. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro 367Mbps
3. Samsung Galaxy S20 351Mbps
4. Poco F2 Pro 341Mbps
5. Redmi Note 9t 332Mbps
6. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro 319Mbps
7. Umidigi Bison 306Mbps
8. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g 300Mbps
9. Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite 260Mbps
10. Poco X3 251Mbps

Number of smartphones in the ranking:39
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:7/39

Note: I have a 400Mbps line and a modem capable of delivering higher speed, but I can never be sure how much bandwidth is available when doing a test.
[b]

GPS performance

[b]To test the quality of the GPS signal I use the Offline Maps application and I make the same train trip in pedestrian mode. Why? In pedestrian mode, the GPS does not artificially correct the signal to stick to the road, it has no markings, so you can see the actual position. I then use an application to measure the accuracy of the signal. [b][b]The Umidigi Bison is equipped with a Mediatek processor, which often results in good gps performance. I measured an accuracy level of 2 metres, which is not the best score I've ever achieved but it's still a good score.[b][b][b][b]Top 10 - GPS accuracy ranking
1. Oukitel C21 1m
2. Redmi 9a 1m
3. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 1m
4. Redmi 9c 2m
5. Umidigi Bison 2m
6. Redmi Note 9t 2m
7. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro 3m
8. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 3m
9. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g 3m
10. Poco X3 Pro 3m

Number of smartphones in the ranking:15
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:5/15

Note: An accuracy of 3 meters or less can easily be corrected by a good GPS application. Phone performance also plays a role in how fast your display updates, so good accuracy could be compromised by too slow a display.
[b]

Battery range

Capacity : 5000
Fast charge : Yes
W max : 18
Range (100% brightness) : 550.00
Range (50% brightness) : 1471.00
Charging time : 238.00
Discharge speed (100%) : 0.18
Discharge score (100%) : 9.09
Discharge speed (50%) : 0.07
Discharge score (50%) : 3.40
Charging speed : 0.42
Charging score : 21.01
From March 2020, I replaced my subjective battery test with a technical test to better measure the real behaviour of the battery. Now I test the autonomy and charging time under absolutely identical conditions. I perform several measurements, so this test alone takes several days during which I cannot use the phone for anything else.

Battery life - methodology
To test the battery life, I measure the battery consumption every minute in strictly identical conditions to be able to compare phones and also to allow you to evaluate your phone in the same conditions. I rule out any influence of applications that could interfere with the measurement. The autonomy is not linear, the battery sometimes discharges much faster at the end. This is a frustrating phenomenon but with my measurements, you will know if you need to find a charger quickly.

Battery life
The battery of the Umidigi Bison has a capacity of 5000 mAh and has discharged from 100% to 1% in 550.00 minutes with 100% brightness, it has discharged from 100% to 1% in 1471.00 minutes with 50% brightness. I obtain in this way an average discharge speed of 0.18% per minute with 100% luminosity and 0.07% per minute with 50% luminosity, the consumption is therefore 9.09 mA per minute with 100% luminosity and 3.40 with 50% luminosity. To be able to compare the efficiency of the phone and its influence on the battery, you have to compare the 9.09 (or 50%) score with that of other smartphones, the figure should be as low as possible.

Charging time - methodology
To test the charging time, I always use the same charger with the same cable. I measure the charging time minute by minute to see the evolution of the charge as well as the charging speed. The charging speed of a battery is not linear, it is often faster at the beginning and slower at the end. The charger is compatible with fast charging.

Charging time
The battery of the Umidigi Bison has a capacity of 5000 mAh and has been charged from 1% to 100% in 238.00 minutes. This gives me an average charging speed of 0.42% per minute and therefore an increase of 21.01 mA per minute. To compare the performance of the Umidigi Bison compared to other phones, you should use the 21.01 per minute score, this score should be as high as possible.

Important note: the charging speed is not always linear, the graph below gives you an indication of the battery behaviour.

The following table lists the phones tested with the technical battery test, they are ranked in order of efficiency. A higher battery capacity should logically result in a higher battery life but it is not always the case and it does not give any indication of the efficiency of a phone.

SmartphoneCapacity (mAh)Battery life (minutes)Efficiency ScoreBattery life (minutes) / 50%Efficiency Score / 50%Charging time.Score charging
Samsung Galaxy S204000565.007.081217.003.29136.0029.41
Nokia 5.34000549.007.291096.003.65199.0020.10
Oukitel C214000497.008.051324.003.02167.0023.95
Honor 9x4000770.005.191333.003.00151.0026.49
Umidigi A9 Pro4150552.007.521562.002.66112.0037.05
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g4160749.005.551541.002.70163.0025.52
Realme 64300704.006.111104.003.89162.0026.54
Poco F2 Pro47001150.004.091536.003.06180.0026.11
Motorola G8 Power5000912.005.482792.001.79311.0016.08
Umidigi Bison5000550.009.091471.003.40238.0021.01
Redmi 9a5000694.007.201902.002.63195.0025.64
Redmi 9c5000656.007.621915.002.61170.0029.41
Redmi Note 9t5000766.006.532054.002.43148.0033.78
Samsung Galaxy A21s5000729.006.861283.003.90166.0030.12
Xiaomi Redmi Note 105000691.007.241728.002.89193.0025.91
Oneplus Nord N1005000808.006.191278.003.91663.007.54
Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro5020625.008.031557.003.22213.0023.57
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s5020663.007.571876.002.68224.0022.41
Xiaomi Redmi Note 95020650.007.721808.002.78162.0030.99
Umidigi F25150927.005.561854.002.78299.0017.22
Poco X35160653.007.901654.003.12181.0028.51
Doogee S58 Pro5180845.006.131908.002.71177.0029.27
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite5260827.006.361609.003.27208.0025.29
Ulefone Armor 7e5500768.007.161140.004.82179.0030.73
Poco M36000842.007.131898.003.16217.0027.65

helpHow to read these figures?
The battery capacity is an important element in determining the autonomy of a phone but it is not the only factor. A phone with a large battery may have a shorter battery life if it consumes more power. If I had to take an example from everyday life, I would use the universe of the car. If a car has a large fuel tank, it should be able to drive a longer distance unless its average fuel consumption is higher. The battery efficiency score works the same way, it should be as low as possible and represents the energy consumption of the phone. These differences in efficiency are often related to the brightness of the screen, large bright screens will tend to consume more energy and even if they have a large battery, their range will be shorter.

In summary The Umidigi Bison has a 5000 mAh battery and with this kind of capacity you can normally last for several days. However, this battery is not very efficient because for almost the same battery capacity, the Redmi Note 9 lasts about 100 minutes longer at 100% brightness and saves 400 minutes with a display at 50% brightness. It is mainly the very bright screen of the Umidigi that explains this difference.[b][b]Charging speed is also below average, it took me 238 minutes to charge the battery whereas with the Redmi Note 9 it took me 162 minutes.[b][b]

Photo camera test

To test the quality of photos produced by a phone, I do a technical test (resolution, sharpness, chromatic aberration,...) in studio (identical conditions) to evaluate the technical part objectively. From the second half of 2020, I built my own laboratory to take completely objective technical measurements. I then take pictures in real conditions to see how the camera performs. I then evaluate these photos according to my criteria but I publish the photos so that you can evaluate the result according to your criteria.[b]

Hardware

Selfie / resolution : 24
Selfie / sensor : Sony Exmor RS
Resolution : 48
Sensor : Sony IMX586 Exmor RS
mm wide angle : 7.03 mm
The Umidigi Bison is equipped with a Sony IMX 586 main sensor. This sensor is used in many mid to high-end phones such as the OnePlus 8T which costs more than 400€. [b][b]Umidigi has always used good sensors but has always spoilt the quality of its sensors with poor image processing. The Bison Umidigi makes improvements where other Umidigi's had weaknesses, so I'm curious to see what the photo test will reveal.[b][b]I tried to install Gcam on this phone but the application crashes as soon as it is launched.[b][b]Default app[b]The default photo application of Umidigi Bison does not offer many possibilities, which has the advantage of making it easier to use. In addition to the usual photo and video modes, it is also possible to use portrait and night mode. The setting possibilities are limited, the photo mode only gives access to one sensor with the possibility of using HDR.[b][b][b]

Photoquality

Photo test / studio[b]
[b][b]The studio test is going to be very quick because the Umidigi Bison doesn't offer many adjustment possibilities, so I'm only going to take two pictures with the main sensor. The main sensor is a Sony sensor and this type of sensor generally does well in the studio. This can be verified once again with this Umidigi because the photo is well exposed, the colours are correctly saturated and the sharpness is good. The depth of field looks quite small though as I usually manage to see a larger part of the car in the sharpness area. The quality of this photo is equivalent to what I got with mid-range phones.[b][b]
[b][b][b][b]Photo test / sunny[b]
[b][b]Umidigi has a long tradition of failure in photo processing. I have tested the Umidigi F1, Umidigi F2 and the Umidigi S3 Pro. These 3 phones used a good photo sensor but with poor image processing which ruined the quality of the photo. The colour temperature was too hot and each photo was too reddish. Is this still the case with the Umidigi Bison? Yes, but the situation has improved a lot. The HDR mode helps to alleviate the problem, the use of the night mode in full daylight can under certain conditions also produce good photos.[b][b]The photos produced by the Umidigi Bison are probably not comparable to what a mid-range phone can produce (e.g. Poco X3) but it does produce better photos than the other robust smartphones I have tested. The colour temperature is a bit too high, the sharpness is sometimes a bit forced to the point of losing detail and the colours could be more saturated but for less than 150€, the result is quite acceptable. I also notice irregular areas of blur that should not be present. It's as if the sharpening treatment didn't manage to treat the whole photo.[b][b]All this may seem a bit theoretical, so I will use a photo taken in the same place and at the same time with a Xiaomi Mi 10T Pro. The comparison is not very honest as this phone costs more than 500€ but it gives a better understanding of what is missing from the Umidigi.[b][b]
[b][b]You will probably find a lot of sites that will criticize the quality of the photo but it is like comparing the top speed of a Dacia and a Porsche, it makes no sense and a Dacia is probably enough for most people. To sum up, I would say that it is possible to get better photos but in this price range and especially for this type of phone (robust phone), the Umidigi does a good job.[b][b][b][b][b]Photo test / cloudy[b][b]Test photo / night[b]
[b][b]The Umidigi has a night mode that will combine several photos into one to produce a brighter picture. I always come back with the price argument but it is also true here because a phone with a night mode for less than 150€ is quite rare. Thanks to the night mode, the Umidigi will allow you to take night photos without too much difficulty, you obviously need a minimum of light as on the photos I took for this test. Here too the colours are a little too warm but this problem is less visible than for daytime photos. Some photos also show a lot of digital noise.[b][b]The recomposition of the photos sometimes works correctly, sometimes not. Here also I notice blurred areas that cannot come from the optical block, these blurred areas are not always in the same place, they are therefore the result of image processing.[b][b]So this Umidigi is not the phone of the century for night photos but in this price range it does rather well.[b][b][b][b][b][b]

Video quality

Stabilisation[b][b][b]The Umidigi does not have video stabilisation, so it is not very shock resistant, even when walking. When I saw the videos again, I felt like an elephant walking in a forest.[b][b]Video normale conditions[b][b]The Umidigi is capable of filming in 1080p and for static scenes like this it produces an acceptable result for this range of phones. Sharpness is sometimes a bit forced, the colours are too warm and transitions from light to dark areas occur in jerks.[b][b]Video low light[b][b][b]Night video is not of very good quality, which is rarely the case in this price range. The Umidigi can't focus properly even if I don't move very fast. There is also a delay in the display because the phone can't process the video stream fast enough.[b][b]

Audio quality

To test the quality of the phone's audio output, I connect the device's audio output to a measuring tool, then play sounds on all frequencies and measure the differences between the original sound and the sound produced by the phone. In this way I measure the phone's ability to correctly reproduce all sounds.[b]
Frequency Respons : -0.03 / -0.17
Noise Level : -91.9
Dynamic Range : 91.9
THD : 0.00201
Intermodulation : 0.00866
Stereo crosstalk : -89.9
Frequency Response[b]This test is intended to test the device's ability to correctly reproduce all frequencies. The white line in the middle of the graph is the ideal situation and the other colors come from tests on different phones. A deviation from the reference line indicates a deviation from the ideal situation. To see good sound at all frequencies, it is therefore necessary to get as close as possible to the reference line.
[b][b]This graph shows that the Umidigi Bison is capable of reproducing most frequencies quite accurately, its performance is very similar to Redmi Note 9. The difference becomes more pronounced in the high frequencies but the difference is negligible especially in this price range.[b][b]Dynamic Range[b]This test is designed to test a phone's ability to play sounds at different volume levels. Here too, the phones must be as close as possible to the reference.
[b][b]The Umidigi Bison delivers a powerful and well-controlled sound because even at maximum volume, the level of distortion is very low. I'm positively surprised because this type of phone is not usually very sharp and yet this Umidigi Bison is capable of producing a powerful sound while maintaining a good level of quality. Umidigi has made great progress![b][b]Noise Level[b]This test aims to identify if the device under test is able to reproduce sounds without too much noise. A high score indicates a low parasite rate, a lower score indicates a higher presence of parasites.
[b][b]I haven't seen any interference problems and I have to admit that I didn't expect such good results from a robust phone. The other phones I have tested do not sound as good.[b][b]Concert recording[b]The purpose of this test is to measure the recording quality of the phone when there is a lot of ambient noise. Since I don't have the opportunity to go to a concert every time I test a phone, I simulate the noise of a concert in a closed environment.

Screen quality

To test the screen, I use a colorimetric probe that measures the color accuracy of a screen, as well as other parameters to see if a screen is able to correctly reproduce an image. I also test the brightness level to determine if the screen will be able to display an image in full sunlight.[b]
Screen size : 6.3
Resolution : 1080 x 2340
Ratio : 19.5:9
Protection : Corning Gorilla Glass
Type : LCD IPS
% occupancy : 75
dE white : 8.0
dE red : 5.3
dE green : 3.1
dE blue : 2.5
dE jaune : 5.4
dE cyan : 5.4
dE magenta : 3.2
White temperature : 7500
Contrast : 1545:1
Brightness : 598
Colorimetry[b]
[b][b]The Umidigi Bison offers a 6.3-inch screen with a resolution of 1080x2340. For a phone of this type, it is rare to have such a large screen size and especially with such a good resolution. Just for that alone, the Umidigi stands out from its competitors, but it doesn't stop there. I got a colour difference of 4.7E, it's certainly not perfect but you have to keep in mind that this is a robust phone sold for less than 150€. The price/quality ratio is therefore rather good.[b][b][b]Top 10 - ranking of the best screens by colorimetry
1. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g dE = 0.73
2. Xiaomi Mi 10t Pro dE = 0.83
3. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 dE = 1.2
4. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 dE = 1.23
5. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro dE = 1.31
6. Samsung Galaxy S20 dE = 1.4
7. Poco M3 dE = 1.4
8. Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite dE = 1.46
9. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s dE = 1.47
10. Honor 9x dE = 1.5

Number of smartphones in the ranking:40
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:30/40

Note: the colorimetric difference is measured in dE. After three, the human eye will perceive a colorimetric difference, so the dE should be the lowest. The tests were all carried out with a colorimetric probe.
[b]Brightness / Contrast[b]From the first use of this phone I noticed that the brightness of the screen was important and the test with my probe confirms this. I measured a brightness of 598 cd/m², this is one of the most powerful screens I have ever tested and as this phone is intended for outdoor use, such brightness will allow it to be used in full sunlight.[b][b]Light Absorption/Reflection[b]The smartphone screen reflect light and sometimes turn them into a real mirror. This mirror effect makes it harder to read. [b][b]The absorption index below indicates the percentage of light absorbed by the screen. The readability of a screen is better when the absorption index is high.[b][b]
Phone tested:% light absorption
Samsung Galaxy S10+58
Xiaomi Mi 9T Pro52
Honor 9x65
Redmi Note 9s55
Motorola G8 Power60
Realme 654
Umidigi F248
Poco F2 Pro52
Redmi Note 956
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite53
Samsung Galaxy S2047
Samsung Galaxy A21s53
The phones tested have an average absroption rate of54 %

Biometry

The Umidigi is equipped with a fingerprint reader on the left side of the phone, I had not yet tested a phone with this type of configuration. To be able to use it you need to be able to pass a finger from the right hand to the left of the phone, you need a large hand. I have the impression that this fingerprint reader was designed for left-handed people.[b][b]In absolute terms this reader works well but its accessibility is not very good.[b][b]

Operating system

[b][b][b]This phone runs pure Android 10, which means that Umidigi has not added any unwanted applications (bloatware) and the menus/functionalities are the same as those on other phones running Android 10 without overlay.[b][b]

Encoutered bugs

Not yet available / tested[b][b]

Accessories Umidigi Bison

To better enjoy your experience with your smartphone, I offer links to all kinds of accessories that you might find useful

Protective cover / case umidigi bison
Screen protection film umidigi bison
Memory card umidigi bison
USB Cable / Charger umidigi bison
Headphones umidigi bison
Bike rack umidigi bison

Compare Umidigi Bison with the others

I assigned a score of 1 to 10 for each test that determines the strengths and weaknesses of a product. I am using 0 for criteria that have not (yet) been tested. A score of 1 to 3 indicates poor performance (and yes, it does), a score of 4 to 6 indicates average performance, a score of 7 to 8 indicates good performance, and a score of 9 and 10 indicates exceptional performance. .
The score is calculated based on my measurements and when there are no measurements, it is a subjective opinion based on my experience.

The scores are not static, they change over time because the performance of new products changes and this must be taken into account.

Umidigi Bison
Finish quality6.006.00
Battery performance7.008.00
CPU performance6.006.5
GPU performance6.006.5
Screen quality7.007.00
Photo quality65.00
Video quality65.00
Wi-Fi performance6.57.00
Mobile download speed6.005.00
Mobile network sensitivity7.006.00
Frequency coverage8.007.00
Audio quality7.006.00
GPS performance6.56.00
Operating system7.008.00
Overall score9289
Global ranking
1. Samsung Galaxy S20 112 / 140
2. Poco F2 Pro 111 / 140
3. Samsung Galaxy S10+ 107 / 140
4. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro 106.5 / 140
5. Xiaomi Mi 9t Pro 106 / 140
6. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 102 / 140
7. Poco X3 102 / 140
8. Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite 101 / 140
9. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g 101 / 140
10. Redmi Note 9t 100.5 / 140
11. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro 100 / 140
12. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s 98 / 140
13. Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite 98 / 140
14. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 97 / 140
15. Poco M3 95.5 / 140
16. Xiaomi Redmi Note 7 94 / 140
17. Realme 6 93 / 140
18. Umidigi A9 Pro 92 / 140
19. Umidigi Bison 92 / 140
20. Oukitel C21 89.5 / 140
21. Motorola G8 Power 89 / 140
22. Nokia 5.3 89 / 140
23. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 89 / 140
24. Xiaomi Mi A3 89 / 140
25. Oneplus Nord N100 88.5 / 140
26. Honor 9x 88 / 140
27. Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite 86 / 140
28. Meizu Note 9 86 / 140
29. Xiaomi Redmi Note 5 85 / 140
30. Umidigi S3 Pro 83 / 140
31. Samsung Galaxy A21s 82 / 140
32. Umidigi F2 82 / 140
33. Redmi 9a 81 / 140
34. Redmi 9c 80 / 140
35. Ulefone Armor 7e 80 / 140
36. Doogee S58 Pro 78.5 / 140
37. Honor 8x 78 / 140
38. Umidigi F1 77 / 140
39. Huawei Y6 2019 74 / 140
40. Poco X3 Pro 71.5 / 90
41. Xiaomi Mi 10t Pro 57 / 70
42. Elephone U5 0 / 0

Test / Review conclusion

[b]When I bought my first rugged phone, I figured that my test was not going to interest anyone because the target audience was too small. I was surprised by the success of this test, so I continued to test this kind of TV but always with the feeling that there was something missing from these phones.[b][b]I tested other Umidigi phones before testing this model and there again I was still missing something. It was with this Umidigi Bison that the change finally came. It's the first rugged smartphone that has everything a normal phone can offer without any real constraint related to its ruggedness. Umidigi has also progressed by offering a complete phone for a very affordable price. In the end, this Umidigi Bison is the best rugged phone I have ever tested.[b][b]The Umidigi Bison has a much neater appearance than the other phones of this type that I have tested, it is aimed at a wider audience. Most of the usual weaknesses of Umidigi have also been fixed (e.g. network sensitivity or operating system bugs). [b][b]The format of the phone is still quite imposing, it takes some getting used to, I often pressed buttons by mistake because the placement is not always judicious. The screen occupies an interesting surface where Ulefone or Doogee had made many sacrifices. The battery is solid, the performances are sufficient, the sound with headphones is excellent, the sensitivity to the 4G network is good, the wifi speed is excellent. [b][b]Of course everything is not perfect yet but for a purchase price of 130€ you won't find many competitors. [b][b]Strengths[b]- good battery life (although it could be more efficient)[b]- very bright screen and good colorimetry[b]- sound with headphones[b]- 4G network sensitivity[b]- finish / solidity[b][b][b]Weaknesses[b]- photo/video processing[b]- wifi signal sensitivity[b]- energy-hungry screen[b]- loudspeaker sound [b]- button placement[b][b][b]Alternatives to this product[b][b]

Comments

Join the discussion / Ask your questions

Your comment will be published after validation. I respond to over 1500 comments a year in my spare time, so I can't always respond very quickly. Your email address will not be publicly visible and it will not be used for commercial purposes.









Be notified by email when a response is published