On this page:
Price Xiaomi Mi 11 Lite
Unpacking
First configuration
Finish
Specifications
CPU / GPU Performance
Benchmark Antutu/3DMark
Network performance
Wifi performance
GPS performance
Battery range
Photo camera test
Hardware
Photo quality
Video quality
Audio quality
Screen quality
Biometry
Operating system
Test / Review conclusion
Questions answers

Best new price:
239 EUR
See the offer | eBay ES

120 other prices available in other stores.

Subscribe
Subscribe to my YouTube channel to receive updates.
Xiaomi Mi 11 Lite test / review (with pre-order price 254€)

Xiaomi Mi 11 Lite test / review

Category: Tests / Reviews

I have been testing smartphones for 2 years and one of the first phones I tested was the Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite. This phone had given me a very good impression, so I systematically bought every model in this range, buying the Mi 9 Lite and more recently the Mi 10 Lite. This Mi 11 Lite is therefore the fourth generation that I am buying. [b][b] The positioning of this product range has evolved over 4 generations. The Mi 8 Lite was close to the Redmi Note 5 with a few things to set them apart. Over time this product range has approached the premium range at Xiaomi and where a Mi 8 Lite was marketed at around € 200, the new models are positioned above € 300. Was this price increase justified? Yes because even with this higher price, these models remain very competitive and generally offer more than what the competition is able to offer in the same price range. [b][b] What does this new Xiaomi Mi 11 Lite have in store for us? The Mi 11 Lit takes over the CPU and GPU of the Redmi Note 10 Pro with a smaller screen, a smaller weight and a smaller footprint and I see a new photo sensor appear with the Samsung GW3. The photo and the video will be strong elements of this new phone. [b][b] The release date has been postponed several times but things are clearing up now, the Xiaomi Mi 11 Lite is available for presale at Banggood and Aliexpress [b][b] On Banggood, I found it for 254 € !! Launch offer on Banggood [b] On Aliexpress, it seems to be positioned at € 299. offer on Aliexpress [b][b][b][b]linkManufacturer web site: https://www.mi.com[b]linkSite where I have bought the Xiaomi Mi 11 Lite: https://s.click.aliexpress.com/e/_AstBSx[b]

Structure of my tests

I test the phones according to a pre-established structure (see below) to provide you with as much information as possible. Unfortunately, this takes a long time. Some tests like network performance tests take several days and for photo tests I sometimes have to wait until the weather is suitable to take pictures in good conditions. I am therefore obliged to publish the tests step by step, so I invite you to come back if the test is not complete at the time of your visit.[b]
How are my tests different from others on the web?

- I usually buy the devices with my own money, so price is just as important as you are!
- I keep the devices for at least a few weeks (sometimes more) to see what they are worth in real conditions.
- I answer (when possible) your questions to help you decide before you buy
- no one pays me to do these reviews, so I'm completely neutral and independent...
- My pages are not filled with ads



iiiF150 R2022 : test / review
Realme 6 test, review and price
Xiaomi Redmi Note 7 test, review and price
Umidigi F1 test, review and price
Poco M3 Pro : test / review
Redmi Note 10s : test / review
Poco F2 review - test - specs
Lemfo Lem15: test / review / price
Realme GT 5G : test / review
Samsung Galaxy A52: test / review

Price Xiaomi Mi 11 Lite

The list below shows the prices for the Xiaomi Mi 11 Lite from more than 50 sites around the world. If you are not satisfied with any price, you can subscribe to a price alert to be the first to be notified when the price drops.[b]
Xiaomi Mi 11 Lite 6GB 64GB NFC Smartphone Snapdragon 732G Versión Global...
2021-09-20 14:26
239 EUR
Xiaomi Mi 11 Lite - 128GB - Peach Pink (Ohne Simlock) (Dual SIM) Nagelneu !!...
2021-09-22 14:18
260 EUR
global version xiaomi mi 11 lite smartphone snapdragon 732g octa core 6gb 128gb 64mp rear camera 452...
2021-09-22 08:42
309 USD
Smartphone Xiaomi Mi 11 Lite 6GB RAM 128GB Display 6.55" Boba Black Nero Italia...
2021-09-22 14:26
268 EUR
Xiaomi Xiaomi Mi 11 Lite 6+128GB 6.55" Peach Pink ITA Smartphone...
2021-09-22 14:18
273 EUR
Xiaomi Mi 11 Lite 4G + Kopfhörer (16,63 cm (6,55") FHD+ Display, 64GB interner Speicher, 6GB RAM, 6...
2021-09-22 14:35
275 EUR
[b]
helpThe above links are affiliate links from companies such as Amazon, Gearbest, Aliexpress,... If you appreciate my work, I would be grateful if you could purchase these products through these links. It costs you absolutely nothing but I get a small commission that allows me to buy the material I test. Thank you very much!

Timeline

April 14, 2021: Xiaomi Mi 11 Lite pre-sale purchase on Aliexpress [b] April 19, 2021: I received the phone, the test can start.[b]

Why this phone?

The Mi XX Lite range is usually at the limit of the budget I can afford to buy a phone but so far I have never been disappointed. These are phones that I have never had any trouble selling after my tests, they are so in demand that when I post an ad, the phone is sold before the end of the day.[b][b]The Mi 11 Lite will probably follow the same path. This type of phone occupies a position in the middle of the range by offering good finishes, good performance and sometimes a few good photo surprises. The Xiaomi Mi 11 Lite will also offer a periscopic zoom lens, this is the first time I will have the opportunity to test a phone of this type, I am curious to see what it will look like.[b][b]My purchase of the Xiaomi Mi 11 Lite will be a blind purchase as I will buy it as soon as it is available, it is one of the safe bet at Xiaomi. So I will probably be one of the first to test it, it will also depend a bit on the delivery time.[b][b]

Unpacking

The vast majority of Xiaomi I bought in the last 6 months were packed in the same type of box, the Mi 11 Lite brings a bit of change with its completely white box and glossy lettering. Xiaomi undoubtedly wants to position this new Xiaomi Mi 11 Lite differently. The box contains the bare minimum: the phone, a soft transparent silicone protection, a manual, a charger and a USB cable. [b]
Length : 160.5
Width : 75.7
Thickness : 6.8
Weight : 157
Jack output : No
USB Type : Type C
Infrared port : Yes

First configuration

Not yet available / tested[b][b]

Finish

Xiaomi derives its success from the price / quality ratio but this often comes at the expense of innovation as they tend to take the good ingredients from their competitors to make it a phone at a lower price. The Xiaomi Mi 11 Lite seems to follow the same direction except for the type of finish and the camera (see below). Most of the Xiaomi released in the last 12 months are large and heavy, and I have received quite a few messages from people who were hesitant to buy a Xiaomi because of the size and weight. The Xiaomi Mi 11 Lite is quite large but it is very thin (6.8mm) and above all very light (157 grams!). I don't think I've tested such a light phone for at least two years and with such a screen, it's a great achievement! The phone is so light that I feel like I don't have it in my pocket, it always causes me a little stress because I always think I lost it. [b][b] Beyond its weight, I find the Mi 11 Lite to stand out quite strongly from the Redmi range with a glass back that reflects light almost like a mirror. The back is perfectly smooth over its entire surface except for the photo sensor which sticks out slightly but even here the camera only sticks out a few millimeters. [b][b]
The surround is plastic but the integration with the screen and the back of the phone is smooth. The configuration of the phone is quite similar to that of the Poco F3, the SIM drawer is at the bottom of the phone and this fairly compact drawer can accommodate 2 SIM cards or a SIM card and a memory card in double-sided mode rather than in length as most phones. There is no jack output, this makes it possible to produce a thinner phone. For the rest, it's a classic configuration with the volume and ignition buttons on the right and the same fingerprint sensor as the Poco F3. Stereo sound is transmitted through a loudspeaker at the bottom of the telephone and another at the listening loudspeaker. [b][b]
The screen occupies 85% of the surface, the selfie camera is placed at the top left in the form of a punch. I find that this punch is also quite thick, that of the Poco F3 is much less visible. The borders are quite thin, it is not a borderless phone but the screen offers a good experience. [b][b] Overall the level of finish is really good for a phone of this price, it takes the basics of the premium model Mi 11 by using a different reflective surface on the back. This new Xiaomi Mi 11 Lite follows the philosophy of the Lite range quite well. [b]

Specifications

[b]The information below comes from the Device Info HW application. The application provides detailed technical information about the tested phone.The Xiaomi Mi 11 lite takes the technical bases of the Redmi Note 10 Pro (CPU / GPU) but it differs from other Xiaomi models on many other points. The screen is smaller (6.55 inches) and uses a frequency of 90hz (240hz for games). It is also in terms of its format and its weight that this Mi 11 Lite will stand out, with 157 grams it is one of the lightest Xiaomi that I have been able to test. [b][b] The Xiaomi Mi 11 Lite uses UFS 2.2 memory, this is a step back from the Poco x3 Pro which costs a little less. I guess they took over the memory of the Redmi Note 10 Pro instead. [b][b] There is a 4G and 5G version of this phone and in both cases the frequency coverage is very wide. I see that the GPS should also cover two frequencies for the GPS network (L1 + L5) and two frequencies for Galileo (E1 + E5a). [b][b][b][b]

CPU / GPU Performance

CPU : Qualcomm Snapdragon 732G
GPU : Qualcomm AdreNo 618
Memory (RAM) : 6 - 8Gb
Storage : 64 Gb - 128 Gb
[b][b]The Xiaomi Mi 11 Lite is equipped with a Qualcomm Snapdragon 732G processor for the 4G version and a Qualcomm Snapdragon 780G for the 5G version. These two versions are not in the same category, the 732G is a mid-range processor also used in the Redmi Note 10 Pro where the 780G is a high-end processor that will be released the first time with the Mi 11 Lite. One can expect a performance on the level of a Poco F3 with the latter. [b][b] The Xiaomi Mi 11 Lite is equipped with a Qualcomm Adreno 618 graphics chipset (identical to the Redmi Note 10 Pro) in its 4G version and a Qualcomm Adreno 642 for its 5G version. Here too, the difference between the two is quite large, the 5G version should score around 600,000 points on Antutu while the 4G version should reach 300,000 points. [b][b][b]

Benchmark Antutu/3DMark

I got a score of just over 290,000 points with Antutu and this score is almost identical to what I got for the Redmi Note 10 Pro. The Xiaomi Mi 11 Lite uses the same CPU and GPU as the Redmi, so it is not surprising to find very similar performance. This is a fairly typical score for the mid-range at Xiaomi, the Mi 11 Lite is a versatile phone that will allow you to play most games (sometimes with a compromise on the graphics level) and use any what application. If you want more performance for the same price, you have to go for the Poco range. [b]
Antutu score : 290791
Antutu CPU : 99032
Antutu GPU : 78505
Antutu UX : 60753
Antutu Mem : 52501
[b]Top 10 - performance ranking based on Antutu
1. Realme Gt - 811858
2. Oppo Find X2 Pro - 605184
3. Oneplus 8t - 595000
4. Poco F3 - 589677
5. Xiaomi Mi 10t Pro - 581650
6. Oneplus 8 Pro - 579417
7. Xiaomi Mi 10 - 579114
8. Poco F2 Pro - 569559
9. Samsung Galaxy S20 Fe - 565000
10. Samsung Galaxy S20 - 503905

Number of smartphones in the ranking:128
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:37/128

Note: this ranking only contains the phones I tested as well as a few others that I added for reference.
[b]Gaming[b]To test the performance in game, I download the mobile PUBG game and evaluate the in-game experience, graphics level and depth of vision. This game is quite demanding and should help you evaluating the performance of a phone. The Xiaomi Mi 11 Lite offers enough performance to provide a good gaming experience in PUBG Mobile in HD mode. The game is perfectly smooth, I didn't encounter any slowdowns and the textures load quite quickly. For Fortnite on the other hand, the Xiaomi Mi 11 Lite does not always manage to offer a good gaming experience. The level of graphics was too high for a good gaming experience, we can clearly see slowdowns where the image freezes. To ensure a good experience, the number of details must be reduced, but for a fairly similar Antutu performance, the Poco X3 Pro does much better with Fortnite than this Xiaomi Mi 11 Lite.[b]

Network performance

The Xiaomi Mi 11 lite in 4G version supports a wide range of frequencies which will allow you to use it anywhere in Europe. The 5G version also offers wide coverage of 14 frequencies which should cover all European countries as well.[b]
3G frequencies : B1 (2100), B2 (1900), B4 (1700/2100 AWS A-F), B5 (850), B8 (900)
4G frequencies : B1 (2100), B2 (1900), B3 (1800), B4 (1700/2100 AWS 1), B5 (850), B7 (2600), B8 (900), B12 (700), B13 (700), B17 (700), B20 (800), B28b (700), B28a (700), B32 (1500), B38 (TDD 2600), B40 (TDD 2300), B41 (TDD 2500), B66 (1700/2100)
5G frequencies : n1 (2100), n3 (1800), n5 (850), n7 (2600), n8 (900), n20 (800), n28b (700), n28a (700), n38 (2600), n40 (2300), n41 (2500), n66 (1700), n71 (600), n77 (3700), n78 (3500)
Bluetooth : Bluetooth 5.2 LE
Volte : Yes
VoWifi : Yes
NFC : Yes
Number measurements : 2875
Average signal (reference) : -91.36
Average signal (telephone) : -91.49
Average deviation reference/telephone : -0.13
Min/Max signal (reference) : -87 / -96
Min/Max signal (phone) : -90 / -96
Choose your country to check if your phone is compatible:


The frequencies displayed below will allow you to see if this phone is compatible with your operator or if you will be able to use it in the country where you are going on vacation.


Signal 4G (before december 2020)[b]The ability to pick up the network correctly is an essential element for a phone but it is only very rarely measured. To measure a phone's ability to pick up the network, I perform a large number of measurements on the same cells to be able to compare phones under similar conditions. The signal is measured in dBm, a value of -90dBm indicates a worse signal than -70dBm. These measurements are therefore taken under real conditions and not in a laboratory, they are not scientific but give a good indication of performance. [b][b]Network signal sensitivity rating
Phone tested:Average signal (dBm)Number of measurements:
Xiaomi Mi 9t Pro-881600
Xiaomi Redmi Note 5-91.305600
Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite-93788
Samsung Galaxy A70-94.5111975
Nokia 5.3-94.98531
Realme 6-95.142301
Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro-95.9221599
Xiaomi Mi A3-95.951000
Huawei Y6 2019-95.951199
Doogee S58 Pro-96.22856
Redmi 9a-96.481000
Meizu Note 9-96.68937
Motorola G8 Power-96.881032
Xiaomi Redmi Note 7-97.011430
Redmi 9c-97.041000
Umidigi S3 Pro-97.131200
Xiaomi Redmi Note 8-97.34879
Samsung Galaxy A21s-97.781000
Umidigi F1-97.82298
Ulefone Armor 7e-98.71000
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite-991000
Honor 9x-99.14899
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s-99.41860
Poco F2 Pro-99.81247
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9-100.791785
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g-100.881198
Poco X3-101.19821
Umidigi F2-101.47712
[b][b]Signal 4G (from December 2020)[b]I decided to change the methodology for measuring the network because I noticed that the configuration of the mobile network changes over time. This makes it more difficult to compare phones because the conditions are no longer exactly the same.[b][b]To overcome this problem, I set up a device that captures 24 hours a day about ten parameters from the mobile network (ex: cell id, rssi, rsrq, snr, frequency,...). I then place the phone next to the device for 24 to 48 hours taking the same measurements so that I can compare them. [b][b] Overview of the phones tested with this methodology[b][b]
Phone tested:MeasurementsAvg signal (reference)Avg signal (phone)Min/Max (reference)Min/Max (phone)
Samsung Galaxy S10+457-93.06-97.39-89 / -98-97 / -99
Xiaomi Mi 9t Pro669-93.69-95.84-90 / -95-92 / -98
Poco F2 Pro1438-91.02-94.99-89 / -94-94 / -96
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g1645-90.77-95.02- 88 / -98-95 / -100
Poco X3821-94.89-103.19-91 / -97.7-101 / -104
Umidigi Bison2343-92.71-96.46-90 / -99-94 / -102
Oukitel C211101-92.04-94.99-90 / -97-92 / -95
Poco M31116-92.09-91.74-88 / -98-90 / -99
Xiaomi Mi 10t Pro1071-90.61-94.03-88 / -94-94 / -96
Umidigi A9 Pro981-90.40-94.01-88 / -95-93 / -95
Redmi Note 9t1201-92.149-91.71-90 / -97-91 / -97
Xiaomi Redmi Note 10999-92.35-93.99-88 / -97-92 / -98
Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro877-89.72-90.56- 88 / -92-89 / -95
Poco X3 Pro1876-91.45-92.91-90 / -94-90 / -96
Poco F31382-90.79-94.2-89 / -94-93 / -98
Oneplus Nord N100896-91.23-96.005-88 / - 99-96 / -99
Xiaomi Mi 11 Lite2875-91.36-91.49-87 / -96-90 / -96
Samsung Galaxy A521427-89.27-93.39-87 / -98-92 / -96
Doogee S96 Pro1259-94.2-91.21-90 / -102-88 / -95
Xiaomi Redmi Note 10s957-92.07-97.62-90 / -102-96 / -102
Poco M3 Pro1247-91.76-102.97-99 / -104-88 / -98
Realme Gt843-96.49-94.02-93 / -101- 92 / -96
F150 R20221002-92.4-105.1-90 / -97-98 / -110
[b][b]I performed 2875 measurements in 4G with the Xiaomi Mi 11 Lite, it is more than usual, I had simply forgotten the phone and left it longer than expected next to my test machine. The measurement is therefore still a little more reliable than usual and the result is really good. The Xiaomi Mi 11 Lite uses a Snapdragon X15 modem which is also used by the Redmi Note 10 Pro. How is that interesting? I had obtained a very good score with the Redmi Note 10 Pro and these results with the Mi 11 lite confirm that the Snapdragon X15 is a good modem. [b][b]
The Mi 11 Lite signals on the graph are always very close to those of my reference device. I got an average signal almost identical to my measuring device, it has not yet happened very often and it will allow the Mi 11 Lite to capture the network well. If your operator allows it, you should be able to download 500 to 600 Mbps. The 5G version uses another modem that I haven't tested yet, so I'm not sure if the network sensitivity is that good.[b][b][b]Download/Upload speed[b]To test the download speed, I have identified some 4G cells offering good performance where I test all my devices several times to see what download and upload speed they can achieve.[b]Top 10 - speed ranking in download
1. Samsung Galaxy S20 D:351Mbps U: 20Mbps
2. Poco X3 D:232Mbps U: 55Mbps
3. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g D:223Mbps U: 52Mbps
4. Poco F2 Pro D:207Mbps U: 53Mbps
5. Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite D:153Mbps U: 68Mbps
6. Xiaomi Mi A3 D:150Mbps U: 60Mbps
7. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s D:150Mbps U: 60Mbps
8. Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite D:149Mbps U: 60Mbps
9. Samsung Galaxy A21s D:147Mbps U: 51Mbps
10. Huawei Y6 2019 D:145Mbps U: 61Mbps

Number of smartphones in the ranking:30
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:0/30

Note: the theoretical maximum speed of a telephone is often limited by the configuration of the mobile network and the congestion of the network at the time of the measurement. So maybe you could get a higher speed on another network
[b][b]

Wifi performance

To test a phone's ability to receive the network properly, I take measurements near my router and then remotely (and always at the same place). This gives me an average in dBm where a value of -90 dBm indicates poorer performance than a value at -30 dBm.[b]
Wifi frequencies : 802.11a , 802.11b , 802.11g , 802.11n , 802.11n 5GHz , 802.11ac, WiFi 6 (802.11ax)
Download speed : 190
Signal / close : -24
Signal / distant : -69
Wifi signal[b]The Xiaomi Mi 11 Lite uses the same wifi chipset as most Xiaomi phones in the same price range (Redmi or Poco) but yet I didn't get the same kind of result. The sensitivity to the wifi network seems less good with this Mi 11 Lite because I got a -24 dBm signal near the router where I get around -15 dBm with a Redmi or a Poco. It takes me longer to see if this is a whim of my router or if it is a poorer performance of the phone.[b][b]Top 10 - wifi sensitivity ranking
1. Poco F2 Pro -11dBm
2. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro -12dBm
3. Realme Gt -12dBm
4. Samsung Galaxy A21s -13dBm
5. Oneplus Nord N100 -15dBm
6. Poco X3 Pro -15dBm
7. Poco F3 -15dBm
8. Redmi Note 9t -15dBm
9. Samsung Galaxy A52 -17dBm
10. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10s -17dBm

Number of smartphones in the ranking:48
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:26/48

[b]Download/Upload speed[b]To test the speed in Wifi, I connect to my router in 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz (if available) and use the Ookla application to measure the speed.[b]Top 10 - wifi download speed ranking
1. Poco F3 398Mbps
2. Poco X3 Pro 389Mbps
3. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro 367Mbps
4. Samsung Galaxy S20 351Mbps
5. Poco F2 Pro 341Mbps
6. Redmi Note 9t 332Mbps
7. Realme Gt 330Mbps
8. Doogee S96 Pro 328Mbps
9. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10s 325Mbps
10. Poco M3 Pro 323Mbps

Number of smartphones in the ranking:47
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:29/47

Note: I have a 400Mbps line and a modem capable of delivering higher speed, but I can never be sure how much bandwidth is available when doing a test.
[b]

GPS performance

[b]To test the quality of the GPS signal I use the Offline Maps application and I make the same train trip in pedestrian mode. Why? In pedestrian mode, the GPS does not artificially correct the signal to stick to the road, it has no markings, so you can see the actual position. I then use an application to measure the accuracy of the signal. I measured an accuracy level of around 3 meters with the GPS, it is an average level of accuracy, I get the same level of accuracy with all phones equipped with a Snapdragon CPU, it is necessary to move towards a Mediatek CPU to obtain better performance. I only have one frequency for the GPS and Galileo network, the Xiaomi Mi 11 Lite does not seem to benefit from other frequencies.[b][b]Top 10 - GPS accuracy ranking
1. Oukitel C21 1m
2. Redmi 9a 1m
3. Doogee S96 Pro 1m
4. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10s 1m
5. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 1m
6. Redmi 9c 2m
7. Umidigi Bison 2m
8. Poco M3 Pro 2m
9. F150 R2022 2m
10. Redmi Note 9t 2m

Number of smartphones in the ranking:23
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:19/23

Note: An accuracy of 3 meters or less can easily be corrected by a good GPS application. Phone performance also plays a role in how fast your display updates, so good accuracy could be compromised by too slow a display.
[b]

Battery range

Capacity : 4250
Fast charge : Yes
W max : 33
Not yet available / tested[b][b]

Photo camera test

To test the quality of photos produced by a phone, I do a technical test (resolution, sharpness, chromatic aberration,...) in studio (identical conditions) to evaluate the technical part objectively. From the second half of 2020, I built my own laboratory to take completely objective technical measurements. I then take pictures in real conditions to see how the camera performs. I then evaluate these photos according to my criteria but I publish the photos so that you can evaluate the result according to your criteria.[b]

Hardware

Selfie / resolution : 20
Resolution : 64
Sensor : Samsung GW3
mm wide angle : 4.74 mm
mm ultra wide angle : 1.65 mm
The Xiaomi Mi 11 Lite (4G and 5G) is equipped with a Samsung GW3 main sensor of 64 million pixels. I have not yet had the opportunity to test this sensor, it is not yet very widespread. It is also used by the Samsung Galaxy A32, Nubia Red Magic 6 and Black Shark 4 Pro. This sensor is optimized for low light photos and should offer effective stabilization in 4k. [b][b] This phone is also equipped with an 8 million pixel ultra wide angle sensor, it is arguably the same as in other phones of this brand, I would see at the use if I can recognize his fingerprint.[b]Default app[b]The Mi 11 lite's default photo application is the same as that used on other Xiaomi phones running MIUI 12. If you are looking for an alternative application, know that GCAM works very well on the Mi 11 Lite.[b][b]

Photo quality

Photo test / studio[b]
The Xiaomi Mi 11 Lite is equipped with a 64 million pixel Samsung GW3 sensor, this is the first time I have tested this sensor, it is not very widespread. Xiaomi has decided to re-use the Sony IMX 355 for ultra wide angle photos, this sensor is however much more common, I have tested it on at least 4 phones this year. For this first photo test, I go through the different modes available (auto and pro mode) as well as the use of HDR, AI and night mode. The photo at the beginning of this paragraph was taken in manual RAW mode with exposure compensation and color balance. [b][b] As with most phones that go through the studio, the photos are mostly underexposed but I find the auto mode without HDR and AI does fine. With one or two more exposure notches, the photo would have been exposed correctly, that's what I did with pro mode. The colors are also too dark (and too cold) due to the underexposure but here with the right settings the problem can be fixed. The sharpness is quite good but the artificial depth of field is quite small on the other hand and it is clearly visible in a circular fashion. I also noticed a more pronounced vignetting than what I'm used to seeing. There is nothing dramatic at this point, everything can be fixed on the phone and phones that produce good photos without the pro mode under artificial light are quite rare. I expected better from this sensor but the tests that will follow will be much more decisive in my evaluation. [b][b]Photo test / sunny[b] Main sensor: Samsung GW3
The Xiaomi Mi 11 lite is equipped with a Samsung GW3 sensor of 64 million pixels, I have not yet had the opportunity to test this sensor on another phone. This sensor uses 0.7μm pixels, it is probably one of the sensors with the smallest pixels at the time of doing this test. Why is it important? A smaller pixel reduces the size of the sensor on the back of the phone and since the Mi 11 Lite is very thin, that's a good thing. A smaller pixel also captures less light and that is quite problematic for a camera, but Samsung has developed a technology called ISOCELL allowing light to be collected from the spaces between cells. In short, enough technique, let's see what this sensor has in the belly. [b][b] For this first series of photos, the conditions were really ideal, the sun dominated a slightly hazy sky and the grazing light at the end of the afternoon brought a touch of warmth to the vegetation. From the first photo, I noticed that the colors were highly saturated. At first I thought I forgot to turn off HDR or AI but no, everything was turned off. This saturation varies according to the dominance of the colors. You will notice that in the photos where the blue is dominant (by the sky or the water), the saturation is clearly more visible. This treatment produces quite vivid photos that will surely appeal to a large audience, but this choice for saturation can sometimes give the photos an unnatural aspect. I see that sometimes the sky turns a little purple. If you are the type to look for flaws in the details of your photos, you will undoubtedly also find chromatic aberration as well as mixtures of colors which are sometimes a little curious. [b][b] The other element that I noticed from the first photo is the sharpness. Looking at the freshly taken photos, I had the distinct impression that the sharpness was quite high and this was confirmed by looking at the photos on a larger screen. Sharpness is essential to take good photos, so it's a good thing but sometimes too much sharpness leads to the opposite of the expected result and this is particularly the case for the X2 zoom where I find that the quality of the photo deteriorates quite strongly. The quality always degrades with digital zoom but I find it very noticeable on this phone. [b][b] I took many photos so that you can judge if this phone will produce photos that you will like because beyond the technical aspect, there is a purely subjective aspect to it. 'appreciation of the photos. This excess saturation is not technically correct, but that does not mean that the photos will not look good. [b][b] Ultra wide angle sensor: Sony IMX 355
Xiaomi has used this ultra wide angle sensor for many phones this year and that's not a bad thing because despite the inherent flaws in the angle (distortion, smoothing, ...), this Sony IMX 355 is capable of producing beautiful photos when the light is good. The colors are correctly saturated and the level of detail is good in the center for this kind of sensor. The sharpness decreases at the periphery especially for the subjects which are close. This type of sensor should ideally be used for landscapes where the subjects are far from the lens because as the focus is fixed, you have to find the right distance to take the photos. Ultra wide-angle sensors usually don't produce very good photos, but this Sony IMX 355 does pretty well. [b][b]Photo test / cloudy[b]Not yet available / tested[b][b][b]Test photo / night[b]Not yet available / tested[b][b][b]

Video quality

Stabilisation[b] 4k video stabilization is rarely effective on the mid-range and yet this is the second time this year that I have tested a phone between 200 and 300 € capable of stabilizing 4k videos correctly . Stabilization softens the shocks caused by walking and although the recalculation of the pixels is sometimes still visible, the jerky movements are well absorbed.[b]Video normale conditions The Xiaomi Mi 11 Lite is capable of producing videos at 4K 30 fps, which has also become the standard in this price range. The videos produced by the Samsung GW3 sensor have the same characteristics as the photo part, the colors are richly saturated and the sharpness of the image is enhanced. The movements are smooth and the focus is fast, however I see that the exposure changes are slightly visible. Despite the resolution, the zoom is not very usable for the same reasons as those mentioned in my photo test. The sharpness is so enhanced that as soon as you use the digital zoom, the quality degrades very quickly. Here too the use of the zoom is not recommended. I did a second video in portrait mode with a high detail backdrop to show the level of sharpness this phone is capable of delivering. The work on the pixels is clearly visible, you just have to zoom in to realize that the pixels are constantly recalculated, it gives an impression of flickering. [b][b] The Xiaomi Mi 11 Lite therefore produces beautiful videos with a quality quite comparable to the Redmi Note 10 Pro but with more sharpness and greater color saturation.[b]Video low light[b]Not yet available / tested[b][b]

Audio quality

To test the quality of the phone's audio output, I connect the device's audio output to a measuring tool, then play sounds on all frequencies and measure the differences between the original sound and the sound produced by the phone. In this way I measure the phone's ability to correctly reproduce all sounds.[b]
Frequency Response[b]This test is intended to test the device's ability to correctly reproduce all frequencies. The white line in the middle of the graph is the ideal situation and the other colors come from tests on different phones. A deviation from the reference line indicates a deviation from the ideal situation. To see good sound at all frequencies, it is therefore necessary to get as close as possible to the reference line. Dynamic Range[b]This test is designed to test a phone's ability to play sounds at different volume levels. Here too, the phones must be as close as possible to the reference. Noise Level[b]This test aims to identify if the device under test is able to reproduce sounds without too much noise. A high score indicates a low parasite rate, a lower score indicates a higher presence of parasites. Concert recording[b]The purpose of this test is to measure the recording quality of the phone when there is a lot of ambient noise. Since I don't have the opportunity to go to a concert every time I test a phone, I simulate the noise of a concert in a closed environment.

Screen quality

To test the screen, I use a colorimetric probe that measures the color accuracy of a screen, as well as other parameters to see if a screen is able to correctly reproduce an image. I also test the brightness level to determine if the screen will be able to display an image in full sunlight.[b]
Screen size : 6.55
Resolution : 1080 x 2400
Ratio : 20:9
Type : Amoled
% occupancy : 85
dE white : 2.6
dE red : 1.0
dE green : 0.6
dE blue : 1.3
dE jaune : 1.2
dE cyan : 0.8
dE magenta : 0.8
White temperature : 6477
Contrast : 5000000:1
Brightness : 794
Colorimetry[b]
The Mi XX Lite range is often equipped with good screens, the Mi 10 Lite was also one of the best screens in terms of colorimetry. The Mi 11 Lite has a slightly less accurate colorimetry but it still offers exceptional colorimetry and is one of the best screens I have tested. To obtain the best color rendering, however, you must change the color temperature in the settings and choose the standard colors. Beyond the colorimetry, the screen can operate in 60hz (default choice) or 90hz to ensure a beautiful fluidity of the movements, the screen is also very sensitive to the touch, it also use a frequency of 240hz to have a exemplary responsiveness.[b][b]Top 10 - ranking of the best screens by colorimetry
1. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g dE = 0.73
2. Xiaomi Mi 10t Pro dE = 0.83
3. Realme Gt dE = 1.17
4. Xiaomi Mi 11 Lite dE = 1.19
5. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 dE = 1.2
6. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 dE = 1.23
7. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro dE = 1.31
8. Samsung Galaxy S20 dE = 1.4
9. Poco M3 dE = 1.4
10. Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite dE = 1.46

Number of smartphones in the ranking:48
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:4/48

Note: the colorimetric difference is measured in dE. After three, the human eye will perceive a colorimetric difference, so the dE should be the lowest. The tests were all carried out with a colorimetric probe.
[b]Brightness / Contrast[b]I had been a little surprised by the brightness announced by Xiaomi for this Xiaomi Mi 11 Lite because the data sheet indicates that the screen is capable of producing 800 cd / m², it is absolutely huge, so I first thought it was a mistake but it is not. I pushed the brightness to the maximum and used the sun mode to get just a little less than 800 cd / m². It is one of the brightest screens I have had the opportunity to test and you will be able to use it in all conditions, even under intense sun. [b][b] The Mi 11 Lite's screen is an Amoled screen, which means blacks are truly black and the contrast is almost infinite. I am seeing more and more Amoled displays in this price range so it is no longer something exceptional but if you come from an LCD / IPS display you are going to see the difference.[b]Light Absorption/Reflection[b]The smartphone screen reflect light and sometimes turn them into a real mirror. This mirror effect makes it harder to read. [b][b]The absorption index below indicates the percentage of light absorbed by the screen. The readability of a screen is better when the absorption index is high.[b][b]
Phone tested:% light absorption
Samsung Galaxy S10+58
Xiaomi Mi 9T Pro52
Honor 9x65
Redmi Note 9s55
Motorola G8 Power60
Realme 654
Umidigi F248
Poco F2 Pro52
Redmi Note 956
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite53
Samsung Galaxy S2047
Samsung Galaxy A21s53
The phones tested have an average absroption rate of54 %

Biometry

The Mi 11 Lite is equipped with a side fingerprint sensor like most Xiaomi phones that came out this year, it is also often the same sensor that is used. This sensor works really great to the point that I have a hard time switching back to another type of sensor. Samsung seems to want to continue to offer sensors on the screen, it is undoubtedly more aesthetic but much less effective.[b]

Operating system

[b]

Encoutered bugs

Not yet available / tested[b][b]

Accessories Xiaomi Mi 11 Lite

To better enjoy your experience with your smartphone, I offer links to all kinds of accessories that you might find useful

Protective cover / case xiaomi mi 11 lite
Screen protection film xiaomi mi 11 lite
Memory card xiaomi mi 11 lite
USB Cable / Charger xiaomi mi 11 lite
Headphones xiaomi mi 11 lite
Bike rack xiaomi mi 11 lite

Compare Xiaomi Mi 11 Lite with the others

I assigned a score of 1 to 10 for each test that determines the strengths and weaknesses of a product. I am using 0 for criteria that have not (yet) been tested. A score of 1 to 3 indicates poor performance (and yes, it does), a score of 4 to 6 indicates average performance, a score of 7 to 8 indicates good performance, and a score of 9 and 10 indicates exceptional performance. .
The score is calculated based on my measurements and when there are no measurements, it is a subjective opinion based on my experience.

The scores are not static, they change over time because the performance of new products changes and this must be taken into account.

Xiaomi Mi 11 Lite
Finish quality7.56.00
CPU performance7.006.5
GPU performance7.006.5
Screen quality8.007.00
Photo quality7.55.00
Video quality7.55.00
Wi-Fi performance6.007.00
Mobile download speed8.005.00
Mobile network sensitivity8.006.00
Frequency coverage8.007.00
Audio quality7.006.00
GPS performance7.006.00
Operating system8.008.00
Overall score96.589
Global ranking
1. Realme Gt 112.5 / 140
2. Poco F2 Pro 111.5 / 140
3. Poco F3 111.5 / 140
4. Samsung Galaxy S20 111 / 140
5. Poco X3 Pro 107.5 / 140
6. Samsung Galaxy S10+ 107 / 140
7. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro 106.5 / 140
8. Xiaomi Mi 9t Pro 106 / 140
9. Samsung Galaxy A52 104 / 140
10. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 101.5 / 140
11. Poco X3 101 / 140
12. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g 101 / 140
13. Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite 101 / 140
14. Redmi Note 9t 100.5 / 140
15. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro 100 / 140
16. Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite 98 / 140
17. Doogee S96 Pro 98 / 140
18. Poco M3 Pro 98 / 140
19. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s 98 / 140
20. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 97 / 140
21. Xiaomi Mi 11 Lite 96.5 / 130
22. Poco M3 94.5 / 140
23. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10s 94.5 / 130
24. Xiaomi Redmi Note 7 94 / 140
25. Realme 6 93 / 140
26. Umidigi Bison 92 / 140
27. Umidigi A9 Pro 92 / 140
28. Oukitel C21 89.5 / 140
29. Xiaomi Mi A3 89 / 140
30. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 89 / 140
31. Nokia 5.3 89 / 140
32. Motorola G8 Power 89 / 140
33. Oneplus Nord N100 88.5 / 140
34. Honor 9x 88 / 140
35. Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite 86 / 140
36. Meizu Note 9 86 / 140
37. Xiaomi Redmi Note 5 85 / 140
38. Umidigi S3 Pro 83 / 140
39. Samsung Galaxy A21s 82 / 140
40. Umidigi F2 82 / 140
41. Redmi 9a 81 / 140
42. Redmi 9c 80 / 140
43. Ulefone Armor 7e 80 / 140
44. Doogee S58 Pro 78.5 / 140
45. Honor 8x 78 / 140
46. Umidigi F1 77 / 140
47. Huawei Y6 2019 74 / 140
48. Xiaomi Mi 10t Pro 57 / 70
49. F150 R2022 53.5 / 80
50. Elephone U5 0 / 0

Test / Review conclusion

[b]I still have to finalize some details for this test but that will not change the conclusion. The Mi 11 Lite returns to its origins with an ultra thin format, light weight and a glass finish. This format is also one of the strengths of this phone because the Chinese have started a race that results in the marketing of increasingly large and heavier phones, the Xiaomi Mi 11 Lite is sailing against the tide and it will undoubtedly be a very good thing for all those who were tired of walking around with a brick in their trouser pocket. [b][b] Obviously, the choice of a phone does not stop with its size or its weight, the Xiaomi Mi 11 Lite offers other advantages. It is in particular the first Xiaomi to use the Samsung GW3 photo sensor which offers good sharpness in photos and high saturation which will make your photos more vivid (but less natural). The Mi 11 Lite also offers effective stabilization in 4k, this is quite rare in this price range and videos follow the same path as photos, sharpness is good and colors are more vivid / saturated. [b][b] The Xiaomi Mi 11 Lite is equipped with an Amoled screen, this gives it good contrast but that's not all, the Mi 11 Lite offers very accurate colorimetry. It ranks in the top 3 at the time of this writing. To complete the picture, I would also add that the screen is very, very bright, with 800 cd / m², you can use it in direct sunlight without any problems. [b][b] On the performance side, the Mi 11 Lite ranks average, Xiaomi sells other more powerful models at a lower price. Performance is therefore not the hobbyhorse of this Mi 11 Lite but it is powerful enough to appeal to a general public. Gamers, on the other hand, should opt for a Poco X3 Pro. [b][b] We often forget it, but at the base, a telephone is used to ... telephone. The Mi 11 Lite offers excellent network sensitivity which will allow you to keep the signal longer and achieve good download speed. Xiaomi has come a long way at this level over the past 12 months and traditional brands cannot always do better. [b][b] Does the phone have any faults? I wouldn't go that far, I would rather talk about weaknesses. I noticed a fairly significant difference in sensitivity in wifi between the 2.4Ghz frequency and the 5Ghz frequency, the signal sensitivity was better in 5Ghz, but this does not make sense. The download speed was also slower than other phones in the same price range.[b]Strengths[b]- finish, size / weight [b] - screen quality [b] - network sensitivity [b] - photo sharpness [b] - 4k video stabilization [b][b][b]Weaknesses[b]- wifi sensitivity [b] - wifi download speed [b] - photos sometimes too saturated [b][b][b]Alternatives to this product[b][b]Not yet available / tested[b][b]
Subscribe
Subscribe to my YouTube channel to receive updates.

Comments

Join the discussion / Ask your questions

Your comment will be published after validation. I respond to over 1500 comments a year in my spare time, so I can't always respond very quickly. Your email address will not be publicly visible and it will not be used for commercial purposes.









Be notified by email when a response is published