On this page:
Price Xiaomi Mi 9T Pro
Unpacking
First configuration
Finish
Specifications
CPU / GPU Performance
Benchmark Antutu/3DMark
Network performance
Wifi performance
GPS performance
Battery range
Photo camera test
Hardware
Photoquality
Video quality
Audio quality
Screen quality
Biometry
Operating system
Test / Review conclusion
Questions answers

Best new price:
259 EUR
See the offer | Amazon.es

2 other prices available in other stores.



Xiaomi Mi 9T Pro: ultra-complete test and neutral review

Xiaomi Mi 9T Pro test, review and price

Category: Tests / Reviews

Xiaomi launched the T range in 2019 by first launching the Xiaomi Mi 9T Pro followed by the Mi 9T. These two smartphones stand out from the rest of the Xiaomi models by offering a pop-up camera that allows you to use the entire screen. This technique is not new, other manufacturers have already launched smartphones with the same type of camera. What changes this time is that Xiaomi is the one who does it and by applying their usual formula, which is to offer a maximum at a lower price than the competition. Can this Xiaomi Mi 9T Pro face a Samsung Galaxy S10+ or one of the latest iPhone? That's what I'm going to show you through this test.



linkManufacturer web site: https://www.mi.com

Structure of my tests

I test the phones according to a pre-established structure (see below) to provide you with as much information as possible. Unfortunately, this takes a long time. Some tests like network performance tests take several days and for photo tests I sometimes have to wait until the weather is suitable to take pictures in good conditions. I am therefore obliged to publish the tests step by step, so I invite you to come back if the test is not complete at the time of your visit.

How are my tests different from others on the web?

- I usually buy the devices with my own money, so price is just as important as you are!
- I keep the devices for at least a few weeks (sometimes more) to see what they are worth in real conditions.
- I answer (when possible) your questions to help you decide before you buy
- no one pays me to do these reviews, so I'm completely neutral and independent...
- My pages are not filled with ads



Poco F2 review - test - specs
Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite test, review and price
Umidigi F1 test, review and price
Honor 8x test, review and price
Xiaomi Redmi Note 5 test and review
Umidigi F2 test / review / specs
Leeco Coolpad Cool1 test and review
Motorola G8 Power test, review and price
Realme 6 test, review and price
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s test, review and price

Price Xiaomi Mi 9T Pro

The list below shows the prices for the Xiaomi Mi 9T Pro from more than 50 sites around the world. If you are not satisfied with any price, you can subscribe to a price alert to be the first to be notified when the price drops.
Xiaomi Mi 9T Pro – Smartphone con Pantalla AMOLED Full-Screen de 6,39" (Qualcomm SD 855, Selfie Po...
2020-10-28 10:12
259 EUR
Xiaomi Mi 9T Pro – Smartphone con Pantalla AMOLED Full-Screen de 6,39" (Qualcomm SD 855, Selfie Po...
2020-10-28 10:12
259 EUR



helpThe above links are affiliate links from companies such as Amazon, Gearbest, Aliexpress,... If you appreciate my work, I would be grateful if you could purchase these products through these links. It costs you absolutely nothing but I get a small commission that allows me to buy the material I test. Thank you very much!

Timeline

15/11/2019: phone delivered from Gearbest
17/11/2019: unpacking and first impressions

Why this phone?

I'm not the first to test the Mi 9T Pro, it is rarely the case because I don't receive manufacturers' phones when they are released. On paper this phone really has everything you can expect from a phone today but its price is above what I usually pay, so I had made the decision not to test it but I had the opportunity to test the phone without buying it (this is very rare). I couldn't miss this opportunity.

Unpacking

xiaomi mi 9T pro test review avis recensione opinion revision photo 2
The Xiaomi Mi 9T Pro is packed in a classic box but Xiaomi has chosen black for the inside and outside of the box. Xiaomi probably wanted to stand out from the usual white boxes to give a more premium look to the Mi 9T Pro. Apart from the colour, the contents of the box are strictly the same as those usually found on phones of this brand.



Length : 156.7
Width : 74.3
Thickness : 8.8
Weight : 191
Jack output : Yes
USB Type : Type C
USB norm : 2.0

First configuration


The first configuration of the Xiaomi Mi 9T Pro follows the same process as the other Xiaomi I have been able to test in recent months but Xiaomi has introduced a small variant to push its cloud service. The person in charge of this service was probably a little behind with his objectives and he probably wanted to push it a little by adding some screens in the configuration process. If you do not want to register for the Xiaomi cloud, you will have to decline it several times.

I don't have an account on the Xiaomi cloud, so I can't judge if this service is good or not, but if you already have a Google account with Google Photos or Google Drive, a cloud account at Xiaomi won't give you anything more. I often change from one phone to another and the fact that I can store everything in Google's cloud allows me to retrieve all my information (contacts, sms, applications,...) each time I configure a new phone.



Finish

xiaomi mi 9T pro test review avis recensione opinion revision photo 8
The Xiaomi Mi 9T Pro is not an entry-level phone, but rather targets those who are used to buying high-end phones while offering a much lower price. The level of finish must therefore be impeccable to convince a loyal Samsung or Apple customer to go for a Xiaomi. The Xiaomi Mi 9T Pro is massive, it is heavier than a Samsung Galaxy S10+ (for a similar screen size) and you can feel it. This weight gives it an impression of strength and the materials used do not deform. Xiaomi is mainly present in the mid-range but with this Mi 9T Pro, the Chinese clearly attack another type of segment and the result is quite good.

xiaomi mi 9T pro test review avis recensione opinion revision photo 7
The top of the phone is slightly different from the other models because Xiaomi has installed a camera for selfies that comes out only when you want to do a selfie. Xiaomi is not the first to experiment with this kind of technique but they did it particularly well. The camera pops when you turn on the selfie mode on the camera and it automatically retracts when you are finished. This frees the screen from any constraints related to the front camera and gives you a real full screen experience. I don't use the selfie camera much, so I like this kind of solution quite a lot and I hope other manufacturers will follow this new trend.

xiaomi mi 9T pro test review avis recensione opinion revision photo 4
The bottom of the phone is also different from the other models. The SIM drawer of the Mi 9T Pro is located under the phone, it's the first time I've seen it, it replaces one of the grids that was finally useless because most phones are only equipped with one speaker. Next to the SIM drawer, there is a USB type C port and a grid for the loudspeaker.

xiaomi mi 9T pro test review avis recensione opinion revision photo 6
Since the SIM drawer is located at the bottom of the phone, the Mi 9T Pro has one side without any buttons. On the other side, there are the usual buttons for volume and start, the start button is red.

xiaomi mi 9T pro test review avis recensione opinion revision photo 9
The back of the phone has a very special design, there is a dark central band on which we find the photo sensors and on the sides the color drifts towards a gradient of color. It's a very special combination, everyone will have an opinion, I clearly prefer the design on the back of the Mi 9 Lite.

The photo sensor is positioned in the middle and protrudes very little from the back of the phone. So you won't have the problem with the Redmi range where the phone is never really flat.

xiaomi mi 9T pro test review avis recensione opinion revision photo 3
By moving the photo sensor for selfie to a pop-up module, Xiaomi managed to completely free the screen. There is always a border that is quite thin except at the bottom where the lower edge is slightly thicker than the rest of the device. We are no longer far from a phone without an edge where the screen takes up 100% of the available space.

Specifications


The information below comes from the Device Info HW application. The application provides detailed technical information about the tested phone.

CPU / GPU Performance

CPU : Qualcomm Snapdragon 855
GPU : Qualcomm AdreNo 640
Memory (RAM) : 6 - 8Gb
Storage : 64 - 256 Gb

Benchmark Antutu/3DMark

I get a score of 430,000 points with Antutu, it's simply the best score of all the phones I've tested so far. I scored 335,000 points with the Samsung Galaxy S10+, the Mi 9T Pro is 28% higher. Even in the days of Samsung, I wondered what could make this phone so powerful it was. Six months later, Xiaomi sets the bar even higher and I wonder why manufacturers are still trying to do better because no game seems greedy enough to take full advantage of such power. It is probably a marketing argument that allows users to say that they have one of the most powerful phones available.

By pushing the phone all the way with Antutu and 3DMark, the back of the phone gets noticeably hot but never to the point of no longer being able to hold the phone in your hand. Cooling is therefore particularly effective.



With 3DMark, I also get an incredible score with 5113 points for OpenGL and 4244 for Vulkan. Here too, the Xiaomi Mi 9T Pro does better than the Samsung.

Antutu score : 430403
Antutu CPU : 144197
Antutu GPU : 171321
Antutu UX : 56099
Antutu Mem : 58786
3D Mark Open GL : 5113
3D Mark Vulkan : 4244

Top 10 - performance ranking based on Antutu
1. Poco F2 Pro - 569559
2. Samsung Galaxy S20 - 503905
3. Xiaomi Mi 9t Pro - 430403
4. Xiaomi Mi Mix 3 5g - 385000
5. Oppo Reno 5g - 375000
6. Meizu 16s - 374190
7. Xiaomi Mi 9 - 372006
8. Sony Xperia 1 - 372000
9. Lg G8s Thinq - 371000
10. Lg V50 Thinq 5g - 370000

Number of smartphones in the ranking:102
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:3/102

Note: this ranking only contains the phones I tested as well as a few others that I added for reference.

Gaming
To test the performance in game, I download the mobile PUBG game and evaluate the in-game experience, graphics level and depth of vision. This game is quite demanding and should help you evaluating the performance of a phone.
With a score of over 400,000 points, the Xiaomi Mi 9T Pro will allow you to play any game with the highest level of graphics. The Mi 9T Pro is one of the most powerful phones at the end of 2019 and it will be a long time before we find games and applications that will be challenging for it.



Network performance

The Xiaomi Mi 9T Pro covers the vast majority of frequencies in Europe, it even covers the B28 band in 700 MHz for Free customers in France

3G frequencies : B1, B2, B4, B5, B8
4G frequencies : B1, B2, B3, B4, B5, B7, B8, B20, B28, B38, B40
Bluetooth : Bluetooth 5.0 LE
SAR / head : 1.302
SAR / body : 1.180
Volte : Yes
NFC : Yes
Number measurements : 1600
Average signal : -88
Download speed : 121
Upload speed : 60
Choose your country to check if your phone is compatible:


The frequencies displayed below will allow you to see if this phone is compatible with your operator or if you will be able to use it in the country where you are going on vacation.


Signal 4G
The ability to pick up the network correctly is an essential element for a phone but it is only very rarely measured. To measure a phone's ability to pick up the network, I perform a large number of measurements on the same cells to be able to compare phones under similar conditions. The signal is measured in dBm, a value of -90dBm indicates a worse signal than -70dBm. These measurements are therefore taken under real conditions and not in a laboratory, they are not scientific but give a good indication of performance.

Network signal sensitivity rating
Phone tested:Average signal (dBm)Number of measurements:
Xiaomi Mi 9t Pro-881600
Xiaomi Redmi Note 5-91.305600
Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite-93788
Samsung Galaxy A70-94.5111975
Nokia 5.3-94.98531
Realme 6-95.142301
Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro-95.9221599
Xiaomi Mi A3-95.951000
Huawei Y6 2019-95.951199
Redmi 9a-96.481000
Meizu Note 9-96.68937
Motorola G8 Power-96.881032
Xiaomi Redmi Note 7-97.011430
Redmi 9c-97.041000
Umidigi S3 Pro-97.131200
Xiaomi Redmi Note 8-97.34879
Samsung Galaxy A21s-97.781000
Umidigi F1-97.82298
Ulefone Armor 7e-98.71000
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite-991000
Honor 9x-99.14899
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s-99.41860
Poco F2 Pro-99.81247
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9-100.791785
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g-100.881198
Umidigi F2-101.47712


xiaomi mi 9t pro network performance

I have been testing network performance with the same protocol for a year now and with more than 15,000 measurements, I now have enough data to compare the signal quality among all the phones I have tested. It was the first phone I tested that got the highest score (Redmi Note 5) with -91dBm. This phone exceeded emission standards and Xiaomi made a fix that lowered the phone in the ranking. Since then I hadn't found a phone with such a score until I tested the Xiaomi Mi 9T Pro.

Of all the phones I have tested, it is the Mi 9T Pro that gets the best result with a very comfortable advance because I got an average signal of -88 dBm. So is this phone the best phone to pick up the network? Maybe, but I need to provide more information. For my other tests, I had used a Proximus subscription to perform my measurements but I now use a Proximus prepaid card. I think network access is different in prepaid because I got a lot more measurements in 3G than with other phones.

The comparison with another phone is done on common cells and I observe nevertheless that the Mi 9T Pro gets the best score. So I think the great score comes from two things, the phone is actually good but the network has pushed me to 3G where the coverage is better.



Download/Upload speed
To test the download speed, I have identified some 4G cells offering good performance where I test all my devices several times to see what download and upload speed they can achieve.
Top 10 - speed ranking in download
1. Samsung Galaxy S20 D:351Mbps U: 20Mbps
2. Poco X3 D:232Mbps U: 55Mbps
3. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g D:223Mbps U: 52Mbps
4. Poco F2 Pro D:207Mbps U: 53Mbps
5. Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite D:153Mbps U: 68Mbps
6. Xiaomi Mi A3 D:150Mbps U: 60Mbps
7. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s D:150Mbps U: 60Mbps
8. Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite D:149Mbps U: 60Mbps
9. Samsung Galaxy A21s D:147Mbps U: 51Mbps
10. Huawei Y6 2019 D:145Mbps U: 61Mbps

Number of smartphones in the ranking:30
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:13/30

Note: the theoretical maximum speed of a telephone is often limited by the configuration of the mobile network and the congestion of the network at the time of the measurement. So maybe you could get a higher speed on another network

The network test of the Xiami Mi 9T Pro shows that it does a good job and this is also reflected in the download speed where I got more than 110 Mbps in download, it has been months since I had a phone that exceeds 100 Mbps. When uploading I usually get a result between 40 and 60Mbps.




Wifi performance

To test a phone's ability to receive the network properly, I take measurements near my router and then remotely (and always at the same place). This gives me an average in dBm where a value of -90 dBm indicates poorer performance than a value at -30 dBm.
Wifi frequencies : 802.11a, 802.11ac, 802.11b, 802.11g, 802.11n, 802.11n 5GHz
Download speed : 191
Signal / close : -25
Signal / distant : -72
Wifi signal


The Xiaomi Mi 9T Pro offers an average performance in terms of wifi signal. It gets a good score but other phones can do better.


Top 10 - wifi sensitivity ranking
1. Poco F2 Pro -11dBm
2. Samsung Galaxy A21s -13dBm
3. Poco X3 -17dBm
4. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s -18dBm
5. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro -19dBm
6. Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite -19dBm
7. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g -19dBm
8. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 -19dBm
9. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 -19dBm
10. Redmi 9a -19dBm

Number of smartphones in the ranking:30
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:14/30


Download/Upload speed
To test the speed in Wifi, I connect to my router in 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz (if available) and use the Ookla application to measure the speed.


The Xiaomi Mi 9T Pro is compatible with the 5Ghz frequency, so it can offer a higher download speed. I got almost 200 Mbps in download, it's not the fastest phone I have tested but with this level of speed you should be able to do what you want (streaming, playing, downloading,...)


Top 10 - wifi download speed ranking
1. Samsung Galaxy S20 351Mbps
2. Poco F2 Pro 341Mbps
3. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro 319Mbps
4. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g 300Mbps
5. Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite 260Mbps
6. Poco X3 251Mbps
7. Xiaomi Redmi Note 7 250Mbps
8. Umidigi F1 220Mbps
9. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 211Mbps
10. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 207Mbps

Number of smartphones in the ranking:30
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:15/30

Note: I have a 400Mbps line and a modem capable of delivering higher speed, but I can never be sure how much bandwidth is available when doing a test.

GPS performance


To test the quality of the GPS signal I use the Offline Maps application and I make the same train trip in pedestrian mode. Why? In pedestrian mode, the GPS does not artificially correct the signal to stick to the road, it has no markings, so you can see the actual position. I then use an application to measure the accuracy of the signal.
The Xiaomi Mi 9T Pro picks up the GPS signal very quickly, it took only 2 seconds to find satellites and the accuracy quickly stabilized at 2 meters where other phones continue to fluctuate.


On the train route, the accuracy even seems to be better than 2 meters because the signal does not seem to deviate from the railway track, I do not see any degradation of the signal on the way.





Top 10 - GPS accuracy ranking
1. Redmi 9a 1m
2. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 1m
3. Redmi 9c 2m
4. Samsung Galaxy A21s 4m

Number of smartphones in the ranking:5
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:0/5

Note: An accuracy of 3 meters or less can easily be corrected by a good GPS application. Phone performance also plays a role in how fast your display updates, so good accuracy could be compromised by too slow a display.

Battery range

Capacity : 4000
Fast charge : Yes
W max : 27
The Xiaomi Mi 9T Pro is equipped with a 4000 mAh battery, it is probably the same battery as other Xiaomis. Even if the phone is one of the most powerful at Xiaomi, I keep two full days with a battery, sometimes with a rather intensive use in tethering (min 2 hours per day).



Photo camera test

To test the quality of photos produced by a phone, I do a technical test (resolution, sharpness, chromatic aberration,...) in studio (identical conditions) to evaluate the technical part objectively. From the second half of 2020, I built my own laboratory to take completely objective technical measurements. I then take pictures in real conditions to see how the camera performs. I then evaluate these photos according to my criteria but I publish the photos so that you can evaluate the result according to your criteria.

Hardware

Selfie / resolution : 20
Resolution : 48
Sensor : Sony IMX586 Exmor RS
Video resolution : 2160p
mm wide angle : 4.77mm
mm ultra wide angle : 2.04mm
mm zoom : 5.54mm
The Xiaomi Mi 9T Pro is equipped with a Sony IMX 586 sensor on the rear, this sensor is also used by a large number of other phones on the market (at Xiaomi and other manufacturers). What differentiates these phones is the image processing used by each manufacturer and at the same manufacturer the image processing can be different between two models using the same sensor. I tested the Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite which is equipped with the same sensor and I did not always get the same results by taking pictures in the same place.

The special feature of the Mi 9T Pro is its pop-up camera that comes out from the top of the phone when you want to pick up a selfie. Simply press the selfie function of the photo application to release the camera. The exit is quite fast and you can't take the camera out with your fingers, this will probably avoid the risk of damaging the mechanism.



Default app
The application installed by default by Xiaomi is quite complete, the following modes are available:
- Photo (with 3 zoom levels)
- Video (with 3 zoom levels)
- Short video (with 3 zoom levels)
- Slow motion (only available on the main sensor)
- Portrait (only available on the main sensor)
- 48 Million pixels (only available on the main sensor)
- Night (only available on the main sensor)
- Panorama (only available on the main sensor)
- Pro (available on all sensors)

In each mode, you can access the settings to, for example, turn on the HDR, turn on artificial intelligence, change the aspect ratio and some other options.




Photoquality

Photo test / studio
First example: ƒ/1.75 1/100 4.77 mm 221 ISO
xiaomi mi 9T pro test review avis recensione opinion revision photo studio 1
The main sensor of the Xiaomi Mi 9T Pro gives good results in the studio because where many sensors cannot reproduce the brightness, the Sony sensor does very well. The sharpness is good, the depth of field is narrow (this is normal with f/1.75) and the colors are good although they should be a little more saturated. Blue is a little too light, it's the same with red. The background used for the photo looks grainy but this is not the case in reality, we see here that the artificial processing of the phone plays a role.

Second example: ƒ/2.4 1/50 2.04 mm 100 ISO
xiaomi mi 9T pro test review avis recensione opinion revision photo studio 2
The wide angle allows much less light to enter, so it must slow down the shutter speed. With good light this is not a problem but if the brightness decreases, avoid using this sensor. The focal length here is 2.04mm, it's not the shortest focal length I've ever tested, other Xiaomi are at 1.66mm. The sharpness is good but slightly less good than that offered by the main sensor. The colours are also a little less saturated, but the depth of field is better than with the main sensor. This sensor should therefore be used for outdoor scenes and preferably in good weather.

Third example: ƒ/1.75 1/100 4.77 mm 174 ISO
xiaomi mi 9T pro test review avis recensione opinion revision photo studio 3
The zoom mode uses the main sensor via a digital zoom. The characteristics of the image are the same as for the first photo but here we can see much better the aggressive treatment applied to the background of the photo. The back of my studio is clearly not noisy like that. The sharpness of the other elements of the photo is quite good, we can see the dust on the windshield of the car quite well.


Photo test / sunny
I'm testing the Mi 9T Pro at the same time as the Mi 9 Lite because they both use the same sensor (Sony IMX 586), so I was curious to see if Xiaomi had applied the same type of processing for the two phones. I did this photo test on a sunny day at the end of November, the light is not comparable with a summer day, the colour of the light is often warmer. The sky was blue but a little veiled.

EXIF: ƒ/1.75 1/1085 4.77 mm 112 ISO
xiaomi mi 9T pro test review avis recensione opinion revision photo day 1
The photo is very close to the reality, the colors are well respected and the sharpness is really good. The detail on the tree leaves is really good and even where the branches touch the sky, I don't see any chromatic aberration appearing. The picture is very similar to what I got with a Mi 9 Lite, the focal length is just a little different (4.77 on the 9T Pro against 4.74 on the Mi 9 Lite).

EXIF: ƒ/2.4 1/555 2.04 mm 100 ISO
xiaomi mi 9T pro test review avis recensione opinion revision photo day 2
The use of the wide angle module does not affect the quality of the photo too much. If we look at the details, we notice that the saturation of the colours is not the same, the blue of the sky is approaching cyan and some areas are a little too exposed (e.g. cars on the bridge). The picture is generally good because you have to look at the details to find defects, the wide angle delivers sufficient quality for pictures taken in good conditions. The focal length used is quite unusual, I have never had a wide angle at 2.04mm before, so this sensor is completely different from the one used on the Mi 9 Lite.

EXIF: ƒ/2.4 1/479 5.54 mm 100 ISO
xiaomi mi 9T pro test review avis recensione opinion revision photo day 3
I had taken the same picture on the Mi 9 Lite and I found that the image was too sharp, this is not at all the case on the Mi 9T Pro because it is simply another sensor. Xiaomi usually associates a digital zoom with the zoom function but on the Mi 9T Pro, the focal length changes to 5.54mm instead of 4.77mm. Even if I think that Xiaomi combines a digital zoom with the use of another sensor, the quality obtained is better. The sharpness is good without being forced. The colors are a little more bland than with the 4.77mm sensor but the picture is correct as a whole.

EXIF: ƒ/1.75 1/1038 4.77 mm 112 ISO
xiaomi mi 9T pro test review avis recensione opinion revision photo day 4
Using the night mode in broad daylight is similar to using HDR by forcing the colors a little. The result is quite good because even if the colors no longer correspond to reality, the processing has added a little saturation to the whole picture. It is at the level of the sky that the effect is most visible, the sky is bluer than in previous photos. This night mode seems to work well when the light is good, I added some other examples in the gallery below. It will be necessary to see if this night mode also works in bad weather.

For this test under the sun, the Mi 9T Pro managed to produce good photos without overly aggressive treatment. These photos will be good enough to be viewed on a larger screen.





Photo test / cloudy

First example: ƒ/1.75 1/141 4.77 mm 112 ISO
xiaomi mi 9T pro test review avis recensione opinion revision photo cloud 1

Exposure: global under-exposure, over-exposure of the sky
Sharpness: ok
Colours: slightly too cold
Depth of field: ok
Distortion: ok
Chromatic aberration: ok
Vignetting: ok
Digital noise: ok

The last Xiaomi I tested all tended to take too dark pictures on cloudy days and it was obviously a choice not to lose areas like the sky with overexposure. The Mi 9T Pro uses a different type of setting as the underexposure is not as pronounced and results in part of the sky being overexposed (completely white). The colors are not quite correct, the sky and water have a too pronounced purple tint.

However, I can't do the difficult part because if you don't compare this picture with the one that follows, you could say that the Xiaomi Mi 9T Pro is doing quite well but I had my DSLR at the same time so I can compare.

carriere maffle 3

The picture taken with my DSLR is obviously better, the exposure and the colors are more accurate. Sharpness is also better, but the Xiaomi produces a picture that is overall sharp enough for a phone.

Second example: ƒ/1.75 1/666 4.77 mm 112 ISO
xiaomi mi 9T pro test review avis recensione opinion revision photo cloud 2

Exposure: global under-exposure, slight over-exposure of the sky.
Sharpness: ok
Colors: ok
Depth of field: ok
Distortion: ok
Chromatic aberration: ok
Vignetting: ok
Digital noise: ok

On this second photo I don't see any color problem like the previous one, the photo is also underexposed but keeps a maximum of details, we can see quite well the presence of seagulls in the background while they only occupy a few pixels on the photo.

Third example: ƒ/2.4 1/1493 2.04 mm 100 ISO
xiaomi mi 9T pro test review avis recensione opinion revision photo cloud 3

Exposure: global under-exposure, slight over-exposure of the sky.
Sharpness: medium
Colours: too dark
Depth of field: ok
Distortion: slight
Chromatic aberration: ok
Vignetting: ok
Digital noise: ok

Wide-angle sensors on smartphones are not yet very effective as soon as the light conditions are not good. The photo is globally underexposed and the sharpness is strongly degraded compared to the previous photo. The wide-angle sensor should only be used when the light is good.

Fourth example: ƒ/1.75 1/374 4.77 mm 112 ISO
xiaomi mi 9T pro test review avis recensione opinion revision photo cloud 4

Exposure: overall under-exposure
Sharpness: good
Colors: sky too saturated
Depth of field: ok
Distortion: ok
Chromatic aberration: ok
Vignetting: ok
Digital noise: light

The night mode used for this photo reinforces the dynamic range too much to achieve a result a little unrealistic but which will undoubtedly please the amateurs of this kind of photo.


Test photo / night
For this series of night shots, I took the North Station in Brussels as the setting. It was windy and some of the pictures are slightly blurry while those where I wasn't in the wind are clear.

First example: ƒ/1.75 1/20 4.77 mm 1829 ISO
xiaomi mi 9T pro test review avis recensione opinion revision photo night 1
With a shutter speed of 1/20, you don't have to move too much and unfortunately I moved slightly. The picture is still quite interesting overall because with ISO 1829, there should be digital noise but it is actually very little visible. Zooming in a little bit you will see a form of detail smoothing that has the effect of eliminating digital noise but also smoothes some details. The contours of the shapes are still quite sharp but the details disappear. The exposure is good, the colors too. The Sony sensor therefore does quite well in night mode.

Second example: ƒ/2.4 1/14 2.04 mm 3292 ISO
xiaomi mi 9T pro test review avis recensione opinion revision photo night 2
The wide angle is even more subject to motion blur than the focal length of the first picture. With a shutter speed of 1/14, you ideally need to rely on something to get a clear picture. The wide angle is always darker than the normal zoom. The colors are similar to the first picture but the sharpness is not as good, partly because of the movement but also because of the lens used. Wide angle is not the best candidate for night photography, it is the same problem on all the phones I have tested.

Third example: ƒ/1.75 1/20 4.77 mm 1322 ISO
xiaomi mi 9T pro test review avis recensione opinion revision photo night 3
Using an optical zoom for night photography is not a good idea in principle, but I think the result is quite good. I didn't move this time and we see that the sensor is able to capture many details despite the smoothing. We can almost see the details of the furniture in the buildings.

Fourth example: ƒ/1.75 1/20 4.77 mm 3160 ISO
xiaomi mi 9T pro test review avis recensione opinion revision photo night 4
With night mode, Xiaomi combines multiple photos to increase overall exposure. It is a process that has already proven itself on other models and despite the fact that I have moved slightly, the result is quite good. You will see on the following pictures that when I am not exposed to the wind, the sharpness of the pictures is much better. The night mode allows you to amplify the dynamics of the photo to make it almost more beautiful than reality. The sharpness is good, the colors are a little exaggerated but it's nice to look at and the exposure is good. Of course if objects are moving during the taking of the 3 pictures, they will be blurry but this is normal.




Video quality

Stabilisation
The Xiaomi Mi 9T Pro is the most expensive Xiaomi I've been able to test so far and I hoped it would be able to compete with the Samsung Galaxy S10+ for stabilization but that's not the case. In fact, I haven't seen effective stabilization on a Xiaomi yet. On the videos below, you can see quite clearly the shaking caused by my footsteps.

Video normale conditions
The Xiaomi Mi 9T Pro is able to shoot in 4k and it is visible, the sharpness of the video is really good. The fluidity is also good, there are no judder during horizontal movements. The stabilization is not efficient enough to absorb the vibrations of my steps. The global exposure is quite good, the sky is not overexposed and the ground is not under-exposed, the video is quite well balanced.



Video low light
Not yet available / tested

Audio quality

To test the quality of the phone's audio output, I connect the device's audio output to a measuring tool, then play sounds on all frequencies and measure the differences between the original sound and the sound produced by the phone. In this way I measure the phone's ability to correctly reproduce all sounds.
Frequency Respons : +0.02 / -0.06
Noise Level : -93.1
Dynamic Range : 93.1
THD : 0.00244
Intermodulation : 0.00754
Stereo crosstalk : -85
At first subjective listening, the Mi 9T Pro made a good impression, the volume is quite powerful and I didn't notice any significant distortion. When I test the sound of a phone I often find myself either with a very powerful sound but a strong distortion (ex: Redmi Note 8 Pro) or a less powerful sound but of better quality. The Mi 9T Pro combines power and quality at the same time, I hadn't had such a good combination since the Samsung Galaxy S10+ test. I wouldn't say it overtakes the Samsung which has a sharper sound than the Mi 9T Pro but it gets very close to it.

Frequency Response
This test is intended to test the device's ability to correctly reproduce all frequencies. The white line in the middle of the graph is the ideal situation and the other colors come from tests on different phones. A deviation from the reference line indicates a deviation from the ideal situation. To see good sound at all frequencies, it is therefore necessary to get as close as possible to the reference line. xiaomi mi 9T pro frequency respons

Frequency reproduction is good over most of the frequency range. It deviates a little from the reference in low-pitched and very high-pitched sounds but the Mi 9T Pro's line is very close to that of the Samsung Galaxy S10+

Dynamic Range
This test is designed to test a phone's ability to play sounds at different volume levels. Here too, the phones must be as close as possible to the reference.
xiaomi mi 9T pro dynamic range

Here again we see that the Mi 9T Pro follows the Samsung Galaxy S10+ line quite well, it manages to reproduce the frequencies correctly at low and high volume. Distortion is also very low even with maximum volume.

Noise Level
This test aims to identify if the device under test is able to reproduce sounds without too much noise. A high score indicates a low parasite rate, a lower score indicates a higher presence of parasites.xiaomi mi 9T pro noise level

As with the other two tests, the Mi 9T Pro follows the performance of the Galaxy S10+, but is weaker in low-pitched sounds and then eventually joins the Samsung curve for high-pitched sounds. What can also differentiate the listening quality is the quality of the external speaker, the Samsung outputs stereo sound with Dolby, this is not the case with the Xiaomi.

Concert recording
The purpose of this test is to measure the recording quality of the phone when there is a lot of ambient noise. Since I don't have the opportunity to go to a concert every time I test a phone, I simulate the noise of a concert in a closed environment.

Screen quality

To test the screen, I use a colorimetric probe that measures the color accuracy of a screen, as well as other parameters to see if a screen is able to correctly reproduce an image. I also test the brightness level to determine if the screen will be able to display an image in full sunlight.
Screen size : 6.39
Resolution : 1080 x 2340
Ratio : 19.5:9
Protection : Corning Gorilla Glass 5
Type : Amoled
% occupancy : 86
dE white : 3.7
dE red : 2.6
dE green : 1.1
dE blue : 1.8
dE jaune : 2.1
dE cyan : 1.2
dE magenta : 2.3
Contrast : 60000:1
Brightness : 600
Colorimetry
xiaomi mi 9t pro screen calibration
The Xiaomi Mi 9T Pro uses an AMOLED screen, this type of screen provides a huge advantage in terms of contrast because blacks are in theory really black (instead of being very dark grey), so you get a better contrast ratio. As soon as the Mi 9T Pro is switched on, you will see the "Mi" white logo on a black background, the blacks are indeed perfect. I then tested the primary and secondary colors, the result is also very good, I get a dE of 2.11. With such a score the Mi 9T Pro ranks second behind the Samsung Galaxy S10+ which remains the reference among the phones I have tested. The colorimetry is accurate, it is in the white and red that the Mi 9T Pro gets a slightly worse score but these differences are not perceptible to the naked eye.


Top 10 - ranking of the best screens by colorimetry
1. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g dE = 0.73
2. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 dE = 1.2
3. Samsung Galaxy S20 dE = 1.4
4. Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite dE = 1.46
5. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s dE = 1.47
6. Honor 9x dE = 1.5
7. Poco F2 Pro dE = 1.73
8. Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite dE = 1.91
9. Samsung Galaxy S10+ dE = 2.01
10. Xiaomi Mi 9t Pro dE = 2.11

Number of smartphones in the ranking:30
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:10/30

Note: the colorimetric difference is measured in dE. After three, the human eye will perceive a colorimetric difference, so the dE should be the lowest. The tests were all carried out with a colorimetric probe.

Brightness / Contrast
I measured a brightness greater than 600 cd/m², it is more than enough to use the phone in the sun. Here too, the Mi 9T Pro comes under the Samsung Galaxy S10+ but you probably won't see any difference. The treatment of the phone surface also seems different because the screen seems to reflect less light but it is only a subjective feeling. On other phones I find that the mirror effect is more pronounced.


As I wrote above, the contrast ratio is huge, the blacks are really black, so the screen delivers a beautiful image quality.

Light Absorption/Reflection
The smartphone screen reflect light and sometimes turn them into a real mirror. This mirror effect makes it harder to read.

The absorption index below indicates the percentage of light absorbed by the screen. The readability of a screen is better when the absorption index is high.

Phone tested:% light absorption
Samsung Galaxy S10+58
Xiaomi Mi 9T Pro52
Honor 9x65
Redmi Note 9s55
Motorola G8 Power60
Realme 654
Umidigi F248
Poco F2 Pro52
Redmi Note 956
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite53
Samsung Galaxy S2047
Samsung Galaxy A21s53
The phones tested have an average absroption rate of54 %

Biometry

The Xiaomi Mi 9T can be unlocked by code, 2D facial recognition or on-screen fingerprint sensor.

Since the front camera is not on the screen, it must be pulled out every time you want to unlock the phone. The camera pops out of the phone fairly quickly, but recognition will always be slower than a phone with a camera built into the screen. I ended up disabling this recognition mode because I didn't find it very practical.

I tested several phones with a fingerprint sensor under the screen and I was disappointed each time. You really have to look for the ideal position to put your finger on the sensor and it always wastes a bit of time. The position of the sensor is not very ideal either, I prefer a fingerprint sensor on the back of the phone.

I have also noticed that the fingerprint sensor tends to light up when the phone is in my pocket, I have had this feedback from other people using this device. This slightly affects the battery life.

In the end I ended up disabling facial recognition and the fingerprint sensor to use a code because it's unfortunately faster.

Operating system

Not yet available / tested


Encoutered bugs

Not yet available / tested

Accessories Xiaomi Mi 9T Pro

To better enjoy your experience with your smartphone, I offer links to all kinds of accessories that you might find useful

Protective cover / case xiaomi mi 9t pro
Screen protection film xiaomi mi 9t pro
Memory card xiaomi mi 9t pro
USB Cable / Charger xiaomi mi 9t pro
Headphones xiaomi mi 9t pro
Bike rack xiaomi mi 9t pro

Compare Xiaomi Mi 9T Pro with the others

I assigned a score of 1 to 10 for each test that determines the strengths and weaknesses of a product. I am using 0 for criteria that have not (yet) been tested. A score of 1 to 3 indicates poor performance (and yes, it does), a score of 4 to 6 indicates average performance, a score of 7 to 8 indicates good performance, and a score of 9 and 10 indicates exceptional performance. .
The score is calculated based on my measurements and when there are no measurements, it is a subjective opinion based on my experience.

The scores are not static, they change over time because the performance of new products changes and this must be taken into account.


Notice: Undefined index: battery in /home/jtalgxnm/www/lwi/functions/fct_transform.php on line 279

Notice: Undefined index: battery in /home/jtalgxnm/www/lwi/functions/fct_transform.php on line 290

Notice: Undefined index: battery in /home/jtalgxnm/www/lwi/functions/fct_transform.php on line 299

Notice: Undefined index: battery in /home/jtalgxnm/www/lwi/functions/fct_transform.php on line 306

Notice: Undefined index: cpu in /home/jtalgxnm/www/lwi/functions/fct_transform.php on line 279

Notice: Undefined index: cpu in /home/jtalgxnm/www/lwi/functions/fct_transform.php on line 290

Notice: Undefined index: cpu in /home/jtalgxnm/www/lwi/functions/fct_transform.php on line 299

Notice: Undefined index: cpu in /home/jtalgxnm/www/lwi/functions/fct_transform.php on line 306

Notice: Undefined index: gpu in /home/jtalgxnm/www/lwi/functions/fct_transform.php on line 279

Notice: Undefined index: gpu in /home/jtalgxnm/www/lwi/functions/fct_transform.php on line 290

Notice: Undefined index: gpu in /home/jtalgxnm/www/lwi/functions/fct_transform.php on line 299

Notice: Undefined index: gpu in /home/jtalgxnm/www/lwi/functions/fct_transform.php on line 306

Notice: Undefined index: photo in /home/jtalgxnm/www/lwi/functions/fct_transform.php on line 279

Notice: Undefined index: photo in /home/jtalgxnm/www/lwi/functions/fct_transform.php on line 290

Notice: Undefined index: photo in /home/jtalgxnm/www/lwi/functions/fct_transform.php on line 299

Notice: Undefined index: photo in /home/jtalgxnm/www/lwi/functions/fct_transform.php on line 306

Notice: Undefined index: video in /home/jtalgxnm/www/lwi/functions/fct_transform.php on line 279

Notice: Undefined index: video in /home/jtalgxnm/www/lwi/functions/fct_transform.php on line 290

Notice: Undefined index: video in /home/jtalgxnm/www/lwi/functions/fct_transform.php on line 299

Notice: Undefined index: video in /home/jtalgxnm/www/lwi/functions/fct_transform.php on line 306

Notice: Undefined index: wifi in /home/jtalgxnm/www/lwi/functions/fct_transform.php on line 279

Notice: Undefined index: wifi in /home/jtalgxnm/www/lwi/functions/fct_transform.php on line 290

Notice: Undefined index: wifi in /home/jtalgxnm/www/lwi/functions/fct_transform.php on line 299

Notice: Undefined index: wifi in /home/jtalgxnm/www/lwi/functions/fct_transform.php on line 306

Notice: Undefined index: mobilespeed in /home/jtalgxnm/www/lwi/functions/fct_transform.php on line 279

Notice: Undefined index: mobilespeed in /home/jtalgxnm/www/lwi/functions/fct_transform.php on line 290

Notice: Undefined index: mobilespeed in /home/jtalgxnm/www/lwi/functions/fct_transform.php on line 299

Notice: Undefined index: mobilespeed in /home/jtalgxnm/www/lwi/functions/fct_transform.php on line 306

Notice: Undefined index: mobilesignal in /home/jtalgxnm/www/lwi/functions/fct_transform.php on line 279

Notice: Undefined index: mobilesignal in /home/jtalgxnm/www/lwi/functions/fct_transform.php on line 290

Notice: Undefined index: mobilesignal in /home/jtalgxnm/www/lwi/functions/fct_transform.php on line 299

Notice: Undefined index: mobilesignal in /home/jtalgxnm/www/lwi/functions/fct_transform.php on line 306

Notice: Undefined index: frequencies in /home/jtalgxnm/www/lwi/functions/fct_transform.php on line 279

Notice: Undefined index: frequencies in /home/jtalgxnm/www/lwi/functions/fct_transform.php on line 290

Notice: Undefined index: frequencies in /home/jtalgxnm/www/lwi/functions/fct_transform.php on line 299

Notice: Undefined index: frequencies in /home/jtalgxnm/www/lwi/functions/fct_transform.php on line 306

Notice: Undefined index: gps in /home/jtalgxnm/www/lwi/functions/fct_transform.php on line 279

Notice: Undefined index: gps in /home/jtalgxnm/www/lwi/functions/fct_transform.php on line 290

Notice: Undefined index: gps in /home/jtalgxnm/www/lwi/functions/fct_transform.php on line 299

Notice: Undefined index: gps in /home/jtalgxnm/www/lwi/functions/fct_transform.php on line 306

Notice: Undefined index: easiness in /home/jtalgxnm/www/lwi/functions/fct_transform.php on line 279

Notice: Undefined index: easiness in /home/jtalgxnm/www/lwi/functions/fct_transform.php on line 290

Notice: Undefined index: easiness in /home/jtalgxnm/www/lwi/functions/fct_transform.php on line 299

Notice: Undefined index: easiness in /home/jtalgxnm/www/lwi/functions/fct_transform.php on line 306
Xiaomi Mi 9T Pro
Finish quality8.005.00
Battery performance7.00
CPU performance8.00
GPU performance8.00
Screen quality8.005.00
Photo quality8.00
Video quality8.00
Wi-Fi performance7.00
Mobile download speed6.00
Mobile network sensitivity8.00
Frequency coverage7.00
Audio quality8.006.5
GPS performance7.00
Operating system8.00
Overall score10616.5
Global ranking
1. Samsung Galaxy S20 112 / 140
2. Poco F2 Pro 111 / 140
3. Samsung Galaxy S10+ 107 / 140
4. Xiaomi Mi 9t Pro 106 / 140
5. Poco X3 102 / 140
6. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g 101 / 140
7. Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite 101 / 140
8. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro 100 / 140
9. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s 98 / 140
10. Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite 98 / 140
11. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 97 / 140
12. Xiaomi Redmi Note 7 94 / 140
13. Realme 6 93 / 140
14. Motorola G8 Power 91 / 140
15. Xiaomi Mi A3 89 / 140
16. Nokia 5.3 89 / 140
17. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 88 / 140
18. Honor 9x 88 / 140
19. Meizu Note 9 86 / 140
20. Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite 86 / 140
21. Xiaomi Redmi Note 5 85 / 140
22. Umidigi S3 Pro 83 / 140
23. Samsung Galaxy A21s 82 / 140
24. Umidigi F2 82 / 140
25. Redmi 9a 81 / 140
26. Ulefone Armor 7e 80 / 140
27. Redmi 9c 80 / 140
28. Honor 8x 78 / 140
29. Umidigi F1 77 / 140
30. Huawei Y6 2019 74 / 140
31. Doogee S58 Pro 16.5 / 30

Test / Review conclusion

The Xiaomi Mi 9T Pro should be seen as a high-end phone in the Xiaomi range. At the time of this test, only the Mi Note 10 was more expensive.

Is it possible to compare this Mi 9T Pro with a high-end phone like the Samsung Galaxy S10+? Yes, and this is probably what Xiaomi wants.

I don't find the Mi 9T Pro very elegant but the finish is quite comparable to the Samsung one. The phone looks solid and the materials used do not deform like on cheap phones.

The screen is bright and displays correct colors, this is the second best screen I could test (the first one is the Samsung Galaxy S10+).

In terms of performance, the Xiaomi crushes the Samsung, it offers 30% more power. I don't really know what can be done with this additional 30% but gamers will surely love this.

For the photo the Mi 9T Pro is quite versatile. It is not yet at the level of the Samsung. It will allow you to take good pictures day and night with sometimes unpredictable behavior when the light is low.

I was positively surprised by the Mi 9T Pro's score for network capture, it's simply the best phone I've been able to test so far. We'll have to see if it doesn't hide a too high SAR rating as was the case with the Redmi Note 5 when it was released.

In this price range, you probably won't find phones that can compete with the Xiaomi. RealMe is venturing into the same field as Xiaomi but I haven't had the opportunity to test a phone of this brand to compare.


Strengths
Performance cpu/gpu
4G signal performance
GPS signal performance
Screen quality
Camera selfie pop up
Photo/video quality (especially day/night)


Weaknesses
Biometrics
MIUI parameters have become too complex
Heavier than average


Alternatives to this product

Comments

Join the discussion / Ask your questions

Your comment will be published after validation. I respond to over 1500 comments a year in my spare time, so I can't always respond very quickly. Your email address will not be publicly visible and it will not be used for commercial purposes.









Be notified by email when a response is published