On this page:
Price Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite
Unpacking
First configuration
Finish
Specifications
CPU / GPU Performance
Benchmark Antutu/3DMark
Network performance
Wifi performance
GPS performance
Battery range
Photo camera test
Hardware
Photoquality
Video quality
Audio quality
Screen quality
Biometry
Operating system
Test / Review conclusion
Questions answers

Best new price:
212.586 EUR
See the offer | Aliexpress

87 other prices available in other stores.



Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite : no nonsense test / review

Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite test / review

Category: Tests / Reviews

Xiaomi phones are classified into several ranges. There is the entry level with the Redmi brand, there is the high end with the Mi brand followed by a number, there is Poco for the mid-range high performance and there is since the end of 2019 the range Mi Note which comes to be between the Redmi range and Mi. Xiaomi had struck a big blow at the end of 2019 by launching the Mi Note 10 with its camera of 108 million pixels. 6 months later, Xiaomi takes the basics of the Mi Note 10 to launch a Mi Note 10 Lite which is almost exactly identical to the Mi Note 10, the main difference is at the photo module level. I did not intend to test this phone but when ordering a Mi 10 Lite, I received a Mi Note 10 Lite, so I took the opportunity to test it before sending it back.


Structure of my tests

I test the phones according to a pre-established structure (see below) to provide you with as much information as possible. Unfortunately, this takes a long time. Some tests like network performance tests take several days and for photo tests I sometimes have to wait until the weather is suitable to take pictures in good conditions. I am therefore obliged to publish the tests step by step, so I invite you to come back if the test is not complete at the time of your visit.

How are my tests different from others on the web?

- I usually buy the devices with my own money, so price is just as important as you are!
- I keep the devices for at least a few weeks (sometimes more) to see what they are worth in real conditions.
- I answer (when possible) your questions to help you decide before you buy
- no one pays me to do these reviews, so I'm completely neutral and independent...
- My pages are not filled with ads



Poco F2 review - test - specs
Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite test, review and price
Umidigi F1 test, review and price
Honor 8x test, review and price
Xiaomi Redmi Note 5 test and review
Umidigi F2 test / review / specs
Leeco Coolpad Cool1 test and review
Motorola G8 Power test, review and price
Realme 6 test, review and price
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s test, review and price

Price Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite

The list below shows the prices for the Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite from more than 50 sites around the world. If you are not satisfied with any price, you can subscribe to a price alert to be the first to be notified when the price drops.
Global Version Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite Mobile Phones 6GB 64GB 64MP Quad Camera 6.47'' Curved AMOLED S...
2020-10-20 15:12
251 USD
Global Version Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite Mobile Phone 64GB/128GB 64MP Quad Cams 6.47'' Curved AMOLED Sc...
2020-10-20 22:44
254 USD
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite (64GB ROM con 6GB RAM Snapdragon™ 730G Nuevo Móvil) [Teléfono Versión Gl...
2020-10-20 15:12
284 USD
Global Version Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite 6GB 64GB Snapdragon 730G 64MP AI Quad Camera Multifunctional N...
2020-10-20 15:12
285 USD
Global Version Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite 6GB RAM 64GB ROM (Brand New / Sealed) note10, note10lite...
2020-10-21 04:44
285 USD
Global Version Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite 6GB RAM 64GB ROM (Brnad New / Sealed) note10, note10lite, 64, ...
2020-10-20 15:05
285 USD



helpThe above links are affiliate links from companies such as Amazon, Gearbest, Aliexpress,... If you appreciate my work, I would be grateful if you could purchase these products through these links. It costs you absolutely nothing but I get a small commission that allows me to buy the material I test. Thank you very much!

Timeline

06/24/2020 I ordered the Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite on Edwaybuy 06/27/2020 I receive the Mi Note 10 Lite instead of the Mi 10 Lite but before sending it back, I start the test

Why this phone?

As I said above, I did not intend to test the Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite but as I received it by accident, it would have been a shame not to take advantage of it. I had not bought the Mi Note 10 launched in 2019 because even if it was interesting, it was too expensive compared to the budget that I set myself to buy phones. The Mi Note 10 Lite is an almost perfect copy of the Mi Note 10 with the exception of the photo sensor and a few other details. The Lite version therefore keeps the premium finish as well as the performance of the previous model and is positioned as a fairly powerful mid-range phone. The photo module has been replaced by a Sony IMX 686 which can also be found in the Poco F2 Pro or the Huawei P30 Pro, so this sensor has already proven itself elsewhere.

Unpacking

xiaomi mi note 10 lite test avis review prueba opinion recensione photo 1 The Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite is a mid-range phone with the body of a high-end phone. I expected to find a translation of this positioning at the box level but from the black color of the box, the content is exactly the same as that of a Redmi. You will therefore find the phone accompanied by a transparent protection, a charger and a USB cable, nothing more.



Length : 157.8
Width : 74.2
Thickness : 9.7
Weight : 204
Jack output : Yes
USB Type : Type C
Infrared port : Yes

First configuration

The procedure for starting the Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite is identical to what can be found on other phones of the brand marketed with MIUI 11. I found that Xiaomi was irritating to want to offer its cloud and impose its applications but today Everyone does that and Xiaomi is far from the worst, I also find that Samsung offers a first experience that is much more restrictive.



Finish

xiaomi mi note 10 lite test avis review prueba opinion recensione photo 4 When I took the Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite out of its box, I immediately felt like I had a high-end phone in hand. The Mi Note 10 Lite offers a large screen with very thin borders, the edges of the screen are curved like what Samsung was doing at the time with its Edge range. The outline of the phone is chrome-plated, the aluminum back is also reminiscent of certain Samsung models and the camera almost does not stand out from the back of the phone. Xiaomi knows how to make beautiful phones but these phones are large and quite heavy where Samsung manages to produce much thinner and lighter phones.
xiaomi mi note 10 lite test avis review prueba opinion recensione photo 16 The top of the phone is completely chrome-plated and completely smooth, the SIM drawer is placed on the side. The infrared port is visible on the right of the phone.
xiaomi mi note 10 lite test avis review prueba opinion recensione photo 21 The bottom of the phone has a very standard configuration with a speaker, a USB type C port and a Jack connector. Everything is elegantly anchored in the chrome edge of the phone.
xiaomi mi note 10 lite test avis review prueba opinion recensione photo 19 The outline of the phone is completely chrome-plated, the volume and start buttons are very well positioned on the right of the phone. The SIM drawer is also on the right of the phone, I had never seen this configuration before. The left edge of the phone is therefore completely smooth. The left and right edges follow the curved shape of the screen in a natural way, you almost do not feel any interruption while going from the screen to the chrome part of the phone.
xiaomi mi note 10 lite test avis review prueba opinion recensione photo 14 I bought the white version of the Mi Note 10 Lite. The back is made of glass with a pearly white giving birth to blue or red reflections depending on the orientation of the phone. I find here something very similar to the Samsung Galaxy S10 +. The photo sensor is on the side like most phones, it is almost perfectly flat, the phone will not limp if you put it on its back.
The screen occupies 87% of the space with fairly fine borders. The front camera resumes the fashion of 2019 with a placement in the middle with a notch. Xiaomi thus offers a beautiful screen surface with a minimum of interruption, other brands do better but in this price range, you will not find many screens with a higher occupancy rate.



The Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite takes over the body of the Mi Note 10 which cost more than € 500 at its launch while the Mi Note 10 Lite was between 250 and 300 at the time of its launch. In this price range, this level of finish is quite rare.




Specifications


The information below comes from the Device Info HW application. The application provides detailed technical information about the tested phone.I bought the Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite in its 6Gb / 64Gb version, there is also a 6Gb / 128 Gb version and another 8 Gb / 128 Gb. n


CPU / GPU Performance

CPU : Qualcomm Snapdragon 730G
GPU : Qualcomm AdreNo 618
Memory (RAM) : 6 - 8Gb
Storage : 128 Gb

Benchmark Antutu/3DMark

I got a score of 270559 points with Antutu, this ranks the Mi Note 10 Lite close to Realme 6, Redmi Note 9s, Redmi Note 8 Pro in terms of performance. With this kind of performance you will be able to play for most people, sometimes having to choose a medium level of graphics. With 3D Mark I got a score of 2418 points, this places this phone in the same category as the test with Antutu.



Antutu score : 270559
Antutu CPU : 97330
Antutu GPU : 70921
Antutu UX : 53947
Antutu Mem : 48361
3D Mark Open GL : 2418
3D Mark Vulkan : 2207

Top 10 - performance ranking based on Antutu
1. Poco F2 Pro - 569559
2. Samsung Galaxy S20 - 503905
3. Xiaomi Mi 9t Pro - 430403
4. Xiaomi Mi Mix 3 5g - 385000
5. Oppo Reno 5g - 375000
6. Meizu 16s - 374190
7. Xiaomi Mi 9 - 372006
8. Sony Xperia 1 - 372000
9. Lg G8s Thinq - 371000
10. Lg V50 Thinq 5g - 370000

Number of smartphones in the ranking:102
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:32/102

Note: this ranking only contains the phones I tested as well as a few others that I added for reference.

Gaming
To test the performance in game, I download the mobile PUBG game and evaluate the in-game experience, graphics level and depth of vision. This game is quite demanding and should help you evaluating the performance of a phone.The Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite is not a benchmark in terms of performance but it is powerful enough to run most games. You may sometimes have to make a concession in terms of graphics. With PUBG Mobile, the Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite works without problems.

Network performance

The Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite covers the vast majority of 3G / 4G frequencies in Europe. It is notably compatible with the B28 frequency which is used by Bouygues and Free in France.
3G frequencies : B1 (2100), B2 (1900), B4 (1700/2100 AWS A-F), B5 (850), B6 (800), B8 (900), B19 (800)
4G frequencies : B1 (2100), B2 (1900), B3 (1800), B4 (1700/2100 AWS 1), B5 (850), B7 (2600), B8 (900), B18 (800), B19 (800), B20 (800), B26 (850), B28 (700), B38 (TDD 2600), B40 (TDD 2300), B41 (TDD 2500)
Bluetooth : Bluetooth 5.0 LE
SAR / head : 1.011
SAR / body : 1.385
Volte : Yes
VoWifi : Yes
NFC : Yes
Number measurements : 1000
Average signal : -99
Download speed : 153
Upload speed : 68
Choose your country to check if your phone is compatible:


The frequencies displayed below will allow you to see if this phone is compatible with your operator or if you will be able to use it in the country where you are going on vacation.


Signal 4G
The ability to pick up the network correctly is an essential element for a phone but it is only very rarely measured. To measure a phone's ability to pick up the network, I perform a large number of measurements on the same cells to be able to compare phones under similar conditions. The signal is measured in dBm, a value of -90dBm indicates a worse signal than -70dBm. These measurements are therefore taken under real conditions and not in a laboratory, they are not scientific but give a good indication of performance.

Network signal sensitivity rating
Phone tested:Average signal (dBm)Number of measurements:
Xiaomi Mi 9t Pro-881600
Xiaomi Redmi Note 5-91.305600
Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite-93788
Samsung Galaxy A70-94.5111975
Nokia 5.3-94.98531
Realme 6-95.142301
Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro-95.9221599
Xiaomi Mi A3-95.951000
Huawei Y6 2019-95.951199
Redmi 9a-96.481000
Meizu Note 9-96.68937
Motorola G8 Power-96.881032
Xiaomi Redmi Note 7-97.011430
Redmi 9c-97.041000
Umidigi S3 Pro-97.131200
Xiaomi Redmi Note 8-97.34879
Samsung Galaxy A21s-97.781000
Umidigi F1-97.82298
Ulefone Armor 7e-98.71000
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite-991000
Honor 9x-99.14899
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s-99.41860
Poco F2 Pro-99.81247
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9-100.791785
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g-100.881198
Umidigi F2-101.47712

I obtained an average signal of just over -99 dBm over more than 1000 measurements with the Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite, this score is in the middle with fluctuations between -97 dBm and -103 dBm. It is not the best phone in its class but it will not cause you any problems unless you live in an area where the network coverage is very low.

Download/Upload speed
To test the download speed, I have identified some 4G cells offering good performance where I test all my devices several times to see what download and upload speed they can achieve.
Top 10 - speed ranking in download
1. Samsung Galaxy S20 D:351Mbps U: 20Mbps
2. Poco X3 D:232Mbps U: 55Mbps
3. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g D:223Mbps U: 52Mbps
4. Poco F2 Pro D:207Mbps U: 53Mbps
5. Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite D:153Mbps U: 68Mbps
6. Xiaomi Mi A3 D:150Mbps U: 60Mbps
7. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s D:150Mbps U: 60Mbps
8. Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite D:149Mbps U: 60Mbps
9. Samsung Galaxy A21s D:147Mbps U: 51Mbps
10. Huawei Y6 2019 D:145Mbps U: 61Mbps

Number of smartphones in the ranking:30
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:5/30

Note: the theoretical maximum speed of a telephone is often limited by the configuration of the mobile network and the congestion of the network at the time of the measurement. So maybe you could get a higher speed on another network

I got a download speed of 153 Mbps for download and a speed of 68 Mbps for upload. This is an excellent performance which suggests that this phone is able to combine frequencies because it is so close to the theoretical limit imposed by the network. It is one of the best scores I got in 4G.




Wifi performance

To test a phone's ability to receive the network properly, I take measurements near my router and then remotely (and always at the same place). This gives me an average in dBm where a value of -90 dBm indicates poorer performance than a value at -30 dBm.
Wifi frequencies : 802.11a, 802.11b, 802.11g, 802.11n, 802.11n 5GHz, 802.11ac
Download speed : 198
Signal / close : -19
Signal / distant : -68
Wifi signal
Near the router, I got an average signal of -19 dBm, it's a very good score which indicates a good sensitivity to wifi. From a distance, I measured -68 dBm, it's also a very good score.



Top 10 - wifi sensitivity ranking
1. Poco F2 Pro -11dBm
2. Samsung Galaxy A21s -13dBm
3. Poco X3 -17dBm
4. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s -18dBm
5. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro -19dBm
6. Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite -19dBm
7. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g -19dBm
8. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 -19dBm
9. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 -19dBm
10. Redmi 9a -19dBm

Number of smartphones in the ranking:30
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:6/30


Download/Upload speed
To test the speed in Wifi, I connect to my router in 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz (if available) and use the Ookla application to measure the speed.A good sensitivity to wifi often indicates a good performance in download but I got an unexpected score with the Mi Note 10 Lite. I tested it on my main router which is usually the fastest and I couldn't get more than 78 Mbps for download. By testing the phone with my second router (which is connected behind my main router) I got almost 200 Mbps. This would seem to show that performance could be quite different depending on the router. This is the first time I have encountered this problem.

Top 10 - wifi download speed ranking
1. Samsung Galaxy S20 351Mbps
2. Poco F2 Pro 341Mbps
3. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro 319Mbps
4. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g 300Mbps
5. Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite 260Mbps
6. Poco X3 251Mbps
7. Xiaomi Redmi Note 7 250Mbps
8. Umidigi F1 220Mbps
9. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 211Mbps
10. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 207Mbps

Number of smartphones in the ranking:30
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:13/30

Note: I have a 400Mbps line and a modem capable of delivering higher speed, but I can never be sure how much bandwidth is available when doing a test.

GPS performance


To test the quality of the GPS signal I use the Offline Maps application and I make the same train trip in pedestrian mode. Why? In pedestrian mode, the GPS does not artificially correct the signal to stick to the road, it has no markings, so you can see the actual position. I then use an application to measure the accuracy of the signal. I get a positioning accuracy of 3 meters, this score ranks the Mi Note 10 Lite in the average of the phones I tested. The road test shows that the phone is fast enough to recover the signal and the GPS application makes it possible to correct the difference in precision by making the position stick to the road.

Top 10 - GPS accuracy ranking
1. Redmi 9a 1m
2. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 1m
3. Redmi 9c 2m
4. Samsung Galaxy A21s 4m

Number of smartphones in the ranking:5
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:0/5

Note: An accuracy of 3 meters or less can easily be corrected by a good GPS application. Phone performance also plays a role in how fast your display updates, so good accuracy could be compromised by too slow a display.

Battery range

Capacity : 5260
Fast charge : Yes
W max : 30
Range (100% brightness) : 827.00
Range (50% brightness) : 1609.00
Charging time : 208.00
Discharge speed (100%) : 0.12
Discharge score (100%) : 6.36
Discharge speed (50%) : 0.06
Discharge score (50%) : 3.27
Charging speed : 0.48
Charging score : 25.29
From March 2020, I replaced my subjective battery test with a technical test to better measure the real behaviour of the battery. Now I test the autonomy and charging time under absolutely identical conditions. I perform several measurements, so this test alone takes several days during which I cannot use the phone for anything else.

Battery life - methodology
To test the battery life, I measure the battery consumption every minute in strictly identical conditions to be able to compare phones and also to allow you to evaluate your phone in the same conditions. I rule out any influence of applications that could interfere with the measurement. The autonomy is not linear, the battery sometimes discharges much faster at the end. This is a frustrating phenomenon but with my measurements, you will know if you need to find a charger quickly.

Battery life
The battery of the Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite has a capacity of 5260 mAh and has discharged from 100% to 1% in 827.00 minutes with 100% brightness, it has discharged from 100% to 1% in 1609.00 minutes with 50% brightness. I obtain in this way an average discharge speed of 0.12% per minute with 100% luminosity and 0.06% per minute with 50% luminosity, the consumption is therefore 6.36 mA per minute with 100% luminosity and 3.27 with 50% luminosity. To be able to compare the efficiency of the phone and its influence on the battery, you have to compare the 6.36 (or 50%) score with that of other smartphones, the figure should be as low as possible.

Charging time - methodology
To test the charging time, I always use the same charger with the same cable. I measure the charging time minute by minute to see the evolution of the charge as well as the charging speed. The charging speed of a battery is not linear, it is often faster at the beginning and slower at the end. The charger is compatible with fast charging.

Charging time
The battery of the Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite has a capacity of 5260 mAh and has been charged from 1% to 100% in 208.00 minutes. This gives me an average charging speed of 0.48% per minute and therefore an increase of 25.29 mA per minute. To compare the performance of the Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite compared to other phones, you should use the 25.29 per minute score, this score should be as high as possible.

Important note: the charging speed is not always linear, the graph below gives you an indication of the battery behaviour.

The following table lists the phones tested with the technical battery test, they are ranked in order of efficiency. A higher battery capacity should logically result in a higher battery life but it is not always the case and it does not give any indication of the efficiency of a phone.

SmartphoneCapacity (mAh)Battery life (minutes)Efficiency ScoreBattery life (minutes) / 50%Efficiency Score / 50%Charging time.Score charging
Honor 9x4000770.005.191333.003.00151.0026.49
Samsung Galaxy S204000565.007.081217.003.29136.0029.41
Nokia 5.34000549.007.291096.003.65199.0020.10
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g4160749.005.551541.002.70163.0025.52
Realme 64300704.006.111104.003.89162.0026.54
Poco F2 Pro47001150.004.091536.003.06180.0026.11
Redmi 9c5000656.007.621915.002.61170.0029.41
Redmi 9a5000694.007.201902.002.63195.0025.64
Samsung Galaxy A21s5000729.006.861283.003.90166.0030.12
Motorola G8 Power5000912.005.482792.001.79311.0016.08
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s5020663.007.571876.002.68224.0022.41
Xiaomi Redmi Note 95020650.007.721808.002.78162.0030.99
Umidigi F25150927.005.561854.002.78299.0017.22
Poco X35160653.007.901654.003.12181.0028.51
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite5260827.006.361609.003.27208.0025.29
Ulefone Armor 7e5500768.007.161140.004.82179.0030.73

helpHow to read these figures?
The battery capacity is an important element in determining the autonomy of a phone but it is not the only factor. A phone with a large battery may have a shorter battery life if it consumes more power. If I had to take an example from everyday life, I would use the universe of the car. If a car has a large fuel tank, it should be able to drive a longer distance unless its average fuel consumption is higher. The battery efficiency score works the same way, it should be as low as possible and represents the energy consumption of the phone. These differences in efficiency are often related to the brightness of the screen, large bright screens will tend to consume more energy and even if they have a large battery, their range will be shorter.

In summary [battery product="xiaomi-mi-note-10-lite" capa="5260" lg="en"] The Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite has a huge 5260 mAh battery which will give you a very comfortable autonomy. I usually find that batteries with as much capacity are used to mask a lack of energy efficiency of the phone but this is not the case here. Even if the Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite does not manage to exceed the Motorola G8 Power in efficiency, it is not very far in the ranking.

Photo camera test

To test the quality of photos produced by a phone, I do a technical test (resolution, sharpness, chromatic aberration,...) in studio (identical conditions) to evaluate the technical part objectively. From the second half of 2020, I built my own laboratory to take completely objective technical measurements. I then take pictures in real conditions to see how the camera performs. I then evaluate these photos according to my criteria but I publish the photos so that you can evaluate the result according to your criteria.

Hardware

Selfie / resolution : 16
Selfie / sensor : Samsung S5K3P3
Resolution : 64
Sensor : Sony IMX686 Exmor RS
Video resolution : 2160p
The main difference between the Xiaomi Mi Note 10 and its Lite version is the photo module. The Mi Note 10 uses a 108 million pixel Samsung sensor which is a reference in terms of photo quality while the Mi Note 10 Lite is equipped with a Sony IMX 686 sensor which is also a reference in terms of photo quality. This sensor is also present in the Poco F2 Pro or the Huawei P30 Pro.
Default app
The default photo app for the Mi Note 10 Lite is a true copy of what is found in other Xiaomi phones. The application is complete but offers many options which can sometimes create confusion. The application offers a night mode which is particularly effective. I compared this night mode to that offered by Gcam and the Xiaomi application is doing better.

Photoquality

Photo test / studio
First example: ƒ / 1.89 1/151 5.43 mm 100 ISO xiaomi mi note 10 lite test review avis recensione prueba opinion beoordeling photo studio 1 Exposure: good Sharpness: good Colors: good Depth of field: good Distortion: slight Chromatic aberration: none Vignetting: none Digital noise: none The Sony IMX 686 sensor delivers good results in the studio where many Samsung sensors do not produce good photos under artificial light. I got the same result with the Poco F2 Pro which uses the same sensor, the treatment is therefore no different. The exposure is good, the colors are fair and the sharpness is good. Second example: ƒ / 2.2 1/240 1.94 mm 100 ISO xiaomi mi note 10 lite test review avis recensione prueba opinion beoordeling photo studio 2 Exposure: slight underexposure Sharpness: medium Colors: slightly too dark Depth of field: good Distortion: important Chromatic aberration: none Vignetting: no Digital noise: visible The ultra wide angle sensor has a deficit in brightness, this is almost always the case with this kind of sensor. The sharpness is much less pronounced than with the main sensor and the deformations are very visible. Digital noise is also visible at ISO 100. Third example: ƒ / 1.89 1/144 5.43 mm 100 ISO xiaomi mi note 10 lite test review avis recensione prueba opinion beoordeling photo studio 3 Exposure: good Sharpness: good Colors: good Depth of field: good Distortion: slight Chromatic aberration: none Vignetting: none Digital noise: none The Mi Note 10 Lite does not have an optical zoom, so it is the main sensor which plays the role of zoom by a digital enlargement. The properties of the photo are therefore the same as the first example, the sharpness is even more obvious because the objects are closer.

Photo test / sunny
First example: ƒ / 2.2 1/991 1.94 mm 100 ISO xiaomi mi note 10 lite test review avis recensione prueba opinion beoordeling photo sun 98 Exposure: good Sharpness: good Colors: good Depth of field: ok Distortion: visible on the periphery Chromatic aberration: no Vignetting: no Digital noise : none The ultra wide angle sensor produced an average photo in the studio but outside it allows you to capture a very large landscape with many details. The weather was not perfectly sunny and it was 6 pm, the conditions were therefore not perfect and yet I find that this ultra wide angle module produced a good photo. We see deformations in the periphery as well as a blurry area, the sharpness is better in the center, better to know. Second example: ƒ / 1.89 1/890 5.43 mm 100 ISO xiaomi mi note 10 lite test review avis recensione prueba opinion beoordeling photo sun 97 Exposure: good Sharpness: good Colors: good Depth of field: ok Distortion: none Chromatic aberration: none Vignetting: none Digital noise: none The Sony sensor produces a sharper photo than the ultra wide angle sensor, the photo is more detailed, the exposure is slightly better and the photo does not show any distortion or blurred areas. The horizon line is very clear and sharp despite the big difference in colors. Third example: ƒ / 1.89 1/839 5.43 mm 100 ISO xiaomi mi note 10 lite test review avis recensione prueba opinion beoordeling photo sun 96 Exposure: slight overexposure in the clouds Sharpness: good Colors: good Depth of field: ok Distortion: visible on the periphery Chromatic aberration: no Vignetting : none Digital noise: none The digital zoom produces a very clear photo, it is possible to distinguish many details in the vegetation and the outline of the clouds is very well drawn. There is a slight overexposure in the whites of the clouds but this is frankly not problematic. xiaomi mi note 10 lite test review avis recensione prueba opinion beoordeling photo sun 70 Using HDR increases the saturation of the image and enlarges its dynamic range. This mode works rather well but you have to accept that certain colors will be exaggerated like blue on this photo. Using HDR will allow you to capture scenes with high contrasts without much difficulty. @@ 32 @@

Photo test / cloudy
First example: ƒ / 1.89 1/1836 5.43 mm 100 ISO Exposure: slight underexposure Sharpness: ok Colors: too dark Depth of field: ok Distortion: none Chromatic aberration: none Vignetting: none Digital noise: none When a decor has very light and very dark areas, the Sony sensor produces slightly underexposed photos. It is a choice which allows in this case to obtain a very beautiful sky despite the absence of sun but the ground will be darker than in reality. It is possible to recover a little brightness at ground level by going through the HDR mode. Leaving aside the exposure problem, the photo clearly demonstrates the quality of the Sony sensor. Second example: ƒ / 2.2 1/1899 1.94 mm 100 ISO Exposure: underexposure Sharpness: good in the center, less good in the periphery Colors: too dark Depth of field: ok Distortion: visible in periphery Chromatic aberration: none Vignetting: none Digital noise: none The ultra wide angle sensor calculates its exposure according to the sky, the ground is therefore darker as with the main sensor but the effect is here even more pronounced because the ultra large sensor angle lets in less light. Here also the HDR will recover a little brightness I did several tests under the same conditions, with and without HDR and we see that the HDR plays on the saturation of the colors but does not manage to recover enough light at the level ground. The result remains very correct, however. @@ 35 @@

Test photo / night
First example: ƒ / 1.89 1/14 5.43 mm 3375 ISO Exposure: correct Sharpness: slightly blurred (I moved a little) Colors: correct Depth of field: ok Distortion: no chromatic aberration : no Vignetting: no Digital noise: none I kept this blurred photo as an example because I needed an example to compare normal mode and night mode under the same conditions. Apart from the blur, the photo has interesting qualities such as a good exposure, colors close to reality but with or without blur, the photo lacks details. Second example: ƒ / 1.89 1/10 5.43 mm 5353 ISO Exposure: correct Sharpness: good Colors: a little saturation / warmth Depth of field: ok Distortion: no chromatic aberration: no Vignetting : none Digital noise: none I took this photo with the night mode, the result is much better than with the normal mode. The sharpness is very good for a night photo, the colors are on the other hand a little too cold but the night mode produces good photos. I tested Gcam under the same conditions and the result is less good. Third example: ƒ / 2.2 1/14 1.94 mm 5184 ISO Exposure: underexposure Sharpness: medium Colors: too saturated Depth of field: ok Distortion: visible on the periphery Aberration chromatic: none Vignetting: none Digital noise: very visible The ultra wide angle sensor does not produce good photos at night, the photos are underexposed, the colors are too saturated, the sharpness is not good and the digital noise is very visible. @@ 40 @@

Video quality

Stabilisation
The Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite has effective video stabilization, the movements caused by walking are softened and I do not see any pixelation of the image with each movement.
Video normale conditions The Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite is capable of producing videos in 4k and 30 fps with digital stabilization. The videos produced are of good quality even when the brightness is not ideal as in this video. The lateral movement does not tear the image, the movements are fairly fluid. The change in exposure time is quite fast, I don't see a jump in brightness from the sky to the ground.
Video low light
The Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite is capable of producing good quality for night video. Digital noise is almost completely absent, the focus is quite quickly even if sometimes the sensor searches for the right focus area. The exposure level could have been a little higher but the content of the video reflects reality quite well. When the video is stable, the level of detail increases, we see it in particular at the level of the light sources which appear like a ball of light and if the video stabilizes, we begin to see the details.

Audio quality

To test the quality of the phone's audio output, I connect the device's audio output to a measuring tool, then play sounds on all frequencies and measure the differences between the original sound and the sound produced by the phone. In this way I measure the phone's ability to correctly reproduce all sounds.
Frequency Respons : 0.13 / -0.06
Noise Level : -89.2
Dynamic Range : 89.1
THD : 0.00286
Intermodulation : 0.012
Stereo crosstalk : -75.8
Xiaomi used to produce either phones with a very powerful sound but a high level of distortion or phones less powerful but with a more controlled sound. I note that on most of the phones I have tested this year, Xiaomi has chosen a lower sound power but a more controlled distortion. The external speaker produces correct sound with treble which lacks precision when the volume is high but if you use headphones, the sound quality goes up a notch.
Frequency Response
This test is intended to test the device's ability to correctly reproduce all frequencies. The white line in the middle of the graph is the ideal situation and the other colors come from tests on different phones. A deviation from the reference line indicates a deviation from the ideal situation. To see good sound at all frequencies, it is therefore necessary to get as close as possible to the reference line. The Xiaomi Mi Note 10 is capable of reproducing most frequencies fairly faithfully, I compared it here to the Poco F2 Pro because it produces exactly the same performance, the two phones are constantly on the same curve. Xiaomi probably used the same chip for sound in both phones.
Dynamic Range
This test is designed to test a phone's ability to play sounds at different volume levels. Here too, the phones must be as close as possible to the reference. The Mi Note 10 Lite delivers good sound over all frequencies and if I compare it to the Poco F2 Pro, I see that the curves are again very similar, the Mi Note 10 Lite is just a little less powerful than the Poco F2 Pro.
Noise Level
This test aims to identify if the device under test is able to reproduce sounds without too much noise. A high score indicates a low parasite rate, a lower score indicates a higher presence of parasites. The Mi Note 10 Lite does not present interference problems, it also follows the curve of the Poco F2 Pro here. If I have to summarize the audio performance of the Mi Note Lite 10 I would say that it is a little below what Samsung can produce with for example an S10 + but it offers a good sound performance where it only lacks a little power to compete with the best phones in this category.
Concert recording
The purpose of this test is to measure the recording quality of the phone when there is a lot of ambient noise. Since I don't have the opportunity to go to a concert every time I test a phone, I simulate the noise of a concert in a closed environment.Not yet available / tested

Screen quality

To test the screen, I use a colorimetric probe that measures the color accuracy of a screen, as well as other parameters to see if a screen is able to correctly reproduce an image. I also test the brightness level to determine if the screen will be able to display an image in full sunlight.
Screen size : 6.47
Resolution : 1080 x 2340
Ratio : 19.5:9
Protection : Corning Gorilla Glass 5
Type : Amoled
% occupancy : 87
dE white : 3.9
dE red : 1.8
dE green : 1.6
dE blue : 3.1
dE jaune : 1.0
dE cyan : 0.6
dE magenta : 1.4
White temperature : 6848
Contrast : 5000000:1
Brightness : 598
Colorimetry
xiaomi mi note 10 lite screen calibration The Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite uses a good quality Amoled screen, I got a color difference (dE) of 1.91. This score ranks the Mi Note 10 Lite among the best screens in this price range, only experienced users could see the difference with a high-end device. Most colors have a score lower than 3 (beyond 3, the eye begins to perceive the difference), only white seems to deviate a little from the norm with a slightly bluish tint with a color temperature d 'around 6800k. I obtained the optimal setting using the "normal" mode in the options offered for the screen. By default, Xiaomi configures its devices on the "saturated" mode but even if the colors seem more vivid, this mode deviates from the ideal colorimetry.

Top 10 - ranking of the best screens by colorimetry
1. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g dE = 0.73
2. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 dE = 1.2
3. Samsung Galaxy S20 dE = 1.4
4. Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite dE = 1.46
5. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s dE = 1.47
6. Honor 9x dE = 1.5
7. Poco F2 Pro dE = 1.73
8. Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite dE = 1.91
9. Samsung Galaxy S10+ dE = 2.01
10. Xiaomi Mi 9t Pro dE = 2.11

Number of smartphones in the ranking:29
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:8/29

Note: the colorimetric difference is measured in dE. After three, the human eye will perceive a colorimetric difference, so the dE should be the lowest. The tests were all carried out with a colorimetric probe.

Brightness / Contrast
I measured a maximum brightness of 425 cd / m² with the screen at 100% brightness, this is a good score which should make the screen readable in most situations but in full sun, it would have taken a little more light to be perfectly readable. The small light deficit combined with the reflectivity rate of the screen will undoubtedly force you to have to rotate the screen to make it perfectly readable.
The Mi Note 10 Lite uses an Amoled screen with almost infinite contrast, this means that the blacks are really black and the images will have a depth that you will not be able to obtain with an LCD type screen. In this price range, we mainly find LCD screens, the Mi Note 10 Lite therefore offers here a high-end screen at an affordable price.
Light Absorption/Reflection
The smartphone screen reflect light and sometimes turn them into a real mirror. This mirror effect makes it harder to read.

The absorption index below indicates the percentage of light absorbed by the screen. The readability of a screen is better when the absorption index is high.

Phone tested:% light absorption
Samsung Galaxy S10+58
Xiaomi Mi 9T Pro52
Honor 9x65
Redmi Note 9s55
Motorola G8 Power60
Realme 654
Umidigi F248
Poco F2 Pro52
Redmi Note 956
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite53
Samsung Galaxy S2047
Samsung Galaxy A21s53
The phones tested have an average absroption rate of54 %

Biometry

The Mi Note 10 Lite uses a fingerprint sensor on the screen, it is fashionable in 2020 but it is clearly not the most effective unlocking. You have to find the right thumb position and this kind of sensor is always slower than the fingerprint sensor that can be found on the back of some phones. You can also use facial recognition, I haven't noticed a difference from what I usually see on other phones.

Operating system

The Mi Note 10 Lite is marketed with MIUI 11 and will undoubtedly be one of the first candidates for MIUI 12 which is coming soon. I did not notice any differences between this version of MIUI 11 and the other phones than the brand I tested. Only the Poco F2 Pro seems to stand out with its application drawer. MIUI 11 offers many possibilities that are not available by default on Android and each time I switch to a phone running Android without overlay, I always have the impression that I am missing something (ex: gallery app default photo, video recording of the screen, ...). MIUI's faults are those found on all previous versions also, namely: the glut of options, the presence of advertising when downloading applications (this can be disabled) and the presence of applications forced by Xiaomi. .

Encoutered bugs

n / A

Accessories Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite

To better enjoy your experience with your smartphone, I offer links to all kinds of accessories that you might find useful

Protective cover / case xiaomi mi note 10 lite
Screen protection film xiaomi mi note 10 lite
Memory card xiaomi mi note 10 lite
USB Cable / Charger xiaomi mi note 10 lite
Headphones xiaomi mi note 10 lite
Bike rack xiaomi mi note 10 lite

Compare Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite with the others

I assigned a score of 1 to 10 for each test that determines the strengths and weaknesses of a product. I am using 0 for criteria that have not (yet) been tested. A score of 1 to 3 indicates poor performance (and yes, it does), a score of 4 to 6 indicates average performance, a score of 7 to 8 indicates good performance, and a score of 9 and 10 indicates exceptional performance. .
The score is calculated based on my measurements and when there are no measurements, it is a subjective opinion based on my experience.

The scores are not static, they change over time because the performance of new products changes and this must be taken into account.

Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite
Finish quality8.56.00
Battery performance8.006.00
CPU performance6.005.00
GPU performance6.005.00
Screen quality8.005.00
Photo quality8.005.00
Video quality8.005.00
Wi-Fi performance6.005.00
Mobile download speed7.505.00
Mobile network sensitivity6.006.00
Frequency coverage7.006.00
Audio quality8.006.00
GPS performance6.006.00
Operating system8.007.00
Overall score10178
Global ranking
1. Samsung Galaxy S20 112 / 140
2. Poco F2 Pro 111 / 140
3. Samsung Galaxy S10+ 107 / 140
4. Xiaomi Mi 9t Pro 106 / 140
5. Poco X3 102 / 140
6. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g 101 / 140
7. Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite 101 / 140
8. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro 100 / 140
9. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s 98 / 140
10. Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite 98 / 140
11. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 97 / 140
12. Xiaomi Redmi Note 7 94 / 140
13. Realme 6 93 / 140
14. Motorola G8 Power 91 / 140
15. Nokia 5.3 89 / 140
16. Xiaomi Mi A3 89 / 140
17. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 88 / 140
18. Honor 9x 88 / 140
19. Meizu Note 9 86 / 140
20. Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite 86 / 140
21. Xiaomi Redmi Note 5 85 / 140
22. Umidigi S3 Pro 83 / 140
23. Umidigi F2 82 / 140
24. Samsung Galaxy A21s 82 / 140
25. Redmi 9a 81 / 140
26. Redmi 9c 80 / 140
27. Ulefone Armor 7e 80 / 140
28. Honor 8x 78 / 140
29. Umidigi F1 77 / 140
30. Huawei Y6 2019 74 / 140

Test / Review conclusion

As I wrote at the beginning of this article, the Mi Note 10 Lite is a light version of the Mi Note 10. The main difference is at the photo module level, this difference translates into a huge difference in price which me is not justified. The Mi Note 10 Lite was marketed around 300 € and I find that it was already too expensive compared to other phones in this price range. The Mi Note 10 Lite has a very good level of finish, a very good photo sensor, a very good battery and a very good screen. This phone therefore has undeniable qualities but it should ideally be sold around 250 € because at 300 € other phones could represent a credible alternative. The Mi Note 10 Lite is quite heavy and massive, this does not pose a problem to me but I imagine that this kind of criterion can be important for certain buyers. It offers sufficient performance for just about any use, but in this price range, there are other devices that offer much higher performance. This is probably its biggest weakness at this price level. I did not discover any other weak points, the Mi Note 10 Lite ranks in the average for a whole series of other criteria like the quality of signal 4G, the GPS or even the wifi. The Mi Note 10 Lite is one of the cheapest Sony IMX 686 equipped phones, this sensor is not new on the market but it is still one of the best. This is undoubtedly what explains the price positioning of the Mi Note 10 Lite compared to its most direct competitors.

Strengths
Premium finish Day and night photo quality Video quality Battery life

Weaknesses
Average CPU / GPU performance Average GPS

Alternatives to this product

Comments

Join the discussion / Ask your questions

Your comment will be published after validation. I respond to over 1500 comments a year in my spare time, so I can't always respond very quickly. Your email address will not be publicly visible and it will not be used for commercial purposes.









Be notified by email when a response is published