On this page:
Price Xiaomi Redmi 10 Pro
Unpacking
First configuration
Finish
Specifications
CPU / GPU Performance
Benchmark Antutu/3DMark
Network performance
Wifi performance
GPS performance
Battery range
Photo camera test
Hardware
Photo quality
Video quality
Audio quality
Screen quality
Biometry
Operating system
Test / Review conclusion
Questions answers

{REVIEW] Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro: test / review (no commercial bias)

Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro : test / review

Category: Tests / Reviews

The launch of the new Redmi Note 10 range comes in three versions: [b][b]- Redmi Note 10 (basic version) [b][b]- Redmi Note 10 Pro (phone tested in this article) [b][b]- Redmi Note 10 Pro Max (phone for the Indian market)[b][b][b][b]The Redmi Note Pro range has always focused on performance and photos, this is again the case with this new Redmi Note 10 Pro and I find that Xiaomi has even gone the extra mile because this phone is equipped with one of the best photo sensors on the market with the Samsung S5KHM2 of 108 million pixels that we find in many phones more expensive like the Xiaomi Mi 11 or the Xiaomi Mi 10T Pro. The Redmi Note 10 Pro therefore offers the lowest price for this sensor. [b][b][b][b]The other pleasant surprise is the screen. In this price range we mainly find IPS LCD screens but the Redmi Note 10 Pro has a 120Hz Amoled screen. Here too, the revolution is the price because a screen of this type in this price range is very rare. [b][b] I still have to test this new Redmi Note 10 in depth to see if he keeps his promises.[b][b][b]linkManufacturer web site: https://www.mi.com[b]linkSite where I have bought the Xiaomi Redmi 10 Pro: https://bit.ly/3qcAAzm[b]

Structure of my tests

I test the phones according to a pre-established structure (see below) to provide you with as much information as possible. Unfortunately, this takes a long time. Some tests like network performance tests take several days and for photo tests I sometimes have to wait until the weather is suitable to take pictures in good conditions. I am therefore obliged to publish the tests step by step, so I invite you to come back if the test is not complete at the time of your visit.[b]
How are my tests different from others on the web?

- I usually buy the devices with my own money, so price is just as important as you are!
- I keep the devices for at least a few weeks (sometimes more) to see what they are worth in real conditions.
- I answer (when possible) your questions to help you decide before you buy
- no one pays me to do these reviews, so I'm completely neutral and independent...
- My pages are not filled with ads



Xiaomi Mi 11 Lite test / review
Poco X3 Pro : test / review
OnePlus Nord N100: test / review
Poco F3 Test / Review
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite test / review
Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro : test / review
Xiaomi Redmi Note 10: test / review
Redmi 9A test / review
Nokia 5.3 Test / Review
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9T: test / review

Price Xiaomi Redmi 10 Pro

The list below shows the prices for the Xiaomi Redmi 10 Pro from more than 50 sites around the world. If you are not satisfied with any price, you can subscribe to a price alert to be the first to be notified when the price drops.[b]
No price available for this product (not yet or not anymore)
[b]
helpThe above links are affiliate links from companies such as Amazon, Gearbest, Aliexpress,... If you appreciate my work, I would be grateful if you could purchase these products through these links. It costs you absolutely nothing but I get a small commission that allows me to buy the material I test. Thank you very much!

Timeline

03/04/21 Launch of the Redmi Note 10 Pro, I was lucky to be able to get one from the launch[b]

Why this phone?

Since I am on my own to do my tests, I have to make choices to test the phones that are going to become commercial successes. By applying my criteria (and in particular the price) I tested many Xiaomi / Redmi / Poco because they almost always offer a good performance / price ratio. I have rarely been disappointed even if some models have not kept their promises. [b][b][b][b]The Redmi Pro range has always been a great success by offering good performance (even for playing) and good photo quality. This new Redmi Note 10 Pro comes with some other good surprises like in particular an Amoled 120Hz screen, a 5020 mAh battery, stereo sound, fast charging at 33w and a screen that takes up 85% of the front surface of the phone. The only thing it lacks is 5G but I doubt that this is an essential criterion for a majority of buyers. [b][b][b][b]Despite all these positive elements, I cannot say that the Redmi Note 10 Pro is innovative because it incorporates components from other Xiaomi models, the revolution is not technological, it is mainly commercial because I do not see other phones capable of competing with it. [b][b][b][b]​[b]

Unpacking

The box of the Redmi Note 10 Pro is quite classic, it contains the phone, a transparent soft silicone protection, a manual, a charger and a USB cable. This is the bare minimum but it is not a problem, it is the same for all phones in this price range. [b][b][b][b]For the first time, I made a video presentation of the telephone:[b][b]
Length : 164
Width : 76.5
Thickness : 8.1
Weight : 193
Jack output : Yes
USB Type : Type C
Infrared port : Yes

First configuration

The Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro boot procedure follows the same sequence as the other phones under MIUI 12, I noticed a difference on a screen where Xiaomi asks what type of keyboard to use, there is a choice between the keyboard Google (Gboard) and a special keyboard for braille writing. [b][b] Xiaomi is always trying to subtly sign up for its cloud. There is obviously nothing serious but if you do not want it, you will have to be careful because registration can be done in one click.[b]

Finish

The Redmi Note 10 Pro offers a good level of finish composed of plastic and glass. The back of the phone provides a uniform surface (except for the camera) which reflects light depending on the viewing angle, it looks like it is made of metal under a layer of glass. The metallic effect comes from a metallic gradient which gives a uniform rendering at the back where a Poco X3 offered a more whimsical gradient. [b][b] The camera on the back stands out quite a bit. strong of the phone and this is the case for each model using this Samsung 108 million pixel sensor, this sensor is imposing and it is not possible to fully integrate it into the phone. The phone limps a little when it is placed on its back. The format of this sensor is a little different from what I have seen so far, it comes in two stages with a part for the flash and a higher part for the photo sensors. [b][b]

Specifications

[b]The information below comes from the Device Info HW application. The application provides detailed technical information about the tested phone.The Redmi Note 10 Pro shares a number of things with the Poco X3, this is part of Xiaomi's great recycling job which produces a large number of models by re-using as many things as possible. The CPU is different but offers the same characteristics and the same level of performance. The GPU is 100% identical. Both phones use the same base for wifi, memory, and sound (although the Redmi's version is slightly different). [b][b] On the other hand, the radio network part is totally different and this is a good thing because the Poco X3 did not offer good network sensitivity whereas it is quite the opposite with the Redmi . Xiaomi has obviously learned from its mistakes at this level. For that alone, those who hesitated between the Poco and the Redmi should choose the Redmi. [b][b] [b][b][b]

CPU / GPU Performance

CPU : Qualcomm Snapdragon 732G
GPU : Qualcomm AdreNo 618
Memory (RAM) : 6Gb
Storage : 64 Gb - 128 Gb
[b][b]The Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro is equipped with a Qualcomm Snapdragon 732G CPU which is also present in the Poco X3, this type of CPU delivers a good overall performance and although the Poco X3 is cheaper than the Redmi, the Redmi nevertheless offers quite a good performance / price ratio if I compare it to other brands. [b][b] For the graphics part, the Redmi Note 10 Pro is equipped with a Qualcomm Adreno 618 GPU, here too it This is the same configuration as the Poco X3 but other models of the brand also use it, I am thinking in particular of the Redmi Note 9s or the Mi Note 10 Lite. This GPU is a mid-range GPU that offers enough performance to play most games in good conditions. [b][b] The similarity to the Poco X3 does not end there, the Redmi Note 10 Pro also uses the same Wifi chipset, it also shares the same base for the audio chipset and I think the fingerprint sensor is the same as well. [b][b][b]

Benchmark Antutu/3DMark

I got a score of 286,000 points with Antutu, it's a good score for a mid-range phone but the Redmi Note 10 Pro is not the only one to provide such performance in this price range. . The Poco X3 uses the same hardware for a lower price. [b][b] With such a high score, you can play just about any game without too many concessions. [b][b]
Antutu score : 286227
Antutu CPU : 96752
Antutu GPU : 77455
Antutu UX : 62091
Antutu Mem : 49929
[b]Top 10 - performance ranking based on Antutu
1. Oppo Find X2 Pro - 605184
2. Oneplus 8t - 595000
3. Poco F3 - 589677
4. Xiaomi Mi 10t Pro - 581650
5. Oneplus 8 Pro - 579417
6. Xiaomi Mi 10 - 579114
7. Poco F2 Pro - 569559
8. Samsung Galaxy S20 Fe - 565000
9. Samsung Galaxy S20 - 503905
10. Poco X3 Pro - 486466

Number of smartphones in the ranking:121
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:37/121

Note: this ranking only contains the phones I tested as well as a few others that I added for reference.
[b]Gaming[b]To test the performance in game, I download the mobile PUBG game and evaluate the in-game experience, graphics level and depth of vision. This game is quite demanding and should help you evaluating the performance of a phone. Starting PUBG Mobile I knew the performance was going to be good as I tested phones with similar performance. The good performance of the Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro therefore did not surprise me, but rather I was surprised by the sound. The Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro has two speakers, one located at the bottom of the phone and one at the top, it produces good sound and the position of two speakers reinforces this feeling. I had not yet tested a phone with this kind of configuration and Xiaomi made a good choice, the sound comes out identically on both sides of the phone where usually one of the speakers produces a slightly different sound. [b][b] PUBG Mobile runs in HD with the highest level of detail, I didn't experience any fluidity issue and the phone doesn't heat up much. The Redmi Note 10 Pro will therefore be able to seduce an audience of gamers. [b][b][b]​[b][b][b]

Network performance

The Redmi Note 10 Pro covers most 4G frequencies in Europe, so you should be able to use it anywhere. All it lacks is 5G but I guess Xiaomi will release a 5G version later to launch yet another new model.[b]
3G frequencies : B1 (2100), B2 (1900), B4 (1700/2100 AWS A-F), B5 (850), B8 (900)
4G frequencies : B1 (2100), B2 (1900), B3 (1800), B4 (1700/2100 AWS 1), B5 (850), B7 (2600), B8 (900), B20 (800), B28b (700), B28a (700), B32 (1500), B38 (TDD 2600), B40 (TDD 2300), B41 (TDD 2500)
Bluetooth : Bluetooth 5.0 LE
Volte : Yes
VoWifi : Yes
NFC : Yes
Number measurements : 877
Average signal (reference) : -89.72
Average signal (telephone) : -90.56
Average deviation reference/telephone : -0.89
Min/Max signal (reference) : - 88 / -92
Min/Max signal (phone) : -89 / -95
Choose your country to check if your phone is compatible:


The frequencies displayed below will allow you to see if this phone is compatible with your operator or if you will be able to use it in the country where you are going on vacation.


Signal 4G (before december 2020)[b]The ability to pick up the network correctly is an essential element for a phone but it is only very rarely measured. To measure a phone's ability to pick up the network, I perform a large number of measurements on the same cells to be able to compare phones under similar conditions. The signal is measured in dBm, a value of -90dBm indicates a worse signal than -70dBm. These measurements are therefore taken under real conditions and not in a laboratory, they are not scientific but give a good indication of performance. [b][b]Network signal sensitivity rating
Phone tested:Average signal (dBm)Number of measurements:
Xiaomi Mi 9t Pro-881600
Xiaomi Redmi Note 5-91.305600
Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite-93788
Samsung Galaxy A70-94.5111975
Nokia 5.3-94.98531
Realme 6-95.142301
Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro-95.9221599
Xiaomi Mi A3-95.951000
Huawei Y6 2019-95.951199
Doogee S58 Pro-96.22856
Redmi 9a-96.481000
Meizu Note 9-96.68937
Motorola G8 Power-96.881032
Xiaomi Redmi Note 7-97.011430
Redmi 9c-97.041000
Umidigi S3 Pro-97.131200
Xiaomi Redmi Note 8-97.34879
Samsung Galaxy A21s-97.781000
Umidigi F1-97.82298
Ulefone Armor 7e-98.71000
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite-991000
Honor 9x-99.14899
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s-99.41860
Poco F2 Pro-99.81247
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9-100.791785
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g-100.881198
Poco X3-101.19821
Umidigi F2-101.47712
[b][b]Signal 4G (from December 2020)[b]I decided to change the methodology for measuring the network because I noticed that the configuration of the mobile network changes over time. This makes it more difficult to compare phones because the conditions are no longer exactly the same.[b][b]To overcome this problem, I set up a device that captures 24 hours a day about ten parameters from the mobile network (ex: cell id, rssi, rsrq, snr, frequency,...). I then place the phone next to the device for 24 to 48 hours taking the same measurements so that I can compare them. [b][b] Overview of the phones tested with this methodology[b][b]
Phone tested:MeasurementsAvg signal (reference)Avg signal (phone)Min/Max (reference)Min/Max (phone)
Samsung Galaxy S10+457-93.06-97.39-89 / -98-97 / -99
Xiaomi Mi 9t Pro669-93.69-95.84-90 / -95-92 / -98
Poco F2 Pro1438-91.02-94.99-89 / -94-94 / -96
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g1645-90.77-95.02- 88 / -98-95 / -100
Poco X3821-94.89-103.19-91 / -97.7-101 / -104
Umidigi Bison2343-92.71-96.46-90 / -99-94 / -102
Oukitel C211101-92.04-94.99-90 / -97-92 / -95
Poco M31116-92.09-91.74-88 / -98-90 / -99
Xiaomi Mi 10t Pro1071-90.61-94.03-88 / -94-94 / -96
Umidigi A9 Pro981-90.40-94.01-88 / -95-93 / -95
Redmi Note 9t1201-92.149-91.71-90 / -97-91 / -97
Xiaomi Redmi Note 10999-92.35-93.99-88 / -97-92 / -98
Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro877-89.72-90.56- 88 / -92-89 / -95
Poco X3 Pro1876-91.45-92.91-90 / -94-90 / -96
Oneplus Nord N100896-91.23-96.005-88 / - 99-96 / -99
[b][b]The range of Redmi at Xiaomi has never really shone by its ability to capture the 4G network, it is also the same for the Poco X3 which obtained a poor score in terms of network sensitivity. So I wasn't expecting much from this Redmi Note 10 Pro but I was positively surprised because it is the best Redmi that I have been able to test so far.
[b][b] I made almost 900 measurements and comparing them with my measuring device and on average the difference between the Redmi and my device is 0.89 dBm, the difference is therefore almost negligible. I haven't tested many with my new test protocol yet but at the time of this writing the Redmi Note 10 Pro was the best device. [b][b] The measurements on the outside of the graph are the best and we see that my reference device comes out most often as the winner of this test. This is correct but the difference between the measurements in red and the measurements in blue does not exceed 2 dBm, so the differences are very small. It should also be noted that the Redmi sometimes drops to -95 dBm but this is entirely my fault as it took me two minutes to put the phone back in place after recharging it and during those two minutes the phone was in a area where the network is slightly weaker. [b][b] If the technical part of this kind of test does not interest you, you can skip this paragraph and be satisfied with the conclusion, the Redmi Note 10 Pro has good sensitivity to 4G network. [b][b][b][b][b]Download/Upload speed[b]To test the download speed, I have identified some 4G cells offering good performance where I test all my devices several times to see what download and upload speed they can achieve.[b]Top 10 - speed ranking in download
1. Samsung Galaxy S20 D:351Mbps U: 20Mbps
2. Poco X3 D:232Mbps U: 55Mbps
3. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g D:223Mbps U: 52Mbps
4. Poco F2 Pro D:207Mbps U: 53Mbps
5. Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite D:153Mbps U: 68Mbps
6. Xiaomi Mi A3 D:150Mbps U: 60Mbps
7. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s D:150Mbps U: 60Mbps
8. Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite D:149Mbps U: 60Mbps
9. Samsung Galaxy A21s D:147Mbps U: 51Mbps
10. Huawei Y6 2019 D:145Mbps U: 61Mbps

Number of smartphones in the ranking:30
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:0/30

Note: the theoretical maximum speed of a telephone is often limited by the configuration of the mobile network and the congestion of the network at the time of the measurement. So maybe you could get a higher speed on another network
[b][b]

Wifi performance

To test a phone's ability to receive the network properly, I take measurements near my router and then remotely (and always at the same place). This gives me an average in dBm where a value of -90 dBm indicates poorer performance than a value at -30 dBm.[b]
Wifi frequencies : 802.11a, 802.11b , 802.11g, 802.11n, 802.11n 5GHz, 802.11ac
Download speed : 367
Signal / close : -12
Signal / distant : -67
Wifi signal[b]The Redmi Note 10 uses a wifi chipset identical to that of the Poco X3, so I expected to find similar performance. However, I got a better signal with the Redmi Note 10 Pro, this phone also ranks among the best in terms of wifi sensitivity.[b][b]Top 10 - wifi sensitivity ranking
1. Poco F2 Pro -11dBm
2. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro -12dBm
3. Samsung Galaxy A21s -13dBm
4. Oneplus Nord N100 -15dBm
5. Poco X3 Pro -15dBm
6. Redmi Note 9t -15dBm
7. Poco X3 -17dBm
8. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 -17dBm
9. Xiaomi Mi 10t Pro -18dBm
10. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s -18dBm

Number of smartphones in the ranking:40
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:2/40

[b]Download/Upload speed[b]To test the speed in Wifi, I connect to my router in 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz (if available) and use the Ookla application to measure the speed.[b]Top 10 - wifi download speed ranking
1. Poco X3 Pro 389Mbps
2. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro 367Mbps
3. Samsung Galaxy S20 351Mbps
4. Poco F2 Pro 341Mbps
5. Redmi Note 9t 332Mbps
6. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro 319Mbps
7. Umidigi Bison 306Mbps
8. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g 300Mbps
9. Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite 260Mbps
10. Poco X3 251Mbps

Number of smartphones in the ranking:39
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:2/39

Note: I have a 400Mbps line and a modem capable of delivering higher speed, but I can never be sure how much bandwidth is available when doing a test.
[b]

GPS performance

[b]To test the quality of the GPS signal I use the Offline Maps application and I make the same train trip in pedestrian mode. Why? In pedestrian mode, the GPS does not artificially correct the signal to stick to the road, it has no markings, so you can see the actual position. I then use an application to measure the accuracy of the signal. The Redmi Note 10 Pro gets an accuracy of 3 meters, it is an average level of accuracy, I got the same result with most of the phones equipped with a CPU Qualcomm. This level of precision can be compensated by GPS applications in road mode, the signal will be readjusted to stick to the road. On hiking trails where there is no known route, the signal may be less precise.[b][b]Top 10 - GPS accuracy ranking
1. Oukitel C21 1m
2. Redmi 9a 1m
3. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 1m
4. Redmi 9c 2m
5. Umidigi Bison 2m
6. Redmi Note 9t 2m
7. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro 3m
8. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 3m
9. Poco F3 3m
10. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g 3m

Number of smartphones in the ranking:16
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:7/16

Note: An accuracy of 3 meters or less can easily be corrected by a good GPS application. Phone performance also plays a role in how fast your display updates, so good accuracy could be compromised by too slow a display.
[b]

Battery range

Capacity : 5020
Fast charge : Yes
W max : 33
Range (100% brightness) : 625.00
Range (50% brightness) : 1557.00
Charging time : 213.00
Discharge speed (100%) : 0.16
Discharge score (100%) : 8.03
Discharge speed (50%) : 0.06
Discharge score (50%) : 3.22
Charging speed : 0.47
Charging score : 23.57
From March 2020, I replaced my subjective battery test with a technical test to better measure the real behaviour of the battery. Now I test the autonomy and charging time under absolutely identical conditions. I perform several measurements, so this test alone takes several days during which I cannot use the phone for anything else.

Battery life - methodology
To test the battery life, I measure the battery consumption every minute in strictly identical conditions to be able to compare phones and also to allow you to evaluate your phone in the same conditions. I rule out any influence of applications that could interfere with the measurement. The autonomy is not linear, the battery sometimes discharges much faster at the end. This is a frustrating phenomenon but with my measurements, you will know if you need to find a charger quickly.

Battery life
The battery of the Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro has a capacity of 5020 mAh and has discharged from 100% to 1% in 625.00 minutes with 100% brightness, it has discharged from 100% to 1% in 1557.00 minutes with 50% brightness. I obtain in this way an average discharge speed of 0.16% per minute with 100% luminosity and 0.06% per minute with 50% luminosity, the consumption is therefore 8.03 mA per minute with 100% luminosity and 3.22 with 50% luminosity. To be able to compare the efficiency of the phone and its influence on the battery, you have to compare the 8.03 (or 50%) score with that of other smartphones, the figure should be as low as possible.

Charging time - methodology
To test the charging time, I always use the same charger with the same cable. I measure the charging time minute by minute to see the evolution of the charge as well as the charging speed. The charging speed of a battery is not linear, it is often faster at the beginning and slower at the end. The charger is compatible with fast charging.

Charging time
The battery of the Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro has a capacity of 5020 mAh and has been charged from 1% to 100% in 213.00 minutes. This gives me an average charging speed of 0.47% per minute and therefore an increase of 23.57 mA per minute. To compare the performance of the Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro compared to other phones, you should use the 23.57 per minute score, this score should be as high as possible.

Important note: the charging speed is not always linear, the graph below gives you an indication of the battery behaviour.

The following table lists the phones tested with the technical battery test, they are ranked in order of efficiency. A higher battery capacity should logically result in a higher battery life but it is not always the case and it does not give any indication of the efficiency of a phone.

SmartphoneCapacity (mAh)Battery life (minutes)Efficiency ScoreBattery life (minutes) / 50%Efficiency Score / 50%Charging time.Score charging
Samsung Galaxy S204000565.007.081217.003.29136.0029.41
Nokia 5.34000549.007.291096.003.65199.0020.10
Oukitel C214000497.008.051324.003.02167.0023.95
Honor 9x4000770.005.191333.003.00151.0026.49
Umidigi A9 Pro4150552.007.521562.002.66112.0037.05
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g4160749.005.551541.002.70163.0025.52
Realme 64300704.006.111104.003.89162.0026.54
Poco F2 Pro47001150.004.091536.003.06180.0026.11
Motorola G8 Power5000912.005.482792.001.79311.0016.08
Umidigi Bison5000550.009.091471.003.40238.0021.01
Redmi 9a5000694.007.201902.002.63195.0025.64
Redmi 9c5000656.007.621915.002.61170.0029.41
Redmi Note 9t5000766.006.532054.002.43148.0033.78
Samsung Galaxy A21s5000729.006.861283.003.90166.0030.12
Xiaomi Redmi Note 105000691.007.241728.002.89193.0025.91
Oneplus Nord N1005000808.006.191278.003.91663.007.54
Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro5020625.008.031557.003.22213.0023.57
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s5020663.007.571876.002.68224.0022.41
Xiaomi Redmi Note 95020650.007.721808.002.78162.0030.99
Umidigi F25150927.005.561854.002.78299.0017.22
Poco X35160653.007.901654.003.12181.0028.51
Doogee S58 Pro5180845.006.131908.002.71177.0029.27
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite5260827.006.361609.003.27208.0025.29
Ulefone Armor 7e5500768.007.161140.004.82179.0030.73
Poco M36000842.007.131898.003.16217.0027.65

helpHow to read these figures?
The battery capacity is an important element in determining the autonomy of a phone but it is not the only factor. A phone with a large battery may have a shorter battery life if it consumes more power. If I had to take an example from everyday life, I would use the universe of the car. If a car has a large fuel tank, it should be able to drive a longer distance unless its average fuel consumption is higher. The battery efficiency score works the same way, it should be as low as possible and represents the energy consumption of the phone. These differences in efficiency are often related to the brightness of the screen, large bright screens will tend to consume more energy and even if they have a large battery, their range will be shorter.

In summary The Redmi Note 10 Pro has a good battery that will allow you to last 2 to 3 days with normal use. If I compare the performance of this battery with other phones I have tested, I see that it ranks average. The Redmi Note 10 Pro is not the most energy efficient phone. Why? Consumption is strongly impacted by the size and brightness of the screen. As the Redmi Note 10 Pro uses a very large screen with a high level of brightness, this phone is therefore penalized compared to other phones which have a smaller, less bright screen.[b]

Photo camera test

To test the quality of photos produced by a phone, I do a technical test (resolution, sharpness, chromatic aberration,...) in studio (identical conditions) to evaluate the technical part objectively. From the second half of 2020, I built my own laboratory to take completely objective technical measurements. I then take pictures in real conditions to see how the camera performs. I then evaluate these photos according to my criteria but I publish the photos so that you can evaluate the result according to your criteria.[b]

Hardware

Selfie / resolution : 16
Selfie / sensor : Sony IMX471 Exmor RS
Resolution : 108
Sensor : Samsung S5KHM2
mm wide angle : 6.04 mm
mm ultra wide angle : 1.65 mm
The Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro is equipped with 4 sensors on the back: [b][b] - Samsung S5KHM2 (108 Mpx) [b] - Sony IMX355 (8 Mpx) ultra wide angle [b] - GalaxyCore GC02M1 (2 Mpx) portrait [b] - Omnivision OV5675 (5 Mpx) macro [b][b] The front sensor is a Sony IMX471 Exmor RS of 16 Mpx. [b][b] The strength of this Redmi Note 10 Pro is the use of the Samsung S5KHM2. This is not a new sensor because it appeared almost 2 years ago for the first time on a Xiaomi Mi Note 10 (with S5KHMX), it was then taken over by most of the brand's high-end models. This is the first time that Xiaomi has equipped a mid-range phone with this sensor. It is one of the best photo sensors at the moment, the mid-range will therefore be able to compete with the high-end for the quality of the photos. As I have tested this sensor several times already, I could see if the settings of this model are different. [b][b][b]Default app[b]The Redmi Note 10 Pro uses the same photo application as other Xiaomi phones running MIUI 12. This application has improved a lot, the interface is clearer than before and it is possible to customize the menus. However, there is still this same defect, the settings and the zoom are displayed superimposed on the screen, so they are unreadable in strong light. [b][b] I also noticed a little latency in taking pictures in 108 Mpx, these pictures are so heavy that it takes a little processing time. The latency doesn't take more than a second but it shows if I compare the reaction time with a normal photo. [b][b][b][b]

Photo quality

Photo test / studio[b]
I have already tested the Samsung S5KHM2 sensor twice in other phones (Xiaomi Mi 10T Pro and Xiaomi Mi Note 10) so the result of this test is quite predictable. The Samsung S5KHM2 is able to take excellent photos like the one I put in the introduction of this paragraph, unfortunately the setting in artificial light tends to darken the photos, the shutter speed is too high. The other particularity of this sensor is the shallow depth of field for nearby objects. The car in this photo appears to be surrounded by a blurry halo. [b][b] When I switch to PRO (manual) mode, I can work around this problem by increasing the exposure and changing the depth of fields. The result is much better. I'll try to test Gcam or another photo app to see if it's the same. [b][b] I also tested the wide angle sensor (probably a Sony sensor) follows the same trend with an even more marked underexposure but it is not surprising, it is the same problem with all the wide angle sensors. [b][b] In the photo gallery below I tested the main sensor and the wide-angle sensor, photos without text are photos taken in manual mode. [b][b] [b]​[b][b]Photo test / sunny[b]
As I have tested the Samsung 108 Mpx sensor in other phones before, I know what to expect, I was just curious to see if the image processing for the Redmi Note 10 Pro was going to be different. [b][b] I took the following photos in the late afternoon at the beginning of March, so the light was orange. The Redmi Note 10 Pro has done very well to restore the warm coloring of this late afternoon with a good balance between the very dark areas and the lighter areas. The sky does not fall overexposed and the dark areas are not completely black. The level of detail is very impressive because even when zooming in, the detail of the tree branches is still clearly visible. There are currently not many cameras on the market that are able to compete with this Samsung sensor and in this price range there are none. In March 2021, therefore, I can say that the Redmi Note 10 Pro has the best camera for the price range between 200 and 250 €. [b][b] I tested the photo modes, 108 Mpx, HDR and AI on the following photos, this sometimes explains the differences in colour. When the light is good, I find that the phone does very well without assistance, so it is better to disable AI and HDR as the colours are sometimes not realistic.[b][b] [b][b]
The ultra wide angle sensor has not been overlooked either because this type of sensor is usually weaker. Xiaomi decided to use a Sony wide angle sensor and the result is really good for this type of sensor. The level of detail is significantly lower than the main sensor but it is still acceptable. The colors are more saturated but the rendering is good. The photo is slightly underexposed but this is very often the case with ultra wide angle sensors. The Sony sensor has a lower dynamic range than the Samsung, some parts of the sky have turned white, and you can clearly see the cyan moving between blue and white. Dark areas are also less detailed. The Sony sensor is worse than the Samsung sensor, it's not a surprise but if I compare this Sony sensor with other ultra wide angle sensors, I find that this Sony offers a photo quality quite comparable to the sensors. ultra wide angle from Samsung in the high end. [b][b] [b][b][b][b]Photo test / cloudy[b]Not yet available / tested[b][b][b]Test photo / night[b]Not yet available / tested[b][b][b]

Video quality

Stabilisation[b] The Redmi Note 10 Pro does not offer very effective stabilization because the jerk caused by footsteps is still visible. Stabilization is something mid-range phones still lack, I have yet to test a phone under $ 250 with effective video stabilization.[b]Video normale conditionsNot yet available / tested[b][b]Video low light[b]Not yet available / tested[b][b]

Audio quality

To test the quality of the phone's audio output, I connect the device's audio output to a measuring tool, then play sounds on all frequencies and measure the differences between the original sound and the sound produced by the phone. In this way I measure the phone's ability to correctly reproduce all sounds.[b]
Frequency Respons : +0.06 / -0.10
Noise Level : -98.6
Dynamic Range : 95.5
THD : 0.00258
Intermodulation : 2.587
Stereo crosstalk : -90.6
Frequency Response[b]This test is intended to test the device's ability to correctly reproduce all frequencies. The white line in the middle of the graph is the ideal situation and the other colors come from tests on different phones. A deviation from the reference line indicates a deviation from the ideal situation. To see good sound at all frequencies, it is therefore necessary to get as close as possible to the reference line.
I compared the Redmi Note 10 Pro to the Poco X3 because they use the same components and yet I measured a small difference. The Redmi Note 10 Pro offers a less regular performance than the Poco but the deviations are minimal, that's probably why I didn't notice anything when listening. The frequencies are well represented and the sound is overall very close to the reference measurement.[b]Dynamic Range[b]This test is designed to test a phone's ability to play sounds at different volume levels. Here too, the phones must be as close as possible to the reference.
The sound produced by the Redmi Note 10 Pro is more powerful than that produced by the Poco, the amplification is probably different but overall the curve follows the same trend as the Poco. The sound quality is therefore very similar but the volume of the Redmi allows you to go higher in decibels.[b]Noise Level[b]This test aims to identify if the device under test is able to reproduce sounds without too much noise. A high score indicates a low parasite rate, a lower score indicates a higher presence of parasites.
I did not notice any interference problems with the Redmi (nor the Poco X3), the sound is very close to the reference sound.[b]Concert recording[b]The purpose of this test is to measure the recording quality of the phone when there is a lot of ambient noise. Since I don't have the opportunity to go to a concert every time I test a phone, I simulate the noise of a concert in a closed environment.Not yet available / tested[b][b]

Screen quality

To test the screen, I use a colorimetric probe that measures the color accuracy of a screen, as well as other parameters to see if a screen is able to correctly reproduce an image. I also test the brightness level to determine if the screen will be able to display an image in full sunlight.[b]
Screen size : 6.67
Resolution : 1080 x 2400
Ratio : 20:9
Type : Amoled
% occupancy : 85
dE white : 2.3
dE red : 1.3
dE green : 1.1
dE blue : 1.3
dE jaune : 0.9
dE cyan : 1.3
dE magenta : 1.0
White temperature : 6298
Contrast : 4500000:1
Brightness : 617
Colorimetry[b]
Xiaomi has made a habit of setting its phones to a mode where the screen is too saturated. This may give the impression that the colors are more vivid but in reality the colors are moving away from reality. With the default setting I get a dE for white of 6.3 while with the setting in standard mode I get an excellent dE for white of 2.3. The temperature of white is just a little below perfection with almost 6300K where ideally it should be 6500K. [b][b] By combining all the colors and with the setting in standard mode, I get a dE of 1.31, that's an excellent score, the Redmi Note 10 Pro offers excellent color reproduction. [b][b][b][b]Top 10 - ranking of the best screens by colorimetry
1. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g dE = 0.73
2. Xiaomi Mi 10t Pro dE = 0.83
3. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 dE = 1.2
4. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 dE = 1.23
5. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro dE = 1.31
6. Samsung Galaxy S20 dE = 1.4
7. Poco M3 dE = 1.4
8. Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite dE = 1.46
9. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s dE = 1.47
10. Honor 9x dE = 1.5

Number of smartphones in the ranking:40
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:5/40

Note: the colorimetric difference is measured in dE. After three, the human eye will perceive a colorimetric difference, so the dE should be the lowest. The tests were all carried out with a colorimetric probe.
[b]Brightness / Contrast[b]The Redmi Note 10 Pro offers two modes for brightness, a normal mode and a "sun" mode. I measured a brightness of almost 400 cd / m² in normal mode, it is a good score without being extraordinary. On the other hand with the sun mode, I measured a brightness of 617 cd / m². It's a great score, it's one of the brightest screens I've tested so far. [b][b] The Redmi Note 10 Pro uses a super Amoled screen which gives it almost infinite contrast, so black is really black, which is one of the huge advantages of this type of screen. [b][b] This Amoled screen is clearly one of the strengths of this Redmi Note 10 Pro because the colors are correct and the contrast is excellent. In this price range, I haven't seen better yet. [b][b][b]Light Absorption/Reflection[b]The smartphone screen reflect light and sometimes turn them into a real mirror. This mirror effect makes it harder to read. [b][b]The absorption index below indicates the percentage of light absorbed by the screen. The readability of a screen is better when the absorption index is high.[b][b]
Phone tested:% light absorption
Samsung Galaxy S10+58
Xiaomi Mi 9T Pro52
Honor 9x65
Redmi Note 9s55
Motorola G8 Power60
Realme 654
Umidigi F248
Poco F2 Pro52
Redmi Note 956
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite53
Samsung Galaxy S2047
Samsung Galaxy A21s53
The phones tested have an average absroption rate of54 %

Biometry

Not yet available / tested[b][b]

Operating system

[b]Not yet available / tested[b][b]

Encoutered bugs

Not yet available / tested[b][b]

Accessories Xiaomi Redmi 10 Pro

To better enjoy your experience with your smartphone, I offer links to all kinds of accessories that you might find useful

Protective cover / case xiaomi redmi note 10 pro
Screen protection film xiaomi redmi note 10 pro
Memory card xiaomi redmi note 10 pro
USB Cable / Charger xiaomi redmi note 10 pro
Headphones xiaomi redmi note 10 pro
Bike rack xiaomi redmi note 10 pro

Compare Xiaomi Redmi 10 Pro with the others

I assigned a score of 1 to 10 for each test that determines the strengths and weaknesses of a product. I am using 0 for criteria that have not (yet) been tested. A score of 1 to 3 indicates poor performance (and yes, it does), a score of 4 to 6 indicates average performance, a score of 7 to 8 indicates good performance, and a score of 9 and 10 indicates exceptional performance. .
The score is calculated based on my measurements and when there are no measurements, it is a subjective opinion based on my experience.

The scores are not static, they change over time because the performance of new products changes and this must be taken into account.

Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro
Finish quality8.006.00
Battery performance7.008.00
CPU performance7.56.5
GPU performance7.56.5
Screen quality8.57.00
Photo quality8.005.00
Video quality8.005.00
Wi-Fi performance7.007.00
Mobile download speed7.005.00
Mobile network sensitivity8.006.00
Frequency coverage7.007.00
Audio quality8.006.00
GPS performance7.006.00
Operating system8.008.00
Overall score106.589
Global ranking
1. Samsung Galaxy S20 112 / 140
2. Poco F2 Pro 111 / 140
3. Poco X3 Pro 108.5 / 140
4. Samsung Galaxy S10+ 107 / 140
5. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro 106.5 / 140
6. Xiaomi Mi 9t Pro 106 / 140
7. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 102 / 140
8. Poco X3 102 / 140
9. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g 101 / 140
10. Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite 101 / 140
11. Redmi Note 9t 100.5 / 140
12. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro 100 / 140
13. Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite 98 / 140
14. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s 98 / 140
15. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 97 / 140
16. Poco M3 95.5 / 140
17. Xiaomi Redmi Note 7 94 / 140
18. Realme 6 93 / 140
19. Umidigi Bison 92 / 140
20. Umidigi A9 Pro 92 / 140
21. Oukitel C21 89.5 / 140
22. Motorola G8 Power 89 / 140
23. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 89 / 140
24. Nokia 5.3 89 / 140
25. Xiaomi Mi A3 89 / 140
26. Oneplus Nord N100 88.5 / 140
27. Honor 9x 88 / 140
28. Meizu Note 9 86 / 140
29. Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite 86 / 140
30. Xiaomi Redmi Note 5 85 / 140
31. Umidigi S3 Pro 83 / 140
32. Samsung Galaxy A21s 82 / 140
33. Umidigi F2 82 / 140
34. Redmi 9a 81 / 140
35. Redmi 9c 80 / 140
36. Ulefone Armor 7e 80 / 140
37. Doogee S58 Pro 78.5 / 140
38. Honor 8x 78 / 140
39. Umidigi F1 77 / 140
40. Huawei Y6 2019 74 / 140
41. Xiaomi Mi 10t Pro 57 / 70
42. Poco F3 48 / 60
43. Elephone U5 0 / 0

Test / Review conclusion

[b]Not yet available / tested[b][b]Strengths[b]Not yet available / tested[b][b][b]Weaknesses[b]Color temperature slightly too warm in 108 Mpx[b] Slight latency for photos in 108 Mpx[b][b]Alternatives to this product[b][b]Xiaomi has once again managed to launch a phone that literally crushes the competition. In this price zone there is not really an equivalent phone from Samsung or other brands. As I often write, Xiaomi's biggest competitor is Xiaomi. The closest alternative to this phone is undoubtedly the Poco x3 or maybe also the Mi 10 Lite but as a whole the Redmi Note 10 Pro exceeds them on several criteria.[b]

Comments

Join the discussion / Ask your questions

Your comment will be published after validation. I respond to over 1500 comments a year in my spare time, so I can't always respond very quickly. Your email address will not be publicly visible and it will not be used for commercial purposes.









Be notified by email when a response is published