On this page:
Price Xiaomi Redmi Note 10
Unpacking
First configuration
Finish
Specifications
CPU / GPU Performance
Benchmark Antutu/3DMark
Network performance
Wifi performance
GPS performance
Battery range
Photo camera test
Hardware
Photo quality
Video quality
Audio quality
Screen quality
Biometry
Operating system
Test / Review conclusion
Questions answers

Promo code
Promo code: Redmi Note 10 + Airbuds or Watch for free, no custom fees.


Redmi Note 10 173€

Subscribe
Subscribe to my YouTube channel to receive updates.
Xiaomi Redmi Note 10: test / review (without commercial bias)

Xiaomi Redmi Note 10: test / review

Category: Tests / Reviews

Every year the launch of the new mid-range Redmi / Xiaomi smartphone is a big event and this smartphone line typically sells millions of copies in just a few days. Xiaomi has so far always managed to push the boundaries of what was possible to market in this price range a little more and I think this new Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 will be a hit. [b][b]Xiaomi has a large toolbox of components (photo sensor, CPU, GPU, battery, screen, ...) with which they play to create (or recompose) models at all price levels, this is sometimes done to the detriment of innovation, but in the end, this allows us to buy smartphones with an unbeatable price / quality ratio. What recipe will they use for the Redmi Note 10? [b][b]The Redmi Note 10 will be officially announced on March 4, 2021 to be marketed a week later. Rumors seem to indicate that the Redmi Note 10 will be equipped with an Amoled screen, this is the first time that Xiaomi has equipped a phone in this price range with a screen of this type. Amoled screens offer a much higher level of contrast than LCD screens, but that's not all because this screen will use a frequency of 120hz to ensure excellent fluidity of the image. The other big rumor concerns the camera. Xiaomi would use the 108 million pixel sensor already used in high-end models, this sensor is not new but it is one of the best on the market. This would allow the Redmi Note 10 (in its pro version) to become the best mid-range photo smartphone. [b][b]As with the other models of this type from Xiaomi, I will buy the phone blindly as soon as it is released and I would probably be one of the first to receive it as was also the case for the latest models in the Poco range. [b][b]​[b][b][b]linkManufacturer web site: https://www.mi.com[b]linkSite where I have bought the Xiaomi Redmi Note 10: https://www.goboo.com[b]

Structure of my tests

I test the phones according to a pre-established structure (see below) to provide you with as much information as possible. Unfortunately, this takes a long time. Some tests like network performance tests take several days and for photo tests I sometimes have to wait until the weather is suitable to take pictures in good conditions. I am therefore obliged to publish the tests step by step, so I invite you to come back if the test is not complete at the time of your visit.[b]
How are my tests different from others on the web?

- I usually buy the devices with my own money, so price is just as important as you are!
- I keep the devices for at least a few weeks (sometimes more) to see what they are worth in real conditions.
- I answer (when possible) your questions to help you decide before you buy
- no one pays me to do these reviews, so I'm completely neutral and independent...
- My pages are not filled with ads



iiiF150 R2022 : test / review
Realme 6 test, review and price
Xiaomi Redmi Note 7 test, review and price
Umidigi F1 test, review and price
Poco M3 Pro : test / review
Redmi Note 10s : test / review
Poco F2 review - test - specs
Lemfo Lem15: test / review / price
Realme GT 5G : test / review
Samsung Galaxy A52: test / review

Price Xiaomi Redmi Note 10

The list below shows the prices for the Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 from more than 50 sites around the world. If you are not satisfied with any price, you can subscribe to a price alert to be the first to be notified when the price drops.[b]
New XIAOMI REDMI NOTE 10 128GB 4GB NFC (Unlocked) Dual 5G Sim Smartphone RRP£209...
2021-09-21 06:26
145 EUR
Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 5G Graphite Grey 128GB - Dual Sim Unlocked - FAST DELIVERY...
2021-09-20 14:26
145 EUR
Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 5G Nighttime Blue - 128GB - (Unlocked) (Dual Sim) - SEALED!...
2021-09-21 06:26
150 EUR
Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 5G - 128GB - Graphite Gray (Ohne Simlock) (Dual SIM)...
2021-09-22 06:19
200 EUR
Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 5G Graphite Gray - 128GB - (Unlocked & Sim-Free) - SEALED!...
2021-09-21 06:26
160 EUR
Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 5G Nighttime Blue - 128GB - (Unlocked & Sim-Free) - SEALED!...
2021-09-21 06:26
160 EUR
[b]
helpThe above links are affiliate links from companies such as Amazon, Gearbest, Aliexpress,... If you appreciate my work, I would be grateful if you could purchase these products through these links. It costs you absolutely nothing but I get a small commission that allows me to buy the material I test. Thank you very much!

Timeline

03/08/2021 I bought the Redmi Note 10 for 159 € in pre-order on Goboo.com. This is my first time buying from this site, it is an official Xiaomi reseller in Europe, so delivery times are shorter and the warranty is two years. [b] 15 / 03/2021 I have received the Redmi Note 10, fast delivery, the test can start. [b][b]

Why this phone?

I've been testing phones for a little over 2 years and the first phone that motivated me to do these tests was the Redmi Note 5 (which I still have!). Xiaomi had shaken the market codes by offering an ultra complete phone for an unbeatable price, the camera of the Redmi Note 5 was also one of the first to really offer good photos at Xiaomi. [b][b]I then bought the Redmi Note 7, Redmi Note 8, Redmi Note 8 Pro and Redmi Note 9, so I followed the evolution of the range quite well. I had been a little disappointed with the Redmi Note 9 which had not brought as many new features as the previous models. [b][b]I think the Redmi Note 10 will sell millions of copies because it takes good high-end ingredients like the Amoled screen or the 108 million pixel photo sensor to offer them at an ultra competitive price. [b][b]It is again a blind buy but the risk of being disappointed is quite low. So those who can't wait for my test to finish shouldn't take much risk either.[b]

Unpacking

Xiaomi probably launches more phones than any other brand, so it's no wonder they're trying to cut costs by producing identical boxes for almost all of their phones. The box of the Redmi Note 10 is therefore no exception to the rule. It contains the phone, a transparent silicone protection, a manual, a charger and a USB cable. [b][b] I made a small video to illustrate the contents of the box: [b][b][b][b][b]
Length : 160
Width : 74.5
Thickness : 8.3
Weight : 179
Jack output : Yes
USB Type : Type C
Infrared port : Yes

First configuration

The configuration of the Redmi Note 10 follows exactly the same steps as the Redmi Note 10 Pro, this configuration seems to be common to all phones released under MIUI 12. This configuration procedure has been improved several times, I find it is enough simple to follow, you just have to be careful not to be fooled at the end of the course where Xiaom will try[b]

Finish

The degree of finish of the Redmi range evolves from generation to generation but not always in a good way, the 9th generation went through a lower quality finish with soft plastic at the back. I could literally feel the components of the phone with my fingers pressing down a bit on the back. Xiaomi has made up for it very well with the Redmi Note 10 because although this phone still uses plastic on the back, this plastic is more rigid. The texture is also more sober than the previous generation, it's a matter of taste but I much prefer this Redmi Note 10. The plastic is still ubiquitous but it offers a good level of finish for this price range. [b][b] The camera is also much better integrated than on the Redmi Note 9, this is the first time that I have tested a Redmi Note of this type with such a well integrated camera. The block containing the photo sensors is not too large despite the presence of 4 sensors. The inscription "ultra premium" seems to confirm this desire to bring this phone to a higher level of finish. [b][b] What surprised me the most when I took the phone in hand for the first time it's his weight. In 2020, Xiaomi released many fairly heavy phones, often weighing more than 200 grams, the Redmi Note 10 weighs only 179 grams even though it has a 6.43-inch screen. The Redmi Note 10 is a little smaller and lighter than the previous model while keeping the battery of the same capacity. [b][b] The good surprises don't end there. The Redmi Note 10 Pro surprised me positively by the presence of two speakers producing stereo sound from two identical speakers located at both ends of the phone. The Redmi Note 10 uses the same basics, it is undoubtedly the only entry-level phone offering stereo sound! The Redmi Note 10 also uses the same audio chipset as the Redmi Note 10 Pro, so Xiaomi hits hard by delivering great sound in an entry-level phone. [b][b] The phone is also Equipped with an infrared port (like most Xiaomi phones), a SIM drawer that can accommodate two SIM cards and a memory card and a USB Type C port supporting 33W fast charging. [b][b] Just by taking a quick look at this phone, I can already tell that this phone is probably going to sell very well. [b][b][b]

Specifications

[b]The information below comes from the Device Info HW application. The application provides detailed technical information about the tested phone. I bought the Redmi Note 10 in its 4 GB / 64 Gb version (Onyx Gray color). [b][b] Here are the technical specifications from the phone: [b][b] By analyzing this information, I discovered the following information: [b][b] - the main photo sensor is a Sony IMX 582, this is the first time I have come across this sensor in the Redmi range. Xiaomi has used this camera before in the Xiaomi Mi A3 or in the Mi 9T which both produced excellent photos [b] - the sound chipset is the same as the Redmi Note 10 Pro, the audio test will confirm if the quality is also good [b] - the ultra wide angle sensor is a Sony IMX 355, it is the same sensor as on the Redmi Note 10 Pro, it is also a good surprise [b] - the radio interface is not the same as the Redmi Note 10 Pro, hope this will not result in degradation of the signal quality [b] - the screen is a 60hz screen unlike the rumors that circulated before its marketing [b][b]

CPU / GPU Performance

CPU : Qualcomm Snapdragon 678
GPU : Qualcomm AdreNo 612
Memory (RAM) : 6Gb
Storage : 64 Gb - 128 Gb
[b][b]The Redmi Note 10 is equipped with a Qualcomm Snapdragon 678 CPU, I have not yet tested this CPU on another phone, by the way I think the Redmi Note 10 is the first to use it. This type of CPU theoretically delivers almost 50% better performance than the previous model and if this is true, it will again be a very strong argument in favor of this new model. [b][b] The Redmi Note 10 is equipped with a Qualcomm Adreno 612 GPU, it is the same GPU as in the Samsung Galaxy A70 which was marketed at more than 300 € at the time. The Antutu test that will follow should confirm whether the Redmi Note 10 has received a big boost in performance. [b][b][b]

Benchmark Antutu/3DMark

I got a score of 225,000 points with Antutu, I expected a higher performance but this score represents a performance increase of 20% compared to the previous generation. It is especially at the GPU level that the evolution is less important because at the CPU level, the Redmi Note 10 obtains a score very close to the Redmi Note 10 Pro. Regardless, this 20% increase in performance will allow the Redmi Note 10 to run most games (sometimes with a lower level of graphics) and everyday tasks will certainly not be a problem. [b][b][b]
Antutu score : 225054
Antutu CPU : 93685
Antutu GPU : 31187
Antutu UX : 51515
Antutu Mem : 48667
[b]Top 10 - performance ranking based on Antutu
1. Realme Gt - 811858
2. Oppo Find X2 Pro - 605184
3. Oneplus 8t - 595000
4. Poco F3 - 589677
5. Xiaomi Mi 10t Pro - 581650
6. Oneplus 8 Pro - 579417
7. Xiaomi Mi 10 - 579114
8. Poco F2 Pro - 569559
9. Samsung Galaxy S20 Fe - 565000
10. Samsung Galaxy S20 - 503905

Number of smartphones in the ranking:128
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:54/128

Note: this ranking only contains the phones I tested as well as a few others that I added for reference.
[b]Gaming[b]To test the performance in game, I download the mobile PUBG game and evaluate the in-game experience, graphics level and depth of vision. This game is quite demanding and should help you evaluating the performance of a phone. Redmi Note 10 can run PUBG Mobile in HD and high texture level, same as Redmi Note 10 Pro. I didn't notice any slowdowns during the game, the textures loading is progressive but the depth of vision is important. The Redmi Note 10 is not a gaming-oriented phone but it will undoubtedly be able to satisfy a large majority of players.[b]

Network performance

The Redmi Note 10 is compatible with most 4G frequencies in Europe, so you can use it anywhere, it is even compatible with the B28 700Mhz frequency that some operators use.[b]
3G frequencies : B1 (2100), B2 (1900), B4 (1700/2100 AWS A-F), B5 (850), B8 (900)
5G frequencies : B1 (2100), B2 (1900), B3 (1800), B4 (1700/2100 AWS 1), B5 (850), B7 (2600), B8 (900), B20 (800), B28b (700), B28a (700), B38 (TDD 2600), B40 (TDD 2300), B41 (TDD 2500)
Bluetooth : Bluetooth 5.0 LE
Volte : Yes
VoWifi : Yes
NFC : Yes
Number measurements : 999
Average signal (reference) : -92.35
Average signal (telephone) : -93.99
Average deviation reference/telephone : -1.64
Min/Max signal (reference) : -88 / -97
Min/Max signal (phone) : -92 / -98
Choose your country to check if your phone is compatible:


The frequencies displayed below will allow you to see if this phone is compatible with your operator or if you will be able to use it in the country where you are going on vacation.


Signal 4G (before december 2020)[b]The ability to pick up the network correctly is an essential element for a phone but it is only very rarely measured. To measure a phone's ability to pick up the network, I perform a large number of measurements on the same cells to be able to compare phones under similar conditions. The signal is measured in dBm, a value of -90dBm indicates a worse signal than -70dBm. These measurements are therefore taken under real conditions and not in a laboratory, they are not scientific but give a good indication of performance. [b][b]Network signal sensitivity rating
Phone tested:Average signal (dBm)Number of measurements:
Xiaomi Mi 9t Pro-881600
Xiaomi Redmi Note 5-91.305600
Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite-93788
Samsung Galaxy A70-94.5111975
Nokia 5.3-94.98531
Realme 6-95.142301
Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro-95.9221599
Xiaomi Mi A3-95.951000
Huawei Y6 2019-95.951199
Doogee S58 Pro-96.22856
Redmi 9a-96.481000
Meizu Note 9-96.68937
Motorola G8 Power-96.881032
Xiaomi Redmi Note 7-97.011430
Redmi 9c-97.041000
Umidigi S3 Pro-97.131200
Xiaomi Redmi Note 8-97.34879
Samsung Galaxy A21s-97.781000
Umidigi F1-97.82298
Ulefone Armor 7e-98.71000
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite-991000
Honor 9x-99.14899
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s-99.41860
Poco F2 Pro-99.81247
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9-100.791785
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g-100.881198
Poco X3-101.19821
Umidigi F2-101.47712
[b][b]Signal 4G (from December 2020)[b]I decided to change the methodology for measuring the network because I noticed that the configuration of the mobile network changes over time. This makes it more difficult to compare phones because the conditions are no longer exactly the same.[b][b]To overcome this problem, I set up a device that captures 24 hours a day about ten parameters from the mobile network (ex: cell id, rssi, rsrq, snr, frequency,...). I then place the phone next to the device for 24 to 48 hours taking the same measurements so that I can compare them. [b][b] Overview of the phones tested with this methodology[b][b]
Phone tested:MeasurementsAvg signal (reference)Avg signal (phone)Min/Max (reference)Min/Max (phone)
Samsung Galaxy S10+457-93.06-97.39-89 / -98-97 / -99
Xiaomi Mi 9t Pro669-93.69-95.84-90 / -95-92 / -98
Poco F2 Pro1438-91.02-94.99-89 / -94-94 / -96
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g1645-90.77-95.02- 88 / -98-95 / -100
Poco X3821-94.89-103.19-91 / -97.7-101 / -104
Umidigi Bison2343-92.71-96.46-90 / -99-94 / -102
Oukitel C211101-92.04-94.99-90 / -97-92 / -95
Poco M31116-92.09-91.74-88 / -98-90 / -99
Xiaomi Mi 10t Pro1071-90.61-94.03-88 / -94-94 / -96
Umidigi A9 Pro981-90.40-94.01-88 / -95-93 / -95
Redmi Note 9t1201-92.149-91.71-90 / -97-91 / -97
Xiaomi Redmi Note 10999-92.35-93.99-88 / -97-92 / -98
Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro877-89.72-90.56- 88 / -92-89 / -95
Poco X3 Pro1876-91.45-92.91-90 / -94-90 / -96
Poco F31382-90.79-94.2-89 / -94-93 / -98
Oneplus Nord N100896-91.23-96.005-88 / - 99-96 / -99
Xiaomi Mi 11 Lite2875-91.36-91.49-87 / -96-90 / -96
Samsung Galaxy A521427-89.27-93.39-87 / -98-92 / -96
Doogee S96 Pro1259-94.2-91.21-90 / -102-88 / -95
Xiaomi Redmi Note 10s957-92.07-97.62-90 / -102-96 / -102
Poco M3 Pro1247-91.76-102.97-99 / -104-88 / -98
Realme Gt843-96.49-94.02-93 / -101- 92 / -96
F150 R20221002-92.4-105.1-90 / -97-98 / -110
[b][b]I made almost 1000 measurements in 4G to measure the signal sensitivity of this Redmi Note 10 and got a very good score. The Redmi range has never been very good in terms of 4G signal but this new generation is much better than all the previous ones. I started by testing the Redmi Note 10 pro which became the best phone in the ranking, the Redmi Note 10 also ranks very well. [b][b]
[b][b][b]Download/Upload speed[b]To test the download speed, I have identified some 4G cells offering good performance where I test all my devices several times to see what download and upload speed they can achieve.[b]Top 10 - speed ranking in download
1. Samsung Galaxy S20 D:351Mbps U: 20Mbps
2. Poco X3 D:232Mbps U: 55Mbps
3. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g D:223Mbps U: 52Mbps
4. Poco F2 Pro D:207Mbps U: 53Mbps
5. Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite D:153Mbps U: 68Mbps
6. Xiaomi Mi A3 D:150Mbps U: 60Mbps
7. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s D:150Mbps U: 60Mbps
8. Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite D:149Mbps U: 60Mbps
9. Samsung Galaxy A21s D:147Mbps U: 51Mbps
10. Huawei Y6 2019 D:145Mbps U: 61Mbps

Number of smartphones in the ranking:30
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:0/30

Note: the theoretical maximum speed of a telephone is often limited by the configuration of the mobile network and the congestion of the network at the time of the measurement. So maybe you could get a higher speed on another network
[b][b]

Wifi performance

To test a phone's ability to receive the network properly, I take measurements near my router and then remotely (and always at the same place). This gives me an average in dBm where a value of -90 dBm indicates poorer performance than a value at -30 dBm.[b]
Wifi frequencies : 802.11a, 802.11b, 802.11g, 802.11n, 802.11n 5GHz, 802.11ac
Download speed : 192
Signal / close : -17
Signal / distant : -67
Wifi signal[b]The Redmi Note 10 uses the same wifi chipset (wcn3990) as the Poco X3 and the Redmi Note 10 Pro. So I had to get similar results with the Redmi Note 10. For the nearby signal measurement, I get exactly the same score as the Poco X3, only the Redmi Note 10 Pro seems better with the same technical base. The Redmi Note 10 therefore ranks in the upper average in terms of wifi signal.[b][b]Top 10 - wifi sensitivity ranking
1. Poco F2 Pro -11dBm
2. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro -12dBm
3. Realme Gt -12dBm
4. Samsung Galaxy A21s -13dBm
5. Oneplus Nord N100 -15dBm
6. Poco X3 Pro -15dBm
7. Poco F3 -15dBm
8. Redmi Note 9t -15dBm
9. Samsung Galaxy A52 -17dBm
10. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10s -17dBm

Number of smartphones in the ranking:48
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:12/48

[b]Download/Upload speed[b]To test the speed in Wifi, I connect to my router in 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz (if available) and use the Ookla application to measure the speed.[b]Top 10 - wifi download speed ranking
1. Poco F3 398Mbps
2. Poco X3 Pro 389Mbps
3. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro 367Mbps
4. Samsung Galaxy S20 351Mbps
5. Poco F2 Pro 341Mbps
6. Redmi Note 9t 332Mbps
7. Realme Gt 330Mbps
8. Doogee S96 Pro 328Mbps
9. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10s 325Mbps
10. Poco M3 Pro 323Mbps

Number of smartphones in the ranking:47
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:26/47

Note: I have a 400Mbps line and a modem capable of delivering higher speed, but I can never be sure how much bandwidth is available when doing a test.
[b]

GPS performance

[b]To test the quality of the GPS signal I use the Offline Maps application and I make the same train trip in pedestrian mode. Why? In pedestrian mode, the GPS does not artificially correct the signal to stick to the road, it has no markings, so you can see the actual position. I then use an application to measure the accuracy of the signal. I obtained an accuracy level of 3 meters outdoors and in the open with the Redmi Note 10, it is an average result. This precision will drop from 1 to 2 meters in the covered area. In principle, this precision deviation can be compensated by a GPS application (eg Waze) which will compensate for the deviations by bringing the signal back to a known route.[b][b]Top 10 - GPS accuracy ranking
1. Oukitel C21 1m
2. Redmi 9a 1m
3. Doogee S96 Pro 1m
4. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10s 1m
5. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 1m
6. Redmi 9c 2m
7. Umidigi Bison 2m
8. Poco M3 Pro 2m
9. F150 R2022 2m
10. Redmi Note 9t 2m

Number of smartphones in the ranking:23
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:12/23

Note: An accuracy of 3 meters or less can easily be corrected by a good GPS application. Phone performance also plays a role in how fast your display updates, so good accuracy could be compromised by too slow a display.
[b]

Battery range

Capacity : 5000
Fast charge : Yes
W max : 33
Range (100% brightness) : 691.00
Range (50% brightness) : 1728.00
Charging time : 193.00
Discharge speed (100%) : 0.14
Discharge score (100%) : 7.24
Discharge speed (50%) : 0.06
Discharge score (50%) : 2.89
Charging speed : 0.52
Charging score : 25.91
From March 2020, I replaced my subjective battery test with a technical test to better measure the real behaviour of the battery. Now I test the autonomy and charging time under absolutely identical conditions. I perform several measurements, so this test alone takes several days during which I cannot use the phone for anything else.

Battery life - methodology
To test the battery life, I measure the battery consumption every minute in strictly identical conditions to be able to compare phones and also to allow you to evaluate your phone in the same conditions. I rule out any influence of applications that could interfere with the measurement. The autonomy is not linear, the battery sometimes discharges much faster at the end. This is a frustrating phenomenon but with my measurements, you will know if you need to find a charger quickly.

Battery life
The battery of the Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 has a capacity of 5000 mAh and has discharged from 100% to 1% in 691.00 minutes with 100% brightness, it has discharged from 100% to 1% in 1728.00 minutes with 50% brightness. I obtain in this way an average discharge speed of 0.14% per minute with 100% luminosity and 0.06% per minute with 50% luminosity, the consumption is therefore 7.24 mA per minute with 100% luminosity and 2.89 with 50% luminosity. To be able to compare the efficiency of the phone and its influence on the battery, you have to compare the 7.24 (or 50%) score with that of other smartphones, the figure should be as low as possible.

Charging time - methodology
To test the charging time, I always use the same charger with the same cable. I measure the charging time minute by minute to see the evolution of the charge as well as the charging speed. The charging speed of a battery is not linear, it is often faster at the beginning and slower at the end. The charger is compatible with fast charging.

Charging time
The battery of the Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 has a capacity of 5000 mAh and has been charged from 1% to 100% in 193.00 minutes. This gives me an average charging speed of 0.52% per minute and therefore an increase of 25.91 mA per minute. To compare the performance of the Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 compared to other phones, you should use the 25.91 per minute score, this score should be as high as possible.

Important note: the charging speed is not always linear, the graph below gives you an indication of the battery behaviour.

The following table lists the phones tested with the technical battery test, they are ranked in order of efficiency. A higher battery capacity should logically result in a higher battery life but it is not always the case and it does not give any indication of the efficiency of a phone.

SmartphoneCapacity (mAh)Battery life (minutes)Efficiency ScoreBattery life (minutes) / 50%Efficiency Score / 50%Charging time.Score charging
Samsung Galaxy S204000565.007.081217.003.29136.0029.41
Oukitel C214000497.008.051324.003.02167.0023.95
Nokia 5.34000549.007.291096.003.65199.0020.10
Honor 9x4000770.005.191333.003.00151.0026.49
Umidigi A9 Pro4150552.007.521562.002.66112.0037.05
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g4160749.005.551541.002.70163.0025.52
Realme 64300704.006.111104.003.89162.0026.54
Realme Gt4500574.007.841057.004.2687.0051.72
Samsung Galaxy A524500652.006.901239.003.63165.0027.27
Poco F34520657.006.881840.002.46122.0037.05
Poco F2 Pro47001150.004.091536.003.06180.0026.11
Oneplus Nord N1005000808.006.191278.003.91663.007.54
Xiaomi Redmi Note 105000691.007.241728.002.89193.0025.91
Redmi Note 9t5000766.006.532054.002.43148.0033.78
Xiaomi Redmi Note 10s5000636.007.861556.003.21161.0031.06
Poco M3 Pro5000657.007.611647.003.04131.0038.17
Redmi 9a5000694.007.201902.002.63195.0025.64
Motorola G8 Power5000912.005.482792.001.79311.0016.08
Samsung Galaxy A21s5000729.006.861283.003.90166.0030.12
Redmi 9c5000656.007.621915.002.61170.0029.41
Umidigi Bison5000550.009.091471.003.40238.0021.01
Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro5020625.008.031557.003.22213.0023.57
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s5020663.007.571876.002.68224.0022.41
Xiaomi Redmi Note 95020650.007.721808.002.78162.0030.99
Umidigi F25150927.005.561854.002.78299.0017.22
Poco X35160653.007.901654.003.12181.0028.51
Poco X3 Pro5160648.007.961688.003.06138.0037.39
Doogee S58 Pro5180845.006.131908.002.71177.0029.27
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite5260827.006.361609.003.27208.0025.29
Ulefone Armor 7e5500768.007.161140.004.82179.0030.73
Poco M36000842.007.131898.003.16217.0027.65
Doogee S96 Pro6350929.006.841405.004.52424.0014.98
F150 R20228300879.009.441498.005.54243.0034.16

helpHow to read these figures?
The battery capacity is an important element in determining the autonomy of a phone but it is not the only factor. A phone with a large battery may have a shorter battery life if it consumes more power. If I had to take an example from everyday life, I would use the universe of the car. If a car has a large fuel tank, it should be able to drive a longer distance unless its average fuel consumption is higher. The battery efficiency score works the same way, it should be as low as possible and represents the energy consumption of the phone. These differences in efficiency are often related to the brightness of the screen, large bright screens will tend to consume more energy and even if they have a large battery, their range will be shorter.

In summary
The Redmi Note 10 has a very bright screen and the battery test shows that when I push the brightness to 100%, the screen consumes almost 3 times more power than at 50%. The screen brightness is therefore clearly not linear [b][b]
I charged the battery of the Redmi Note 10 in 194 minutes (0 to 100%), the charge is quite fast at first (especially in the first 20 percent) and then gradually slows down. It is especially after 80% that the charge is longer. Charging time is similar to what I've been able to test on other phones, it's a good performance but it's not the fastest phone. The screen is 100% very greedy, I went from 100% to 0% in just under 700 minutes. On the other hand at 50%, I get a good autonomy of a little more than 1700 minutes (= more than 28h!). I imagine you're not going to be using this phone around the clock and using maximum brightness so you should be able to last 2-4 days depending on your usage. [b][b][b]

Photo camera test

To test the quality of photos produced by a phone, I do a technical test (resolution, sharpness, chromatic aberration,...) in studio (identical conditions) to evaluate the technical part objectively. From the second half of 2020, I built my own laboratory to take completely objective technical measurements. I then take pictures in real conditions to see how the camera performs. I then evaluate these photos according to my criteria but I publish the photos so that you can evaluate the result according to your criteria.[b]

Hardware

Selfie / resolution : 13
Selfie / sensor : Omnivision OV13B10
Resolution : 48
Sensor : Sony IMX582 Exmor RS
mm wide angle : 4.74 mm
mm ultra wide angle : 1.65 mm
The main sensor (48 Mpx) of the Redmi Note 10 is a Sony IMX 582. Xiaomi used to equip the Redmi range with Samsung sensors and they even pushed recycling so far that the last 3 models were equipped with the same sensor Samsung in 48 Mpx. The Redmi Note 10 will therefore break the cycle with a camera that has already proven itself on other phones. This Sony sensor is the same as the Xiaomi Mi A3 that I tested two years ago and had some very nice photos. [b][b] The ultra wide angle sensor is the same as the Redmi Note 10 Pro, I had had great results on this type of sensor as well, so I guess the results will be the same with the Redmi Note 10. [b][b][b]Default app[b]The default photo application of the Redmi Note 10 is overall very similar to what can be found in other Xiaomi phones. The basic functionalities are the same, the Redmi Note 10 however offers less advanced functionalities than the Redmi Note 10 Pro. [b][b] I made a small video with the different photo modes with each times a zoom on the quality of the photos. The screen flips when I switch to viewing mode but I couldn't avoid this toggle, it's the video capture application that behaves this way. [b][b][b][b]

Photo quality

Photo test / studio[b]
Main sensor: Sony IMX 582 [b] I have already tested this camera on another phone (Xiaomi Mi A3), so I am first went to see the photos I had taken at the time. The results were pretty good but with Xiaomi the optimization layer sometimes messes everything up, the previous model had a good sensor but the image optimization was very bad. Fortunately, this is not the case with the Redmi Note 10, Xiaomi made a good choice for the photo sensor but also made a good choice for optimizing photos. I took pictures in normal mode, I tested the pro mode, the 48 Mpx mode and the optimizations in HDR and AI. The photo used at the beginning of the paragraph was taken in normal mode with HDR and AI enabled. [b][b] I got good results from the first photo and without any form of optimization. The exposure time is good, the color saturation is good, the sharpness is good and all without the slightest effort! Pro mode is not necessary here to take good photos. The 48 Mpx mode on the other hand tends to underexpose the photos but this problem is often linked to exposure under artificial light, I have often encountered this problem with other phones and in daylight this problem disappears. [b][b] Secondary sensor: Sony IMX 355 [b] The ultra wide angle sensor is also a Sony sensor and not surprisingly, the photo is a little more underexposed and the level of detail is less good. I almost always get this kind of result with ultra wide-angle sensors and here too these problems will probably be less noticeable in daylight. [b][b][b][b]Photo test / sunny[b] Main sensor [b] The main sensor of Redmi Note 10 is Sony IMX582 sensor, this sensor is not new, I tested it for the first time in August 2019 with the Xiaomi Mi A3 and I had found it to be quite good, here is a photo I took at the time:
xiaomi mi a3 camera test photo
As you can see, even 2 years later this Sony sensor is far from ridiculous. Xiaomi has also decided to use it for the new Poco X3 Pro as well as the Poco F3. So this sensor is capable of doing good things, I just wanted to see if Xiaomi had managed to improve its performance with all the aids present in today's phones. [b][b]
The scenery is not as spectacular, I was in Scotland in 2019 but today we are all stuck at home because of the Covid. The photo is still quite interesting, it was taken at the end of the afternoon with grazing light. The first thing I notice with this photo is the very natural side of the colors, the colors are not too saturated as is often the case. The sharpness is also good, the trees in the background of the image are well detailed. The white clouds are correctly clipped without the effect being forced and the whites are not overexposed. There is a good dynamic between light areas and dark areas.
For this second photo, the sun was hidden by a big cloud and here too the dynamic between the light areas and the dark areas is quite good even if the dark areas could have been a little more illuminated. The sharpness is correct again and the colors are natural. [b][b] Ultra wide angle sensor [b] The ultra wide angle sensor is also a Sony sensor (Sony IMX355) and I had the opportunity to test this sensor recently with the Redmi Note 10 Pro. Ultra wide-angle sensors often provide poorer photo quality than the main sensor. The biggest weakness of ultra wide angle sensors is the lack of light which results in darker photos but this problem is much less pronounced on this Sony IMX355.
This photo has dark areas and light areas and this is the kind of situation that ultra wide angle sensors don't like too much, yet the result is really good. The photo is not only well lit but the colors are natural and the level of detail is fine. Obviously the photo is of lower quality than with the main sensor but you really have to be careful to see the flaws. The clouds are for example overexposed and the outline is less clear, the tree trunk in the foreground is smoothed and loses detail, I also see chromatic aberration at the periphery. [b][b]
I took this photo while the sun was hidden behind a big cloud, it is a more difficult situation for a sensor of this type but nevertheless, the Sony sensor is doing very well. The photo is darker, this is normal for a sensor of this type but the dark areas remain clearly visible, the sky a little overexposed, certain parts of the sky turn purple but these defects will undoubtedly be invisible for the most part smartphone users. [b][b] I took more photos in the same place alternating wide angle and ultra wide angle, I also used HDR and AI to cover as many cases as possible. HDR works well enough to uncover gray areas, AI tends to heavily saturate colors and this sometimes makes photos look artificial. The Redmi Note 10 offers much better photo quality than the Redmi Note 9 and Redmi Note 9T. In this price range, it is arguably the best photo sensor, it is also used in other more expensive phones. After a few disappointing models, Xiaomi is back in force with this new generation of Redmi which offers a successful cocktail at the photo level for an unbeatable price. [b][b][b][b]Photo test / cloudy[b]Not yet available / tested[b][b][b]Test photo / night[b]Not yet available / tested[b][b][b]

Video quality

Stabilisation[b] In the price range of the Redmi Note 10, I have never seen effective video stabilization and even though the Redmi Note 10 outperforms most of its competition, video stabilization does not part of his strength. I have the impression that the shocks are slightly damped but we cannot speak of stabilization, the jolts caused by my steps are clearly visible. The lateral movements are on the other hand quite fluid, the focusing is fast and I do not see the pixels which are put back in place like on many entry-level phones.[b]Video normale conditions The Redmi Note 10 is capable of filming in 4k and 30 FPS and the Sony IMX 582 sensor does a good job here. Focusing is very fast, the phone finds where it needs to focus quickly, movements are smooth and exposure jumps are not visible. I took this video when the sun was behind a big cloud but the exposure level is quite good. Zoom is digital zoom, so its use results in a loss of detail, but even with maximum zoom, the video still offers a good level of detail.[b]Video low light[b]Not yet available / tested[b][b]

Audio quality

To test the quality of the phone's audio output, I connect the device's audio output to a measuring tool, then play sounds on all frequencies and measure the differences between the original sound and the sound produced by the phone. In this way I measure the phone's ability to correctly reproduce all sounds.[b]
Frequency Respons : +0.01 / -0.09
Noise Level : -91.9
Dynamic Range : 91.5
THD : 0.00249
Intermodulation : 0.016
Stereo crosstalk : -84.4
Frequency Response[b]This test is intended to test the device's ability to correctly reproduce all frequencies. The white line in the middle of the graph is the ideal situation and the other colors come from tests on different phones. A deviation from the reference line indicates a deviation from the ideal situation. To see good sound at all frequencies, it is therefore necessary to get as close as possible to the reference line.
The Redmi Note 10 is able to reproduce most frequencies and it even does better than the Poco x3 which uses the same chipset. The differences are not very large but the Redmi Note 10 offers better sound reproduction at low frequencies where it is a little worse at high frequencies but again the differences are minimal. I got similar results with the Redmi Note 10 Pro except that there the volume was higher.[b]Dynamic Range[b]This test is designed to test a phone's ability to play sounds at different volume levels. Here too, the phones must be as close as possible to the reference.
The curves of the Redmi Note 10 and Poco X3 almost merge on all frequencies because they offer a very similar performance, here too this result is really good for this price range. I get better results in the high end but for a price 3 or 4 times lower, the sound is not 3 or 4 times worse.[b]Noise Level[b]This test aims to identify if the device under test is able to reproduce sounds without too much noise. A high score indicates a low parasite rate, a lower score indicates a higher presence of parasites.
I did not notice any interference problem with the Redmi Note 10, the sound performance is generally good. Even the sound from the speakers quickly comes to a pronounced distortion, this is not the case with headphones where the distortion at high volume is well controlled.[b]Concert recording[b]The purpose of this test is to measure the recording quality of the phone when there is a lot of ambient noise. Since I don't have the opportunity to go to a concert every time I test a phone, I simulate the noise of a concert in a closed environment.Not yet available / tested[b][b]

Screen quality

To test the screen, I use a colorimetric probe that measures the color accuracy of a screen, as well as other parameters to see if a screen is able to correctly reproduce an image. I also test the brightness level to determine if the screen will be able to display an image in full sunlight.[b]
Screen size : 6.43
Resolution : 1080 x 2400
Ratio : 20:9
Type : Amoled
% occupancy : 83
dE white : 2.4
dE red : 1.3
dE green : 0.5
dE blue : 0.6
dE jaune : 1.4
dE cyan : 1.3
dE magenta : 1.1
White temperature : 6272
Contrast : 4500000:1
Brightness : 726
Colorimetry[b]
Xiaomi generally uses good screens in their phones, in any case I have never tested a bad screen with this brand. In this price range, the phones are equipped with an LCD screen, this is not in itself a problem because these screens are able to deliver a good image but their main drawback comes from the contrasts. Blacks are never really black on an LCD screen and this affects how photos look. Xiaomi has once again decided to shake up the market by equipping the Redmi Note 10 with an Amoled display. What does that mean? Amoled screens offer almost infinite contrast, blacks are really black, so the picture quality is significantly better. Amoled screens are generally available from mid-range, so this is the first time I have seen a good Amoled screen under € 200. [b][b] As usual the setting by The default for the colors at Xiaomi is not the right one, you have to choose the standard mode to obtain correct colors. So I tested the screen in standard mode and got a dE of 1.23, this score is simply exceptional and not just for an entry level device. Xiaomi has not only democratized access to Amoled screens but in addition they have done so by offering a very good color screen. [b][b][b][b]Top 10 - ranking of the best screens by colorimetry
1. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g dE = 0.73
2. Xiaomi Mi 10t Pro dE = 0.83
3. Realme Gt dE = 1.17
4. Xiaomi Mi 11 Lite dE = 1.19
5. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 dE = 1.2
6. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 dE = 1.23
7. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro dE = 1.31
8. Samsung Galaxy S20 dE = 1.4
9. Poco M3 dE = 1.4
10. Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite dE = 1.46

Number of smartphones in the ranking:48
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:6/48

Note: the colorimetric difference is measured in dE. After three, the human eye will perceive a colorimetric difference, so the dE should be the lowest. The tests were all carried out with a colorimetric probe.
[b]Brightness / Contrast[b]The contrast of an Amoled screen is almost infinite, which means that when the screen should display black, you will have the impression that the screen is turned off. The images on the screen will give a much greater sense of depth than an LCD screen. [b][b] You will understand, this screen is superb and that's not all, the brightness is exceptional. I measured a brightness of 432 cd / m² in normal mode, this level of brightness is not exceptional but it is still a good result. I then tested the "sun" mode which allows to increase the brightness according to the ambient brightness and there I obtained 726 cd / m². It is quite simply the brightest screen I have tested so far. [b][b] In this price range, Xiaomi therefore offers quite simply the best screen! [b][b][b]Light Absorption/Reflection[b]The smartphone screen reflect light and sometimes turn them into a real mirror. This mirror effect makes it harder to read. [b][b]The absorption index below indicates the percentage of light absorbed by the screen. The readability of a screen is better when the absorption index is high.[b][b]
Phone tested:% light absorption
Samsung Galaxy S10+58
Xiaomi Mi 9T Pro52
Honor 9x65
Redmi Note 9s55
Motorola G8 Power60
Realme 654
Umidigi F248
Poco F2 Pro52
Redmi Note 956
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite53
Samsung Galaxy S2047
Samsung Galaxy A21s53
The phones tested have an average absroption rate of54 %

Biometry

The chassis of the Redmi Note 10 is designed on the same basis as the Poco X3 or the Redmi Note 10 Pro even if the size is not quite the same. The fingerprint sensor is placed on the ignition button and it works very well (as on the other two phones mentioned). Manufacturers have really tried everything in recent years from a sensor on the back, a sensor in the screen and now a sensor on the side. Before I clearly preferred the sensor on the back, but now I prefer this side sensor because it is well positioned and it reacts quickly.[b]

Operating system

[b]The Redmi Note 10 is equipped with MIUI 12 which runs Android 11, so it benefits from all the novelties of Xiaomi and Google at the same time, in this price bracket it is not common either. This latest version of MIUI 12 is really successful, I don't find many flaws in it apart from the usual complaints about the large number of options. I noticed a difference in the dark mode of the Redmi Note 10 where the app drawer applied the dark mode to the text but not to the bottom of the screen, so the readability is not very good, this problem has not been updated on other sites so I'm going to put it on bad luck, it's probably a bug that will disappear with the next update.[b]

Encoutered bugs

Not yet available / tested[b][b]

Accessories Xiaomi Redmi Note 10

To better enjoy your experience with your smartphone, I offer links to all kinds of accessories that you might find useful

Protective cover / case xiaomi redmi note 10
Screen protection film xiaomi redmi note 10
Memory card xiaomi redmi note 10
USB Cable / Charger xiaomi redmi note 10
Headphones xiaomi redmi note 10
Bike rack xiaomi redmi note 10

Compare Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 with the others

I assigned a score of 1 to 10 for each test that determines the strengths and weaknesses of a product. I am using 0 for criteria that have not (yet) been tested. A score of 1 to 3 indicates poor performance (and yes, it does), a score of 4 to 6 indicates average performance, a score of 7 to 8 indicates good performance, and a score of 9 and 10 indicates exceptional performance. .
The score is calculated based on my measurements and when there are no measurements, it is a subjective opinion based on my experience.

The scores are not static, they change over time because the performance of new products changes and this must be taken into account.

Xiaomi Redmi Note 10
Finish quality7.56.00
Battery performance7.008.00
CPU performance7.006.5
GPU performance6.56.5
Screen quality8.007.00
Photo quality7.55.00
Video quality7.55.00
Wi-Fi performance7.007.00
Mobile download speed7.005.00
Mobile network sensitivity7.56.00
Frequency coverage7.007.00
Audio quality7.006.00
GPS performance7.006.00
Operating system8.008.00
Overall score101.589
Global ranking
1. Realme Gt 112.5 / 140
2. Poco F2 Pro 111.5 / 140
3. Poco F3 111.5 / 140
4. Samsung Galaxy S20 111 / 140
5. Poco X3 Pro 107.5 / 140
6. Samsung Galaxy S10+ 107 / 140
7. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro 106.5 / 140
8. Xiaomi Mi 9t Pro 106 / 140
9. Samsung Galaxy A52 104 / 140
10. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 101.5 / 140
11. Poco X3 101 / 140
12. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g 101 / 140
13. Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite 101 / 140
14. Redmi Note 9t 100.5 / 140
15. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro 100 / 140
16. Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite 98 / 140
17. Doogee S96 Pro 98 / 140
18. Poco M3 Pro 98 / 140
19. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s 98 / 140
20. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 97 / 140
21. Xiaomi Mi 11 Lite 96.5 / 130
22. Poco M3 94.5 / 140
23. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10s 94.5 / 130
24. Xiaomi Redmi Note 7 94 / 140
25. Realme 6 93 / 140
26. Umidigi Bison 92 / 140
27. Umidigi A9 Pro 92 / 140
28. Oukitel C21 89.5 / 140
29. Xiaomi Mi A3 89 / 140
30. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 89 / 140
31. Nokia 5.3 89 / 140
32. Motorola G8 Power 89 / 140
33. Oneplus Nord N100 88.5 / 140
34. Honor 9x 88 / 140
35. Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite 86 / 140
36. Meizu Note 9 86 / 140
37. Xiaomi Redmi Note 5 85 / 140
38. Umidigi S3 Pro 83 / 140
39. Samsung Galaxy A21s 82 / 140
40. Umidigi F2 82 / 140
41. Redmi 9a 81 / 140
42. Redmi 9c 80 / 140
43. Ulefone Armor 7e 80 / 140
44. Doogee S58 Pro 78.5 / 140
45. Honor 8x 78 / 140
46. Umidigi F1 77 / 140
47. Huawei Y6 2019 74 / 140
48. Xiaomi Mi 10t Pro 57 / 70
49. F150 R2022 53.5 / 80
50. Elephone U5 0 / 0

Test / Review conclusion

[b]I had been a little disappointed by the Redmi Note 9, the Redmi Note 10 on the other hand very largely corrected the defects of its predecessor and it even allows itself to rank at the top of my ranking when its price is less than 200 €. The Redmi Note 10 isn't the best in any category but it scores well for every criterion in my test, so it's a really good entry-level phone that will suit a very wide audience. It performs well, has good battery life, has a good screen, produces good sound, and is able to take good quality photos in its price category. Xiaomi has settled in the price segment between 100 and 200 € with the Redmi Note 10 and the Poco X3 Pro, these two phones have hardly any direct competition. If you prefer performance, you have to go for the Poco but for the rest, the Redmi will do very well. [b][b] The Redmi Note 10 is one of the first phones to offer an amoled screen for less than 200 € and since the screen is the most used part of a phone, having a good screen is an essential starting point in choosing a phone. The other essential element of a phone is the battery and with its 5000 mAh, you have a reservoir of energy to last several days in normal use and if you need to quickly recharge a few percent, the 33W of fast charging will quickly help you out. [b][b] So yes, we can probably regret the absence of 5G or a 120hz screen or a more recent camera, it exists but it is simply more expensive. In the middle of 2021, the kings of the 100 to 200 € segment are the Redmi Note 10 and Poco X3.[b]Strengths[b]- amoled screen and excellent colorimetry [b] - good battery life (especially at 50% brightness) [b] - price / performance ratio [b] - only 179 grams (Xiaomi usually produces much heavier phones ) [b] - good sensitivity to 4G network [b] - good quality stereo sound [b][b][b]Weaknesses[b]The Redmi Note 10 does not really have a fault compared to its price. It could have had 5G, NFC or a newer camera but the price / quality ratio is already very attractive, Xiaomi must therefore keep a little under its feet for the next models.[b][b]Alternatives to this product[b][b]The phone closest to the Redmi Note 10 is the Poco X3 (Pro version if the price drops) which offers more performance but an IPS screen and more weight.[b]
Subscribe
Subscribe to my YouTube channel to receive updates.

Comments

Join the discussion / Ask your questions

Your comment will be published after validation. I respond to over 1500 comments a year in my spare time, so I can't always respond very quickly. Your email address will not be publicly visible and it will not be used for commercial purposes.









Be notified by email when a response is published