On this page:
Price Redmi Note 8
Unpacking
First configuration
Finish
Specifications
CPU / GPU Performance
Benchmark Antutu/3DMark
Network performance
Wifi performance
GPS performance
Battery range
Photo camera test
Hardware
Photoquality
Video quality
Audio quality
Screen quality
Biometry
Operating system
Test / Review conclusion
Questions answers

Best new price:
110.97 EUR
See the offer | Amazon.it

73 other prices available in other stores.



Xiaomi Redmi Note 8: ultra-complete test / review and 100% objective opinion

Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 test, review and price

Category: Tests / Reviews

Xiaomi's strategy is very clear, I repeat it quite often, they want to flood the market by selling phones at all price ranges with sometimes only a few euros of difference between 2 models. The Redmi Note 8 comes 6 months after the Redmi Note 7 which is far from being obsolete. What is this new model worth? Should you buy the Redmi Note 7 or 8? Or another model? I will try to answer these questions with this new test.



linkManufacturer web site: https://www.mi.com

Structure of my tests

I test the phones according to a pre-established structure (see below) to provide you with as much information as possible. Unfortunately, this takes a long time. Some tests like network performance tests take several days and for photo tests I sometimes have to wait until the weather is suitable to take pictures in good conditions. I am therefore obliged to publish the tests step by step, so I invite you to come back if the test is not complete at the time of your visit.

How are my tests different from others on the web?

- I usually buy the devices with my own money, so price is just as important as you are!
- I keep the devices for at least a few weeks (sometimes more) to see what they are worth in real conditions.
- I answer (when possible) your questions to help you decide before you buy
- no one pays me to do these reviews, so I'm completely neutral and independent...
- My pages are not filled with ads



Poco F2 review - test - specs
Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite test, review and price
Umidigi F1 test, review and price
Honor 8x test, review and price
Xiaomi Redmi Note 5 test and review
Umidigi F2 test / review / specs
Leeco Coolpad Cool1 test and review
Motorola G8 Power test, review and price
Realme 6 test, review and price
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s test, review and price

Price Redmi Note 8

The list below shows the prices for the Redmi Note 8 from more than 50 sites around the world. If you are not satisfied with any price, you can subscribe to a price alert to be the first to be notified when the price drops.
Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Neptune Blue 6,3" 4gb/64gb Dual Sim...
2020-10-25 19:39
111 EUR
Gloabl Version Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 4GB 64GB 48MP Quad Camera Smartphone Snapdragon 665 Octa Core 6.3...
2020-10-24 04:38
140 USD
Gloabl Version Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 64GB / 128GB 48MP Quad Camera Smartphone Snapdragon 665 Octa Core...
2020-10-23 22:04
139 USD
XIAOMI Redmi Note 8 T, 64 GB, Dual Sim NEU und unbenutzt Starscape blue + Rechng...
2020-10-24 14:16
126 EUR
global version xiaomi redmi note 8 4gb 64gb snapdragon 665 octa core smartphone 6.3 inches 48mp quad...
2020-10-25 18:20
154 USD
Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 32GB - White Dual SIM (Unlocked) Smartphone...
2020-10-25 15:11
135 EUR



helpThe above links are affiliate links from companies such as Amazon, Gearbest, Aliexpress,... If you appreciate my work, I would be grateful if you could purchase these products through these links. It costs you absolutely nothing but I get a small commission that allows me to buy the material I test. Thank you very much!

Timeline

28/07/19: Purchase of the Redmi Note 8 on Gearbest
21/10/19 Receipt of the telephone without customs fees, the telephone arrived from Germany
21/10/19 Unpacking and first pictures

Why this phone?

I started testing phones with the Xiaomi Redmi Note 5, I then switched to other brands to come back to Xiaomi with the Redmi Note 7. The Redmi range has established itself as a benchmark in just two years. In this price range, they do not have many competitors, they offer an unbeatable quality/price ratio.

As I can't test all the phones that come out, I have to make choices and so far the Redmi range has always surprised me. So it was without much thought that I bought the Redmi Note 8 in the hope of making another great discovery.

Unpacking

xiaomi redmi note 8 test review revision recensione beoordeling photo 2
The Redmi Note 8 box contains the same thing as the other boxes from Xiaomi: the phone wrapped in plastic film, a pocket with manuals and the needle to open the SIM drawer, a wall charger and a USB cable. Unlike the Pro version, there was no earphone. The Redmi Note 8 screen is protected by a plastic film installed by Xiaomi, it's the first time I've seen it at Xiaomi and it's good news.

Length : 158.3
Width : 75.3
Thickness : 8.4
Weight : 190
Jack output : Yes
USB Type : Type C
USB norm : 2.0
Infrared port : Yes

First configuration


The configuration of the Redmi Note 8 follows the same path as other Xiaomi phones under MUIU 10. You must first configure your account, either by creating a new one or by retrieving your previous account from your old phone or the latest backup on the cloud. Once this step is completed, the phone will start downloading your applications and data in the background to allow you to continue using the phone. Redmi Note 8 is powerful enough to be used during the update. You will also find the usual screens of Xiaomi and Google to encourage you to register for the various services these companies offer.

As usual, you will find applications that you didn't ask for, but some of them are really useful, such as the Gallery application to view your photos, the application to take screenshots or the remote control application.

Finish

xiaomi redmi note 8 test review revision recensione beoordeling photo 6
The Redmi Note 8 has a simpler shape than the Redmi Note 8 Pro, it has a more rectangular shape, it does not have curved edges like the Pro version. I took it in black and it is really black, it may seem normal but the Redmi Note 8 Pro black is actually anthracite because it reflects light so much. The Redmi Note 8 is so dark that I felt like I had a stealth camera in my hands, it reflects light in a moderate way and it is uniformly constructed with only one type of good quality plastic. The phone does not look like a high-end phone, but the overall finish is very good.

The Redmi Note 8 is slightly smaller than the Redmi Note 8 Pro but the difference is not very significant. I took some pictures of the two phones next to each other so you can compare them. It is therefore not too much in terms of finish that the two devices will differ, the choice of one or the other is more of a subjective choice.



xiaomi redmi note 8 test review revision recensione beoordeling photo 11

The Redmi Note 8 has a very similar configuration to the Pro version, there is an infrared port at the top of the phone, the screen is interrupted by a notch for the camera and the speaker has a very thin and horizontal grid that allows good sound diffusion.


xiaomi redmi note 8 test review revision recensione beoordeling photo 7
At the bottom is a Jack port, a USB-C port and a mono audio output. The main block of the phone is therefore very similar to the Pro version and most other Xiaomi models in this price range. Redmi is a brand that is still looking for an identity because with each model there are small differences in the visual identity. For the Redmi Note 8, Xiaomi decided to display the Redmi mark at the very bottom of the screen as if they wanted to hide a slightly thicker edge. This is the first time I've seen the mark appear at this place

xiaomi redmi note 8 test review revision recensione beoordeling photo 13
The sides of the phone are designed in the same way as most phones today with the SIM drawer on the left and the on/off and volume buttons on the right. The size and position of the buttons are very similar to the other Xiaomi models and it's very good like that, only Samsung seems to be sailing against the current with its buttons on the left.

xiaomi redmi note 8 test review revision recensione beoordeling photo 17

On the back we find the photo sensor positioned on the side like the Redmi Note 7 where the Redmi Note 8 Pro has sensors positioned in the middle of the upper part of the camera. The Redmi Note 8 offers 4 sensors against 3 on the Pro or Redmi Note 7 and the fingerprint sensor is placed in the middle of the back of the device. The 4 sensors occupy an important place and stand out quite strongly, I had noticed the same thing on the Redmi Note 7. The problem can be solved by buying a protective cover.

xiaomi redmi note 8 test review revision recensione beoordeling photo 9
The Redmi Note 8 has the same screen size as the Redmi Note 7 and with 6"3, it is quite impressive. The borders are thin enough except at the bottom where the border is large enough to affix the Redmi mark. Since both phones were launched 6 months apart, I wouldn't be surprised if it were the same screen as the Redmi Note 7.

Specifications


The information below comes from the Device Info HW application. The application provides detailed technical information about the tested phone.

CPU / GPU Performance

CPU : Qualcomm Snapdragon 665
GPU : Qualcomm AdreNo 610
Memory (RAM) : 4 - 6 Gb
Storage : 64 - 128 Gb

Benchmark Antutu/3DMark

I got a score of 172000 points with Antutu, it's 20% more than the Redmi Note 7 and 33% less than the Redmi Note 8 Pro. The Redmi Note 8 is therefore logically positioned between the previous model and the model in the upper range. With such a score, you will not encounter any problems on a daily basis and even if you want to play games like PUBG Mobile, you can do so under good conditions. The Antutu score reveals that it is mainly at the GPU level that the Redmi Note 8 is outperformed by the Pro version. For the rest, the Redmi Note 8 gets a very good score for memory, which is quite rare for a Xiaomi because it is usually at the memory level that Xiaomis lose points compared to the competition. This should allow you to switch from one application to another smoothly.


With 3Dmark, I get a score at the Xiaomi Mi A3 and that's normal because they both use the same CPU/GPU combination. As for Antutu, the Pro version far exceeds Redmi Note 8.

Antutu score : 172486
Antutu CPU : 71301
Antutu GPU : 32908
Antutu UX : 31094
Antutu Mem : 37183
3D Mark Open GL : 1060
3D Mark Vulkan : 1038

Top 10 - performance ranking based on Antutu
1. Poco F2 Pro - 569559
2. Samsung Galaxy S20 - 503905
3. Xiaomi Mi 9t Pro - 430403
4. Xiaomi Mi Mix 3 5g - 385000
5. Oppo Reno 5g - 375000
6. Meizu 16s - 374190
7. Xiaomi Mi 9 - 372006
8. Sony Xperia 1 - 372000
9. Lg G8s Thinq - 371000
10. Lg V50 Thinq 5g - 370000

Number of smartphones in the ranking:102
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:48/102

Note: this ranking only contains the phones I tested as well as a few others that I added for reference.

Gaming
To test the performance in game, I download the mobile PUBG game and evaluate the in-game experience, graphics level and depth of vision. This game is quite demanding and should help you evaluating the performance of a phone.For the mobile PUBG test I was surprised to see that the game launches into the lowest graphics mode when with a score of 172000 points, it should be able to run the game with the highest graphics. The experience in game is quite correct, I noticed some slowdowns at startup but during the game I didn't notice any problems.



Network performance

The Redmi Note 8 offers a good frequency coverage, it is not the most universal phone but you can use it anywhere in Europe. Only the frequency B28 is missing to cover all European frequencies.

3G frequencies : B1, B2, B4, B5, B8
4G frequencies : B1, B2, B3, B4, B5, B7, B8, B20, B38, B40
Bluetooth : Bluetooth 4.2 LE
Volte : Yes
NFC : No
Number measurements : 879
Average signal : -97.34
Download speed : 80
Upload speed : 60
Choose your country to check if your phone is compatible:


The frequencies displayed below will allow you to see if this phone is compatible with your operator or if you will be able to use it in the country where you are going on vacation.


Signal 4G
The ability to pick up the network correctly is an essential element for a phone but it is only very rarely measured. To measure a phone's ability to pick up the network, I perform a large number of measurements on the same cells to be able to compare phones under similar conditions. The signal is measured in dBm, a value of -90dBm indicates a worse signal than -70dBm. These measurements are therefore taken under real conditions and not in a laboratory, they are not scientific but give a good indication of performance.

Network signal sensitivity rating
Phone tested:Average signal (dBm)Number of measurements:
Xiaomi Mi 9t Pro-881600
Xiaomi Redmi Note 5-91.305600
Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite-93788
Samsung Galaxy A70-94.5111975
Nokia 5.3-94.98531
Realme 6-95.142301
Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro-95.9221599
Xiaomi Mi A3-95.951000
Huawei Y6 2019-95.951199
Redmi 9a-96.481000
Meizu Note 9-96.68937
Motorola G8 Power-96.881032
Xiaomi Redmi Note 7-97.011430
Redmi 9c-97.041000
Umidigi S3 Pro-97.131200
Xiaomi Redmi Note 8-97.34879
Samsung Galaxy A21s-97.781000
Umidigi F1-97.82298
Ulefone Armor 7e-98.71000
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite-991000
Honor 9x-99.14899
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s-99.41860
Poco F2 Pro-99.81247
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9-100.791785
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g-100.881198
Umidigi F2-101.47712

xiaomi redmi note 7 network signal
The Redmi Note 8 is the fourth Redmi I buy. In testing these different models I noticed that every second version of the Redmi range represented only a slight evolution of the previous model. I suspected the Redmi Note 8 to be a very slightly improved version of the Redmi Note 7 but this network test strongly supports my theory. I have made more than 800 measurements and I found almost exactly the same result between the 2 devices. The Redmi Note 7 was in the low average of the devices I measured, the Redmi Note 8 follows exactly the same path. This does not mean that Redmi Note 8 is bad, but if you live in an area of poor coverage, Redmi Note 8 may not be right for you.



Download/Upload speed
To test the download speed, I have identified some 4G cells offering good performance where I test all my devices several times to see what download and upload speed they can achieve.
Top 10 - speed ranking in download
1. Samsung Galaxy S20 D:351Mbps U: 20Mbps
2. Poco X3 D:232Mbps U: 55Mbps
3. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g D:223Mbps U: 52Mbps
4. Poco F2 Pro D:207Mbps U: 53Mbps
5. Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite D:153Mbps U: 68Mbps
6. Xiaomi Mi A3 D:150Mbps U: 60Mbps
7. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s D:150Mbps U: 60Mbps
8. Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite D:149Mbps U: 60Mbps
9. Samsung Galaxy A21s D:147Mbps U: 51Mbps
10. Huawei Y6 2019 D:145Mbps U: 61Mbps

Number of smartphones in the ranking:30
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:17/30

Note: the theoretical maximum speed of a telephone is often limited by the configuration of the mobile network and the congestion of the network at the time of the measurement. So maybe you could get a higher speed on another network

The Redmi Note 8 offers good performance for 4G downloads. It is not the fastest but with the speeds obtained you can easily play videos in streaming or play games.


Wifi performance

To test a phone's ability to receive the network properly, I take measurements near my router and then remotely (and always at the same place). This gives me an average in dBm where a value of -90 dBm indicates poorer performance than a value at -30 dBm.
Wifi frequencies : 802.11a, 802.11ac, 802.11b, 802.11g, 802.11n, 802.11n 5GHz
Download speed : 211
Signal / close : -19
Signal / distant : -66
Wifi signal
The Redmi Note 8 provides a good performance in terms of wifi signal. Near the router, I get a signal of -19 dBm, one of the best scores I have ever had. At a distance I get a signal at -66 dBm, it is also one of the best performances.




Top 10 - wifi sensitivity ranking
1. Poco F2 Pro -11dBm
2. Samsung Galaxy A21s -13dBm
3. Poco X3 -17dBm
4. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s -18dBm
5. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro -19dBm
6. Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite -19dBm
7. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g -19dBm
8. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 -19dBm
9. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 -19dBm
10. Redmi 9a -19dBm

Number of smartphones in the ranking:30
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:8/30


Download/Upload speed
To test the speed in Wifi, I connect to my router in 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz (if available) and use the Ookla application to measure the speed.The good performance of the wifi signal translates into a good performance in terms of download speed. With more than 200 Mbps, you can easily stream or download files. The Redmi Note 8 is much slower than the Pro version (More than 350 Mbps) but at this level of performance, the vast majority of users will not see any difference.




Top 10 - wifi download speed ranking
1. Samsung Galaxy S20 351Mbps
2. Poco F2 Pro 341Mbps
3. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro 319Mbps
4. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g 300Mbps
5. Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite 260Mbps
6. Poco X3 251Mbps
7. Xiaomi Redmi Note 7 250Mbps
8. Umidigi F1 220Mbps
9. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 211Mbps
10. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 207Mbps

Number of smartphones in the ranking:30
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:9/30

Note: I have a 400Mbps line and a modem capable of delivering higher speed, but I can never be sure how much bandwidth is available when doing a test.

GPS performance


To test the quality of the GPS signal I use the Offline Maps application and I make the same train trip in pedestrian mode. Why? In pedestrian mode, the GPS does not artificially correct the signal to stick to the road, it has no markings, so you can see the actual position. I then use an application to measure the accuracy of the signal. The GPS signal test shows that the Redmi Note 8 offers an excellent positioning like the Redmi Note 7. The orientation changes without moving the phone and rarely points in the right direction, it was the same as the Redmi Note 7 as well. This does not affect the quality of monitoring, but it gives the impression of looking back and moving forward. I had a small loss of signal while passing through a tunnel but the phone quickly recovered the signal.




Top 10 - GPS accuracy ranking
1. Redmi 9a 1m
2. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 1m
3. Redmi 9c 2m
4. Samsung Galaxy A21s 4m

Number of smartphones in the ranking:5
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:0/5

Note: An accuracy of 3 meters or less can easily be corrected by a good GPS application. Phone performance also plays a role in how fast your display updates, so good accuracy could be compromised by too slow a display.

Battery range

Capacity : 4000
Fast charge : Yes
W max : 18
The Redmi Note 8 4000 mAh battery is already present in other models of the brand. It can last two to three days in normal use and you should reach 75% of the charge in just over an hour.

Photo camera test

To test the quality of photos produced by a phone, I do a technical test (resolution, sharpness, chromatic aberration,...) in studio (identical conditions) to evaluate the technical part objectively. From the second half of 2020, I built my own laboratory to take completely objective technical measurements. I then take pictures in real conditions to see how the camera performs. I then evaluate these photos according to my criteria but I publish the photos so that you can evaluate the result according to your criteria.

Hardware

Selfie / resolution : 13
Resolution : 48
Sensor : Samsung S5KGM1
Video resolution : 2160p
mm wide angle : 4.74mm
mm ultra wide angle : 1.66mm
mm zoom : 4.74mm
The Redmi Note 8 is equipped with the same Samsung S5KGM1 sensor as the Redmi Note 7 but differs from the previous model by offering 4 sensors at the rear against 2 on the previous model. On the software side, the Redmi Note 8 also comes with some new features.
Default app

The default photo application of Redmi Note 8 is very complete, Xiaomi installs this default application on many models and adds/removes only a few elements when necessary. The Redmi Note 8 has a slow motion mode, short video, video, photo, 48M, portrait, night, panorama and pro mode. It is possible to use the 3 zoom levels in almost every menu. You can also change the shape of the photo from 4:3 to 9:16 or 1:1 which will occupy the entire screen. In 1:1 mode, you can see through the menus but it is not necessarily very readable.



This application from Xiaomi is one of the best photo applications installed by default.


Photoquality

Photo test / studio
For this studio test I took a picture from the same position using all available picture modes. I started with the normal mode by taking a picture with the 3 different focal lengths, then I tried the HDR mode followed by the AI mode. Then I went through the menus with 48M mode, portrait mode, night mode and finally pro mode.

What do we see in these pictures? The first thing is the lack of brightness, I have the same problem on almost all the devices I test and it was also the case for the Redmi Note 8 Pro. This lack of brightness is specific to studio photography because under normal conditions, this problem no longer arises. It is possible to correct this type of problem directly from the device and the handling does not require technical knowledge.

The image sharpness is good, this was already the case with the previous model. Apart from the lack of brightness, the colors are correct except in certain modes such as macro mode where the colors seem to follow a different treatment.

The main lens has a focal length of 4.74mm, the ultra wide angle lens has a focal length of 1.66m and the zoom lens has a focal length of 4.74mm. This means that the zoom is not an optical zoom but a digital zoom.




Photo test / sunny
I haven't had the opportunity to test the camera in very good conditions yet, but rather than wait for the weather to get better, I'm already going to post some pictures taken under a partially veiled sky.

First example: ƒ/1.79 1/2395 4.74 mm 100 ISO
xiaomi redmi note 8 test review revision recensione beoordeling photo sun 4
I took this picture with the main sensor (Samsung) which has a focal length of 4.74mm. The sun was present but partially hidden by clouds. The picture is rich in details, you can clearly see the sand texture. The coloring is neutral enough, neither too warm nor too cold but the photo lacks a little saturation. The exposure is correct. The sharpness is generally good but when you zoom the photo to 100% you see sharpness flaws appear.

Second example: ƒ/1.89 1/2198 5.43 mm 100 ISO
xiaomi redmi note 8 test review revision recensione beoordeling photo sun 4 pro
This picture was taken with the Redmi Note 8 Pro, this model uses another Samsung sensor. The EXIF is quite similar and the photo is apparently quite similar but if you look at the photo in detail, quite significant differences appear. The processing of the Redmi Note 8 Pro offers greater sharpness to the photo, the details are more precise. This is one of the strengths of the Redmi Note 8 Pro, the test of this phone is also available on this site.

Third example: ƒ/2.2 1/6769 1.66 mm 107 ISO
xiaomi redmi note 8 test review revision recensione beoordeling photo sun 3
The EXIF of this picture looks weird, the shutter speed is completely unrealistic for a phone and the light did not justify such a speed anyway. This picture was taken with the ultra wide angle sensor. With 1.66mm the angle of the sensor is enormous. As with the Redmi Note 8 Pro, the ultra wide angle sensor provides good sharpness in the center but degrades on the sides. This photo is the result of an HDR assembly, it allows to obtain a more dynamic photo but blurred areas appear and digital noise is present at sky level. Overall it's not very serious but if you want to look at your photos on a 4k computer screen, these defects will be more visible. The color temperature is a little warmer on the ultra wide angle sensor but if you don't compare the pictures next to each other, it doesn't show.

Fourth example: ƒ/1.79 1/19164 4.74 mm 250 ISO
xiaomi redmi note 8 test review revision recensione beoordeling photo sun 1
The EXIF is again incorrect, I suspect that it is the use of HDR that causes this. This picture was taken at sunset, so the light is shallow and very orange. Overall the picture is well detailed but the HDR shows noise in the sky when the picture is strongly enlarged.

I took a picture at the same time with a Samsung Galaxy S10+
xiaomi redmi note 8 test review revision recensione beoordeling photo sun 1 samsung
There was a minute between the Redmi Note 8 and Samsung photos and yet the coloring is totally different. The Samsung's picture is darker overall, the colours are warmer and the level of detail is more important. The Samsung has a more aggressive HDR treatment that gives a completely different look to the photo.

The HDR treatment of Redmi Note 8 is less effective than that of Samsung because the sky is more veiled and noisier, this kind of treatment allows to save photos when the conditions are less good but we deviate from reality. The reality lies somewhere in between the two devices because neither of them was able to capture the landscape as it really was.



The Redmi Note 8 produces photos of acceptable quality but I don't see any big changes from the previous model. Redmi Note 8 and Redmi Note 7 use the same sensor but the processing applied to the photo is different. The sharpness is less pronounced on the Redmi Note 8 and the colors seem a little warmer.


Photo test / cloudy
On cloudy days, Redmi Note 8 does well as long as it uses HDR. I have the impression that the phone captures pictures with an underexposure step to capture as much detail as possible. This is what I do when I use my DSLR, but it forces me to correct the brightness after I take the picture.

First example: ƒ/1.79 1/13689 4.74 mm 100 ISO
xiaomi redmi note 8 test review revision recensione beoordeling photo cloud 1
The use of HDR allows us to obtain a correct picture despite the cloud cover and the absence of light. Without HDR you get a completely uniform sky and a more contrasting picture overall. With this kind of treatment you deviate from reality but I suppose it doesn't matter for a large majority of users. The sharpness of static objects is quite good, if you zoom in 100% on the buildings in the background, you will easily distinguish the windows despite the distance.

Second example: f/2.2 1/4654 1.66 mm 105 ISO
xiaomi redmi note 8 test review revision recensione beoordeling photo cloud 6
It was quite dark and the rain had started to fall. With HDR, I get a clearer and more contrasting picture than reality. Unfortunately, HDR has its limits, the sky has become completely unrealistic. When the conditions are not good, you will have to play with the HRD to see if it offers a better result than a photo without HDR. This is a bit of a problem with all phones that offer this mode, the result is not always up to the task.




Test photo / night
To test night photography, I took pictures in environments with large differences in brightness to see how the phone performs in poor conditions. I took the same picture with the base sensor, then with the wide angle and finally with the night mode which uses the base sensor.

First example: ƒ/1.79 1/15 4.74 mm 2500 ISO
xiaomi redmi note 8 test review revision recensione beoordeling photo night 1
The Redmi Note 8 seems to prefer decreasing the shutter speed than increasing ISO. With 1/15, the slightest movement will generate a blurry picture but with 2500 ISO the image is noisy but remains of an acceptable quality. The picture as a whole is okay. You will probably find many sites that will criticize quality but you have to put this phone in context, the Redmi Note 8 is sold for less than 200€ and in this price range, you will not find many phones able to deliver this level of quality with such ease.

Second example: ƒ/2.2 1/10 1.66mm 6341 ISO
xiaomi redmi note 8 test review revision recensione beoordeling photo night 2
Using the ultra wide angle sensor causes the phone to rise sharply in ISO and digital noise is therefore more visible. The shutter also drops one notch and increases the risk of blurring. The color temperature is also very different from that used with the basic sensor. The ultra wide angle sensor is clearly not made for night photography.

Third example: ƒ/1.79 1/15 4.74 mm 2500 ISO (night mode)
xiaomi redmi note 8 test review revision recensione beoordeling photo night 1
The night mode combines several photos taken at different exposures to bring out as much detail as possible. The Redmi Note 7 impressed me with the quality of the night photo processing, the Redmi Note 8 does well but does not do better. In this photo, the night mode allows you to highlight details that are not visible in the other two photos and overall the treatment is not bad. Digital noise is visible but not annoying.

I took the following pictures according to the same methodology by taking a picture with the basic sensor, a picture with the ultra wide angle sensor and a picture in night mode. The remarks of the three previous photos also apply to the following photos. The night mode seems worse than the one on Redmi Note 7, the photos show more digital noise but the result is still acceptable.




Video quality

Stabilisation
Redmi Note 8 has a stabilization enabled by default for video. I tested it by walking on the sand at the beach and you can see that the phone reduces the vibrations caused by footsteps but these vibrations are not completely erased.



Video normale conditions
The Redmi Note 8 allows you to shoot in 720p, 1080p and 4k. The following video was shot in 4K, the light conditions were not ideal but the phone is doing well. The sharpness is good up to a certain distance, transitions between light and dark areas are visible but the passage is quite fast. The colours are quite faithful to reality. The microphone is obviously not very well protected from the wind because the wind masks all the noise on the beach.



Video low light
I also made a panoramic video at sunset and the result is quite successful too because when I move from the sun to the rest of the horizon, the adaptation is very fast despite the difference in brightness. Stabilization is not very fluid, however, and the jerks of movement are quite visible.



Audio quality

To test the quality of the phone's audio output, I connect the device's audio output to a measuring tool, then play sounds on all frequencies and measure the differences between the original sound and the sound produced by the phone. In this way I measure the phone's ability to correctly reproduce all sounds.
Frequency Respons : +0.02 -0.05
Noise Level : -91.3
Dynamic Range : 91.2
THD : 0.00221
Intermodulation : 0.00911
Stereo crosstalk : -88.2
When I test the sound of a smartphone, I start with a subjective listening to get an idea of the sound quality before doing a technical test. For this first listening, I was positively surprised by the high frequencies, they seemed quite clear to me. The lower frequencies were also quite well rendered but the device lacked a little power compared to other devices I was able to test. When I passed the technical test, these elements were confirmed because the Redmi Note 8 has a very good sound reproduction over a very wide frequency range but it delivers a less powerful sound than the Redmi Note 8 Pro. This shortfall turns out to be an advantage in the end because when you push the Redmi Note 8 Pro to the limit, the sound is very powerful but difficult to listen to and the sound is subject to a big distortion. With Redmi Note 8, the distortion is very low even with the volume at maximum.

I never mentioned it in my tests but Xiaomi has integrated a default equalizer in the device. It allows you to better control the type of sound and make adjustments depending on the type of earphone or headset you use.

Frequency Response
This test is intended to test the device's ability to correctly reproduce all frequencies. The white line in the middle of the graph is the ideal situation and the other colors come from tests on different phones. A deviation from the reference line indicates a deviation from the ideal situation. To see good sound at all frequencies, it is therefore necessary to get as close as possible to the reference line. redmi note 8 noise level

The Redmi Note 8 reproduces most frequencies well and compared to the Pro version, its performance is much more stable even with maximum volume. It's one of the closest phones to the standard and it confirms my first impression. I don't have a good enough ear to define what distinguishes a good device from an exceptional one but the Redmi Note 8 gave me a very good impression.

Dynamic Range
This test is designed to test a phone's ability to play sounds at different volume levels. Here too, the phones must be as close as possible to the reference.redmi note 8 dynamic range

In terms of volume, we see that the Redmi Note 8 offers a lower performance than the pro version but as I wrote above, we must not stop at that because yes the Redmi Note 8 Pro offers a more powerful sound but this is at the expense of quality.

Noise Level
This test aims to identify if the device under test is able to reproduce sounds without too much noise. A high score indicates a low parasite rate, a lower score indicates a higher presence of parasites.redmi note 8 frequency response

Redmi Note 8 does not have any interference problems, it offers a slightly worse performance than the Pro version but the differences are minimal.

Concert recording
The purpose of this test is to measure the recording quality of the phone when there is a lot of ambient noise. Since I don't have the opportunity to go to a concert every time I test a phone, I simulate the noise of a concert in a closed environment.

Screen quality

To test the screen, I use a colorimetric probe that measures the color accuracy of a screen, as well as other parameters to see if a screen is able to correctly reproduce an image. I also test the brightness level to determine if the screen will be able to display an image in full sunlight.
Screen size : 6.3
Resolution : 1080 x 2340
Ratio : 19.5:9
Protection : Corning Gorilla Glass 5
Type : LTPS LCD
% occupancy : 81
dE white : 3.5
dE red : 0.7
dE green : 0.7
dE blue : 0.5
dE jaune : 1.6
dE cyan : 0.4
dE magenta : 1.0
Contrast : 1500:1
Brightness : 570
Colorimetry
redmi note 8 pro screen calibration

When I turned on the Redmi Note 8 the first time, it made a good impression, the colors seemed right. I was right because the probe confirms my first impression, the Redmi Note 8 has a really good colorimetry, it is one of the best results I have obtained so far. I measured a dE of 1.41, I didn't get a better result with the Samsung Galaxy. The colour performance is stable, there are no big differences in the colours, only cyan deviates a little from the norm. To obtain this result I had to adapt the basic configuration of the screen to keep a constant contrast ratio because with the factory settings the dE was around 4 (which is not bad either).


Top 10 - ranking of the best screens by colorimetry
1. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g dE = 0.73
2. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 dE = 1.2
3. Samsung Galaxy S20 dE = 1.4
4. Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite dE = 1.46
5. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s dE = 1.47
6. Honor 9x dE = 1.5
7. Poco F2 Pro dE = 1.73
8. Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite dE = 1.91
9. Samsung Galaxy S10+ dE = 2.01
10. Xiaomi Mi 9t Pro dE = 2.11

Number of smartphones in the ranking:29
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:2/29

Note: the colorimetric difference is measured in dE. After three, the human eye will perceive a colorimetric difference, so the dE should be the lowest. The tests were all carried out with a colorimetric probe.

Brightness / Contrast

I measured a maximum brightness of 570 cd/m² with the probe, it is a very good score that far exceeds what the Redmi Note 7 was able to do. You can easily use this phone in bright sunlight.

With a contrast of 1500:0 the Redmi Note 8 is in the average range. Blacks will not be perfectly black, but by playing with the backlight you can reduce this problem. To obtain a better contrast, it is necessary to orient yourself towards an Amoled screen such as the Xiaomi Mi A3 for example.

Light Absorption/Reflection
The smartphone screen reflect light and sometimes turn them into a real mirror. This mirror effect makes it harder to read.

The absorption index below indicates the percentage of light absorbed by the screen. The readability of a screen is better when the absorption index is high.

Phone tested:% light absorption
Samsung Galaxy S10+58
Xiaomi Mi 9T Pro52
Honor 9x65
Redmi Note 9s55
Motorola G8 Power60
Realme 654
Umidigi F248
Poco F2 Pro52
Redmi Note 956
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite53
Samsung Galaxy S2047
Samsung Galaxy A21s53
The phones tested have an average absroption rate of54 %

Biometry

Redmi Note 8 allows you to unlock the phone by reading a fingerprint or 2D facial recognition. The fingerprint unlocking is done from the back of the phone, the sensor is very small but it reacts very quickly.

Operating system



Redmi Note 8 uses MUIU 10 by default, so the experience is the same as on other Xiaomis using the same version of MIUI. The experience remains very pleasant overall and everything is well designed but Xiaomi has accumulated so much functionality that the settings menu has become more complicated to use because it is not always easy to find what you are looking for. It is possible to use a search engine but you have to enter the exact keyword of the section you are looking for and here again, Xiaomi did not always choose the right keywords. If you take the time to explore the settings, you will find that Xiaomi has added many new features in MIUI 10, they have probably been inspired by Samsung for some things like the "health" part where you can see how often you use your phone and how you use it.


Encoutered bugs

I have not encountered any bugs so far.

Accessories Redmi Note 8

To better enjoy your experience with your smartphone, I offer links to all kinds of accessories that you might find useful

Protective cover / case xiaomi redmi note 8
Screen protection film xiaomi redmi note 8
Memory card xiaomi redmi note 8
USB Cable / Charger xiaomi redmi note 8
Headphones xiaomi redmi note 8
Bike rack xiaomi redmi note 8

Compare Redmi Note 8 with the others

I assigned a score of 1 to 10 for each test that determines the strengths and weaknesses of a product. I am using 0 for criteria that have not (yet) been tested. A score of 1 to 3 indicates poor performance (and yes, it does), a score of 4 to 6 indicates average performance, a score of 7 to 8 indicates good performance, and a score of 9 and 10 indicates exceptional performance. .
The score is calculated based on my measurements and when there are no measurements, it is a subjective opinion based on my experience.

The scores are not static, they change over time because the performance of new products changes and this must be taken into account.

Xiaomi Redmi Note 8
Finish quality7.006.00
Battery performance7.006.00
CPU performance6.005.00
GPU performance6.005.00
Screen quality7.005.00
Photo quality7.005.00
Video quality7.005.00
Wi-Fi performance7.005.00
Mobile download speed6.005.00
Mobile network sensitivity7.006.00
Frequency coverage7.006.00
Audio quality7.006.00
GPS performance8.006.00
Operating system8.007.00
Overall score9778
Global ranking
1. Samsung Galaxy S20 112 / 140
2. Poco F2 Pro 111 / 140
3. Samsung Galaxy S10+ 107 / 140
4. Xiaomi Mi 9t Pro 106 / 140
5. Poco X3 102 / 140
6. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g 101 / 140
7. Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite 101 / 140
8. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro 100 / 140
9. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s 98 / 140
10. Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite 98 / 140
11. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 97 / 140
12. Xiaomi Redmi Note 7 94 / 140
13. Realme 6 93 / 140
14. Motorola G8 Power 91 / 140
15. Nokia 5.3 89 / 140
16. Xiaomi Mi A3 89 / 140
17. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 88 / 140
18. Honor 9x 88 / 140
19. Meizu Note 9 86 / 140
20. Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite 86 / 140
21. Xiaomi Redmi Note 5 85 / 140
22. Umidigi S3 Pro 83 / 140
23. Umidigi F2 82 / 140
24. Samsung Galaxy A21s 82 / 140
25. Redmi 9a 81 / 140
26. Redmi 9c 80 / 140
27. Ulefone Armor 7e 80 / 140
28. Honor 8x 78 / 140
29. Umidigi F1 77 / 140
30. Huawei Y6 2019 74 / 140

Test / Review conclusion


The Redmi Note 8 arrived just a few months after the Redmi Note 7 while the latter was still on sale. Xiaomi's territory occupation strategy is beginning to make things difficult to understand. This is not the first Redmi I have tested and I found that the RN6 was a simple evolution of the RN5, the RN7 on the other hand made a big change from the RN5. The RN8 follows exactly the same trend, it is very similar to the RN7 and this is reflected in several points of this test. We will probably have to wait for a Redmi Note 9 to take a big step forward.

The Redmi Note 8 is a slightly improved Redmi Note 7. Is that a bad thing? Not really because the Redmi Note 7 is one of the best devices in its price range, the Redmi Note 8 will naturally occupy this position by taking the same strengths and weaknesses as the previous version while offering a higher level of finish.


Strengths
- versatile camera
- speed, performance
- gps signal
- finishing touch


Weaknesses
- average 4G signal
- HDR sometimes unpredictable


Alternatives to this product

Comments

Join the discussion / Ask your questions

Your comment will be published after validation. I respond to over 1500 comments a year in my spare time, so I can't always respond very quickly. Your email address will not be publicly visible and it will not be used for commercial purposes.









Be notified by email when a response is published