On this page:
Price Redmi Note 9
Unpacking
First configuration
Finish
Specifications
CPU / GPU Performance
Benchmark Antutu/3DMark
Network performance
Wifi performance
GPS performance
Battery range
Photo camera test
Hardware
Photoquality
Video quality
Audio quality
Screen quality
Biometry
Operating system
Test / Review conclusion
Questions answers

Best new price:
121.6 EUR
See the offer | Aliexpress

95 other prices available in other stores.



Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 test and review (comprehensive and unbiased)

Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 Review / Test

Category: Tests / Reviews

Every year, Xiaomi launches new smartphones and each time they bring a little more confusion because they change names, product lines and launch competing models. There is almost a Xiaomi phone in every price range and sometimes it's a detail that sets them apart.

The Redmi Note 9 is an entry-level model that like its predecessors (Redmi Note 7 / Redmi Note 8) will probably become a blockbuster. The positioning of the Redmi is very clear: offering a maximum for the lowest price.

So far, Xiaomi has never disappointed, will the Redmi Note 9 make life even harder for its competitors? That's what I'm going to show you in this test.




linkManufacturer web site: https://www.mi.com

Structure of my tests

I test the phones according to a pre-established structure (see below) to provide you with as much information as possible. Unfortunately, this takes a long time. Some tests like network performance tests take several days and for photo tests I sometimes have to wait until the weather is suitable to take pictures in good conditions. I am therefore obliged to publish the tests step by step, so I invite you to come back if the test is not complete at the time of your visit.

How are my tests different from others on the web?

- I usually buy the devices with my own money, so price is just as important as you are!
- I keep the devices for at least a few weeks (sometimes more) to see what they are worth in real conditions.
- I answer (when possible) your questions to help you decide before you buy
- no one pays me to do these reviews, so I'm completely neutral and independent...
- My pages are not filled with ads



Poco F2 review - test - specs
Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite test, review and price
Umidigi F1 test, review and price
Honor 8x test, review and price
Xiaomi Redmi Note 5 test and review
Umidigi F2 test / review / specs
Leeco Coolpad Cool1 test and review
Motorola G8 Power test, review and price
Realme 6 test, review and price
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s test, review and price

Price Redmi Note 9

The list below shows the prices for the Redmi Note 9 from more than 50 sites around the world. If you are not satisfied with any price, you can subscribe to a price alert to be the first to be notified when the price drops.
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 (64GB 3GB RAM/128GB, 4GB RAM, Cuatro cámaras y 48 MP, Android, Nuevo, Libre) [T...
2020-10-22 06:00
144 USD
Global Version Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 3GB RAM 64GB ROM (Brand New / Sealed) redminote9, note9, Smartpho...
2020-10-21 00:10
149 USD
Redmi Note 9 3GB+64GB Version EU...
2020-10-22 07:01
144 USD
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 (64GB con 3GB RAM/128GB ROM con 4GB RAM Cuatro Cámaras Android Nuevo Móvil) [T...
2020-10-22 06:00
155 USD
Global Version Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 4GB 128GB Smartphone Helio G85 Octa Core 48MP Quad Camera Mobile ...
2020-10-22 06:00
170 USD
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 3GB 64GB Smartphone 48MP Cámara Cuádruple MTK Helio G85 Octa Core 6.53" FHD Te...
2020-10-22 13:02
143 EUR



helpThe above links are affiliate links from companies such as Amazon, Gearbest, Aliexpress,... If you appreciate my work, I would be grateful if you could purchase these products through these links. It costs you absolutely nothing but I get a small commission that allows me to buy the material I test. Thank you very much!

Timeline

29/05/2020 purchase of the Redmi Note 9 on Edway Buy, it's my first purchase on this site
04/06/2020 I received the Redmi in only a few days, that's very fast for a chinese shop.

Why this phone?

Just two years ago, nobody knew about Xiaomi, let alone the Redmi brand. Today, tests and articles about Xiaomi can be found on almost all specialized websites. Each new generation of Redmi is a must-see event for those interested by smartphones.

So far, I have bought the Redmi Note 5, the Redmi Note 7, the Redmi Note 8, the Redmi Note 9s and the Redmi Note 8 Pro. The Redmi Note 9 is the 6th Redmi that I am testing.

Xiaomi usually launches two Redmi ranges per year, the first wave brings something new and the second wave just brings minor evolutions. The Redmi Note 9 is in the first category, so it should bring something new and the first novelty is its size and format. The Redmi range has grown and gained weight to offer an ever larger screen and a battery with even more battery life. The control buttons have become very thin, it's very aesthetic but not always practical. The back of the phone goes in a delirium of colors where previous models offered a more sober configuration. This Redmi Note 9 confirms that this is a big evolution.

The Redmi Note 9 comes with the Redmi Note 9s and the Redmi Note 9 Pro, these devices look very similar and the differences are not very obvious. Usually the difference between the normal scale (Redmi Note X) and the pro scale (Redmi Note X Pro) is much more pronounced.

Unpacking

Xiaomi uses the same packaging for most of its phones. The box does not contain anything unusual, you will find the phone, a protective case, a small manual, the charger and a USB cable type C.



Length : 162.3
Width : 77.2
Thickness : 8.9
Weight : 199
Jack output : Yes
USB Type : Type C
Infrared port : Yes

First configuration

The configuration of the Redmi Note 9 follows the same principles as the configuration of most Android phones but some changes have appeared on this Redmi Note 9 compared to the Redmi Note 9s I just tested.

The most noticeable change is the screen that proposes which search engine you want to use. It's the first time I see this choice appearing and it's not insignificant. I imagine that Xiaomi wants to try to take some distance from Google after what happened between Google and Huawei but the proposed engines are not yet valid alternatives to reduce the importance of Google in our daily lives.

The application recovery procedure also offers a new option based on an image that must be identical to the one displayed on your old device. The transfer allows you to resume your applications but also the accounts used on the other phone, this can be very convenient if like me you regularly change phone.

Facial recognition has disappeared from the initial configuration, but it is still available in the device settings.

Just at the end Xiaomi will try to place its cloud service but you will only have to pass a screen.

I got two error messages in the process but I suspect my router is responsible for this problem because my router blocks what it considers to be advertising and these calls to Google or Xiaomi are therefore blocked.




Finish

xiaomi redmi note 9 test avis recensione opinion revision 7

As I wrote above, this new generation of Redmi comes with a new chassis and Xiaomi decided to apply the same recipe to the Redmi Note 9, Redmi Note 9s and Redmi Note 9 Pro. There is however a difference between the Redmi Note 9 and the two others, the Redmi Note 9 is a little bit shorter and a little bit wider, this gives it a more massive look. It is also slightly thicker but lighter.

xiaomi redmi note 9 test avis recensione opinion revision 15

At the top of the phone you will find the infrared diode that will allow you to use the phone as a remote control, you will also find what could be a sound sensor that I find on many other Xiaomi.

xiaomi redmi note 9 test avis recensione opinion revision 14

The lower part of the phone has a classic configuration with a speakerphone, a USB type C port and a jack type audio connector.

xiaomi redmi note 9 test avis review opinion recensione prueba 3

On the sides there is the SIM drawer on the left (2 SIM cards + 1 memory slot) and the usual volume and start buttons on the right. The configuration is classic but the start and volume buttons are thinner than usual, I sometimes confuse the volume buttons because I can't always distinguish them by touch. The phone also gives the feeling that these buttons are higher than usual but in reality they are the same distance from the top of the phone as the previous models. What changes is that the phone has grown and the distance from the bottom of the phone has therefore mechanically increased.

xiaomi redmi note 9 test avis recensione opinion revision 10

On the back of the phone, we find the camera positioned in the middle like the Redmi Note 9s or Pro, this sensor comes out a few millimetres but its central positioning reduces the feeling of having a phone in perpetual imbalance. Contrary to the 9s or 9 Pro, the fingerprint sensor has made its way back to the back of the phone just below the photo sensor.

The Redmi Note 9 offers several colors that come with two color gradients, I'm not a big fan of this kind of gradient, it reinforces the feeling of having a plastic object in hand but it's just a subjective impression.

xiaomi redmi note 9 test avis review opinion recensione prueba 1

The screen occupies 83% of the available space, it's a score in the middle, it's one percent less than the 9s. The borders are visible but this is also quite common in this price range. The pixel density is above average because the Redmi Note 9 offers the same resolution as the Redmi Note 9s on a smaller area.

The finish level of this Redmi Note 9 is quite correct, don't forget that this is an entry-level phone that you can already find for 150€ in China. For this price you probably won't find better.

Specifications


The information below comes from the Device Info HW application. The application provides detailed technical information about the tested phone.On a daily base, the phone performs without any problem all the common tasks, I note a slight delay in the display compared to a Redmi Note 9s but this is logical because the latter offers a performance almost 50% higher.

I tested the 3Gb / 64 Gb version which answers to the code name "Merlin" and the MT6768 version. Here are the characteristics of the phone:



CPU / GPU Performance

CPU : MediaTek Helio G70
GPU : Mali-G52 MC2 950MHz
Memory (RAM) : 3 - 4 Gb
Storage : 64-128 Gb

Benchmark Antutu/3DMark

I got a score of 191,000 points with Antutu v8. With this kind of score, the Redmi Note 9 offers a performance 10% higher than the previous model while remaining in the same price range. The jump in performance is usually greater between two generations, so this Redmi Note 9 does not stand out clearly from the previous model.

The performance increases a little bit in the processor and the graphics chipset but it is especially on the UX indicator that the Redmi Note 9 is ahead of the previous model. This element should bring more comfort in daily use.



I couldn't get 3DMark to work on the Redmi Note 9, this is the first time this has happened to me. The phone may still be too new.

Antutu score : 191381
Antutu CPU : 72743
Antutu GPU : 34491
Antutu UX : 42967
Antutu Mem : 41180

Top 10 - performance ranking based on Antutu
1. Poco F2 Pro - 569559
2. Samsung Galaxy S20 - 503905
3. Xiaomi Mi 9t Pro - 430403
4. Xiaomi Mi Mix 3 5g - 385000
5. Oppo Reno 5g - 375000
6. Meizu 16s - 374190
7. Xiaomi Mi 9 - 372006
8. Sony Xperia 1 - 372000
9. Lg G8s Thinq - 371000
10. Lg V50 Thinq 5g - 370000

Number of smartphones in the ranking:102
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:41/102

Note: this ranking only contains the phones I tested as well as a few others that I added for reference.

Gaming
To test the performance in game, I download the mobile PUBG game and evaluate the in-game experience, graphics level and depth of vision. This game is quite demanding and should help you evaluating the performance of a phone.The Redmi Note 9 is not a phone designed for gamers, you will be able to play most of the games available in the Play Store with sometimes some concessions in terms of graphics but overall the phone offers enough performance to play in good conditions.



Network performance

The Redmi Note 9 is compatible with most frequencies in Europe. It even offers compatibility with the 700 Mhz frequency (B28), which will be useful for Bouygues and Free customers in France.

3G frequencies : B1 (2100), B2 (1900), B4 (1700/2100 AWS A-F), B5 (850), B8 (900)
4G frequencies : B1 (2100), B2 (1900), B3 (1800), B4 (1700/2100 AWS 1), B5 (850), B7 (2600), B8 (900), B20 (800), B28 (700), B38 (TDD 2600), B40 (TDD 2300), B41 (TDD 2500)
Bluetooth : Bluetooth 5.0 LE
SAR / head : 0.795
SAR / body : 1.138
Volte : Yes
VoWifi : Yes
NFC : Yes
Number measurements : 1785
Average signal : -100.79
Download speed : 69
Upload speed : 60
Choose your country to check if your phone is compatible:


The frequencies displayed below will allow you to see if this phone is compatible with your operator or if you will be able to use it in the country where you are going on vacation.


Signal 4G
The ability to pick up the network correctly is an essential element for a phone but it is only very rarely measured. To measure a phone's ability to pick up the network, I perform a large number of measurements on the same cells to be able to compare phones under similar conditions. The signal is measured in dBm, a value of -90dBm indicates a worse signal than -70dBm. These measurements are therefore taken under real conditions and not in a laboratory, they are not scientific but give a good indication of performance.

Network signal sensitivity rating
Phone tested:Average signal (dBm)Number of measurements:
Xiaomi Mi 9t Pro-881600
Xiaomi Redmi Note 5-91.305600
Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite-93788
Samsung Galaxy A70-94.5111975
Nokia 5.3-94.98531
Realme 6-95.142301
Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro-95.9221599
Xiaomi Mi A3-95.951000
Huawei Y6 2019-95.951199
Redmi 9a-96.481000
Meizu Note 9-96.68937
Motorola G8 Power-96.881032
Xiaomi Redmi Note 7-97.011430
Redmi 9c-97.041000
Umidigi S3 Pro-97.131200
Xiaomi Redmi Note 8-97.34879
Samsung Galaxy A21s-97.781000
Umidigi F1-97.82298
Ulefone Armor 7e-98.71000
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite-991000
Honor 9x-99.14899
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s-99.41860
Poco F2 Pro-99.81247
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9-100.791785
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g-100.881198
Umidigi F2-101.47712

I made 1785 measurements in 4G to obtain an average signal of -100.79 dBm. This level of sensitivity to the network is in the low average of the ranking. If I compare the result with what I had obtained with the Redmi Note 8, I see that the Redmi Note 8 scores better. However, I cannot rule out a change in the network that would explain the degradation.

With this level of signal you will not experience any problems when the coverage is good but the phone may lose contact with the network faster when the network coverage is lower.



Download/Upload speed
To test the download speed, I have identified some 4G cells offering good performance where I test all my devices several times to see what download and upload speed they can achieve.
Top 10 - speed ranking in download
1. Samsung Galaxy S20 D:351Mbps U: 20Mbps
2. Poco X3 D:232Mbps U: 55Mbps
3. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g D:223Mbps U: 52Mbps
4. Poco F2 Pro D:207Mbps U: 53Mbps
5. Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite D:153Mbps U: 68Mbps
6. Xiaomi Mi A3 D:150Mbps U: 60Mbps
7. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s D:150Mbps U: 60Mbps
8. Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite D:149Mbps U: 60Mbps
9. Samsung Galaxy A21s D:147Mbps U: 51Mbps
10. Huawei Y6 2019 D:145Mbps U: 61Mbps

Number of smartphones in the ranking:30
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:23/30

Note: the theoretical maximum speed of a telephone is often limited by the configuration of the mobile network and the congestion of the network at the time of the measurement. So maybe you could get a higher speed on another network

I got a download speed of 60 Mbps and also 60 Mbps in upload. I know that the network used is capable of doing better because I have obtained much higher speeds with other phones. The fact that the speed seems to be capped at 60 Mbps would indicate that the limitation comes from the phone.

The Redmi Note 9 is clearly not one of the fastest phones but I have had fairly similar results with previous models. With a speed of this type, you will be able to stream in HD without any problem.



Wifi performance

To test a phone's ability to receive the network properly, I take measurements near my router and then remotely (and always at the same place). This gives me an average in dBm where a value of -90 dBm indicates poorer performance than a value at -30 dBm.
Wifi frequencies : 802.11a, 802.11b, 802.11g, 802.11n, 802.11n 5GHz, 802.11ac
Download speed : 207
Signal / close : -19
Signal / distant : -77
Wifi signal
I measured -19 dBm near the router, that's one of the best scores I've gotten so far. From a distance I measured -77 dBm, which is far below the average. The Redmi Note 9 offers a very good performance near the router but when you move away the quality degrades faster.




Top 10 - wifi sensitivity ranking
1. Poco F2 Pro -11dBm
2. Samsung Galaxy A21s -13dBm
3. Poco X3 -17dBm
4. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s -18dBm
5. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro -19dBm
6. Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite -19dBm
7. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g -19dBm
8. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 -19dBm
9. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 -19dBm
10. Redmi 9a -19dBm

Number of smartphones in the ranking:30
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:9/30


Download/Upload speed
To test the speed in Wifi, I connect to my router in 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz (if available) and use the Ookla application to measure the speed.Good signal quality often translates into good performance in download speed and this can be verified with Redmi Note 9. I got a download speed of 207 Mbps, that's a very good score. With this kind of performance you will be able to use this phone for both downloading and watching HD movies.




Top 10 - wifi download speed ranking
1. Samsung Galaxy S20 351Mbps
2. Poco F2 Pro 341Mbps
3. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro 319Mbps
4. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g 300Mbps
5. Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite 260Mbps
6. Poco X3 251Mbps
7. Xiaomi Redmi Note 7 250Mbps
8. Umidigi F1 220Mbps
9. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 211Mbps
10. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 207Mbps

Number of smartphones in the ranking:30
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:10/30

Note: I have a 400Mbps line and a modem capable of delivering higher speed, but I can never be sure how much bandwidth is available when doing a test.

GPS performance


To test the quality of the GPS signal I use the Offline Maps application and I make the same train trip in pedestrian mode. Why? In pedestrian mode, the GPS does not artificially correct the signal to stick to the road, it has no markings, so you can see the actual position. I then use an application to measure the accuracy of the signal.

The Redmi Note 9 has a GPS accuracy of 1m, which is a very good score. The GPS positioning is good but when you move from an uncovered area to a covered area (e.g. tunnel or underground car park) it may take a few seconds to recover the signal.


Top 10 - GPS accuracy ranking
1. Redmi 9a 1m
2. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 1m
3. Redmi 9c 2m
4. Samsung Galaxy A21s 4m

Number of smartphones in the ranking:5
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:2/5

Note: An accuracy of 3 meters or less can easily be corrected by a good GPS application. Phone performance also plays a role in how fast your display updates, so good accuracy could be compromised by too slow a display.

Battery range

Capacity : 5020
Fast charge : Yes
W max : 18
Range (100% brightness) : 650.00
Range (50% brightness) : 1808.00
Charging time : 162.00
Discharge speed (100%) : 0.15
Discharge score (100%) : 7.72
Discharge speed (50%) : 0.06
Discharge score (50%) : 2.78
Charging speed : 0.62
Charging score : 30.99
From March 2020, I replaced my subjective battery test with a technical test to better measure the real behaviour of the battery. Now I test the autonomy and charging time under absolutely identical conditions. I perform several measurements, so this test alone takes several days during which I cannot use the phone for anything else.

Battery life - methodology
To test the battery life, I measure the battery consumption every minute in strictly identical conditions to be able to compare phones and also to allow you to evaluate your phone in the same conditions. I rule out any influence of applications that could interfere with the measurement. The autonomy is not linear, the battery sometimes discharges much faster at the end. This is a frustrating phenomenon but with my measurements, you will know if you need to find a charger quickly.

Battery life
The battery of the Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 has a capacity of 5020 mAh and has discharged from 100% to 1% in 650.00 minutes with 100% brightness, it has discharged from 100% to 1% in 1808.00 minutes with 50% brightness. I obtain in this way an average discharge speed of 0.15% per minute with 100% luminosity and 0.06% per minute with 50% luminosity, the consumption is therefore 7.72 mA per minute with 100% luminosity and 2.78 with 50% luminosity. To be able to compare the efficiency of the phone and its influence on the battery, you have to compare the 7.72 (or 50%) score with that of other smartphones, the figure should be as low as possible.

Charging time - methodology
To test the charging time, I always use the same charger with the same cable. I measure the charging time minute by minute to see the evolution of the charge as well as the charging speed. The charging speed of a battery is not linear, it is often faster at the beginning and slower at the end. The charger is compatible with fast charging.

Charging time
The battery of the Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 has a capacity of 5020 mAh and has been charged from 1% to 100% in 162.00 minutes. This gives me an average charging speed of 0.62% per minute and therefore an increase of 30.99 mA per minute. To compare the performance of the Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 compared to other phones, you should use the 30.99 per minute score, this score should be as high as possible.

Important note: the charging speed is not always linear, the graph below gives you an indication of the battery behaviour.

The following table lists the phones tested with the technical battery test, they are ranked in order of efficiency. A higher battery capacity should logically result in a higher battery life but it is not always the case and it does not give any indication of the efficiency of a phone.

SmartphoneCapacity (mAh)Battery life (minutes)Efficiency ScoreBattery life (minutes) / 50%Efficiency Score / 50%Charging time.Score charging
Honor 9x4000770.005.191333.003.00151.0026.49
Samsung Galaxy S204000565.007.081217.003.29136.0029.41
Nokia 5.34000549.007.291096.003.65199.0020.10
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g4160749.005.551541.002.70163.0025.52
Realme 64300704.006.111104.003.89162.0026.54
Poco F2 Pro47001150.004.091536.003.06180.0026.11
Redmi 9c5000656.007.621915.002.61170.0029.41
Redmi 9a5000694.007.201902.002.63195.0025.64
Samsung Galaxy A21s5000729.006.861283.003.90166.0030.12
Motorola G8 Power5000912.005.482792.001.79311.0016.08
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s5020663.007.571876.002.68224.0022.41
Xiaomi Redmi Note 95020650.007.721808.002.78162.0030.99
Umidigi F25150927.005.561854.002.78299.0017.22
Poco X35160653.007.901654.003.12181.0028.51
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite5260827.006.361609.003.27208.0025.29
Ulefone Armor 7e5500768.007.161140.004.82179.0030.73

helpHow to read these figures?
The battery capacity is an important element in determining the autonomy of a phone but it is not the only factor. A phone with a large battery may have a shorter battery life if it consumes more power. If I had to take an example from everyday life, I would use the universe of the car. If a car has a large fuel tank, it should be able to drive a longer distance unless its average fuel consumption is higher. The battery efficiency score works the same way, it should be as low as possible and represents the energy consumption of the phone. These differences in efficiency are often related to the brightness of the screen, large bright screens will tend to consume more energy and even if they have a large battery, their range will be shorter.

In summary [battery product="xiaomi-redmi-note-9" capa="5020" lg="en"]
The Redmi Note 9 has a 5020 mAh battery, which is well above the average in this price range. I think only the Umidigi F2 does better with its 5150 mAh.

The Redmi Note 9 has the same battery capacity as the Redmi Note 9s but I am not sure if it is the same battery as the Redmi Note 9s as the performance is much better on the Redmi Note 9 both in terms of charging time and range. The difference could also be explained by a less bright display, the test with the probe should validate or invalidate this hypothesis. It could also be that the Mediatek processor is less greedy than the Snapdragon.

The Redmi Note 9s offers a good battery performance but the Redmi Note 9 is much better. It lasted 30 hours with the screen on at 50%.

Photo camera test

To test the quality of photos produced by a phone, I do a technical test (resolution, sharpness, chromatic aberration,...) in studio (identical conditions) to evaluate the technical part objectively. From the second half of 2020, I built my own laboratory to take completely objective technical measurements. I then take pictures in real conditions to see how the camera performs. I then evaluate these photos according to my criteria but I publish the photos so that you can evaluate the result according to your criteria.

Hardware

Selfie / resolution : 13
Resolution : 48
Sensor : Samsung S5KGM1
Video resolution : 1080p
mm wide angle : 3.74mm
mm zoom : 4.74mm
The Redmi Note 9 is equipped with a Samsung S5KGM1 sensor that is found on many other phones such as the Redmi Note 7 or the Redmi Note 8. Xiaomi has not made a big effort on this side, so it remains to be seen if they have made improvements in image processing that could make a difference. This sensor produced good results on the Redmi Note 7, I remember in particular the night mode I tested in Stockholm, the result was amazing. So I'm curious to see if Xiaomi has managed to improve this sensor a year after the launch of the Redmi Note 7.

Default app
If you've used a Xiaomi before, you'll have no trouble adapting to the default photo application. Xiaomi has standardized the photo experience on most of her models. This makes the transition from one phone to another easier, but the defects of the application are present in all phones at the same time.

Overall this application works well, I can't really complain but where most manufacturers are moving towards a simpler photo application, Xiaomi persists in its choice to offer many options and sometimes you have to search for a particular option.

What always annoys me with their application is the presence of zoom icons on the main screen. These icons are small and therefore difficult to read, nor do they offer sufficient contrast to see them when the scene to be photographed is very brightly lit. So you have to press several times to hope to touch one of the zoom buttons.




Photoquality

Photo test / studio
First example: ƒ/1.79 1/461 4.74 mm 100 ISO
xiaomi redmi note 9 test avis review recencione prueba photo test studio 2
Exposure: almost correct
Sharpness: good
Colours: slightly too warm
Depth of field: good
Distortion: none
Chromatic aberration: none
Vignetting: none
Digital noise: none

The Redmi Note 7 using the same sensor had not produced good results in the studio, the Redmi Note 9 does a better job here. The photo is better exposed but Xiaomi chose for a warmer rendering and under the artificial light of the studio it is clearly visible. The sharpness zone is on the character in white and Harry potter, the sharpness in this zone is good.

Second example: ƒ/2,2 1/244 1,65 mm 111 ISO
xiaomi redmi note 9 test avis review recencione prueba photo test studio 4
Exposure: good
Sharpness: slightly smooth
Colours: a little too cold
Depth of field: good
Distortion: none
Chromatic aberration: none
Vignetting: none
Digital noise: none

The ultra-wide angle sensor of the Redmi Note 9 produces a very different type of photo, it produces cooler but closer to reality photos and loses some sharpness at the edges. Ultra-wide-angle sensors often produce underexposed photos, but this is not the case here.

Third example: ƒ/1.79 1/494 4.74 mm ISO 101
xiaomi redmi note 9 test avis review recencione prueba photo test studio 3
Exposure: almost correct
Sharpness: good
Colours: slightly too warm
Depth of field: good
Distortion: none
Chromatic aberration: none
Vignetting: none
Digital noise: none

The zoom is a digital zoom, it is made from the main sensor, so the photo has the same characteristics as the first photo.

Fourth example: ƒ/1.79 1/500 4.74 mm 100 ISO
xiaomi redmi note 9 test avis review recencione prueba photo test studio 7
Exposure: good
Sharpness: good
Colours: too cold
Depth of field: good
Distortion: none
Chromatic aberration: none
Vignetting: none
Digital noise: none

I wanted to see if the warmer colours came from the sensor or from a processing done by the device. So I took a picture in manual mode by forcing the color temperature to 4500K. The result shows that the sensor is perfectly capable of reproducing colder photos which means that Xiaomi made a choice for these warm colors. The good news is that this choice can be modified from the photo application if you don't like the color temperature.


Photo test / sunny
First example: ƒ/1.79 1/3690 4.74 mm 105 ISO
redmi note 9 avis test review recencione prueba opinion qualite photo 1
Exposure: almost OK
Sharpness: good
Colours: lack of saturation
Depth of field: good
Distortion: none
Chromatic aberration: none
Vignetting: none
Digital noise: none

The sun was hidden by the clouds and the scenery was not very bright. However, I note a lack of saturation and a too cold colouring. This result does not correspond to what I was able to obtain with previous models that used the same sensor. As for the studio photos, I immediately suspected a problem with the default photo application. To test what the sensor can do, I took the same picture with the Open Cam application in RAW mode. This mode produces very neutral photos where you can then push the photo to the desired result. Here's what I get with the Redmi Note 9 and Open Cam:

redmi note 9 test quality photo raw 1

You'd think the picture was taken with another phone, but it's not, it's the Redmi Note 9.

Second example: ƒ/1.79 1/1996 4.74 mm 103 ISO
redmi note 9 avis test review recencione prueba opinion qualite photo 2
Exposure: almost OK
Sharpness: good
Colours: overexposure of whites
Depth of field: good
Distortion: none
Chromatic aberration: none
Vignetting: none
Digital noise: none

The photo does not present any great difficulty and you can see that the phone has chosen to calibrate the image according to the darkest part of the photo. This choice leads to an overexposure of the sky. Here again, I took an almost identical picture with Open Cam to see what the sensor is able to do:

redmi note 9 test quality photo raw 2

The setting I used in Open Cam was probably a bit too aggressive because the sky took an unrealistic coloring, the rest of the picture shows however the level of detail and the richness of colors that the camera is able to reproduce.

Third example: ƒ/2.2 1/10753 1.65 mm 120 ISO
redmi note 9 avis test review recencione prueba opinion qualite photo 3
Exposure: correct
Sharpness: correct
Colours: lack of saturation
Depth of field: good
Distortion: slight
Chromatic aberration: none
Vignetting: none
Digital noise: none

I was positively surprised by the level of detail of the wide angle sensor because usually this type of sensor produces too smooth pictures. The photo clearly lacks saturation and it's a pity because with just a little more saturation you can get a very different result.

redmi note 9 avis test review recencione prueba opinion qualite photo 4

How did I get this picture? It's very simple, I opened the photo in the gallery, used the editing tool and set the improvements to "auto". With a single click and directly on the phone, you get a much better result.

What should I think of the photo quality? I don't know what Xiaomi did, but I note here a regression from the previous model. This regression is not hardware related because when I use another application, I get a much better result. I feel like Xiaomi threw this phone at the hurry-up and neglected the photo part.

Here are a few more examples that show that sometimes the picture is good and sometimes not:



For the bravest among you, you can get much better pictures with a few manipulations using OpenCam in RAW mode. Then you just have to bring the colours back to where they should be and here are some examples:



The score I will give to the photo will not take into account this possibility of improvement because I start from the point of view that a phone should produce beautiful photos without effort.

Photo test / cloudy
xiaomi redmi note 9 test avis recensione opinion revision clouds 1

When the brightness is not very good, the Redmi Note 9 produces photos that are not up to what the Redmi Note 8 was capable of producing. The photo is underexposed and the colour temperature is not good. These are in fact the same faults found in daytime photos but these faults are much more visible when the brightness drops.


Test photo / night
Main sensor
redmi note 9 test quality photo raw night 1

The night photos produced by the main sensor are not too bad, I was expecting a less good result considering the problems found for the day photos.

The photo lacks sharpness and the grain is visible but it is not dramatic.

Ultra wide angle sensor
redmi note 9 test quality photo raw night 2
The ultra wide angle sensor does not expose the photos enough, so the photo is too dark. Sharpness is also poorer, especially at the periphery of the photo. These defects are the same on most ultra wide angle sensors, so the Redmi Note 9 is neither better nor worse than the others.

Night mode
redmi note 9 test quality photo raw night 4

The Redmi Note 9 has a night mode like its predecessors. This night mode enhances sharpness and combines multiple photos to improve exposure. The picture is sharper and the exposure is actually better, but the processing of the picture is a bit too strong. The street lighting seems to be surrounded by a gas and the grain is even more visible than in the photo taken without the night mode.

These problems are not too serious for a camera in this price range but the night mode of the Redmi Note 7 was more effective.



Video quality

Stabilisation
The Redmi Note 9 does not seem to offer video stabilization. On the other models of the brand, there is a possibility in the settings to enable or disable stabilization, this possibility does not exist on the Redmi Note 9. This is a curious choice, it is also a regression from the previous model.



Video normale conditions

The Redmi Note 9 is capable of capturing 1080p video at 30 fps, which is quite common in this price range. The sharpness of the videos is really good but the adjustments to changes in brightness are visible, the image sometimes seems to jump. The colour temperature is not correct, this was already the case on photos taken with the main sensor.

Video low light


The night videos produced by the Redmi Note 9 are quite noisy, the grain is highly visible. As for the daytime video, the change of exposure is quite visible and for this night video, the Redmi seems to be looking for the area where it has to focus. The exposure is not very good either.

The night videos of the Redmi Note 9 are not very good but we must not forget that in this price range it is the same for all phones and I would even say that the Redmi does better than the others.

Audio quality

To test the quality of the phone's audio output, I connect the device's audio output to a measuring tool, then play sounds on all frequencies and measure the differences between the original sound and the sound produced by the phone. In this way I measure the phone's ability to correctly reproduce all sounds.
Frequency Respons : 0.01 / -0.19
Noise Level : -73.9
Dynamic Range : 73.7
THD : 0.116
Intermodulation : 0.055
Stereo crosstalk : -74.3
The Redmi Note 9 is equipped with a simple speaker at the bottom of the phone like most phones in this price range. This speaker does not produce a very powerful sound and the high frequencies are quite pronounced. The maximum volume is more than enough to listen to music but the volume is lower than the average of the phones I tested.

With headphones, the maximum volume is always below what I tested. On the other hand, the sound is better, the sounds are more balanced.

Frequency Response
This test is intended to test the device's ability to correctly reproduce all frequencies. The white line in the middle of the graph is the ideal situation and the other colors come from tests on different phones. A deviation from the reference line indicates a deviation from the ideal situation. To see good sound at all frequencies, it is therefore necessary to get as close as possible to the reference line. redmi note 9 frequency respons

The Redmi Note 9 reproduces the frequencies quite faithfully and offers a more stable rendering than the Redmi Note 9s. This confirms what I perceived when listening to music with the headphones.

Dynamic Range
This test is designed to test a phone's ability to play sounds at different volume levels. Here too, the phones must be as close as possible to the reference.redmi note 9 dynamic range
Here too, the Redmi Note 9 offers a stable performance but with a clear deficit in volume, which I had perceived from subjective listening is also true here.

Noise Level
This test aims to identify if the device under test is able to reproduce sounds without too much noise. A high score indicates a low parasite rate, a lower score indicates a higher presence of parasites.redmi note 9 noise level
Redmi Note 9 reproduces sound without interference and offers stable performance across all frequencies, for this test the frequency reproduction is similar to Redmi Note 9s at a lower volume.

The Redmi Note 9 delivers a midrange sound performance with distortion in the midrange as well. It is at the volume level that Redmi Note 9 makes a difference by offering a volume about 20% lower than the average.

Concert recording
The purpose of this test is to measure the recording quality of the phone when there is a lot of ambient noise. Since I don't have the opportunity to go to a concert every time I test a phone, I simulate the noise of a concert in a closed environment.Not yet available / tested

Screen quality

To test the screen, I use a colorimetric probe that measures the color accuracy of a screen, as well as other parameters to see if a screen is able to correctly reproduce an image. I also test the brightness level to determine if the screen will be able to display an image in full sunlight.
Screen size : 6.53
Resolution : 1080 x 2340
Ratio : 19.5:9
Protection : Corning Gorilla Glass 5
Type : IPS LCD
% occupancy : 83
dE white : 1.1
dE red : 2
dE green : 1.2
dE blue : 2.2
dE jaune : 3.0
dE cyan : 1.2
dE magenta : 5.5
Contrast : 1056:1
Brightness : 310
Colorimetry
redmi note 9 screen calibration

The Redmi Note 9's screen is not properly calibrated due to its default setting of "vivid color" mode. If you change this setting to switch the phone to "normal" mode you will get very good colorimetry and in this price range you probably won't find better.

The white has a temperature of 6100k, this gives it a little cold look but it is not very far from the norm (6500k).


Top 10 - ranking of the best screens by colorimetry
1. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g dE = 0.73
2. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 dE = 1.2
3. Samsung Galaxy S20 dE = 1.4
4. Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite dE = 1.46
5. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s dE = 1.47
6. Honor 9x dE = 1.5
7. Poco F2 Pro dE = 1.73
8. Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite dE = 1.91
9. Samsung Galaxy S10+ dE = 2.01
10. Xiaomi Mi 9t Pro dE = 2.11

Number of smartphones in the ranking:29
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:11/29

Note: the colorimetric difference is measured in dE. After three, the human eye will perceive a colorimetric difference, so the dE should be the lowest. The tests were all carried out with a colorimetric probe.

Brightness / Contrast
L'écran du Redmi Note 9 est nettement moins lumineux que les modèles précédents. Avec une luminosité normale, le téléphone produira un peu plus de 230 cd/m et si j'inonde le capteur de lumière pour simuler la lumière du soleil, la luminosité monte à 310 cd/m. Le Redmi Note 7 pouvait monter à 433 cd/m, le Redmi Note 9 régresse donc par rapport à la génération précédente.

Avec 310 cd/m vous aurez du mal à lire votre écran en plein soleil.

By measuring the contrast with my probe, I obtained a contrast of 1056:1. This is a below average contrast level, I got much better results with previous models.

Light Absorption/Reflection
The smartphone screen reflect light and sometimes turn them into a real mirror. This mirror effect makes it harder to read.

The absorption index below indicates the percentage of light absorbed by the screen. The readability of a screen is better when the absorption index is high.

Phone tested:% light absorption
Samsung Galaxy S10+58
Xiaomi Mi 9T Pro52
Honor 9x65
Redmi Note 9s55
Motorola G8 Power60
Realme 654
Umidigi F248
Poco F2 Pro52
Redmi Note 956
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite53
Samsung Galaxy S2047
Samsung Galaxy A21s53
The phones tested have an average absroption rate of54 %

Biometry

Xiaomi has probably already tried everything when it comes to biometrics, the Redmi Note 9 goes back to a classic configuration with a fingerprint sensor on the back and 2D facial recognition.

The rear fingerprint sensor is fast and it's a real pleasure to find a phone with this type of sensor because the sensors on the side or on the screen are less efficient.

Operating system



When I bought the Redmi Note 9 it was running on MIUI 11 but it was quickly upgraded to MIUI 12. If you buy it and it also runs on MIUI 11, you will probably get an update fairly quickly.

MIUI 12 works very well on the Redmi Note 9, so you get the same functionality as on the more expensive models. I just noticed a slowdown in the camera menus.


Encoutered bugs

Not yet available / tested

Accessories Redmi Note 9

To better enjoy your experience with your smartphone, I offer links to all kinds of accessories that you might find useful

Protective cover / case xiaomi redmi note 9
Screen protection film xiaomi redmi note 9
Memory card xiaomi redmi note 9
USB Cable / Charger xiaomi redmi note 9
Headphones xiaomi redmi note 9
Bike rack xiaomi redmi note 9

Compare Redmi Note 9 with the others

I assigned a score of 1 to 10 for each test that determines the strengths and weaknesses of a product. I am using 0 for criteria that have not (yet) been tested. A score of 1 to 3 indicates poor performance (and yes, it does), a score of 4 to 6 indicates average performance, a score of 7 to 8 indicates good performance, and a score of 9 and 10 indicates exceptional performance. .
The score is calculated based on my measurements and when there are no measurements, it is a subjective opinion based on my experience.

The scores are not static, they change over time because the performance of new products changes and this must be taken into account.

Xiaomi Redmi Note 9
Finish quality6.006.00
Battery performance8.006.00
CPU performance6.005.00
GPU performance6.005.00
Screen quality7.005.00
Photo quality5.005.00
Video quality5.005.00
Wi-Fi performance7.005.00
Mobile download speed5.005.00
Mobile network sensitivity6.006.00
Frequency coverage7.006.00
Audio quality6.006.00
GPS performance6.006.00
Operating system8.007.00
Overall score8878
Global ranking
1. Samsung Galaxy S20 112 / 140
2. Poco F2 Pro 111 / 140
3. Samsung Galaxy S10+ 107 / 140
4. Xiaomi Mi 9t Pro 106 / 140
5. Poco X3 102 / 140
6. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g 101 / 140
7. Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite 101 / 140
8. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro 100 / 140
9. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s 98 / 140
10. Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite 98 / 140
11. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 97 / 140
12. Xiaomi Redmi Note 7 94 / 140
13. Realme 6 93 / 140
14. Motorola G8 Power 91 / 140
15. Nokia 5.3 89 / 140
16. Xiaomi Mi A3 89 / 140
17. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 88 / 140
18. Honor 9x 88 / 140
19. Meizu Note 9 86 / 140
20. Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite 86 / 140
21. Xiaomi Redmi Note 5 85 / 140
22. Umidigi S3 Pro 83 / 140
23. Umidigi F2 82 / 140
24. Samsung Galaxy A21s 82 / 140
25. Redmi 9a 81 / 140
26. Redmi 9c 80 / 140
27. Ulefone Armor 7e 80 / 140
28. Honor 8x 78 / 140
29. Umidigi F1 77 / 140
30. Huawei Y6 2019 74 / 140

Test / Review conclusion

I was expecting a big evolution with this new generation of Redmi but this evolution didn't happen, I'm a bit disappointed. Xiaomi had until now managed to set the bar higher with each generation, this is not the case with this Redmi Note 9 but I think it was a deliberate choice.

Why is this? The Redmi Note 9 is available at a lower price, this makes it possible to position the Redmi Note 9s at a slightly higher price and then a Redmi Note 9 Pro a little bit higher. Xiaomi tries to occupy all price ranges. There's the Redmi 9A under 80€, the Redmi 9C under 100€, the Redmi Note 9 under 150€, the Redmi Note 9s under 200€ and the Redmi Note 9 Pro under 250€. 4 months after the launch of the Redmi Note 9, there are even Redmi Note 9s close to €100 in China.

Is the Redmi Note 9 a bad device? No, but it regresses compared to its predecessors on several points. This regression is accompanied by a more aggressive price and if you look at the competition in this price range, Xiaomi still manages to stand out.

In the end, my biggest disappointment with this phone is the camera's colour management. The Redmi Note 9 uses the same photo sensor as the Redmi Note 8 but the photo processing is not as good. In principle, Xiaomi should be able to fix this problem with an update.


Strengths
Reference battery life
GPS signal accuracy
Good screen colorimetry
Sharpness of photos/videos


Weaknesses
Colour temperature photos/videos
Photo quality in bad weather
Screen brightness


Alternatives to this product

Comments

Join the discussion / Ask your questions

Your comment will be published after validation. I respond to over 1500 comments a year in my spare time, so I can't always respond very quickly. Your email address will not be publicly visible and it will not be used for commercial purposes.









Be notified by email when a response is published