On this page:
Price Xiaomi Redmi Note 9T
Unpacking
First configuration
Finish
Specifications
CPU / GPU Performance
Benchmark Antutu/3DMark
Network performance
Wifi performance
GPS performance
Battery range
Photo camera test
Hardware
Photo quality
Video quality
Audio quality
Screen quality
Biometry
Operating system
Test / Review conclusion
Questions answers

Best new price:
206.91 EUR
See the offer | EdwayBuy

1 other prices available in other stores.

Subscribe
Subscribe to my YouTube channel to receive updates.
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9T : test / review

Xiaomi Redmi Note 9T: test / review

Category: Tests / Reviews

Xiaomi continues to launch many phones to the point of making their positioning difficult to understand. The Redmi Note 9T is a mid-range phone that comes in opposition to the Samsung Galaxy A51 and A52 (expected to be released in March/April).[b][b]Xiaomi has a component library that allows them to assemble phones with just a few differences between models. Last year the Redmi Note 8T was a declination of the Redmi Note 8 for the European market. The Redmi Note 9T has nothing to do with the Redmi Note 9, it is a slightly different phone.[b][b]The common points with the Redmi Note 9 are:[b]- size, weight, camera[b][b]The differences:[b]- 5G, 1Gb more memory, twice as much power, better finish[b]The test will probably reveal other differences.[b][b]I bought the Redmi Note 9T on Aliexpress (origin Europe) in presale at 185€. So take advantage of this offer because the price will increase to 229€! (click on the link where I bought it to benefit from this offer too).[b][b][b][b][b]linkManufacturer web site: https://www.mi.com[b]linkSite where I have bought the Xiaomi Redmi Note 9T: https://s.click.aliexpress.com/e/_AtAcf3[b]

Structure of my tests

I test the phones according to a pre-established structure (see below) to provide you with as much information as possible. Unfortunately, this takes a long time. Some tests like network performance tests take several days and for photo tests I sometimes have to wait until the weather is suitable to take pictures in good conditions. I am therefore obliged to publish the tests step by step, so I invite you to come back if the test is not complete at the time of your visit.[b]
How are my tests different from others on the web?

- I usually buy the devices with my own money, so price is just as important as you are!
- I keep the devices for at least a few weeks (sometimes more) to see what they are worth in real conditions.
- I answer (when possible) your questions to help you decide before you buy
- no one pays me to do these reviews, so I'm completely neutral and independent...
- My pages are not filled with ads



iiiF150 R2022 : test / review
Realme 6 test, review and price
Xiaomi Redmi Note 7 test, review and price
Umidigi F1 test, review and price
Poco M3 Pro : test / review
Redmi Note 10s : test / review
Poco F2 review - test - specs
Lemfo Lem15: test / review / price
Realme GT 5G : test / review
Samsung Galaxy A52: test / review

Price Xiaomi Redmi Note 9T

The list below shows the prices for the Xiaomi Redmi Note 9T from more than 50 sites around the world. If you are not satisfied with any price, you can subscribe to a price alert to be the first to be notified when the price drops.[b]
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9T 4+64GB - EU Version...
2021-09-18 07:01
230 USD
[b]
helpThe above links are affiliate links from companies such as Amazon, Gearbest, Aliexpress,... If you appreciate my work, I would be grateful if you could purchase these products through these links. It costs you absolutely nothing but I get a small commission that allows me to buy the material I test. Thank you very much!

Timeline

11/01/2021 purchase of Redmi Note 9T in pre-sale on Aliexpress[b]19/01/2021 reception of Redmi Note 9T, start of the test[b][b]

Why this phone?

The Redmi Note 9T is sold between 200 and 300€, it is in this price range that I buy the most phones. I was a bit disappointed by the Redmi Note 9 because its level of finish had deteriorated compared to the previous model and the quality of the photos was also less good. So I hope Xiaomi has corrected the situation with this new model which offers more power than a Poco X3 or Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite while remaining competitive in price.[b][b]The Redmi Note 9T is 5G compatible and with its price positioning, it is the cheapest 5G phone on the market (at the time of launch).[b][b]

Unpacking

[b][b]The Xiaomi boxes follow each other and look alike. I can see that Xiaomi is reusing to the maximum its large component toolbox, this is also seen for the boxes that were once all a little different. Today all the boxes are the same in terms of size, the visuals sometimes change but the content remains the same. The box contains the phone, a charger, a USB cable, a manual, a transparent shell and a needle to open the SIM drawer (which can hold 2 sim cards and a memory card).[b][b][b][b]
Length : 161.9
Width : 77.3
Thickness : 9
Weight : 199
Jack output : Yes
USB Type : Type C

First configuration

The configuration of MIUI 12 follows the same steps as other phones running the same operating system, however I notice a little subtlety each time to encourage you to sign up for the Xiaomi cloud. I repeat it each time but it's also because Xiaomi applies small changes that probably result in the accidental creation of a Xiaomi Cloud account.[b][b]Their latest trick? Towards the end of the configuration, you come across an untitled screen asking if you want to re-use your Google or Xiaomi account. This is a normal question in a configuration process except that here it has nothing to do with the phone's configuration. If you click on "Google" thinking about installing your Google account on the phone, you will involuntarily sign up to the Xiaomi cloud. If you ask to skip this step, the phone will ask you a second time if you are sure you don't want to register.[b][b]The move to a paid version of Google Photos in June 2020 will surely incite Xiaomi to try to get as many customers as possible, they are right but I think they should do it in a more transparent way.[b][b]

Finish

[b][b]In the last two years, Xiaomi has tried everything. I've seen phones in all colours, sometimes with matt plain surfaces, sometimes shiny, sometimes gradient, sometimes glass, sometimes metal, sometimes plastic, ... The Redmi Note 9T takes the textured surface of the Redmi 9C and adds a gradient effect. The phone is actually quite uniform in colour, but depending on the angle of the light, a gradient effect is obtained. The texture looks a bit like a pair of jeans trousers. [b][b]You should always take price into account when making judgements about finishes and colours. The Redmi Note 9T is a little bit better than the Redmi Note 9 in terms of price and I think it is indeed a little better designed. The back shell of the Redmi Note 9 would sink in as soon as you touched it and the plastic layer was so thin that I could feel the components inside the phone. This is no longer the case for this model, the texture used is also less fanciful and the whole thing is better controlled.[b][b]Xiaomi has visibly corrected a big finishing flaw in their entry-level and mid-range phones. The photo sensor usually comes out quite strong, this is not the case here, this is a clear improvement. Positioning the sensor in the middle gives the phone a better balance when placed on a flat surface.[b][b]The fingerprint sensor is ideally positioned to accommodate the right thumb, but the volume buttons are so well integrated into the phone that they are harder to locate when touching them, there is no separation between the volume up and volume down buttons.[b][b]All in all, the Redmi Note 9T offers a very classic configuration with the mono speaker at the bottom, the USB type C port, the sim drawer on the left (2 sims + memory card at the same time), the infrared sensor at the top and the sound sensors.[b][b]The level of finish is therefore quite correct for this price.[b][b][b][b]

Specifications

[b]The information below comes from the Device Info HW application. The application provides detailed technical information about the tested phone.I bought the 4Gb / 64 Gb version and you will find the detailed specifications in the following screens. The Redmi Note 9T uses a processor that I haven't seen on any other phone yet and I am also surprised to see that the photo sensor is a 12 Million pixel sensor. Even though Xiaomi applies the binning pixel, the technical specifications usually indicate the total number of pixels.[b][b][b][b]

CPU / GPU Performance

CPU : MediaTek Dimensity 800U
GPU : ARM Mali-G57 MP4
Memory (RAM) : 4 Gb
Storage : 64 Gb - 128 Gb
[b][b]The Redmi Note 9T is equipped with a Mediatek Dimensity 800U CPU. I have never tested this type of CPU before but in theory it can be measured against a Qualcomm 765G and if this is true in the test, it means that the Redmi Note 9T offers an excellent price/performance ratio.[b][b]For the graphics part, the Redmi Note 9T is based on a Mali G57 GPU. I have not yet tested other phones with the same GPU but the performance should be close to a Qualcomm Adreno 620. [b][b]On paper, this Redmi Note 9T offers a very good performance compared to its price positioning. In theory, it offers a performance equivalent to the Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5G at almost €100 less.[b][b]

Benchmark Antutu/3DMark

I scored 289,000 points with Antutu. The Redmi Note 9T offers comparable performance to the Redmi Note 9s, Redmi Note 8 Pro, Poco X2 or Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite. [b][b]With such a score, the Redmi Note 9T should feel like a helper for both everyday tasks and 3D games. The price positioning of the Redmi Note 9T compared to phones like the Mi 10 Lite will give the Redmi Note 9T a good price/performance ratio, which is one of its strengths.[b][b][b][b]
Antutu score : 289149
Antutu CPU : 96026
Antutu GPU : 82817
Antutu UX : 53809
Antutu Mem : 56497
[b]Top 10 - performance ranking based on Antutu
1. Realme Gt - 811858
2. Oppo Find X2 Pro - 605184
3. Oneplus 8t - 595000
4. Poco F3 - 589677
5. Xiaomi Mi 10t Pro - 581650
6. Oneplus 8 Pro - 579417
7. Xiaomi Mi 10 - 579114
8. Poco F2 Pro - 569559
9. Samsung Galaxy S20 Fe - 565000
10. Samsung Galaxy S20 - 503905

Number of smartphones in the ranking:128
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:38/128

Note: this ranking only contains the phones I tested as well as a few others that I added for reference.
[b]Gaming[b]To test the performance in game, I download the mobile PUBG game and evaluate the in-game experience, graphics level and depth of vision. This game is quite demanding and should help you evaluating the performance of a phone.[b][b]PUBG Mobile is a game optimised for all types of phones, so you can use a low-powered phone as well as a higher-powered one. The difference will be noticeable in the gaming experience with the level of graphics or the fluidity of movements. The Redmi Note 9T is powerful enough to run PUBG Mobile in HD, so it offers a good gaming experience in terms of detail, animation and movement.[b][b]

Network performance

Phones produced by Xiaomi in the last 6 months tend to follow the same type of configuration for 3G/4G/5G frequencies. The Redmi Note 9T stands out a little bit from the crowd as it offers a much wider frequency coverage. It covers 19 4G frequencies and 12 5G frequencies.[b][b]As 5G is not yet widespread and there are still many questions about which frequencies to use, Redmi Note 9T should give you greater certainty that the phone will work properly the day 5G is available everywhere.[b][b]
3G frequencies : B1 (2100), B2 (1900), B4 (1700/2100 AWS A-F), B5 (850), B8 (900)
4G frequencies : B1 (2100), B2 (1900), B3 (1800), B4 (1700/2100 AWS 1), B5 (850), B7 (2600), B8 (900), B12 (700), B17 (700), B18 (800), B19 (800), B20 (800), B26 (850), B28 (700), B32 (1500), B38 (TDD 2600), B40 (TDD 2300), B41 (TDD 2500), B42 (TDD 3500)
5G frequencies : n1 (2100), n3 (1800), n5 (850), n7 (2600), n8 (900), n20 (800), n28 (700), n38 (2600), n41 (2500), n77 (3700), n78 (3500), n79 (4700)
Bluetooth : Bluetooth 5.1
Volte : Yes
NFC : Yes
Number measurements : 1201
Average signal (reference) : -92.149
Average signal (telephone) : -91.71
Average deviation reference/telephone : 0.43
Min/Max signal (reference) : -90 / -97
Min/Max signal (phone) : -91 / -97
Choose your country to check if your phone is compatible:


The frequencies displayed below will allow you to see if this phone is compatible with your operator or if you will be able to use it in the country where you are going on vacation.


Signal 4G (before december 2020)[b]The ability to pick up the network correctly is an essential element for a phone but it is only very rarely measured. To measure a phone's ability to pick up the network, I perform a large number of measurements on the same cells to be able to compare phones under similar conditions. The signal is measured in dBm, a value of -90dBm indicates a worse signal than -70dBm. These measurements are therefore taken under real conditions and not in a laboratory, they are not scientific but give a good indication of performance. [b][b]Network signal sensitivity rating
Phone tested:Average signal (dBm)Number of measurements:
Xiaomi Mi 9t Pro-881600
Xiaomi Redmi Note 5-91.305600
Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite-93788
Samsung Galaxy A70-94.5111975
Nokia 5.3-94.98531
Realme 6-95.142301
Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro-95.9221599
Xiaomi Mi A3-95.951000
Huawei Y6 2019-95.951199
Doogee S58 Pro-96.22856
Redmi 9a-96.481000
Meizu Note 9-96.68937
Motorola G8 Power-96.881032
Xiaomi Redmi Note 7-97.011430
Redmi 9c-97.041000
Umidigi S3 Pro-97.131200
Xiaomi Redmi Note 8-97.34879
Samsung Galaxy A21s-97.781000
Umidigi F1-97.82298
Ulefone Armor 7e-98.71000
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite-991000
Honor 9x-99.14899
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s-99.41860
Poco F2 Pro-99.81247
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9-100.791785
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g-100.881198
Poco X3-101.19821
Umidigi F2-101.47712
[b][b]Signal 4G (from December 2020)[b]I decided to change the methodology for measuring the network because I noticed that the configuration of the mobile network changes over time. This makes it more difficult to compare phones because the conditions are no longer exactly the same.[b][b]To overcome this problem, I set up a device that captures 24 hours a day about ten parameters from the mobile network (ex: cell id, rssi, rsrq, snr, frequency,...). I then place the phone next to the device for 24 to 48 hours taking the same measurements so that I can compare them. [b][b] Overview of the phones tested with this methodology[b][b]
Phone tested:MeasurementsAvg signal (reference)Avg signal (phone)Min/Max (reference)Min/Max (phone)
Samsung Galaxy S10+457-93.06-97.39-89 / -98-97 / -99
Xiaomi Mi 9t Pro669-93.69-95.84-90 / -95-92 / -98
Poco F2 Pro1438-91.02-94.99-89 / -94-94 / -96
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g1645-90.77-95.02- 88 / -98-95 / -100
Poco X3821-94.89-103.19-91 / -97.7-101 / -104
Umidigi Bison2343-92.71-96.46-90 / -99-94 / -102
Oukitel C211101-92.04-94.99-90 / -97-92 / -95
Poco M31116-92.09-91.74-88 / -98-90 / -99
Xiaomi Mi 10t Pro1071-90.61-94.03-88 / -94-94 / -96
Umidigi A9 Pro981-90.40-94.01-88 / -95-93 / -95
Redmi Note 9t1201-92.149-91.71-90 / -97-91 / -97
Xiaomi Redmi Note 10999-92.35-93.99-88 / -97-92 / -98
Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro877-89.72-90.56- 88 / -92-89 / -95
Poco X3 Pro1876-91.45-92.91-90 / -94-90 / -96
Poco F31382-90.79-94.2-89 / -94-93 / -98
Oneplus Nord N100896-91.23-96.005-88 / - 99-96 / -99
Xiaomi Mi 11 Lite2875-91.36-91.49-87 / -96-90 / -96
Samsung Galaxy A521427-89.27-93.39-87 / -98-92 / -96
Doogee S96 Pro1259-94.2-91.21-90 / -102-88 / -95
Xiaomi Redmi Note 10s957-92.07-97.62-90 / -102-96 / -102
Poco M3 Pro1247-91.76-102.97-99 / -104-88 / -98
Realme Gt843-96.49-94.02-93 / -101- 92 / -96
F150 R20221002-92.4-105.1-90 / -97-98 / -110
[b][b]If you read my tests regularly, you've probably noticed that Xiaomi has never been a champion in terms of network sensitivity. I recently tested the Poco M3 which ranked among the top phones in terms of network sensitivity and I now have the Redmi Note 9T added to the list. [b][b]
[b][b]The Redmi Note 9T gets a slightly better average signal than my meter, this is the second phone that manages to match the performance of my meter. The difference is not huge but compared to phones like the Poco X3, the difference is very large. The 4G signal is also quite stable and on the graph you can see that the Redmi Note 9T hits the maximum value more often than the reference device.[b][b][b][b]Download/Upload speed[b]To test the download speed, I have identified some 4G cells offering good performance where I test all my devices several times to see what download and upload speed they can achieve.[b]Top 10 - speed ranking in download
1. Samsung Galaxy S20 D:351Mbps U: 20Mbps
2. Poco X3 D:232Mbps U: 55Mbps
3. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g D:223Mbps U: 52Mbps
4. Poco F2 Pro D:207Mbps U: 53Mbps
5. Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite D:153Mbps U: 68Mbps
6. Xiaomi Mi A3 D:150Mbps U: 60Mbps
7. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s D:150Mbps U: 60Mbps
8. Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite D:149Mbps U: 60Mbps
9. Samsung Galaxy A21s D:147Mbps U: 51Mbps
10. Huawei Y6 2019 D:145Mbps U: 61Mbps

Number of smartphones in the ranking:30
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:0/30

Note: the theoretical maximum speed of a telephone is often limited by the configuration of the mobile network and the congestion of the network at the time of the measurement. So maybe you could get a higher speed on another network
[b][b]

Wifi performance

To test a phone's ability to receive the network properly, I take measurements near my router and then remotely (and always at the same place). This gives me an average in dBm where a value of -90 dBm indicates poorer performance than a value at -30 dBm.[b]
Wifi frequencies : 802.11a , 802.11b , 802.11g , 802.11n , 802.11n 5GHz , 802.11ac
Download speed : 332
Signal / close : -15
Signal / distant : -63
Wifi signal[b]I measured a -15 dbM signal near the router and a -63 dBm signal at a distance. These are above average values which indicates a good wifi sensitivity (in 2.4Ghz).[b][b][b]Top 10 - wifi sensitivity ranking
1. Poco F2 Pro -11dBm
2. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro -12dBm
3. Realme Gt -12dBm
4. Samsung Galaxy A21s -13dBm
5. Oneplus Nord N100 -15dBm
6. Poco X3 Pro -15dBm
7. Poco F3 -15dBm
8. Redmi Note 9t -15dBm
9. Samsung Galaxy A52 -17dBm
10. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10s -17dBm

Number of smartphones in the ranking:48
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:8/48

[b]Download/Upload speed[b]To test the speed in Wifi, I connect to my router in 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz (if available) and use the Ookla application to measure the speed.[b]Top 10 - wifi download speed ranking
1. Poco F3 398Mbps
2. Poco X3 Pro 389Mbps
3. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro 367Mbps
4. Samsung Galaxy S20 351Mbps
5. Poco F2 Pro 341Mbps
6. Redmi Note 9t 332Mbps
7. Realme Gt 330Mbps
8. Doogee S96 Pro 328Mbps
9. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10s 325Mbps
10. Poco M3 Pro 323Mbps

Number of smartphones in the ranking:47
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:6/47

Note: I have a 400Mbps line and a modem capable of delivering higher speed, but I can never be sure how much bandwidth is available when doing a test.
[b]

GPS performance

[b]To test the quality of the GPS signal I use the Offline Maps application and I make the same train trip in pedestrian mode. Why? In pedestrian mode, the GPS does not artificially correct the signal to stick to the road, it has no markings, so you can see the actual position. I then use an application to measure the accuracy of the signal. [b][b]The Redmi Note 9T is equipped with a Mediatek CPU and this type of CPU is often synonymous with good GPS performance. This is indeed still the case as I obtained an accuracy of 2 meters in the open. I also wanted to check the frequencies used and it seems that the Redmi Note 9T only uses one frequency per network.[b][b][b]Top 10 - GPS accuracy ranking
1. Oukitel C21 1m
2. Redmi 9a 1m
3. Doogee S96 Pro 1m
4. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10s 1m
5. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 1m
6. Redmi 9c 2m
7. Umidigi Bison 2m
8. Poco M3 Pro 2m
9. F150 R2022 2m
10. Redmi Note 9t 2m

Number of smartphones in the ranking:23
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:10/23

Note: An accuracy of 3 meters or less can easily be corrected by a good GPS application. Phone performance also plays a role in how fast your display updates, so good accuracy could be compromised by too slow a display.
[b]

Battery range

Capacity : 5000
Fast charge : Yes
W max : 18
Range (100% brightness) : 766.00
Range (50% brightness) : 2054.00
Charging time : 148.00
Discharge speed (100%) : 0.13
Discharge score (100%) : 6.53
Discharge speed (50%) : 0.05
Discharge score (50%) : 2.43
Charging speed : 0.68
Charging score : 33.78
From March 2020, I replaced my subjective battery test with a technical test to better measure the real behaviour of the battery. Now I test the autonomy and charging time under absolutely identical conditions. I perform several measurements, so this test alone takes several days during which I cannot use the phone for anything else.

Battery life - methodology
To test the battery life, I measure the battery consumption every minute in strictly identical conditions to be able to compare phones and also to allow you to evaluate your phone in the same conditions. I rule out any influence of applications that could interfere with the measurement. The autonomy is not linear, the battery sometimes discharges much faster at the end. This is a frustrating phenomenon but with my measurements, you will know if you need to find a charger quickly.

Battery life
The battery of the Redmi Note 9T has a capacity of 5000 mAh and has discharged from 100% to 1% in 766.00 minutes with 100% brightness, it has discharged from 100% to 1% in 2054.00 minutes with 50% brightness. I obtain in this way an average discharge speed of 0.13% per minute with 100% luminosity and 0.05% per minute with 50% luminosity, the consumption is therefore 6.53 mA per minute with 100% luminosity and 2.43 with 50% luminosity. To be able to compare the efficiency of the phone and its influence on the battery, you have to compare the 6.53 (or 50%) score with that of other smartphones, the figure should be as low as possible.

Charging time - methodology
To test the charging time, I always use the same charger with the same cable. I measure the charging time minute by minute to see the evolution of the charge as well as the charging speed. The charging speed of a battery is not linear, it is often faster at the beginning and slower at the end. The charger is compatible with fast charging.

Charging time
The battery of the Redmi Note 9T has a capacity of 5000 mAh and has been charged from 1% to 100% in 148.00 minutes. This gives me an average charging speed of 0.68% per minute and therefore an increase of 33.78 mA per minute. To compare the performance of the Redmi Note 9T compared to other phones, you should use the 33.78 per minute score, this score should be as high as possible.

Important note: the charging speed is not always linear, the graph below gives you an indication of the battery behaviour.

The following table lists the phones tested with the technical battery test, they are ranked in order of efficiency. A higher battery capacity should logically result in a higher battery life but it is not always the case and it does not give any indication of the efficiency of a phone.

SmartphoneCapacity (mAh)Battery life (minutes)Efficiency ScoreBattery life (minutes) / 50%Efficiency Score / 50%Charging time.Score charging
Samsung Galaxy S204000565.007.081217.003.29136.0029.41
Oukitel C214000497.008.051324.003.02167.0023.95
Nokia 5.34000549.007.291096.003.65199.0020.10
Honor 9x4000770.005.191333.003.00151.0026.49
Umidigi A9 Pro4150552.007.521562.002.66112.0037.05
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g4160749.005.551541.002.70163.0025.52
Realme 64300704.006.111104.003.89162.0026.54
Realme Gt4500574.007.841057.004.2687.0051.72
Samsung Galaxy A524500652.006.901239.003.63165.0027.27
Poco F34520657.006.881840.002.46122.0037.05
Poco F2 Pro47001150.004.091536.003.06180.0026.11
Oneplus Nord N1005000808.006.191278.003.91663.007.54
Xiaomi Redmi Note 105000691.007.241728.002.89193.0025.91
Redmi Note 9t5000766.006.532054.002.43148.0033.78
Xiaomi Redmi Note 10s5000636.007.861556.003.21161.0031.06
Poco M3 Pro5000657.007.611647.003.04131.0038.17
Redmi 9a5000694.007.201902.002.63195.0025.64
Motorola G8 Power5000912.005.482792.001.79311.0016.08
Samsung Galaxy A21s5000729.006.861283.003.90166.0030.12
Redmi 9c5000656.007.621915.002.61170.0029.41
Umidigi Bison5000550.009.091471.003.40238.0021.01
Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro5020625.008.031557.003.22213.0023.57
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s5020663.007.571876.002.68224.0022.41
Xiaomi Redmi Note 95020650.007.721808.002.78162.0030.99
Umidigi F25150927.005.561854.002.78299.0017.22
Poco X35160653.007.901654.003.12181.0028.51
Poco X3 Pro5160648.007.961688.003.06138.0037.39
Doogee S58 Pro5180845.006.131908.002.71177.0029.27
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite5260827.006.361609.003.27208.0025.29
Ulefone Armor 7e5500768.007.161140.004.82179.0030.73
Poco M36000842.007.131898.003.16217.0027.65
Doogee S96 Pro6350929.006.841405.004.52424.0014.98
F150 R20228300879.009.441498.005.54243.0034.16

helpHow to read these figures?
The battery capacity is an important element in determining the autonomy of a phone but it is not the only factor. A phone with a large battery may have a shorter battery life if it consumes more power. If I had to take an example from everyday life, I would use the universe of the car. If a car has a large fuel tank, it should be able to drive a longer distance unless its average fuel consumption is higher. The battery efficiency score works the same way, it should be as low as possible and represents the energy consumption of the phone. These differences in efficiency are often related to the brightness of the screen, large bright screens will tend to consume more energy and even if they have a large battery, their range will be shorter.

In summary
[b][b]I charged the Redmi Note 9T from 0% to 100% in 148 minutes, it is probably possible to go a bit faster with a suitable charger but with the charger I use for my tests, the Redmi Note 9T is one of the fastest. The first few minutes are particularly fast so you should be able to recharge a few percent quickly to help out if you need it.[b][b]
[b][b]I obtained an autonomy of 768 minutes with the screen at 100% brightness and 2054 minutes with 50% brightness. The difference is quite significant and this means that the screen brightness is not linear. At 100% the screen is almost 3x brighter than at 50%. [b][b]

Photo camera test

To test the quality of photos produced by a phone, I do a technical test (resolution, sharpness, chromatic aberration,...) in studio (identical conditions) to evaluate the technical part objectively. From the second half of 2020, I built my own laboratory to take completely objective technical measurements. I then take pictures in real conditions to see how the camera performs. I then evaluate these photos according to my criteria but I publish the photos so that you can evaluate the result according to your criteria.[b]

Hardware

Selfie / resolution : 13
Selfie / sensor : Samsung S5K3L6
Resolution : 48
Sensor : Samsung S5KGM1
mm wide angle : 4.695 mm
The Redmi Note 9T uses the Samsung S5KGM1 sensor as the main sensor, which is probably the most widely used sensor in the Xiaomi mid-range. It can also be found in the Redmi Note 9, Poco M3, Redmi Note 8 or the Redmi Note 7 launched 2 years ago.[b][b]It is therefore not a new sensor and the quality of the photos varies quite strongly from one model to another. The photos taken by the Redmi Note 7 were good while those taken by the Redmi Note 9 were not good because of an unsuitable colour treatment.[b][b]This sensor is capable of producing good photos but the processing can sometimes degrade the quality of the photos. I hope that Xiaomi has corrected these errors with the Redmi Note 9T.[b][b][b]Default app[b]The default photo application of Redmi Note 9T is the same as on other phones running MIUI 12. This application has been simplified since MIUI 12 and is composed of the following options: photo, video, pro, portrait. It is then possible to customize the main inputs to add possibilities such as night mode or slow motion.[b][b][b]

Photo quality

Photo test / studio[b]
[b][b]I have already had the opportunity to test this Samsung sensor in other phones with quite different results. However, I can already more or less predict the result because this Samsung sensor has some difficulties in finding the right exposure under artificial light. As you can see on this picture, the exposure is not very good.[b][b]Before running away and directing you to another phone, I would like to qualify this first result. The photo taken in this example was taken in normal mode and without any assistance (neither AI, nor HDR, ....), using these features can radically change a photo and this without too much effort because you just need to activate the AI or HDR mode according to your preference.[b][b]Here in HDR mode:[b]
[b][b]The result is not yet perfect but the exposure is much better. Playing with HDR and AI sometimes gives better results but I took the exercise a step further by taking a picture in pro mode (RAW file).[b]
[b][b]The difference with the photo in automatic mode is obvious, the exposure is much better and the colours are more vivid. So again I come to the same conclusion about the quality of this sensor, it is capable of producing good photos but it requires an effort to reach a better quality level. This is clearly not what a normal user would expect from a phone of this type.[b][b]I would just add that photos taken in the studio are not necessarily representative of the quality of outdoor photos. So I have to test the phone outdoors to be able to draw conclusions.[b][b][b][b][b]Photo test / sunny[b]Not yet available / tested[b][b][b]Photo test / cloudy[b]
[b][b]I tested the Redmi Note 9T in the winter, so the brightness is not ideal, it was quite dark and cloudy but that's OK, these are good conditions to see what a phone has in its belly.[b][b]The first photo of this example lacks a little light but for the rest I think it is quite good because the luminosity was not good, the sky was very cloudy and the vegetation had lost all its colours.[b][b]As for the studio test, I will show what HDR/AI processing is capable of delivering in the same conditions.[b][b]With HDR:[b]
[b]The result is already much better, the photo is generally better lit, the vegetation is less dark and some colours are now visible. The recomposition of the images works quite well because I don't see any ghost effect on the branches of the tree.[b][b]If I activate HDR and AI at the same time, I get results sometimes a bit surprising like this one:[b]
[b]This photo is so bright that it almost hurts the eyes. I also see chromatic aberration appearing on the branches. From a technical point of view this photo has some defects but I am sure that it could please by its very luminous side.[b][b]With the pro mode, I get interesting results like this one:[b]
[b]The luminosity was even less good than for the first photos, I took this photo one hour later than the other photos and yet with the pro mode, the phone is able to recover luminosity and even restore many details not visible with the other modes (HDR, AI,...). I notice some smoothing in the periphery but for the rest, the Redmi Note 9T captures enough information to improve the rendering manually.[b][b][b][b][b]Test photo / night[b]
[b]The Redmi Note 9T uses a Samsung photo sensor that I have had the opportunity to test in other phones and each time the result for the night photos was absolutely correct. The Redmi Note 9T has a night mode that works fine but oddly enough I got better results with AI or HDR modes. For the photos below I have each time used normal mode, AI mode, HDR mode and then night mode. Night mode emphasizes details but makes the photo look less natural, while sometimes HDR is able to do better. [b][b]The night photos produced by the Redmi Note 9T are quite good. The digital noise is almost invisible, the outlines are quite sharp, the level of sharpness is good even if it is sometimes a little forced. The halos of light are better controlled in night mode but on the other photos I find that the result is quite correct. Night mode and HDR are quite fast despite the need to have to capture multiple images. The center is always sharper than the periphery, it is often the case, we can see here that the tree branches on the periphery are often less sharp. [b][b][b][b]

Video quality

Stabilisation[b][b][b]The Redmi Note 9T is capable of stabilizing images, and this option is enabled by default. Stabilization softens the shocks caused by walking, but does not completely absorb them. If I compare the result with what I've seen on entry-level phones, the effect of stabilisation on the Redmi Note 9T makes the video watchable but the stabilisation is not yet comparable to what is found in high-end phones.[b][b]Video normale conditions[b][b]The Redmi Note 9T is capable of shooting at 4k 30 fps. The quality of the video is in line with what the photo sensor is capable of producing. We also see here a slight underexposure and a rather cold colouring. Sharpness is good, exposure jumps are not very visible, the phone quickly recalculates exposure changes. The Redmi Note 9T is capable of producing good videos, the inherent qualities of the sensor are however much better highlighted when the sun is present. Cloudy weather may enhance the cold treatment of the colours.[b][b]Video low light[b] [b][b]The Redmi Note 9T has difficulty finding the correct focus area, it is constantly looking for a place where it can focus. In the absence of movement, the focus is established correctly, but in motion it jumps constantly between the foreground and the background. Rapid movements are therefore not recommended. When the image is stable, the Redmi Note 9T is capable of producing average quality night videos. The sharpness is not sufficient, the edges are smoothed. Digital noise, on the other hand, is well mastered. This level of quality is normal for this price range.[b]

Audio quality

To test the quality of the phone's audio output, I connect the device's audio output to a measuring tool, then play sounds on all frequencies and measure the differences between the original sound and the sound produced by the phone. In this way I measure the phone's ability to correctly reproduce all sounds.[b]
Frequency Response[b]This test is intended to test the device's ability to correctly reproduce all frequencies. The white line in the middle of the graph is the ideal situation and the other colors come from tests on different phones. A deviation from the reference line indicates a deviation from the ideal situation. To see good sound at all frequencies, it is therefore necessary to get as close as possible to the reference line.
[b][b]The Redmi Note 9T is capable of reproducing most frequencies more or less correctly but with some instability on certain frequencies. If I compare the test with the Poco X3, I see that the frequency coverage is better in the low frequencies but the curve is not linear like the Poco. The Redmi also stalls faster in the high frequencies.[b][b]Dynamic Range[b]This test is designed to test a phone's ability to play sounds at different volume levels. Here too, the phones must be as close as possible to the reference.
[b][b]As I wrote above, the Redmi Note 9T produces a powerful sound and this can be seen on the curve if I compare the result with the Poco X3. The Redmi comes very close to the reference.[b][b]Noise Level[b]This test aims to identify if the device under test is able to reproduce sounds without too much noise. A high score indicates a low parasite rate, a lower score indicates a higher presence of parasites.
[b][b]No he encontrado ningún problema de interferencias con el Redmi Note 9T, la curva se acerca bastante a la referencia y las desviaciones en las frecuencias no son muy importantes.[b][b]Concert recording[b]The purpose of this test is to measure the recording quality of the phone when there is a lot of ambient noise. Since I don't have the opportunity to go to a concert every time I test a phone, I simulate the noise of a concert in a closed environment.

Screen quality

To test the screen, I use a colorimetric probe that measures the color accuracy of a screen, as well as other parameters to see if a screen is able to correctly reproduce an image. I also test the brightness level to determine if the screen will be able to display an image in full sunlight.[b]
Screen size : 6.53
Resolution : 1080 x 2340
Ratio : 20:9
Type : LCD IPS
% occupancy : 82
dE white : 0.7
dE red : 1.4
dE green : 1.5
dE blue : 7.3
dE jaune : 1.6
dE cyan : 4.3
dE magenta : 2.8
White temperature : 6500
Contrast : 1163:1
Brightness : 514
Colorimetry[b]
[b][b]By default, the Redmi Note 9T is not set correctly for colours, so switch to standard mode in the display settings. Once this mode is engaged, I get a good colorimetry with a dE of 2.8. White is particularly well controlled with a very low dE and an ideal colour temperature of 6500k. I note however a very important deviation on blue and cyan which are much more out of the norm, blue tends to deviate towards purple. [b][b][b]Top 10 - ranking of the best screens by colorimetry
1. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g dE = 0.73
2. Xiaomi Mi 10t Pro dE = 0.83
3. Realme Gt dE = 1.17
4. Xiaomi Mi 11 Lite dE = 1.19
5. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 dE = 1.2
6. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 dE = 1.23
7. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro dE = 1.31
8. Samsung Galaxy S20 dE = 1.4
9. Poco M3 dE = 1.4
10. Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite dE = 1.46

Number of smartphones in the ranking:48
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:25/48

Note: the colorimetric difference is measured in dE. After three, the human eye will perceive a colorimetric difference, so the dE should be the lowest. The tests were all carried out with a colorimetric probe.
[b]Brightness / Contrast[b]I measured a brightness of about 420 cd/m² when I push the screen at 100% but if I flood the sensor with a strong light source, I measured a brightness of 514 cd/m². The Redmi Note 9T therefore offers a good brightness that will allow you to use the phone in the sun (you need to activate the "sun" mode).[b][b]Light Absorption/Reflection[b]The smartphone screen reflect light and sometimes turn them into a real mirror. This mirror effect makes it harder to read. [b][b]The absorption index below indicates the percentage of light absorbed by the screen. The readability of a screen is better when the absorption index is high.[b][b]
Phone tested:% light absorption
Samsung Galaxy S10+58
Xiaomi Mi 9T Pro52
Honor 9x65
Redmi Note 9s55
Motorola G8 Power60
Realme 654
Umidigi F248
Poco F2 Pro52
Redmi Note 956
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite53
Samsung Galaxy S2047
Samsung Galaxy A21s53
The phones tested have an average absroption rate of54 %

Biometry

Xiaomi has tried many placement possibilities for the fingerprint sensor and at the moment the most common choice is to place the fingerprint sensor on the side in the same place as the on/off button.[b][b]This is a choice that works quite well, I first saw it with the Redmi Note 9s and after a few variations on the position of the sensor I find that Xiaomi has found a good balance. The detection speed has also improved, the sensor is really fast.[b][b]

Operating system

[b]

Encoutered bugs

Not yet available / tested[b][b]

Accessories Xiaomi Redmi Note 9T

To better enjoy your experience with your smartphone, I offer links to all kinds of accessories that you might find useful

Protective cover / case redmi note 9t
Screen protection film redmi note 9t
Memory card redmi note 9t
USB Cable / Charger redmi note 9t
Headphones redmi note 9t
Bike rack redmi note 9t

Compare Xiaomi Redmi Note 9T with the others

I assigned a score of 1 to 10 for each test that determines the strengths and weaknesses of a product. I am using 0 for criteria that have not (yet) been tested. A score of 1 to 3 indicates poor performance (and yes, it does), a score of 4 to 6 indicates average performance, a score of 7 to 8 indicates good performance, and a score of 9 and 10 indicates exceptional performance. .
The score is calculated based on my measurements and when there are no measurements, it is a subjective opinion based on my experience.

The scores are not static, they change over time because the performance of new products changes and this must be taken into account.

Redmi Note 9T
Finish quality7.006.00
Battery performance7.008.00
CPU performance7.56.5
GPU performance7.56.5
Screen quality6.57.00
Photo quality6.55.00
Video quality6.55.00
Wi-Fi performance7.57.00
Mobile download speed6.55.00
Mobile network sensitivity8.006.00
Frequency coverage8.007.00
Audio quality7.006.00
GPS performance7.006.00
Operating system8.008.00
Overall score100.589
Global ranking
1. Realme Gt 112.5 / 140
2. Poco F2 Pro 111.5 / 140
3. Poco F3 111.5 / 140
4. Samsung Galaxy S20 111 / 140
5. Poco X3 Pro 107.5 / 140
6. Samsung Galaxy S10+ 107 / 140
7. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro 106.5 / 140
8. Xiaomi Mi 9t Pro 106 / 140
9. Samsung Galaxy A52 104 / 140
10. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 101.5 / 140
11. Poco X3 101 / 140
12. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g 101 / 140
13. Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite 101 / 140
14. Redmi Note 9t 100.5 / 140
15. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro 100 / 140
16. Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite 98 / 140
17. Doogee S96 Pro 98 / 140
18. Poco M3 Pro 98 / 140
19. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s 98 / 140
20. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 97 / 140
21. Xiaomi Mi 11 Lite 96.5 / 130
22. Poco M3 94.5 / 140
23. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10s 94.5 / 130
24. Xiaomi Redmi Note 7 94 / 140
25. Realme 6 93 / 140
26. Umidigi Bison 92 / 140
27. Umidigi A9 Pro 92 / 140
28. Oukitel C21 89.5 / 140
29. Xiaomi Mi A3 89 / 140
30. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 89 / 140
31. Nokia 5.3 89 / 140
32. Motorola G8 Power 89 / 140
33. Oneplus Nord N100 88.5 / 140
34. Honor 9x 88 / 140
35. Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite 86 / 140
36. Meizu Note 9 86 / 140
37. Xiaomi Redmi Note 5 85 / 140
38. Umidigi S3 Pro 83 / 140
39. Samsung Galaxy A21s 82 / 140
40. Umidigi F2 82 / 140
41. Redmi 9a 81 / 140
42. Redmi 9c 80 / 140
43. Ulefone Armor 7e 80 / 140
44. Doogee S58 Pro 78.5 / 140
45. Honor 8x 78 / 140
46. Umidigi F1 77 / 140
47. Huawei Y6 2019 74 / 140
48. Xiaomi Mi 10t Pro 57 / 70
49. F150 R2022 53.5 / 80
50. Elephone U5 0 / 0

Test / Review conclusion

[b]Xiaomi had launched the Redmi 8T as a European alternative for the Redmi Note 8, so the two phones were almost identical in every way. The Redmi Note 9T did not follow this logic, it does not have much in common with the Redmi Note 9, it is a phone of a different type. I was wondering what Xiaomi had wanted to do with this Redmi Note 9T because I found its positioning quite curious, I even wondered what it could be used for in the Xiaomi range. After having toured the phone, I better understand its positioning. [b][b]First there is 5G, this type of frequency is not yet widespread but the Redmi Note 9T is one of the cheapest 5G phones on the market. Next to 5G, the second interesting point about this Redmi Note 9T is its performance. This is the first time that I have tested the MediaTek Dimensity 800U, it is able to deliver a performance similar to some phones sold between 250 and 350 € while the Redmi Note 9T costs less than 200 €. The Redmi Note 9T therefore offers an excellent price / performance ratio, it clearly stands out from the Redmi Note 9 with a very similar starting price. Xiaomi has not brought any big news in the last 12 months, they have contented themselves with re-using existing components to recompose slightly different phones with an adapted price positioning. As a rule, Xiaomi keeps a common basis for a majority of components and they select two or three that will have to make the phone stand out from the competition. For the Redmi Note 9T, they chose 3 elements that stand out from the average: 5G (less than 200 €), performance (one of better price / performance ratio) and a large 5000 mAh battery. [b][b]I have not encountered any major problems with this Redmi Note 9T as it incorporates many good components used in other phones that have proven their worth. It therefore obtains an average score on most criteria with a little more on performance.[b]Strengths[b]5G for less than 200 €[b]Price / performance ratio [b]Good battery capacity [b]Good network sensitivity[b]GPS Accuracy[b][b]Weaknesses[b]Quite cold photo rendering (except in pro mode) [b]Video autofocus in night mode[b][b]Alternatives to this product[b][b]If I take the strengths of this phone (5G, performance, battery, ...) I cannot find any direct competition in this price range. There is on the other hand the Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite which also offers 5G, very similar performance with a better level of finish, a better screen and a better camera for around 120 € more. The price difference is therefore very important.[b]
Subscribe
Subscribe to my YouTube channel to receive updates.

Comments

Join the discussion / Ask your questions

Your comment will be published after validation. I respond to over 1500 comments a year in my spare time, so I can't always respond very quickly. Your email address will not be publicly visible and it will not be used for commercial purposes.









Be notified by email when a response is published