On this page:
Price Xiaomi Redmi Note 9T
Unpacking
First configuration
Finish
Specifications
CPU / GPU Performance
Benchmark Antutu/3DMark
Network performance
Wifi performance
GPS performance
Battery range
Photo camera test
Hardware
Photoquality
Video quality
Audio quality
Screen quality
Biometry
Operating system
Test / Review conclusion
Questions answers

Best new price:
157.491 EUR
See the offer | EdwayBuy

3 other prices available in other stores.

Xiaomi Redmi Note 9T : test / review (take advantage of the -20€ offer)

Xiaomi Redmi Note 9T: test / review

Category: Tests / Reviews

Xiaomi continues to launch many phones to the point of making their positioning difficult to understand. The Redmi Note 9T is a mid-range phone that comes in opposition to the Samsung Galaxy A51 and A52 (expected to be released in March/April).[b][b]Xiaomi has a component library that allows them to assemble phones with just a few differences between models. Last year the Redmi Note 8T was a declination of the Redmi Note 8 for the European market. The Redmi Note 9T has nothing to do with the Redmi Note 9, it is a slightly different phone.[b][b]The common points with the Redmi Note 9 are:[b]- size, weight, camera[b][b]The differences:[b]- 5G, 1Gb more memory, twice as much power, better finish[b]The test will probably reveal other differences.[b][b]I bought the Redmi Note 9T on Aliexpress (origin Europe) in presale at 185€. So take advantage of this offer because the price will increase to 229€! (click on the link where I bought it to benefit from this offer too).[b][b][b][b][b]linkManufacturer web site: https://www.mi.com[b]linkSite where I have bought the Xiaomi Redmi Note 9T: https://s.click.aliexpress.com/e/_AtAcf3[b]

Structure of my tests

I test the phones according to a pre-established structure (see below) to provide you with as much information as possible. Unfortunately, this takes a long time. Some tests like network performance tests take several days and for photo tests I sometimes have to wait until the weather is suitable to take pictures in good conditions. I am therefore obliged to publish the tests step by step, so I invite you to come back if the test is not complete at the time of your visit.[b]
How are my tests different from others on the web?

- I usually buy the devices with my own money, so price is just as important as you are!
- I keep the devices for at least a few weeks (sometimes more) to see what they are worth in real conditions.
- I answer (when possible) your questions to help you decide before you buy
- no one pays me to do these reviews, so I'm completely neutral and independent...
- My pages are not filled with ads



Xiaomi Redmi Note 9T: test / review
Xiaomi Mi Watch Lite : test / review
Redmi 9C test / review
Umidigi A9 Pro test / review
Xiaomi Mi 10T Pro : test / review
Poco M3 : test / review
Umidigi Bison: test / review
Redmi 9A test / review
Poco X3 test / review
Oukitel C21 : test / review

Price Xiaomi Redmi Note 9T

The list below shows the prices for the Xiaomi Redmi Note 9T from more than 50 sites around the world. If you are not satisfied with any price, you can subscribe to a price alert to be the first to be notified when the price drops.[b]
Redmi Note 9 4GB+128GB Version EU...
2021-01-20 08:01
175 USD
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 Pro Version EU 6GB + 64GB...
2021-01-20 08:01
259 USD
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 Pro Version EU 6GB +128GB ...
2021-01-20 08:01
279 USD
[b]
helpThe above links are affiliate links from companies such as Amazon, Gearbest, Aliexpress,... If you appreciate my work, I would be grateful if you could purchase these products through these links. It costs you absolutely nothing but I get a small commission that allows me to buy the material I test. Thank you very much!

Timeline

11/01/2021 purchase of Redmi Note 9T in pre-sale on Aliexpress[b]19/01/2021 reception of Redmi Note 9T, start of the test[b][b]

Why this phone?

The Redmi Note 9T is sold between 200 and 300€, it is in this price range that I buy the most phones. I was a bit disappointed by the Redmi Note 9 because its level of finish had deteriorated compared to the previous model and the quality of the photos was also less good. So I hope Xiaomi has corrected the situation with this new model which offers more power than a Poco X3 or Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite while remaining competitive in price.[b][b]The Redmi Note 9T is 5G compatible and with its price positioning, it is the cheapest 5G phone on the market (at the time of launch).[b][b]

Unpacking

[b][b]The Xiaomi boxes follow each other and look alike. I can see that Xiaomi is reusing to the maximum its large component toolbox, this is also seen for the boxes that were once all a little different. Today all the boxes are the same in terms of size, the visuals sometimes change but the content remains the same. The box contains the phone, a charger, a USB cable, a manual, a transparent shell and a needle to open the SIM drawer (which can hold 2 sim cards and a memory card).[b][b][b][b]
Length : 161.9
Width : 77.3
Thickness : 9
Weight : 199
Jack output : Yes
USB Type : Type C

First configuration

The configuration of MIUI 12 follows the same steps as other phones running the same operating system, however I notice a little subtlety each time to encourage you to sign up for the Xiaomi cloud. I repeat it each time but it's also because Xiaomi applies small changes that probably result in the accidental creation of a Xiaomi Cloud account.[b][b]Their latest trick? Towards the end of the configuration, you come across an untitled screen asking if you want to re-use your Google or Xiaomi account. This is a normal question in a configuration process except that here it has nothing to do with the phone's configuration. If you click on "Google" thinking about installing your Google account on the phone, you will involuntarily sign up to the Xiaomi cloud. If you ask to skip this step, the phone will ask you a second time if you are sure you don't want to register.[b][b]The move to a paid version of Google Photos in June 2020 will surely incite Xiaomi to try to get as many customers as possible, they are right but I think they should do it in a more transparent way.[b][b]

Finish

[b][b]In the last two years, Xiaomi has tried everything. I've seen phones in all colours, sometimes with matt plain surfaces, sometimes shiny, sometimes gradient, sometimes glass, sometimes metal, sometimes plastic, ... The Redmi Note 9T takes the textured surface of the Redmi 9C and adds a gradient effect. The phone is actually quite uniform in colour, but depending on the angle of the light, a gradient effect is obtained. The texture looks a bit like a pair of jeans trousers. [b][b]You should always take price into account when making judgements about finishes and colours. The Redmi Note 9T is a little bit better than the Redmi Note 9 in terms of price and I think it is indeed a little better designed. The back shell of the Redmi Note 9 would sink in as soon as you touched it and the plastic layer was so thin that I could feel the components inside the phone. This is no longer the case for this model, the texture used is also less fanciful and the whole thing is better controlled.[b][b]Xiaomi has visibly corrected a big finishing flaw in their entry-level and mid-range phones. The photo sensor usually comes out quite strong, this is not the case here, this is a clear improvement. Positioning the sensor in the middle gives the phone a better balance when placed on a flat surface.[b][b]The fingerprint sensor is ideally positioned to accommodate the right thumb, but the volume buttons are so well integrated into the phone that they are harder to locate when touching them, there is no separation between the volume up and volume down buttons.[b][b]All in all, the Redmi Note 9T offers a very classic configuration with the mono speaker at the bottom, the USB type C port, the sim drawer on the left (2 sims + memory card at the same time), the infrared sensor at the top and the sound sensors.[b][b]The level of finish is therefore quite correct for this price.[b][b][b][b]

Specifications

[b]The information below comes from the Device Info HW application. The application provides detailed technical information about the tested phone.I bought the 4Gb / 64 Gb version and you will find the detailed specifications in the following screens. The Redmi Note 9T uses a processor that I haven't seen on any other phone yet and I am also surprised to see that the photo sensor is a 12 Million pixel sensor. Even though Xiaomi applies the binning pixel, the technical specifications usually indicate the total number of pixels.[b][b][b][b]

CPU / GPU Performance

CPU : MediaTek Dimensity 800U
GPU : ARM Mali-G57 MP4
Memory (RAM) : 4 Gn
Storage : 64 Gb - 128 Gb

Benchmark Antutu/3DMark

Not yet available / tested[b][b]
[b]Top 10 - performance ranking based on Antutu
1. Oppo Find X2 Pro - 605184
2. Oneplus 8t - 595000
3. Xiaomi Mi 10t Pro - 581650
4. Oneplus 8 Pro - 579417
5. Xiaomi Mi 10 - 579114
6. Poco F2 Pro - 569559
7. Samsung Galaxy S20 Fe - 565000
8. Samsung Galaxy S20 - 503905
9. Huawei P40 Pro - 466765
10. Huawei P40 - 466765

Number of smartphones in the ranking:115
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:0/115

Note: this ranking only contains the phones I tested as well as a few others that I added for reference.
[b]Gaming[b]To test the performance in game, I download the mobile PUBG game and evaluate the in-game experience, graphics level and depth of vision. This game is quite demanding and should help you evaluating the performance of a phone.Not yet available / tested[b][b]

Network performance

Not yet available / tested[b][b]
3G frequencies : B1 (2100), B2 (1900), B4 (1700/2100 AWS A-F), B5 (850), B8 (900)
4G frequencies : B1 (2100), B2 (1900), B3 (1800), B4 (1700/2100 AWS 1), B5 (850), B7 (2600), B8 (900), B12 (700), B17 (700), B18 (800), B19 (800), B20 (800), B26 (850), B28 (700), B32 (1500), B38 (TDD 2600), B40 (TDD 2300), B41 (TDD 2500), B42 (TDD 3500)
5G frequencies : n1 (2100), n3 (1800), n5 (850), n7 (2600), n8 (900), n20 (800), n28 (700), n38 (2600), n41 (2500), n77 (3700), n78 (3500), n79 (4700)
Bluetooth : Bluetooth 5.1
Volte : Yes
NFC : Yes
Choose your country to check if your phone is compatible:


The frequencies displayed below will allow you to see if this phone is compatible with your operator or if you will be able to use it in the country where you are going on vacation.


Signal 4G (before december 2020)[b]The ability to pick up the network correctly is an essential element for a phone but it is only very rarely measured. To measure a phone's ability to pick up the network, I perform a large number of measurements on the same cells to be able to compare phones under similar conditions. The signal is measured in dBm, a value of -90dBm indicates a worse signal than -70dBm. These measurements are therefore taken under real conditions and not in a laboratory, they are not scientific but give a good indication of performance. [b][b]Network signal sensitivity rating
Phone tested:Average signal (dBm)Number of measurements:
Xiaomi Mi 9t Pro-881600
Xiaomi Redmi Note 5-91.305600
Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite-93788
Samsung Galaxy A70-94.5111975
Nokia 5.3-94.98531
Realme 6-95.142301
Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro-95.9221599
Xiaomi Mi A3-95.951000
Huawei Y6 2019-95.951199
Doogee S58 Pro-96.22856
Redmi 9a-96.481000
Meizu Note 9-96.68937
Motorola G8 Power-96.881032
Xiaomi Redmi Note 7-97.011430
Redmi 9c-97.041000
Umidigi S3 Pro-97.131200
Xiaomi Redmi Note 8-97.34879
Samsung Galaxy A21s-97.781000
Umidigi F1-97.82298
Ulefone Armor 7e-98.71000
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite-991000
Honor 9x-99.14899
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s-99.41860
Poco F2 Pro-99.81247
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9-100.791785
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g-100.881198
Poco X3-101.19821
Umidigi F2-101.47712
[b][b]Signal 4G (from December 2020)[b]I decided to change the methodology for measuring the network because I noticed that the configuration of the mobile network changes over time. This makes it more difficult to compare phones because the conditions are no longer exactly the same.[b][b]To overcome this problem, I set up a device that captures 24 hours a day about ten parameters from the mobile network (ex: cell id, rssi, rsrq, snr, frequency,...). I then place the phone next to the device for 24 to 48 hours taking the same measurements so that I can compare them. [b][b] Overview of the phones tested with this methodology[b][b]
Phone tested:MeasurementsAvg signal (reference)Avg signal (phone)Min/Max (reference)Min/Max (phone)
Samsung Galaxy S10+457-93.06-97.39-89 / -98-97 / -99
Xiaomi Mi 9t Pro669-93.69-95.84-90 / -95-92 / -98
Poco F2 Pro1438-91.02-94.99-89 / -94-94 / -96
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g1645-90.77-95.02- 88 / -98-95 / -100
Poco X3821-94.89-103.19-91 / -97.7-101 / -104
Umidigi Bison2343-92.71-96.46-90 / -99-94 / -102
Oukitel C211101-92.04-94.99-90 / -97-92 / -95
Poco M31116-92.09-91.74-88 / -98-90 / -99
Xiaomi Mi 10t Pro1071-90.61-94.03-88 / -94-94 / -96
Umidigi A9 Pro981-90.40-94.01-88 / -95-93 / -95
[b][b]Not yet available / tested[b][b][b][b]Download/Upload speed[b]To test the download speed, I have identified some 4G cells offering good performance where I test all my devices several times to see what download and upload speed they can achieve.[b]Top 10 - speed ranking in download
1. Samsung Galaxy S20 D:351Mbps U: 20Mbps
2. Poco X3 D:232Mbps U: 55Mbps
3. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g D:223Mbps U: 52Mbps
4. Poco F2 Pro D:207Mbps U: 53Mbps
5. Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite D:153Mbps U: 68Mbps
6. Xiaomi Mi A3 D:150Mbps U: 60Mbps
7. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s D:150Mbps U: 60Mbps
8. Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite D:149Mbps U: 60Mbps
9. Samsung Galaxy A21s D:147Mbps U: 51Mbps
10. Huawei Y6 2019 D:145Mbps U: 61Mbps

Number of smartphones in the ranking:30
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:0/30

Note: the theoretical maximum speed of a telephone is often limited by the configuration of the mobile network and the congestion of the network at the time of the measurement. So maybe you could get a higher speed on another network
[b][b]

Wifi performance

To test a phone's ability to receive the network properly, I take measurements near my router and then remotely (and always at the same place). This gives me an average in dBm where a value of -90 dBm indicates poorer performance than a value at -30 dBm.[b]
Wifi frequencies : 802.11a , 802.11b , 802.11g , 802.11n , 802.11n 5GHz , 802.11ac
Wifi signal[b]Not yet available / tested[b][b][b]Top 10 - wifi sensitivity ranking
1. Poco F2 Pro -11dBm
2. Samsung Galaxy A21s -13dBm
3. Poco X3 -17dBm
4. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s -18dBm
5. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro -19dBm
6. Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite -19dBm
7. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g -19dBm
8. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 -19dBm
9. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 -19dBm
10. Redmi 9a -19dBm

Number of smartphones in the ranking:33
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:0/33

[b]Download/Upload speed[b]To test the speed in Wifi, I connect to my router in 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz (if available) and use the Ookla application to measure the speed.[b]Top 10 - wifi download speed ranking
1. Samsung Galaxy S20 351Mbps
2. Poco F2 Pro 341Mbps
3. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro 319Mbps
4. Umidigi Bison 306Mbps
5. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g 300Mbps
6. Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite 260Mbps
7. Poco X3 251Mbps
8. Xiaomi Redmi Note 7 250Mbps
9. Umidigi F1 220Mbps
10. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 211Mbps

Number of smartphones in the ranking:33
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:0/33

Note: I have a 400Mbps line and a modem capable of delivering higher speed, but I can never be sure how much bandwidth is available when doing a test.
[b]

GPS performance

[b]To test the quality of the GPS signal I use the Offline Maps application and I make the same train trip in pedestrian mode. Why? In pedestrian mode, the GPS does not artificially correct the signal to stick to the road, it has no markings, so you can see the actual position. I then use an application to measure the accuracy of the signal. Not yet available / tested[b][b][b]Top 10 - GPS accuracy ranking
1. Oukitel C21 1m
2. Redmi 9a 1m
3. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 1m
4. Redmi 9c 2m
5. Umidigi Bison 2m
6. Samsung Galaxy A21s 4m

Number of smartphones in the ranking:7
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:0/7

Note: An accuracy of 3 meters or less can easily be corrected by a good GPS application. Phone performance also plays a role in how fast your display updates, so good accuracy could be compromised by too slow a display.
[b]

Battery range

Capacity : 5000
Fast charge : Yes
W max : 18
Not yet available / tested[b][b]

Photo camera test

To test the quality of photos produced by a phone, I do a technical test (resolution, sharpness, chromatic aberration,...) in studio (identical conditions) to evaluate the technical part objectively. From the second half of 2020, I built my own laboratory to take completely objective technical measurements. I then take pictures in real conditions to see how the camera performs. I then evaluate these photos according to my criteria but I publish the photos so that you can evaluate the result according to your criteria.[b]

Hardware

Selfie / resolution : 13
Selfie / sensor : Samsung S5K3L6
Resolution : 48
Sensor : Samsung S5KGM1
Not yet available / tested[b][b]Default app[b]Not yet available / tested[b][b][b]

Photoquality

Photo test / studio[b]Not yet available / tested[b][b][b]Photo test / sunny[b]Not yet available / tested[b][b][b]Photo test / cloudy[b]Not yet available / tested[b][b][b]Test photo / night[b]Not yet available / tested[b][b][b]

Video quality

Stabilisation[b]Not yet available / tested[b][b]Video normale conditionsNot yet available / tested[b][b]Video low light[b]Not yet available / tested[b][b]

Audio quality

To test the quality of the phone's audio output, I connect the device's audio output to a measuring tool, then play sounds on all frequencies and measure the differences between the original sound and the sound produced by the phone. In this way I measure the phone's ability to correctly reproduce all sounds.[b]
Frequency Response[b]This test is intended to test the device's ability to correctly reproduce all frequencies. The white line in the middle of the graph is the ideal situation and the other colors come from tests on different phones. A deviation from the reference line indicates a deviation from the ideal situation. To see good sound at all frequencies, it is therefore necessary to get as close as possible to the reference line. Not yet available / tested[b][b]Dynamic Range[b]This test is designed to test a phone's ability to play sounds at different volume levels. Here too, the phones must be as close as possible to the reference.Not yet available / tested[b][b]Noise Level[b]This test aims to identify if the device under test is able to reproduce sounds without too much noise. A high score indicates a low parasite rate, a lower score indicates a higher presence of parasites.Not yet available / tested[b][b]Concert recording[b]The purpose of this test is to measure the recording quality of the phone when there is a lot of ambient noise. Since I don't have the opportunity to go to a concert every time I test a phone, I simulate the noise of a concert in a closed environment.Not yet available / tested[b][b]

Screen quality

To test the screen, I use a colorimetric probe that measures the color accuracy of a screen, as well as other parameters to see if a screen is able to correctly reproduce an image. I also test the brightness level to determine if the screen will be able to display an image in full sunlight.[b]
Screen size : 6.53
Resolution : 1080 x 2340
Ratio : 20:9
Type : LCD IPS
% occupancy : 82
Colorimetry[b]Not yet available / tested[b][b][b]Top 10 - ranking of the best screens by colorimetry
1. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g dE = 0.73
2. Xiaomi Mi 10t Pro dE = 0.83
3. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 dE = 1.2
4. Samsung Galaxy S20 dE = 1.4
5. Poco M3 dE = 1.4
6. Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite dE = 1.46
7. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s dE = 1.47
8. Honor 9x dE = 1.5
9. Poco F2 Pro dE = 1.73
10. Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite dE = 1.91

Number of smartphones in the ranking:35
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:0/35

Note: the colorimetric difference is measured in dE. After three, the human eye will perceive a colorimetric difference, so the dE should be the lowest. The tests were all carried out with a colorimetric probe.
[b]Brightness / Contrast[b]Not yet available / tested[b][b]Light Absorption/Reflection[b]The smartphone screen reflect light and sometimes turn them into a real mirror. This mirror effect makes it harder to read. [b][b]The absorption index below indicates the percentage of light absorbed by the screen. The readability of a screen is better when the absorption index is high.[b][b]
Phone tested:% light absorption
Samsung Galaxy S10+58
Xiaomi Mi 9T Pro52
Honor 9x65
Redmi Note 9s55
Motorola G8 Power60
Realme 654
Umidigi F248
Poco F2 Pro52
Redmi Note 956
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite53
Samsung Galaxy S2047
Samsung Galaxy A21s53
The phones tested have an average absroption rate of54 %

Biometry

Not yet available / tested[b][b]

Operating system

[b]Not yet available / tested[b][b]

Encoutered bugs

Not yet available / tested[b][b]

Accessories Xiaomi Redmi Note 9T

To better enjoy your experience with your smartphone, I offer links to all kinds of accessories that you might find useful

Protective cover / case redmi note 9t
Screen protection film redmi note 9t
Memory card redmi note 9t
USB Cable / Charger redmi note 9t
Headphones redmi note 9t
Bike rack redmi note 9t

Compare Xiaomi Redmi Note 9T with the others

I assigned a score of 1 to 10 for each test that determines the strengths and weaknesses of a product. I am using 0 for criteria that have not (yet) been tested. A score of 1 to 3 indicates poor performance (and yes, it does), a score of 4 to 6 indicates average performance, a score of 7 to 8 indicates good performance, and a score of 9 and 10 indicates exceptional performance. .
The score is calculated based on my measurements and when there are no measurements, it is a subjective opinion based on my experience.

The scores are not static, they change over time because the performance of new products changes and this must be taken into account.

Score not yet available
Redmi Note 9T
Global ranking
1. Samsung Galaxy S20 112 / 140
2. Poco F2 Pro 111 / 140
3. Samsung Galaxy S10+ 107 / 140
4. Xiaomi Mi 9t Pro 106 / 140
5. Poco X3 102 / 140
6. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g 101 / 140
7. Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite 101 / 140
8. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro 100 / 140
9. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s 98 / 140
10. Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite 98 / 140
11. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 97 / 140
12. Xiaomi Redmi Note 7 94 / 140
13. Realme 6 93 / 140
14. Umidigi Bison 92 / 140
15. Umidigi A9 Pro 92 / 140
16. Oukitel C21 89.5 / 140
17. Xiaomi Mi A3 89 / 140
18. Motorola G8 Power 89 / 140
19. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 89 / 140
20. Nokia 5.3 89 / 140
21. Honor 9x 88 / 140
22. Meizu Note 9 86 / 140
23. Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite 86 / 140
24. Xiaomi Redmi Note 5 85 / 140
25. Umidigi S3 Pro 83 / 140
26. Samsung Galaxy A21s 82 / 140
27. Umidigi F2 82 / 140
28. Redmi 9a 81 / 140
29. Redmi 9c 80 / 140
30. Ulefone Armor 7e 80 / 140
31. Doogee S58 Pro 78.5 / 140
32. Honor 8x 78 / 140
33. Poco M3 77.5 / 110
34. Umidigi F1 77 / 140
35. Huawei Y6 2019 74 / 140
36. Xiaomi Mi 10t Pro 57 / 70
37. Elephone U5 0 / 0

Test / Review conclusion

[b]Not yet available / tested[b][b]Strengths[b]Not yet available / tested[b][b][b]Weaknesses[b]Not yet available / tested[b][b][b]Alternatives to this product[b][b]Not yet available / tested[b][b]

Comments

Join the discussion / Ask your questions

Your comment will be published after validation. I respond to over 1500 comments a year in my spare time, so I can't always respond very quickly. Your email address will not be publicly visible and it will not be used for commercial purposes.









Be notified by email when a response is published