English is not my mother language, the following article may contain mistakes

Xgimi H1, what’s this?

 

The H1 is the second born from the Xgimi family, a new chinese company with ambitions in the video projector area. Just like their first model, Xgimi decided to go for crowd funding, their target was set to 100.000$ and in the end they got 1Mio$ ! When I saw all the positive reviews of their first model, I took my chance with this crowdfunding campaign in september 2016 and got the H1 mid-december 2016. As I was one of the lucky first, I got the H1 for a preferential price of 420€ and a couple of interesting freebies like tripod adapter, 2 active 3D glasses and a transport bag.

 

Questions ?

 

If you have any questions before buying, ask them in the comments at the bottom of the page to share them with everyone. I’ll try to answer them as soon as I can.

Official site:

Xgimi

 

Where to buy?

 

550 EUR - XGIMI H1 Beamer Projektor Full HD 900 ANSI Lumen N (eBay DE - DE)
679 EUR - XGIMI H1 900 Ansi Lumens Full HD Projector (eBay US - USA)
689.99 EUR - Original XGIMI H1 900ANSI Lumens DLP Projector Hom (eBay DE - DE)
719.99 EUR - XGIMI H1 1080p Projector DLP 900ANSI Lumens 3+16GB (Amazon.com - USA)
739.99 EUR - XGIMI H1 LED Projecteur Cinéma maison 900 ANSI lu (eBay FR - FR)
749 EUR - Mundial XGIMI H1 DLP proyector Brand New (eBay US - USA)
759 EUR - XGIMI H1 Full HD LED Home Projector, 900 Lumens (eBay US - USA)
759.99 EUR - XGIMI H1 Projecteur 900 ANSI LM Vidéo projecteur (eBay FR - FR)
759.99 EUR - XGIMI H1 LED Projector Projecteur Home Theater DLP (eBay FR - FR)
759.99 EUR - Proyector de Cine en casa XGIMI H1 300 Pulgadas 10 (Amazon.es - ES)
759.99 EUR - XGIMI H1 Proyector (Cine en Casa, Función 3D, 108 (Amazon.es - ES)
759.99 EUR - XGIMI H1 1080p Projecteur DLP 900ANSI Lumens 3 + 1 (Amazon France - FR)
769.99 EUR - XGIMI H1 DLP Portable Video Projector 300" Display (Amazon.com - USA)
775 EUR - XGIMI H1 Beamer (Full-HD, 3D, 900 ANSI Lumen, ) (eBay DE - DE)
799 EUR - Original XGIMI H1 DLP Projector 1080P Full HD 3D S (Aliexpress - CN)
817.63 EUR - XGIMI H1 Projector 900 Ansi Lumens Full HD 1920 x (Unbeatable sale - USA)

Flash sale, price goes down to 555€!!
Flash sale xGimi

 

In Europe:
Amazon France
AliExpress.com (from 620€, they have stock in Europe!)

In the US:
Amazon US
AliExpress.com (from 749$, they have stock in the US)

In China:
AliExpress.com
Gearbest.com

 

Price Xgimi H2

For those looking for the H2, I have regrouped some offers here.

768.99 EUR - XGIMI - XGIMI H2 - Projector H2 1350 ANSI lumens F (eBay US - USA)
849 EUR - Home Projector, XGIMI H2 Home Theater Video Movie (Amazon.com - USA)
849 EUR - Home Theater Projector, XGIMI H2 Home Projector Na (Amazon.com - USA)
869 EUR - Projector, XGIMI H2 Native 1080p HD Android Smart (eBay US - USA)
869.99 EUR - Original XGIMI H2 DLP 1350 ANSI Lumens Home Theate (GearBest - CN)
879 EUR - XGIMI H2 1920*1080 dlp Full HD projector 1350 ANSI (Aliexpress - CN)
879.12 EUR - xgimi h2 1080P Full HD DLP projector 1350 ANSI Lum (Aliexpress - CN)
879.12 EUR - XGIMI H2 DLP Projector 1920x1080 Full HD Shutter 3 (Aliexpress - CN)
879.99 EUR - XGIMI H2 Projector 1350 ANSI lumens FullHD Global (eBay US - USA)
899.99 EUR - XGIMI H2 1080P 4K Projector HD LED Android OS with (Amazon.com - USA)
949 EUR - Beamer, Verbesserter XGIMI H2 Native 1080p HD DLP- (eBay DE - DE)
949 EUR - Vidéoprojecteur, XGIMI H2 Natif 1080p HD DLP Andr (eBay FR - FR)
999 EUR - XGIMI H2 beamer (Bol.com - NL)
999.99 EUR - XGIMI H2 1920*1080 dlp Full HD Projector 1350 ANSI (Amazon.es - ES)
999.99 EUR - XGIMI H2 Proyector (Cine en Casa, 4K HD, TV sin Pa (Amazon.es - ES)
999.99 EUR - XGIMI H2 1920 * 1080 dlp Full HD projecteur 1350 A (Amazon France - FR)
999.99 EUR - XGIMI H2 1080P 4K Projecteur HD 1350 ANSI LED Andr (Amazon France - FR)
1181 EUR - XGIMI H2 LED Projektor, 511652 ~D~ (eBay FR - FR)
1181 EUR - XGIMI H2 LED Projektor, 511652 ~D~ (eBay DE - DE)
1189.65 EUR - XGIMI H2 DLP proyector Full HD 1080 p obturador 3D (eBay ES - ES)
1189.65 EUR - Internacional versión global XGIMI H2 DLP proyect (eBay ES - ES)
1192.14 EUR - Original XGIMI H2 proyector de cine en casa 300 pu (eBay ES - ES)

 

My expectations?

I was looking for a very specific type of projector, I wanted a compact 1080p LED projector with low power consumption. I have solar panels on my roof, I have enough capacity to cover all my needs but I’m very careful in what I buy to avoid exceeding that capacity. Low power consumption was a critical feature for me. There are already decent 1080p LED projectors on the market but most of them have a very high power consumption, usually above 250W.
 

My setup

I have a dedicated room in my house that I was already using for TV but knowing that I would buy a projector one day, I painted one wall in plain white. The room is not big, 3x5m, but the white wall was big enough to get the movie theater experience at home, the projection surface is the equivalent of a 141 inch screen. I did not use any special paint, just plain white paint and I made sure my wall was nicely flat.
 

H1 shape

The Xgimi H1 has an unusual shape, it’s not big, it’s not small or at least not small enough to fit in your pocket unlike other chinese models. Size is ok to transport with a bag, it certainly is easier to transport than a traditional full size projector. Aside its unusual shape the H1 is actually a very nice device, it’s obvious that Xgimi wanted to give a premium positioning to their product and avoid the usual crappy feeling of cheap chinese products. The Xgimi looks and feels premium, no squeaky plastics!

 

In the package…

 

Thanks to the crowd funding campaign, I received a package with 2 active 3D glasses, one tripod adapter (very useful if you have a standard camera tripod), a USB remote control, power chord + adapters and a transport bag. The projector is very nicely packed, again this premium feeling in a nice cubic shaped black box.

 

Image quality

Image quality is probably the most important thing when you buy a video projector and unfortunately most of those coming from China are not doing well on that level. Is it also the case for the Xgimi H1 ? Well…no, definitely not! Don’t expect the quality of a high end video projector but for that price range, you will probably not get a better image quality, it’s really good and suffer no major issues. Ok, I’m not an expert and my eyes are not what they used to be but really, it’s good and and I’m not the only one saying it. Some of my friends have traditional video projectors and they all had to admit that the Xgimi is better.

 

In my current setup, my projection surface is around 141 inch and of course if you look from close you won’t get the same quality as on a decent TV but with a viewing distance of 1m50-2m, it’s already very good. Color accuracy is ok, I felt like the picture was a bit too reddish with factory defaults so I reduced the red to 75% and now I really like the color balance. Of course, that’s something very personal, everyone will probably find different settings.

 

There is nothing special about my wall, like I already wrote, I used normal white paint on a flat wall so I suppose I would get a slightly better quality on a real projection screen but finding one that size is nor easy nor cheap.

 

Important to note that the H1 also offer keystone correction and that’s very useful if you can’t put the video projector right behind you. I managed to fit the picture perfectly with my wall, I’m not wasting a single inch.

 

Some pictures I took:

xgimi test image qualité quality

 

 
And here is a video sample taken with my DSLR, you can compare with the original video. Sharpness is much better in reality, filming conditions are not ideal.

Original video (without projector): https://youtu.be/L14nXRxJILg
 

Image settings

If the factory setting do not meet your expectations, you can change the brightness, pitch, contrast and much more. To access this feature, simply press the remote control button on top of the navigation button (three bars) for a few seconds. A menu will then appear on the screen and you will be able to apply the appropriate settings. The best thing to do is to watch a good quality movie in order to make your settings on a good basis.
 

Brightness

With only 900 lumens, the Xgimi is not the brightest video projector out there but it’s surpringly good. I have a powerful white led light in my room and it’s right in the middle of the room so it comes between the projector and the wall. Even when the light is turned on, the image on the wall is still visible and I’m not even using the maximum brightness. Of course, in full darkness it’s better but still it’s nice to see that 900 lumens might actually perform very well. You can check my pictures below, I have taken a picture with the lights on and another one with lights off.

xgimi test avec lumière

 

 

White / Black balance

Compared to a TV, video projectors don’t perform very well in white / black contrasts. The Xgimi H1 produces a very nice and clean white, really pure while black is more like dark grey. So you don’t get black like on tv but it’s very acceptable. Even in movies with darker scenes, you don’t lose much of what you get on a tv.
 

Harman-Kardon sound

At first I was a bit skeptic, how did those unknown guys from Xgimi get hardware like Harman Kardon in their device ? It sounds like fraud but believe me, it’s not. Harman-Kardon is not just a sticker they pasted on the device, sound is really good! Of course it won’t be a dedicated setup with amplifier and good loudspeakers but it does the job. Again I’m no expert but I tried multiple types of sounds (movie, mp3, streaming from my phone, … and it produced a nice sound in all conditions. I performs pretty well in medium range but lacks a bit of thrills for lower tones.

 

You can also use the H1 like a bluetooth speakers by switching to bluetooth speaker mode and using any connected device to stream. I connected my Nokia Lumia 930 and it worked like a charm, I did not have to try several times before gettting it to work.

 

I also tried headsets directly connected to the jack connector but there I was a little bit disappointed. Listing to music with a headset is ok but not watching a movie because for some reason music is very loud and voices are very low so you don’t understand voices very well.

 

Bluetooth audio kag

Some users here reported audio lag when using a bluetooth audio device connected to the projector. I contacted XGIMI support and they advised to use a video player like Kodi and set a delay for the sound so that the lag is compensated by the software part.
 

Power consumption

Low power consumption was one of my main requirements. So is it any good ? Yes, definitely and in a very impressive way. With the full brightness, power consumption is around 80W (image and sound) and now with my brightness set to 8, it dropped to 70W. Wow, I did not expect such a low consumption! For 70W I have a 141 inch picture with decent sound, Android and web connectivity, that’s really incredible. In my previous setup I had a 150W TV + 70W amplifier + 15W TV box + 15W Android box, that’s 250W in total. Xgimi claim you can replace your TV with their H1, well, it’s true! I have pushed my TV aside, I can now enjoy a full movie theater experience for a consumption of a big light bulb!
 

Android

Xgimi has installed a special version of Android called Android TV on the device. The UI is pretty simple, easy to use a very smooth. You don’t have access to the normal Play Store from Google, you have access to something called Aptoide TV where you can download popular apps but the number of available apps is limited. There is a trick however to access Play Store apps, you just need to install the Play Store app by yourself (through the browser for example) and with this you have access to everything in the Play Store. I’m not an app freak so I haven’t tried many of them so far. I downloaded Kodi (media center app) and that covers most of my need anyway.

 

This Android version is pretty stable, I’ve never had a crash or any glitches. I previously was using a Minix Android box and it’s nothing close to what you have in the H1, even with the latest ROM, I still had regular crashes. The H1 has also a powerful CPU/GPU combination, reading an uncompressed 1080p movie plays smoothly without any interruption or buffering.

 

Noise

Noise ? What noise ? Another very interesting thing, the H1 doesn’t make any noise. You barely hear it if you sit next to it but it’s nothing like the traditionnal projectors!

 

Check yourself with the video below (sorry for the quality but I did it in a hurry). Video has been taken less than 1m away from the projector. I have turned off the sound when the H1 was busy streaming a video. Clicks from the remote control make much more noise than the H1 itself.

 

Remote control

You get a very nice remote control with the projector, it can be charged through USB but the battery range is so good that I haven’t charged it since I have received the device. There is also a gravity sensor but I haven’t managed to use it so far, sometimes I get it to work, sometimes not. Most of what you need can be controlled with the remote, if you intend to surf you might need to add a mouse or a keyword because the remote is not enought in that case. I tried an USB mouse and it worked perfectly.
 

Rainbow effect

Like most DLP projector, you will have a rainbow effect but I never experienced any issue with this. It’s visible when you start blinking fast or fast movements but honestly it never caused me any trouble. One of my friend also has a DLP with rainbow effect and the effect is much more visible there.
 

Gaming

Xgimi was advertised as a gaming projector with a low lag that would allow you to play games without any issue. Again, it’s true. I have tried some Android games and everything worked fine but they were quite ugly as those games do not support 1080p and beaming them on a 141 inch is not recommended. I also tried to connect my old XBOX 360 through HDMI and again, very smooth experience, no lag. I did not play very much but I tried Assassins Creed and Forza Horizon, I did not encounter any issue.

 

Aptoide TV comes with an application called Moonlight, this application streams content from your regular PC to the H1, this way you can run your usual games from your computer and stream them to your video projector. Very nice feature in theory but I have never managed to make it work, I have a GTX 1070 but my PC has a different IP range than my projector so that might explain why my projector did not find my PC.

 

The H1 is not supposed to be a gaming projector because it has a lag around 50ms but from my experience, it’s doing a pretty good job at it. In the example below, I played a little bit with Need For Speed Shift 2 and the experience was really good. Check for yourself here below:

 

Projection/Throw distance

The Xgimi H1 has only a 1.1 optical zoom which means that the screen size depends on how far your projector is from the wall/screen. In my setup, my projector is approximately 4 m away and I have a diagonal of around 150 inch. I had to use the software zoom to make the picture a bit smaller because at that distance my screen was a little bit too small.

 

How can you calculate the screen size ? There is a little formula for this, even if it’s not scientifically accurate, it gives you a pretty good idea of what to expect. You simply need to divide the throw distance (distance between screen and projector) by 1.39 and 1.5 to get your screen width (not the diagonal). In my case, I would divide 4m by 1.39 and 1.5 which results in 2.6-2.87m and guess what, my wall has a width of 2.89m so it’s not bad at all.

 

Calculating the resulting diagonal requires some basic math. The projector has a 16:9 projection ratio. If you have a width of 100cm, it means that your height would be 56.25cm. Now to calculate the diagonal you need to use the following formula: width²+height² = diagonal². In my case I have something like 2.89² + 1.62² = diagonal². So if my math is not too rusty, I end up with a diagonal of 3.31m ( = 130.3 inch). In reality it’s a bit more, probably because my projector is not throwing the image right in front of the wall.

 

Here is something I have found on XGIMI’s forum, it should give you an idea without going too much into the math.
h1 throw distance projection

 
 

Stepless zoom

I often receive questions about throw distance and image size but there is something more I should tell you about. You can calculate the theoritical image size with the formula in the previous paragraph but if your screen / wall is too small, you can always use the stepless zoom to reduce your image size to your requirements. My image width is 2m89 with stepless zoom set to 7. If I use the maximum value (100), I end up with an image of 1m89. See for yourself here below.

 

That’s the main menu with stepless zoom set on 7.

xgimi stepless zoom

I change it to 100

xgimi stepless zoom

And I get a much smaller picture without any loss in quality.

xgimi stepless zoom

Update: I receive a lot of questions about the stepless zoom, so I made some additional measurements to help you. I started the stepless zoom at 8 and had a base image of 287cm (width). I then went to 20 and the image decreased to 273cm, then to 40 the image increased to 252cm, then to 60 the image increased to 229cm and finally to 80 where the image is assigned to 206cm. So be careful, I didn’t do it scientifically, so the figure may be imprecise, but what I see is that the progression is linear. When I increase the zoom by 20 points, the image decreases by about 23cm. This measurement is obviously valid for my projection distance but it should give you an idea of what the stepless zoom is capable of doing.

 

Remember that this calculation is only valid for my situation with a projection distance close to 4m and a projector placed on the right rear of the part (with keystone correction).

 

Accessories

There are several accessories for the Xgimi that will allow you to complete your experience:

 

3D glasses
I have 2 3D glasses for the Xgimi, I am not a big fan of 3D but they are the only 3D glasses with which I saw 3D. The ones at the movies never worked for me. You can find 3D glasses from 14-15€ on Aliexpress. With this kind of amount, there is no risk with customs duties.
3D glasses

 

Tripod
If you do not have furniture for your projector, you can always consider using a tripod. Xgimi offers an “official” tripod but any photo tripod will do. I used a tripod at 20€ but I opted for a placement on cupboard because it was more practical.
Tripod Xgimi
Tripod adapter Xgimi
Wall/ceiling mount

 

Screen
If you don’t have a beautiful white wall at your disposal, you still have the possibility to buy a screen for your Xgimi. You can either buy a high-end screen in Europe or take a Chinese alternative that will probably be a little less good but this type of screen will cost 10 times less.
Ecran projecteur

 

Remote control
Have you lost or broken your remote control? Good news, you can easily find another one in China.
Remote control

 

Google Play Services Update (Root XGIMI)

I recently received a couple of messages from users who were unable to install some applications (error 506) and at some point I also faced the issue. The problem apparently comes from the application Google Play Services (and not Store) which needs to be updated. If this application is not updated, you won’t be able to install recent applications. I don’t know why this problem occurs but with the method below I managed to solve the issue for my projector. It’s a bit technical and there is always a risk involved in that sort manipulation so use it at your own risk, I’m only publishing it for those sufficiently skilled to operate such an update.

 

Update: some users reported that the procedure here below works better if you first log in to your Google account through Kodi. If you’re not logged before starting, you may have to reset your projector to factory defaults.

 

1. Root your projector
From the home screen, click on System Setup > About > System Information
On this screen, press and hold the left arrow on your remote control until the following screen appears. There is a mix of Chinese and English here. Look for the ADB line and make sure you have the symbol as in the picture below.
xgimi root

 

2. Get your IP address
If your projector is connected through a wired connection: System Setup > Connection Settings > Wired Network
If your projector is connected through a wireless connection: System Setup > Connection Settings > Wifi
Note down your IP address, it should be an internal one with something like 192.168.xxx.xxx (depends on your network configuration)

 

3. Download ADB
To connect to your projector you’ll need a small program provided by Google. You can download it from here: https://dl.google.com/android/repository/platform-tools-latest-windows.zip
Install the content somewhere on your local drive like c:\adb (any location will be ok as long as you remember where you stored it)

 

4. Download Google Play Services
There are many version of this application on the web, you basically need an APK file so that you can install it manually. I have tested with the following ones:
https://www.apkmirror.com/apk/google-inc/google-play-services/google-play-services-11-9-51-release/google-play-services-11-9-51-230-177350961-android-apk-download/
https://www.apkmirror.com/apk/google-inc/google-play-services/google-play-services-12-5-29-release/google-play-services-12-5-29-020300-192802242-android-apk-download/
A word of caution, I do not manage those files, they worked for me but you should make sure they are safe for you.

 

Once downloaded you need to store the file where you have installed ADB and rename the file in GmsCore.apk (case sensitive)

 

5. Connect to the projector
The following procedure is not complicated but if you are unfamiliar with command line instruction, you may be a little bit scared. This type of manipulation can alter the software of your projector so you should be very careful when doing this, don’t do something you don’t understand. I did this with my projector and everything went well but you take the responsibility to do it on your device.

 

Run the command line interpreter from Windows (type command in the search if you don’t know where to find it). A black window opens with the current directory. You now need to go to the directory where you have installed ADB. Once you have done this, you can start the following procedure:

 

adb connect XXX.XXX.XXX.XXX (replace X with your own projector IP)
adb root
adb connect XXX.XXX.XXX.XXX (replace X with your own projector IP)
adb shell
setenforce 0
rm -rf /system/priv-app/GmsCore/GmsCore.apk
exit
adb push c:\adb\GmsCore.apk system/priv-app/GmsCore/ (don’t forget to adapt the location of your APK file)
adb disconnect youripaddress

 

From here you can swap your projector to normal mode again (see step 1 where you changed into root mode) and then restart your device.
You can check which version of Google Play Services you have by downloading an application called Play Services Info/Update. With the files mentionned above you should have version 11 or 12 depending on which file you chose (last version in April 2018)

 

Update Google Play Services (after version 1.5)

If your projector is running with ROM 1.4.X or lower, you should disregard this paragraph. For the others, the procedure described above is still valid but other APK files must be used for the update. I had to do several tests to get there but I found the right versions. I used version 13.2 from September 2018 and then installed it using the procedure described below. I had tried version 12 or 14 but it didn’t work.

 

Then, you will have to install a new version of the Google Play Store, you can on the same site get a version 11.7 (again not the one for Android TV). To install the Play Store, you must use a USB key and run the APK directly from the key. I use ES file explorer to access my USB key and launch APKs. Still with ES file explorer, you can then launch the Play Store in Library > APP. You may have to go through an identification screen with a sign-in button. I couldn’t pass this step with the remote control, fortunately I have a wireless keyboard connected to the projector, where I could easily identify myself and access the Play Store as before.

 

This procedure works but will probably have to be reviewed at the next projector update where you will probably have to look for the best version of Play Services and the best version of the Play Store.

 

Important note:always check the integrity of the files you use (antivirus, antimalware,…) because I don’t know how reliable apkmirror.com is. There is indeed an indication before downloading the file but on several versions that I downloaded, the permissions were different, they asked for permission to make calls. For a projector it doesn’t matter, but still I didn’t take the risk.

 

Netflix in HD

I often get questions about Netflix and how to stream in HD on the xgimi. Unfortunately I don’t have a Netflix account to try it out myself but there are some hacks enabling higher resolutions. As I don’t know what those hacks are exactly doing, use them with caution.

http://199.175.53.21/netflixlatest.ultrahd.apk
http://199.175.53.21/netflixlatest.ultrahdwithdolby5.1.apk
If you have any experience to share about those hacks or on how to enable HD on Netflix, please share it here below in the comment section so that everybody can benefit from it.
 

Any issues?

I’ve been using the Xgimi H1 since mid december 2016, I think I’ve used it for more than 50h nows. I have encountered the following minor issues:

– remote control is not enough to enjoy the full experience, a mouse would be better

– picture seems to be less sharp around the edges

– sound through headset/jack is too loud and voices are difficult to understand

– did not manage to stream from the Amazon Prime app

– now that my four year old son has watched “Frozen” with the projector, I think I’ll have to endure that a couple of times now

 

Update February 2017

The sharpness issue is definitely linked to the projector position. I have now move the H1 to one corner of my room and changed the trapezoid shape and I’m now losing sharpness in a complete different place. I managed in the end to reduce the problem so that sharpness in the center is good, lack of sharpness is now only slightly visible on the extreme outside of the picture.

 

Update April 2017

I’m still very happy with the H1. I did a software update some days ago, it was a little bit scary as I did not know what to expect and with no feedback from other people, I was unsure of the outcome. It took a couple of minutes but everything went fine. I did not notice any changes.

 

I have recharged the remote control for the first time. I have been using it since december 2016 and it ran out of battery 5 months later, not bad!

 

Update March 2018

Time passes by very quickly, I now have the H1 for more than 1 year and 4 months. I’m still very happy with it. I have used it for more than 300 hours and I haven’t encountered any problem so far. XGIMI has already released two software updates and the upgrade went well. I don’t see any degradation in performances or brightness and all applications I’m used are still working fine. All the people I know who have bought the H1 are very happy with it too.
 
Update 15/06/2018
Xgimi is deploying a new update but they are deploying it silently. My projector was behaving strangely yesterday, I couldn’t go beyond the main menu, the projector was constantly going back to the home screen. I left the projector turned on for a couple of minutes without doing anything and suddenly a message appearing inviting me to install an freshly downloaded update.
After 10 to 15 minutes, the update was installed and my projector was working normally again. I understand the importance of update but it’s the first time that an update is forced without my consent. Xgimi should at least warn its users before starting the download.
 

Conclusion

I’m really happy with the Xgimi H1, I can completely put my TV aside and enjoy a 141 inch experience without any hassle. Nice picture, nice sound, low consumption, everything I ever wanted !

Outside purists, I’m sure this device will make many people happy, the only thing that would make change my mind is if maybe Xgimi came with a 4k model.

Xgimi guys: you did a great job ! (and no i’m not working for them)

If you have any questions, shoot!

 
 
 
 
 

Comments : 45

Les liens dans les commentaires ne sont pas en "no follow" mais seuls les commentaires pertinents seront publiés.

VENKATA REDDY
I AM USING THE PROJECTOR AND FOUN THAT VERY NICE BUT USING THE BLUETOOTH THE SOUND OUT IS NOT MATCHING WITH THE MOVIE LIP MOVEMENT. PLEASE GIVE ME THE CLARIFICATION AND RECTIFY
 
LaurentW
I haven't tried that option, I think I have a bluetooth speaker somewhere in my stuff, I'll give it a try as soon as I can. Thanks!
 
LaurentW
I have tried to use a cheap chinese bluetooth speaker and it worked well, no sync issue. Did you try it with a specific brand?
 
Paul
I'm also one of the early buyers, so far, nothing to complain about !
 
riyad
What is his best background

Black

White

Gray

Knowing that the room is dark

I want to watch football and matches
 
LaurentW
Hello Riyad,

I have a pure white background so I can't tell you about black or grey. If I find something black at home I can have a try.

Thanks
Laurent
 
Ravindra
Why do u need the mouse? The remote can work as a mouse if u shake it. It turns into a mouse pointer. Were you not aware of that? Or did u mean something else when u said the remote is not enough and u need a mouse??
 
LaurentW
Hello Ravindra,

You are right, you can emulate a mouse by shaking the remote but a real mouse is much more precise. If you only have to click on big icons, you don't need a mouse but if you want to play or do something that requires more precision, a mouse is better.

Thanks
 
filipe
I have the same problem - When i connect the H1 Projector to a bluethoot JBL speaker or a Sony Bluethoot Heaphones there is a considerable audio lag / audio delay. Does anyone know how to fix this ?
 
LaurentW
Hi Filipe,

I'll check with Xgimi directly as you're not the first one to complain about this.

Thanks
Laurent
 
Diallo Abdel Aziz
Hello

Since this projector is using DLP technology, does it generate any rainbow effect that is typical to that technology ?

Nice review. Thanks.



Reagards
 
LaurentW
Yes, the projector generates some rainbow effect but I hardly notice it. It's definitely not something disturbing me.
 
Leonardo Mesquita Goulart
Heey, how are u buddy ?



I've a question... Can I sync my H1 with other speaker ?

For exemple: It's playing a music in H1, Can I sync with other speaker and then both playing the same music ?





Thanks
 
Jon Westgate
Have you tried 3D? how much brightness did you loose?
 
LaurentW
Yes, I did. I'm one of those who can't see 3D at the movie theater but with the H1 I have seen 3D for the first time, it's probably glasses are active. For the brightness, it's indeed weaker with 3D but I couldn't tell you by how much the brightness decrease, nothing that shocked me anyway.
 
LaurentW
Yes and it's pretty simple. From the home screen, you go up where you have network connectivity icons, there is a bluetooth link there. Select it, scan for new devices, select your external bluetooth device and once it's connected, play music.
 
George
I want to use projector outside in daytime. What so you think? If I make shadow for the screen, can I have good enough picture for soccer games?
 
LaurentW
I haven't tried my projector outside but xgimi has launched a new model called Aurora CC and they promote it as a portable projector to use outside. You can find it here: Aurora CC It's actually a bit cheaper than the H1.
 
John Ashman
There actually shouldn´t be any rainbow effect because of the LED engine. Rainbow is really an effect of the old color wheel design. LEDs operate at a much higher speed and so it should be impossible to detect any rainbow effect at all.
 
LaurentW
Hello John,
I'm not an expert but the H1 is a DLP projector with a LED lamp. On the official site, they mention is a TI DLP, I don't know what that means.
 
Drosos
I want to ask you about 4K because I m interesting to buy this projector very seriously. I read to another site that it support s 4k video in 60 fps . its and to the specs for the item from Xgimi that supports 4K . OK! The question is : I will see the picture quality who I see from my 1080p full HD TV Sony 50 kdl 705B on a 4k video from you tube or better quality? About resolution I mean. Thank you
 
Drosos Drosos
Hello! I have a question about 4K quality picture. I have a Sony 50 kdl 705B model full HD resolution 1080p. I see 4K videos from you tube and I see the differences with other videos. To other site I read that Xgimi X1 supports 4k on 60fps. The quality picture will be better about resolution? I m thinking very seriously buy thus projector for this specific. It has differences to the image with another projector who does not supports 4K? Thank you!!
 
keshkesh
do you have sort of a small greyish black frame around the image? is this normal?
 
LaurentW
Hello, the H1 has an optical resolution of 1920x1080 which means that it is never going to display more pixels but if you choose a 4k source, it will be played and rendered in full hd. There might be a difference in quality but mainly because a 4k source is probably of a better quality than a full hd one.
 
LaurentW
yes but only if you use keystone correction. The projected surface is much bigger than the real image when you apply corrections to make your image fit your wall. My projector is located at the back right corner of my room which means that I need to correct the shape of the picture. Everything falling outside the real image is greyish but it's barely visible.
 
Jeff Swanwick
Hi Laurent,



I'm looking for a projector for my RV/Motorhome in the UK...small space so like the low noise this makes. Can't seem to find info on the "throw"....? the minimum distance it will work or is that a stupid question? Just depends on the size of screen you want maybe? I'm looking at having a screen about 40" diagonal up to one metre wide and max 55cm high (odd dimensions I know but space in a van ain't great. Can this projector change the screen size without moving it? or is that yet another stupid question? Never before looked at a projector as you can see......if I can't change the screen size with gadgetry could you tell me what size picture will i get at 120cm or 2 metres. Probably a bit of a bother to find this out but if you could that would be great! Thanks. Great review.....they should pay you!



Regards



Jeff
 
LaurentW
Hi Jeff,

Thanks! Your question is not stupid at all! There no optical zoom which means that the projection distance defines how big your screen will be. For a 40 inch screen you need 1.2m, you would get around 70 inch around 2m. If you have more distance but your screen is small, you can use software resizing but of course you can only make your picture smaller.

I'll upload a picture with some examples in a couple of minutes.

Thanks
 
Bharat
Hi.



How do you get Prime.video.to.work on the Xgimi H1?

The app loads but the video does not. Have you figured out a workaround?
 
LaurentW
Hello,

It's a codec issue, Amazon/Netflix/... and alikes are not keen on allowing smaller manufacturers to access their content. I have not seen an alternative, at least not with the official app. I did not try unofficial apps.

Thanks
 
manuel
Hello Laurent



After the last forced update of the xgimi, my google play services has been downgraded to the initial version the proyector had. When i go the system information screen i get an english menu after pressing the left botton 5 sec, instead of the chinese menu version the proyector had before. On this menu, i can not find the ADB option. So I do not know if is enabled or not. Despite that, I do the steps you describe here, (that worked perfectly before this on the past version) , and on my computer it does seems that is done ok, but it does nothing on the xgimi (the google play services do not update).



Have you had this problem? If not, do you have any ideas on how to solve it or how to find the adb enabling option?



May thanks
 
LaurentW
Hello Manuel, ah, I did not check if Google Play Services were updated. Which app(s) did you try to download ? I'll try the same on my side. I tried to download a couple of apps like National Geographic for example (and a couple of others) and everything went well. Thanks!
 
manuel
I do not know what the problem was, but i did an USB reset with the firmware v1.3, and then all what is described here and everything is working again.



Thanks for the answer and for all the info you have here
 
Arthur
My Xgimi H1S projector came from Amazon with everything in Chinese. Is it any way to get English firmware for it?
 
LaurentW
Is there a possibility to switcht the interface to English? If yes, could you try change the language and then run an update? I know there is a possibility to update the firmware with a USB stick so you may try this if the first possibility fails.
 
Sandeep
Hey Laurent,



Very useful review. I have my eyes on the H2 international version that just released. With your experience of nearly 2 years with the H1, I presume you still highly recommend the XGIMI projectors ? :)
 
LaurentW
Hey Sandeep,

Yes I do, I'm really happy with the H1, I checked the H2 and even if it's slightly better than the H1, I think the price difference is too big. If you buy it, let me know what you think of it.

Thanks
Laurent
 
Wim Degreve
Hi,



When I play Netflix I always have a sync issue with the lips and the sound.

Its not much but its annoying. When I rewind a couple of seconds then its ok again. But after 10 minutes I have again the same issue...



Any ideas?



Regards
 
ranadheer s b kshatriya
My lamp gone afre using 6 months. What should I do now. Where can i replace lamp?
 
LaurentW
Hello. Led lamps should last my h longer, did you contact xgimi support? You device should still be under warranty.
 
LaurentW
Hello, are you using a Bluetooth device? If yes, some Bluetooth device generate lag.
 
Cris
I am having problems with the Xgimi Assistant app. It doesn't connect to my iphone so I can't control the H! from my phone. Any idea what the issue could be?
 
LaurentW
Hello Cris, are you connected to the same router? If yes, try to enter the IP address manually. I had to do this too (on Android) to find the projector.
 
Dr dlp
There is a manual optical zoom around the lens. You should have got a tool shaped like a pin that goes into a small hole and then you turn the ring to zoom in. I read it in the instructions in pdf format. I would not update that projector anymore. microsoft is purposely changing color settings on newer web connected monitors and tvs to not show the bright whites or pure black..I noticed this when nvidea asked if i wanted all colors show in settings.....i was like ofcourse so looked at other settings and this new setting was 16-235 color scale but to show all shades and all brights and darks its always 0-255, and all computer monitors in color show these colors....microsoft chopped out the whites and darks to give a low contrast and washed out image hoping you will soon see a uhd tv and buy the tv. Microsoft then makes money because the tv manufacturer had to pay microsoft for the UDF lablel licence and the codec software to put on there television to display colors that any tv used to display. They even have these bs explinations on why some tvs cant show pure red in a wiki...that is true because of the Hardware but microsoft is blocking the non hdr set from the colors that give contrast to an image and it can display if sent all the color code.....my 4k tv was silently updated through my hdmi cable that runs to my nvidea card in my computer....did not even know the card could do that, had not hooked the tv to network wired or wireless because i knew theyd neuter the image with an update. They made setting the brightness and image color so complicated and so confusing its even worse than just dimming the image with gimped code.
 
Hipo
Someone knows which version of google play and store are working with the last xgimi firmware?
 
LaurentW
Hello, anything between 12 and 13 should be ok (avoid exotic version made for specific devices). The ones proposed in the article work.
 

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

 
Tests / Reviews
Samsung Gear 360 review
360 cameras are the new hype and I started my journey into the 360 world with the Samsung Gear 360. Is is any good? Let's check!
 
Tests / Reviews
Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite test and review
Halfway to the top of the range and around 200€, the Mi8 wants to redistribute the cards but will it succeed? Read my test.
 
Tests / Reviews
Sonic Soak test and review
Sonic Soak is a new gadget cleaning almost everything with ultrasound, does it deliver its promise ? Let's check out!
 
Tests / Reviews
Honor 8X test, review and price
Honor has managed to find its audience Europe with affordable devices for which you will find many positive reviews. What about Honor 8X? Will X make the difference?
 
Tests / Reviews
Xiaomi Redmi Note 5 test
With the Redmi Note 5, Xiaomi is taking a new step towards the European market with a high-end product at a mid-range price.
 
Tests / Reviews
Leeco Coolpad Cool1 test / review
A complete Chinese smartphone for less than 100€? And he also makes coffee? No, but it's probably one of the best smartphones in this price range.
 
Tests / Reviews
Test, review and comparison of GPS trackers/tracers (Invoxia vs Hangang TK901)
With a GPS tracker you can track your vehicles or people on a map as in the movies but what is this type of object really worth?
 
Tests / Reviews
Xgimi H1 test - review one year after buying
Xgimi H1 is a new chinese video projector coming from crowd funding. Is it any good? Let's check.
 
 
Do not miss those unique offers
Projector
Gearbest (650-750$)
Aliexpress (650-750$)
Amazon (750-850$)
Accessories
3D glasses (from 15$)
Tripod (from 10$)
Wall/Ceiling mount (from 10$)
Projection screen (from 15$)
Remote control (from 15$)