On this page:
Price Motorola G8 Power
Unpacking
First configuration
Finish
Specifications
CPU / GPU Performance
Benchmark Antutu/3DMark
Network performance
Wifi performance
GPS performance
Battery range
Photo camera test
Hardware
Photoquality
Video quality
Audio quality
Screen quality
Biometry
Operating system
Test / Review conclusion
Questions answers

Best new price:
148.99 EUR
See the offer | eBay ES

14 other prices available in other stores.



Motorola G8 Power test / review (detailed and objective)

Motorola G8 Power test, review and price

Category: Tests / Reviews

Motorola was a brand specialized in electronic equipment that has experienced a lot of turbulence in the last 10 years.

Motorola was an American brand, it is now owned by the Chinese Lenovo. I haven't used a Motorola phone for more than 15 years, the world has changed a lot since then and it was high time that I tested a model of this brand.

I chose the Motorola G8 Power because it meets my usual purchasing criterias. How does Motorola compare to the competition today? This is what I propose to discover below.



linkManufacturer web site: https://www.motorola.com

Structure of my tests

I test the phones according to a pre-established structure (see below) to provide you with as much information as possible. Unfortunately, this takes a long time. Some tests like network performance tests take several days and for photo tests I sometimes have to wait until the weather is suitable to take pictures in good conditions. I am therefore obliged to publish the tests step by step, so I invite you to come back if the test is not complete at the time of your visit.

How are my tests different from others on the web?

- I usually buy the devices with my own money, so price is just as important as you are!
- I keep the devices for at least a few weeks (sometimes more) to see what they are worth in real conditions.
- I answer (when possible) your questions to help you decide before you buy
- no one pays me to do these reviews, so I'm completely neutral and independent...
- My pages are not filled with ads



Poco F2 review - test - specs
Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite test, review and price
Umidigi F1 test, review and price
Honor 8x test, review and price
Xiaomi Redmi Note 5 test and review
Umidigi F2 test / review / specs
Leeco Coolpad Cool1 test and review
Motorola G8 Power test, review and price
Realme 6 test, review and price
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s test, review and price

Price Motorola G8 Power

The list below shows the prices for the Motorola G8 Power from more than 50 sites around the world. If you are not satisfied with any price, you can subscribe to a price alert to be the first to be notified when the price drops.
100% Genuine Sealed Motorola G8 Power Lite- 64GB Royal Blue Colour Unlocked UK...
2020-10-28 07:42
149 EUR
Motorola G8 Power - Smartphone Portable Unlocked 4G Screen 6.4" Android 10.0-64GB, royal...
2020-10-27 10:28
154 GBP
Smartphone double SIM 4G Motorola G8 Power lite PAJC0005DE 64 Go 6.5 pouces (16.5 cm) double SIM And...
2020-10-28 08:03
171 EUR
Motorola G8 Power Black Blue 4G LTE Dual SIM 4GB RAM 64GB Android Smartphone...
2020-10-28 07:42
185 EUR
new Motorola G8 Power Black Blue 4G LTE Dual SIM 4GB RAM 64GB Android Smartphone...
2020-10-28 07:42
190 EUR
Smartphone double SIM 4G Motorola G8 Power PAHF0000DE 64 6.4 pouces (16.3 cm) slot hybride Androidâ„...
2020-10-28 08:03
191 EUR



helpThe above links are affiliate links from companies such as Amazon, Gearbest, Aliexpress,... If you appreciate my work, I would be grateful if you could purchase these products through these links. It costs you absolutely nothing but I get a small commission that allows me to buy the material I test. Thank you very much!

Timeline

02/04/2020: purchase of the Motorola G8 Power on Belsimpel.nl
04/04/2020: phone delivery and unpacking

Why this phone?

To choose a phone, I base myself on a series of criteria such as price and more technical factors such as camera, performance, ... When I was looking for new phones to test based on these criteria, the Motorola G8 Power appeared in the list.

I haven't tested a Motorola for a very long time and I don't know what to expect with this G8 Power made by the Chinese Lenovo. On paper, it is between a Redmi Note 8 and a Redmi Note 8 Pro but few phones can compete with Xiaomi in this price range.

While searching where I could buy it, I discovered a shop in the Netherlands that offered it at the lowest price (even lower than in China), I received it 48 hours after I ordered it while we are in the middle of a coronavirus crisis. Well done!

Unpacking

motorola g8 power test avis review beoordeling revision recensione opinion photo 4

The Motorola G8 Power box is quite classic, it contains a transparent case, a wall charger, a USB cable type C, headphones and a user manual.



Length : 159.9
Width : 75.8
Thickness : 9.6
Weight : 197
Jack output : Yes
USB Type : Type C
USB norm : 2.0

First configuration

The Motorola G8 Power runs under a "pure" version of Android, the boot procedure is therefore very standardized, Motorla has adapted the design of some screens without really fundamentally changing the process. In the end Motorola will ask you to adhere to their privacy policy and will incite you to share your data with them but unlike the big manufacturers, they don't offer anything in return (basically, it's just to use your data).




Finish

motorola g8 power test avis review beoordeling revision recensione opinion photo 6

The Motorola G8 Power is soberly and elegantly designed, but apart from a few details I'll come back to later in this article, nothing distinguishes it from another smartphone of the same size except perhaps its thickness. With 9.6mm thickness, it's the thickest phone I've been able to test in the last 2 years, it's noticeable when you hold it in your hand but it never gave me any problem. If you put it next to another phone, it offers an edge similar in size to what Xiaomi does with the Redmi Note 7/8 but the difference in thickness is clearly visible. This difference is probably due to the 5000 mAh battery, which is 20 to 25% more than what is found on the market in this price range at the moment.

motorola g8 power test avis review beoordeling revision recensione opinion photo 9

On the top of the phone there is a jack connector and a small hole that is probably designed to catch the sound. The speaker is a little wider than what I've seen on other phones recently, this should save you from looking for the right position with your ear. The edges are perfectly smooth and rounded, the type of plastic used reflects the light a bit to give it a little glossy look.

motorola g8 power test avis review beoordeling revision recensione opinion photo 7
At the bottom there is an output for the loud-speaker, a USB port type C and again a small hole as on the top of the phone.

motorola g8 power test avis review beoordeling revision recensione opinion photo 10
On the sides are the usual buttons with the power button and the volume on the right and the SIM drawer on the left. The volume knob is in fact a large knob with two positions, this makes it easier to distinguish it from the power button. Nothing very disruptive here but it's a similar configuration to most phones today.

motorola g8 power test avis review beoordeling revision recensione opinion photo 15
The back of the Motorola G8 Power is nicely curved, there is no abrupt interruption with the edge of the phone and the phone fits well in the hand, it's not too slippery. The fingerprint sensor is in the usual place and Motorola has inserted its logo. This phone is the thickest phone I have tested and this has an advantage for the camera as it is almost fully integrated in the back of the phone, it only emerges 1mm. The camera is composed of 4 sensors and a led flash, the particularity of the Motorola is to offer a separate main sensor which also seems to be bigger. With a larger sensor, the camera should theoretically receive more light.

motorola g8 power test avis review beoordeling revision recensione opinion photo 16
For a size equivalent to the Redmi Note 8, the Motorola G8 Power offers a larger screen (6.4 inches compared to 6.3 inches on the Redmi) and thanks to the use of a photo sensor integrated into the screen, the loss of space is minimal, the screen occupancy rate is 83%. The edges are clearly visible but in this price range, it's quite normal and it's frankly not annoying.

Specifications


The information below comes from the Device Info HW application. The application provides detailed technical information about the tested phone.Contrary to most Chinese brands, Motorola has opted for simplicity by marketing only one version of the G8 Power (4Gb 64Gb).



CPU / GPU Performance

CPU : Qualcomm Snapdragon 665
GPU : Qualcomm AdreNo 610
Memory (RAM) : 4 GB
Storage : 64 Gb

Benchmark Antutu/3DMark

With Antutu, I get a score of 167750 points, which is slightly less than what I got with a Redmi Note 8. Without taking into account the price of the Motorola, the CPU + GPU combination is a good combination that will suit a large majority of users but I take the price into account, the price/performance ratio of the Motorola is lower than what the Redmi Note 8 can offer.



I got a score a little over 1100 points with 3DMark, this score ranks the Motorola very logically close to the Redmi Note 8 since it uses the same configuration.

Antutu score : 167650
Antutu CPU : 70686
Antutu GPU : 25414
Antutu UX : 34781
Antutu Mem : 36871
3D Mark Open GL : 1105
3D Mark Vulkan : 1027

Top 10 - performance ranking based on Antutu
1. Poco F2 Pro - 569559
2. Samsung Galaxy S20 - 503905
3. Xiaomi Mi 9t Pro - 430403
4. Xiaomi Mi Mix 3 5g - 385000
5. Oppo Reno 5g - 375000
6. Meizu 16s - 374190
7. Xiaomi Mi 9 - 372006
8. Sony Xperia 1 - 372000
9. Lg G8s Thinq - 371000
10. Lg V50 Thinq 5g - 370000

Number of smartphones in the ranking:102
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:50/102

Note: this ranking only contains the phones I tested as well as a few others that I added for reference.

Gaming
To test the performance in game, I download the mobile PUBG game and evaluate the in-game experience, graphics level and depth of vision. This game is quite demanding and should help you evaluating the performance of a phone.In the Motorola price range, there are better performing phones such as the Redmi Note 9s or the Realme 6. This difference in performance does not really affect in-game performance. PUBG mobile is perfectly playable with Motorola.



Motorola has added some overlay features as other brands do as well. The gaming experience is good but I encountered a problem with the screen brightness. The hand positioning made my fingers pass over the brightness sensor and the screen went from high to low brightness. I therefore recommend that you switch the screen to manual brightness to avoid this problem.

Network performance

The Motorola G8 Power covers the vast majority of 3G and 4G frequencies used in Europe, even the B28 frequency in 700Mhz is available, this will undoubtedly interest Free and Bouygues customers in France.

3G frequencies : B1 (2100), B2 (1900), B4 (1700/2100 AWS A-F), B5 (850), B8 (900), B19 (800)
4G frequencies : B1 (2100), B2 (1900), B3 (1800), B4 (1700/2100 AWS 1), B5 (850), B7 (2600), B8 (900), B18 (800), B19 (800), B20 (800), B26 (850), B28 (700), B38 (TDD 2600), B40 (TDD 2300), B41 (TDD 2500)
Bluetooth : Bluetooth 5.0 LE
Volte : Yes
NFC : No
Number measurements : 1032
Average signal : -96.88
Download speed : 60
Upload speed : 60
Choose your country to check if your phone is compatible:


The frequencies displayed below will allow you to see if this phone is compatible with your operator or if you will be able to use it in the country where you are going on vacation.


Signal 4G
The ability to pick up the network correctly is an essential element for a phone but it is only very rarely measured. To measure a phone's ability to pick up the network, I perform a large number of measurements on the same cells to be able to compare phones under similar conditions. The signal is measured in dBm, a value of -90dBm indicates a worse signal than -70dBm. These measurements are therefore taken under real conditions and not in a laboratory, they are not scientific but give a good indication of performance.

Network signal sensitivity rating
Phone tested:Average signal (dBm)Number of measurements:
Xiaomi Mi 9t Pro-881600
Xiaomi Redmi Note 5-91.305600
Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite-93788
Samsung Galaxy A70-94.5111975
Nokia 5.3-94.98531
Realme 6-95.142301
Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro-95.9221599
Xiaomi Mi A3-95.951000
Huawei Y6 2019-95.951199
Redmi 9a-96.481000
Meizu Note 9-96.68937
Motorola G8 Power-96.881032
Xiaomi Redmi Note 7-97.011430
Redmi 9c-97.041000
Umidigi S3 Pro-97.131200
Xiaomi Redmi Note 8-97.34879
Samsung Galaxy A21s-97.781000
Umidigi F1-97.82298
Ulefone Armor 7e-98.71000
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite-991000
Honor 9x-99.14899
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s-99.41860
Poco F2 Pro-99.81247
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9-100.791785
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g-100.881198
Umidigi F2-101.47712

I chose to compare the Motorola with the Realme 6 because they are close in terms of price. The Realme gets a much better score in the same conditions, a difference of 2 dBm represents a rather important difference for this kind of test. If you live in an area with poor network coverage, the Realme will be a better choice.


Download/Upload speed
To test the download speed, I have identified some 4G cells offering good performance where I test all my devices several times to see what download and upload speed they can achieve.
Top 10 - speed ranking in download
1. Samsung Galaxy S20 D:351Mbps U: 20Mbps
2. Poco X3 D:232Mbps U: 55Mbps
3. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g D:223Mbps U: 52Mbps
4. Poco F2 Pro D:207Mbps U: 53Mbps
5. Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite D:153Mbps U: 68Mbps
6. Xiaomi Mi A3 D:150Mbps U: 60Mbps
7. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s D:150Mbps U: 60Mbps
8. Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite D:149Mbps U: 60Mbps
9. Samsung Galaxy A21s D:147Mbps U: 51Mbps
10. Huawei Y6 2019 D:145Mbps U: 61Mbps

Number of smartphones in the ranking:30
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:26/30

Note: the theoretical maximum speed of a telephone is often limited by the configuration of the mobile network and the congestion of the network at the time of the measurement. So maybe you could get a higher speed on another network

Not yet available / tested


Wifi performance

To test a phone's ability to receive the network properly, I take measurements near my router and then remotely (and always at the same place). This gives me an average in dBm where a value of -90 dBm indicates poorer performance than a value at -30 dBm.
Wifi frequencies : 802.11b, 802.11g, 802.11n
Download speed : 47
Signal / close : -28
Signal / distant : -72
Wifi signal
I measured a -28 dBm signal near the router, it's a score in the middle, it's neither good nor bad. At distance I measured a signal of -72 dBm, it is also a score in the average.




Top 10 - wifi sensitivity ranking
1. Poco F2 Pro -11dBm
2. Samsung Galaxy A21s -13dBm
3. Poco X3 -17dBm
4. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s -18dBm
5. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro -19dBm
6. Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite -19dBm
7. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g -19dBm
8. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 -19dBm
9. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 -19dBm
10. Redmi 9a -19dBm

Number of smartphones in the ranking:30
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:18/30


Download/Upload speed
To test the speed in Wifi, I connect to my router in 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz (if available) and use the Ookla application to measure the speed.The Motorola G8 Power is not compatible with the 5Ghz frequency, this is quite rare nowadays because most phones support this frequency. So the phone has to stick to the 2.4Ghz frequency and this directly affects its download speed. I got a score of 47 Mbps, two years ago I could have considered that such a score was acceptable but today, this kind of speed is much lower than what you can get with other phones in the same price range. A Redmi Score 9s is 4 times better.




Top 10 - wifi download speed ranking
1. Samsung Galaxy S20 351Mbps
2. Poco F2 Pro 341Mbps
3. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro 319Mbps
4. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g 300Mbps
5. Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite 260Mbps
6. Poco X3 251Mbps
7. Xiaomi Redmi Note 7 250Mbps
8. Umidigi F1 220Mbps
9. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 211Mbps
10. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 207Mbps

Number of smartphones in the ranking:30
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:26/30

Note: I have a 400Mbps line and a modem capable of delivering higher speed, but I can never be sure how much bandwidth is available when doing a test.

GPS performance


To test the quality of the GPS signal I use the Offline Maps application and I make the same train trip in pedestrian mode. Why? In pedestrian mode, the GPS does not artificially correct the signal to stick to the road, it has no markings, so you can see the actual position. I then use an application to measure the accuracy of the signal.


The Motorola G8 Power offers average GPS performance. Accuracy testing brings the accuracy down to 3 meters with 35 visible satellites and just 20 satellites used for positioning.



The road tested on the video does not present any difficulty and the Motorola manages to position the car well with however sometimes a few gaps which gives the impression that the car has gone off the road.


Top 10 - GPS accuracy ranking
1. Redmi 9a 1m
2. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 1m
3. Redmi 9c 2m
4. Samsung Galaxy A21s 4m

Number of smartphones in the ranking:5
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:0/5

Note: An accuracy of 3 meters or less can easily be corrected by a good GPS application. Phone performance also plays a role in how fast your display updates, so good accuracy could be compromised by too slow a display.

Battery range

Capacity : 5000
Fast charge : Yes
W max : 18
Range (100% brightness) : 912.00
Range (50% brightness) : 2792.00
Charging time : 311.00
Discharge speed (100%) : 0.11
Discharge score (100%) : 5.48
Discharge speed (50%) : 0.04
Discharge score (50%) : 1.79
Charging speed : 0.32
Charging score : 16.08
From March 2020, I replaced my subjective battery test with a technical test to better measure the real behaviour of the battery. Now I test the autonomy and charging time under absolutely identical conditions. I perform several measurements, so this test alone takes several days during which I cannot use the phone for anything else.

Battery life - methodology
To test the battery life, I measure the battery consumption every minute in strictly identical conditions to be able to compare phones and also to allow you to evaluate your phone in the same conditions. I rule out any influence of applications that could interfere with the measurement. The autonomy is not linear, the battery sometimes discharges much faster at the end. This is a frustrating phenomenon but with my measurements, you will know if you need to find a charger quickly.

Battery life
The battery of the Motorola G8 Power has a capacity of 5000 mAh and has discharged from 100% to 1% in 912.00 minutes with 100% brightness, it has discharged from 100% to 1% in 2792.00 minutes with 50% brightness. I obtain in this way an average discharge speed of 0.11% per minute with 100% luminosity and 0.04% per minute with 50% luminosity, the consumption is therefore 5.48 mA per minute with 100% luminosity and 1.79 with 50% luminosity. To be able to compare the efficiency of the phone and its influence on the battery, you have to compare the 5.48 (or 50%) score with that of other smartphones, the figure should be as low as possible.

Charging time - methodology
To test the charging time, I always use the same charger with the same cable. I measure the charging time minute by minute to see the evolution of the charge as well as the charging speed. The charging speed of a battery is not linear, it is often faster at the beginning and slower at the end. The charger is compatible with fast charging.

Charging time
The battery of the Motorola G8 Power has a capacity of 5000 mAh and has been charged from 1% to 100% in 311.00 minutes. This gives me an average charging speed of 0.32% per minute and therefore an increase of 16.08 mA per minute. To compare the performance of the Motorola G8 Power compared to other phones, you should use the 16.08 per minute score, this score should be as high as possible.

Important note: the charging speed is not always linear, the graph below gives you an indication of the battery behaviour.

The following table lists the phones tested with the technical battery test, they are ranked in order of efficiency. A higher battery capacity should logically result in a higher battery life but it is not always the case and it does not give any indication of the efficiency of a phone.

SmartphoneCapacity (mAh)Battery life (minutes)Efficiency ScoreBattery life (minutes) / 50%Efficiency Score / 50%Charging time.Score charging
Samsung Galaxy S204000565.007.081217.003.29136.0029.41
Honor 9x4000770.005.191333.003.00151.0026.49
Nokia 5.34000549.007.291096.003.65199.0020.10
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g4160749.005.551541.002.70163.0025.52
Realme 64300704.006.111104.003.89162.0026.54
Poco F2 Pro47001150.004.091536.003.06180.0026.11
Redmi 9a5000694.007.201902.002.63195.0025.64
Redmi 9c5000656.007.621915.002.61170.0029.41
Samsung Galaxy A21s5000729.006.861283.003.90166.0030.12
Motorola G8 Power5000912.005.482792.001.79311.0016.08
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s5020663.007.571876.002.68224.0022.41
Xiaomi Redmi Note 95020650.007.721808.002.78162.0030.99
Umidigi F25150927.005.561854.002.78299.0017.22
Poco X35160653.007.901654.003.12181.0028.51
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite5260827.006.361609.003.27208.0025.29
Ulefone Armor 7e5500768.007.161140.004.82179.0030.73

helpHow to read these figures?
The battery capacity is an important element in determining the autonomy of a phone but it is not the only factor. A phone with a large battery may have a shorter battery life if it consumes more power. If I had to take an example from everyday life, I would use the universe of the car. If a car has a large fuel tank, it should be able to drive a longer distance unless its average fuel consumption is higher. The battery efficiency score works the same way, it should be as low as possible and represents the energy consumption of the phone. These differences in efficiency are often related to the brightness of the screen, large bright screens will tend to consume more energy and even if they have a large battery, their range will be shorter.

In summary [battery product="motorola-g8-power" capa="5000" lg="en"]

The Motorola G8 Power has a battery with an above-average capacity that will provide you with a very good range thanks to its energy efficiency.

During the test of autonomy, the battery lasted 1061 minutes that is almost 18 hours. The decrease of the battery accelerates towards 30% and a second time towards 20%. The last 20 percent went out in 60 minutes while the first 80 percent lasted 924 minutes.

With this kind of score and a normal use of the phone, you should be able to reach 3 days of autonomy.

Charging time is longer than the average (311 minutes) but it was done in a linear way, only the last percents took longer.

Photo camera test

To test the quality of photos produced by a phone, I do a technical test (resolution, sharpness, chromatic aberration,...) in studio (identical conditions) to evaluate the technical part objectively. From the second half of 2020, I built my own laboratory to take completely objective technical measurements. I then take pictures in real conditions to see how the camera performs. I then evaluate these photos according to my criteria but I publish the photos so that you can evaluate the result according to your criteria.

Hardware

Selfie / resolution : 16
Resolution : 16
Video resolution : 2160p
mm wide angle : 4.05mm
mm ultra wide angle : 1.66mm
mm zoom : 5.55mm
The Motorola is equipped with a 16 million pixel main sensor and 3 secondary sensors for macro, wide angle and zoom photography. I don't have information on the brand of the sensor, so I don't know if I can compare it with another phone I tested. With 16 million pixels, Motorola did not get into the pixel race but to tell the truth, it does not matter but I see nevertheless that the pixels are 40% bigger than on the Redmi Note 9s, so we'll have to see in reality if it is nevertheless able to produce photos with good sharpness.

Default app


Motorola's default photo application is pretty interesting, it goes completely in the opposite direction of everything I've seen so far. Where Xiaomi and the others offer a huge amount of options on the main menu, Motorola just has a photo mode, a video mode and whatever else you prefer. It's very simple and very effective. The settings at the top of the screen are also quite different from what I've tested so far, but I think the settings ordering is also well designed, so this default photo application is really interesting.


Photoquality

Photo test / studio
First example: ƒ/1.7 1/333 4.05 mm 100 ISO
motorola g8 power test avis review beoordeling revision recensione opinion photo studio 1
Exposure: slight overexposure
Sharpness: medium
Colours: too light
Depth of field: good
Distortion: none
Chromatic aberration: none
Vignetting: none
Digital noise: none

This first studio photo reveals something strange about Motorola, the photo seems to be covered with a grey veil. At first I thought I forgot to remove a plastic film on the sensor but it's not the case. The photo seems forced and the colors are paler. The sharpness is also not very pronounced, you can't see the police car's front grill very well.

Second example: ƒ/2.2 1/314 1.66 mm 100 ISO
motorola g8 power test avis review beoordeling revision recensione opinion photo studio 2
Exposure: ok
Sharpness: good
Colours: correct but yellow stripes are present.
Depth of field: good
Distortion: none
Chromatic aberration: none
Vignetting: none
Digital noise: none

The result obtained with the wide angle sensor is surprising because the photo seems better exposed than with the main sensor, I don't feel like having a grey veil on the photo, the colors are better saturated, the sharpness is correct and overall the photo seems better than with the main sensor while the wide angle sensors generally produce less good photos than the main sensor.

By hiding the different sensors at the back, I discovered that the largest sensor (the one on top) is the wide angle sensor. This would explain why the photo from the wide angle sensor has so many qualities.

Third example: ƒ/2,4 1/229 5,55 mm 100 ISO
motorola g8 power test avis review beoordeling revision recensione opinion photo studio 3
Exposure: ok
Sharpness: medium
Colours: a little too dark
Depth of field: correct
Distortion: none
Chromatic aberration: none
Vignetting: none
Digital noise: none

The Motorola G8 Power has an optical zoom lens, which is very rare in this price range. I don't see any gray veil on the picture while the zoom comes from the same sensor as the first example (the one just below the wide-angle lens). The sharpness is not extraordinary but the picture is pretty good, pictures taken with a smartphone under artificial light are generally not very good but the Motorola does rather well.

This first test reveals that photos in 1x mode are the worst while it is the default mode. The outdoor test will see if this is confirmed when the light is good.


Photo test / sunny
First example: ƒ/1.7 1/1339 4.05 mm 101 ISO
motorola g8 power test avis review beoordeling revision recensione opinion photo sun 3 normal angle
Exposure: correct
Sharpness: medium
Colours: slightly too cold
Depth of field: good
Distortion: none
Chromatic aberration: none
Vignetting: none
Digital noise: none

The problem of grey veil on the image does not seem to be present on this picture, it's a good thing. If we look at the photo without comparing it to another photo, we could say that the photo is good and this is partially true. If on the other hand I compare it to a photo made with another phone at the same time, the differences are quite visible.

Here is an example taken with the Redmi Note 9s
xiaomi redmi note 9s test avis review opinion revision recensione photo sun 2

The photo was taken in the late afternoon, so the colors should be warmer, it is not visible on the picture taken with the Motorola. The sharpness is also much more pronounced on the Redmi Note 9s, this can be seen in the details of the leaves and grass in the lower left corner.

The picture of the Motorola is not bad, I just think it lacks a little something to match other phones in the same price range.

Second example: ƒ/2.2 1/1027 1.66 mm 100 ISO
motorola g8 power test avis review beoordeling revision recensione opinion photo sun 3 wide angle
Exposure: correct
Sharpness: good
Colours: slightly too hot
Depth of field: good
Distortion: slight at the edges
Chromatic aberration: none
Vignetting: none
Digital noise: none

This second example confirms what I had observed in the studio, the wide angle produces better pictures than the main sensor. The wide angle is able to reproduce warm colors that are closer to reality than those captured by the main sensor. Sharpness is also much better. I should advise you to use the wide angle instead of the main sensor but this type of sensor is not suitable for all situations, it works well for landscapes but not for portraits or family photos.

Third example: ƒ/2,4 1/898 5,55 mm 101 ISO
motorola g8 power test avis review beoordeling revision recensione opinion photo sun 3 zoom angle
Exposure: correct
Sharpness: good
Colours: correct
Depth of field: very good
Distortion: none
Chromatic aberration: none
Vignetting: none
Digital noise: none

The 5.55mm focal length uses the sensor at the bottom of the camera at the back of the phone. This sensor produces very different results from what I saw in the first example. The sharpness of this picture is much better than the first example and the depth of field is huge because the background elements in the picture are very sharp despite the distance. The colour temperature is also much more accurate. As for the wide angle, I notice that the photos produced by this sensor are better than the main sensor. The focal length of this sensor should allow you to use this zoom in more situations than the wide angle. This is not practical because you will have to switch from the default sensor to the zoom or wide angle sensor each time.

In summary I would say that the main sensor is not at the level of what the competition is able to produce, the zoom and wide angle sensors deliver on the other hand good results that can hold the comparison with other phones in the same price range.




Photo test / cloudy
First example: ƒ/1.7 1/2137 4.05 mm 100 ISO
motorola g8 power test photo cloud 6
Exposure: underexposure
Sharpness: bad
Colours: lack of saturation
Depth of field: good
Distortion: none
Chromatic aberration: none
Vignetting: none
Digital noise: none

When light quality is poorer, the Motorola G8 Power does not produce good photos with the main sensor. The picture is dull and lacks detail. This gray haze problem is even more visible when the conditions are less good.

Second example: ƒ/2,2 1/2451 1,66 mm 100 ISO
motorola g8 power test photo cloud 5
Exposure: underexposure
Sharpness: very good
Colours: too dark and a little too hot
Depth of field: good
Distortion: none
Chromatic aberration: none
Vignetting: none
Digital noise: none

If I compare this picture with the previous one, you'd think it was made with another phone, it's so different. Motorola's wide-angle sensor produces better pictures than the main sensor. The main problem with this picture is underexposure but this is a problem that occurs on almost all phones in this price range. The sharpness is really excellent even in the elements further away in the picture. The photo is so detailed that with a few modifications with the photo application you could end up with a much better photo.

Third example: ƒ/2.4 1/956 5.55 mm 100 ISO
motorola g8 power test photo cloud 7
Exposure: slightly under-exposed
Sharpness: good
Colours: too dark and a little too hot
Depth of field: good
Distortion: none
Chromatic aberration: none
Vignetting: none
Digital noise: none

The zoom also produces better pictures than the main sensor, the picture is rich in detail, it's a bit too dark and the colors are a bit too warm but overall the Motorola does well. A notch or two more light could have given a much better result.




Test photo / night

First example: ƒ/1.7 1/6 4.05 mm 3084 ISO
motorola g8 power test avis review recensione opinion photo night 11

Exposure: correct
Sharpness: medium
Colours: slightly too cold
Depth of field: good
Distortion: none
Chromatic aberration: none
Vignetting: none
Digital noise: visible

The Motorola G8 Power doesn't have a night mode, it doesn't combine several pictures to erase vibrations, so the picture is not very sharp and this is the case for most of the pictures that will follow. The sensor is also very sensitive to strong lights, public lighting generates a strong halo which disturbs the photo. The colors are a little too cold but this is not bad, it is often the opposite for night photos. The digital noise is quite visible and this is normal because the photo was taken at ISO 3084.

Second example: ƒ/2,2 1/5 1,66 mm 3072 ISO
motorola g8 power test avis review recensione opinion photo night 9

Exposure: correct
Sharpness: medium
Colours: slightly too warm
Depth of field: good
Distortion: none
Chromatic aberration: none
Vignetting: none
Digital noise: light

The wide angle produces better pictures than the main sensor, I had already noticed this feature with daytime pictures. The picture is slightly blurred because the Motorola does not combine multiple images to compensate for motion. I think it would be possible to get a correct picture with the wide angle by using something to avoid moving, but even with this wide angle, this Motorola won't make it into the top smartphone rankings for night photography.

Here are some other pictures taken under the same conditions, the conclusion is the same. The photos are not good and if night photography is an important buying criteria for you, the Motorola is clearly not for you.




Video quality

Stabilisation

Walking shouldn't be a big challenge for video stabilization, but the Motorola G8 Power doesn't manage to absorb the shock of my footsteps. The video is still quite watchable but if I compare it to other devices of the same price range, the Motorola doesn't offer very good stabilization performance.



Video normale conditions
The Motorola G8 Power produces a good video quality (max resolution: 4k), the colors are well saturated, the focus is fast, the sharpness is good (especially in the foreground). The stabilization is not sufficient (or absent?) and the microphone seems very sensitive to the wind because I took videos at the same time with other devices where you can also hear the wind but in a much less pronounced way.



Video low light

The night video follows a little bit the same trend as what I found with the pictures, the quality is not very good, the video is quite dark, the sharpness is not good and the Motorola can't focus on a particular area.

Audio quality

To test the quality of the phone's audio output, I connect the device's audio output to a measuring tool, then play sounds on all frequencies and measure the differences between the original sound and the sound produced by the phone. In this way I measure the phone's ability to correctly reproduce all sounds.
Frequency Respons : +0.23 / -0.39
Noise Level : -92.6
Dynamic Range : 88.5
THD : 22.218
Intermodulation : 19.63
Stereo crosstalk : -90
The Motorola G8 Power is a phone with two audio outputs to produce stereo sound in Dolby, in this price range it's quite unique. The sound comes out of the speaker at the bottom of the phone but also through the speaker used to listen to your caller. In subjective listening (by ear), I found the sound produced by the Motorola speakers to be quite good up to a certain volume. The treble sounds are quite good and the bass sounds are quite powerful. The Motorola G8 Power produces a good sound as long as you don't turn the volume all the way up because distortion is really important and you quickly lose the finesse that the phone can offer at a reasonable volume.

Frequency Response
This test is intended to test the device's ability to correctly reproduce all frequencies. The white line in the middle of the graph is the ideal situation and the other colors come from tests on different phones. A deviation from the reference line indicates a deviation from the ideal situation. To see good sound at all frequencies, it is therefore necessary to get as close as possible to the reference line.
I compared the Motorola G8 Power to the Redmi Note 8 Pro because they are quite similar in price. The Motorola offers a slightly poorer frequency response than the Redmi Note 8 Pro, its performance is more erratic and it moves away from the norm faster in high frequencies. This result is somewhat paradoxical because Motorola is able to produce better sound than Redmi without headphones, but if you use headphones, Redmi does better.

Dynamic Range
This test is designed to test a phone's ability to play sounds at different volume levels. Here too, the phones must be as close as possible to the reference.
For this test, the Motorola has a performance equivalent to the Redmi Note 8 Pro, some frequencies get lost at a higher volume but the performance is overall quite good.

Noise Level
This test aims to identify if the device under test is able to reproduce sounds without too much noise. A high score indicates a low parasite rate, a lower score indicates a higher presence of parasites.

The Motorola is able to reproduce sound without too much interference, it offers a sound performance equivalent to the Redmi Note 8 Pro.

The Motorola stands out especially by its audio performance without headphones because it offers a good quality Dolby stereo sound, in this price range, I haven't found better yet. The reference in terms of sound quality among the devices I tested is clearly Samsung with notably the A70 and the S10+.

Concert recording
The purpose of this test is to measure the recording quality of the phone when there is a lot of ambient noise. Since I don't have the opportunity to go to a concert every time I test a phone, I simulate the noise of a concert in a closed environment.Not yet available / tested

Screen quality

To test the screen, I use a colorimetric probe that measures the color accuracy of a screen, as well as other parameters to see if a screen is able to correctly reproduce an image. I also test the brightness level to determine if the screen will be able to display an image in full sunlight.
Screen size : 6.4
Resolution : 1080 x 2300
Ratio : 19.5:9
Type : IPS LCD
% occupancy : 83
dE white : 8.4
dE red : 4.1
dE green : 3.7
dE blue : 4.6
dE jaune : 1.9
dE cyan : 8.1
dE magenta : 4.5
Contrast : 1576:1
Brightness : 514
Colorimetry
motorola g8 power screen calibration
I measured a dE of 5 with my colorimetric probe while the eye starts to perceive colorimetric differences from a dE of 3. The difference is not huge and an inexperienced eye will probably not see it but the screen shows a bigger colorimetric difference on green and blue. The colors are globally too cold (= too much blue), I measured a white at 7512K when it should be at 6500K. This test is a technical test and the result will not prevent you from using your screen correctly, you could however notice a difference between the pictures you are viewing on the phone and the one you are going to view on another screen (another smartphone or computer). On many Android phones, it is possible to change the color temperature to make up for this kind of problem but Motorola does not offer this option, you can play with the saturation to make the colors more vivid but you will deviate even further from correct colorimetry.


Top 10 - ranking of the best screens by colorimetry
1. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g dE = 0.73
2. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 dE = 1.2
3. Samsung Galaxy S20 dE = 1.4
4. Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite dE = 1.46
5. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s dE = 1.47
6. Honor 9x dE = 1.5
7. Poco F2 Pro dE = 1.73
8. Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite dE = 1.91
9. Samsung Galaxy S10+ dE = 2.01
10. Xiaomi Mi 9t Pro dE = 2.11

Number of smartphones in the ranking:30
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:23/30

Note: the colorimetric difference is measured in dE. After three, the human eye will perceive a colorimetric difference, so the dE should be the lowest. The tests were all carried out with a colorimetric probe.

Brightness / Contrast

I measured a brightness higher than 500 cd/m² which will allow you to use the Motorola G8 Power in full sun, it is a value above the average.

I measured a contrast ratio of about 1500:1 and for an IPS LCD screen this is a good value.

Light Absorption/Reflection
The smartphone screen reflect light and sometimes turn them into a real mirror. This mirror effect makes it harder to read.

The absorption index below indicates the percentage of light absorbed by the screen. The readability of a screen is better when the absorption index is high.

Phone tested:% light absorption
Samsung Galaxy S10+58
Xiaomi Mi 9T Pro52
Honor 9x65
Redmi Note 9s55
Motorola G8 Power60
Realme 654
Umidigi F248
Poco F2 Pro52
Redmi Note 956
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite53
Samsung Galaxy S2047
Samsung Galaxy A21s53
The phones tested have an average absroption rate of54 %

Biometry

The Motorola G8 Power is equipped with a fingerprint sensor on the rear, it's a classic choice but it works. Most of the phones I've tested recently had either a sensor under the display or a sensor on the side. I find that the rear sensor is always the most effective solution.

Facial recognition doesn't seem to be available.

Operating system

The Motorola G8 Power runs on Android 10 and Motorola's operating system is very close to the basic version of Android. Using this phone will not require a long adaptation time if you have already used another phone running Android. You'll find an application drawer with a specific search engine, a news feed, custom notifications and many settings to adapt the phone to your needs.

Overall I liked this operating system, it works very well, what I miss is an option to set the color temperature as well as a native application to display photos (other than Google Photos) and a native application to make video captures of the screen.




Encoutered bugs

Not yet available / tested

Accessories Motorola G8 Power

To better enjoy your experience with your smartphone, I offer links to all kinds of accessories that you might find useful

Protective cover / case motorola g8 power
Screen protection film motorola g8 power
Memory card motorola g8 power
USB Cable / Charger motorola g8 power
Headphones motorola g8 power
Bike rack motorola g8 power

Compare Motorola G8 Power with the others

I assigned a score of 1 to 10 for each test that determines the strengths and weaknesses of a product. I am using 0 for criteria that have not (yet) been tested. A score of 1 to 3 indicates poor performance (and yes, it does), a score of 4 to 6 indicates average performance, a score of 7 to 8 indicates good performance, and a score of 9 and 10 indicates exceptional performance. .
The score is calculated based on my measurements and when there are no measurements, it is a subjective opinion based on my experience.

The scores are not static, they change over time because the performance of new products changes and this must be taken into account.


Notice: Undefined index: battery in /home/jtalgxnm/www/lwi/functions/fct_transform.php on line 279

Notice: Undefined index: battery in /home/jtalgxnm/www/lwi/functions/fct_transform.php on line 290

Notice: Undefined index: battery in /home/jtalgxnm/www/lwi/functions/fct_transform.php on line 299

Notice: Undefined index: battery in /home/jtalgxnm/www/lwi/functions/fct_transform.php on line 306

Notice: Undefined index: cpu in /home/jtalgxnm/www/lwi/functions/fct_transform.php on line 279

Notice: Undefined index: cpu in /home/jtalgxnm/www/lwi/functions/fct_transform.php on line 290

Notice: Undefined index: cpu in /home/jtalgxnm/www/lwi/functions/fct_transform.php on line 299

Notice: Undefined index: cpu in /home/jtalgxnm/www/lwi/functions/fct_transform.php on line 306

Notice: Undefined index: gpu in /home/jtalgxnm/www/lwi/functions/fct_transform.php on line 279

Notice: Undefined index: gpu in /home/jtalgxnm/www/lwi/functions/fct_transform.php on line 290

Notice: Undefined index: gpu in /home/jtalgxnm/www/lwi/functions/fct_transform.php on line 299

Notice: Undefined index: gpu in /home/jtalgxnm/www/lwi/functions/fct_transform.php on line 306

Notice: Undefined index: photo in /home/jtalgxnm/www/lwi/functions/fct_transform.php on line 279

Notice: Undefined index: photo in /home/jtalgxnm/www/lwi/functions/fct_transform.php on line 290

Notice: Undefined index: photo in /home/jtalgxnm/www/lwi/functions/fct_transform.php on line 299

Notice: Undefined index: photo in /home/jtalgxnm/www/lwi/functions/fct_transform.php on line 306

Notice: Undefined index: video in /home/jtalgxnm/www/lwi/functions/fct_transform.php on line 279

Notice: Undefined index: video in /home/jtalgxnm/www/lwi/functions/fct_transform.php on line 290

Notice: Undefined index: video in /home/jtalgxnm/www/lwi/functions/fct_transform.php on line 299

Notice: Undefined index: video in /home/jtalgxnm/www/lwi/functions/fct_transform.php on line 306

Notice: Undefined index: wifi in /home/jtalgxnm/www/lwi/functions/fct_transform.php on line 279

Notice: Undefined index: wifi in /home/jtalgxnm/www/lwi/functions/fct_transform.php on line 290

Notice: Undefined index: wifi in /home/jtalgxnm/www/lwi/functions/fct_transform.php on line 299

Notice: Undefined index: wifi in /home/jtalgxnm/www/lwi/functions/fct_transform.php on line 306

Notice: Undefined index: mobilespeed in /home/jtalgxnm/www/lwi/functions/fct_transform.php on line 279

Notice: Undefined index: mobilespeed in /home/jtalgxnm/www/lwi/functions/fct_transform.php on line 290

Notice: Undefined index: mobilespeed in /home/jtalgxnm/www/lwi/functions/fct_transform.php on line 299

Notice: Undefined index: mobilespeed in /home/jtalgxnm/www/lwi/functions/fct_transform.php on line 306

Notice: Undefined index: mobilesignal in /home/jtalgxnm/www/lwi/functions/fct_transform.php on line 279

Notice: Undefined index: mobilesignal in /home/jtalgxnm/www/lwi/functions/fct_transform.php on line 290

Notice: Undefined index: mobilesignal in /home/jtalgxnm/www/lwi/functions/fct_transform.php on line 299

Notice: Undefined index: mobilesignal in /home/jtalgxnm/www/lwi/functions/fct_transform.php on line 306

Notice: Undefined index: frequencies in /home/jtalgxnm/www/lwi/functions/fct_transform.php on line 279

Notice: Undefined index: frequencies in /home/jtalgxnm/www/lwi/functions/fct_transform.php on line 290

Notice: Undefined index: frequencies in /home/jtalgxnm/www/lwi/functions/fct_transform.php on line 299

Notice: Undefined index: frequencies in /home/jtalgxnm/www/lwi/functions/fct_transform.php on line 306

Notice: Undefined index: gps in /home/jtalgxnm/www/lwi/functions/fct_transform.php on line 279

Notice: Undefined index: gps in /home/jtalgxnm/www/lwi/functions/fct_transform.php on line 290

Notice: Undefined index: gps in /home/jtalgxnm/www/lwi/functions/fct_transform.php on line 299

Notice: Undefined index: gps in /home/jtalgxnm/www/lwi/functions/fct_transform.php on line 306

Notice: Undefined index: easiness in /home/jtalgxnm/www/lwi/functions/fct_transform.php on line 279

Notice: Undefined index: easiness in /home/jtalgxnm/www/lwi/functions/fct_transform.php on line 290

Notice: Undefined index: easiness in /home/jtalgxnm/www/lwi/functions/fct_transform.php on line 299

Notice: Undefined index: easiness in /home/jtalgxnm/www/lwi/functions/fct_transform.php on line 306
Motorola G8 Power
Finish quality7.005.00
Battery performance9.00
CPU performance7.00
GPU performance7.00
Screen quality6.005.00
Photo quality5.00
Video quality5.00
Wi-Fi performance5.00
Mobile download speed5.00
Mobile network sensitivity7.00
Frequency coverage7.00
Audio quality8.006.5
GPS performance6.00
Operating system7.00
Overall score9116.5
Global ranking
1. Samsung Galaxy S20 112 / 140
2. Poco F2 Pro 111 / 140
3. Samsung Galaxy S10+ 107 / 140
4. Xiaomi Mi 9t Pro 106 / 140
5. Poco X3 102 / 140
6. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g 101 / 140
7. Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite 101 / 140
8. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro 100 / 140
9. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s 98 / 140
10. Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite 98 / 140
11. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 97 / 140
12. Xiaomi Redmi Note 7 94 / 140
13. Realme 6 93 / 140
14. Motorola G8 Power 91 / 140
15. Xiaomi Mi A3 89 / 140
16. Nokia 5.3 89 / 140
17. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 88 / 140
18. Honor 9x 88 / 140
19. Meizu Note 9 86 / 140
20. Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite 86 / 140
21. Xiaomi Redmi Note 5 85 / 140
22. Umidigi S3 Pro 83 / 140
23. Samsung Galaxy A21s 82 / 140
24. Umidigi F2 82 / 140
25. Redmi 9a 81 / 140
26. Ulefone Armor 7e 80 / 140
27. Redmi 9c 80 / 140
28. Honor 8x 78 / 140
29. Umidigi F1 77 / 140
30. Huawei Y6 2019 74 / 140
31. Doogee S58 Pro 16.5 / 30

Test / Review conclusion

As I wrote at the beginning of this test, I hadn't tested Motorola for a very long time. So I had no preconceptions, I tested this device with a lot of curiosity. Motorola has positioned this device as a champion of autonomy and sound quality. After testing the device, I can say that it is not just a marketing message without basis. The Motorola G8 Power is a battery champion and not only because it has a big battery, the phone has a very good management of its energy consumption. For the sound part, the Motorola is indeed better than average, it offers a stereo output but it does not yet reach the sound level of a Samsung Galaxy A70 or an S10+.

Apart from battery life and sound quality, what else should you take away from the Motorola G8 Power? Not much unfortunately. The Motorola G8 Power is neither excellent nor bad, it offers correct performance, correct finishes, an average screen, an average network performance, an average gps performance,... The photo part was on the other hand disappointing, the wide angle sensor is a little better but the main sensor is clearly not at the level of the competition. Its price positioning puts it in competition with devices such as the Redmi Note 9s or the Realme 6 but it does not reach the level of these two devices.


Strengths
Battery life and energy efficiency
Good sound quality
Correct performance


Weaknesses
Pictures with the main sensor


Alternatives to this product

Comments

Join the discussion / Ask your questions

Your comment will be published after validation. I respond to over 1500 comments a year in my spare time, so I can't always respond very quickly. Your email address will not be publicly visible and it will not be used for commercial purposes.









Be notified by email when a response is published