On this page:
Price Nokia 5.3
Unpacking
First configuration
Finish
Specifications
CPU / GPU Performance
Benchmark Antutu/3DMark
Network performance
Wifi performance
GPS performance
Battery range
Photo camera test
Hardware
Photo quality
Video quality
Audio quality
Screen quality
Biometry
Operating system
Test / Review conclusion
Questions answers

You like my work?
I don't have an advertising budget, I need your help to attract more visitors.
Share this page
Share my site
Best new price:
109.112 EUR
See the offer | Amazon.co.uk

71 other prices available in other stores.

Nokia 5.3 detailed test / comprehensive review

Nokia 5.3 Test / Review

Category: Tests / Reviews

Nokia was the reference in mobile phones at the beginning of the 2000s, it was the brand that everyone wanted and then one day smartphones arrived (with Apple in particular) and Nokia was swept off the map.[b][b]Nokia was then bought by Microsoft to launch a new range of smartphones running Windows Mobile, I had bought a Nokia Lumia 930 which I was really happy with but once again Nokia was swept off the map.[b][b]Nokia was then bought by a Chinese manufacturer and this Nokia 5.3 is part of the third generation of Chinese Nokia, it was time for me to test one of their phones, this Nokia 5.3 falls perfectly in the price range that I am used to test but it has to face strong competitors like the Poco X3, the Redmi Note 9S/Pro and some other Chinese competitors.[b][b][b][b][b]

Structure of my tests

I test the phones according to a pre-established structure (see below) to provide you with as much information as possible. Unfortunately, this takes a long time. Some tests like network performance tests take several days and for photo tests I sometimes have to wait until the weather is suitable to take pictures in good conditions. I am therefore obliged to publish the tests step by step, so I invite you to come back if the test is not complete at the time of your visit.[b]
How are my tests different from others on the web?

- I usually buy the devices with my own money, so price is just as important as you are!
- I keep the devices for at least a few weeks (sometimes more) to see what they are worth in real conditions.
- I answer (when possible) your questions to help you decide before you buy
- no one pays me to do these reviews, so I'm completely neutral and independent...
- My pages are not filled with ads



Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 Review / Test
Xiaomi Mi 10T Pro : test / review
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9T: test / review
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s test, review and price
Samsung Galaxy A52: test / review
Xiaomi Mi 11 Lite test / review
Poco X3 Pro : test / review
OnePlus Nord N100: test / review
Poco F3 Test / Review
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite test / review

Price Nokia 5.3

The list below shows the prices for the Nokia 5.3 from more than 50 sites around the world. If you are not satisfied with any price, you can subscribe to a price alert to be the first to be notified when the price drops.[b]
Nokia 4.2 5.7 Inch Android UK SIM Free Smartphone with 3 GB RAM and 32 GB Storage (Dual SIM) – Bla...
2021-05-09 02:42
95 GBP
Nokia 5.3 6.55 Inch Android UK SIM Free Smartphone with 4 GB RAM and 64 GB Storage (Dual Sim) - Char...
2021-05-09 12:14
104 GBP
Nokia 5.3 Smartphone - Importware (16,3cm (6.55 Zoll), 64GB interner Speicher, 4GB RAM, Dual SIM), C...
2021-05-09 12:09
125 EUR
Nokia 6.1 Smartphone (Sim Free) Android 8.1 Octa-Core 5.5" 3GB/32GB Copper/Black...
2021-05-07 20:21
127 EUR
Smartphone Nokia 8, 5.3" Quad HD, IPS, 4 GB RAM, Memoria 64 GB, Plata...
2021-05-08 20:37
129 EUR
New Nokia 5.3 Charcoal 6.55" 64GB Dual SIM LTE Android 10 Sim Free Unlocked...
2021-05-08 20:28
140 EUR
[b]
helpThe above links are affiliate links from companies such as Amazon, Gearbest, Aliexpress,... If you appreciate my work, I would be grateful if you could purchase these products through these links. It costs you absolutely nothing but I get a small commission that allows me to buy the material I test. Thank you very much!

Timeline

17/09/2020: purchase of the Nokia 5.3 on Rueducommerce.fr[b]30/09/2020: delivery with a lot of delay, the delivery man had not received my house number.[b][b]

Why this phone?

I bought the Nokia 5.3 out of curiosity as it has very similar features to what I'm used to testing and I haven't seen very thorough testing on this phone yet.[b][b]I have had many Nokias in the past but these Nokias have absolutely nothing to do with the ones produced today. This Nokia 5.3 is priced at a level equivalent to the Poco X3 or Redmi Note 9S but from a technical point of view it is closer to a Redmi Note 9. This shows once again to what extent Xiaomi has managed to crush prices by offering phones that outperform the competition.[b][b]I don't think we should rule out the Nokia 5.3 for all that, my test should show if it is able to stand up to Xiaomi and if so, on what points this phone stands out. [b][b]

Unpacking

[b][b]The Nokia 5.3 comes in a flat box, I haven't seen a phone in this type of box for a long time. The box contains the phone, a charger, a USB C cable, earphones and the usual manuals.[b][b][b][b]
Length : 164.3
Width : 76.6
Thickness : 8.5
Weight : 185
Jack output : Yes
USB Type : Type C
Infrared port : No

First configuration

The Nokia 5.3 runs on Android One, which is a streamlined version of Android. There is therefore no installation of unwanted applications (bloatware). Those who are allergic to the applications imposed by Xiaomi or Samsung will be delighted.[b][b]The configuration procedure is indeed limited to its strict minimum and this is a good thing, but you will have to count on a restart after choosing the language and country. [b][b]With Android One, you can easily retrieve your profile from another Android phone or iPhone, you don't need to have used a phone under Android One before.[b][b][b][b]

Finish

[b]The Nokia 5.3 is at the end of the entry-level price range and in this price range we find more and more smartphones with a mid-range finish. The Nokia 5.3 has a correct level of finishing, it plays the card of sobriety where Xiaomi will add all sorts of colour effects on its phones. It's a matter of taste. [b][b]
[b]The screen occupies 82% of the front of the phone, the edges are clearly visible, especially at the bottom with the presence of the Nokia logo. The front camera is housed in a notch at the top of the screen. This type of format is quite classic, the Nokia uses standards used in many other phones.[b][b]
[b][b]At the bottom there is a USB C port, a speaker and a sound sensor. The Jack connector is located at the top of the phone. The Nokia brand is strongly emphasized as if to capitalize on a more glorious past. [b][b][b]
[b][b]The SIM drawer is on the left side, it can hold two SIM cards and a memory card. The volume and start buttons are on the right in a very classic configuration. The start button contains a small LED.[b]
[b][b]The back of the Nokia 5.3 is made of plastic, the construction is quite sober, there are no colour effects like at Xiaomi. It doesn't bother me at all, the Nokia has its own style and it assumes it. The photo module is circular and located in the middle, it's a good positioning to avoid having fingers on the photos. This photo module doesn't stick out very much from the back where Xiaomi tends to make big photo modules that stick out strongly from the back of the device. [b][b]The fingerprint sensor is ideally located underneath the photo module.[b][b]Overall, I think Nokia did a good job, the finishes are sober but correct. The photo module is very well integrated into the phone. The plastic feel is very present but it won't prevent you from using the phone. [b][b][b][b][b]

Specifications

[b]The information below comes from the Device Info HW application. The application provides detailed technical information about the tested phone.I tested the basic version of Nokia 5.3 (4Gb / 64 Gb). This model uses the code name "CaptainAmerica_00EEA". [b][b][b]

CPU / GPU Performance

CPU : Qualcomm Snapdragon 665
GPU : Qualcomm AdreNo 610
Memory (RAM) : 4 - 6 Hn
Storage : 64 Gb
[b][b]The Nokia 5.3 uses a Snapdragon 665 CPU, this processor is also present in two other phones I tested (Motorola G8 Power and Redmi Note 8). This processor offers sufficient performance for all the daily tasks with sometimes a few slowdowns for heavier operations. [b][b]For the graphics part, the Nokia 5.3 uses a Qualcomm Adreno 610 GPU, it is an entry level GPU that I find on the Motorola G8 Power, the Redmi Note 8 or the Xiaomi Mi A3. The Qualcomm Adreno 610 allows you to play most games with sometimes a concession in terms of graphics.[b][b]

Benchmark Antutu/3DMark

I obtained a score of 168036 points with Antutu v8, it is a score comparable to the Motorola G8 Power, the Redmi Note 8 or the Honor 9x. In this price range (150-200€), this is a fairly common performance. [b][b]The Nokia 5.3 is not designed to be a gaming machine but you will be able to play most games without any problem if you accept to play with a lower level of graphics. [b][b]I haven't noticed any particular problems with the phone's performance, there are some slowdowns when opening certain applications or a small latency when switching from one application to another but in this price range it's quite common. However, I found that the phone takes a little longer to boot up than what I have seen on equivalent phones.[b][b][b][b]
Antutu score : 168036
Antutu CPU : 71779
Antutu GPU : 26015
Antutu UX : 32771
Antutu Mem : 37471
3D Mark Open GL : 1149
3D Mark Vulkan : 1140
[b]Top 10 - performance ranking based on Antutu
1. Oppo Find X2 Pro - 605184
2. Oneplus 8t - 595000
3. Poco F3 - 589677
4. Xiaomi Mi 10t Pro - 581650
5. Oneplus 8 Pro - 579417
6. Xiaomi Mi 10 - 579114
7. Poco F2 Pro - 569559
8. Samsung Galaxy S20 Fe - 565000
9. Samsung Galaxy S20 - 503905
10. Poco X3 Pro - 486466

Number of smartphones in the ranking:123
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:66/123

Note: this ranking only contains the phones I tested as well as a few others that I added for reference.
[b]Gaming[b]To test the performance in game, I download the mobile PUBG game and evaluate the in-game experience, graphics level and depth of vision. This game is quite demanding and should help you evaluating the performance of a phone.[b][b]The Nokia 5.3 is not a phone designed for gaming but it is powerful enough to run a game like PUBG Mobile. The graphics are at their lowest level, the depth of vision is not very important and sometimes the movements are a bit jerky but overall it is possible to play PUBG Mobile without too many problems.[b][b]

Network performance

Nokia 5.3 covers most of the 4G frequencies used in Europe, including the B28 frequency (700 Mhz) used in some countries.[b]
3G frequencies : B1 (2100), B2 (1900), B5 (850), B8 (900)
4G frequencies : B1 (2100), B3 (1800), B5 (850), B7 (2600), B8 (900), B20 (800), B28 (700), B38 (TDD 2600), B40 (TDD 2300), B41 (TDD 2500)
Bluetooth : Bluetooth 4.2 LE
Volte : Yes
NFC : Yes
Number measurements : 531
Average signal : -94.98
Download speed : 135
Upload speed : 65
Choose your country to check if your phone is compatible:


The frequencies displayed below will allow you to see if this phone is compatible with your operator or if you will be able to use it in the country where you are going on vacation.


Signal 4G (before december 2020)[b]The ability to pick up the network correctly is an essential element for a phone but it is only very rarely measured. To measure a phone's ability to pick up the network, I perform a large number of measurements on the same cells to be able to compare phones under similar conditions. The signal is measured in dBm, a value of -90dBm indicates a worse signal than -70dBm. These measurements are therefore taken under real conditions and not in a laboratory, they are not scientific but give a good indication of performance. [b][b]Network signal sensitivity rating
Phone tested:Average signal (dBm)Number of measurements:
Xiaomi Mi 9t Pro-881600
Xiaomi Redmi Note 5-91.305600
Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite-93788
Samsung Galaxy A70-94.5111975
Nokia 5.3-94.98531
Realme 6-95.142301
Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro-95.9221599
Xiaomi Mi A3-95.951000
Huawei Y6 2019-95.951199
Doogee S58 Pro-96.22856
Redmi 9a-96.481000
Meizu Note 9-96.68937
Motorola G8 Power-96.881032
Xiaomi Redmi Note 7-97.011430
Redmi 9c-97.041000
Umidigi S3 Pro-97.131200
Xiaomi Redmi Note 8-97.34879
Samsung Galaxy A21s-97.781000
Umidigi F1-97.82298
Ulefone Armor 7e-98.71000
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite-991000
Honor 9x-99.14899
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s-99.41860
Poco F2 Pro-99.81247
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9-100.791785
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g-100.881198
Poco X3-101.19821
Umidigi F2-101.47712
[b]I made 531 measurements in 4G with the Nokia 5.3 and obtained an average signal of -94.98 dBm. I usually take more measurements but this doesn't influence the result because the Nokia 5.3 offers a stable performance (few fluctuations) and in the end I got an excellent score. I also compared it to my reference device and the Nokia did consistently better.[b][b][b]Signal 4G (from December 2020)[b]I decided to change the methodology for measuring the network because I noticed that the configuration of the mobile network changes over time. This makes it more difficult to compare phones because the conditions are no longer exactly the same.[b][b]To overcome this problem, I set up a device that captures 24 hours a day about ten parameters from the mobile network (ex: cell id, rssi, rsrq, snr, frequency,...). I then place the phone next to the device for 24 to 48 hours taking the same measurements so that I can compare them. [b][b] Overview of the phones tested with this methodology[b][b]
Phone tested:MeasurementsAvg signal (reference)Avg signal (phone)Min/Max (reference)Min/Max (phone)
Samsung Galaxy S10+457-93.06-97.39-89 / -98-97 / -99
Xiaomi Mi 9t Pro669-93.69-95.84-90 / -95-92 / -98
Poco F2 Pro1438-91.02-94.99-89 / -94-94 / -96
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g1645-90.77-95.02- 88 / -98-95 / -100
Poco X3821-94.89-103.19-91 / -97.7-101 / -104
Umidigi Bison2343-92.71-96.46-90 / -99-94 / -102
Oukitel C211101-92.04-94.99-90 / -97-92 / -95
Poco M31116-92.09-91.74-88 / -98-90 / -99
Xiaomi Mi 10t Pro1071-90.61-94.03-88 / -94-94 / -96
Umidigi A9 Pro981-90.40-94.01-88 / -95-93 / -95
Redmi Note 9t1201-92.149-91.71-90 / -97-91 / -97
Xiaomi Redmi Note 10999-92.35-93.99-88 / -97-92 / -98
Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro877-89.72-90.56- 88 / -92-89 / -95
Poco X3 Pro1876-91.45-92.91-90 / -94-90 / -96
Poco F31382-90.79-94.2-89 / -94-93 / -98
Oneplus Nord N100896-91.23-96.005-88 / - 99-96 / -99
Xiaomi Mi 11 Lite2875-91.36-91.49-87 / -96-90 / -96
[b][b][b][b]Download/Upload speed[b]To test the download speed, I have identified some 4G cells offering good performance where I test all my devices several times to see what download and upload speed they can achieve.[b]Top 10 - speed ranking in download
1. Samsung Galaxy S20 D:351Mbps U: 20Mbps
2. Poco X3 D:232Mbps U: 55Mbps
3. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g D:223Mbps U: 52Mbps
4. Poco F2 Pro D:207Mbps U: 53Mbps
5. Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite D:153Mbps U: 68Mbps
6. Xiaomi Mi A3 D:150Mbps U: 60Mbps
7. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s D:150Mbps U: 60Mbps
8. Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite D:149Mbps U: 60Mbps
9. Samsung Galaxy A21s D:147Mbps U: 51Mbps
10. Huawei Y6 2019 D:145Mbps U: 61Mbps

Number of smartphones in the ranking:30
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:11/30

Note: the theoretical maximum speed of a telephone is often limited by the configuration of the mobile network and the congestion of the network at the time of the measurement. So maybe you could get a higher speed on another network
[b]The Nokia 5.3 is a category 4 LTE smartphone, which means that its maximum download speed is 150 Mbps and its maximum upload speed is 50 Mbps.[b][b]In download I got a speed of 135 Mbps, so I was quite close to the maximum speed and this type of speed allows me to stream in HD without any problems.[b][b]In upload I obtained a speed of 65 Mbps, this speed is higher than the maximum speed theoretically possible for this kind of phone. This could be due to a measurement error in the SpeedTest application or a tolerance in the network.[b][b][b][b]

Wifi performance

To test a phone's ability to receive the network properly, I take measurements near my router and then remotely (and always at the same place). This gives me an average in dBm where a value of -90 dBm indicates poorer performance than a value at -30 dBm.[b]
Wifi frequencies : 802.11b, 802.11g, 802.11n, 802.11n 5GHz, 802.11ac
Signal / close : -20
Signal / distant : -70
Wifi signal[b]I measured a signal of -20 dBm near the router, this is a score in the middle, it is neither good nor bad.[b][b]At a distance from the router I measured a signal of -70 dBm, here again it is a score in the average.[b][b][b]Top 10 - wifi sensitivity ranking
1. Poco F2 Pro -11dBm
2. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro -12dBm
3. Samsung Galaxy A21s -13dBm
4. Oneplus Nord N100 -15dBm
5. Poco X3 Pro -15dBm
6. Poco F3 -15dBm
7. Redmi Note 9t -15dBm
8. Poco X3 -17dBm
9. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 -17dBm
10. Xiaomi Mi 10t Pro -18dBm

Number of smartphones in the ranking:42
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:19/42

[b]Download/Upload speed[b]To test the speed in Wifi, I connect to my router in 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz (if available) and use the Ookla application to measure the speed.The Nokia 5.3 uses the 5Ghz frequency for wifi, so I should get a high speed for the download but for some reason I don't know, this was not the case. I did a lot of tests to get a speed of about 60 Mbps. That's enough speed to do streaming but I got speeds two to three times higher with other phones in the same price range.[b][b][b]Top 10 - wifi download speed ranking
1. Poco F3 398Mbps
2. Poco X3 Pro 389Mbps
3. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro 367Mbps
4. Samsung Galaxy S20 351Mbps
5. Poco F2 Pro 341Mbps
6. Redmi Note 9t 332Mbps
7. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro 319Mbps
8. Umidigi Bison 306Mbps
9. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g 300Mbps
10. Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite 260Mbps

Number of smartphones in the ranking:41
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:0/41

Note: I have a 400Mbps line and a modem capable of delivering higher speed, but I can never be sure how much bandwidth is available when doing a test.
[b]

GPS performance

[b]To test the quality of the GPS signal I use the Offline Maps application and I make the same train trip in pedestrian mode. Why? In pedestrian mode, the GPS does not artificially correct the signal to stick to the road, it has no markings, so you can see the actual position. I then use an application to measure the accuracy of the signal. [b][b]I obtained a precision level of 3 metres with the Nokia 5.3, which is a score in the middle. I found that the signal was not stable and the accuracy fluctuated between 3 and 5 metres. This kind of discrepancy can be corrected by a good GPS application but in an urban environment, the positioning could very well position you in an adjacent street.[b][b]The Nokia 5.3 does not seem to support the Galileo network, it does not detect any satellite of this type.[b][b][b]Top 10 - GPS accuracy ranking
1. Oukitel C21 1m
2. Redmi 9a 1m
3. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 1m
4. Redmi 9c 2m
5. Umidigi Bison 2m
6. Redmi Note 9t 2m
7. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro 3m
8. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 3m
9. Poco F3 3m
10. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g 3m

Number of smartphones in the ranking:17
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:0/17

Note: An accuracy of 3 meters or less can easily be corrected by a good GPS application. Phone performance also plays a role in how fast your display updates, so good accuracy could be compromised by too slow a display.
[b]

Battery range

Capacity : 4000
Fast charge : Yes
W max : 10
Range (100% brightness) : 549.00
Range (50% brightness) : 1096.00
Charging time : 199.00
Discharge speed (100%) : 0.18
Discharge score (100%) : 7.29
Discharge speed (50%) : 0.09
Discharge score (50%) : 3.65
Charging speed : 0.50
Charging score : 20.10
From March 2020, I replaced my subjective battery test with a technical test to better measure the real behaviour of the battery. Now I test the autonomy and charging time under absolutely identical conditions. I perform several measurements, so this test alone takes several days during which I cannot use the phone for anything else.

Battery life - methodology
To test the battery life, I measure the battery consumption every minute in strictly identical conditions to be able to compare phones and also to allow you to evaluate your phone in the same conditions. I rule out any influence of applications that could interfere with the measurement. The autonomy is not linear, the battery sometimes discharges much faster at the end. This is a frustrating phenomenon but with my measurements, you will know if you need to find a charger quickly.

Battery life
The battery of the Nokia 5.3 has a capacity of 4000 mAh and has discharged from 100% to 1% in 549.00 minutes with 100% brightness, it has discharged from 100% to 1% in 1096.00 minutes with 50% brightness. I obtain in this way an average discharge speed of 0.18% per minute with 100% luminosity and 0.09% per minute with 50% luminosity, the consumption is therefore 7.29 mA per minute with 100% luminosity and 3.65 with 50% luminosity. To be able to compare the efficiency of the phone and its influence on the battery, you have to compare the 7.29 (or 50%) score with that of other smartphones, the figure should be as low as possible.

Charging time - methodology
To test the charging time, I always use the same charger with the same cable. I measure the charging time minute by minute to see the evolution of the charge as well as the charging speed. The charging speed of a battery is not linear, it is often faster at the beginning and slower at the end. The charger is compatible with fast charging.

Charging time
The battery of the Nokia 5.3 has a capacity of 4000 mAh and has been charged from 1% to 100% in 199.00 minutes. This gives me an average charging speed of 0.50% per minute and therefore an increase of 20.10 mA per minute. To compare the performance of the Nokia 5.3 compared to other phones, you should use the 20.10 per minute score, this score should be as high as possible.

Important note: the charging speed is not always linear, the graph below gives you an indication of the battery behaviour.

The following table lists the phones tested with the technical battery test, they are ranked in order of efficiency. A higher battery capacity should logically result in a higher battery life but it is not always the case and it does not give any indication of the efficiency of a phone.

SmartphoneCapacity (mAh)Battery life (minutes)Efficiency ScoreBattery life (minutes) / 50%Efficiency Score / 50%Charging time.Score charging
Samsung Galaxy S204000565.007.081217.003.29136.0029.41
Nokia 5.34000549.007.291096.003.65199.0020.10
Oukitel C214000497.008.051324.003.02167.0023.95
Honor 9x4000770.005.191333.003.00151.0026.49
Umidigi A9 Pro4150552.007.521562.002.66112.0037.05
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g4160749.005.551541.002.70163.0025.52
Realme 64300704.006.111104.003.89162.0026.54
Poco F34520539.008.391521.002.97122.0037.05
Poco F2 Pro47001150.004.091536.003.06180.0026.11
Samsung Galaxy A21s5000729.006.861283.003.90166.0030.12
Redmi 9a5000694.007.201902.002.63195.0025.64
Redmi 9c5000656.007.621915.002.61170.0029.41
Oneplus Nord N1005000808.006.191278.003.91663.007.54
Motorola G8 Power5000912.005.482792.001.79311.0016.08
Umidigi Bison5000550.009.091471.003.40238.0021.01
Xiaomi Redmi Note 105000691.007.241728.002.89193.0025.91
Redmi Note 9t5000766.006.532054.002.43148.0033.78
Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro5020625.008.031557.003.22213.0023.57
Xiaomi Redmi Note 95020650.007.721808.002.78162.0030.99
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s5020663.007.571876.002.68224.0022.41
Umidigi F25150927.005.561854.002.78299.0017.22
Poco X35160653.007.901654.003.12181.0028.51
Poco X3 Pro5160648.007.961688.003.06138.0037.39
Doogee S58 Pro5180845.006.131908.002.71177.0029.27
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite5260827.006.361609.003.27208.0025.29
Ulefone Armor 7e5500768.007.161140.004.82179.0030.73
Poco M36000842.007.131898.003.16217.0027.65

helpHow to read these figures?
The battery capacity is an important element in determining the autonomy of a phone but it is not the only factor. A phone with a large battery may have a shorter battery life if it consumes more power. If I had to take an example from everyday life, I would use the universe of the car. If a car has a large fuel tank, it should be able to drive a longer distance unless its average fuel consumption is higher. The battery efficiency score works the same way, it should be as low as possible and represents the energy consumption of the phone. These differences in efficiency are often related to the brightness of the screen, large bright screens will tend to consume more energy and even if they have a large battery, their range will be shorter.

In summary The Nokia 5.3 offers average battery performance. The battery capacity is lower than Xiaomi's for the same price and the energy efficiency is significantly lower than Redmi Note 9. You will still be able to last 2 days in normal use.[b][b]With the screen switched on at 100% the battery discharges almost twice as fast as at 50%, the lighting of the phone is therefore quite linear, which is quite rare.[b][b]I observe a decrease in consumption when the battery is between 5 and 10%, it is probably the energy saving mode which is activated automatically.[b][b]
[b][b]Charging time is also in the average, on the following graph we can see that the battery charging speed decreases in the last percents.[b][b]
[b][b][b]

Photo camera test

To test the quality of photos produced by a phone, I do a technical test (resolution, sharpness, chromatic aberration,...) in studio (identical conditions) to evaluate the technical part objectively. From the second half of 2020, I built my own laboratory to take completely objective technical measurements. I then take pictures in real conditions to see how the camera performs. I then evaluate these photos according to my criteria but I publish the photos so that you can evaluate the result according to your criteria.[b]

Hardware

Selfie / resolution : 8
Resolution : 13
mm wide angle : 3.61 mm
mm ultra wide angle : 1.98 mm
Nokia did not provide much information about the photo sensor used in this Nokia 5.3.[b][b]The features I was able to get from the phone make me think that I have never tested this photo sensor in any other phone. The main sensor produces photos in 13 million pixels where competitors in this price range offer a minimum of 48 million pixels. This doesn't make much difference to the quality of the sensor but it gives an indication of the level of priority given to the photo at Nokia.[b][b]In theory the photo quality of the Nokia 5.3 should be compared with that of the Redmi Note 9 as they are in the same price range.[b][b]Default app[b]The default photo application in Nokia 5.3 is probably the same as the one used in other phones running Android One. This application is simple because it offers only a limited number of choices, there are no special effects or HDR or even a night mode. [b][b]The trigger button is black with just a white circle around it. This may seem trivial, but when exposed to daylight, this thin white circle is not enough to distinguish the shutter button from the camera. Fortunately, it is possible to use the volume button to take pictures.[b][b][b]

Photo quality

Photo test / studio[b]The Nokia 5.3 uses two photo sensors, a wide angle (3.61mm) and an ultra wide angle (1.98mm).[b][b]I first tested the colorimetry of the wide angle sensor and I get the following graph:[b]
[b]This graph shows that the main photo sensor has a visible deviation in blue and green. Seen from this angle, the deviation looks significant but I have seen much worse on other phones. The average colour deviation is 13.93 dE, which is much better than a Redmi Note 9.[b][b]So I can see that green and blue deviate from the norm, then you have to look at what other colours they deviate to, here is the answer:[b]
[b]The blue deviates towards a lighter blue which should make the photos with the sky look lighter. The green deviates towards a darker green. This kind of deviation is in principle not problematic because the deviation does not cause a blue to purple or a green to yellow.[b][b]I did the same test with the ultra wide angle sensor starting with the colorimetry.[b]
[b]I see here that the colour deviation is much greater, green and blue deviates from the norm as is often the case but I see that most other colours deviate as well. Here I get a colour deviation of 14.39 dE.[b][b]Which colours does the sensor deviate to?[b]
[b]The colorimetric deviations are numerous and if I go back to the main ones, I see that orange deviates strongly towards yellow, green also deviates towards yellow. This deviation should give a too warm colouring to the photos. The blues deviate towards purple.[b][b][b][b][b]Photo test / sunny[b]Main sensor[b]
[b]I was positively surprised by the quality of the photos coming from the main sensor. I had started my photo tests with the night photos and the result was really bad, so I didn't expect to get good daytime photos. [b][b]The sharpness is good and this is visible in the details of the foliage. The sky is a little pale and this confirms the observation of the technical test which showed a deviation from blue to pale blue. The vegetation is a little too dark and here again this confirms what I had observed in the technical test. These are minor problems because the photo as a whole captures the atmosphere well.[b][b]
[b]In this second photo, the light blue effect on the sky is even more visible and the sky is generally overexposed. Nokia 5.3 does not use techniques like HDR to compensate for this kind of problem. Due to its lack of processing the Nokia is quickly put in trouble with either over- or under-exposure. However, we have to be honest, in this price range the result is quite acceptable.[b][b]Ultra wide angle sensor[b]
[b]My technical test showed that the colorimetry of the ultra wide angle sensor was not good and was too warm. This can be seen very clearly in this photo, the whole picture shows colours that are too warm. This is not necessarily unpleasant to look at but these colours do not reflect reality.[b][b]The other problem of this wide angle sensor is the sharpness, it is really bad on the whole photo. The filming is no longer detailed, the pixels are mixed and the photo is generally not very good even when the light is good. There is also an abnormal presence of digital noise in broad daylight. This sensor is really not good.[b][b]Here are other photos taken in the same conditions where you can see the obvious differences between the main sensor and the ultra wide angle sensor. The main sensor produces good photos when the brightness is good, but as soon as the difference between shadows and bright areas increases, you will quickly get overexposure of the sky or underexposure below the horizon line.[b][b][b][b][b]Photo test / cloudy[b][b]Test photo / night[b]
[b][b]When I test a phone I always try to keep a certain neutrality so that everyone can make their own judgement but sometimes it is not possible. The Nokia 5.3 is not good for night photography. The exposure is not good, the colours are not good, the sharpness is not good and there is also a lot of digital noise. As I wrote above, the Nokia 5.3 does not (or very little) process photos where most other phones in this price range use gimmicks to improve photos. [b][b]The ultra wide angle sensor produces even worse pictures, this sensor is really useless.[b][b]Here are a few photos taken under the same conditions, the verdict is indisputable, this phone is not made to take pictures at night.[b][b][b][b][b]

Video quality

Stabilisation[b][b][b]The Nokia 5.3 does not offer video stabilization, so shocks caused by footsteps are clearly visible. However, I find that the recalculation of pixels due to movements is less visible than on the Redmi Note 9.[b][b]Video normale conditions[b][b]Daylight video has the same advantages and disadvantages as daylight photography. The sky is slightly too clear but I find the video is of good quality for a phone in this range. The sharpness is good and the colours are properly saturated. There are however a few jumps in the picture which gives the impression that the phone is receiving a small shock.[b][b]Video low light[b]The night video is of poor quality on the Nokia 5.3, the videos are too dark and the colours are too cold as for night photos. The weak point of the Nokia 5.3 is clearly the night photo/video.[b][b]

Audio quality

To test the quality of the phone's audio output, I connect the device's audio output to a measuring tool, then play sounds on all frequencies and measure the differences between the original sound and the sound produced by the phone. In this way I measure the phone's ability to correctly reproduce all sounds.[b]
Frequency Respons : +1.85 / -4.23
Noise Level : -88.5
Dynamic Range : 88.6
THD : 0.00272
Intermodulation : 0.015
Stereo crosstalk : -85.3
I always start my audio test by listening subjectively from the loudspeaker and then with headphones. [b][b]The quality of the sound produced by the loudspeaker is frankly not very good, the distortion is important and the frequencies are not correctly rendered. [b][b]With earphones, the sound is fortunately better. The Nokia 5.3 produces sound quality equivalent to what I have been able to test in this price range.[b][b]Frequency Response[b]This test is intended to test the device's ability to correctly reproduce all frequencies. The white line in the middle of the graph is the ideal situation and the other colors come from tests on different phones. A deviation from the reference line indicates a deviation from the ideal situation. To see good sound at all frequencies, it is therefore necessary to get as close as possible to the reference line.
[b][b]I tested the frequency coverage several times and each time I got an anomaly in the graph. For some reason I don't know the test didn't work. I would say that the Nokia seems to have a small weakness in high pitched sounds but I cannot demonstrate this with my test.[b][b]Dynamic Range[b]This test is designed to test a phone's ability to play sounds at different volume levels. Here too, the phones must be as close as possible to the reference.
[b][b]The Nokia 5.3 is capable of producing a much more powerful sound than the Redmi Note 9, but its frequency coverage is more irregular. What I have found from subjective listening seems to be confirmed here with a greater deviation in the high frequencies.[b][b]Noise Level[b]This test aims to identify if the device under test is able to reproduce sounds without too much noise. A high score indicates a low parasite rate, a lower score indicates a higher presence of parasites.
[b][b]The Nokia 5.3 does not suffer from a noise problem except perhaps in the higher frequencies where I see some frequencies moving away from the reference instead of moving closer to it.[b][b][b]Concert recording[b]The purpose of this test is to measure the recording quality of the phone when there is a lot of ambient noise. Since I don't have the opportunity to go to a concert every time I test a phone, I simulate the noise of a concert in a closed environment.Not yet available / tested[b][b]

Screen quality

To test the screen, I use a colorimetric probe that measures the color accuracy of a screen, as well as other parameters to see if a screen is able to correctly reproduce an image. I also test the brightness level to determine if the screen will be able to display an image in full sunlight.[b]
Screen size : 6.55
Resolution : 720 x 1600
Ratio : 20:9
Type : IPS LCD
% occupancy : 82
dE white : 8.3
dE red : 6.4
dE green : 4.4
dE blue : 2.0
dE jaune : 3.8
dE cyan : 3.0
dE magenta : 4.9
White temperature : 6801
Contrast : 1539:1
Brightness : 434
Colorimetry[b]
[b][b]The Nokia 5.3 screen offers a resolution of 720 x 1600 on a surface area of 6.55 inches. The pixel density is therefore lower than the equivalent models from Redmi, which offers a minimum of 1080x2340 for the same screen area. Is this a problem? No, but it can be seen in the precision of the images.[b][b]I measured a colour deviation dE of 4.6 after trying to find the best setting for all the colours. The Nokia 5.3 allows you to change the colour temperature but I was unable to get a better score than the one measured. Basic and without change the dE is higher than 6. The colours are too warm with the factory settings. The Redmi range at Xiaomi does a little better.[b][b]I got a white at 6801K with the change in settings, it's a pretty good value.[b][b][b]Top 10 - ranking of the best screens by colorimetry
1. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g dE = 0.73
2. Xiaomi Mi 10t Pro dE = 0.83
3. Xiaomi Mi 11 Lite dE = 1.19
4. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 dE = 1.2
5. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 dE = 1.23
6. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro dE = 1.31
7. Samsung Galaxy S20 dE = 1.4
8. Poco M3 dE = 1.4
9. Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite dE = 1.46
10. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s dE = 1.47

Number of smartphones in the ranking:43
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:32/43

Note: the colorimetric difference is measured in dE. After three, the human eye will perceive a colorimetric difference, so the dE should be the lowest. The tests were all carried out with a colorimetric probe.
[b]Brightness / Contrast[b]I measured a brightness of 434 cd/m² with my probe, it is a brightness above average which should allow you to read the screen under the sun but in strong light, you will have to change the orientation of the screen a little. To be readable in strong light, you should ideally have a brightness above 500 cd/m².[b][b] I measured a contrast ratio of 1539:1 with my probe, this is an average contrast ratio for this type of screen. The Nokia 5.3 scores much better here than the Redmi Note 9 which was rather bad in terms of contrast.[b][b]Light Absorption/Reflection[b]The smartphone screen reflect light and sometimes turn them into a real mirror. This mirror effect makes it harder to read. [b][b]The absorption index below indicates the percentage of light absorbed by the screen. The readability of a screen is better when the absorption index is high.[b][b]
Phone tested:% light absorption
Samsung Galaxy S10+58
Xiaomi Mi 9T Pro52
Honor 9x65
Redmi Note 9s55
Motorola G8 Power60
Realme 654
Umidigi F248
Poco F2 Pro52
Redmi Note 956
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite53
Samsung Galaxy S2047
Samsung Galaxy A21s53
The phones tested have an average absroption rate of54 %

Biometry

The Nokia 5.3 is equipped with a fingerprint sensor positioned under the photo sensor at the back of the display. This sensor works well, I didn't notice any problem, it's quite fast.[b][b]The Nokia 5.3 also offers a facial recognition to unlock the phone, here again I didn't notice anything particular, the recognition works well provided that you are in good light conditions.[b][b]

Operating system

[b][b]The Nokia 5.3 runs on Android One (Android 10). If you've never used Android One you'll quickly find your bearings because most Android features are in the same place with sometimes a few differences.[b][b]The customization of shortcuts in the notification menu is limited to a single screen, so you have to remove a shortcut to be able to put another one. [b][b]The application drawer works the same way as on other Android phones, the search engine is here at the top, on Xiaomi it is at the bottom. The drawer doesn't offer a theme to better classify the applications, so everything is available in the same place and sometimes you have to search a little to find an application.[b][b]The navigation by gesture is activated by default, I rather like this mode of operation except that here it tends to intervene a little too quickly. For example, I have often encountered the problem while surfing on the internet or I just wanted to scroll a large page from left to right and the gesture navigation interpreted this movement as a will to go backwards. Interactions at the top of the screen also tend to make notifications appear too quickly.[b][b]The big advantage of this Android One version is that Nokia didn't install any unwanted applications where Xiaomi, Samsung or Huawei install many applications to try to sign you up to the services offered by each brand. This purity comes at a price, some basic features such as a photo album or screen recording are not available without downloading an additional application.[b][b][b]

Encoutered bugs

I haven't encountered any bugs but the presence of the "Google" button on the left side of the phone requires some time to adapt. It is a place where you don't find a button on most phones, so I have accidentally pressed this button quite often. As I rarely use the Google assistant, this button has really bothered me.[b][b]

Accessories Nokia 5.3

To better enjoy your experience with your smartphone, I offer links to all kinds of accessories that you might find useful

Protective cover / case nokia 5.3
Screen protection film nokia 5.3
Memory card nokia 5.3
USB Cable / Charger nokia 5.3
Headphones nokia 5.3
Bike rack nokia 5.3

Compare Nokia 5.3 with the others

I assigned a score of 1 to 10 for each test that determines the strengths and weaknesses of a product. I am using 0 for criteria that have not (yet) been tested. A score of 1 to 3 indicates poor performance (and yes, it does), a score of 4 to 6 indicates average performance, a score of 7 to 8 indicates good performance, and a score of 9 and 10 indicates exceptional performance. .
The score is calculated based on my measurements and when there are no measurements, it is a subjective opinion based on my experience.

The scores are not static, they change over time because the performance of new products changes and this must be taken into account.

Nokia 5.3
Finish quality6.006.00
Battery performance6.008.00
CPU performance6.006.5
GPU performance6.006.5
Screen quality6.007.00
Photo quality6.005.00
Video quality6.005.00
Wi-Fi performance6.007.00
Mobile download speed7.005.00
Mobile network sensitivity8.006.00
Frequency coverage7.007.00
Audio quality6.006.00
GPS performance6.006.00
Operating system7.008.00
Overall score8989
Global ranking
1. Samsung Galaxy S20 111 / 140
2. Poco F2 Pro 111 / 140
3. Poco F3 110.5 / 140
4. Poco X3 Pro 108 / 140
5. Samsung Galaxy S10+ 107 / 140
6. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro 106.5 / 140
7. Xiaomi Mi 9t Pro 106 / 140
8. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 102 / 140
9. Poco X3 101.5 / 140
10. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g 101 / 140
11. Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite 101 / 140
12. Redmi Note 9t 100.5 / 140
13. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro 100 / 140
14. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s 98 / 140
15. Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite 98 / 140
16. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 97 / 140
17. Xiaomi Mi 11 Lite 96.5 / 130
18. Poco M3 95.5 / 140
19. Xiaomi Redmi Note 7 94 / 140
20. Realme 6 93 / 140
21. Umidigi A9 Pro 92 / 140
22. Umidigi Bison 92 / 140
23. Oukitel C21 89.5 / 140
24. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 89 / 140
25. Motorola G8 Power 89 / 140
26. Xiaomi Mi A3 89 / 140
27. Nokia 5.3 89 / 140
28. Oneplus Nord N100 88.5 / 140
29. Honor 9x 88 / 140
30. Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite 86 / 140
31. Meizu Note 9 86 / 140
32. Xiaomi Redmi Note 5 85 / 140
33. Umidigi S3 Pro 83 / 140
34. Umidigi F2 82 / 140
35. Samsung Galaxy A21s 82 / 140
36. Redmi 9a 81 / 140
37. Ulefone Armor 7e 80 / 140
38. Redmi 9c 80 / 140
39. Doogee S58 Pro 78.5 / 140
40. Honor 8x 78 / 140
41. Umidigi F1 77 / 140
42. Huawei Y6 2019 74 / 140
43. Xiaomi Mi 10t Pro 57 / 70
44. Samsung Galaxy A52 15.5 / 20
45. Elephone U5 0 / 0

Test / Review conclusion

Nokia has changed ownership several times in recent years, the brand now belongs to HMD in China. Despite the years, the brand still enjoys recognition among a certain public to the point that HMD has tried to revive old models. This Nokia 5.3 is a new generation phone for Nokia and it arrives in a very competitive price zone where Xiaomi dominates the market. On some points it stands up to the Redmi Note 9 but it also has some weaknesses, the choice between this Nokia and the Redmi will depend on your priorities.[b][b]The Nokia is clearly more sober than what you find at Xiaomi or other brands but I think the format is quite successful. The integration of the photo module on the back is much better than on the Xiaomi in the same price range, it barely comes out of the phone's shell by one or two millimetres. The display offers a comparable experience to the competition with a colour difference that is barely visible. [b][b]The Nokia 5.3 offers slightly less performance than a Redmi Note 9 can offer, this does not affect its everyday use but the price/performance ratio does not tip in favour of the Nokia. [b][b]The Nokia 5.3 produces good photos when the conditions are good, it does better than the Redmi Note 9 but on the other hand as soon as the brightness drops, the photo and video quality is below the competition.[b][b]On the other hand, the Nokia stands out on its sensitivity to the 4G network, I got much better results than most of the Xiaomi I tested. We tend to forget this but basically, a phone should be able to connect to the network in good conditions and the Nokia does it better than average.[b][b]If this Nokia had been released a year ago, it would probably have been a reference but today it struggles a bit to dominate other phones in the same price zone. The choice of this Nokia instead of another phone will clearly depend on your priorities.[b][b][b]Strengths[b]4G network sensitivity[b]Operating system without unwanted applications[b]Daytime photo quality[b]Integration of the photo module at the back[b][b][b]Weaknesses[b]Night photo / video[b]Annoying Google button[b]Slight screen colour defect[b]Wifi speed[b][b][b]Alternatives to this product[b][b]The most direct competitor of this Nokia 5.3 is the Redmi Note 9. Both phones are available in the same price range with a similar level of performance (although the Redmi offers more performance).[b][b]The Redmi outperforms the Nokia in battery performance, screen colour and wifi performance. The Nokia outperforms the Redmi in network sensitivity, 4G download speed and daytime photo.[b][b]Both phones score very similarly, the choice will depend on the strengths that are important for you.[b][b]

Comments

Join the discussion / Ask your questions

Your comment will be published after validation. I respond to over 1500 comments a year in my spare time, so I can't always respond very quickly. Your email address will not be publicly visible and it will not be used for commercial purposes.









Be notified by email when a response is published