On this page:
Price Realme 6
Unpacking
First configuration
Finish
Specifications
CPU / GPU Performance
Benchmark Antutu/3DMark
Network performance
Wifi performance
GPS performance
Battery range
Photo camera test
Hardware
Photoquality
Video quality
Audio quality
Screen quality
Biometry
Operating system
Test / Review conclusion
Questions answers

Best new price:
165 EUR
See the offer | eBay FR

69 other prices available in other stores.



Realme 6: test / review (detailed and unbiased)

Realme 6 test, review and price

Category: Tests / Reviews

Realme is a new Chinese smartphone manufacturer, the company was founded in 2018 by a former Oppo executive.

Realme launched its first smartphones in Europe in 2019 and the overall feedback was quite positive for such a young brand.

Realme is often compared to Xiaomi because its positioning is very similar, offering high-performance phones at an attractive price. With the imminent launch of the next Xiaomi blockbuster (Redmi Note 9), it was for me the opportunity to finally test a Realme smartphone.



linkManufacturer web site: https://www.realme.com/eu/

Structure of my tests

I test the phones according to a pre-established structure (see below) to provide you with as much information as possible. Unfortunately, this takes a long time. Some tests like network performance tests take several days and for photo tests I sometimes have to wait until the weather is suitable to take pictures in good conditions. I am therefore obliged to publish the tests step by step, so I invite you to come back if the test is not complete at the time of your visit.

How are my tests different from others on the web?

- I usually buy the devices with my own money, so price is just as important as you are!
- I keep the devices for at least a few weeks (sometimes more) to see what they are worth in real conditions.
- I answer (when possible) your questions to help you decide before you buy
- no one pays me to do these reviews, so I'm completely neutral and independent...
- My pages are not filled with ads



Poco F2 review - test - specs
Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite test, review and price
Umidigi F1 test, review and price
Honor 8x test, review and price
Xiaomi Redmi Note 5 test and review
Umidigi F2 test / review / specs
Leeco Coolpad Cool1 test and review
Motorola G8 Power test, review and price
Realme 6 test, review and price
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s test, review and price

Price Realme 6

The list below shows the prices for the Realme 6 from more than 50 sites around the world. If you are not satisfied with any price, you can subscribe to a price alert to be the first to be notified when the price drops.
Realme 6 Smartphone FHD+ 6.5" Android/Realme UI Pantalla 90Hz ...
2020-10-21 20:12
165 EUR
*New Realme 6 - 64GB - Comet White Dual SIM (Unlocked) Smartphone...
2020-10-21 06:19
170 EUR
realme 6 4 Go RAM 64 Go ROM Smartphone 4G MediaTek Helio G90T Android 10 4300 mAh 64MP Caméra Quad ...
2020-10-21 16:57
176 EUR
realme 6 Smartphone, 4 GB + 64 GB, Fotocamera AL QUAD da 64 MP, Display Ultra Fluido a 90 Hz da 16.5...
2020-10-22 07:05
176 EUR
realme 6 – Smartphone de 6.5”, 4 GB RAM + 64 GB ROM, Procesador OctaCore, Cuádruple Cámara AI ...
2020-10-22 02:53
183 EUR
Realme 6 4 GB 64 GB Smartphone Handy 64MP Quad Camera 90Hz Unlocked EU Version...
2020-10-21 20:18
191 EUR



helpThe above links are affiliate links from companies such as Amazon, Gearbest, Aliexpress,... If you appreciate my work, I would be grateful if you could purchase these products through these links. It costs you absolutely nothing but I get a small commission that allows me to buy the material I test. Thank you very much!

Timeline

31/03/2020 Purchase of Realme 6 on the official website of Realme Europe
06/04/2020 Phone reception and unpacking

Why this phone?

I mainly buy smartphones between €150 and €250 that meet a number of criteria. Xiaomi is very present in this price range, so I tested several models of this brand but more and more Chinese manufacturers are trying to occupy this price territory and Realme is one of them.

Why Realme? The opinions on the first models are very positive and this is very rare for such a young brand, so I was curious to see if Realme had succeeded in the incredible challenge of competing with Xiaomi in only 2 years of existence.

Unpacking

The startup procedure for the Realme 6 is very similar to what is used on other Android phones, but it takes a different direction from the configuration of the fingerprint sensor. The Realme 6 uses a fingerprint sensor located on the power button, I think it's a great idea but on the other hand the configuration of this type of fingerprint sensor is less intuitive, you have to find the ideal position of the thumb. From the fingerprint, you enter an interface designed by Realme but Realme doesn't try to register you to all kinds of services, you just have to choose if you want to activate the assistant.



Length : 162.1
Width : 74.8
Thickness : 9.6
Weight : 191
Jack output : Yes
USB Type : Type C
USB norm : 2.0

First configuration

realme 6 test avis review recensione opinion photo 3
The Realme 6 comes in a large yellow box, it's a very unusual color but it probably corresponds to a desire to stand out in a world where all smartphones look the same. The box is almost twice as high as the other smartphones I bought at the same time. Why is this box so big? Probably because of the charger and the USB cable, both are very thick. The phone comes with a protective case but it is packed separately, this probably also explains why the box is so big.

The box contains the phone, a soft and transparent protective shell, a wall charger, a USB cable, a pocket with the manual and the needle to open the SIM drawer.



Finish

realme 6 test avis review recensione opinion photo 6
I had never tested a Realme phone before, I had no point of comparison or expectation in particular. In this price range, my reference is the Redmi Note 8 Pro. I was positively surprised by this Realme 6, it offers a very good level of finish and it gives a good impression of quality. All this is of course subjective but it plays a role on the perception that one can have of a phone. The materials chosen are smooth and uniform, they don't deform to the touch and the phone is quite elegant.

The Realme is about the same size as the Redmi Note 8 Pro but is thicker. The thickness is often justified by a larger battery but this is not the case here, the battery offers 4300 mAh, this is good but not exceptional. The Realme offers a screen diagonal of 6.5 inches like the Redmi Note 8 pro and it also offers an 84% occupancy of the surface. These two devices are therefore very similar in their format.

realme 6 test avis review recensione opinion photo 9
The Realme is perfectly smooth on top, like the Umidigi F2, not even a small hole to capture sound. The loudspeaker is very thin but quite wide, I will have to check in use if it is easy to position the ear correctly. The contrast between the black part and the blue part of the phone is very uniform, it gives the impression that the phone is made of two different pieces. The whole is quite elegant.

realme 6 test avis review recensione opinion photo 7
At the bottom, the Realme 6 has a grid for a loudspeaker, a USB type C port, an audio jack connector and two holes that are probably used to capture sound.



realme 6 test avis review recensione opinion photo 8
For the sides, Realme has decided to make the same bet as Samsung on some of its models. The volume buttons are located on the left side of the device with the SIM drawer. On the right you have the power button with its integrated fingerprint sensor. As most phones have volume buttons on the right, you really have to get used to using your phone differently with the Realme 6. I had already had this problem with the Samsung Galaxy S10+ and since I don't use the phones for more than a month or two, I don't really have time to get used to a layout like this, I always have the reflex to go for the volume on the left. This positioning is also problematic for the use with one hand because a priori if you are right-handed, you will have your thumb on the right, you'll need a large hand to be able to manipulate the volume on the other side, it is not impossible but it is not practical.

realme 6 test avis review recensione opinion photo 13
Xiaomi regularly uses colors with a gradient on the back of their phones, sometimes it looks good result, sometimes it doesn't and in the end it's also a matter of taste. Realme has chosen a slightly milky blue gradient that loses intensity on the vertical axis and ends with metallic grey. The camera is located at the top left and is composed of 4 sensors that stand out quite strongly from the back of the phone despite its already thick. The protective cover supplied with the phone helps to attenuate this effect.


realme 6 test avis review recensione opinion photo 18
The 6.5 inch screen occupies 84% of the front of the phone, which is a good score. The front camera is positioned in the screen like some Samsung or Huawei, the sensor is quite discreet and well integrated. The borders are visible but thin enough not to notice them, the Realme does not distinguish itself from the competition at this level.



Specifications


The information below comes from the Device Info HW application. The application provides detailed technical information about the tested phone.The Realme 6 is similar to the Redmi Note 8 Pro in many ways, what distinguishes it from the Redmi is its screen refresh rate, it is the only phone in this price range to offer a 90hz refresh rate. What does this mean concretely? The screen will display the images with a higher frequency, this has the effect of making the movements more fluid.



CPU / GPU Performance

CPU : MediaTek Helio G90T
GPU : Mali G76
Memory (RAM) : 4 - 8 Gb
Storage : 64-128 Gb

Benchmark Antutu/3DMark

With Antutu I got a score of 287165 points, which is much higher than the score I got with Redmi Note 8 Pro which uses the same components. Realme has probably managed to better optimize the use of these components, so Realme offers a better performance than Redmi.



With 3DMark I got a score very similar to the one obtained with the Redmi Note 8 Pro. With such a score, you won't have any problem with most of the games.

Antutu score : 287165
Antutu CPU : 97128
Antutu GPU : 78787
Antutu UX : 56963
Antutu Mem : 54287
3D Mark Open GL : 2533
3D Mark Vulkan : 2589

Top 10 - performance ranking based on Antutu
1. Poco F2 Pro - 569559
2. Samsung Galaxy S20 - 503905
3. Xiaomi Mi 9t Pro - 430403
4. Xiaomi Mi Mix 3 5g - 385000
5. Oppo Reno 5g - 375000
6. Meizu 16s - 374190
7. Xiaomi Mi 9 - 372006
8. Sony Xperia 1 - 372000
9. Lg G8s Thinq - 371000
10. Lg V50 Thinq 5g - 370000

Number of smartphones in the ranking:102
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:25/102

Note: this ranking only contains the phones I tested as well as a few others that I added for reference.

Gaming
To test the performance in game, I download the mobile PUBG game and evaluate the in-game experience, graphics level and depth of vision. This game is quite demanding and should help you evaluating the performance of a phone.The Realme 6 scores almost 300,000 points on Antutu and until a year ago, this kind of score was reserved for high-end phones. Today for just over €200 you can get phones like the Realme 6, Redmi Note 8 Pro or Redmi Note 9s that offer very good performance for an affordable price. With this kind of performance, you'll be able to play without any problem a very large majority of games, even 3D FPS like PUBG Mobile below.



PUBG Mobile is perfectly smooth, the level of detail is high and the depth of vision is maximum. Even when several players are present in the same area, the game remains overall very smooth.

Network performance

The Realme 6 covers most 3G and 4G frequencies used in Europe, so you should be able to use it everywhere even on Free and Bouygues networks in France thanks to the support of the B28 / 700 Mhz frequency.

3G frequencies : B1 (2100), B2 (1900), B4 (1700/2100 AWS A-F), B5 (850), B8 (900)
4G frequencies : B1 (2100), B2 (1900), B3 (1800), B4 (1700/2100 AWS 1), B5 (850), B7 (2600), B8 (900), B20 (800), B28 (700), B38 (TDD 2600), B40 (TDD 2300), B41 (TDD 2500)
Bluetooth : Bluetooth 5.0 LE
SAR / head : 1.138
SAR / body : 0.586
Volte : Yes
NFC : Yes
Number measurements : 2301
Average signal : -95.14
Download speed : 60
Upload speed : 60
Choose your country to check if your phone is compatible:


The frequencies displayed below will allow you to see if this phone is compatible with your operator or if you will be able to use it in the country where you are going on vacation.


Signal 4G
The ability to pick up the network correctly is an essential element for a phone but it is only very rarely measured. To measure a phone's ability to pick up the network, I perform a large number of measurements on the same cells to be able to compare phones under similar conditions. The signal is measured in dBm, a value of -90dBm indicates a worse signal than -70dBm. These measurements are therefore taken under real conditions and not in a laboratory, they are not scientific but give a good indication of performance.

Network signal sensitivity rating
Phone tested:Average signal (dBm)Number of measurements:
Xiaomi Mi 9t Pro-881600
Xiaomi Redmi Note 5-91.305600
Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite-93788
Samsung Galaxy A70-94.5111975
Nokia 5.3-94.98531
Realme 6-95.142301
Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro-95.9221599
Xiaomi Mi A3-95.951000
Huawei Y6 2019-95.951199
Redmi 9a-96.481000
Meizu Note 9-96.68937
Motorola G8 Power-96.881032
Xiaomi Redmi Note 7-97.011430
Redmi 9c-97.041000
Umidigi S3 Pro-97.131200
Xiaomi Redmi Note 8-97.34879
Samsung Galaxy A21s-97.781000
Umidigi F1-97.82298
Ulefone Armor 7e-98.71000
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite-991000
Honor 9x-99.14899
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s-99.41860
Poco F2 Pro-99.81247
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9-100.791785
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g-100.881198
Umidigi F2-101.47712

If there is one domain where the Realme 6 really outperforms the Redmi Note 9s it is the network performance. On more than 2000 measurements, the Realme 6 scores above average where the Redmi Note 9s is below average.


Download/Upload speed
To test the download speed, I have identified some 4G cells offering good performance where I test all my devices several times to see what download and upload speed they can achieve.
Top 10 - speed ranking in download
1. Samsung Galaxy S20 D:351Mbps U: 20Mbps
2. Poco X3 D:232Mbps U: 55Mbps
3. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g D:223Mbps U: 52Mbps
4. Poco F2 Pro D:207Mbps U: 53Mbps
5. Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite D:153Mbps U: 68Mbps
6. Xiaomi Mi A3 D:150Mbps U: 60Mbps
7. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s D:150Mbps U: 60Mbps
8. Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite D:149Mbps U: 60Mbps
9. Samsung Galaxy A21s D:147Mbps U: 51Mbps
10. Huawei Y6 2019 D:145Mbps U: 61Mbps

Number of smartphones in the ranking:30
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:28/30

Note: the theoretical maximum speed of a telephone is often limited by the configuration of the mobile network and the congestion of the network at the time of the measurement. So maybe you could get a higher speed on another network

The Realme 6 got a good score for signal quality in 4G and I was expecting a good score in download speed but it's not the case. I got a download speed fluctuating around 60 Mbps and an upload speed fluctuating in the same area. That's half of what I got with a Redmi Note 9s in exactly the same conditions.

These speeds are more than enough for streaming or downloading but if speed is important to you, the Redmi does much better.




Wifi performance

To test a phone's ability to receive the network properly, I take measurements near my router and then remotely (and always at the same place). This gives me an average in dBm where a value of -90 dBm indicates poorer performance than a value at -30 dBm.
Wifi frequencies : 802.11a, 802.11ac, 802.11b, 802.11g, 802.11n, 802.11n 5GHz
Download speed : 197
Signal / close : -29
Signal / distant : -73
Wifi signal
The Realme 6 is in the middle range with a signal near -29 dBm and a remote signal of -73 dBm. Most of the phones I test are in this zone, only the Redmi Note 8 pro manages to outperform everyone with -19 dBm near the router.




Top 10 - wifi sensitivity ranking
1. Poco F2 Pro -11dBm
2. Samsung Galaxy A21s -13dBm
3. Poco X3 -17dBm
4. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s -18dBm
5. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro -19dBm
6. Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite -19dBm
7. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g -19dBm
8. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 -19dBm
9. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 -19dBm
10. Redmi 9a -19dBm

Number of smartphones in the ranking:30
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:19/30


Download/Upload speed
To test the speed in Wifi, I connect to my router in 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz (if available) and use the Ookla application to measure the speed.I measured a download speed of almost 200 Mbps in download and 20 in upload (upload limited by my provider). With such a speed you can use the Realme 6 for streaming without any problem.

Here too the Redmi Note 8 Pro does much better with more than 300 Mbps download speed.




Top 10 - wifi download speed ranking
1. Samsung Galaxy S20 351Mbps
2. Poco F2 Pro 341Mbps
3. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro 319Mbps
4. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g 300Mbps
5. Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite 260Mbps
6. Poco X3 251Mbps
7. Xiaomi Redmi Note 7 250Mbps
8. Umidigi F1 220Mbps
9. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 211Mbps
10. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 207Mbps

Number of smartphones in the ranking:30
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:14/30

Note: I have a 400Mbps line and a modem capable of delivering higher speed, but I can never be sure how much bandwidth is available when doing a test.

GPS performance


To test the quality of the GPS signal I use the Offline Maps application and I make the same train trip in pedestrian mode. Why? In pedestrian mode, the GPS does not artificially correct the signal to stick to the road, it has no markings, so you can see the actual position. I then use an application to measure the accuracy of the signal.


The Realme 6 gets a very good accuracy score on the GPS. After a few seconds, the accuracy stabilizes at 1 meter. It picks up about 40 satellites and almost 30 of them are used for positioning.



On a road course without any difficulties (trees, tunnels,...), the Realme positions my car correctly on the road with sometimes a small deviation completely negligible. I had tested other devices at the same time and some of them placed my car off the road.


Top 10 - GPS accuracy ranking
1. Redmi 9a 1m
2. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 1m
3. Redmi 9c 2m
4. Samsung Galaxy A21s 4m

Number of smartphones in the ranking:5
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:0/5

Note: An accuracy of 3 meters or less can easily be corrected by a good GPS application. Phone performance also plays a role in how fast your display updates, so good accuracy could be compromised by too slow a display.

Battery range

Capacity : 4300
Fast charge : Yes
W max : 30
Range (100% brightness) : 704.00
Range (50% brightness) : 1104.00
Charging time : 162.00
Discharge speed (100%) : 0.14
Discharge score (100%) : 6.11
Discharge speed (50%) : 0.09
Discharge score (50%) : 3.89
Charging speed : 0.62
Charging score : 26.54
From March 2020, I replaced my subjective battery test with a technical test to better measure the real behaviour of the battery. Now I test the autonomy and charging time under absolutely identical conditions. I perform several measurements, so this test alone takes several days during which I cannot use the phone for anything else.

Battery life - methodology
To test the battery life, I measure the battery consumption every minute in strictly identical conditions to be able to compare phones and also to allow you to evaluate your phone in the same conditions. I rule out any influence of applications that could interfere with the measurement. The autonomy is not linear, the battery sometimes discharges much faster at the end. This is a frustrating phenomenon but with my measurements, you will know if you need to find a charger quickly.

Battery life
The battery of the Realme 6 has a capacity of 4300 mAh and has discharged from 100% to 1% in 704.00 minutes with 100% brightness, it has discharged from 100% to 1% in 1104.00 minutes with 50% brightness. I obtain in this way an average discharge speed of 0.14% per minute with 100% luminosity and 0.09% per minute with 50% luminosity, the consumption is therefore 6.11 mA per minute with 100% luminosity and 3.89 with 50% luminosity. To be able to compare the efficiency of the phone and its influence on the battery, you have to compare the 6.11 (or 50%) score with that of other smartphones, the figure should be as low as possible.

Charging time - methodology
To test the charging time, I always use the same charger with the same cable. I measure the charging time minute by minute to see the evolution of the charge as well as the charging speed. The charging speed of a battery is not linear, it is often faster at the beginning and slower at the end. The charger is compatible with fast charging.

Charging time
The battery of the Realme 6 has a capacity of 4300 mAh and has been charged from 1% to 100% in 162.00 minutes. This gives me an average charging speed of 0.62% per minute and therefore an increase of 26.54 mA per minute. To compare the performance of the Realme 6 compared to other phones, you should use the 26.54 per minute score, this score should be as high as possible.

Important note: the charging speed is not always linear, the graph below gives you an indication of the battery behaviour.

The following table lists the phones tested with the technical battery test, they are ranked in order of efficiency. A higher battery capacity should logically result in a higher battery life but it is not always the case and it does not give any indication of the efficiency of a phone.

SmartphoneCapacity (mAh)Battery life (minutes)Efficiency ScoreBattery life (minutes) / 50%Efficiency Score / 50%Charging time.Score charging
Honor 9x4000770.005.191333.003.00151.0026.49
Samsung Galaxy S204000565.007.081217.003.29136.0029.41
Nokia 5.34000549.007.291096.003.65199.0020.10
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g4160749.005.551541.002.70163.0025.52
Realme 64300704.006.111104.003.89162.0026.54
Poco F2 Pro47001150.004.091536.003.06180.0026.11
Redmi 9c5000656.007.621915.002.61170.0029.41
Redmi 9a5000694.007.201902.002.63195.0025.64
Samsung Galaxy A21s5000729.006.861283.003.90166.0030.12
Motorola G8 Power5000912.005.482792.001.79311.0016.08
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s5020663.007.571876.002.68224.0022.41
Xiaomi Redmi Note 95020650.007.721808.002.78162.0030.99
Umidigi F25150927.005.561854.002.78299.0017.22
Poco X35160653.007.901654.003.12181.0028.51
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite5260827.006.361609.003.27208.0025.29
Ulefone Armor 7e5500768.007.161140.004.82179.0030.73

helpHow to read these figures?
The battery capacity is an important element in determining the autonomy of a phone but it is not the only factor. A phone with a large battery may have a shorter battery life if it consumes more power. If I had to take an example from everyday life, I would use the universe of the car. If a car has a large fuel tank, it should be able to drive a longer distance unless its average fuel consumption is higher. The battery efficiency score works the same way, it should be as low as possible and represents the energy consumption of the phone. These differences in efficiency are often related to the brightness of the screen, large bright screens will tend to consume more energy and even if they have a large battery, their range will be shorter.

In summary [battery product="realme-6" capa="5150" lg="en"]
The Realme 6 offers a battery capacity in the average phone in the same price range.

It took 162 minutes to fully charge the battery. Charging is linear up to about 90%, the remaining 10% charges more slowly. The Realme 6 offers an above-average charging speed.

It took me 704 minutes to completely drain the battery. While this score is good, the Realme 6 has a lower than average energy efficiency, other phones with equivalent capacity will offer longer battery life.

The battery life is quite linear, I don't see any weakening as is often the case during this kind of measurement. The Realme 6 can recover some autonomy by switching on the energy saving mode (from 20%).

With this score the Realme 6 should give you an autonomy between 2 and 3 days under normal conditions of use.

Photo camera test

To test the quality of photos produced by a phone, I do a technical test (resolution, sharpness, chromatic aberration,...) in studio (identical conditions) to evaluate the technical part objectively. From the second half of 2020, I built my own laboratory to take completely objective technical measurements. I then take pictures in real conditions to see how the camera performs. I then evaluate these photos according to my criteria but I publish the photos so that you can evaluate the result according to your criteria.

Hardware

Selfie / resolution : 16
Selfie / sensor : Samsung S5K3P9
Resolution : 64
Sensor : Samsung Bright S5KGW1
Video resolution : 2160p
mm wide angle : 5.58 mm
mm ultra wide angle : 1.64 mm
The Realme 6 is equipped with 4 sensors at the rear with the usual combination of a main sensor (64 Mp) accompanied by a wide angle (8 Mp), a macro sensor and a black and white depth sensor.

Realme has chosen the Samsung Bright S5KGW1 as the main sensor, this is the same sensor as the Redmi Note 8 Pro. I had tested this sensor on the Redmi and the strength of this sensor was in the sharpness of the images. The Redmi on the other hand had a tendency to make the pictures too cold, you will see that with this Realme it's the opposite.

Default app
It's the first time I've tested a Realme, so I was curious to see how Realme would try to be different from Xiaomi.

The default photo application looks pretty much like what Xiaomi does, Realme chose to use text instead of icons, that's a good thing, it doesn't leave room for interpretation. The application's settings are quite similar.

The application allows you to zoom up to 5x in the photo, this kind of possibility is not common and at 5x you have to hold the phone well to avoid blurred photos.

The application also detects the type of scene to adapt the settings, it will for example distinguish a landscape from a character or make the difference between the grass and the sky. It's very well designed (and very fast), I've already seen it on other phones, it's just a question of whether the Realme will be able to make the right decisions according to the situation.

Realme also offers time lapses and slow motion (120 fps and 240 fps).




Photoquality

Photo test / studio
First example: ƒ/1.8 1/142 5.58 mm 100 ISO
realme 6 test avis review recensione opinion photo studio 1
Exposure: slightly underexposed
Sharpness: good
Colours: slightly too dark
Depth of field: good
Distortion: none
Chromatic aberration: none
Vignetting: none
Digital noise: none

For this first studio test, I see that the Realme falls into the same trap as many telephones and produces underexposed photos. The Realme doesn't do too badly in the end because I've seen much worse results. The underexposure has an effect on the colors but the sharpness seems quite good, this is one of the strength of the Samsung sensor, it was the same with the Redmi Note 8 Pro.

Second example: ƒ/1.8 1/142 5.58 mm 100 ISO
realme 6 test avis review recensione opinion photo studio 2
Exposure: slightly underexposed
Sharpness: good
Colours: slightly too dark
Depth of field: good
Distortion: none
Chromatic aberration: none
Vignetting: none
Digital noise: none

The X2 zoom uses the same sensor, it is a digital zoom based on a high-resolution image in which the camera zooms in artificially. To avoid too much pixelization, the Realme applies a sharpness processing that works quite well. You can clearly see the details of the car's grid as well as the Ford logo on the front grid.

Third example: ƒ/1.8 1/142 5.58 mm 100 ISO
realme 6 test avis review recensione opinion photo studio 3
Exposure: slightly underexposed
Sharpness: good
Colours: slightly too dark
Depth of field: good
Distortion: none
Chromatic aberration: none
Vignetting: none
Digital noise: none

As I mentioned above, Realme offers an X5 zoom in the default application. This zoom also applies a sharpness treatment that works quite well but be careful, this picture was taken with a support, so I didn't tremble. If you take freehand pictures, you'll have to make sure you don't move around too much because if there's not enough light, you might get a blurry picture.

Fourth example: ƒ/2.3 1/253 1.64 mm ISO 112
realme 6 test avis review recensione opinion photo studio 4
Exposure: underexposed
Sharpness: good
Colours: too dark
Depth of field: good
Distortion: none
Chromatic aberration: none
Vignetting: none
Digital noise: none

The focal length of the wide angle is short, so you can capture an image with a very wide angle. The disadvantage of this kind of sensor is that it lets in less light, so the pictures are darker. I often remind it during my tests, wide angles should only be used when the light is good. On the other hand, the sharpness here is quite good, wide angles are generally less good in this area. I don't see any distortion but no object is in the periphery, so I can't see if there is any distortion.


Photo test / sunny
First example: ƒ/1.8 1/776 5.58 mm 101 ISO
realme 6 test avis review recensione opinion photo sun 1
Exposure: good
Sharpness: very good
Colours: too warm
Depth of field: good
Distortion: none
Chromatic aberration: none
Vignetting: none
Digital noise: none

I took this picture at the end of the afternoon, the light was really nice and highlighted the landscape well. The Realme judged that it was necessary to add a little bit more warmth resulting in too warm colours. It looks like a yellow filter was applied to the photo. The sharpness on the other hand is very good and apart from this problem of color temperature, the photo is quite nice. On the Redmi Note 8 Pro, the photos were too cold and on the Realme 6 the photos are too warm even though it is the same sensor. Treatment plays a big role in the final result. I had noticed while testing the photo application that the application was able to detect the type of scene and that it adapted the processing of the photo according to the type of scene, I have here an example that shows that this kind of adaptation does not always give a good result.

I took about the same picture at the same time with a Redmi Note 9s:
xiaomi redmi note 9s test avis review opinion revision recensione photo sun 2
Redmi Note 9s also increases the color temperature, but at a lower level. This is a personal choice but I prefer the Redmi treatment.

Second example: ƒ/2,3 1/828 1,64 mm 113 ISO
realme 6 test avis review recensione opinion photo sun 3
Exposure: good
Sharpness: good
Colors: a little too saturated
Depth of field: good
Distortion: none
Chromatic aberration: none
Vignetting: none
Digital noise: none

The color processing of the wide-angle sensor is completely different from that of the main sensor. The picture looks much greener and more saturated. Even if the colors are a bit exaggerated, I prefer the wide angle processing. On the pictures that will follow you will be able to distinguish very clearly the pictures taken by the wide angle sensor because they follow the same trend. The sharpness of the wide angle is really good, it's quite rare.

With the Redmi Note 9s, the wide angle also produces good results:
xiaomi redmi note 9s test avis review opinion revision recensione photo sun 3
The picture is much more neutral than the one taken with the Realme 6. The saturated photo of the Realme 6 is "prettier" but less correct in terms of colours.

Third example: ƒ/1,8 1/839 5,58 mm 101 ISO
realme 6 test avis review recensione opinion photo sun 4
Exposure: good
Sharpness: good
Colours: too warm
Depth of field: good
Distortion: none
Chromatic aberration: none
Vignetting: none
Digital noise: none

The x2 zoom uses the main sensor, so it takes over the defects of the main sensor. The colors are here too warm but the sharpness is good even if we lose a little precision compared to the image in full format.

Fourth example: ƒ/1.8 1/899 5.58 mm 100 ISO
realme 6 test avis review recensione opinion photo sun 5
Exposure: good
Sharpness: bad
Colours: too warm
Depth of field: good
Distortion: none
Chromatic aberration: none
Vignetting: none
Digital noise: none

As I wrote above, the x5 zoom is a digital zoom and with a simple division, you can quickly understand why this picture is bad. The Realme 6 is able to take pictures in 64 Mp pixels. If you use the x2 zoom, you divide the number of pixels by two and you always stay in a comfortable resolution that still doesn't affect the pixel accuracy too much. If, on the other hand, you use the x5 zoom, you divide the 64Mp by 5 and all image optimization processes lose their effectiveness. This x5 zoom should therefore only be used in good conditions and with subjects that do not require too much precision, such as the toys in my studio photos.

Does the Realme 6 produce good pictures? Yes it is capable of taking good pictures but the artificial treatment of the pictures can lead the phone to make bad choices. Samsung has a much better mastery of artificial photo processing, this is not yet the case for Realme. To avoid this kind of problem, the best solution would be to disable image processing.



Photo test / cloudy
First example: ƒ/1.8 1/1136 5.58 mm 100 ISO
realme test review recensione opinion avis photo cloud 12

Exposure: slightly underexposed
Sharpness: good
Colours: slightly too dark
Depth of field: good
Distortion: none
Chromatic aberration: none
Vignetting: none
Digital noise: none

When the light is less favorable, the Realme 6 produces photos that are slightly too dark like most other phones in this price category. The exposure time could have been a little longer and the picture would have been much better. Leaving aside the exposure problem, the technical quality of the photo is rather good, the sharpness is good even far into the picture without any negative effect on the contours of the objects.

Second example: ƒ/2.3 1/2660 1.64 mm ISO 115
realme test review recensione opinion avis photo cloud 11

Exposure: underexposed
Sharpness: good
Colours: slightly too dark
Depth of field: good
Distortion: none
Chromatic aberration: none
Vignetting: none
Digital noise: none

The picture taken by the wide angle is too dark and it doesn't make sense because there is a margin in the shutter speed to get a picture with the correct exposure. Most phones react in the same way whereas it would be enough to open the shutter longer, with 1/2660 the camera could easily go below 1/1000 without risking blur. It's a shame because as in the previous example, the picture has a nice potential, the level of detail in the clouds is really good.

Third example: ƒ/1.8 1/1229 5.58 mm 103 ISO
realme test review recensione opinion avis photo cloud 10

Exposure: slightly underexposed
Sharpness: good
Colours: slightly too dark
Depth of field: good
Distortion: none
Chromatic aberration: none
Vignetting: none
Digital noise: none

This picture has the same qualities and defects as the first example because it is the same sensor that uses a digital zoom to get closer to the subject.

The Realme 6 is capable of producing good pictures but it makes the wrong choices in terms of exposure. This is a recurring problem on many smartphones. If you have a little patience, you could correct the problem by using the "expert" mode which allows you to increase the exposure time and adapt the color temperature.




Test photo / night
First example: ƒ/1.8 1/13 5.58 mm 7918 ISO
realme 6 test avis review recensione opinion photo night 1

Exposure: correct
Sharpness: bad
Colors: bad
Depth of field: good
Distortion: none
Chromatic aberration: none
Vignetting: none
Digital noise: highly visible

The Realme 6 is clearly bad for night shots, I didn't expect such a bad result for a phone that competes with the Redmi range. The digital noise is huge, the colors are not good, the halos of light go through the picture, only the exposure is more or less correct. The Realme 6 however has a night mode but the result is not good.

Second example: ƒ/2,3 1/10 1,64 mm 2361 ISO
realme 6 test avis review recensione opinion photo night 2

Exposure: slightly under-exposed
Sharpness: medium
Colours: slightly too dark
Depth of field: good
Distortion: none
Chromatic aberration: none
Vignetting: none
Digital noise: visible

Wide-angle produces better night-time photos than the main sensor, it is usually the opposite. However, the picture quality is not good enough to compete with the Redmi range.

Here are some other photos taken in the same conditions, the result is not very good and the Realme will therefore rank below the Redmi Note 9s for the photo part.




Video quality

Stabilisation


The Realme 6 does not offer very effective stabilisation, the jolts caused by walking are clearly visible whereas walking should not be a problem for a device in this price range.

Video normale conditions

The Realme 6 is capable of filming at 4k and 30 fps like most phones in this price range. Video taken in daylight is of good quality when you don't move around too much but as soon as you move, the focus is not fast enough to keep the image sharp. As with the camera, the colors are slightly too warm.

The microphone seems very sensitive to wind. There was indeed wind on the day I made the video but the wind was not very strong, yet you can hear the wind quite strongly in the video.

Overall, the result is correct but other phones like the Redmi Note 9s produce a better result.

Video low light


The night video with the Realme 6 is frankly very bad and in this price range it's unacceptable. The Realme is positioned as a competitor of the Redmi Note 9s, it is more expensive but at night it offers a performance far below average. The video shows a lot of digital noise, the colors are not good and the focus is not able to focus properly.

Audio quality

To test the quality of the phone's audio output, I connect the device's audio output to a measuring tool, then play sounds on all frequencies and measure the differences between the original sound and the sound produced by the phone. In this way I measure the phone's ability to correctly reproduce all sounds.
Frequency Respons : 9.52 / -19.65
Noise Level : -78.7
Dynamic Range : 78.1
THD : 7.625
Intermodulation : 3.112
Stereo crosstalk : -5.9
The Realme 6 is equipped with a unique speaker for music, so it doesn't offer stereo sound like a Motorola G8 Power. The sound delivered by this loudspeaker can be very high in volume and this is done at the expense of sound quality. If you reduce the volume to more or less 70-80%, the volume is still powerful and the sound quality is not too distorted. When listening subjectively, I found that the high frequencies lack a bit of finesse, the bass sounds are quite powerful but are probably limited by the size of the speaker, this problem should disappear with the test with headphones below.

Frequency Response
This test is intended to test the device's ability to correctly reproduce all frequencies. The white line in the middle of the graph is the ideal situation and the other colors come from tests on different phones. A deviation from the reference line indicates a deviation from the ideal situation. To see good sound at all frequencies, it is therefore necessary to get as close as possible to the reference line. realme 6 frequency respons
When I do my technical test, I do a first test with the volume at maximum and if the result is bad, I try to find an ideal volume level to get a readable measurement on a graph. I had noticed when listening subjectively that the volume of the Realme 6 was very high, this is also the case with headphones. At maximum volume, the measurements are very bad, the frequencies go off in all directions, I've never had such an irregular graph. I tried to do the same test at 50% of the volume but I get the same result. I contacted Realme to try to figure out what the problem was but I never got an answer.

If I keep the volume at around 70%, contrary to the technical measurement, the sound is quite good.

Dynamic Range
This test is designed to test a phone's ability to play sounds at different volume levels. Here too, the phones must be as close as possible to the reference.realme 6 dynamic range
I compared the Realme 6 with the Redmi Note 8 Pro and here we notice a big difference between the white curve and the blue one, this difference comes from the volume level. I had to lower the volume level on the Realme to not get unreadable curves like on the previous test. This graph shows that at this volume level, the sound follows a normal curve on all frequencies, this means that the sound quality remains more or less constant and is similar to the Redmi Note 8 Pro. If you haven't read the Redmi test, you should know that the Redmi offers good sound if you choose the right volume level, it's exactly the same with the Realme 6.

Noise Level
This test aims to identify if the device under test is able to reproduce sounds without too much noise. A high score indicates a low parasite rate, a lower score indicates a higher presence of parasites.
realme 6 noise level
This latest technical test confirms what other tests have already shown, namely that if the volume is good, the Realme 6 produces a good sound without too much interference.

The Realme offers an average performance with the loudspeaker, with headphones the sound is much better and reaches a very good level that will appeal to a very large majority of users. You will just have to find the right volume so that you don't blow your ears and keep a correct sound quality. For more demanding music lovers, I recommend instead to go to some models from Samsung.

Concert recording
The purpose of this test is to measure the recording quality of the phone when there is a lot of ambient noise. Since I don't have the opportunity to go to a concert every time I test a phone, I simulate the noise of a concert in a closed environment.The Realme 6 does it better than the average for live audio recording, even if the sound is still distorted, it's less distorted than what I've been able to measure on other phones.

Screen quality

To test the screen, I use a colorimetric probe that measures the color accuracy of a screen, as well as other parameters to see if a screen is able to correctly reproduce an image. I also test the brightness level to determine if the screen will be able to display an image in full sunlight.
Screen size : 6.5
Resolution : 1080 x 2400
Ratio : 20:9
Protection : Corning Gorilla Glass 3
Type : IPS LCD
% occupancy : 84
dE white : 6.2
dE red : 5.2
dE green : 4.4
dE blue : 3.9
dE jaune : 4.2
dE cyan : 5.7
dE magenta : 3.2
Contrast : 1285:1
Brightness : 90
Colorimetry

realme 6
The Realme 6 is equipped with an IPS LCD screen like most phones in this price range. I got a dE of 4.4 with the color probe, this is a pretty average result as I got a much better score with the Redmi Note 8 Pro. Fortunately the color differences are not very important and instead of having a color that pulls the results down, most colors have a similar difference.

You can lower the dE below 4 by choosing the "warm colors" option in the phone settings. This will allow you to correct the white significantly, the other colors do not vary much.


Top 10 - ranking of the best screens by colorimetry
1. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g dE = 0.73
2. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 dE = 1.2
3. Samsung Galaxy S20 dE = 1.4
4. Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite dE = 1.46
5. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s dE = 1.47
6. Honor 9x dE = 1.5
7. Poco F2 Pro dE = 1.73
8. Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite dE = 1.91
9. Samsung Galaxy S10+ dE = 2.01
10. Xiaomi Mi 9t Pro dE = 2.11

Number of smartphones in the ranking:29
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:21/29

Note: the colorimetric difference is measured in dE. After three, the human eye will perceive a colorimetric difference, so the dE should be the lowest. The tests were all carried out with a colorimetric probe.

Brightness / Contrast
I was very surprised by the results of the brightness measurement, I made many measurements and each time I obtained a very low level of brightness. As I didn't find this normal, I contacted Realme but after a week I still had no answer, I found the solution by myself. The Realme was in power saving mode and in this mode the screen lighting is completely locked and you can't go above 100 cd/m².

The power save mode exists on other devices as well but I hadn't yet had the case of a lock on the brightness.

Without the power save mode, the screen produces a brightness of 410 cd/m², it's a good score but it's not the strongest in its category, the Redmi Note 9s goes up to almost 600 in full sunlight. With 410 cd/m², you will be able to read your screen in full sunlight but be aware that if this is an important criteria for you, there are better screens out there.

I measured a contrast ratio of 1285:1, this score puts it in the middle of the IPS screens, so the Realme 6 is neither good nor bad.

Light Absorption/Reflection
The smartphone screen reflect light and sometimes turn them into a real mirror. This mirror effect makes it harder to read.

The absorption index below indicates the percentage of light absorbed by the screen. The readability of a screen is better when the absorption index is high.

Phone tested:% light absorption
Samsung Galaxy S10+58
Xiaomi Mi 9T Pro52
Honor 9x65
Redmi Note 9s55
Motorola G8 Power60
Realme 654
Umidigi F248
Poco F2 Pro52
Redmi Note 956
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite53
Samsung Galaxy S2047
Samsung Galaxy A21s53
The phones tested have an average absroption rate of54 %

Biometry

The Realme 6 can be unlocked by facial recognition or a fingerprint sensor on the side of the phone.

Facial recognition is very weak because if I point the phone at the ceiling without my face visible, the phone still unlocks. However, I did recognize my face when I first set up the phone.

The fingerprint sensor on the side is less effective than a fingerprint sensor on the back, you have to find the right position to unlock the device. The idea of putting a fingerprint sensor at this location is good but still very effective.

Operating system



Realme is a fairly recent brand but their operating system based on Android is really successful. Overall, it looks very much like what Xiaomi is doing with MIUI.

Realme UI offers an application drawer and all the application shortcuts on the right, so Realme combines the best of both worlds. The search engine can't be moved (it's stuck at the bottom of the screen) which can sometimes be annoying with an accidental click.

The settings menu contains many options as on most Android phones, so sometimes you have to search a bit to find what you need. The search engine allows you to avoid searching for an item manually, but you must use the exact keyword because the system will not try to interpret what you are looking for.

The system is stable, I didn't encounter any problems. I just regret that Realme remained on a customization screen on the left of the main screen. Xiaomi had also made that choice and then went back to an information flow.

Realme UI is therefore a great success for such a young brand.


Encoutered bugs

Not yet available / tested

Accessories Realme 6

To better enjoy your experience with your smartphone, I offer links to all kinds of accessories that you might find useful

Protective cover / case realme 6
Screen protection film realme 6
Memory card realme 6
USB Cable / Charger realme 6
Headphones realme 6
Bike rack realme 6

Compare Realme 6 with the others

I assigned a score of 1 to 10 for each test that determines the strengths and weaknesses of a product. I am using 0 for criteria that have not (yet) been tested. A score of 1 to 3 indicates poor performance (and yes, it does), a score of 4 to 6 indicates average performance, a score of 7 to 8 indicates good performance, and a score of 9 and 10 indicates exceptional performance. .
The score is calculated based on my measurements and when there are no measurements, it is a subjective opinion based on my experience.

The scores are not static, they change over time because the performance of new products changes and this must be taken into account.

Realme 6
Finish quality6.006.00
Battery performance6.006.00
CPU performance7.005.00
GPU performance7.005.00
Screen quality6.005.00
Photo quality6.005.00
Video quality6.005.00
Wi-Fi performance6.005.00
Mobile download speed5.005.00
Mobile network sensitivity8.006.00
Frequency coverage7.006.00
Audio quality8.006.00
GPS performance8.006.00
Operating system7.007.00
Overall score9378
Global ranking
1. Samsung Galaxy S20 112 / 140
2. Poco F2 Pro 111 / 140
3. Samsung Galaxy S10+ 107 / 140
4. Xiaomi Mi 9t Pro 106 / 140
5. Poco X3 102 / 140
6. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g 101 / 140
7. Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite 101 / 140
8. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro 100 / 140
9. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s 98 / 140
10. Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite 98 / 140
11. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 97 / 140
12. Xiaomi Redmi Note 7 94 / 140
13. Realme 6 93 / 140
14. Motorola G8 Power 91 / 140
15. Nokia 5.3 89 / 140
16. Xiaomi Mi A3 89 / 140
17. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 88 / 140
18. Honor 9x 88 / 140
19. Meizu Note 9 86 / 140
20. Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite 86 / 140
21. Xiaomi Redmi Note 5 85 / 140
22. Umidigi S3 Pro 83 / 140
23. Umidigi F2 82 / 140
24. Samsung Galaxy A21s 82 / 140
25. Redmi 9a 81 / 140
26. Redmi 9c 80 / 140
27. Ulefone Armor 7e 80 / 140
28. Honor 8x 78 / 140
29. Umidigi F1 77 / 140
30. Huawei Y6 2019 74 / 140

Test / Review conclusion

I hadn't tested any Realme before testing the Realme 6 but all the reviews I had read about the previous models were pretty positive for such a young brand. Realme walks in the footsteps of Xiaomi, so the comparison is inevitable. In the end the Realme is a good surprise, it's a phone with many qualities such as performance, a 90hz screen, a good battery life, an excellent network performance. The Redmi Note 9s still gets a better overall score but the Realme represents a good alternative on some points. Choosing one or the other is a luxury issue because they are two good phones with strengths and weaknesses.

I had contacted Realme before buying because I couldn't register on their site. I received an answer the very next day, so I was positively surprised. On the other hand I contacted them twice after I bought to ask them questions about the phone because I had doubts about the screen and the sound, I got absolutely no answer! I have received a few testimonials to the same effect and I find it deplorable. I contacted Xiaomi France several times to ask them questions, I received an answer to each question and sometimes I even received an answer within an hour of the request. It has nothing to do with the quality of the phone but maybe you should buy a Realme where you'll get better support like Amazon rather than on their site.


Strengths
Screen 90hz
Network performance
Performance gaming
GPS Performance


Weaknesses
Catastrophic night-time photo quality
Colours for daytime photos


Alternatives to this product

Comments

Join the discussion / Ask your questions

Your comment will be published after validation. I respond to over 1500 comments a year in my spare time, so I can't always respond very quickly. Your email address will not be publicly visible and it will not be used for commercial purposes.









Be notified by email when a response is published