Before leaving...

Thanks for your visite. If you like my work, you can support me with the following possibilities:
Subscribe to my YouTube channel
I post full test videos every month. By subscribing you will be notified of each new video, but the number of YouTube subscribers is important to obtain products to test.

Subscribe

Subscribe to my page on Facebook
I regularly post updates on Facebook, I also organize contests to win prizes. Here too, the number of fans is important to obtain material.

Subscribe

Use my links
I don't display ads on my site because I don't like it. My only source is from purchases you make from my links. I earn a meager commission on every purchase (about 2% on average), it costs you nothing and keeps me going. Here are some links to buy your products:

Amazon.com == Aliexpress == Banggood

x
On this page:
Price Redmi 10A
Unpacking
First configuration
Finish
Specifications
CPU / GPU Performance
Benchmark Antutu/3DMark
Network performance
Wifi performance
GPS performance
Battery range
Photo camera test
Hardware
Photo quality
Video quality
External audio quality
Audio quality (headphones)
Screen quality
Biometry
Operating system
Test / Review conclusion
Questions answers

Notification new articles: YouTube Facebook

Redmi 10A: test and review

Redmi 10A, the anti-crisis phone, test and review
Category: Smartphones

We will no doubt remember the year 2022 as a historic year because of the level of inflation and the impact on the daily lives of a large majority of the population. While some wonder how they will pay their electricity bill, the new iPhone costing more than 1000€ is a hit. Fortunately, some brands continue to offer smartphones at an affordable price, Redmi has not forgotten you by launching its new generation of entry-level phones with the Redmi 10A. [b][b] The A range and the C range at Redmi represent the entry level in its simplest form, so they are complete phones but limited in performance and not having all the latest advances technologies. So I know in advance that this phone will come in at the bottom of my ranking on most criteria but that doesn't mean it's a bad phone. This phone will undoubtedly find an audience among those who do not want all the new features and it is to this audience that this test is aimed. [b][b][b][b][b]linkManufacturer web site: https://www.mi.com[b]linkSite where I have bought the Redmi 10A: https://s.zbanx.com/r/YbwiaJLdAVBF[b]

Structure of my tests

I test the phones according to a pre-established structure (see below) to provide you with as much information as possible. Unfortunately, this takes a long time. Some tests like network performance tests take several days and for photo tests I sometimes have to wait until the weather is suitable to take pictures in good conditions. I am therefore obliged to publish the tests step by step, so I invite you to come back if the test is not complete at the time of your visit.[b]
How are my tests different from others on the web?

- I usually buy the devices with my own money, so price is just as important as you are!
- I keep the devices for at least a few weeks (sometimes more) to see what they are worth in real conditions.
- I answer (when possible) your questions to help you decide before you buy
- no one pays me to do these reviews, so I'm completely neutral and independent...
- My pages are not filled with ads



Redmi 10A: test and review
Redmi 10: test / review
TCL 10 Pro: test / review / price
TCL 30 SE : test / review / price
Poco M4 Pro 4G : test / review
OnePlus Nord 2T test / review
Poco F4 : test / review
Poco X4 GT : test / review
Oukitel WP18: test and review
Poco F4 GT: test / full review

Price Redmi 10A

The list below shows the prices for the Redmi 10A from more than 50 sites around the world. If you are not satisfied with any price, you can subscribe to a price alert to be the first to be notified when the price drops.[b]
global version xiaomi redmi 10a 2gb 32gb mtk helio g25 octa core 13mp camera 5000mah battery 10w fas...
2022-09-24 15:11
109 EUR
xiaomi redmi 10a global firmware smartphone 64gb / 128gb helio g25 octa core 6.53' hd display 13mp f...
2022-09-23 16:57
119 EUR
XIAOMI REDMI 10A 2Go 32Go Bleu Écran 6.53″ Dot Drop MediaTek Helio G25 5000mAh (typ) 13MP Double ...
2022-09-24 22:06
119 EUR
Xiaomi Redmi 10A 32 GB (2 GB) RAM Factory Unlocked 6.53" 13MP 5000mAh New...
2022-09-24 14:02
124 EUR
XIAOMI REDMI 10A 3Go 64Go Bleu Écran 6.53″ Dot Drop MediaTek Helio G25 5000mAh (typ) 13MP Double ...
2022-09-24 22:06
129 EUR
Xiaomi Redmi 10A 4Go+64Go Smartphone ettre à niveau la reconnaissance d'empreintes digitales - Vers...
2022-09-24 07:49
130 EUR
[b]
helpThe above links are affiliate links from companies such as Amazon, Gearbest, Aliexpress,... If you appreciate my work, I would be grateful if you could purchase these products through these links. It costs you absolutely nothing but I get a small commission that allows me to buy the material I test. Thank you very much!

Timeline

September 14, 2022: purchase of the Redmi 10A on Goboo.com on sale and using the promo code ZBANX99 to get it for €100 [b] September 20, 2022: receipt of the package, the test can begin [b][b]

Why this phone?

When I started testing smartphones, Xiaomi/Redmi only launched about ten phones a year, so I could buy them all and test them. Today, I no longer have the possibility of buying everything because the Xiaomi group (with the brands Mi, Redmi, Poco, Black Shark) markets too many phones. I therefore have to make choices and given the economic situation in which we find ourselves, I opted for the cheapest phone in their range. I had already tested the Redmi 9A and 9C a few years ago and these phones are still enjoying some success, so this new Redmi 10A will probably follow the same path. [b][b] The Redmi 10A is not a technological curiosity, it does not bring anything new but it offers a simple and complete smartphone at a lower price than other models. It is therefore not its characteristics that attracted me, I rather see this test as a free public service test to help those looking for a cheap phone to make their choice.[b]

Unpacking

The Redmi 10A is packaged in a box similar to other boxes of the Redmi brand, nothing indicates that it is an entry-level phone. Inside we find the phone, a charger, a cable and a manual. There is no silicone protection like on the other models and the screen is also not protected by a plastic film. The box therefore contains the bare minimum. [b][b][b]
Length : 164.9
Width : 77
Thickness : 9
Weight : 194
Jack output : jack
USB Type : Micro USB
Infrared port : No

First configuration

The Redmi 10A is released with MIUI 12.5 and the boot phase is no different from what I have seen on other phones. I was even quite surprised not to see any differences because since my test of the Redmi 9A, MIUI has evolved a lot and I expected to find a slimmed down version of MIUI so that the phone would not be too penalized by its lack of performance . I will see with use if Xiaomi has made a good choice.[b]

Finish

I have already repeated several times that this phone is an entry level phone, I think you have understood the message but it is not directly visible on its level of finish. Yes, if you are used to using more expensive phones, you will notice here and there some clues such as the presence of thick borders around the screen or the selfie sensor in the form of a drop, it has been a long time that I hadn't seen that. The screen still has a nice size with its 6.53 inches. [b][b]
The back of the phone is quite neutral, it is 100% plastic but it does not deform to the touch and the lined texture allows a good grip, this phone will therefore not quickly slip out of your hands. The photo block is clearly visible but quite well integrated because it does not protrude from the back of the phone by more than one or two millimeters. [b][b]
The camera is integrated in a black block a bit like on some models from Poco but here the photo block is really reduced to a minimum. This black block also contains the fingerprint sensor and it's a rather curious choice because it positions the fingerprint sensor in a very unusual place, it takes a bit of fumbling to find it and the sensor is quite small. [b][b]
On the upper part, there is only a jack-type headphone audio output.
On the lower part we find the only speaker, a sound sensor and a micro-usb port! It had been years since I had seen a phone with a micro usb port and I do not understand this choice because I do not think that using this type of USB port is more economical than a usb type c port unless you've reused components from an old phone to save money.
On the left side, we find the sim drawer which can accommodate 2 sim cards and a memory card, the drawer is therefore quite long. [b][b]
The volume and power buttons are in the usual place, here too it's 100% plastic but it's not shocking, it's the same with the rest of the phone. [b][b] The Redmi 10A has a fairly simple design that uses a very classic format, a 100% plastic but correct finish, a large screen for an entry-level phone. All the ingredients are there to satisfy an audience looking for a cheap smartphone without having to make too big a sacrifice on the finishes. [b]

Specifications

[b]The information below comes from the Device Info HW application. The application provides detailed technical information about the tested phone. I tested the 2Gb / 32 Gb version, it's the cheapest version but it is possible to go up to 4Gb for RAM and 128 Gb for storage. I have taken all the characteristics of the phone in the following screens, there is obviously nothing exceptional but I will come back to certain points later in this test. [b][b][b][b][b]

CPU / GPU Performance

CPU : Mediatek MT6762G
GPU : IMG PowerVR GE8320 600MHz
Memory (RAM) : 2 - 4 Gb
Storage : 32 - 128 Gb
[b][b]The Redmi 10A uses a Mediatek MT6762G CPU and a PowerVR Rogue GE8320 GPU, it's pretty much the same configuration as the Redmi 9A launched 3 years ago, so Redmi didn't try to reinvent itself. They took over old hardware, changed the exterior appearance and increased the price. We can therefore question this choice and wonder if it is better not to buy a Redmi 9A but I let you judge what suits you best. From a performance point of view, they are the same phones and most of the other components are strictly the same.[b]

Benchmark Antutu/3DMark

The Redmi 10A is not a performance-oriented phone, so I was not surprised to obtain a score of 85928 points with Antutu, it is especially in the graphics part that this phone has more significant weaknesses. This phone is therefore not going to be the ideal candidate for playing 3D games.[b]
Antutu score : 85928
Antutu CPU : 34740
Antutu GPU : 12899
Antutu UX : 13463
Antutu Mem : 24826
[b]Top 10 - performance ranking based on Antutu
1. Poco F4 Gt - 853016
2. Realme Gt - 811858
3. Black Shark 4 Pro - 759986
4. Poco X4 Gt - 714577
5. Oppo Find X2 Pro - 605184
6. Oneplus 8t - 595000
7. Poco F3 - 589677
8. Xiaomi Mi 10t Pro - 581650
9. Oneplus 8 Pro - 579417
10. Xiaomi Mi 10 - 579114

Number of smartphones in the ranking:147
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:130/147

Note: this ranking only contains the phones I tested as well as a few others that I added for reference.
[b]Gaming[b]To test the performance in game, I download the mobile PUBG game and evaluate the in-game experience, graphics level and depth of vision. This game is quite demanding and should help you evaluating the performance of a phone. I tested PUBG Mobile on the Redmi 10A and although the game starts without issue, the experience is far from optimal. The low performance of the phone made capturing video during the game quite complicated because the recording of the video affected the performance in game. The level of graphics is at a minimum, the game is not smooth at all and we feel that the phone was not designed for that. Small bubble breaker type games should however work without problems.[b][b][b]

Network performance

The Redmi 10A offers fairly average frequency coverage for 4G, most frequencies used in Europe are compatible (even the B28) but it is not a global phone, it lacks a few frequencies to be used everywhere.[b]
3G frequencies : B1 (2100), B3 (1800), B4 (1700/2100 AWS 1), B5 (850), B7 (2600), B8 (900), B20 (800), B28b (700), B28a (700), B38 (TDD 2600), B40 (TDD 2300), B41 (TDD 2500)
Bluetooth : Bluetooth 5.0 LE
Volte : Yes
VoWifi : Yes
NFC : No
Number measurements : 707
Average signal (reference) : -89.026
Average signal (telephone) : -97.97
Average deviation reference/telephone : 8.944
Min/Max signal (reference) : -87 / -91
Min/Max signal (phone) : -97 / -103
Choose your country to check if your phone is compatible:


The frequencies displayed below will allow you to see if this phone is compatible with your operator or if you will be able to use it in the country where you are going on vacation.


Signal 4G (from December 2020)[b]I decided to change the methodology for measuring the network because I noticed that the configuration of the mobile network changes over time. This makes it more difficult to compare phones because the conditions are no longer exactly the same.[b][b]To overcome this problem, I set up a device that captures 24 hours a day about ten parameters from the mobile network (ex: cell id, rssi, rsrq, snr, frequency,...). I then place the phone next to the device for 24 to 48 hours taking the same measurements so that I can compare them. [b][b] Overview of the phones tested with this methodology[b][b]
Phone tested:MeasurementsAvg signal (reference)Avg signal (phone)Min/Max (reference)Min/Max (phone)
Samsung Galaxy S10+457-93.06-97.39-89 / -98-97 / -99
Xiaomi Mi 9t Pro669-93.69-95.84-90 / -95-92 / -98
Poco F2 Pro1438-91.02-94.99-89 / -94-94 / -96
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g1645-90.77-95.02- 88 / -98-95 / -100
Poco X3821-94.89-103.19-91 / -97.7-101 / -104
Umidigi Bison2343-92.71-96.46-90 / -99-94 / -102
Oukitel C211101-92.04-94.99-90 / -97-92 / -95
Poco M31116-92.09-91.74-88 / -98-90 / -99
Xiaomi Mi 10t Pro1071-90.61-94.03-88 / -94-94 / -96
Umidigi A9 Pro981-90.40-94.01-88 / -95-93 / -95
Redmi Note 9t1201-92.149-91.71-90 / -97-91 / -97
Xiaomi Redmi Note 10999-92.35-93.99-88 / -97-92 / -98
Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro877-89.72-90.56- 88 / -92-89 / -95
Poco X3 Pro1876-91.45-92.91-90 / -94-90 / -96
Poco F31382-90.79-94.2-89 / -94-93 / -98
Oneplus Nord N100896-91.23-96.005-88 / - 99-96 / -99
Xiaomi Mi 11 Lite2875-91.36-91.49-87 / -96-90 / -96
Samsung Galaxy A521427-89.27-93.39-87 / -98-92 / -96
Doogee S96 Pro1259-94.2-91.21-90 / -102-88 / -95
Xiaomi Redmi Note 10s957-92.07-97.62-90 / -102-96 / -102
Poco M3 Pro1247-91.76-102.97-99 / -104-88 / -98
Realme Gt843-96.49-94.02-93 / -101- 92 / -96
F150 R20221002-92.4-105.1-90 / -97-98 / -110
Umidigi Bison Pro936-94.2-104.98-91 / -98-95 / -105
Redmi 102141-94.74-100.92-92 / -98-99 / -101
Tcl 10 Pro871-93.43-94.001-92 / -96-93 / -95
Poco M4 Pro570-93.71-96.78-91 / -98-95 / -99
Google Pixel 51444-91.02-97.02-90 / -94-97 / -101
Xiaomi 11t1576-92.305-92.003-90 / -96-92 / -93
Redmi Note 111223-92.5-91.32-92/-97-90 / -93
Black Shark 4 Pro2383-95.178-95.42-90 / -100-93 / -101
Redmi Note 11 Pro349-95.33-93-89 / -101-92 / -94
Poco M4 Pro 4g1202-90.85-88.95-87 / - 95-88 / -98
Tcl 30 Se567-92.11-92.85-88 / -98-99 / -93
Poco X4 Pro562-92.06-94.01-90 / -95-95 / -93
Redmi Note 11 Pro Plus 5g945-93.5-93.54-91 / -97-92 / -97
Poco F4 Gt832-95.02-93.09-90 / -99 -93 / -97
Oukitel Wp181351-95.94-92.92-91 / -97-92 / -97
Poco X4 Gt387-96.99-96.505-96 / -98-95 / -98
Poco F4524-95.78-95.04-93 / -99-94/-96
Oneplus Nord 2t1340-98.83-96.305-95 / -102-90 / -99
Redmi 10a707-89.026-97.97-87 / -91-97 / -103
[b][b]I made 751 measurements in 4G to measure the network sensitivity of this phone and I expected to obtain a positive result because it is often the case with simple phones but unfortunately it is not the case. I got an average signal of -97.97 dBm with the phone while I got a signal above 0.90 dBm with the probe, so the deviation is very large and indicates that this phone will lose contact with the network more quickly when the signal is weak.[b][b][b]Download/Upload speed[b]To test the download speed, I have identified some 4G cells offering good performance where I test all my devices several times to see what download and upload speed they can achieve.[b]Top 10 - speed ranking in download
1. Samsung Galaxy S20 D:351Mbps U: 20Mbps
2. Poco X3 D:232Mbps U: 55Mbps
3. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g D:223Mbps U: 52Mbps
4. Poco F2 Pro D:207Mbps U: 53Mbps
5. Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite D:153Mbps U: 68Mbps
6. Xiaomi Mi A3 D:150Mbps U: 60Mbps
7. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s D:150Mbps U: 60Mbps
8. Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite D:149Mbps U: 60Mbps
9. Samsung Galaxy A21s D:147Mbps U: 51Mbps
10. Huawei Y6 2019 D:145Mbps U: 61Mbps

Number of smartphones in the ranking:30
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:0/30

Note: the theoretical maximum speed of a telephone is often limited by the configuration of the mobile network and the congestion of the network at the time of the measurement. So maybe you could get a higher speed on another network
[b][b]

Wifi performance

To test a phone's ability to receive the network properly, I take measurements near my router and then remotely (and always at the same place). This gives me an average in dBm where a value of -90 dBm indicates poorer performance than a value at -30 dBm.[b]
Wifi frequencies : 802.11b , 802.11g , 802.11n
Signal / close : -17
Signal / distant : -56
Wifi signal[b]I got an average signal of -17dBm near the router, I had gotten the same signal level with the Redmi 9A. This is a good level of wifi sensitivity. From a distance I measured an average signal of -56 dBm, this is also a good signal level. Sensitivity to wifi is therefore good but beware, this phone does not seem to want to work with the 5Ghz frequency, I only detected wifi access in 2.4Ghz. This will therefore limit the download speed.[b][b]Top 10 - wifi sensitivity ranking
1. Poco F2 Pro -11dBm
2. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro -12dBm
3. Realme Gt -12dBm
4. Samsung Galaxy A21s -13dBm
5. Redmi Note 11 Pro -13dBm
6. Oneplus Nord N100 -15dBm
7. Poco X3 Pro -15dBm
8. Poco F3 -15dBm
9. Redmi Note 9t -15dBm
10. Black Shark 4 Pro -15dBm

Number of smartphones in the ranking:67
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:13/67

[b]Download/Upload speed[b]To test the speed in Wifi, I connect to my router in 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz (if available) and use the Ookla application to measure the speed.[b]Top 10 - wifi download speed ranking
1. Redmi Note 11 Pro Plus 5g 866Mbps
2. Poco F4 866Mbps
3. Poco F4 Gt 866Mbps
4. Poco X4 Gt 866Mbps
5. Oneplus Nord 2t 866Mbps
6. Black Shark 4 Pro 866Mbps
7. Poco M4 Pro 4g 433Mbps
8. Poco X4 Pro 433Mbps
9. Redmi Note 11 Pro 433Mbps
10. Poco F3 398Mbps

Number of smartphones in the ranking:64
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:0/64

Note: I have a 400Mbps line and a modem capable of delivering higher speed, but I can never be sure how much bandwidth is available when doing a test.
[b]

GPS performance

[b]To test the accuracy of the GPS signal, I use two positioning applications to evaluate the difference between the actual position and the position indicated by the phone. This test is done outdoors with nothing to obstruct the signal. An accuracy level of up to 3 meters can easily be corrected by an application (e.g. Google Maps).[b][b] This phone is equipped with a Mediatek GPS chip and this usually results in a good level of precision, I obtained here a level of precision at 1 meter like the Redmi 9A but beware this level of precision is assisted. I compared my real position with my position on a map and the level of accuracy is more like 3 to 4 meters when the GPS application does not have landmarks like a street to improve the detected position.[b][b]Top 10 - GPS accuracy ranking
1. Poco X4 Gt 1m
2. Oukitel C21 1m
3. Redmi 9a 1m
4. Redmi 10a 1m
5. Doogee S96 Pro 1m
6. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10s 1m
7. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 1m
8. Umidigi Bison Pro 1m
9. Tcl 30 Se 1m
10. Redmi 10 1m

Number of smartphones in the ranking:38
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:4/38

Note: An accuracy of 3 meters or less can easily be corrected by a good GPS application. Phone performance also plays a role in how fast your display updates, so good accuracy could be compromised by too slow a display.
[b]

Battery range

To test battery life I developed an application that measures the battery level minute by minute until the battery is empty. This application consumes about ten percent of the phone's resources and I do a test with 100 brightness. This test aims to reproduce a contemplative use of a phone (e.g. surfing the internet, reading articles, spending time on social networks). These results are not valid for intensive gaming/streaming use.
Capacity : 5000
Fast charge : Yes
W max : 10
Not yet available / tested[b][b]

Photo camera test

To test the quality of photos produced by a phone, I do a technical test (resolution, sharpness, chromatic aberration,...) in studio (identical conditions) to evaluate the technical part objectively. From the second half of 2020, I built my own laboratory to take completely objective technical measurements. I then take pictures in real conditions to see how the camera performs. I then evaluate these photos according to my criteria but I publish the photos so that you can evaluate the result according to your criteria.[b]

Hardware

Selfie / resolution : 5
Selfie / sensor : Omnivision OV02B
Resolution : 13
Sensor : Galaxy Core 5035
Not yet available / tested[b][b]

Photo quality

Photo quality (indoor/studio)[b]The studio test is carried out under the same conditions so that the results can be compared on an equal basis. I calibrate my lighting for each test to obtain the same brightness and colour temperature. This test is a preliminary analysis of the technical qualities of a camera. Most phones fail this test, so you should also read the results of the other tests in the following paragraphs.[b][b]
The main sensor of the Redmi 10A is a Galaxy Core, I think it's the same sensor as the Redmi 9A and I don't think I've tested it on another phone. This sensor is an ultra basic sensor but it still delivers a level of photos that is quite correct for this price level. In controlled conditions such as the studio, the exposure level is quite good, the color reproduction is not super faithful but not catastrophic either, the level of sharpness is good and I don't see any major degradation. The Redmi 10A is clearly not the phone of the year for photos but as with the Redmi 9A, I expected worse.
I was not yet doing the test with the banknotes when I tested the Redmi 9A but I would have probably obtained the same result. The sharpness of the photos is really good for an entry-level phone and this sharpness does not degrade too much at the periphery. [b][b]Photo: technical test[b]I was inspired by industrial technical tests to create my own technical test to evaluate the technical quality of a camera. This test is an objective assessment of a camera's ability to render a scene correctly. [b][b]I test the following elements:[b]- centre sharpness, peripheral sharpness[b]- colour fidelity based on 24 reference colours[b]- level of chromatic aberration[b]- dynamic range (ability to capture dark and light areas without loss)[b]- distortion[b][b]The technical evaluation may differ from the subjective evaluation as the feeling of a photo will be influenced by the processing provided by each manufacturer.[b][b]
The main sensor of the Redmi 10A is a Galaxy Core, I think it's the same sensor as the Redmi 9A and I don't think I've tested it on another phone. This sensor is an ultra basic sensor but it still delivers a level of photos that is quite correct for this price level. In controlled conditions such as the studio, the exposure level is quite good, the color reproduction is not super faithful but not catastrophic either, the level of sharpness is good and I don't see any major degradation. The Redmi 10A is clearly not the phone of the year for photos but as with the Redmi 9A, I expected worse.
I was not yet doing the test with the banknotes when I tested the Redmi 9A but I would have probably obtained the same result. The sharpness of the photos is really good for an entry-level phone and this sharpness does not degrade too much at the periphery. [b][b]Outdoor photo quality[b]Not yet available / tested[b][b][b]Test photo / night[b]Not yet available / tested[b][b][b]

Video quality

Stabilisation[b]Not yet available / tested[b][b]Video normale conditionsNot yet available / tested[b][b]Video low light[b]Not yet available / tested[b][b]

External audio quality

[b]This test is intended to give you an overview of the volume and sound quality during calls and when listening to music through the external speakers. [b][b] Not yet available / tested[b][b]

Audio quality (headphones)

To test the quality of the phone's audio output, I connect the device's audio output to a measuring tool, then play sounds on all frequencies and measure the differences between the original sound and the sound produced by the phone. In this way I measure the phone's ability to correctly reproduce all sounds.[b]
Not yet available / tested[b][b]

Screen quality

To test the screen, I use a colorimetric probe that measures the color accuracy of a screen, as well as other parameters to see if a screen is able to correctly reproduce an image. I also test the brightness level to determine if the screen will be able to display an image in full sunlight.[b]
Screen size : 6.53
Resolution : 720 x 1600 px
Ratio : 20:9
Type : LCD IPS
% occupancy : 81
dE white : 3.8
dE red : 3.8
dE green : 3.3
dE blue : 4.1
dE jaune : 2.5
dE cyan : 1.8
dE magenta : 1.9
White temperature : 6271
Contrast : 1541:1
Brightness : 427
Colorimetry[b]
I didn't expect to measure good colorimetry on this phone, but I was pleasantly surprised anyway. Basic settings aren't the best, as usual with Xiaomi, but after switching the screen to standard color mode, I got a dE of 3.03. It's clearly not the best phone for colorimetry but in this price level, it's really a good score. The white is a little too warm which gives a slightly yellow look to the photos but an untrained eye will probably not see it.[b][b]Top 10 - ranking of the best screens by colorimetry
1. Poco X4 Gt dE = 0.6
2. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g dE = 0.73
3. Xiaomi Mi 10t Pro dE = 0.83
4. Redmi Note 11 dE = 0.91
5. Google Pixel 5 dE = 1.11
6. Realme Gt dE = 1.17
7. Xiaomi Mi 11 Lite dE = 1.19
8. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 dE = 1.2
9. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 dE = 1.23
10. Poco M4 Pro 4g dE = 1.31

Number of smartphones in the ranking:67
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:40/67

Note: the colorimetric difference is measured in dE. After three, the human eye will perceive a colorimetric difference, so the dE should be the lowest. The tests were all carried out with a colorimetric probe.
[b]Brightness / Contrast[b]I measured a peak brightness of 427 cd/m² using sun mode and flooding the sensor with light. That's not a bad score, so you'll be able to use this phone in daylight but on very sunny days you might need to change the orientation of the screen to get better readability. [b][b] I measured a contrast ratio of 1541:1, which is a good score for this type of screen (LCD IPS). The screen settings are a bit better than the previous version but the contrast is a bit lower.[b]

Biometry

Not yet available / tested[b][b]

Operating system

[b]The Redmi 10A runs on MIUI 12.5 and I was wondering if this was going to become problematic for such an underperforming phone. Unfortunately I find that the lack of performance is felt more on this phone than the Redmi 9A which ran on an earlier and lighter version of MIUI. The phone is quite slow in most day-to-day operations like accessing the app list, calling the keyboard, switching to another screen. If you are used to using more powerful phones, you will need some time to adapt. This obviously does not prevent using the phone but it is better to know before buying it.[b]

Encoutered bugs

Not yet available / tested[b][b]

Accessories Redmi 10A

To better enjoy your experience with your smartphone, I offer links to all kinds of accessories that you might find useful

Protective cover / case redmi 10a
Screen protection film redmi 10a
Memory card redmi 10a
USB Cable / Charger redmi 10a
Headphones redmi 10a
Bike rack redmi 10a

Compare Redmi 10A with the others

I assigned a score of 1 to 10 for each test that determines the strengths and weaknesses of a product. I am using 0 for criteria that have not (yet) been tested. A score of 1 to 3 indicates poor performance (and yes, it does), a score of 4 to 6 indicates average performance, a score of 7 to 8 indicates good performance, and a score of 9 and 10 indicates exceptional performance. .
The score is calculated based on my measurements and when there are no measurements, it is a subjective opinion based on my experience.

The scores are not static, they change over time because the performance of new products changes and this must be taken into account.

Redmi 10A
Finish quality7.006.00
Operating system7.008.00
Overall score1489
Global ranking
1. Black Shark 4 Pro 114 / 140
2. Realme Gt 112.5 / 140
3. Oneplus Nord 2t 111.5 / 140
4. Poco F2 Pro 111.5 / 140
5. Samsung Galaxy S20 111 / 140
6. Poco F4 Gt 110.5 / 140
7. Google Pixel 5 109.6 / 140
8. Poco F3 108.5 / 140
9. Poco X4 Gt 108 / 140
10. Poco X3 Pro 107.5 / 140
11. Samsung Galaxy S10+ 107 / 140
12. Xiaomi 11t 107 / 140
13. Redmi Note 11 Pro Plus 5g 106.5 / 140
14. Xiaomi Mi 9t Pro 106 / 140
15. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro 105.5 / 140
16. Samsung Galaxy A52 104 / 140
17. Xiaomi Mi 11 Lite 104 / 140
18. Tcl 10 Pro 104 / 140
19. Redmi Note 11 Pro 103 / 140
20. Poco X4 Pro 102.5 / 140
21. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10s 102 / 140
22. Poco M4 Pro 4g 102 / 140
23. Poco M4 Pro 101.5 / 140
24. Redmi Note 11 101 / 140
25. Poco X3 101 / 140
26. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g 101 / 140
27. Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite 101 / 140
28. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 101 / 140
29. Redmi Note 9t 100.5 / 140
30. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro 100 / 140
31. Poco F4 98 / 130
32. Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite 98 / 140
33. Poco M3 Pro 98 / 140
34. Doogee S96 Pro 98 / 140
35. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s 98 / 140
36. Redmi 10 97.5 / 140
37. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 97 / 140
38. F150 R2022 95 / 140
39. Umidigi Bison Pro 95 / 140
40. Poco M3 94.5 / 140
41. Xiaomi Redmi Note 7 94 / 140
42. Realme 6 93 / 140
43. Umidigi Bison 92 / 140
44. Tcl 30 Se 92 / 140
45. Umidigi A9 Pro 92 / 140
46. Oukitel C21 89.5 / 140
47. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 89 / 140
48. Xiaomi Mi A3 89 / 140
49. Motorola G8 Power 89 / 140
50. Nokia 5.3 89 / 140
51. Oneplus Nord N100 88.5 / 140
52. Honor 9x 88 / 140
53. Meizu Note 9 86 / 140
54. Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite 86 / 140
55. Xiaomi Redmi Note 5 85 / 140
56. Umidigi S3 Pro 83 / 140
57. Samsung Galaxy A21s 82 / 140
58. Umidigi F2 82 / 140
59. Redmi 9a 81 / 140
60. Oukitel Wp18 81 / 140
61. Redmi 9c 80 / 140
62. Ulefone Armor 7e 80 / 140
63. Doogee S58 Pro 78.5 / 140
64. Honor 8x 78 / 140
65. Umidigi F1 77 / 140
66. Huawei Y6 2019 74 / 140
67. Xiaomi Mi 10t Pro 57 / 70
68. Redmi 10a 14 / 20
69. Elephone U5 0 / 0

Test / Review conclusion

[b]Not yet available / tested[b][b]Strengths[b]Not yet available / tested[b][b][b]Weaknesses[b]Not yet available / tested[b][b][b]Alternatives to this product[b][b]Not yet available / tested[b][b]

laurent willen Laurent Willen
Instead of watching nonsense on TV or YouTube, I spend my time in the evenings testing products and sharing my passion for technology, travel and photography.

I run this site in my own name and completely independently, no one pays me to do so.

I have more than 20 years of experience in the digital world, I have managed and developed many high traffic websites in companies in Belgium such as Mobistar, Microsoft, Immoweb, BrusselsAirlines, Proximus, Orange,...

Comments

Join the discussion / Ask your questions

Your comment will be published after validation. I respond to over 1500 comments a year in my spare time, so I can't always respond very quickly. Your email address will not be publicly visible and it will not be used for commercial purposes.









Be notified by email when a response is published