Before leaving...

Thanks for your visite. If you like my work, you can support me with the following possibilities:
Subscribe to my YouTube channel
I post full test videos every month. By subscribing you will be notified of each new video, but the number of YouTube subscribers is important to obtain products to test.

Subscribe

Subscribe to my page on Facebook
I regularly post updates on Facebook, I also organize contests to win prizes. Here too, the number of fans is important to obtain material.

Subscribe

Use my links
I don't display ads on my site because I don't like it. My only source is from purchases you make from my links. I earn a meager commission on every purchase (about 2% on average), it costs you nothing and keeps me going. Here are some links to buy your products:

Amazon.com == Aliexpress == Banggood

x
On this page:
Price Samsung Galaxy Tab A8
Unpacking
First configuration
Finish
Specifications
CPU / GPU Performance
Benchmark Antutu/3DMark
Wifi performance
GPS performance
Battery range
Load test
Photo camera test
Photo quality
Video quality
Audio quality
Screen quality
Operating system
Test / Review conclusion
Questions answers

Notification new articles: YouTube Facebook

Samsung Galaxy Tab A8 : test / review

Samsung Galaxy Tab A8 : test / review
Category: Tablets

I had bought a Samsung Galaxy Tab A7 tablet a few years ago for someone around me and unfortunately this tablet stopped working in 2022. So I started looking for a new tablet, keeping in mind that this tablet was not for me and I had a budget of around 200€. I was well aware of not being able to apply my own selection criteria to this tablet because my first reaction was to go see the Chinese side but as this tablet was a choice for the long term, I fell back on a product sold in Europe with a 2 year warranty. I finally bought the Samsung Galaxy Tab A8 to meet criteria that were not mine, but I'm sure my experience will be of interest to a wide audience. [b][b] I haven't tested other Samsung tablets because I have always found that the quality/price ratio was not up to par with the Chinese tablets I tested. That's not to say these Samsung tablets aren't good tablets, it just means they're too expensive. So I'm going to see if my purely subjective perception is still valid. [b][b][b][b][b]linkManufacturer web site: https://www.samsung.com[b]linkSite where I have bought the Samsung Galaxy Tab A8: https://www.samsung.com/be_fr/tablets/galaxy-tab-a/galaxy-tab-a8-wifi-dark-gray-32gb-sm-x200nzaaeub/[b]

Structure of my test

I test tablets according to a pre-set structure (see below) to provide you with as much information as possible. Unfortunately, this takes a lot of time. Some tests like the network performance tests take several days and for the photo tests I sometimes have to wait for good weather to take pictures in good conditions. I am therefore obliged to publish the tests step by step, so I invite you to come back if the test is not complete at the time of your visit.

Price Samsung Galaxy Tab A8

The list below shows the prices for the Samsung Galaxy Tab A8 from more than 50 sites around the world. If you are not satisfied with any price, you can subscribe to a price alert to be the first to be notified when the price drops.[b]
Samsung Galaxy Tab A8 SM-X200 32GB, Wi-Fi, 10.5 inch tablet - Pink Gold...
2022-08-18 14:04
128 EUR
Samsung Galaxy Tab A 16GB 8-Inch Tablet - Smoky Titanium (Renewed)...
2022-08-19 00:55
131 EUR
Samsung Galaxy Tab A 8.0" (2019, WiFi Only) 32GB, 5100mAh Battery, Dual Speaker, SM-T290, Internatio...
2022-08-19 00:31
135 EUR
Samsung Galaxy Tab A 8.0" (2019, WiFi Only) 32GB, 5100mAh Battery, Dual Speaker, SM-T290, Internatio...
2022-08-19 00:31
140 EUR
Samsung Galaxy Tab A 8.0" (2019, WiFi + Cellular) 32GB, 5100mAh Battery, 4G LTE Tablet & Phone (Make...
2022-08-19 00:31
142 EUR
Samsung Galaxy Tab A8 64GB, Wi-Fi + 5G Ohne Simlock 10,5 Zoll - Silber...
2022-08-18 14:16
150 EUR
[b]
helpThe above links are affiliate links from companies such as Amazon, Gearbest, Aliexpress,... If you appreciate my work, I would be grateful if you could purchase these products through these links. It costs you absolutely nothing but I get a small commission that allows me to buy the material I test. Thank you very much!

Timeline

July 12, 2022: order of the Samsung Galaxy Tab A8 on the official website of Samsung Belgium [b] July 15, 2022: receipt of the tablet, the test can therefore begin [b][b]

Why this tablet?

As I wrote in the introduction to this test, I did not buy this tablet with my usual criteria, I had no intention of testing a Samsung tablet but since I had to find a tablet for someone else, I thought maybe I could take the opportunity to test the tablet and give my opinion. [b][b] I don't want to give the impression of having a negative perception of the Samsung brand, this is not the case but when I buy a product (to test it or not) , the price plays a part and so I end up testing alternatives to big brands like Samsung. Sometimes it goes well, sometimes not, but given Samsung's price positioning and the lack of a differentiating factor, I don't often buy a product from this brand. [b][b][b]

Unpacking

The box of the Samsung Galaxy Tab A8 is quite compact and contains the bare minimum. The tablet is carefully packaged in a kind of textile-like envelope, the box also contains a manual, a USB C charging cable and a charger. If the indication on the charger is correct, this charger is a 7.8W charger, so the tablet may be very slow to charge. [b]

First configuration

The initial configuration of the tablet basically follows the Android configuration of other tablets. However, I noticed a few differences, one of which irritated me a little. From the start I found myself on a screen called "Knox Deployment" which aims to associate the tablet with a corporate network. I never asked to join my tablet to a corporate network and couldn't easily get rid of this screen because there was no option to skip it. It is by making several round trips that this screen ended up disappearing. For a consumer product, I don't understand why Samsung passes the configuration through this screen because the average customer won't understand anything. [b][b] The other difference is of course the screens for creating a Samsung account, all the major brands go through this to hold your data. It's up to you to see if this kind of thing has any use for you. [b]

Finish

Samsung is a premium brand and tries to maintain that status for all of their products, even entry-level ones. This tablet is clearly an entry-level product from Samsung but the level of finish is good and if I disregard my other tests, I think the first impression of this kind of product must be good. [b][b] The back of the tablet is made of a matte and perfectly smooth plastic (not textured) where you will quickly get fingerprints but this type of surface is very easy to clean. [b][b]
This tablet has a screen of 10.5 inches or I should rather say that it has a surface of 10.5 inches because large borders reduce the size of the screen. This type of border is quite common in this price range, it's the same on the Chinese tablets that I tested. You have to go a little higher in the range to achieve greater immersion. The tablet is designed to be used in landscape mode, the selfie sensor is on the right edge when the tablet is in a vertical position. [b][b]
The only photo sensor on the back sticks out of the tablet quite strongly, so it will never be flat but with a protective cover you can compensate for the difference in height and have a perfectly flat back.
The volume buttons are on the right edge, the ignition button is above them.
The tablet is equipped with 4 output grilles for the sound but I think that two of them are decorative. I will test the sound later in this article.
The tablet can accommodate a memory card because the basic 32 or 64Gb are clearly not enough if you keep the tablet for a few years. You will quickly reach the storage limit with a few large applications and your photos/videos. [b][b] The Samsung Galaxy Tab A8 tablet has a good level of finish in this price range, I can't fault it much but if I compare it with other (Chinese) tablets in the same price range, I think the Chinese have caught up well. Some tablets even offer a higher level of finish, I'm thinking in particular of the TCL Tab Max, which has dropped plastic in favor of a metallic material.[b]

Specifications

[b]The information below comes from the Device Info HW application. The application provides detailed technical information about the tested phone. I bought the 64Gb version of the Samsung Galaxy Tab A8, you will find all the technical characteristics in the following screens. I didn't notice anything out of the ordinary, I'll come back to some points like the battery or the CPU in another paragraph. [b]

CPU / GPU Performance

[b][b]The Samsung Galaxy Tab A8 tablet uses a Unisoc UMS512 CPU, I have never tested this CPU in another device (tablet or phone) but it is an entry level CPU. It therefore does not deliver extraordinary performance but it should suffice for basic daily use (surfing the internet, using social networks, playing a few simple games, etc.). [b][b] For the graphics part, the tablet is equipped with a Mali G52 that I have already been able to test in several phones such as the Redmi Note 9, Honor 9x, Umidigi Bison Pro and Redmi 10 These are all entry-level phones and so my point about the CPU also applies to the GPU. This tablet does not have a lot of computing power but will be suitable for simple use of the tablet without any problem. [b][b][b]

Benchmark Antutu/3DMark

I obtained a score of 226,133 points with Antutu, this score confirms what I wrote in the previous paragraph on the CPU/GPU. It is therefore an entry-level performance but which is superior to Chinese tablets in the same price range (among those that I tested of course). I am therefore surprised to see that the price/performance ratio leans in favor of this Samsung tablet, I thought that the Chinese tablets were going to do better but this is not the case. [b]
[b][b]Gaming[b]To test the performance in game, I download the mobile PUBG game and evaluate the in-game experience, graphics level and depth of vision. This game is quite demanding and should help you evaluating the performance of a phone. The Samsung Galaxy Tab A8 is not designed to play games like PUBG Mobile but that shouldn't stop you from being able to play it as you can see in this video. The level of graphics is quite low, the textures are quite basic and load slowly but the game is perfectly playable. The responsiveness of the screen is not always there and fast movements also cause a little jerkiness but nothing abnormal for a tablet of this type.[b]

Wifi performance

To test a phone's ability to receive the network properly, I take measurements near my router and then remotely (and always at the same place). This gives me an average in dBm where a value of -90 dBm indicates poorer performance than a value at -30 dBm.[b]
[b]Wifi signal[b]I got an average signal of -19 dBm near the router and -75 dBm at a distance. The signal near the router is good (above average), but from a distance the tablet offers fairly average performance. The degradation in signal quality is therefore greater than average if you move away from your wifi signal source.[b][b][b][b]Download/Upload speed[b]To test the speed in Wifi, I connect to my router in 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz (if available) and use the Ookla application to measure the speed.[b][b]

GPS performance

[b]To test the quality of the GPS signal I use the Offline Maps application and I make the same train trip in pedestrian mode. Why? In pedestrian mode, the GPS does not artificially correct the signal to stick to the road, it has no markings, so you can see the actual position. I then use an application to measure the accuracy of the signal. This tablet is equipped with a GPS chip, this is not always the case in this price range but unfortunately the GPS is a big weak point. The initial fix is quite long and then after a waiting period, the accuracy settled at 1m. I was quite positively surprised but my surprise did not last because the accuracy then went back up to 15m. At first I thought it was an app issue but then compared my actual location on a map with the advertised location to find that the discrepancy was really significant. With an accuracy level of 15m, the GPS on this tablet is of little use.[b][b][b]

Battery range

It took me just over 200 minutes to charge the battery from 0 to 100%, that's really very very long. However, I used a UGREEN 100W charger but the tablet does not seem to be compatible with fast charging. It takes about 30 minutes to charge 20%, and the charging speed drops sharply after 80% because it takes about 70 minutes to charge the last 20 percent. [b][b]
With the screen on at 100% I got a battery life of 534 min with the energy saving mode which started by itself towards the end. With the screen on at 50% I get 765 minutes. While these results aren't bad, the battery life isn't great either. In normal use, the autonomy should be between one and two days. [b][b]

Load test

To test the energy efficiency of a tablet I push all its components to the limit for several minutes, first sequentially and then pushing all the way in at the same time. I observe the real computing power, the ability to keep the tablet at a good temperature, the battery consumption. This kind of test also allows you to see if the tablet is able to exploit all its power when everything is running at the same time because even if the CPU and the GPU are powerful, when they work together they may not give 100% of their performance. [b][b] I measured an average consumption of 6.21W when the CPU is at maximum, that's a lot for a low performance processor like this, the power per watt ratio is not not very good. The GPU is a little less greedy with 2.37W but this level of consumption is quite high compared to the power of the tablet. On the other hand, the temperature is well controlled because the battery did not rise above 33°C for the duration of the test. [b][b] This tablet is therefore not very efficient in energy consumption, which also explains why the battery life is just average.[b]

Photo camera test

To test the quality of photos, I do a technical test (resolution, sharpness, chromatic aberration,...) in studio (identical conditions) to evaluate the technical part objectively. From the second half of 2020, I built my own laboratory to take completely objective technical measurements. I then take pictures in real conditions to see how the camera performs. I then evaluate these photos according to my criteria but I publish the photos so that you can evaluate the result according to your criteria.[b]

Photo quality

Photo test / studio[b]Entry-level tablets generally don't produce good photos, fortunately there are a few exceptions. The Samsung Galaxy Tab A8 is a little above the average of what I have tested in this price range. The studio photos are quite bright whereas I usually get underexposed photos, the sharpness in the center is correct but degrades at the periphery, the color rendering is slightly too cold but it is not dramatic. I tried to improve the rendering with the PRO mode but the settings are not numerous enough. I also see the presence of noise everywhere on the photo. [b][b] Photo quality is not an essential purchase criterion for a tablet, you should above all see this kind of product as a troubleshooting product for taking photos and for this kind of use, the Samsung tablet will respond correctly to this type of expectation. [b][b]Photo test / sunny[b]Not yet available / tested[b][b][b]

Video quality

Stabilisation[b]Not yet available / tested[b][b]Video normale conditionsNot yet available / tested[b][b]

Audio quality

External audio quality Entry-level tablets often sound quite unpleasant with overly high-pitched sounds and severe distortion. This is not the case for this tablet, the sound produced by the external speakers is pleasant and quite comparable to a mid-range tablet. The sound is also more powerful than average with a good distribution on each side of the tablet. [b][b] Audio quality with headphones
The Galaxy Tab A8 is able to faithfully reproduce most frequencies, it is very close to the measurement reference on the low frequencies and moves away a little from the reference for the high frequencies. I think this tablet uses the same audio chipset as the Samsung Galaxy A52 because my test results are almost identical between these two devices and that's a good thing because the smartphone produces good quality sound. [b][b] Samsung keeps a head start for sound quality over its Chinese competitors, this is the case for smartphones but also for tablets.[b]

Screen quality

To test the screen, I use a colorimetric probe that measures the color accuracy of a screen, as well as other parameters to see if a screen is able to correctly reproduce an image. I also test the brightness level to determine if the screen will be able to display an image in full sunlight.[b]Colorimetry[b]
Samsung is a screen producer and usually their phones or tablets come with good screens. I'm a little mixed with the results of my test on this screen. It's an entry-level product so I shouldn't expect wonders, but in the entry-level smartphone, there are already very good amoled screens. This tablet has an IPS screen, so the contrasts are not extraordinary, but neither is the colorimetry because I get a dE of 6.29 with a significant deviation on red and white. I obtained a color temperature of 7675K on the white which is much too cold, it gives a bluish tint to the white. I did not find any possibility of adjusting the tablet to reduce the impact of this colorimetric difference. [b][b] A side note...the screen is not protected by a plastic film like most tablets! You will therefore have to find a solution yourself to protect your screen.[b][b]Top 10 - ranking of the best screens by colorimetry
1. Poco X4 Gt dE = 0.6
2. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g dE = 0.73
3. Xiaomi Mi 10t Pro dE = 0.83
4. Redmi Note 11 dE = 0.91
5. Google Pixel 5 dE = 1.11
6. Realme Gt dE = 1.17
7. Xiaomi Mi 11 Lite dE = 1.19
8. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 dE = 1.2
9. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 dE = 1.23
10. Poco M4 Pro 4g dE = 1.31

Number of smartphones in the ranking:66
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:0/66

Note: the colorimetric difference is measured in dE. After three, the human eye will perceive a colorimetric difference, so the dE should be the lowest. The tests were all carried out with a colorimetric probe.
[b]Brightness / Contrast[b]I measured a brightness of just over 330 cd/m² with my sensor, which is clearly not enough for use outdoors and in direct sunlight. You will therefore mainly have to use this tablet indoors and without too much light, otherwise it will affect the readability of the screen. [b][b] I measured a contrast ratio of 1387:1, this is a normal result for a screen of this type, however I see quite significant differences on the gray scale with a gamma at 1.98 that I couldn't recover by playing with the tablet settings. [b][b] The screen is therefore not the strength of this tablet and that's a shame because it's one of the most important elements for this kind of product. If you don't have a point of comparison with other tablets, you may not see the difference but if you come from a tablet with a good screen, you will find that this screen is quite cold in terms of colors .[b]

Operating system

[b]Not yet available / tested[b][b]

Encoutered bugs

Not yet available / tested[b][b]

Test / Review conclusion

[b]Not yet available / tested[b][b]Strengths[b]Not yet available / tested[b][b][b]Weaknesses[b]Not yet available / tested[b][b][b]

laurent willen Laurent Willen
Instead of watching nonsense on TV or YouTube, I spend my time in the evenings testing products and sharing my passion for technology, travel and photography.

I run this site in my own name and completely independently, no one pays me to do so.

I have more than 20 years of experience in the digital world, I have managed and developed many high traffic websites in companies in Belgium such as Mobistar, Microsoft, Immoweb, BrusselsAirlines, Proximus, Orange,...

Comments

Join the discussion / Ask your questions

Your comment will be published after validation. I respond to over 1500 comments a year in my spare time, so I can't always respond very quickly. Your email address will not be publicly visible and it will not be used for commercial purposes.









Be notified by email when a response is published