On this page:
Price Umidigi A9 Pro
Unpacking
First configuration
Finish
Specifications
CPU / GPU Performance
Benchmark Antutu/3DMark
Network performance
Wifi performance
GPS performance
Battery range
Photo camera test
Hardware
Photoquality
Video quality
Audio quality
Screen quality
Biometry
Operating system
Test / Review conclusion
Questions answers

Best new price:
107.062 EUR
See the offer | eBay US

35 other prices available in other stores.

Umidigi A9 Pro test / review

Umidigi A9 Pro test / review

Category: Tests / Reviews

Umidigi is a brand that is still unknown to the general public in Europe, but it is very active and offers many different models of phones, most of the time with features to stand out such as a larger battery, more memory, good frequency coverage, ... I find that Umidigi has always been a generous brand in this respect. The quality has unfortunately not always been there but I was right to persevere because the last Umidigi I tested got a good score.[b][b]This new Umidigi A9 Pro comes to position itself as a direct competitor of the Redmi Note 9 with a more aggressive price (a little more than 100€ at launch) and some differentiating elements like a much higher level of finish and a Sony camera. This Umidigi could therefore succeed where the Redmi has failed and become a credible alternative to Xiaomi which has long remained without credible competition in this price segment.[b][b][b][b][b]linkManufacturer web site: https://www.umidigi.com[b]linkSite where I have bought the Umidigi A9 Pro: https://s.click.aliexpress.com/e/_9H6t3f[b]

Structure of my tests

I test the phones according to a pre-established structure (see below) to provide you with as much information as possible. Unfortunately, this takes a long time. Some tests like network performance tests take several days and for photo tests I sometimes have to wait until the weather is suitable to take pictures in good conditions. I am therefore obliged to publish the tests step by step, so I invite you to come back if the test is not complete at the time of your visit.[b]
How are my tests different from others on the web?

- I usually buy the devices with my own money, so price is just as important as you are!
- I keep the devices for at least a few weeks (sometimes more) to see what they are worth in real conditions.
- I answer (when possible) your questions to help you decide before you buy
- no one pays me to do these reviews, so I'm completely neutral and independent...
- My pages are not filled with ads



Xiaomi Redmi Note 9T: test / review
Xiaomi Mi Watch Lite : test / review
Redmi 9C test / review
Umidigi A9 Pro test / review
Xiaomi Mi 10T Pro : test / review
Poco M3 : test / review
Umidigi Bison: test / review
Redmi 9A test / review
Poco X3 test / review
Oukitel C21 : test / review

Price Umidigi A9 Pro

The list below shows the prices for the Umidigi A9 Pro from more than 50 sites around the world. If you are not satisfied with any price, you can subscribe to a price alert to be the first to be notified when the price drops.[b]
UMIDIGI A9 Pro Smartphone Factory Unlocked 6.3'' 6GB+128GB Quad Camera Phones...
2021-01-21 21:04
130 USD
UMIDIGI A9 Pro Smartphone 4GB+64GB/ 6GB+128GB Global Unlocked 6.3'' ATT T-mobile...
2021-01-21 21:16
130 EUR
UMIDIGI A9 Pro 6GB+128GB 4GB+64GB 6.3Zoll Smartphone handy ohne vertrag Dual SIM...
2021-01-21 21:12
114 EUR
Smartphone UMIDIGI A9 Pro Pas Cher 4 + 64 Go Full HD + 6,3 Pouce Quatre Caméras Sony 48MP Arrière ...
2021-01-21 16:32
114 EUR
Smartphone UMIDIGI A9 Pro Pas Cher 4 + 64 Go Full HD + 6,3 Pouce Quatre Caméras Sony 48MP Arrière ...
2021-01-21 16:32
114 EUR
UMIDIGI A9 Pro Smartphone 4GB+64GB / 6GB+128GB Global Unlocked 6.3'' Android 10...
2021-01-21 07:04
142 USD
[b]
helpThe above links are affiliate links from companies such as Amazon, Gearbest, Aliexpress,... If you appreciate my work, I would be grateful if you could purchase these products through these links. It costs you absolutely nothing but I get a small commission that allows me to buy the material I test. Thank you very much!

Timeline

11/11/2020 I bought the Umidigi A9 Pro for 96€ on Aliexpress[b]29/12/2020 after more than a month of waiting, I finally received the Umidigi A9 Pro, the test can finally start.[b][b]

Why this phone?

This Umidigi A9 Pro is the fifth Umidigi I've tested and I chose it because on paper it represents a credible alternative to Redmi Note 9. I could probably test more famous or more expensive phones but I always try to find some pearls for an audience that doesn't want to invest a fortune to buy a phone.[b][b]I was able to get the Umidigi A9 Pro for less than 100€ when it was launched, this is a very aggressive price positioning and yet I don't see any sacrifices in terms of hardware or features. So Umidigi seems to have found the right ingredients to make an interesting phone for an affordable price. This territory was until now reserved for Xiaomi.[b][b]I also like Umidigi's community approach where interaction is possible with the manufacturer, few manufacturers have taken up this kind of challenge.[b][b]

Unpacking

[b][b]The box of the Umidigi A9 Pro is almost anonymous, it is all white with an Umidigi logo. It contains the phone as well as a charger, a usb cable, a manual, a transparent soft cover, a needle for the sim drawer and a manual.[b][b]The contents of the box are nothing unusual but for this price, I didn't expect anything else anyway.[b][b][b][b]
Length : 158.7
Width : 74.9
Thickness : 8.6
Weight : 213
Jack output : Yes
USB Type : Type C

First configuration

The Umidigi A9 Pro runs on a streamlined version of Android, the configuration procedure contains nothing more than what is needed to start the phone. So Umidigi will not try to force you to sign up for a cloud or any other service.[b]

Finish

[b][b]Phones sold at around €100 are usually made from plastic materials which are not always of good quality. I was surprised by the Umidigi A9 Pro because its level of finish is far superior to anything in this price range. The phone uses glass and metal and that really makes it look good.[b][b]The phone has been designed in a very classic configuration with the volume and on/off buttons on the right, the sim drawer on the left, a jack connector underneath with a USB type C port and a grille for a speaker.[b][b]The back is made of glass and has a smooth surface which is only interrupted by the photo sensor which is quite visible from the back of the phone. This type of finish reminds me of the Umidigi S3 Pro which had an excellent level of finish but this phone cost more than 250€. [b][b]The phone is delivered with a transparent soft cover that highlights the phone quite well and helps to reduce the difference in level between the back and the photo sensor.[b][b]The level of finish is much better than Redmi Note 9 and is quite comparable to a mid-range phone. [b][b]The volume buttons are located a little lower than on most phones, so I often made the mistake of turning the volume up instead of down. The volume buttons are separated by a space, so it's hard to tell them apart.[b][b][b][b]

Specifications

[b]The information below comes from the Device Info HW application. The application provides detailed technical information about the tested phone.I bought the 4Gb / 64 Gb version, the detailed specifications of the Umidigi A9 Pro are available in the following screenshots:[b][b][b][b]

CPU / GPU Performance

CPU : MediaTek Helio P60
GPU : ARM Mali-G72 MP3 700MHz
Memory (RAM) : 4 - 6Gb
Storage : 64 Gb - 128 Gb

Benchmark Antutu/3DMark

The Umidigi A9 Pro is an entry-level phone, so don't expect high performance. I scored 145,000 points with Antutu. This score places the Umidigi A9 Pro below Redmi Note 9. This is not a problem in itself as the difference is not huge and the Umidigi is sold at a lower price, so the price/performance ratio is pretty good.[b][b]The Umidigi A9 Pro shows some slowdowns when switching screens or starting applications but again this is perfectly predictable and quite normal in this price range. [b][b][b][b]
Antutu score : 145416
Antutu CPU : 53009
Antutu GPU : 25248
Antutu UX : 30711
Antutu Mem : 36448
3D Mark Open GL : 1030
[b]Top 10 - performance ranking based on Antutu
1. Oppo Find X2 Pro - 605184
2. Oneplus 8t - 595000
3. Xiaomi Mi 10t Pro - 581650
4. Oneplus 8 Pro - 579417
5. Xiaomi Mi 10 - 579114
6. Poco F2 Pro - 569559
7. Samsung Galaxy S20 Fe - 565000
8. Samsung Galaxy S20 - 503905
9. Huawei P40 Pro - 466765
10. Huawei P40 - 466765

Number of smartphones in the ranking:115
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:66/115

Note: this ranking only contains the phones I tested as well as a few others that I added for reference.
[b]Gaming[b]To test the performance in game, I download the mobile PUBG game and evaluate the in-game experience, graphics level and depth of vision. This game is quite demanding and should help you evaluating the performance of a phone.[b][b]The Umidigi A9 Pro is not a gaming-oriented phone, but it offers sufficient performance to provide an acceptable gaming experience for most games. 3D games will need to be set to a lower graphics level but the experience is not bad. PUBG Mobile works fine on the Umidigi A9 Pro but I've encountered some slowdowns in the fast movements and the loading of textures is quite visible but for this price, I find this Umidigi does very well.[b][b][b]

Network performance

Umidigi often produces phones compatible with a large number of 4G frequencies and this is again the case with the A9 Pro. The Umidigi A9 Pro is compatible with 21 4G frequencies.[b][b]
3G frequencies : B1 (2100), B2 (1900), B3 (1800), B4 (1700/2100 AWS 1), B5 (850), B7 (2600), B8 (900), B12 (700), B13 (700), B17 (700), B18 (800), B19 (800), B20 (800), B26 (850), B28 (700), B34 (TDD 2100), B38 (TDD 2600), B39 (TDD 1900), B40 (TDD 2300), B41 (TDD 2500), B66 (1700/2100)
Bluetooth : Bluetooth 4.2
Number measurements : 981
Average signal (reference) : -90.40
Average signal (telephone) : -94.01
Average deviation reference/telephone : -3.61
Min/Max signal (reference) : -88 / -95
Min/Max signal (phone) : -93 / -95
Choose your country to check if your phone is compatible:


The frequencies displayed below will allow you to see if this phone is compatible with your operator or if you will be able to use it in the country where you are going on vacation.


Signal 4G (before december 2020)[b]The ability to pick up the network correctly is an essential element for a phone but it is only very rarely measured. To measure a phone's ability to pick up the network, I perform a large number of measurements on the same cells to be able to compare phones under similar conditions. The signal is measured in dBm, a value of -90dBm indicates a worse signal than -70dBm. These measurements are therefore taken under real conditions and not in a laboratory, they are not scientific but give a good indication of performance. [b][b]Network signal sensitivity rating
Phone tested:Average signal (dBm)Number of measurements:
Xiaomi Mi 9t Pro-881600
Xiaomi Redmi Note 5-91.305600
Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite-93788
Samsung Galaxy A70-94.5111975
Nokia 5.3-94.98531
Realme 6-95.142301
Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro-95.9221599
Xiaomi Mi A3-95.951000
Huawei Y6 2019-95.951199
Doogee S58 Pro-96.22856
Redmi 9a-96.481000
Meizu Note 9-96.68937
Motorola G8 Power-96.881032
Xiaomi Redmi Note 7-97.011430
Redmi 9c-97.041000
Umidigi S3 Pro-97.131200
Xiaomi Redmi Note 8-97.34879
Samsung Galaxy A21s-97.781000
Umidigi F1-97.82298
Ulefone Armor 7e-98.71000
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite-991000
Honor 9x-99.14899
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s-99.41860
Poco F2 Pro-99.81247
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9-100.791785
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g-100.881198
Poco X3-101.19821
Umidigi F2-101.47712
[b][b]Signal 4G (from December 2020)[b]I decided to change the methodology for measuring the network because I noticed that the configuration of the mobile network changes over time. This makes it more difficult to compare phones because the conditions are no longer exactly the same.[b][b]To overcome this problem, I set up a device that captures 24 hours a day about ten parameters from the mobile network (ex: cell id, rssi, rsrq, snr, frequency,...). I then place the phone next to the device for 24 to 48 hours taking the same measurements so that I can compare them. [b][b] Overview of the phones tested with this methodology[b][b]
Phone tested:MeasurementsAvg signal (reference)Avg signal (phone)Min/Max (reference)Min/Max (phone)
Samsung Galaxy S10+457-93.06-97.39-89 / -98-97 / -99
Xiaomi Mi 9t Pro669-93.69-95.84-90 / -95-92 / -98
Poco F2 Pro1438-91.02-94.99-89 / -94-94 / -96
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g1645-90.77-95.02- 88 / -98-95 / -100
Poco X3821-94.89-103.19-91 / -97.7-101 / -104
Umidigi Bison2343-92.71-96.46-90 / -99-94 / -102
Oukitel C211101-92.04-94.99-90 / -97-92 / -95
Poco M31116-92.09-91.74-88 / -98-90 / -99
Xiaomi Mi 10t Pro1071-90.61-94.03-88 / -94-94 / -96
Umidigi A9 Pro981-90.40-94.01-88 / -95-93 / -95
[b][b]I have tested other Umidigi models before this one and so far only the Umidigi Bison has scored well in the network sensitivity test while all other models were at the bottom of the ranking. The Umidigi A9 Pro is fortunately close to the performance of the Umidigi Bison.[b][b]Out of 981 measurements I obtained an average signal of -94 dBm while with my test device I obtained an average signal of -90.4 dBm. The difference is not very important, it is in the middle. What is interesting, however, is that the Umidigi manages to manage the signal fluctuations better because I measured a difference of barely 2 dBm between the minimum and the maximum, whereas my test device generated a difference of 7 dBm.[b][b]On the following graph, the signal from the Umidigi produces almost a perfect roundness which shows the stability of the phone where the test device is subject to many fluctuations.[b][b]
[b][b][b][b]Download/Upload speed[b]To test the download speed, I have identified some 4G cells offering good performance where I test all my devices several times to see what download and upload speed they can achieve.[b]Top 10 - speed ranking in download
1. Samsung Galaxy S20 D:351Mbps U: 20Mbps
2. Poco X3 D:232Mbps U: 55Mbps
3. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g D:223Mbps U: 52Mbps
4. Poco F2 Pro D:207Mbps U: 53Mbps
5. Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite D:153Mbps U: 68Mbps
6. Xiaomi Mi A3 D:150Mbps U: 60Mbps
7. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s D:150Mbps U: 60Mbps
8. Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite D:149Mbps U: 60Mbps
9. Samsung Galaxy A21s D:147Mbps U: 51Mbps
10. Huawei Y6 2019 D:145Mbps U: 61Mbps

Number of smartphones in the ranking:30
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:0/30

Note: the theoretical maximum speed of a telephone is often limited by the configuration of the mobile network and the congestion of the network at the time of the measurement. So maybe you could get a higher speed on another network
[b][b]

Wifi performance

To test a phone's ability to receive the network properly, I take measurements near my router and then remotely (and always at the same place). This gives me an average in dBm where a value of -90 dBm indicates poorer performance than a value at -30 dBm.[b]
Wifi frequencies : 802.11a , 802.11b , 802.11g , 802.11n , 802.11n 5GHz , 802.11ac
Download speed : 174
Signal / close : -24
Signal / distant : -67
Wifi signal[b]I measured a -24 dbm signal near the router and a -64 dBm signal at a distance. Although the result is not bad, the Umidigi is not in the best phones for wifi sensitivity.[b][b][b]Top 10 - wifi sensitivity ranking
1. Poco F2 Pro -11dBm
2. Samsung Galaxy A21s -13dBm
3. Poco X3 -17dBm
4. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s -18dBm
5. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro -19dBm
6. Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite -19dBm
7. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g -19dBm
8. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 -19dBm
9. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 -19dBm
10. Redmi 9a -19dBm

Number of smartphones in the ranking:33
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:14/33

[b]Download/Upload speed[b]To test the speed in Wifi, I connect to my router in 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz (if available) and use the Ookla application to measure the speed.[b]Top 10 - wifi download speed ranking
1. Samsung Galaxy S20 351Mbps
2. Poco F2 Pro 341Mbps
3. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro 319Mbps
4. Umidigi Bison 306Mbps
5. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g 300Mbps
6. Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite 260Mbps
7. Poco X3 251Mbps
8. Xiaomi Redmi Note 7 250Mbps
9. Umidigi F1 220Mbps
10. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 211Mbps

Number of smartphones in the ranking:33
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:19/33

Note: I have a 400Mbps line and a modem capable of delivering higher speed, but I can never be sure how much bandwidth is available when doing a test.
[b]

GPS performance

[b]To test the quality of the GPS signal I use the Offline Maps application and I make the same train trip in pedestrian mode. Why? In pedestrian mode, the GPS does not artificially correct the signal to stick to the road, it has no markings, so you can see the actual position. I then use an application to measure the accuracy of the signal. Not yet available / tested[b][b][b]Top 10 - GPS accuracy ranking
1. Oukitel C21 1m
2. Redmi 9a 1m
3. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 1m
4. Redmi 9c 2m
5. Umidigi Bison 2m
6. Samsung Galaxy A21s 4m

Number of smartphones in the ranking:7
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:0/7

Note: An accuracy of 3 meters or less can easily be corrected by a good GPS application. Phone performance also plays a role in how fast your display updates, so good accuracy could be compromised by too slow a display.
[b]

Battery range

Capacity : 4150
W max : 10
Range (100% brightness) : 552.00
Range (50% brightness) : 1562.00
Charging time : 112.00
Discharge speed (100%) : 0.18
Discharge score (100%) : 7.52
Discharge speed (50%) : 0.06
Discharge score (50%) : 2.66
Charging speed : 0.89
Charging score : 37.05
From March 2020, I replaced my subjective battery test with a technical test to better measure the real behaviour of the battery. Now I test the autonomy and charging time under absolutely identical conditions. I perform several measurements, so this test alone takes several days during which I cannot use the phone for anything else.

Battery life - methodology
To test the battery life, I measure the battery consumption every minute in strictly identical conditions to be able to compare phones and also to allow you to evaluate your phone in the same conditions. I rule out any influence of applications that could interfere with the measurement. The autonomy is not linear, the battery sometimes discharges much faster at the end. This is a frustrating phenomenon but with my measurements, you will know if you need to find a charger quickly.

Battery life
The battery of the Umidigi A9 Pro has a capacity of 4150 mAh and has discharged from 100% to 1% in 552.00 minutes with 100% brightness, it has discharged from 100% to 1% in 1562.00 minutes with 50% brightness. I obtain in this way an average discharge speed of 0.18% per minute with 100% luminosity and 0.06% per minute with 50% luminosity, the consumption is therefore 7.52 mA per minute with 100% luminosity and 2.66 with 50% luminosity. To be able to compare the efficiency of the phone and its influence on the battery, you have to compare the 7.52 (or 50%) score with that of other smartphones, the figure should be as low as possible.

Charging time - methodology
To test the charging time, I always use the same charger with the same cable. I measure the charging time minute by minute to see the evolution of the charge as well as the charging speed. The charging speed of a battery is not linear, it is often faster at the beginning and slower at the end. The charger is compatible with fast charging.

Charging time
The battery of the Umidigi A9 Pro has a capacity of 4150 mAh and has been charged from 1% to 100% in 112.00 minutes. This gives me an average charging speed of 0.89% per minute and therefore an increase of 37.05 mA per minute. To compare the performance of the Umidigi A9 Pro compared to other phones, you should use the 37.05 per minute score, this score should be as high as possible.

Important note: the charging speed is not always linear, the graph below gives you an indication of the battery behaviour.

The following table lists the phones tested with the technical battery test, they are ranked in order of efficiency. A higher battery capacity should logically result in a higher battery life but it is not always the case and it does not give any indication of the efficiency of a phone.

SmartphoneCapacity (mAh)Battery life (minutes)Efficiency ScoreBattery life (minutes) / 50%Efficiency Score / 50%Charging time.Score charging
Oukitel C214000497.008.051324.003.02167.0023.95
Honor 9x4000770.005.191333.003.00151.0026.49
Nokia 5.34000549.007.291096.003.65199.0020.10
Samsung Galaxy S204000565.007.081217.003.29136.0029.41
Umidigi A9 Pro4150552.007.521562.002.66112.0037.05
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g4160749.005.551541.002.70163.0025.52
Realme 64300704.006.111104.003.89162.0026.54
Poco F2 Pro47001150.004.091536.003.06180.0026.11
Redmi 9c5000656.007.621915.002.61170.0029.41
Umidigi Bison5000550.009.091471.003.40238.0021.01
Redmi 9a5000694.007.201902.002.63195.0025.64
Motorola G8 Power5000912.005.482792.001.79311.0016.08
Samsung Galaxy A21s5000729.006.861283.003.90166.0030.12
Xiaomi Redmi Note 95020650.007.721808.002.78162.0030.99
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s5020663.007.571876.002.68224.0022.41
Umidigi F25150927.005.561854.002.78299.0017.22
Poco X35160653.007.901654.003.12181.0028.51
Doogee S58 Pro5180845.006.131908.002.71177.0029.27
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite5260827.006.361609.003.27208.0025.29
Ulefone Armor 7e5500768.007.161140.004.82179.0030.73
Poco M36000842.007.131898.003.16217.0027.65

helpHow to read these figures?
The battery capacity is an important element in determining the autonomy of a phone but it is not the only factor. A phone with a large battery may have a shorter battery life if it consumes more power. If I had to take an example from everyday life, I would use the universe of the car. If a car has a large fuel tank, it should be able to drive a longer distance unless its average fuel consumption is higher. The battery efficiency score works the same way, it should be as low as possible and represents the energy consumption of the phone. These differences in efficiency are often related to the brightness of the screen, large bright screens will tend to consume more energy and even if they have a large battery, their range will be shorter.

In summary Umidigi often sells phones with an above average battery capacity, this is not the case for the Umidigi A9 Pro as the capacity is limited to 4150 mAh. I can't consider this a weakness because many phones are marketed with a battery of equivalent capacity, it's just that Umidigi used to use batteries with a higher capacity.[b][b]I charged the battery from 1 to 100% in 112 minutes, this is the fastest phone I have been able to test so far. The charging curve is quite curious as the charging is very fast at the beginning, it fluctuates a bit and then flattens out for a long time towards the end.[b][b]
[b][b]I obtained a battery life of 552 minutes with the screen brightness at 100%, which is an average score, I got about the same score with the Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite. By lowering the brightness to 50%, I obtained a battery life of 1562 minutes, which is also an average score that is quite comparable to other phones of equivalent capacity. Decreasing the brightness by 2 has the effect of multiplying the autonomy by more or less 3. The Umidigi A9 Pro has a maximum brightness above the average and this may explain such a difference, the brightness of the screen is therefore not linear, it is progressive.[b][b]
[b][b]

Photo camera test

To test the quality of photos produced by a phone, I do a technical test (resolution, sharpness, chromatic aberration,...) in studio (identical conditions) to evaluate the technical part objectively. From the second half of 2020, I built my own laboratory to take completely objective technical measurements. I then take pictures in real conditions to see how the camera performs. I then evaluate these photos according to my criteria but I publish the photos so that you can evaluate the result according to your criteria.[b]

Hardware

Selfie / resolution : 24
Resolution : 48
Sensor : Sony Exmor
mm wide angle : 7.03 mm
The Umidigi A9 Pro is equipped with a Sony Exmor sensor but I have no information about the model. Umidigi often uses Sony sensors where many brands use Samsung or Omnivision sensors. These Sony sensors are however more expensive while the prices of Umidigi phones are rather competitive.[b][b]Unfortunately, Umidigi has not yet been able to exploit the potential of these Sony sensors because on most of the previous models I tested, the photo processing was not very good. This was moreover one of Umidigi's biggest weaknesses (along with the network sensitivity), if Umidigi could solve this problem, they could face Xiaomi on equal terms.[b][b]So I'm curious to see if this Umidigi A9 Pro will fill this gap.[b][b]Default app[b]The photo application of the Umidigi A9 Pro is simple and intuitive, giving quick access to the main functions of the camera.[b][b]The main menu consists of:[b]- Beauty[b]- Video[b]- Image[b]- Portrait[b]- Extra (giving access to Night, Panoramic, Pro)[b][b]It is possible to activate AI and HDR but not at the same time.[b][b][b]

Photoquality

Photo test / studio[b]
[b][b]For this first studio test I took photos in normal mode, night mode, Pro mode (photo above), AI mode and HDR mode.[b][b]In normal mode the photo is slightly underexposed but the cleanliness is good, there is a slight grain visible in the blue areas. [b][b]In Pro mode it is possible to compensate the loss of light to obtain a white close to reality, the sharpness is good and the depth of field better than in normal mode. The pro mode is able to deliver good photo quality for a camera of this price.[b][b]With AI mode, the photo processing does not seem very different from the normal mode and with HDR mode there is a loss of sharpness and not really a difference in exposure time. HDR mode is quite slow.[b][b]From a technical point of view, the photo sensor of the Umidigi A9 Pro is capable of producing good photos if one takes the trouble to use the pro mode. The other modes offer good quality for this price with a slight underexposure.[b][b][b][b][b]Photo test / sunny[b]
[b][b]I couldn't test the Umidigi A9 Pro with a nice sun because in winter even when the weather is sunny the light is not very strong. The photos for this test were taken in the middle of the afternoon.[b][b]As for the technical test in the studio, I took pictures of the same subject with different settings. What jumps out is the colouring of the photos, which is too reddish. This is a recurring problem at Umidigi because with the same sensors in other phones I don't have this kind of problem. It is possible to reduce this problem a little bit with the pro mode by using a different white balance.[b][b]I haven't found a magic formula to make the photos succeed every time I try, so you always have to look a little. Sometimes the normal mode produces correct photos, sometimes it is necessary to use the AI or HDR mode. The HDR mode should allow to give back a little brightness to the dark areas but you should not move because the HDR on the Umidigi is very slow and if you move, the sharpness after recomposition of the photos will be less good. The AI mode tends to exaggerate the colours which can sometimes give an unnatural result but to each one his preference.[b][b]This new Umidigi has some of the same problems as the previous models but for less than 100€, these defects are more acceptable than on other models sold for more than 200€ such as the Umidigi S3 Pro. [b][b][b][b][b][b]Photo test / cloudy[b]Not yet available / tested[b][b][b]Test photo / night[b]Not yet available / tested[b][b][b]

Video quality

Stabilisation[b]Not yet available / tested[b][b]Video normale conditionsNot yet available / tested[b][b]Video low light[b]Not yet available / tested[b][b]

Audio quality

To test the quality of the phone's audio output, I connect the device's audio output to a measuring tool, then play sounds on all frequencies and measure the differences between the original sound and the sound produced by the phone. In this way I measure the phone's ability to correctly reproduce all sounds.[b]
Frequency Response[b]This test is intended to test the device's ability to correctly reproduce all frequencies. The white line in the middle of the graph is the ideal situation and the other colors come from tests on different phones. A deviation from the reference line indicates a deviation from the ideal situation. To see good sound at all frequencies, it is therefore necessary to get as close as possible to the reference line. Not yet available / tested[b][b]Dynamic Range[b]This test is designed to test a phone's ability to play sounds at different volume levels. Here too, the phones must be as close as possible to the reference.Not yet available / tested[b][b]Noise Level[b]This test aims to identify if the device under test is able to reproduce sounds without too much noise. A high score indicates a low parasite rate, a lower score indicates a higher presence of parasites.Not yet available / tested[b][b]Concert recording[b]The purpose of this test is to measure the recording quality of the phone when there is a lot of ambient noise. Since I don't have the opportunity to go to a concert every time I test a phone, I simulate the noise of a concert in a closed environment.Not yet available / tested[b][b]

Screen quality

To test the screen, I use a colorimetric probe that measures the color accuracy of a screen, as well as other parameters to see if a screen is able to correctly reproduce an image. I also test the brightness level to determine if the screen will be able to display an image in full sunlight.[b]
Screen size : 6.3
Resolution : 1080 x 2340
Ratio : 19.5:9
Type : LCD IPS
% occupancy : 82
dE white : 10.1
dE red : 5.2
dE green : 3.0
dE blue : 3.4
dE jaune : 5.2
dE cyan : 9.0
dE magenta : 4.2
White temperature : 8644
Contrast : 1331:1
Brightness : 570
Colorimetry[b]Not yet available / tested[b][b][b]Top 10 - ranking of the best screens by colorimetry
1. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g dE = 0.73
2. Xiaomi Mi 10t Pro dE = 0.83
3. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 dE = 1.2
4. Samsung Galaxy S20 dE = 1.4
5. Poco M3 dE = 1.4
6. Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite dE = 1.46
7. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s dE = 1.47
8. Honor 9x dE = 1.5
9. Poco F2 Pro dE = 1.73
10. Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite dE = 1.91

Number of smartphones in the ranking:35
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:29/35

Note: the colorimetric difference is measured in dE. After three, the human eye will perceive a colorimetric difference, so the dE should be the lowest. The tests were all carried out with a colorimetric probe.
[b]Brightness / Contrast[b]Not yet available / tested[b][b]Light Absorption/Reflection[b]The smartphone screen reflect light and sometimes turn them into a real mirror. This mirror effect makes it harder to read. [b][b]The absorption index below indicates the percentage of light absorbed by the screen. The readability of a screen is better when the absorption index is high.[b][b]
Phone tested:% light absorption
Samsung Galaxy S10+58
Xiaomi Mi 9T Pro52
Honor 9x65
Redmi Note 9s55
Motorola G8 Power60
Realme 654
Umidigi F248
Poco F2 Pro52
Redmi Note 956
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite53
Samsung Galaxy S2047
Samsung Galaxy A21s53
The phones tested have an average absroption rate of54 %

Biometry

Not yet available / tested[b][b]

Operating system

[b]Not yet available / tested[b][b]

Encoutered bugs

Not yet available / tested[b][b]

Accessories Umidigi A9 Pro

To better enjoy your experience with your smartphone, I offer links to all kinds of accessories that you might find useful

Protective cover / case umidigi a9 pro
Screen protection film umidigi a9 pro
Memory card umidigi a9 pro
USB Cable / Charger umidigi a9 pro
Headphones umidigi a9 pro
Bike rack umidigi a9 pro

Compare Umidigi A9 Pro with the others

I assigned a score of 1 to 10 for each test that determines the strengths and weaknesses of a product. I am using 0 for criteria that have not (yet) been tested. A score of 1 to 3 indicates poor performance (and yes, it does), a score of 4 to 6 indicates average performance, a score of 7 to 8 indicates good performance, and a score of 9 and 10 indicates exceptional performance. .
The score is calculated based on my measurements and when there are no measurements, it is a subjective opinion based on my experience.

The scores are not static, they change over time because the performance of new products changes and this must be taken into account.

Umidigi A9 Pro
Finish quality7.006.00
Battery performance7.008.00
CPU performance6.006.5
GPU performance6.006.5
Screen quality7.007.00
Photo quality6.005.00
Video quality6.005.00
Wi-Fi performance6.007.00
Mobile download speed6.005.00
Mobile network sensitivity7.006.00
Frequency coverage8.007.00
Audio quality76.00
GPS performance6.006.00
Operating system7.008.00
Overall score9289
Global ranking
1. Samsung Galaxy S20 112 / 140
2. Poco F2 Pro 111 / 140
3. Samsung Galaxy S10+ 107 / 140
4. Xiaomi Mi 9t Pro 106 / 140
5. Poco X3 102 / 140
6. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g 101 / 140
7. Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite 101 / 140
8. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro 100 / 140
9. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s 98 / 140
10. Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite 98 / 140
11. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 97 / 140
12. Xiaomi Redmi Note 7 94 / 140
13. Realme 6 93 / 140
14. Umidigi Bison 92 / 140
15. Umidigi A9 Pro 92 / 140
16. Oukitel C21 89.5 / 140
17. Xiaomi Mi A3 89 / 140
18. Motorola G8 Power 89 / 140
19. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 89 / 140
20. Nokia 5.3 89 / 140
21. Honor 9x 88 / 140
22. Meizu Note 9 86 / 140
23. Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite 86 / 140
24. Xiaomi Redmi Note 5 85 / 140
25. Umidigi S3 Pro 83 / 140
26. Samsung Galaxy A21s 82 / 140
27. Umidigi F2 82 / 140
28. Redmi 9a 81 / 140
29. Redmi 9c 80 / 140
30. Ulefone Armor 7e 80 / 140
31. Doogee S58 Pro 78.5 / 140
32. Honor 8x 78 / 140
33. Poco M3 77.5 / 110
34. Umidigi F1 77 / 140
35. Huawei Y6 2019 74 / 140
36. Xiaomi Mi 10t Pro 57 / 70
37. Elephone U5 0 / 0

Test / Review conclusion

[b]Not yet available / tested[b][b]Strengths[b]Not yet available / tested[b][b][b]Weaknesses[b]Not yet available / tested[b][b][b]Alternatives to this product[b][b]Not yet available / tested[b][b]

Comments

Join the discussion / Ask your questions

Your comment will be published after validation. I respond to over 1500 comments a year in my spare time, so I can't always respond very quickly. Your email address will not be publicly visible and it will not be used for commercial purposes.









Be notified by email when a response is published