On this page:
Price Umidigi F2
Unpacking
First configuration
Finish
Specifications
CPU / GPU Performance
Benchmark Antutu/3DMark
Network performance
Wifi performance
GPS performance
Battery range
Photo camera test
Hardware
Photoquality
Video quality
Audio quality
Screen quality
Biometry
Operating system
Test / Review conclusion
Questions answers

Best new price:
124.1 EUR
See the offer | Bol.com

32 other prices available in other stores.



Umidigi F2: full test / review , objective opinion and prices

Umidigi F2 test / review / specs

Category: Tests / Reviews

Umidigi is a small Chinese manufacturer that is moving up the ladder one step at a time to offer smartphones with good battery life at an attractive price. I had already tested the Umidigi F1 and the Umidigi S3 Pro, these two phones were quite interesting but lacked a bit of maturity especially in terms of photo and operating system. Will the Umidigi F2 manage to correct these problems? That's what I propose you to discover in my test.




linkManufacturer web site: https://www.umidigi.com

Structure of my tests

I test the phones according to a pre-established structure (see below) to provide you with as much information as possible. Unfortunately, this takes a long time. Some tests like network performance tests take several days and for photo tests I sometimes have to wait until the weather is suitable to take pictures in good conditions. I am therefore obliged to publish the tests step by step, so I invite you to come back if the test is not complete at the time of your visit.

How are my tests different from others on the web?

- I usually buy the devices with my own money, so price is just as important as you are!
- I keep the devices for at least a few weeks (sometimes more) to see what they are worth in real conditions.
- I answer (when possible) your questions to help you decide before you buy
- no one pays me to do these reviews, so I'm completely neutral and independent...
- My pages are not filled with ads



Poco F2 review - test - specs
Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite test, review and price
Umidigi F1 test, review and price
Honor 8x test, review and price
Xiaomi Redmi Note 5 test and review
Umidigi F2 test / review / specs
Leeco Coolpad Cool1 test and review
Motorola G8 Power test, review and price
Realme 6 test, review and price
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s test, review and price

Price Umidigi F2

The list below shows the prices for the Umidigi F2 from more than 50 sites around the world. If you are not satisfied with any price, you can subscribe to a price alert to be the first to be notified when the price drops.
Naar achteren gerichte hoofdcamera voor UMIDIGI F2...
2020-10-22 11:44
124 EUR
Touch Panel + LCD volledige montage voor UMIDIGI F2...
2020-10-22 10:01
146 EUR
UMIDIGI F2 6GB ROM 128GB Android 10 Smartphone 6.53" FHD+ 5150mAh NFC Unlocked...
2020-10-21 20:06
180 USD
UMIDIGI F2 Android 10 ohne Vertrag 6.53" FHD+ 6GB 128GB 5150mAh NFC Handy Global...
2020-10-21 20:18
155 EUR
UMIDIGI F2 (NEW) Unlocked 6GB + 128GB Android 10 Smartphone 6.53" 5150mAh NFC...
2020-10-21 14:24
155 EUR
Flash Sale UMIDIGI F2 NFC Google Play 6GB 128GB 48MP CAM Android 10 Blue...
2020-10-21 20:18
159 EUR



helpThe above links are affiliate links from companies such as Amazon, Gearbest, Aliexpress,... If you appreciate my work, I would be grateful if you could purchase these products through these links. It costs you absolutely nothing but I get a small commission that allows me to buy the material I test. Thank you very much!

Timeline

15/03/2020: purchase of Umidigi F2 on the official Umidigi website (stock in Europe)
06/04/2020: phone reception and unpacking

Why this phone?

I bought my first Umidigi out of curiosity because I had never heard of the brand and on paper, the Umidigi F1 offered a good price/performance ratio.

I had been a little disappointed by the Umidigi F1 because it lacked a bit of photo maturity and the operating system wasn't quite up to scratch. I then bought the Umidigi S3 Pro a few months later, this model took Umidigi to another level but despite everything, Umidigi was still a bit behind the competition.

Despite these few small flaws, I thought Umidigi had an interesting approach with its community, I had had the opportunity to chat live with the manufacturer, this is quite rare. Now that the Umidigi F2 is available, I had to buy it to see if Umidigi had managed to progress in an increasingly competitive landscape.

Unpacking

umidigi f2 avis test review recencione opinion photo 7
The box of the Umidigi F2 is very sober like the other Umidigi I tested, even the brand is quite discreet after all. The box contains the usual accessories such as the pouch with a manual and the opening needle for the SIM drawer, a wall charger and a USB C cable. The phone is well protected by a foam padding and a protective shell directly installed on the phone. Umidigi has dropped the protective shell in crocodile skin texture to provide a fairly rigid and uniform shell, which is a good thing.



Length : 162.6
Width : 77.7
Thickness : 8.7
Weight : 201
Jack output : Yes
USB Type : Type C
USB norm : 2.0

First configuration

The set-up procedure for the Umidigi F2 is not unusual and is actually a very good thing. I just finished testing a Huawei phone where they try to sign you up for all kinds of services that nobody needs, so the configuration of Umidigi is much more direct, Umidigi is not going to try to sign you up for anything.



Finish

umidigi f2 avis test review recencione opinion photo 11
The level of finish at Umidigi has really improved in a year. I first bought an Umidigi F1 that offered a fairly average level of finish that reminded me of the Redmi Note 5 that had been launched 2 years earlier. I then bought the Umidigi S3 Pro which had a very good level of finish but this smartphone cost twice as much as the Umidigi F1. Today the Umidigi F2 represents a good compromise between these two extremes. For less than 200€ the Umidigi F2 offers a level of finish that is quite comparable to what other brands offer in this price range.

The Umidigi F2 looks a bit more massive than a Redmi Note 7/8, it is slightly larger, thicker and also heavier. Umidigi usually offers phones with a good battery life and this translates into a heavier phone. This doesn't bother me at all in use but when you switch from a light phone like some Samsung phones, you will feel like you have a weight in your pocket. The use of the case that comes in the box will reinforce this impression because the phone will grow a few millimeters but this case protects the whole phone very well.


umidigi f2 avis test review recencione opinion photo 16
The top part of the phone is completely smooth, there is absolutely nothing, no jack connector, no infrared or sound sensor. The loudspeaker slot is quite thin and unobtrusive.

umidigi f2 avis test review recencione opinion photo 13
The lower part of the phone is quite classic, it has an audio jack connector, a USB type C port, a grid for the external speaker and a small hole that is probably used to capture the sound.



umidigi f2 avis test review recencione opinion photo 14
On the left is the SIM drawer and on the right are the usual volume and power buttons. The particularity of the Umidigi F2 is that it offers a fingerprint reader at on the power button. This is the first time I test a phone with this type of fingerprint sensor, I will come back to this point in the biometrics section. The buttons are made of hard plastic, so they are easy to spot when you touch them.

umidigi f2 avis test review recencione opinion photo 18
The back of the phone is almost perfectly uniform, you can only find the photo sensor that stands out a little at the top and the Umidigi brand at the bottom. This Umidigi looks quite similar to the Redmi Note 8, one could almost confuse them. The back surface is very smooth and pleasant to the touch, fingerprints will however be visible very quickly like most phones using this type of material.

umidigi f2 avis test review recencione opinion photo 24
The Umidigi F2 has a large 6.53-inch screen, which is above what one can find in this price range. The screen occupies 82% of the visible space, the borders are not the thinnest but in this price range this is normal. The screen is interrupted at the top left by a discrete front camera inside the screen, notifications are displayed according to the presence of the photo sensor. Umidigi has also glued a screen protector that adapts very well to the presence of the photo sensor in the screen, so you don't have to go through the ordeal of gluing a protective film.

Specifications


The information below comes from the Device Info HW application. The application provides detailed technical information about the tested phone.The standard Umidigi F2 version offers 6Gb of RAM memory in combination with 128Gb of storage memory, which is quite rare in this price range. Umidigi therefore offers an important advantage here because with 128Gb of storage, a memory card is probably no longer necessary.



CPU / GPU Performance

CPU : MediaTek Helio P70
GPU : ARM Mali-G72
Memory (RAM) : 6 Gb
Storage : 128 Gb

Benchmark Antutu/3DMark

With Antutu, I get a score of 185910 points and here again it's an overall score higher than what I get with a Xiaomi in the same price range even if for GPU performance the Redmi is still slightly higher. This shouldn't be noticeable for games, the difference is not big enough.



On 3DMark, I get a score of 1399 pointsn this score ranks the Umidigi F2 above the Redmi Note 8.

Antutu score : 185910
Antutu CPU : 72355
Antutu GPU : 31084
Antutu UX : 39554
Antutu Mem : 42917
3D Mark Open GL : 1399
3D Mark Vulkan : 1392

Top 10 - performance ranking based on Antutu
1. Poco F2 Pro - 569559
2. Samsung Galaxy S20 - 503905
3. Xiaomi Mi 9t Pro - 430403
4. Xiaomi Mi Mix 3 5g - 385000
5. Oppo Reno 5g - 375000
6. Meizu 16s - 374190
7. Xiaomi Mi 9 - 372006
8. Sony Xperia 1 - 372000
9. Lg G8s Thinq - 371000
10. Lg V50 Thinq 5g - 370000

Number of smartphones in the ranking:102
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:42/102

Note: this ranking only contains the phones I tested as well as a few others that I added for reference.

Gaming
To test the performance in game, I download the mobile PUBG game and evaluate the in-game experience, graphics level and depth of vision. This game is quite demanding and should help you evaluating the performance of a phone.The Umidigi F2 is not a gaming phone but it will allow you to play most games with some concessions such as level of graphics.

PUBG Mobile runs very well on the Umidigi F2 and at the scale of a 6 inch screen the differences in graphics are not always visible.



Network performance

The Umidigi F2 offers very wide frequency coverage and in this price range this is quite rare. Even the B28 frequency (for Free & Bouygues in France) is available.

3G frequencies : B1 (2100), B2 (1900), B4 (1700/2100 AWS A-F), B5 (850), B6 (800), B8 (900), B19 (800)
4G frequencies : B1 (2100), B2 (1900), B3 (1800), B4 (1700/2100 AWS 1), B5 (850), B7 (2600), B8 (900), B12 (700), B13 (700), B17 (700), B18 (800), B19 (800), B20 (800), B25 (1900+), B26 (850), B28 (700), B38 (TDD 2600), B39 (TDD 1900), B40 (TDD 2300), B41 (TDD 2500), B66 (1700/2100), B71 (600)
Bluetooth : Bluetooth 4.2 LE
Volte : Yes
Number measurements : 712
Average signal : -101.47
Download speed : 60
Upload speed : 50
Choose your country to check if your phone is compatible:


The frequencies displayed below will allow you to see if this phone is compatible with your operator or if you will be able to use it in the country where you are going on vacation.


Signal 4G
The ability to pick up the network correctly is an essential element for a phone but it is only very rarely measured. To measure a phone's ability to pick up the network, I perform a large number of measurements on the same cells to be able to compare phones under similar conditions. The signal is measured in dBm, a value of -90dBm indicates a worse signal than -70dBm. These measurements are therefore taken under real conditions and not in a laboratory, they are not scientific but give a good indication of performance.

Network signal sensitivity rating
Phone tested:Average signal (dBm)Number of measurements:
Xiaomi Mi 9t Pro-881600
Xiaomi Redmi Note 5-91.305600
Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite-93788
Samsung Galaxy A70-94.5111975
Nokia 5.3-94.98531
Realme 6-95.142301
Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro-95.9221599
Xiaomi Mi A3-95.951000
Huawei Y6 2019-95.951199
Redmi 9a-96.481000
Meizu Note 9-96.68937
Motorola G8 Power-96.881032
Xiaomi Redmi Note 7-97.011430
Redmi 9c-97.041000
Umidigi S3 Pro-97.131200
Xiaomi Redmi Note 8-97.34879
Samsung Galaxy A21s-97.781000
Umidigi F1-97.82298
Ulefone Armor 7e-98.71000
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite-991000
Honor 9x-99.14899
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s-99.41860
Poco F2 Pro-99.81247
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9-100.791785
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g-100.881198
Umidigi F2-101.47712

Network performance has never been an asset of the Umidigi brand and this Umidigi F2 is not going to change that. I have measured an average signal of -102 dBm over a few hundred measurements, this is not a good result. If you live in an area where the network coverage is good, you shouldn't be affected by the problem but I prefer to be transparent about it to avoid making a bad choice.

I compared these two phones because they are in a fairly close price zone. The Redmi Note 9s offers below average network performance, the Umidigi F2 offers even lower performance, it is even at the bottom of the table.


Download/Upload speed
To test the download speed, I have identified some 4G cells offering good performance where I test all my devices several times to see what download and upload speed they can achieve.
Top 10 - speed ranking in download
1. Samsung Galaxy S20 D:351Mbps U: 20Mbps
2. Poco X3 D:232Mbps U: 55Mbps
3. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g D:223Mbps U: 52Mbps
4. Poco F2 Pro D:207Mbps U: 53Mbps
5. Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite D:153Mbps U: 68Mbps
6. Xiaomi Mi A3 D:150Mbps U: 60Mbps
7. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s D:150Mbps U: 60Mbps
8. Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite D:149Mbps U: 60Mbps
9. Samsung Galaxy A21s D:147Mbps U: 51Mbps
10. Huawei Y6 2019 D:145Mbps U: 61Mbps

Number of smartphones in the ranking:30
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:24/30

Note: the theoretical maximum speed of a telephone is often limited by the configuration of the mobile network and the congestion of the network at the time of the measurement. So maybe you could get a higher speed on another network

Not yet available / tested


Wifi performance

To test a phone's ability to receive the network properly, I take measurements near my router and then remotely (and always at the same place). This gives me an average in dBm where a value of -90 dBm indicates poorer performance than a value at -30 dBm.
Wifi frequencies : 802.11a, 802.11ac, 802.11b, 802.11g, 802.11n, 802.11n 5GHz
Download speed : 176
Signal / close : -36
Signal / distant : -75
Wifi signal
I measured a signal of -36 dBm near the router, this score is not very good unfortunately. I repeated the test several times and tested other phones at the same time to exclude a problem with my router but each time I got a similar score.

From a distance I got a score of -75 dBm, this score is a bit below the average.




Top 10 - wifi sensitivity ranking
1. Poco F2 Pro -11dBm
2. Samsung Galaxy A21s -13dBm
3. Poco X3 -17dBm
4. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s -18dBm
5. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro -19dBm
6. Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite -19dBm
7. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g -19dBm
8. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 -19dBm
9. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 -19dBm
10. Redmi 9a -19dBm

Number of smartphones in the ranking:30
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:25/30


Download/Upload speed
To test the speed in Wifi, I connect to my router in 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz (if available) and use the Ookla application to measure the speed.With a wifi download speed of 176 Mbps, the Umidigi F2 will meet most users' expectations. Streaming or gaming will not be a problem.


Top 10 - wifi download speed ranking
1. Samsung Galaxy S20 351Mbps
2. Poco F2 Pro 341Mbps
3. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro 319Mbps
4. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g 300Mbps
5. Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite 260Mbps
6. Poco X3 251Mbps
7. Xiaomi Redmi Note 7 250Mbps
8. Umidigi F1 220Mbps
9. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 211Mbps
10. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 207Mbps

Number of smartphones in the ranking:30
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:17/30

Note: I have a 400Mbps line and a modem capable of delivering higher speed, but I can never be sure how much bandwidth is available when doing a test.

GPS performance


To test the quality of the GPS signal I use the Offline Maps application and I make the same train trip in pedestrian mode. Why? In pedestrian mode, the GPS does not artificially correct the signal to stick to the road, it has no markings, so you can see the actual position. I then use an application to measure the accuracy of the signal.

The Umidigi F2 gets a very good GPS accuracy score, the accuracy stabilizes at 1 meter, I haven't tested many phones that have achieved this level of accuracy. The phone picks up just under 40 satellites and uses about half of them.



The road test shows that the Umidigi F2 is able to maintain a correct position throughout the entire journey. The test on all was done in easy conditions because I had no choice to move further because of the lockdown (covid). My evaluation will therefore be based on this easy scenario.


Top 10 - GPS accuracy ranking
1. Redmi 9a 1m
2. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 1m
3. Redmi 9c 2m
4. Samsung Galaxy A21s 4m

Number of smartphones in the ranking:5
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:0/5

Note: An accuracy of 3 meters or less can easily be corrected by a good GPS application. Phone performance also plays a role in how fast your display updates, so good accuracy could be compromised by too slow a display.

Battery range

Capacity : 5150
Fast charge : Yes
Range (100% brightness) : 927.00
Range (50% brightness) : 1854.00
Charging time : 299.00
Discharge speed (100%) : 0.11
Discharge score (100%) : 5.56
Discharge speed (50%) : 0.05
Discharge score (50%) : 2.78
Charging speed : 0.33
Charging score : 17.22
From March 2020, I replaced my subjective battery test with a technical test to better measure the real behaviour of the battery. Now I test the autonomy and charging time under absolutely identical conditions. I perform several measurements, so this test alone takes several days during which I cannot use the phone for anything else.

Battery life - methodology
To test the battery life, I measure the battery consumption every minute in strictly identical conditions to be able to compare phones and also to allow you to evaluate your phone in the same conditions. I rule out any influence of applications that could interfere with the measurement. The autonomy is not linear, the battery sometimes discharges much faster at the end. This is a frustrating phenomenon but with my measurements, you will know if you need to find a charger quickly.

Battery life
The battery of the Umidigi F2 has a capacity of 5150 mAh and has discharged from 100% to 1% in 927.00 minutes with 100% brightness, it has discharged from 100% to 1% in 1854.00 minutes with 50% brightness. I obtain in this way an average discharge speed of 0.11% per minute with 100% luminosity and 0.05% per minute with 50% luminosity, the consumption is therefore 5.56 mA per minute with 100% luminosity and 2.78 with 50% luminosity. To be able to compare the efficiency of the phone and its influence on the battery, you have to compare the 5.56 (or 50%) score with that of other smartphones, the figure should be as low as possible.

Charging time - methodology
To test the charging time, I always use the same charger with the same cable. I measure the charging time minute by minute to see the evolution of the charge as well as the charging speed. The charging speed of a battery is not linear, it is often faster at the beginning and slower at the end. The charger is compatible with fast charging.

Charging time
The battery of the Umidigi F2 has a capacity of 5150 mAh and has been charged from 1% to 100% in 299.00 minutes. This gives me an average charging speed of 0.33% per minute and therefore an increase of 17.22 mA per minute. To compare the performance of the Umidigi F2 compared to other phones, you should use the 17.22 per minute score, this score should be as high as possible.

Important note: the charging speed is not always linear, the graph below gives you an indication of the battery behaviour.

The following table lists the phones tested with the technical battery test, they are ranked in order of efficiency. A higher battery capacity should logically result in a higher battery life but it is not always the case and it does not give any indication of the efficiency of a phone.

SmartphoneCapacity (mAh)Battery life (minutes)Efficiency ScoreBattery life (minutes) / 50%Efficiency Score / 50%Charging time.Score charging
Honor 9x4000770.005.191333.003.00151.0026.49
Samsung Galaxy S204000565.007.081217.003.29136.0029.41
Nokia 5.34000549.007.291096.003.65199.0020.10
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g4160749.005.551541.002.70163.0025.52
Realme 64300704.006.111104.003.89162.0026.54
Poco F2 Pro47001150.004.091536.003.06180.0026.11
Redmi 9c5000656.007.621915.002.61170.0029.41
Redmi 9a5000694.007.201902.002.63195.0025.64
Samsung Galaxy A21s5000729.006.861283.003.90166.0030.12
Motorola G8 Power5000912.005.482792.001.79311.0016.08
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s5020663.007.571876.002.68224.0022.41
Xiaomi Redmi Note 95020650.007.721808.002.78162.0030.99
Umidigi F25150927.005.561854.002.78299.0017.22
Poco X35160653.007.901654.003.12181.0028.51
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite5260827.006.361609.003.27208.0025.29
Ulefone Armor 7e5500768.007.161140.004.82179.0030.73

helpHow to read these figures?
The battery capacity is an important element in determining the autonomy of a phone but it is not the only factor. A phone with a large battery may have a shorter battery life if it consumes more power. If I had to take an example from everyday life, I would use the universe of the car. If a car has a large fuel tank, it should be able to drive a longer distance unless its average fuel consumption is higher. The battery efficiency score works the same way, it should be as low as possible and represents the energy consumption of the phone. These differences in efficiency are often related to the brightness of the screen, large bright screens will tend to consume more energy and even if they have a large battery, their range will be shorter.

In summary [battery product="umidigi-f2" capa="5150" lg="en"]
The Umidigi F2 is equipped with one of the largest batteries available on the market, so it should offer you in theory the best autonomy.

It took 299 minutes to reach 100% of the battery, the charging speed of the battery is quite stable, only the last percents took longer. The Umidigi F2 ranks below average for charging time.

It took 927 minutes to completely empty the battery, which is a very good score but lower than what I get with a Motorola G8 Power and a slightly smaller battery. The energy efficiency of the Umidigi F2 is good but not the best.

The autonomy is not linear, it decreases much faster from 40%. It takes 700 minutes to empty the first 60 percent but the last 40 percent evaporates in 200 minutes.

The Umidigi F2 offers very good battery performance and it could even have been the best if the fuel efficiency was at the level of the Motorola G8 Power. In normal use, the battery should give you 3 days of autonomy.

Photo camera test

To test the quality of photos produced by a phone, I do a technical test (resolution, sharpness, chromatic aberration,...) in studio (identical conditions) to evaluate the technical part objectively. From the second half of 2020, I built my own laboratory to take completely objective technical measurements. I then take pictures in real conditions to see how the camera performs. I then evaluate these photos according to my criteria but I publish the photos so that you can evaluate the result according to your criteria.

Hardware

Selfie / resolution : 32
Selfie / sensor : Samsung S5KGD1
Resolution : 48
Sensor : Samsung S5KGM1
Video resolution : 2160p
mm wide angle : 3.8mm
mm ultra wide angle : 3.8mm
mm zoom : 3.8mm
According to the information I was able to gather, the Umidigi F2 is equipped with a Samsung S5KGM1 sensor. This sensor is used in many other devices such as the Redmi Note 7, the Redmi Note 8 and the Meizu Note 9.

I tested these devices last year, so I will be able to compare the result with the Umidigi.

I also tested two other Umidigi cameras last year and they both had the same defect in photo processing, the sharpness was too sharp and the color temperature was too low.

I'm curious to see if Umidigi managed to get rid of its flaws by using a good sensor like the one used in the Redmi Note 7 and 8.

Default app

The default photo application used in the Umidigi F2 is an application I hadn't seen before from Umidigi or another manufacturer. The application is overall quite complete, most of the basic features are there, with the possibility to configure each view (photo, video, ...). The photo option allows you to take pictures in wide-angle, macro and zoom mode but these different modes are superimposed on the visible part of the photo. If you are photographing a scene with a lot of light, you will probably not see the different options offered. The icons are also quite small.

It is possible to activate the 48 megapixel mode from normal photo mode, so you don't have to switch from photo mode to 48 mp mode all the time. Most of the options are available for all menus, the settings are quite simple to understand. I find that apart from the position of the photo modes, the application is quite interesting.

I noticed some slowdowns in some modes where when you move the screen, the photo doesn't fit right away as if the phone still needs to process the image.


Photoquality

Photo test / studio
First example: ƒ/1.8 1/661 3.8 mm 109 ISO
umidigi f2 avis test review recencione opinion photo studio 1
Exposure: underexposed
Sharpness: good
Colours: too dark
Depth of field: good
Distortion: none
Chromatic aberration: none
Vignetting: light
Digital noise: none

The main sensor of the Umidigi has a focal length of 3.8mm, this is the shortest focal length I have ever tested on a main sensor. With this kind of focal length, I have a doubt about the technology used because the Samsung sensor that is supposed to be in this phone normally has a longer focal length. A focal length of 3.8 mm allows to capture a larger angle without too much risk of distortion.

The photo is generally underexposed while the lighting is perfectly white and uniform. The colors are also too dark because of this exposure problem. I also see a slight vignetting problem on the corners.

Second example: ƒ/2.8 1/147 3.8 mm 113 ISO
umidigi f2 avis test review recencione opinion photo studio 2
Exposure: slightly underexposed
Sharpness: good
Colours: slightly too dark
Depth of field: good
Distortion: none
Chromatic aberration: none
Vignetting: none
Digital noise: none

To make this picture I clicked on the wide-angle mode and I'm surprised to see that the wide-angle mode uses the same focal length as the normal photo mode. So either the exif is not correct or Umidigi using the main sensor is a zoomed version of the wide angle. Looking at the picture of this second example, I can see that it is clearly a wide angle and it is even quite open. Usually wide angles let in less light and the pictures are always darker than with the main sensor but here it's the opposite and it doesn't make sense unless the main sensor is used. If this is the case, it would mean that it is better to leave the wide angle sensor on all the time. I'll have to check this outside the studio.

Third example: ƒ/1.8 1/661 3.8 mm ISO 109
umidigi f2 avis test review recencione opinion photo studio 3
Exposure: underexposed
Sharpness: good
Colours: too dark
Depth of field: good
Distortion: none
Chromatic aberration: none
Vignetting: light
Digital noise: none

The zoom of the Umidigi F2 is a digital zoom because the focal length has not changed, it is probably a 48 million pixel picture in which the camera has zoomed. The picture has the same characteristics as the first example with a fairly pronounced underexposure. The depth of field looks very good because everyone is in the sharp focus area.


Photo test / sunny
First example: ƒ/1.8 1/2283 3.8 mm 110 ISO
umidigi f2 avis test review recencione opinion photo sun 1
Exposure: ok
Sharpness too strong
Colors: colors a little too warm
Depth of field: good
Distortion: none
Chromatic aberration: none
Vignetting: none
Digital noise: none

On this first example, the photo is generally ok, but it has some defects such as a too pronounced contrast and sharpness which leads to a loss of details. We can therefore distinguish very well the different petals of the yellow dandelion on the left but each petal loses detail. The coloration is not quite correct but this is not really a problem in a scene dominated by green, the green seems darker than it really is.

Second example: ƒ/1.8 1/2179 3.8 mm 112 ISO
umidigi f2 avis test review recencione opinion photo sun 3
Exposure: ok
Sharpness too strong
Colors: colors a little too warm
Depth of field: good
Distortion: none
Chromatic aberration: none
Vignetting: none
Digital noise: none

On this second example, I have isolated a part of the photo to enlarge it to 100%. The artificial accentuation of the contours and contrasts makes the photo less accurate in details, especially when you look at it at 100%. This kind of problem is not really visible on a phone screen because the size of the screen does not allow to see this kind of thing unless you zoom in the picture. When you view your photos on a larger screen, the problem is much more visible. The color temperature is too low (= too warm colors), I will add some comparative pictures below in this section.

umidigi f2 avis test review recencione opinion photo sun 5
Here is an example that illustrates the colour temperature problem of Umidigi quite well. I compared here the Umidigi F2 to the Redmi Note 9s which uses a Samsung sensor almost equivalent to the one used by the Umidigi. The difference is quite striking, the photo taken by the Umidigi is too brownish, the green is not green and the sky is also very noisy.

umidigi f2 avis test review recencione opinion photo sun 6
On this other example, the problem is less visible because the photo was taken at sunset where the colors are naturally warmer, the difference with the Redmi Note 9s is less pronounced. The blue of the sky is also more saturated on the Umidigi, the effect is nice but the Redmi offers a more neutral rendering.

The Samsung sensor of the Umidigi is not a bad sensor, it is used in many other devices that have proven their worth such as the Redmi Note 7. The treatment brought to the photo deteriorates the quality of the sensor and I had noticed exactly the same thing last year with the Umidigi F1 and the Umidigi S3 Pro. For the same sensor, Umidigi uses a lower quality processing than other brands using the same sensor.

The judgement I make on these photos is purely technical, the colors and sharpness are not correct. This doesn't mean that you won't like your photos, artificial treatments can sometimes give the impression that a photo is more beautiful even if technically speaking it's not correct.





Photo test / cloudy
I've posted some pictures taken on cloudy days to give you an idea of what the Umidigi F2 is capable of producing.

The pictures are overall too dark, the Umidigi F2 seems to want to avoid overexposure and the whole picture is too dark. HDR can improve the situation a bit but the overall picture remains underexposed.

The problem of color temperature is also quite visible, I also noticed digital noise on photos taken at ISO 110.

The Umidigi F2 is not at the level of some competitors like the Redmi Note 8 for taking pictures in bad weather.




Test photo / night
First example: ƒ/1.8 1/10 3.8 mm 3962 ISO
umidigi f2 test avis review recensione opinion photo night 10

Exposure: good
Sharpness: medium
Colours: slightly too cold
Depth of field: good
Distortion: none
Chromatic aberration: none
Vignetting: none
Digital noise: very important

The Umidigi F2 offers a night mode that combines several photos, this night mode unfortunately does not produce good results. Digital noise is very pronounced, sharpness is medium, colours are yellowed, halos of light become large spots of light. Exposure is quite good, however, the picture is neither too bright nor too dark.

Second example: ƒ/1.8 1/10 3.8 mm ISO 4875
umidigi f2 test avis review recensione opinion photo night 2

Exposure: good
Sharpness: medium
Colours: slightly too cold
Depth of field: good
Distortion: none
Chromatic aberration: none
Vignetting: none
Digital noise: very important

On this second example, we find all the qualities and defects of the first example. However, it should be noted that the Umidigi F2 does well in terms of exposure because the house on the left, which is in a dark area, is still visible. With other phones tested at the same time, I didn't always see the house so clearly.

Here are some more pictures taken from the same place. The Umidigi F2 is clearly not a champion of night photography.




Video quality

Stabilisation

The Umidigi F2 is capable of absorbing light shocks but it cannot eliminate the jolts caused by walking. The result is not bad but it is not the best device in its class. I also did a test in more difficult conditions, the result is much worse, the Umidigi can't compensate the movements.



Video normale conditionsDaylight videos produced by the Umidigi F2 have the same characteristics as photos (it is the same sensor). The color temperature is too high, the sharpness is a bit forced but the camera manages to recover the focus quite quickly.

Video low light


The nightly videos produced by the Umidigi F2 are not good at all. The phone can't keep up with the motion, it can't handle the focus and the whole video is blurry.

Audio quality

To test the quality of the phone's audio output, I connect the device's audio output to a measuring tool, then play sounds on all frequencies and measure the differences between the original sound and the sound produced by the phone. In this way I measure the phone's ability to correctly reproduce all sounds.
Frequency Respons : -18.11 / -21.34
Noise Level : -78.7
Dynamic Range : 78.5
THD : 0.023
Intermodulation : 0.298
Stereo crosstalk : -16.6

I didn't expect anything special in terms of sound quality from Umidigi F2. In this price range, I have rarely encountered phones that offer exceptional sound quality. At the first subjective listening, I found the sound of the Umidigi F2 to be quite average with not enough accurate treble and not enough powerful bass. The Umidigi F2 is capable of producing a high volume but this translates into high saturation. I had to do the technical test 2 or 3 notches below the maximum volume in order to get reliable measurements.

I compared the Umidigi F2 to the Redmi Note 8, the latter produces a correct sound without reaching the level of a Samsung Galaxy A70, the comparison should therefore be fair.

Frequency Response
This test is intended to test the device's ability to correctly reproduce all frequencies. The white line in the middle of the graph is the ideal situation and the other colors come from tests on different phones. A deviation from the reference line indicates a deviation from the ideal situation. To see good sound at all frequencies, it is therefore necessary to get as close as possible to the reference line. umidigi f2 frequency respons
What I perceived in my ear is also verified with the technical test. The Umidigi F2 has an above-average deficit in low frequencies and a smaller deficit in higher frequencies compared to a phone like the Redmi Note 8. The Umidigi F2 is therefore not a phone for music lovers, but it is suitable for those who do not have special requirements in this area.

Dynamic Range
This test is designed to test a phone's ability to play sounds at different volume levels. Here too, the phones must be as close as possible to the reference.umidigi f2 dynamic range
As I explained above, I had to do this technical test at a lower volume level and it can be seen in this test where we can see that Umidigi is one notch below the Redmi Note 8 but this is normal. I also notice a weakness in the bass and another one in the treble as I had already noticed with the previous test.

Noise Level
This test aims to identify if the device under test is able to reproduce sounds without too much noise. A high score indicates a low parasite rate, a lower score indicates a higher presence of parasites.umidigi f2 noise level
For this last test, the result is a little closer to the Redmi Note 8 but I have again an anomaly in the bass and treble.

Concert recording
The purpose of this test is to measure the recording quality of the phone when there is a lot of ambient noise. Since I don't have the opportunity to go to a concert every time I test a phone, I simulate the noise of a concert in a closed environment.The Umidigi F2 is an average performer for live audio recording. The sound is distorted but no more than the average of the phones tested. I see a slightly larger deviation in the treble above 10khz.

Screen quality

To test the screen, I use a colorimetric probe that measures the color accuracy of a screen, as well as other parameters to see if a screen is able to correctly reproduce an image. I also test the brightness level to determine if the screen will be able to display an image in full sunlight.
Screen size : 6.53
Resolution : 1080 x 2340
Ratio : 19.5:9
Type : IPS LCD
% occupancy : 82
dE white : 13.8
dE red : 5.2
dE green : 4.0
dE blue : 7.4
dE jaune : 4.6
dE cyan : 12.4
dE magenta : 4.7
Contrast : 2769:1
Brightness : 504
Colorimetry


I had had a discussion with Umidigi after testing the F1 more than a year ago, I told them that the F1 screen was turning too much towards blue and they argued that this was not possible and that their screen was as good as what Xiaomi was doing. I didn't have a probe to measure the colour difference at the time but I have one now and I can see that what I reported last year is still there today. The colorimetry is not accurate, I'm getting a dE of 7, which is above average. Of course this is not a problem when using the phone because it won't prevent you from using it, but you will probably notice a difference between the photos displayed on the Umidigi and the same photos displayed on a computer screen.

This kind of problem is quite common and normally Android offers a possibility to adjust the color temperature in the settings, I didn't find this possibility with the Umidigi F2, so I don't have any trick to propose to alleviate the problem.


Top 10 - ranking of the best screens by colorimetry
1. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g dE = 0.73
2. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 dE = 1.2
3. Samsung Galaxy S20 dE = 1.4
4. Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite dE = 1.46
5. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s dE = 1.47
6. Honor 9x dE = 1.5
7. Poco F2 Pro dE = 1.73
8. Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite dE = 1.91
9. Samsung Galaxy S10+ dE = 2.01
10. Xiaomi Mi 9t Pro dE = 2.11

Number of smartphones in the ranking:29
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:28/29

Note: the colorimetric difference is measured in dE. After three, the human eye will perceive a colorimetric difference, so the dE should be the lowest. The tests were all carried out with a colorimetric probe.

Brightness / Contrast

I measured a brightness of 504 cd/m² with the lighting at maximum, it is an excellent score which will allow you to use the Umidigi F2 in full sunlight.

I measured a contrast ratio well above average as well, with 2769:1, it's one of the best scores obtained but I must specify that I obtained this score by flooding the light sensor to push the screen all the way. The natural contrast will probably be lower in reality but will remain in the high average.

Light Absorption/Reflection
The smartphone screen reflect light and sometimes turn them into a real mirror. This mirror effect makes it harder to read.

The absorption index below indicates the percentage of light absorbed by the screen. The readability of a screen is better when the absorption index is high.

Phone tested:% light absorption
Samsung Galaxy S10+58
Xiaomi Mi 9T Pro52
Honor 9x65
Redmi Note 9s55
Motorola G8 Power60
Realme 654
Umidigi F248
Poco F2 Pro52
Redmi Note 956
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite53
Samsung Galaxy S2047
Samsung Galaxy A21s53
The phones tested have an average absroption rate of54 %

Biometry

The Umidigi F2 can be unlocked by facial recognition or by the fingerprint sensor on the side.

Facial recognition works correctly and is quite fast. The fingerprint sensor on the side is less effective than a sensor on the back of the phone, but it works better than the Realme 6 sensor located in the same place.

Operating system

The Umidigi F2 runs on Android 10 without any Umidigi overlay. This choice has the advantage of offering a very similar experience to other devices running without an overlay and Umidigi has not added unwanted applications like what is available on many other brands.

When I tested the Umidigi F1 just over a year ago, I encountered many bugs that made using the phone sometimes painful. The Umidigi F2 is a much more advanced phone than the F1, I didn't encounter any bugs like on the F1 and overall this sleek version of Android works pretty well.

What I miss is a possibility to adjust the color temperature to get a more correct colorimetry, I also lack a native photo gallery application. There are of course differences with overlayers like Xiaomi or Samsung's but this shouldn't handicap you.




Encoutered bugs

Not yet available / tested

Accessories Umidigi F2

To better enjoy your experience with your smartphone, I offer links to all kinds of accessories that you might find useful

Protective cover / case umidigi f2
Screen protection film umidigi f2
Memory card umidigi f2
USB Cable / Charger umidigi f2
Headphones umidigi f2
Bike rack umidigi f2

Compare Umidigi F2 with the others

I assigned a score of 1 to 10 for each test that determines the strengths and weaknesses of a product. I am using 0 for criteria that have not (yet) been tested. A score of 1 to 3 indicates poor performance (and yes, it does), a score of 4 to 6 indicates average performance, a score of 7 to 8 indicates good performance, and a score of 9 and 10 indicates exceptional performance. .
The score is calculated based on my measurements and when there are no measurements, it is a subjective opinion based on my experience.

The scores are not static, they change over time because the performance of new products changes and this must be taken into account.

Umidigi F2
Finish quality6.006.00
Battery performance8.006.00
CPU performance6.005.00
GPU performance6.005.00
Screen quality5.005.00
Photo quality4.005.00
Video quality4.005.00
Wi-Fi performance6.005.00
Mobile download speed5.005.00
Mobile network sensitivity4.006.00
Frequency coverage8.006.00
Audio quality5.006.00
GPS performance8.006.00
Operating system7.007.00
Overall score8278
Global ranking
1. Samsung Galaxy S20 112 / 140
2. Poco F2 Pro 111 / 140
3. Samsung Galaxy S10+ 107 / 140
4. Xiaomi Mi 9t Pro 106 / 140
5. Poco X3 102 / 140
6. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g 101 / 140
7. Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite 101 / 140
8. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro 100 / 140
9. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s 98 / 140
10. Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite 98 / 140
11. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 97 / 140
12. Xiaomi Redmi Note 7 94 / 140
13. Realme 6 93 / 140
14. Motorola G8 Power 91 / 140
15. Nokia 5.3 89 / 140
16. Xiaomi Mi A3 89 / 140
17. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 88 / 140
18. Honor 9x 88 / 140
19. Meizu Note 9 86 / 140
20. Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite 86 / 140
21. Xiaomi Redmi Note 5 85 / 140
22. Umidigi S3 Pro 83 / 140
23. Umidigi F2 82 / 140
24. Samsung Galaxy A21s 82 / 140
25. Redmi 9a 81 / 140
26. Redmi 9c 80 / 140
27. Ulefone Armor 7e 80 / 140
28. Honor 8x 78 / 140
29. Umidigi F1 77 / 140
30. Huawei Y6 2019 74 / 140

Test / Review conclusion

I tested 2 Umidigi phones before buying this Umidigi F2 and I must say that I am positively surprised by the evolution of the brand. The level of finish has reached the level of the competition, the stability problems have disappeared and in the price range where it is sold, this Umidigi will undoubtedly suit a wider audience than the previous models. The strength of the Umidigi is the battery and this F2 has a good battery that will allow you to use this phone for several days without having to recharge it. This advantage was quite unique a year ago but other manufacturers (such as Xiaomi for example) have also entered the race for battery life, fortunately for Umidigi these other phones are more expensive.

The Umidigi F2 has many qualities for a phone for less than 200€. I got very good results with the GPS, it also offers a wide compatibility with 3G/4G frequencies. Its two biggest weaknesses are photo quality and network performance.


Strengths
Autonomy
GPS
3G/4G frequencies


Weaknesses
Photo quality
Network performance


Alternatives to this product

Comments

Join the discussion / Ask your questions

Your comment will be published after validation. I respond to over 1500 comments a year in my spare time, so I can't always respond very quickly. Your email address will not be publicly visible and it will not be used for commercial purposes.









Be notified by email when a response is published