On this page:
Price Redmi Note 8 Pro
Unpacking
First configuration
Finish
Specifications
CPU / GPU Performance
Benchmark Antutu/3DMark
Network performance
Wifi performance
GPS performance
Battery range
Photo camera test
Hardware
Photoquality
Video quality
Audio quality
Screen quality
Biometry
Operating system
Test / Review conclusion
Questions answers

Best new price:
125 EUR
See the offer | eBay FR

118 other prices available in other stores.



Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro: ultra-complete test / review and 100% objective opinion

Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro test / review and price

Category: Tests / Reviews

Xiaomi has gotten used to tickle major manufacturers like Apple or Samsung by offering high-performance smartphones at a much lower price. With the launch of the Redmi Note 8 Pro, Xiaomi offers high-end smartphone features at a mid-range price. If this phone keeps its promises, it will wreak havoc


linkManufacturer web site: https://www.mi.com/

Structure of my tests

I test the phones according to a pre-established structure (see below) to provide you with as much information as possible. Unfortunately, this takes a long time. Some tests like network performance tests take several days and for photo tests I sometimes have to wait until the weather is suitable to take pictures in good conditions. I am therefore obliged to publish the tests step by step, so I invite you to come back if the test is not complete at the time of your visit.

How are my tests different from others on the web?

- I usually buy the devices with my own money, so price is just as important as you are!
- I keep the devices for at least a few weeks (sometimes more) to see what they are worth in real conditions.
- I answer (when possible) your questions to help you decide before you buy
- no one pays me to do these reviews, so I'm completely neutral and independent...
- My pages are not filled with ads



Redmi 9C test / review
Redmi 9A test / review
Poco X3 test / review
Poco M3 : test / review
Oukitel C21 : test / review
Samsung Galaxy S20 test / review
Doogee s58 Pro test / review
Nokia 5.3 Test / Review
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5G test / review
Samsung Galaxy A21s test / review

Price Redmi Note 8 Pro

The list below shows the prices for the Redmi Note 8 Pro from more than 50 sites around the world. If you are not satisfied with any price, you can subscribe to a price alert to be the first to be notified when the price drops.
Redmi Note 8 Pro 128GB Unlocked Black Brand New Mineral Grey...
2020-11-29 21:09
125 EUR
Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro - 128GB - Mineral Grey (Ohne Simlock) (Dual-SIM)...
2020-11-29 15:15
151 EUR
Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro 6+64GB 6,53" Smartphone 64MP NFC 4500mAh 18W EU Version...
2020-12-01 15:15
160 EUR
Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro (Pantalla de 6,53'' FHD+, Notch de Gota, 6GB+64GB, Cámara cuádruple de 64M...
2020-12-01 14:37
160 EUR
BNIB Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro, Unlocked mobile phone - 128GB/GB...
2020-11-30 21:09
160 EUR
Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro Phone 6GB RAM + 64 GB ROM, 6.53"Full Screen, Helio G90T Octa-Core MTK CPU, 2...
2020-12-01 14:47
165 EUR



helpThe above links are affiliate links from companies such as Amazon, Gearbest, Aliexpress,... If you appreciate my work, I would be grateful if you could purchase these products through these links. It costs you absolutely nothing but I get a small commission that allows me to buy the material I test. Thank you very much!

Timeline

30/09/19 Purchase of the Redmi Note 8 Pro on Gearbest (pre-order)
07/10/19 Gearbest informs me that the item is no longer available and cancels my order
08/10/19 Order Redmi Note 8 Pro on Amazon
10/10/19 The Redmi has arrived, unpacking

Why this phone?

The Redmi have always been able to offer excellent value for money, but I had never bought a Pro version before because they were usually reserved for the Indian market and did not cover all European frequencies.

With the Redmi Note 8 Pro, Xiaomi has decided to change the rules by opening the Pro version to the rest of the world. The Pro version has a larger screen, a more powerful processor and GPU, a 64 million pixel camera, a 4500 mAh battery,... On paper, this new Redmi is a killer and could even shade other Xiaomi models.

Unpacking

xiaomi redmi note 8 pro test review avis revision recensione photo
Each Xiaomi/Redmi I have bought so far was packed in a different box. This time, the box is white and the device is visible on the box. It doesn't matter much, but it gives the impression of a brand that is still searching for a visual identity.

The box contains the usual accessories (charger, headphones, manuals,...), nothing extraordinary, that's what you can expect from a smartphone today.

xiaomi redmi note 8 pro test review avis revision recensione photo

Length : 161.3
Width : 76.4
Thickness : 8.8
Weight : 199
Jack output : Yes
USB Type : Type C
USB norm : 2.0
Infrared port : Yes

First configuration

The configuration of the Redmi Note 8 pro is very similar to what is found on this type of smartphone. The transfer of applications is quite fast because where I had to wait hours with a Huawei Y6, everything was transferred in less than an hour with the Redmi (applications, messages, passwords,...). Xiaomi has added some screens to the initial configuration, it is now possible to configure other email accounts from the beginning, it is also possible to change the font size and choose a theme. Apart from these new screens, the configuration is strictly the same as on the brand's other phones.

I added a screenshot showing all the applications installed by Xiaomi. Some applications are useless like the browser but some are quite useful like the remote control, the screen recorder or the radio application.



Finish

xiaomi redmi note 8 pro test review avis revision revision recensione photo

The Redmi Note 8 Pro is marketed in a price range where the finish is similar to what can be found on more expensive phones. This is a bit the case with this Redmi. The phone has a good overall finish despite the use of plastic materials. The material used is pleasant to the touch and the coating does not sink when pressed.

The Redmi Note 8 Pro is quite large and is therefore a little heavier than the average with 199 grams. If you have small hands, you will not be able to use it with one hand. The phone also has a coating that provides IP52 protection against moisture and dust. This does not allow you to dive into a pool, but it should protect the phone from splashes.

The Redmi Note 8 Pro does not offer any design revolution but it is the same with the other brands. The world of smartphones has reached a certain maturity and it is becoming increasingly difficult to distinguish them. The only new feature on this Redmi is the position of the photo sensors at the rear.


xiaomi redmi note 8 pro test review avis revision recensione photo
At the top of the Redmi Note 8 Pro you will find an infrared port and a speaker between the front camera and the edge of the camera. This speaker is wide enough to allow sound to pass through correctly. This format is quite common on phones with notch today, Xiaomi/Redmi stands out with the presence of an infrared port that allows you to transform your device into a universal remote control. Xiaomi has installed its default Xiaomi Remote application on the device so that you can use the infrared port without going through a third-party application.



xiaomi redmi note 8 pro test review avis revision recensione photo
Underneath the device you will find a Jack port to connect your headset, a USB-C port and a mono speaker. This configuration is also quite classic, sometimes you can find the Jack port at the top, sometimes at the bottom but all phones look the same.

xiaomi redmi note 8 pro test review avis revision recensione photo
On the left side you will find the SIM drawer which can accommodate 2 SIM cards or a SIM card and a memory card. On the other side you will find the usual buttons to turn the volume up/down or turn off the smartphone. As you can see on the pictures, the finishes give the impression that the phone is made of metal, this is not the case but it only shows that the finishes of the Redmi Note 8 pro are really good.

xiaomi redmi note 8 pro test review avis revision recensione photo
The back of the phone reflects the light in an elegant way and as with the contours, it gives it a more metallic look. At the top of the back, there are 3 photo sensors in vertical position in the middle of the phone. This is the first time I have seen this configuration with a Xiaomi. I think this is a very good thing because the sensors placed on the side tend to suffer from a parallax problem and when I use the wide angle, I sometimes see my fingers appear in the picture. This is not the case for the Redmi Note 8 Pro, this positioning is for me is one of the best at the moment.

The fingerprint sensor has been placed under the photo sensors, it gives the impression of having a fourth sensor. The positioning is unusual but I prefer this positioning to smartphones with a fingerprint reader on the screen, I find it much more natural.

xiaomi redmi note 8 pro test review avis revision recensione photo
The screen is huge, 6.53 inches is one of the largest screens I have ever tested and it occupies 84% of the surface. At first sight, the colorimetry is good but I will test it later with a probe. The border around the screen is quite thin, it's just a little thicker at the bottom but this is the case on most phones too.

Specifications


The information below comes from the Device Info HW application. The application provides detailed technical information about the tested phone.

CPU / GPU Performance

CPU : MediaTek Helio G90T
GPU : Arm Mali-G76 3EEMC4 800MHz
Memory (RAM) : 6 - 8Gb
Storage : 64 - 128 Gb

Benchmark Antutu/3DMark

I got a score of 223,000 points on Antutu, it's way above the Redmi Note 7 and it's also better than any mid-range phone I've tested so far. The Redmi Note 8 Pro is certainly the most powerful phone in the 200-250€ range. With such a score, Redmi Note 8 Pro will allow you to play the most demanding games without any problems. I didn't have a problem with overheating either.



With 3Dmark, the good performance of the Redmi Note 8 Pro is confirmed, I get a score higher than 2000 and in this price range, I have not yet tested a better performing phone.



Antutu score : 223193
Antutu CPU : 83548
Antutu GPU : 69473
Antutu UX : 55678
Antutu Mem : 14494
3D Mark Open GL : 2372
3D Mark Vulkan : 2443

Top 10 - performance ranking based on Antutu
1. Poco F2 Pro - 569559
2. Samsung Galaxy S20 - 503905
3. Xiaomi Mi 9t Pro - 430403
4. Xiaomi Mi Mix 3 5g - 385000
5. Oppo Reno 5g - 375000
6. Meizu 16s - 374190
7. Xiaomi Mi 9 - 372006
8. Sony Xperia 1 - 372000
9. Lg G8s Thinq - 371000
10. Lg V50 Thinq 5g - 370000

Number of smartphones in the ranking:104
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:35/104

Note: this ranking only contains the phones I tested as well as a few others that I added for reference.

Gaming
To test the performance in game, I download the mobile PUBG game and evaluate the in-game experience, graphics level and depth of vision. This game is quite demanding and should help you evaluating the performance of a phone.With more than 200,000 points on Antutu, the Redmi Note 8 Pro offers a very good performance in game. PUBG can be played with the maximum level of detail. The experience is perfectly fluid, distant objects such as buildings on the ground during the flight are perfectly visible.



Network performance

Redmi Note 8 Pro covers the vast majority of frequencies used in Europe, it even covers the B28 (used by Free in France for example).

3G frequencies : B1, B2, B4, B5, B8
4G frequencies : B1, B2, B3, B4, B5, B7, B8, B20, B28, B38, B40
Bluetooth : Bluetooth 5.0 LE
SAR / head : 0.997
SAR / body : 1.466
Volte : Yes
NFC : Yes
Number measurements : 1599
Average signal : -95.922
Download speed : 80
Upload speed : 50
Choose your country to check if your phone is compatible:


The frequencies displayed below will allow you to see if this phone is compatible with your operator or if you will be able to use it in the country where you are going on vacation.


Signal 4G
The ability to pick up the network correctly is an essential element for a phone but it is only very rarely measured. To measure a phone's ability to pick up the network, I perform a large number of measurements on the same cells to be able to compare phones under similar conditions. The signal is measured in dBm, a value of -90dBm indicates a worse signal than -70dBm. These measurements are therefore taken under real conditions and not in a laboratory, they are not scientific but give a good indication of performance.

Network signal sensitivity rating
Phone tested:Average signal (dBm)Number of measurements:
Xiaomi Mi 9t Pro-881600
Xiaomi Redmi Note 5-91.305600
Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite-93788
Samsung Galaxy A70-94.5111975
Nokia 5.3-94.98531
Realme 6-95.142301
Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro-95.9221599
Xiaomi Mi A3-95.951000
Huawei Y6 2019-95.951199
Doogee S58 Pro-96.22856
Redmi 9a-96.481000
Meizu Note 9-96.68937
Motorola G8 Power-96.881032
Xiaomi Redmi Note 7-97.011430
Redmi 9c-97.041000
Umidigi S3 Pro-97.131200
Xiaomi Redmi Note 8-97.34879
Samsung Galaxy A21s-97.781000
Umidigi F1-97.82298
Ulefone Armor 7e-98.71000
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite-991000
Honor 9x-99.14899
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s-99.41860
Poco F2 Pro-99.81247
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9-100.791785
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g-100.881198
Umidigi F2-101.47712

redmi note 8 pro network signal

With each new phone I manage to collect a little more data, this time I made 1599 measurements, I don't know if I will be able to do better for the next phones. The Redmi Note 8 Pro gets an average signal of -95.92 dBm, it ranks a little above the average of the phones I have tested. It slightly exceeds the Redmi Note 7 which obtains an average signal of -96.02 dBm. It is still the good old Xiaomi Redmi Note 5 that gets the best score but the measurement was made before the correction on the emission level, it is likely that the Xiaomi Redmi Note 5 has returned to the average with the others.


Download/Upload speed
To test the download speed, I have identified some 4G cells offering good performance where I test all my devices several times to see what download and upload speed they can achieve.
Top 10 - speed ranking in download
1. Samsung Galaxy S20 D:351Mbps U: 20Mbps
2. Poco X3 D:232Mbps U: 55Mbps
3. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g D:223Mbps U: 52Mbps
4. Poco F2 Pro D:207Mbps U: 53Mbps
5. Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite D:153Mbps U: 68Mbps
6. Xiaomi Mi A3 D:150Mbps U: 60Mbps
7. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s D:150Mbps U: 60Mbps
8. Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite D:149Mbps U: 60Mbps
9. Samsung Galaxy A21s D:147Mbps U: 51Mbps
10. Huawei Y6 2019 D:145Mbps U: 61Mbps

Number of smartphones in the ranking:30
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:20/30

Note: the theoretical maximum speed of a telephone is often limited by the configuration of the mobile network and the congestion of the network at the time of the measurement. So maybe you could get a higher speed on another network

The Redmi Note 8 Pro is not the fastest phone but it still offers a very comfortable download speed that will allow you to stream or download without any problems.


Wifi performance

To test a phone's ability to receive the network properly, I take measurements near my router and then remotely (and always at the same place). This gives me an average in dBm where a value of -90 dBm indicates poorer performance than a value at -30 dBm.
Wifi frequencies : 802.11a, 802.11ac, 802.11b, 802.11g, 802.11n, 802.11n 5GHz
Download speed : 319
Signal / close : -19
Signal / distant : -72
Wifi signal
With a signal of -19 dBm near the router, I simply get the best score ever obtained with a phone. The Redmi Note 8 Pro therefore picks up the wifi signal very well near the router. At a distance, however, it ranks in the average.


Top 10 - wifi sensitivity ranking
1. Poco F2 Pro -11dBm
2. Samsung Galaxy A21s -13dBm
3. Poco X3 -17dBm
4. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s -18dBm
5. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro -19dBm
6. Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite -19dBm
7. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g -19dBm
8. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 -19dBm
9. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 -19dBm
10. Redmi 9a -19dBm

Number of smartphones in the ranking:31
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:5/31


Download/Upload speed
To test the speed in Wifi, I connect to my router in 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz (if available) and use the Ookla application to measure the speed.The signal test indicated that the phone was picking up the network well and this is confirmed with its download speed where I got almost 320 Mbps, it's simply one of the best scores I got, the Redmi Note 8 Pro offers a performance equivalent to the Samsung Galaxy s10+ that I tested at the same time under the same conditions.




Top 10 - wifi download speed ranking
1. Samsung Galaxy S20 351Mbps
2. Poco F2 Pro 341Mbps
3. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro 319Mbps
4. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g 300Mbps
5. Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite 260Mbps
6. Poco X3 251Mbps
7. Xiaomi Redmi Note 7 250Mbps
8. Umidigi F1 220Mbps
9. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 211Mbps
10. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 207Mbps

Number of smartphones in the ranking:31
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:3/31

Note: I have a 400Mbps line and a modem capable of delivering higher speed, but I can never be sure how much bandwidth is available when doing a test.

GPS performance


To test the quality of the GPS signal I use the Offline Maps application and I make the same train trip in pedestrian mode. Why? In pedestrian mode, the GPS does not artificially correct the signal to stick to the road, it has no markings, so you can see the actual position. I then use an application to measure the accuracy of the signal.

The Redmi Note 8 Pro delivers good GPS performance. Positioning remains stable at about 2 meters (max) from the actual position with sometimes a larger deviation but no signal loss. Phones equipped with Mediatek chips often perform better than others and this seems to be the case with the Redmi Note 8 Pro.

I tested the speed of the GPS network (fix) and the level of accuracy, we can see on the following video that the fix happens very quickly and that the accuracy goes down quickly to 2 meters to stay at this level. I tested a Samsung at the same time and the accuracy level was still fluctuating between 4 and 8 meters.




Top 10 - GPS accuracy ranking
1. Oukitel C21 1m
2. Redmi 9a 1m
3. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 1m
4. Redmi 9c 2m
5. Samsung Galaxy A21s 4m

Number of smartphones in the ranking:6
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:0/6

Note: An accuracy of 3 meters or less can easily be corrected by a good GPS application. Phone performance also plays a role in how fast your display updates, so good accuracy could be compromised by too slow a display.

Battery range

Capacity : 4500
Fast charge : Yes
W max : 18
The Redmi Note 8 Pro is equipped with a 4500 mAh battery, this is the first time I have found a battery of this type at Xiaomi. Where the Redmi Note 7 allowed me to last between 2 and 3 days before having to recharge the battery, the Redmi Note 8 Pro allows me to exceed the 3-day mark.

Photo camera test

To test the quality of photos produced by a phone, I do a technical test (resolution, sharpness, chromatic aberration,...) in studio (identical conditions) to evaluate the technical part objectively. From the second half of 2020, I built my own laboratory to take completely objective technical measurements. I then take pictures in real conditions to see how the camera performs. I then evaluate these photos according to my criteria but I publish the photos so that you can evaluate the result according to your criteria.

Hardware

Selfie / resolution : 20
Resolution : 64
Sensor : Samsung Bright GW1
Video resolution : 2160p
mm wide angle : 5.43mm
mm ultra wide angle : 1.66mm
mm zoom : 5.43mm
The Redmi Note 8 Pro is the first phone to be released with Samsung's 64 million pixel sensor (Samsung Bright GW1). The pixel count argument is obviously a marketing argument but I would nevertheless bring a small nuance for this phone. 64 million pixels on a phone is obviously too much unless the phone is able to produce a sharp image so that it can be enlarged like an optical zoom. This is the promise of this sensor, you can take pictures in 64 million pixels and zoom in the image as if you were zooming in with a real zoom.

Default app
The default photo application provided by Xiaomi is as usual quite well designed, this new version brings some new features compared to the Redmi Note 7. Instead of going into the details of each menu, I recorded the screen and went through the different possibilities. You will of course find the usual features of this kind of application but Xiaomi has added the possibility to take pictures in 9:16, 3:4 or 1:1. A macro mode has also been added in the main menu.

Overall the application behaves like the one in Redmi Note 7. You can switch from an ultra-wide angle at 1.66mm to a zoom at 5.43mm, the difference is significant and offers a certain versatility to the Redmi.




Photoquality

Photo test / studio
redmi note 8 test photo studio 3
For this first time in the studio, I took pictures in the following modes:
- normal photo and default zoom
- normal and ultra wide angle photo
- normal photo with 2x zoom
- normal photo with HDR enabled
- normal photo with AI enabled
- macro mode (the image is darker)
- 64 million pixel mode
The following pictures are taken in normal mode with the different formats available (9:16, 3:4, 1:1,...)

As is often the case, I notice a lack of brightness, most of the phones I tested have the same problem in the studio. This deficit is generally not visible in outdoor photos. The diaphragm was open at f/1.89 for this photo session, so the depth of field is very limited but it is sufficient to ensure a beautiful sharpness area. The image is very accurate, the details of the police car are very well rendered. This sharpness should allow you to zoom inside the image without losing too much quality. The color rendering is also good because usually the blue of the car is too pale on most phones. This first visit to the studio is therefore quite encouraging for the future.




Photo test / sunny
When I test a phone in autumn, I sometimes have to wait several days before I can take pictures in good conditions. The following series of photos were taken in Berck-Sur-Mer in northern France. The light was not perfect but I took advantage of some sunrays to take some pictures.

First example - ƒ/2.2 1/3030 1.66 mm 110 ISO
xiaomi redmi note 8 pro test review avis revision recensione day 1
The Redmi Note 8 Pro has an ultra wide angle of 1.66mm, which is even better than the Samsung Galaxy S10+ which offers 1.8mm. The arrangement of the sensor in the middle of the smartphone rather than on the sides is a good thing because with such an angle, you might see your fingers on the pictures. I took many pictures with the Samsung where I later noticed that one of my fingers was visible in the picture. With the Redmi Note 8 Pro, this happens much less often.

The picture taken with the ultra wide angle sensor is very well detailed, the sharpness is very good in the center and deteriorates a little on the sides. With such an angle, we inevitably find deformations, it is less visible on landscape photos like this one but if you take pictures of objects close to you, you will notice a deformation sometimes quite important. Avoid taking portraits at wide angles, as faces may be distorted (this is also the case on a normal camera).

The sky was processed by phone because in reality, the clouds were less clear than in the photo. With smartphones there is always a risk that the processing applied to a photo is not good but in this case, the result is ok.

The colours are good even if they are not quite accurate. The phone could have increased the exposure by a notch to obtain a lighter and bluer ocean, but overall the treatment applied to the photo is good.

Second example: ƒ/1.89 1/2198 5.43 mm 100 ISO
xiaomi redmi note 8 pro test review avis revision recensione day 2
This time I used Samsung's main sensor in 64 million pixel mode. This sensor is the first to capture 64 million pixels. You will probably have read on other sites that 64 million pixels on a phone is useless. I agree with that, but I would like to make a small nuance. Xiaomi applies sharpness processing to photos taken in 64 million pixels, sharpness is sometimes even a little forced. Why? By increasing the sharpness, you can zoom into the photos without losing too much detail. This is where the 64 million pixels become interesting because you have the possibility to take a large picture and create the illusion of an optical zoom by isolating a part of the picture.

What is the result? Before I transferred my photos to a computer, I had already noticed that the sharpness was particularly high and this was also verified on a large screen.

This is a 100% enlargement:
xiaomi redmi note 8 pro test review avis revision recensione day 2 100pc

This is a 300% magnification:
xiaomi redmi note 8 pro test review avis revision recensione day 2 300pc

The 300% magnification loses quality and that's normal because I magnified the picture three times over its size. However, this enlargement makes it possible to see the sharpness proposed by Redmi Note 8 Pro. You can see very clearly the texture of the tractor's tires, you can see very clearly sand on the right wheel and you can also see that the man next to the tractor is wearing glasses. For a phone in this price range, the result is really good.

Beyond the sharpness, if you compare the entire picture with the one taken with the ultra wide angle sensor, you will also find that the colors are more correct. The picture taken with the ultra wide angle sensor is more yellow than with the main sensor.

Third example: ƒ/1.89 1/2198 5.43 mm 100 ISO
xiaomi redmi note 8 pro test review avis revision recensione day 3
The EXIF in the photo shows that the sensor is the same as the main sensor, so there is no optical zoom. The Redmi Note 8 Pro takes a 64 million pixel picture and isolates part of it to give the impression of zooming in. In theory, this type of technique leads to a deterioration in quality, but this cannot be seen when the light is good. What I explained above with the 64 million pixels also applies here. The phone takes a picture in full resolution by sharpening it and then isolates part of the picture in 16 or 12 million pixels to give the illusion of an optical zoom.

Fourth example: ƒ/1.79 1/2395 64.74 mm 125 ISO (night mode)
xiaomi redmi note 8 pro test review avis revision recensione day 4
The night mode works like HDR but with a more aggressive treatment. In broad daylight when conditions are not ideal, the night mode can sometimes give good results but sometimes it is the opposite. In this picture the night mode reveals details that a normal picture cannot detail, but the picture is darker overall and digital noise appears while the EXIF indicates 125 ISO.







Photo test / cloudy
xiaomi redmi note 8 pro test review avis revision recensione nuit cloud 1
The photos under cloudy skies were taken in poor conditions, the weather was capricious, sometimes it was raining, sometimes a ray of sunlight was piercing the clouds and the photos were taken in the late afternoon. I'm not looking for an excuse to explain bad pictures but on the contrary, it makes the test more interesting.

On this first photo, the difference in exposure between the sky and the building is very important, I did not use any improvement provided by the camera. The photo is globally too dark but it is probably a processing choice because it allows you to capture as many details. If you look closely at the picture more specifically around the tiles for example, you will notice that the roof is full of details and despite the impression of overexposure of the sky, many details are present too. Let's see what it looks like if I improve the picture directly from the camera:

xiaomi redmi note 8 pro test review avis revision recensione nuit cloud 2

I increased the exposure and the saturation. This kind of manipulation can have a destructive effect on the photo but here we see that it is the opposite, the treatment reveals details that were not visible in the original photo. The sensor records a lot of details, which is probably one of the first benefits of a 64 million pixel sensor. You may find it a shame not to see a good picture from the beginning, but when the difference in brightness is large, no device is able to reproduce what the eye sees without any form of manipulation. This type of problem is solved either by combining several exposures (HDR, available in the application) or by taking a neutral picture (as in this example) and then making changes.

In the next series, I took a picture in the same place with different settings in the application, I didn't change anything to the pictures.



The photo with the blue sky is an HDR photo, we see here all the usefulness of combining several photos to obtain a satisfactory result. HDR is not too aggressive and you could very well let it do its job as soon as the light drops. The night mode allows to obtain a similar result but there on the other hand the treatment is much more aggressive and the photo becomes unrealistic. To make your photos successful in these conditions, I advise you to use HDR.



Test photo / night
xiaomi redmi note 8 pro test review avis revision recensione nuit night 1

Redmi Note 8 Pro features a night mode in the default application. This night mode was already present on the Redmi Note 7 and it delivered excellent photos. The night mode takes several pictures and combines them to create a more beautiful picture. The picture above this paragraph was taken in night mode, I took other pictures in normal mode indicating each time on the picture which mode was used. All night shots were taken by freehand.

This is a picture taken with the normal photo mode:
xiaomi redmi note 8 pro test review avis revision recensione nuit night 2
EXIF: f/1.89 1/20 5.43 mm 1634 ISO

What are the differences?
In normal mode the picture is darker, you can see the digital noise quite clearly and the halos around the spotlights are completely burned. Despite these few defects, the picture is quite correct, the main sensor does very well at night. If you look at the photo in night mode, you will probably notice that the photo is generally better lit, there is still some noise but the software's processing has applied a smoothing (quite visible on the sky), the halos around the lights are much clearer. So the picture is generally better, I just find it a little too bad that the coloring is a little too hot.

And with the ultra wide angle sensor?
xiaomi redmi note 8 pro test review avis revision recensione nuit night 3
EXIF: ƒ/2.2 1/20 1.66 mm 1658 ISO
The result is clearly worse here than with the 5.43mm sensor, the picture is darker overall, it is loudly noisy and there is a real loss of color information.

I will probably add pictures to this series later on but what I can say at this point is that the Redmi Note 8 Pro delivers a good night shot performance for static scenes. With a 1/20 shutter in automatic mode, you can't expect to capture motion without getting a blurred area, but that's perfectly normal for this type of camera. It should not be forgotten that the Redmi Note 8 Pro was marketed between 200 and 250€, it looks inferior to a Samsung Galaxy S10+ which costs three times this price but it is not three times less good.




Video quality

Stabilisation

In the price range of the Redmi Note 8 pro, video stabilization is generally not very good but I was positively surprised by this smartphone. Where the Redmi Note 7 offered a slight stabilization, the Redmi Note 8 Pro offers a much more assumed stabilization. We no longer even feel the vibrations of walking even if I have a heavy step and the ground was not always flat.



Video normale conditionsThe Redmi Note 8 Pro allows you to produce videos in 4k but for these videos to be fluid, the phone must be powerful enough. I made the following video on a cloudy day where there are big differences in brightness, this allows to see if the phone adapts quickly.



The sharpness of the 4k video is really good despite the poor light conditions, there is no digital noise and the sensor adapts fairly quickly to changes in brightness. It is very clear that the phone constantly calculates the distribution between light and dark areas, the changes in the aperture are visible. Overall, the Redmi Note 8 Pro is doing very well.

Slow motion 960fps
The Redmi Note 8 Pro has a 960 fps slow motion video mode, which means that every second it captures 960 frames where a normal video captures 25 fps. What's the point? By capturing so many frames in one second, you can capture even the slightest movement such as the flapping of an insect's wing. This slow-motion video mode should therefore in theory open the door to many possibilities. As suggested by one of my visitors, I filmed a stopwatch in slow motion mode to see if the phone was really capable of recording 960 frames per second. Unfortunately this is not the case because if the phone was able to capture that many images, you could see every hundredth of a second on the stopwatch.
In addition to not capturing all 960 images per second, it is not possible to film more than a few seconds in total, so you have very little time to film what you want to film. It's a shame because having a real 960 fps mode would have been very interesting.



Video low light

After the stabilization test and the daylight video test, I was curious to see what the Redmi Note 8 Pro could offer in terms of night video. I didn't choose the easiness for this test because I filmed a car ride at night where there is a huge difference in light between the darkness of the night and the car headlights. Since the video was taken inside, I also add the difficulty of focusing in relation to the windshield.



I think the result is really good because even if the digital noise is visible, the phone adapts perfectly to the differences in light and it does so quickly. The sharpness of the video is perfectly acceptable for this kind of condition.

Audio quality

To test the quality of the phone's audio output, I connect the device's audio output to a measuring tool, then play sounds on all frequencies and measure the differences between the original sound and the sound produced by the phone. In this way I measure the phone's ability to correctly reproduce all sounds.
Frequency Respons : 0.11 / -0.17
Noise Level : -93.3
Dynamic Range : 93.1
THD : 17.802
Intermodulation : 14.994
Stereo crosstalk : -89
When I first tested the sound of the Redmi Note 8 pro for the first time, it made a very good impression on me. However, when I turned up the volume to push it all the way, I clearly heard the sound degrade. This observation was confirmed with the technical test below because when the volume is pushed to the maximum, the sound presents a significant distortion. To enjoy better sound quality, it will therefore be necessary to reduce the volume by 2 or 3 notches below the maximum. Under these conditions the Redmi Note 8 pro offers a good performance, it offers a better sound than its predecessor the Redmi Note 7.

Frequency Response
This test is intended to test the device's ability to correctly reproduce all frequencies. The white line in the middle of the graph is the ideal situation and the other colors come from tests on different phones. A deviation from the reference line indicates a deviation from the ideal situation. To see good sound at all frequencies, it is therefore necessary to get as close as possible to the reference line. redmi note 8 pro noise level
The Redmi Note 8 Pro seems a little more unstable in the reproduction of all frequencies, its curve is much less smoothed than that of the Redmi Note 7. I didn't find any problems when listening, but the technical test shows that the phone deviates from the reference in high frequencies.

Dynamic Range
This test is designed to test a phone's ability to play sounds at different volume levels. Here too, the phones must be as close as possible to the reference.redmi note 8 pro dynamic range
This test shows that the Redmi Note 8 Pro offers a much better performance than the Redmi Note 7, once the volume is adjusted correctly, the sound is better than on the previous model.

Noise Level
This test aims to identify if the device under test is able to reproduce sounds without too much noise. A high score indicates a low parasite rate, a lower score indicates a higher presence of parasites.redmi note 8 pro noise level
The Redmi Note 8 manages to produce a sound of a higher quality than the Redmi Note 7, it even comes very close to the reference over a whole frequency range

Concert recording
The purpose of this test is to measure the recording quality of the phone when there is a lot of ambient noise. Since I don't have the opportunity to go to a concert every time I test a phone, I simulate the noise of a concert in a closed environment.

Screen quality

To test the screen, I use a colorimetric probe that measures the color accuracy of a screen, as well as other parameters to see if a screen is able to correctly reproduce an image. I also test the brightness level to determine if the screen will be able to display an image in full sunlight.
Screen size : 6.53
Resolution : 1080 x 2340
Ratio : 19.5:9
Protection : Corning Gorilla Glass 5
Type : LTPS LCD
% occupancy : 84
dE white : 5.9
dE red : 4.9
dE green : 2.7
dE blue : 1.5
dE jaune : 3.6
dE cyan : 3.0
dE magenta : 4.5
Contrast : 1500:1
Brightness : 570
Colorimetry
redmi note 8 pro screen calibration

The screen of the Redmi Note 8 Pro made a good impression at the first start and this good impression is confirmed with the probe. I get a dE of 3.7, it's a little less good than the Redmi Note 7 with which I got a 3.1 but the eye doesn't perceive small differences like this. The Redmi Note 8 Pro gets a better score for white and that's probably why it gives the impression of being better than the Redmi Note 7. It is on the green that the screen deviates the most from its trajectory but in use you will not perceive anything without passing through a probe.


Top 10 - ranking of the best screens by colorimetry
1. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g dE = 0.73
2. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 dE = 1.2
3. Samsung Galaxy S20 dE = 1.4
4. Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite dE = 1.46
5. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s dE = 1.47
6. Honor 9x dE = 1.5
7. Poco F2 Pro dE = 1.73
8. Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite dE = 1.91
9. Samsung Galaxy S10+ dE = 2.01
10. Xiaomi Mi 9t Pro dE = 2.11

Number of smartphones in the ranking:31
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:16/31

Note: the colorimetric difference is measured in dE. After three, the human eye will perceive a colorimetric difference, so the dE should be the lowest. The tests were all carried out with a colorimetric probe.

Brightness / Contrast
I measured a brightness of 570 cd/m² while the phone was announced with 500 cd/m², so it's a nice surprise. With such brightness, you can use the phone in the sun.

The Redmi Note 8 Pro offers a contrast of 1500:1, which is a normal value for this type of display. Black is not absolutely black, only Amoled displays are able to offer a much higher contrast.

Light Absorption/Reflection
The smartphone screen reflect light and sometimes turn them into a real mirror. This mirror effect makes it harder to read.

The absorption index below indicates the percentage of light absorbed by the screen. The readability of a screen is better when the absorption index is high.

Phone tested:% light absorption
Samsung Galaxy S10+58
Xiaomi Mi 9T Pro52
Honor 9x65
Redmi Note 9s55
Motorola G8 Power60
Realme 654
Umidigi F248
Poco F2 Pro52
Redmi Note 956
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite53
Samsung Galaxy S2047
Samsung Galaxy A21s53
The phones tested have an average absroption rate of54 %

Biometry

The Redmi Note 8 Pro can be unlocked by a fingerprint sensor located on the back of the phone or facial detection. The fingerprint sensor is smaller than usual and its position below the photo sensors gives the impression that the phone has an additional photo sensor.

Overall, both unlocking methods work correctly. However, I had a problem with the fingerprint sensor that was triggered when the phone was in my pocket. The phone then starts to vibrate slightly to signal a failed identification and then after several attempts the phone has to be unlocked with the code.

Operating system


Encoutered bugs

As with the other Xiaomis under MIUI I didn't encounter any bugs, I just encountered a small annoying problem with the Xiaomi browser. When I start a session with Chrome, some links call the Xiaomi browser, I had the problem to access my Amazon account. I haven't found a way to get around the problem.

Accessories Redmi Note 8 Pro

To better enjoy your experience with your smartphone, I offer links to all kinds of accessories that you might find useful

Protective cover / case xiaomi redmi note 8 pro
Screen protection film xiaomi redmi note 8 pro
Memory card xiaomi redmi note 8 pro
USB Cable / Charger xiaomi redmi note 8 pro
Headphones xiaomi redmi note 8 pro
Bike rack xiaomi redmi note 8 pro

Compare Redmi Note 8 Pro with the others

I assigned a score of 1 to 10 for each test that determines the strengths and weaknesses of a product. I am using 0 for criteria that have not (yet) been tested. A score of 1 to 3 indicates poor performance (and yes, it does), a score of 4 to 6 indicates average performance, a score of 7 to 8 indicates good performance, and a score of 9 and 10 indicates exceptional performance. .
The score is calculated based on my measurements and when there are no measurements, it is a subjective opinion based on my experience.

The scores are not static, they change over time because the performance of new products changes and this must be taken into account.

Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro
Finish quality7.006.00
Battery performance7.008.00
CPU performance7.006.00
GPU performance7.006.00
Screen quality7.007.00
Photo quality7.005.00
Video quality7.005.00
Wi-Fi performance8.007.00
Mobile download speed6.005.00
Mobile network sensitivity8.006.00
Frequency coverage7.007.00
Audio quality7.006.00
GPS performance7.006.00
Operating system8.008.00
Overall score10088
Global ranking
1. Samsung Galaxy S20 112 / 140
2. Poco F2 Pro 111 / 140
3. Samsung Galaxy S10+ 107 / 140
4. Xiaomi Mi 9t Pro 106 / 140
5. Poco X3 102 / 140
6. Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite 101 / 140
7. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g 101 / 140
8. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro 100 / 140
9. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s 98 / 140
10. Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite 98 / 140
11. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 97 / 140
12. Xiaomi Redmi Note 7 94 / 140
13. Realme 6 93 / 140
14. Xiaomi Mi A3 89 / 140
15. Motorola G8 Power 89 / 140
16. Nokia 5.3 89 / 140
17. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 88 / 140
18. Honor 9x 88 / 140
19. Meizu Note 9 86 / 140
20. Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite 86 / 140
21. Xiaomi Redmi Note 5 85 / 140
22. Umidigi S3 Pro 83 / 140
23. Samsung Galaxy A21s 82 / 140
24. Umidigi F2 82 / 140
25. Redmi 9a 81 / 140
26. Ulefone Armor 7e 80 / 140
27. Redmi 9c 80 / 140
28. Doogee S58 Pro 78.5 / 140
29. Honor 8x 78 / 140
30. Umidigi F1 77 / 140
31. Huawei Y6 2019 74 / 140
32. Oukitel C21 69.5 / 110
33. Elephone U5 0 / 0
34. Umidigi Bison 0 / 0
35. Poco M3 0 / 0

Test / Review conclusion

The Redmi Note 8 Pro is a phone that takes a different technical direction. It is equipped with a CPU/GPU combination unique in the Redmi range and comes on the market with another type of sensor. One could almost wonder if it is a Redmi because it is so different from the Redmi Note 8. This difference has a price, the Redmi Note 8 Pro is sold almost 100€ more than the normal version. Is the price difference justified? It depends on your expectations. The difference between a Redmi Note 7 and a Redmi Note 8 is not very significant, the difference between a Redmi Note 8 and a Redmi Note 8 Pro is more important.

The Redmi Note 8 Pro is more powerful and you can feel it when you use it. The screens scroll faster, the phone reacts faster overall. It is capable of taking 64 million pixel photos and applying sharp processing without slowing down. The screen is larger, the battery life is better. Redmi Note 8 Pro therefore outperforms Redmi Note 8 in several areas but this does not mean that Redmi Note 8 is not good, on the contrary but if you are more demanding, the Pro version is for you.

The Redmi range had not yet attacked this price range but the bet is quite successful. Yes, the phone is the most expensive Redmi but it is also the best.


Strengths
[+] Overall performance
[+] Performance download wifi
[+] Battery life
[+] Sharpness of photos in good light


Weaknesses
[-] MIUI parameters become too complicated
[-] Need to increase exposure to get all the details of a photo when the light is not good
[-] Forced use of Xiaomi's browser in some cases


Alternatives to this product

Comments

Join the discussion / Ask your questions

Your comment will be published after validation. I respond to over 1500 comments a year in my spare time, so I can't always respond very quickly. Your email address will not be publicly visible and it will not be used for commercial purposes.









Be notified by email when a response is published