Did you like my test?
Remember to share it with your friends :-) I don't have a budget for advertising, thank you!
Share on Facebook


I tested several Xiaomi's last year and each time I came to the conclusion that no other brand could offer such a good price/performance/quality ratio.
At the beginning of 2020, I diversified my portfolio by testing a lot of other brands and I discovered Realme with the Realme 6 which finally offers a credible competition to Xiaomi...but for how long?

Xiaomi comes back with a new generation and my first Xiaomi this year will be the Redmi Note 9s which is positioned as an evolution of the Redmi Note 8 Pro while this one is still selling very well. I'm going to end up wondering if Xiaomi's biggest competitor isn't Xiaomi itself after all.

Coupon code / Gearbest coupon
Link: Redmi Note 9s 4Gb
Redmi Note 9s 6Gb
Codes:
GBREDMIN9S123 (4Gb version)
GBNOTE9S456 (6Gb version)

Manufacturer web site:
Mi.com

My test, your questions

How are my tests different from others on the web?
- I buy the devices with my money most of the time, price is just as important as it is for you!
- I keep the devices at least a few weeks (sometimes more) to see what they are worth in real conditions.
- I answer (when possible) questions to help you decide before you buy
- My blog is available in 6 languages: French, Dutch, English, German, Spanish and Italian.
- I don't live off my blog, nobody pays me to do these tests, I'm completely independent.
- My pages are not full of ads

Other tests:
Poco F2 review - test - specs
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s test, review and price - 2 Comment(s)
Realme 6 test, review and price - 2 Comment(s)
Motorola G8 Power test, review and price
Umidigi F2 test / review / specs
Honor 9x: test / review & specs
Samsung Galaxy A70 test / review / opinion
Xiaomi Mi 9T Pro test, review and price
Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite test, review and price - 4 Comment(s)
Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro test / review and price - 9 Comment(s)

Price Redmi Note 9s

The list below shows the prices for the Redmi Note 9s from more than 50 sites around the world. If you are not satisfied with any price, you can subscribe to a price alert to be the first to be notified when the price drops.


The links below are advertising links that allow me to buy the tested material in complete neutrality. If you like the work done on this blog, you can support me by buying through these links. It will cost you absolutely nothing, you will always benefit from the best prices.
189.24 USD - (2020-05-27 13:51) Xiaomi Redmi Note 9S Smartphone (4GB RAM 64GB ROM - (Aliexpress - CN)
189.24 USD - (2020-05-27 12:44) Xiaomi Redmi Note 9S Smartphone (4GB RAM 64GB ROM - (Aliexpress - CN)
189.24 USD - (2020-05-27 15:50) Xiaomi Redmi Note 9S Smartphone (4GB RAM 64GB ROM - (Aliexpress - CN)
189.24 USD - (2020-05-28 05:28) Xiaomi Redmi Note 9S Smartphone (4GB RAM 64GB ROM - (Aliexpress - CN)
189.24 USD - (2020-05-28 01:43) Xiaomi Redmi Note 9S Smartphone (4GB RAM 64GB ROM - (Aliexpress - CN)
194.95 USD - (2020-05-28 00:13) Used - Like New: OB Xiaomi Redmi Note 9S 64GB Dual - (Newegg - USA)
201.99 USD - (2020-05-28 00:13) Xiaomi Redmi Note 9S - 6.67" Display - 48MP Camera - (Newegg - USA)
203.23 USD - (2020-05-28 05:36) Redmi Note 9S - Smartphone con Pantalla 6,67” FH - (Amazon.es - ES)
203.25 USD - (2020-05-28 05:36) Redmi Note 9S - Smartphone con Pantalla 6,67” FH - (Amazon.es - ES)
204.95 USD - (2020-05-28 00:13) Xiaomi Redmi Note 9S 64GB Dual SIM GSM Factory Unl - (Newegg - USA)
204.95 USD - (2020-05-28 00:13) Xiaomi Redmi Note 9S 64GB Dual SIM GSM Factory Unl - (Newegg - USA)
204.95 USD - (2020-05-28 00:13) Xiaomi Redmi Note 9S 64GB Dual SIM GSM Factory Unl - (Newegg - USA)
211.9 USD - (2020-05-27 15:37) Xiaomi Redmi Note 9S 6.67" 48MP International Glob - (Amazon.com - USA)
215.16 USD - (2020-05-28 02:58) Xiaomi Redmi Note 9S Dual SIM 64GB 4GB RAM Glacier - (Amazon.co.uk - UK)
218.62 USD - (2020-05-27 14:31) Xiaomi Redmi Note 9S 4+64GB Gris - (Cdiscount - FR)
219.04 USD - (2020-05-28 05:23) Redmi Note 9S - 4GB 64GB 48MP AI Quad Camera 6.67 - (Amazon France - FR)
219.37 USD - (2020-05-28 05:24) Xiaomi Redmi Note 9S - Smartphone débloqué (4 Go - (Amazon France - FR)
219.63 USD - (2020-05-27 13:12) Xiaomi Redmi Note 9S Teléfono 4GB RAM + 64GB ROM, - (Amazon.es - ES)
225.13 USD - (2020-05-28 05:24) Redmi Note 9S - 4GB 64GB 48MP AI Quad Camera 6.67 - (Amazon France - FR)
225.22 USD - (2020-05-28 01:25) Xiaomi Redmi Note 9S 4Go 64Go Smartphone 4G 6.67 - (Cdiscount - FR)
225.22 USD - (2020-05-28 01:25) Xiaomi Redmi Note 9S 4Go 64Go Smartphone 4G 6.67 - (Cdiscount - FR)
228.18 USD - (2020-05-28 01:20) Xiaomi Redmi Note 9S Global Version 6.67 inch 48MP - (Banggood - CN)
230.61 USD - (2020-05-28 02:53) Xiaomi Redmi Note 9S 4GB 64GB Smartphone Qualcomm - (Amazon.it - IT)
230.61 USD - (2020-05-28 02:53) Xiaomi Redmi Note 9S Smartphone,4GB RAM 64GB ROM M - (Amazon.it - IT)
231.53 USD - (2020-05-28 05:27) Xiaomi Redmi Note 9S Dual SIM 64GB 4GB RAM Interst - (Amazon.co.uk - UK)
232.74 USD - (2020-05-28 02:58) Xiaomi Redmi Note 9S Dual SIM 64GB 4GB RAM Aurora - (Amazon.co.uk - UK)
233.63 USD - (2020-05-28 01:25) Xiaomi Redmi Note 9S EU 6 + 128 Glacier Bleu - (Cdiscount - FR)
233.63 USD - (2020-05-28 01:25) Xiaomi Redmi Note 9S 6GO RAM 128GO ROM Gris - (Cdiscount - FR)
239.5 USD - (2020-05-28 03:14) Xiaomi Redmi Note 9S 6.67" 48MP International Glob - (Amazon.com - USA)
251.6 USD - (2020-05-28 02:53) Xiaomi Redmi Note 9S 128 + 6 GB, Glacier White - (Amazon.it - IT)
251.6 USD - (2020-05-27 08:40) Xiaomi Redmi Note 9S 128 + 6 GB, Interstellar Grey - (Amazon.it - IT)
251.6 USD - (2020-05-28 00:46) Xiaomi Pack Redmi Note 9S 4/64GB Azul + Mi Ear Aur - (PC Componentes - ES)
252.15 USD - (2020-05-28 05:36) Redmi Note 9S - Smartphone con Pantalla 6,67” FH - (Amazon.es - ES)
252.59 USD - (2020-05-28 05:22) Xiaomi Redmi Note 9S Smartphone,4GB RAM 64GB ROM M - (Amazon France - FR)
252.59 USD - (2020-05-28 05:24) Xiaomi Redmi Note 9S Smartphone,4GB RAM 64GB ROM M - (Amazon France - FR)
252.64 USD - (2020-05-28 05:36) Xiaomi Redmi Note 9S Smartphone, 6GB RAM+128GB ROM - (Amazon.es - ES)
255.67 USD - (2020-05-28 01:20) Xiaomi Redmi Note 9S Global Version 6.67 inch 48MP - (Banggood - CN)
260.38 USD - (2020-05-28 03:49) Redmi Note 9S - 4 / 64 Go Blanc - (Rue Du Commerce - FR)
260.38 USD - (2020-05-28 03:49) Redmi Note 9S 4GB + 64GB Smartphone 4G 6.67 Pouces - (Rue Du Commerce - FR)
262.59 USD - (2020-05-26 08:03) Xiaomi Redmi Note 9S Smartphone,6GB RAM 128GB ROM - (Amazon.it - IT)
263.57 USD - (2020-05-27 18:34) Xiaomi Redmi Note 9S mobiele telefoon - (Alternate - BE)
263.57 USD - (2020-05-27 18:34) Xiaomi Redmi Note 9S mobiele telefoon - (Alternate - BE)
263.57 USD - (2020-05-27 18:34) Xiaomi Redmi Note 9S mobiele telefoon - (Alternate - BE)
263.68 USD - (2020-05-28 05:35) Xiaomi Redmi Note 9S 6GB 128GB 48MP AI Quad Kamera - (Amazon.de - DE)
268.06 USD - (2020-05-28 02:34) Xiaomi Redmi Note 9S Smartphone(16,94cm(6,67Zoll) - (Amazon.de - DE)
269.18 USD - (2020-05-28 02:34) Redmi Note 9S 6GB 128GB 48MP AI Quad Kamera 6,67 - (Amazon.de - DE)
274.08 USD - (2020-05-28 03:49) Redmi Note 9S 4GB + 64GB Smartphone 4G 6.67 Pouces - (Rue Du Commerce - FR)
Price alert: I have developed a tool that allows me to find the best prices and I propose it to you so that you can also enjoy it.

Send me an alert to Missing email address IncorrectMail when the price falls below USD Please set a price limit Your price limit is not correct

Your email address will never be used for anything else than this alert


Any doubts about a site? I buy regularly on many sites, here is my opinion on some of them:


Timeline


30/03/2020 Purchase of Redmi Note 9s on Aliexpress (seller: Xiaomi Spain)
14/04/2020 Phone delivered and unpacking can start

Why this phone?


I mainly test phones sold between 200 and 300€, so I couldn't miss the launch of this new Redmi. Beyond the price aspect, this new Xiaomi comes with a solid proposal that will again push the limits of what you can buy for around 200€.
The Redmi Note 9s has a 6.67-inch screen, which is one of the largest screens in this price range. With this large screen, there is also a 5020 mAh battery, few devices do better. On the performance side it will tickle much more expensive phones.

For once, Xiaomi did not play the card of excess with the camera because the sensor offers 48 million pixels where Xiaomi has already ventured to 108 million on other devices.

Structure of my tests

I test the phones according to a pre-established structure (see below) to provide you with as much information as possible. Unfortunately, this takes a long time. Some tests like network performance tests take several days and for photo tests I sometimes have to wait until the weather is suitable to take pictures in good conditions. I am therefore obliged to publish the tests step by step, so I invite you to come back if the test is not complete at the time of your visit.

Unpacking

Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s
Lenght (mm)165.7159.2
Width (mm)76.775.2
Thickness (mm)8.88.1
Weight (g)209186
Jackyesyes
USB typeType CType C
USB norm2.02.0
Infraredyesyes



The boxes proposed by Xiaomi are not very original, we can see the picture of the camera and the box is quite compact. In the box we find the phone, a charger and its USB cable type C, a flexible semi-transparent case and a small manual. That's what you can find in most of Xiaomi's boxes.


First configuration


The Redmi Note 9s is released with MIUI 11 and the startup procedure has been slightly adapted. The first change concerns the general terms and conditions and the privacy policy, you will have to accept Xiaomi specific terms and conditions in addition to Google's ones. This is the first time I've seen this with Xiaomi.

The rest of the configuration is quite similar to what's done on other devices, only the configuration of the side fingerprint sensor has been moved to the very end after configuring the email accounts.
The side fingerprint reader is new to Xiaomi and the configuration of it was no problem, I didn't have to test the thumb in many different positions to finalize the configuration.

I had two crashes during the initial configuration, it didn't block the phone but it doesn't give a great impression.


Finish



With each new generation, Redmi smartphones go up a range in terms of finish. The Redmi Note 8 was sober and elegant but didn't stand out much from other phones in this price range. The Redmi Note 9s takes a different direction with a metallic-looking back where blue mixes with green on a fairly reflective surface. The picture will probably give you the impression that the back is made of metal, but it is not, it is plastic and it sinks slightly when pressed. Despite this choice of material, the phone makes a good impression. This is the first time I see this choice of color at Xiaomi, the Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite uses the same kind of material but the color used was more classic. Most phones have a similar size and shape, only the color really differentiates them and this new Redmi does it very well with this metallic effect.

Top

At the top of the phone there are two small holes that are probably used to pick up sound, the infrared port has disappeared. The loudspeaker is quite large, so this should make it easier to position the ear.
Bottom

At the bottom is a very classic configuration with an audio jack connector, a USB type C port and a grille for the external speaker.

Sides


On the sides it is an old recipe with the SIM drawer on the left and the volume and ignition buttons on the right. The special feature of this new Redmi is the presence of a fingerprint sensor on the power button. This is the third phone that I test with this possibility, a trend seems to set up. I'll come back to this in the biometrics section.

Back

The absence of a fingerprint sensor on the back of the phone frees up the back of the phone by providing a virtually uninterrupted surface from end to end. Xiaomi has chosen to place the camera in the middle of the upper part with a block of 4 sensors that stand out quite strongly. It's been a long time that I found that the positioning of the camera at Xiaomi was not ideal, this time it's there, the sensor is in the middle, it's exactly what I wanted. A sensor in this position will reduce the risk of seeing your fingers on the pictures (especially in wide angle) but it will also reduce the effect of offset between what you see on the screen and the position of the camera, the offset will only be horizontal in this configuration.

As I was writing, the sensor comes out quite strongly from the back of the camera, it was already the case with the Redmi Note 7 but this time I find it less disturbing because it doesn't unbalance the phone when I put it somewhere. The protective shell also helps to reduce this effect.



Screen

The screen is huge, with its 6.67 inches it is impossible to use it with one hand. The screen takes up 84% of the available space, the edges are still visible but with each generation they get smaller. The borderless experience is currently reserved for high-end phones.


3G/4G support


Redmi Note 9s covers European 4G frequencies, including support for the B28 700 Mhz for operators such as Free and Bouygues in France.

3G Frequencies:
B1 (2100), B2 (1900), B4 (1700/2100 AWS A-F), B5 (850), B8 (900)
4G Frequencies:
B1 (2100), B2 (1900), B3 (1800), B4 (1700/2100 AWS 1), B5 (850), B7 (2600), B8 (900), B20 (800), B28 (700), B38 (TDD 2600), B40 (TDD 2300)
Which frequencies are used in Europe?

3G : B1 (2100), B2 (1900), B5 (850), B8 (900)
4G : B1 (2100), B20 (800), B3 (1800), B38 (TDD 2600), B4 (1700/2100 AWS 1), B40 (TDD 2300), B5 (850), B7 (2600), B8 (900), B28 (700)

It is of course always necessary to check the specific frequencies of your provider because some European wireless carriers use different frequencies (but these cases are rare). Please note that the frequencies indicated below were valid at the time of writing this article, they will not be updated, so I cannot guarantee that they are correct.

I have added a few other European countries so that you can check the countries where you go on holiday, if the local operator does not support the same frequencies, you may no longer have a network.

BE
4G Proximus: 2100Mhz, 1800Mhz, 2600Mhz, 800Mhz
3G Proximus: 2100Mhz, 900Mhz

4G Orange: 2600Mhz, 1800Mhz, 800Mhz
3G Orange: 2100Mhz, 900Mhz

4G Base: 2600Mhz, 1800Mhz, 800Mhz
3G Base: 2100Mhz

FR
4G Orange: 2600Mhz, 1800Mhz, 800Mhz
3G Orange: 2100Mhz, 900Mhz

4G SFR: 2600Mhz, 2100Mhz, 1800Mhz, 800Mhz
3G SFR: 2100Mhz, 900Mhz

4G Bouygues: 2600Mhz, 2100Mhz, 1800Mhz, 800Mhz, 700Mhz
3G Bouygues: 2100Mhz, 900Mhz

4G Free: 2600Mhz, 1800Mhz, 700Mhz
3G Free: 2100Mhz, 900Mhz

ES
Movistar 4G: 2600, 1800, 800
Movistar 3G: 2100, 900

Orange 4G: 2600, 1800, 800
Orange 3G: 2100, 900

Vodafone 4G: 2600, 1800, 800
Vodafone 3G: 2100, 900

Yoigo
Yoigo 4G: 1800
Yoigo 3G: 2100

DE
E-Plus 4G: 2600, 800
E-Plus 3G: 2100

O2
O2 4G: 2600, 1800, 800
O2 3G: 2100

T-Mobile
T-Mobile 4G: 2600, 1800, 800
T-Mobile 3G: 2100

Vodafone
Vodafone 4G: 2600, 1800, 800
Vodafone 3G: 2100

IT
Tre 4G: 2600, 1800, 1500, 800
Tre 3G: 2100, 900

Telecom Italia 4G: 2600, 1800, 1500, 800
Telecom Italia 3G: 2100, 900

Vodafone 4G: 2600, 1800, 1500, 800
Vodafone 3G: 2100, 900

Wind 4G: 2600, 800
Wind 3G: 2100, 900

CH
Salt Mobile 4G: 2600, 1800, 800
Salt Mobile 3G: 2100, 900

Sunrise 4G: 2600, 1800, 800
Sunrise 3G: 2100, 900

Swisscom 4G: 2600, 1800, 800
Swisscom 3G: 2100, 900

NL
KPN 4G: 2600, 1800, 800
KPN 3G: 2100

Tele2 4G: 2600, 800

T-Mobile 4G: 2600, 2100, 1800, 900
T-Mobile 3G: 2100, 900

Vodafone 4G: 2600, 1800, 800
Vodafone 3G: 2100, 900

UK
Three 4G: 1800, 800
Three 3G: 2100

EE 4G: 2600, 1800, 800
EE 3G: 2100

O2 4G: 1800, 800
O2 3G: 2100, 900

Virgin Mobile 4G: 2600, 1800 B9, 800
Virgin Mobile 3G: 2100

Vodafone 4G: 2600, 2100, 1!00, 800
Vodafone 3G: 2100, 900

Network/Radio performance

Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s
3G frequenciesB1 (2100), B2 (1900), B4 (1700/2100 AWS A-F), B5 (850), B8 (900)B1,B2,B4,B5,B6
4G frequenciesB1 (2100), B2 (1900), B3 (1800), B4 (1700/2100 AWS 1), B5 (850), B7 (2600), B8 (900), B20 (800), B28 (700), B38 (TDD 2600), B40 (TDD 2300)B1,B2,B3,B4,B5,B7,B8,B20,B38,B40
5G frequencies//
//
GPSA-GPS, Beidou, Galileo, GLONASS, GPS, GPS (L1+L5), NavIC SystemA-GPS, Beidou, Galileo, GLONASS, GPS
Wifi802.11a, 802.11ac, 802.11b, 802.11g, 802.11n, 802.11n 5GHz802.11a, 802.11ac, 802.11b, 802.11g, 802.11n, 802.11n 5GHz
BluetoothBluetooth 5.0 LEBluetooth 5.0 LE
SAR (head)0.9600.591
SAR (body)11.274
VoLTEyesyes
Wifi callsyesyes
NFCnono


Signal 4G
The ability to pick up the network correctly is an essential element for a phone but it is only very rarely measured. To measure a phone's ability to pick up the network, I perform a large number of measurements on the same cells to be able to compare phones under similar conditions. The signal is measured in dBm, a value of -90dBm indicates a worse signal than -70dBm. These measurements are therefore taken under real conditions and not in a laboratory, they are not scientific but give a good indication of performance.
To measure network performance, I collect the signal strength in dBm of each cell during my travels. All measurements are performed under the same conditions to be able to compare results across multiple phones. The strength of the signal obtained by a telephone gives an indication of its ability to receive the network well. The final result gives you an unscientific indication of the reception quality of each phone. These results could be different on another network or under different conditions. To fully understand the signal value, a signal of -95 dBm indicates average reception while a signal of -60 dBm indicates a very good signal.

Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s
Average signal : -99.4 dBm
Number of measurements performed : 1860

Realme 6
Average signal : -95.14 dBm
Number of measurements performed : 2301

Motorola G8 Power
Average signal : -96.88 dBm
Number of measurements performed : 1032

Umidigi F2
Average signal : -101.47 dBm
Number of measurements performed : 712

Umidigi F1
Average signal : -96.79 dBm
Number of measurements performed : 298

Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite
Average signal : -94.89 dBm
Number of measurements performed : 403

Xiaomi Redmi Note 5
Average signal : -91.45 dBm
Number of measurements performed : 528

Umidigi S3 Pro
Average signal : -97.13 dBm
Number of measurements performed : 1200

Samsung Galaxy S10+
Average signal : -97.96 dBm
Number of measurements performed : 1445

Redmi Note 7
Average signal : -97.01 dBm
Number of measurements performed : 1430

Redmi Note 8
Average signal : -97.06 dBm
Number of measurements performed : 879

Xiaomi Mi A3
Average signal : -95.95 dBm
Number of measurements performed : 1199

Huawei Y6 2019
Average signal : -95.60 dBm
Number of measurements performed : 1586

Redmi Note 8 Pro
Average signal : -95.92 dBm
Number of measurements performed : 1599

Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite
Average signal : -93.61 dBm
Number of measurements performed : 1900

Xiaomi Mi 9T Pro
Average signal : -88.84 dBm
Number of measurements performed : 1600

Meizu Note 9
Average signal : -96.68 dBm
Number of measurements performed : 937

Samsung Galaxy A70
Average signal : -94.511 dBm
Number of measurements performed : 1975

Honor 9x
Average signal : -97.19 dBm
Number of measurements performed : 2819

Comparison Redmi Note 9s with another device

The graph below shows the comparison between the two devices. The best device should have the largest number of measurements close to the center. The comparison is made only on the cells common to both devices. The measurements were carried out under the same conditions.

Phone 1:
Not yet available / tested

Phone 2:
Not yet available / tested

Performance evaluation:
Not yet available / tested

Download max speed:
Upload max speed:
Not yet available / tested

Download max speed:
Not yet available / tested

Performance evaluation:
Not yet available / tested
Wifi signal
To test a phone's ability to receive the network properly, I take measurements near my router and then remotely (and always at the same place). This gives me an average in dBm where a value of -90 dBm indicates poorer performance than a value at -30 dBm.

Signal strength close to router:
-18 dBm
Signal strength away from router:
-65 dBm

Performance evaluation:
When I measure the signal close to the router I get a signal of -18 dBm, this is simply the best score I've gotten so far.

When I measure the signal at a distance I get a signal of -65 dBm, this is also the best score I've gotten so far.

The Redmi Note 9s exceeds here the performance of the Redmi Note 8 Pro which was already a very good phone for wifi.


Download / Wifi
To test the speed in Wifi, I connect to my router in 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz (if available) and use the Ookla application to measure the speed.
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s
Radio capacity/-97.01
/250
/40
-65-70


Max upload speed:
20 Mbps
Max download speed:
192 Mbps

Performance evaluation:
I measured a wifi download speed of almost 200 Mbps. With this kind of speed, you will be able to stream in 1080p or play online without any problem.


GPS signal
To test the quality of the GPS signal I use the Offline Maps application and I make the same train trip in pedestrian mode. Why? In pedestrian mode, the GPS does not artificially correct the signal to stick to the road, it has no markings, so you can see the actual position.


The accuracy test shows that the Redmi Note 9s offers average GPS performance with an accuracy of 3 meters. The Redmi picks up 29 satellites and uses half of them for positioning. This accuracy should be enough to position it correctly in easy conditions but I'm not sure that the number of satellites is sufficient for more difficult areas such as woods or tunnels.



The road test shows that the Redmi Note 9s positions the car correctly without straying too far from the road. I couldn't test the GPS in difficult conditions but it is likely that the result is not as good because of the number of satellites used for positioning.

Battery range

Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s
Capacity50204000
Fast chargingyesyes
Max charging W1818


From March 2020, I replaced my subjective battery test with a technical test to better measure the real behaviour of the battery. Now I test the autonomy and charging time under absolutely identical conditions. I perform several measurements, so this test alone takes several days during which I cannot use the phone for anything else.

To test the charging time, I always use the same charger with the same cable. I measure the charging time minute by minute to see the evolution of the charge as well as the charging speed. The charging speed of a battery is not linear, it is often faster at the beginning and slower at the end. The charger is compatible with fast charging.

The battery of the Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s has a capacity of 5000 mAh and has been charged from 1 % to 100 % in 224 minutes. This gives me an average charging speed of 0.44% per minute and therefore an increase of 22.32 mA per minute. To compare the performance of the Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s compared to other phones, you should use the 22.32 per minute score, this score should be as high as possible.

Important note: the charging speed is not always linear, the graph below gives you an indication of the battery behaviour.

To test the battery life, I measure the battery consumption every minute in strictly identical conditions to be able to compare phones and also to allow you to evaluate your phone in the same conditions. I rule out any influence of applications that could interfere with the measurement. The autonomy is not linear, the battery sometimes discharges much faster at the end. This is a frustrating phenomenon but with my measurements, you will know if you need to find a charger quickly.

The battery of the Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s has a capacity of 5000 mAh and has discharged from 100 % to 1 % in 999 minutes. This way I get an average discharge speed of 0.1% per minute and therefore a consumption of 5.01 mA per minute. To be able to compare the efficiency of the phone and its influence on the battery, you have to compare the 5.01 score with that of other smartphones, the figure should be as low as possible.

The following table lists the phones tested with the technical battery test, they are ranked in order of efficiency. A higher battery capacity should logically result in a higher battery life but it is not always the case and it does not give any indication of the efficiency of a phone.

SmartphoneCapacity (mAh)Battery life (minutes)Score chargingEfficiency Score
Honor 9x400093426.464.28
Motorola G8 Power5000106116.084.71
Redmi Note 9s500099922.325.01
Umidigi F2515092717.225.56
Realme 6430070426.547.32
Samsung Galaxy S10+410049428.878.3


The Redmi Note 9s is equipped with above average battery capacity but with below average energy efficiency. Some phones with lower capacity have equivalent battery life.

It took 221 minutes to charge the battery, the charging speed is linear up to about 80%, the remaining 20% will take longer. Charging speed is above average.

It took 663 minutes to completely empty the battery, I got a much better score with the Motorola G8 Power which has the same battery capacity but lasted 1061 minutes. The difference is partly due to energy efficiency but also to the fact that the power save mode was not engaged by default (unlike the Motorola).
With this level of autonomy and normal use you should be able to last 2 to 3 days if you use the energy saver once you reach 20%.

Audio quality

To test the quality of the phone's audio output, I connect the device's audio output to a measuring tool, then play sounds on all frequencies and measure the differences between the original sound and the sound produced by the phone. In this way I measure the phone's ability to correctly reproduce all sounds.
Before starting my technical test I do a first subjective listening from the external loudspeaker and then with headphones.

The sound produced by the external loudspeaker is not very powerful, the trebles are quite pronounced and the bass sounds are not deep enough. With headphones, I feel the same lack of volume, in this case it is the treble that lacks sharpness while low frequencies are strong enough.

This Redmi Note 9s is not bad for the music but it is not the best Xiaomi has produced. At Xiaomi, the best smartphone for the sound I could test is the Mi 9T Pro but it's a much more expensive phone, so I compared the Redmi Note 9s with the Redmi Note 8 Pro.

Frequency Response
This test is intended to test the device's ability to correctly reproduce all frequencies. The white line in the middle of the graph is the ideal situation and the other colors come from tests on different phones. A deviation from the reference line indicates a deviation from the ideal situation. To see good sound at all frequencies, it is therefore necessary to get as close as possible to the reference line

The Redmi Note 9s offers a frequency reproduction very similar to the Redmi Note 8 Pro except in the high frequencies where the Redmi Note 9s moves away from the reference more quickly. This is exactly what I experienced with my subjective listening through headphones, the reproduction of high frequencies is less good.
Dynamic Range
This test is designed to test a phone's ability to play sounds at different volume levels. Here too, the phones must be as close as possible to the reference

Subjective listening revealed that the sound was not very powerful and this is also true in the technical test, the difference with the Redmi Note 8 Pro is quite visible.

Noise Level
This test aims to identify if the device under test is able to reproduce sounds without too much noise. A high score indicates a low parasite rate, a lower score indicates a higher presence of parasites.

The Redmi Note 9s has no interference problems, but again we can see that it deviates from the norm in the high frequencies.
The Redmi Note 9s is therefore slightly lower in sound than the closest model in the Redmi/Xiaomi range. In terms of sound, Samsung is still in first place with the S10+ and the A70.

Concert recording
The purpose of this test is to measure the recording quality of the phone when there is a lot of ambient noise. Since I don't have the opportunity to go to a concert every time I test a phone, I simulate the noise of a concert in a closed environment.
Not yet available / tested

CPU / GPU Performance

Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s
CPUQualcomm Snapdragon 720GQualcomm Snapdragon 660
GPUQualcomm Adreno 618Adreno 512
RAM memory4 - 6 Gb3 - 6 Gb
Storage memory64 - 128 Gb32 - 128 Gb
Max memory card/Max 256 Gb


CPU/GPU type

The Redmi Note 9s is equipped with a Snapdragon 720G processor, this should in theory rank it a little above the Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite and the Redmi Note 8 Pro or the Realme 6. I'll come back to this point later because it far surpasses these devices in CPU performance.

For the GPU, the Redmi Note 9s is equipped with an Adreno 618 which again should rank it between the Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite and the Redmi Note 8 Pro and here again, it outperforms them all.

Hardware info
The information below comes from the Device Info HW application. The application provides detailed technical information about the tested phone.

Benchmark 3DMark

I got a score of 2492 points with 3DMark, this score puts it more or less at the same level as the Realme 6 and the Redmi Note 8 Pro. With this score, most games will work without problems.

Benchmark Antutu
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s
Antutu - global274444143242
Antutu - CPU10061266553
Antutu - GPU7124230755
Antutu - UX5403638930
Antutu - MEM485547004
3DMark - OpenGL24921354
3DMark - Vulkan23291299

I obtained a score of 274444 points with Antutu v8, this score ranks it again at the same level as Realme 6 and Redmi Note 8 Pro but if you look at the details I still notice some differences.

The score at the processor level (Snapdragon 720G) is surprising, it exceeds the Realme 6 as well as the Redmi Note 8 for a lower price.

Xiaomi generally has a lower memory performance than the competition but this is no longer the case with this Redmi Note 9s, it exceeds the Redmi Note 8 Pro by far.

If I have to summarize what I see here I would say that Xiaomi has managed to raise the bar once again. This Redmi Note 9s is a successor of the Redmi Note 8, it is sold in the same price range but with 59% more performance!

The Redmi Note 9s is not a gamer phone but it offers enough performance to play most games in good conditions.


Gaming
To test the performance in game, I download the mobile PUBG game and evaluate the in-game experience, graphics level and depth of vision. This game is quite demanding and should help you evaluating the performance of a phone.
With the score obtained with Antutu, the Redmi Note 9s should be able to run games like PUBG Mobile without any problems.

On the following video you can see that this is indeed the case. The game doesn't stutter, the frame rate is good and the depth of vision is maximum.



Photo camera test

Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s
Resolution - front1612
Sensor - front/Omnivision OV13855
Resolution - back4848
Sensor - backSamsung S5KGM2Samsung S5KGM1
Video resolution2160p4k
4.74mm/
1.65mm/
//


Hardware


The Redmi Note 9s is equipped with 4 sensors on the back, the main sensor is a Samsung S5KGM2 with 48 million pixels that can be found in other devices such as the Redmi Note 9 Pro or the Samsung Galaxy A51.

This is an evolution of the sensor used in the Redmi Note 8 which used a Samsung S5KGM1, the biggest difference is in the autofocus but I will have to test the camera to see if the difference is important.

Photo quality


Default app


The photo application of the Redmi Note 9s is very similar to the one used on the previous models of the brand, the differences are quite subtle. We find the following features:
- Photo
- 48M
- Portrait
- Night
- Panorama
- Pro
- Video
- Short video
- Slow Motion (120 fps, 240 fps, 960 fps)

The zoom controls are always displayed in superimposition of the photo capture area and they are always so difficult to read when the scene of the photo is clear, I regret that Xiaomi persists in this direction. If the icons were filled with a solid color or if they changed color according to the background image, it would make it easier to use.

The most important change (in my opinion) is in the settings where it is no longer possible to choose the resolution of photos and videos, so you can no longer choose to produce videos in 1080p or 4k. The resolution of the videos is not even visible anymore in the details of the videos in the gallery. Unless you transfer the video to your computer, you can't see what resolution you're shooting in.

Photo test / studio

First example: ƒ/1.79 1/145 4.74 mm 100 ISO

Exposure: slightly underexposed
Sharpness: good
Colours: slightly too dark
Depth of field: good
Distortion: none
Chromatic aberration: none
Vignetting: none
Digital noise: none

The main sensor of the Redmi Note 9s produces a correct result in the studio. The picture is still a bit too dark but this is the case for most phones and usually the pictures are even darker. The sharpness is however very good, the detail of the car's headlights are really visible, the Ford logo is also clearly readable.

Second example: ƒ/2,2 1/311 1,65 mm 100 ISO

Exposure: strongly underexposed
Sharpness: medium
Colours: too dark
Depth of field: good
Distortion: none
Chromatic aberration: none
Vignetting: none
Digital noise: none

The Redmi Note 9s has a wide angle sensor with a focal length of 1.65mm which allows you to capture photos with a very wide angle. Not surprisingly, the photo taken with the wide angle is underexposed, it is the same for the vast majority of phones. The quality of the wide angle sensor at Xiaomi is always inferior to the main sensor, so this sensor should only be used in good light conditions.

Third example: ƒ/1.79 1/130 4.74 mm 100 ISO

Exposure: almost correct
Sharpness: very good
Colours: almost correct
Depth of field: good
Distortion: none
Chromatic aberration: none
Vignetting: none
Digital noise: none

The zoom function is a digital zoom from the 48 MP version of the picture. The quality of this digital zoom is really good, the phone applies a contour enhancement that doesn't damage the photo, you can even see the dust that has settled on the car hood.

Photo test / sunny

First example: ƒ/1.79 1/878 4.74 mm 100 ISO

Exposure: good
Sharpness: good
Colours: good
Depth of field: good
Distortion: none
Chromatic aberration: none
Vignetting: none
Digital noise: none

I have tested several phones from the Redmi range and have seen a progression in photo quality with each new generation. Photo quality depends mainly on two factors, the first is the physical sensor on the back of the camera and the second is the processing of the image. The sensor of the Redmi Note 9s hasn't changed much compared to the previous generation but I find that the processing has progressed well. Where Xiaomi tended to push the saturation too far to make the pictures more vivid, the Redmi Note 9s offers a better color balance. The colors are much more natural, the sharpness is good, the dynamics of the photo is overall very good. If I had to criticize the processing, I would say that the colors are slightly too warm but honestly this is quite acceptable.

At the same time I test the Realme 6 which is the most direct competitor of the Redmi Note 9s. I took a picture at the same place with only a few seconds difference.

EXIF: ƒ/1.8 1/776 5.58 mm 101 ISO

The Realme 6 is equipped with a Samsung Bright S5KGW1 sensor, this is the same sensor as the Redmi Note 8 Pro. I found that the pictures on the Redmi Note 8 Pro were too cold and here with the Realme 6, it's the opposite, the colors are warmer. From a purely technical point of view, the two pictures are the same but when you compare them next to each other, the color treatment of the Realme is quite visible. This is a choice made by Realme because I didn't get such warm pictures with the Redmi Note 8 Pro. I prefer the photo of the Redmi Note 9s but everyone will make their own opinion according to their taste.

Second example: ƒ/2,2 1/760 1,65 mm 100 ISO

Exposure: good
Sharpness: good
Colours: good
Depth of field: good
Distortion: low
Chromatic aberration: none
Vignetting: none
Digital noise: light

I took a picture in the same place and at the same time with the wide-angle sensor. Wide-angle sensors generally deliver poorer pictures than the main sensor and the light conditions must be good to produce a good result. The light conditions were good for this picture and the result with the wide angle sensor is good too, I'm surprised because I wasn't expecting that. The color processing is more neutral than the main sensor, the sharpness is good whereas it is often a problem on this kind of sensor. There is a slight distortion on the edges and the sky is slightly noisy, these are minor defects. I hadn't yet seen a good wide angle sensor at Xiaomi, we'll have to see if it delivers such a good quality when the light is not so good.

Third example: ƒ/1.79 1/1146 4.74 mm 100 ISO

Exposure: slightly under-exposed
Sharpness: good
Colours: too dark
Depth of field: good
Distortion: none
Chromatic aberration: none
Vignetting: none
Digital noise: none

\The zoom provided by the Redmi Note 9s is a digital zoom, so the sensor zooms inside a bigger image to give the impression of getting closer to the subject. Xiaomi usually applies sharpness processing that works quite well for this kind of picture, but this is not the case here. I don't understand what motivated them to make this choice because they strongly reduced the exposure time compared to the photo without zoom (yet it's exactly the same sensor) and the result is not very good. If you look at the EXIF, the zoom uses the same value for the diaphragm and the ISO but the exposure time decreases strongly. I repeated the operation several times in different places with the same result. I hope they will change this setting in an update because here the quality is lower than the previous model.

Here are other pictures taken in the same conditions, they confirm the diagnosis on the sensor. The Redmi Note 9s is able to produce very good pictures and in this price range, it's probably the best. Look at the level of detail in some of the following pictures, especially the flower, it's really not bad at all!


Photo test / cloudy

First example: ƒ/1.79 1/1064 4.74 mm 100 ISO


Exposure: underexposed
Sharpness: good
Colours: too dark
Depth of field: good
Distortion: none
Chromatic aberration: none
Vignetting: none
Digital noise: none

Like most phones, the Redmi Note 9s produces photos that are too dark when the brightness is less favorable. I tested 3 other cameras at the same time as the Redmi Note 9s, so I was able to take pictures in strictly identical conditions and the exposure problem is visible on each camera. On the other hand, the sharpness is quite good, it should allow to recover the picture by increasing its lighting.

Here are some examples to compare:

Redmi Note 9s vs Umidigi F2

The Umidigi F2 produces a better illuminated photo but the colour processing is not good, the photo is too low in contrast.

Redmi Rating 9s vs Realme 6

The Realme 6 can be considered the closest competitor to the Redmi Note 9s but it does not do better than the Redmi Note 9s in these light conditions. The ground is brighter with the Realme but the sky is darker. The color temperature of the Realme is too warm. Even if the image is less well exposed, the processing of the Redmi Note 9s photo is better, it only lacks brightness while the Realme photo has other defects.

Redmi Note 9s vs Motorola G8 Power

Motorola's main sensor does not compare with Redmi Note 9s.

Redmi Note 9s with GCAM?
GCAM is the photo application used by the cameras made by Google (the Pixel range), this application has the reputation of offering better image processing. I tested it on the Redmi Note 9s but it's quite unstable, it crashes regularly but I still managed to take some pictures. Pictures taken with GCAM don't have a signature at the bottom of the picture. You'll notice that GCAM doesn't offer a better result than Xiaomi's photo application.


I haven't yet found a camera in this price range that produces good pictures when the light is not good. You have to use the manual mode to avoid this kind of problem but I doubt that many people take the time to do so. So the Redmi Note 9s is still one of the best cameras in this price range despite under-exposed pictures.
Test photo / night

First example: ƒ/1.79 1/15 4.74 mm 14267 ISO


Exposure: good
Sharpness: medium, smoothing at the edges
Colors: a little too warm
Depth of field: good
Distortion: none
Chromatic aberration: none
Vignetting: none
Digital noise: none

The Redmi Note 9s produces quite correct photos in night mode, I just find that the smoothing treatment is too pronounced, so the photo loses some detail on some areas. The colors are a bit too warm but it's not too disturbing. The digital noise is almost invisible. The night mode does not allow to change the sensor, this mode is only available on the main sensor.

Despite these positive points, I find that Xiaomi has regressed a bit from the Redmi Note 7 where I had really incredible results in night mode. If I compare the Redmi Note 9s to its most direct competitor (Realme 6), the Redmi wins the battle.

Here is a picture taken by the Realme 6 at around the same time:


As you can see, Redmi may not be perfect but it produces better results than Realme.

I also wanted to push the cork further by testing the night mode proposed by GCAM with the Redmi Note 9s. This application is not stable but when it works, it is able to deliver good results for night photography:


The result is really good. The sharpness is much better than with the default application, the colors are more faithful to reality, the depth of field is not extraordinary but it may be due to a slight movement during the shooting. I had tested GCAM in daylight and I had not obtained better results than with the default application but at night, GCAM produces a very good result.

Second example: ƒ/1.79 1/14 4.74 mm 25600 ISO

Exposure: underexposure
Sharpness: medium, smoothing at the edges
Colors: a little too warm
Depth of field: good
Distortion: none
Chromatic aberration: none
Vignetting: none
Digital noise: none

It's the same observation as with the first photo, the treatment applies a too pronounced smoothing which made lose details but the photo is of much better quality than the Realme or the other cameras I tested at the same time (Umidigi F2, Motorola G8 Power). Here too the use of Gcam will improve the situation.



Video quality


Stabilisation
As for each of my tests, I start with a video made under the same conditions to be able to compare the quality and stabilization with the other devices.


Video stabilization is generally available on mid-range phones but is rarely effective. In the video below, I find that the result is better than what I'm used to seeing in this price range. You can still see a bit of the jerking caused by walking but it is well damped by the stabilization.

Video normale conditions

The Redmi Note 9s has a 4k mode at 30fps and a 1080p mode at 60fps. By default the 1080p mode is enabled. The following video was filmed in 1080 60fps but YouTube may have taken some liberties for compression.



The quality of the video in daylight is really good, the colors are vivid, the sharpness is good and you can hardly see the changes in exposures where on other phones I see jumps in exposures. The overall video is pretty smooth. The Samsung sensor does a good job.

Slow motion video 960 fps
The Redmi Note 9s has an slow motion mode operating at 960 fps. Other Xiaomi's also offer this feature, so it's not new.

The 960 fps mode doesn't shoot continuously, that means you have about a second to shoot something in slow motion, so you have to aim well. You end up with a video of up to 10 seconds. It's a really annoying restriction but with a little bit of coordination you can get interesting results:

Video low light


The video is blurred from beginning to end, I hadn't seen it when I shot it. This means that to be sure to have a sharp video, you have to press the screen to indicate which area should be sharp because the phone might not detect this area on its own. Apart from sharpness, the colours are a bit too warm, the movements are quite fluid and the digital noise is very little visible because the Redmi applies a smoothing treatment. I'll try to make another video later by forcing the sharpness.

Screen quality

To test the screen, I use a colorimetric probe that measures the color accuracy of a screen, as well as other parameters to see if a screen is able to correctly reproduce an image. I also test the brightness level to determine if the screen will be able to display an image in full sunlight.
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s
Size (inch)6.676.3
Resolution1080 x 24001080x2340
Ratio20:09:0019:9
ProtectionCorning Gorilla Glass 5Corning Gorilla Glass 5
TypeIPS LCDIPS LCD
Surface (%)8481.4
dE White3.16,9
dE Red1.03,5
dE Green1.11,1
dE Blue1.22,3
dE Yellow1.22
dE Cyan2.04,7
dE Magenta0.71,6
Contrast1763:1/
Max brightness610433,473


Colorimetry


Xiaomi generally produces good screens and I realize that every time I test other brands in the same price range, I rarely get similar results. When I started to test the Redmi Note 9s I was surprised to find an incorrect colorimetry and then I remembered that Xiaomi had gotten into the bad habit of configuring their screens to a too high saturation level. This gives the impression that the colors are more punchy but in reality, from a purely technical point of view, these colors are not correct. Fortunately, one click is enough to change the situation, you have to choose the standard colorimetry in the display settings. By making this manipulation, you go from a dE of 6 to a dE of 1.47, it's simply one of the best IPS screens I've ever tested. The eye perceives a color difference from a dE of 3, this Redmi is well below.

Brightness

The Redmi Note 9s screen is bright enough with the automatic brightness adjustment to be used everywhere, I measured a brightness of almost 500 cd/m² with the brightness set to the maximum. If I simulate a strong light like the sun, the screen rises above 600 cd/m². With this level of brightness, you will be able to use the Redmi Note 9s in full sunlight without any problem. It is one of the brightest screens I have tested in this price range.

Contrast

In terms of contrast, I measured a maximum contrast of 1763:1, this is a very high value for a screen of this type, this contrast will vary depending on the ambient brightness but with such a level of contrast, the screen of the Redmi Note 9s outperforms most other devices in this price range.

Light Absorption/Reflection
The smartphone screen reflect light and sometimes turn them into a real mirror. This mirror effect makes it harder to read.
The absorption index below indicates the percentage of light absorbed by the screen. The readability of a screen is better when the absorption index is high.

[absorb]

Not yet available / tested

Biometry


The particularity of the Redmi Note 9s is its fingerprint sensor on the side, this is the first time I test a Xiaomi equipped with this possibility.

Before testing the Redmi, I tested two other phones with this type of fingerprint sensor and I was not convinced because I could never find the right position to unlock the phone and I almost always ended up entering the pin code by hand. The Redmi works much better, the finger positioning is good and the detection is fast.

Even though the Redmi works well with its side fingerprint sensor and even though in theory it's a good idea, in practice I find that the fingerprint sensor on the back of the phone is still the most efficient method to unlock a phone.

Operating system


The Redmi Note 9s is released with MIUI 11, I received an update a few days after the first use of the phone and I upgraded to MIUI 11.0.6

Here is a demo of the different screens available in MIUI 11:


If you've used MIUI before, you'll find your way back. I find that MIUI is getting closer and closer to the Samsung experience, there's not much missing to bring it to the same level.
I appreciated the return of the news feed on the left screen because this screen was reserved for a customization space in the previous version, I didn't find it very useful.
The application organization hasn't changed much, I see that it's no longer possible to uninstall an application from the application icon but it seems to be the case on all recent devices.
What I still miss at Xiaomi is an internal search engine that doesn't go looking for results on the internet. When you have too many applications, a search engine becomes really useful but here you have to go through Google to get results.

Encoutered bugs


Not yet available / tested

Accessories Redmi Note 9s

To better enjoy your experience with your smartphone, I propose links to all kinds of accessories that could be useful to you.

Protection cover xiaomi-redmi-note-9s
Protective film / Tempered glass xiaomi-redmi-note-9s
Memory card xiaomi-redmi-note-9s
USB cable xiaomi-redmi-note-9s
Headset xiaomi-redmi-note-9s
Bicycle accessories xiaomi-redmi-note-9s

Compare Redmi Note 9s with the others

Here is a ranking of the different results obtained through my tests. A score of 1 indicates a very poor performance while a score of 6 indicates an exceptional result. The score is a subjective measure, the ranking, on the other hand, is most of the time derived from a measure

Battery life
Motorola G8 Power : 5.5
Umidigi F1 : 5
Umidigi F2 : 5
Umidigi S3 Pro : 5
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s : 4.7
Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro : 4.5
Realme 6 : 4.3
Xiaomi Mi A3 : 4
Xiaomi Redmi Note 5 : 4
Xiaomi Redmi Note 7 : 4
Xiaomi Mi 9T Pro : 4
Honor 9x : 4
Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 : 4
Meizu Note 9 : 4
Honor 8x : 4
Samsung Galaxy S10+ : 4
Samsung Galaxy A70 : 4
Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite : 4
Huawei Y6 2019 : 3.5
Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite : 3

Processor power (CPU)
Xiaomi Mi 9T Pro : 6.5
Samsung Galaxy S10+ : 6
Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro : 5.3
Realme 6 : 5.3
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s : 5.3
Meizu Note 9 : 5
Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite : 4.5
Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite : 4.5
Samsung Galaxy A70 : 4.5
Motorola G8 Power : 4.5
Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 : 4.5
Xiaomi Redmi Note 7 : 4.5
Umidigi F2 : 4.5
Honor 9x : 4.5
Umidigi S3 Pro : 4.5
Xiaomi Mi A3 : 4.4
Honor 8x : 4
Umidigi F1 : 4
Xiaomi Redmi Note 5 : 3.5
Huawei Y6 2019 : 2

Graphics chipset power (GPU)
Xiaomi Mi 9T Pro : 6.5
Samsung Galaxy S10+ : 6
Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro : 5.3
Realme 6 : 5.3
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s : 5.3
Meizu Note 9 : 5
Umidigi F1 : 4.5
Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite : 4.5
Umidigi S3 Pro : 4.5
Samsung Galaxy A70 : 4.5
Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 : 4.3
Motorola G8 Power : 4.3
Umidigi F2 : 4.3
Xiaomi Mi A3 : 4.1
Honor 9x : 4
Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite : 4
Xiaomi Redmi Note 7 : 4
Honor 8x : 4
Xiaomi Redmi Note 5 : 3.5
Huawei Y6 2019 : 2

Display quality
Samsung Galaxy S10+ : 6
Xiaomi Mi 9T Pro : 5.7
Samsung Galaxy A70 : 5.5
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s : 5
Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite : 5
Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 : 4.5
Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro : 4.5
Honor 9x : 4.5
Realme 6 : 4.5
Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite : 4
Motorola G8 Power : 4
Xiaomi Redmi Note 5 : 4
Xiaomi Redmi Note 7 : 4
Meizu Note 9 : 4
Xiaomi Mi A3 : 3.8
Honor 8x : 3.5
Umidigi F2 : 3.5
Umidigi S3 Pro : 3.5
Umidigi F1 : 3.5
Huawei Y6 2019 : 3

Photo quality
Samsung Galaxy S10+ : 6
Xiaomi Mi 9T Pro : 5.6
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s : 5.4
Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro : 5.3
Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite : 5
Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 : 5
Xiaomi Redmi Note 7 : 5
Meizu Note 9 : 5
Realme 6 : 4.5
Xiaomi Redmi Note 5 : 4.5
Samsung Galaxy A70 : 4.5
Motorola G8 Power : 4.3
Xiaomi Mi A3 : 4.3
Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite : 4
Umidigi F2 : 3.8
Honor 9x : 3.5
Honor 8x : 3.5
Umidigi S3 Pro : 3.5
Umidigi F1 : 2
Huawei Y6 2019 : 2

Video quality
Samsung Galaxy S10+ : 5.3
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s : 4.8
Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro : 4.8
Samsung Galaxy A70 : 4.5
Xiaomi Mi 9T Pro : 4.5
Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite : 4.5
Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 : 4.5
Xiaomi Redmi Note 7 : 4.5
Xiaomi Mi A3 : 4.5
Meizu Note 9 : 4
Realme 6 : 4
Motorola G8 Power : 4
Xiaomi Redmi Note 5 : 4
Honor 9x : 4
Umidigi F2 : 4
Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite : 3.5
Honor 8x : 3
Umidigi S3 Pro : 3
Umidigi F1 : 2
Huawei Y6 2019 : 2

Finishing quality
Samsung Galaxy S10+ : 5.5
Xiaomi Mi 9T Pro : 5.5
Realme 6 : 5
Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite : 5
Umidigi S3 Pro : 5
Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite : 5
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s : 5
Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 : 4.8
Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro : 4.5
Motorola G8 Power : 4.5
Samsung Galaxy A70 : 4.5
Xiaomi Mi A3 : 4.5
Umidigi F2 : 4.5
Honor 9x : 4.5
Honor 8x : 4.5
Xiaomi Redmi Note 7 : 4.5
Meizu Note 9 : 4.5
Xiaomi Redmi Note 5 : 3.5
Umidigi F1 : 3.5
Huawei Y6 2019 : 3.5

Wifi performance
Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro : 5.5
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s : 5.3
Xiaomi Mi 9T Pro : 5
Xiaomi Redmi Note 5 : 5
Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite : 5
Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite : 5
Realme 6 : 4.8
Honor 9x : 4.5
Xiaomi Mi A3 : 4.5
Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 : 4.5
Samsung Galaxy A70 : 4.5
Samsung Galaxy S10+ : 4
Umidigi F2 : 4
Motorola G8 Power : 4
Xiaomi Redmi Note 7 : 4
Meizu Note 9 : 4
Umidigi F1 : 3.5
Umidigi S3 Pro : 3.5
Huawei Y6 2019 : 3.5
Honor 8x : 3

Download speed 4G
Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite : 5
Xiaomi Redmi Note 5 : 5
Xiaomi Mi A3 : 5
Xiaomi Mi 9T Pro : 4.5
Samsung Galaxy A70 : 4.5
Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro : 4.5
Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite : 4.5
Honor 8x : 4
Honor 9x : 4
Samsung Galaxy S10+ : 4
Meizu Note 9 : 4
Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 : 4
Xiaomi Redmi Note 7 : 4
Huawei Y6 2019 : 3
Umidigi S3 Pro : 3
Umidigi F1 : 2.5

Signal quality
Xiaomi Mi 9T Pro : 5
Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite : 4.5
Samsung Galaxy A70 : 4.5
Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite : 4
Xiaomi Redmi Note 5 : 4
Xiaomi Mi A3 : 3.8
Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro : 3.8
Huawei Y6 2019 : 3.8
Meizu Note 9 : 3.5
Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 : 3.5
Xiaomi Redmi Note 7 : 3.5
Honor 9x : 3.5
Honor 8x : 3.5
Samsung Galaxy S10+ : 3
Umidigi S3 Pro : 3
Umidigi F1 : 3

Supported frequencies
Samsung Galaxy S10+ : 5
Umidigi F1 : 5
Umidigi F2 : 5
Umidigi S3 Pro : 5
Samsung Galaxy A70 : 5
Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro : 4.5
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s : 4.5
Realme 6 : 4.5
Xiaomi Mi 9T Pro : 4.5
Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite : 4
Motorola G8 Power : 4
Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite : 3.5
Xiaomi Mi A3 : 3.5
Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 : 3.5
Xiaomi Redmi Note 7 : 3.5
Meizu Note 9 : 3.5
Xiaomi Redmi Note 5 : 3.5
Honor 9x : 3.5
Honor 8x : 3.5
Huawei Y6 2019 : 3

Audio quality
Samsung Galaxy S10+ : 5
Samsung Galaxy A70 : 5
Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite : 4.5
Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite : 4.5
Xiaomi Mi 9T Pro : 4.5
Motorola G8 Power : 4.5
Realme 6 : 4.2
Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro : 4
Xiaomi Redmi Note 5 : 4
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s : 4
Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 : 4
Xiaomi Redmi Note 7 : 4
Xiaomi Mi A3 : 4
Umidigi S3 Pro : 3.5
Meizu Note 9 : 3.5
Umidigi F2 : 3.5
Honor 8x : 3
Honor 9x : 3
Umidigi F1 : 3
Huawei Y6 2019 : 3

GPS quality
Umidigi F2 : 4.8
Xiaomi Redmi Note 7 : 4.5
Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 : 4.5
Realme 6 : 4.5
Xiaomi Mi 9T Pro : 4.5
Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro : 4.5
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s : 4
Xiaomi Redmi Note 5 : 4
Motorola G8 Power : 4
Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite : 4
Honor 8x : 4
Honor 9x : 4
Xiaomi Mi A3 : 4
Samsung Galaxy S10+ : 4
Umidigi S3 Pro : 4
Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite : 4
Samsung Galaxy A70 : 3.5
Meizu Note 9 : 3.5
Umidigi F1 : 3.5
Huawei Y6 2019 : 3.5

Ease of use of the operating system
Samsung Galaxy S10+ : 5.5
Samsung Galaxy A70 : 5.5
Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro : 5
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s : 5
Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite : 5
Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite : 5
Xiaomi Mi 9T Pro : 5
Xiaomi Redmi Note 5 : 5
Xiaomi Redmi Note 7 : 5
Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 : 5
Realme 6 : 4.8
Motorola G8 Power : 4.5
Umidigi S3 Pro : 4.5
Meizu Note 9 : 4.5
Umidigi F2 : 4.5
Honor 9x : 4.5
Xiaomi Mi A3 : 4
Honor 8x : 4
Umidigi F1 : 4
Huawei Y6 2019 : 3.5

Final score
Xiaomi Mi 9T Pro : 71.3 / 84
Samsung Galaxy S10+ : 69.3 / 84
Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro : 66 / 84
Samsung Galaxy A70 : 64.5 / 84
Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite : 64 / 84
Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 : 60.6 / 84
Xiaomi Redmi Note 7 : 59 / 84
Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite : 59 / 84
Xiaomi Mi A3 : 58.4 / 84
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s : 58.3 / 72
Meizu Note 9 : 58 / 84
Xiaomi Redmi Note 5 : 57.5 / 84
Honor 9x : 56 / 84
Realme 6 : 55.7 / 72
Umidigi S3 Pro : 55.5 / 84
Motorola G8 Power : 52.1 / 72
Honor 8x : 51.5 / 84
Umidigi F2 : 51.4 / 72
Umidigi F1 : 49 / 84
Huawei Y6 2019 : 41.3 / 84

Test / Review conclusion


Not yet available / tested

Strengths

Not yet available / tested

Weaknesses

Not yet available / tested

Alternatives to this product

[alternatives]

If you are looking for an alternative to the Redmi Note 9s, I see two devices that represent credible alternatives: the Redmi Note 8 Pro and the Realme. I have tested these two devices, so you can find the complete test on my blog.

I will try to summarize the strengths and weaknesses but the choice is sometimes a bit subjective. I won't compare them on size or finish because everyone will have a different preference.

Redmi Note 9s or Redmi Note 8 Pro?

Battery: Redmi Note 9s
Performance: no winners
Screen quality: Redmi Note 9s
Photo/video quality: Redmi Note 9s
Wifi: Redmi Note 8 pro
Network: not yet tested
Audio: Redmi Note 8 pro
GPS: not yet tested
Operating system: no winners

Redmi Rating 9s or Realme 6?

Battery: Realme 6
Performance: no winners
Screen quality: Redmi Note 9s
Photo/video quality: Redmi Note 9s
Wifi: No winners
Network: not yet tested
Audio: Realme 6
GPS: not yet tested
Operating system: no winners

Did you like my test?
Remember to share it with your friends :-) I don't have a budget for advertising, thank you!
Share on Facebook