On this page:
Price Realme GT
Unpacking
First configuration
Finish
Specifications
CPU / GPU Performance
Benchmark Antutu/3DMark
Network performance
Wifi performance
GPS performance
Battery range
Photo camera test
Hardware
Photo quality
Video quality
Audio quality
Screen quality
Biometry
Operating system
Test / Review conclusion
Questions answers

Best new price:
177.385 EUR
See the offer | Amazon.com

137 other prices available in other stores.

Subscribe
Subscribe to my YouTube channel to receive updates.
Realme GT 5G : comprehensive test / review

Realme GT 5G : test / review

Category: Smartphones

After the fall of Huawei internationally (because of the conflict with the Trump administration in the United States), several Chinese manufacturers took advantage of the space left by Huawei to impose themselves outside their borders. Xiaomi is undoubtedly one of the big winners of this operation because with their aggressive policy of occupying the territory, they have succeeded in flooding the market with many models of phones available in all price ranges. This Chinese invasion is in itself not a bad thing as Xiaomi has allowed the consumer to get more for a lower price. This strategy has worked so well that finding a credible alternative to Xiaomi has become difficult but I think I have found one with this new Realme GT 5G. [b][b] I tested the Realme 6 last year and although this model was not yet at the level of what Xiaomi did in the same price range, Realme was definitely the most credible brand to compete with Xiaomi on the mid-range. Realme is back in the spotlight today with the Realme GT, this is a brand new weapon from Realme to take on Xiaomi and also OnePlus. [b][b] The Realme GT 5G is a monster of power and power is usually territory claimed by Xiaomi / Poco and OnePlus. The Realme GT has a strong identity with its very particular design and the exercise does not stop there because the Realme GT 5G also takes up some good ideas from the competition which should allow it to step on the feet of its competitors. So all I have to do is test it to see what's in it.[b][b][b]linkManufacturer web site: https://www.realme.com/eu/[b]linkSite where I have bought the Realme GT: https://www.realme.com/eu/[b]

Structure of my tests

I test the phones according to a pre-established structure (see below) to provide you with as much information as possible. Unfortunately, this takes a long time. Some tests like network performance tests take several days and for photo tests I sometimes have to wait until the weather is suitable to take pictures in good conditions. I am therefore obliged to publish the tests step by step, so I invite you to come back if the test is not complete at the time of your visit.[b]
How are my tests different from others on the web?

- I usually buy the devices with my own money, so price is just as important as you are!
- I keep the devices for at least a few weeks (sometimes more) to see what they are worth in real conditions.
- I answer (when possible) your questions to help you decide before you buy
- no one pays me to do these reviews, so I'm completely neutral and independent...
- My pages are not filled with ads



iiiF150 R2022 : test / review
Realme 6 test, review and price
Xiaomi Redmi Note 7 test, review and price
Umidigi F1 test, review and price
Poco M3 Pro : test / review
Redmi Note 10s : test / review
Poco F2 review - test - specs
Lemfo Lem15: test / review / price
Realme GT 5G : test / review
Samsung Galaxy A52: test / review

Price Realme GT

The list below shows the prices for the Realme GT from more than 50 sites around the world. If you are not satisfied with any price, you can subscribe to a price alert to be the first to be notified when the price drops.[b]
Realme 7 4G LTE Volte Factory Unlocked 48Mp Quad Camera RMX2155 (At&t Tmobile Metro Latin Europe) In...
2021-09-18 13:24
208 USD
realme Smartphone Realme 7 5g Tim Baltic Blue 6.5" 8gb/128gb Dual Sim...
2021-09-18 18:27
215 EUR
Realme X50 5G Factory Unlocked 48Mp Quad Camera RMX2144 128GB + 6GB Global Version (NO Verizon/Boost...
2021-09-17 03:53
285 USD
Realme 7 5G - Smartphone 128GB, 8GB RAM, Dual Sim, Baltic Blue...
2021-09-18 14:51
243 EUR
realme X2 Pro Smartphone con Display da 6.4”, 2340 x 1080 Pixel, 12 GB RAM e 256 GB ROM, SuperAMOL...
2021-09-18 18:27
276 EUR
Realme X2 Pro - Smartphone de 6.5", 12 GB RAM + 256 GB ROM, SuperAMOLED, procesador Octa-Core, cuád...
2021-09-18 17:52
288 EUR
[b]
helpThe above links are affiliate links from companies such as Amazon, Gearbest, Aliexpress,... If you appreciate my work, I would be grateful if you could purchase these products through these links. It costs you absolutely nothing but I get a small commission that allows me to buy the material I test. Thank you very much!

Timeline

07/02/2021: reception of the telephone, the test can begin[b]

Why this phone?

My first choice for a phone is the price, but I sometimes make exceptions when I think it's worth it. The Realme GT 5G is between 300 and 400 € at the time of its launch, this already represents a nice budget but looking at the technical specifications, we realize that this Realme GT 5G is one of the cheapest phones equipped with the Snapdragon 888. on the market. So if you want a high-performance phone at the best price, you've got the Realme GT 5G. [b][b] I'm not a mobile gamer, so power doesn't really interest me too much, so I "sacrifice" myself for those who are looking for this type of phone. Fortunately, performance is not the only strong point of this phone. I think the screen will also be of very good quality, it should also be very responsive. Realme chose the Sony IMX 682 as their primary sensor, it is not a brand new sensor but it is a very good sensor that has proven itself in other phones. [b][b] I also see UFS 3.1, a reasonable weight for this type of phone, 8GB of base RAM, high definition stereo sound, 5G, dual frequency GPS and Android 11 right off the bat. The Realme GT 5G is therefore a very complete phone.[b]

Unpacking

Realme really wanted to create a new identity with this Realme GT and it starts with the box. The box is very large and very elongated, it is a completely unusual shape. The lettering of the box puts a strong emphasis on the brand and the product features are printed in extra large size on the back of the box to further reinforce the message. [b][b] The contents of the box are arranged a little different from what I'm used to testing, everything is more spaced and the phone is completely isolated from the other elements in the box . The box contains the phone, a USB charger, a USB cable, a soft silicone shell, a manual and a needle to open the sim drawer. The content is therefore no different from what we find at Xiaomi but the packaging is more neat. [b][b][b]
Length : 158.5
Width : 73.3
Thickness : 8.4
Weight : 186
Jack output : Yes
USB Type : Type C
Infrared port : No

First configuration

The configuration of the Realme GT broadly follows the standard Android configuration but I noticed a few differences at the beginning and the end. For example, I was surprised to be confronted with a commercial message as soon as the phone was started. The phone had detected my presence in Belgium without my connecting to wifi or to any mobile network and on the basis of this information, the phone suggested that I buy data packages to be consumed in Belgium and abroad. I'm not sure Realme is going to make a lot of phone operators friends with this kind of practice, I found that to be quite limiting as well. [b][b] The screens following this commercial part are the same as on other Android phones until Realme UI takes over. I hadn't tested Realme UI for over a year and things have changed. Realme will encourage you to create a Realme account much like Samsung or Xiaomi do on their phones. This part of the setup is optional and can be skipped, but builders compete creatively to trick you into asking innocent questions and bringing you back to a registration screen. If you've had other Realme phones in the past, you'll be able to pick up your old phone's content from the Realme cloud instead of the Google cloud. [b][b][b]

Finish

Today's Chinese phones really have nothing to do with what was done 2 or 3 years ago, the level of finish is quite comparable to the big traditional brands. What on the other hand does not change much is the exterior appearance, everyone tends to copy everyone and if you don't look at the logo, you could easily make a mistake between two models from the same range. Poco had already managed to change that a bit with a more massive but not necessarily elegant design. Realme will set the record straight, the Realme GT is truly superb and unique in its kind. The name GT was chosen in reference to the automotive world to give a sporty character to the phone. It's very successful because this black band that crosses the yellow back of the phone reminds me of a Chevrolet Camaro like the one we can find in the movie Transformers. The yellow part has a leather-like texture and the black part has a structure that reminds me of lacquered glass. [b][b]
The back plays a big role in a phone's visual identity, but it doesn't stop there. The outline of the phone is metallic and acts as a junction between the yellow part on the back and the black part with the screen. The buttons also have a metallic appearance. On the other hand, the volume buttons are on the left, it is a completely unusual position which will require some adaptation time, especially if you do not have large hands. [b][b]
The photo block is perfectly integrated into the back of the phone, it hardly protrudes from the back of the phone, it is very rare and it gives a very elegant appearance on the phone. The black strip on the back of the phone perfectly follows the line of the photo block, so we don't have the impression here that the photo block is an external module that has been forcibly grafted into the phone. [b][b]
Below is a classic configuration with a speaker, the USB type C port and an audio output jack. The other speaker is integrated into the listening area. [b][b]
The Realme GT 5G plays the card of excess for performance, but this does not translate into the presence of a huge screen. Realme has chosen a 6.43 inch screen and this allows the phone to have a smaller size and weight than the equivalent models from Poco / Xiaomi. The selfie camera is present in the form of a punch, it is positioned at the top left of the screen and I find it quite large for a phone in this range. The borders are not very thick but the Realme does not really offer a "borderless" experience. The screen occupies 84% of the available surface. [b][b] This Realme GT smells a bit like testosterone from an American muscle car, I love the result but it's very subjective and Realme made a rather divisive choice ... love it or hate it. [b][b][b]

Specifications

[b]The information below comes from the Device Info HW application. The application provides detailed technical information about the tested phone. I tested the 8Gb / 128 Gb version of Realme GT 5G, there is also a 12Gb / 256 Gb version. The following screenshots show most of the technical characteristics of the phone. [b][b] I haven't tested many Realme brand phones, so I don't see any common components that I could possibly compare with other phones. What is certain is that the Realme GT 5G is equipped with a lot of elements that I have never tested before. The modem is a Snapdragon X60 that can only be found on top of the range (ex: OneNote 9 Pro, Samsung Galaxy S21, Xiaomi Mi 11, ...) and as I have not tested any of these other phones, I am curious to see if this modem will provide good network sensitivity. The sound chipset is also a chipset that I have never tested. [b][b] Looking around, I noticed that the Realme GT 5G re-uses a maximum of components from the One Plus 9 Pro and the Vivo X60 Pro. The Realme brand is part of the same group as OnePlus, Oppo and Vivo. This therefore explains why these phones share so many similarities. [b][b][b]

CPU / GPU Performance

CPU : Qualcomm Snapdragon 888
GPU : AdreNo 660
Memory (RAM) : 8 - 12 Gb
Storage : 128 - 256 Gb
[b][b]The Realme GT is one of the best performing phones at the time of this writing. It is equipped with a Snapdragon 888 CPU and an Adreno 660 GPU, this combination should result in an Antutu score above 800,000 points. It is the most powerful phone that I have had the opportunity to test. [b][b] With this kind of material, nothing can resist Realme GT, so you can play Fortnite (or similar game) with maximum detail. Its cooling system should also prevent overheating as it does on some phones. [b][b][b]

Benchmark Antutu/3DMark

Is the Realme GT the most powerful? I'm not going to prolong the suspense, yes, this is arguably one of the most powerful phones available today. I got a score of over 800,000 points on Antutu, this is the highest score I got on a phone. Beyond the score, if I look in detail I see that it is especially the Adreno GPU that stands out the most, it outclasses the Poco F3 by 30% while the Poco was already very powerful. The use of UFS 3.1 as on the Poco drives the point home even more, the Realme is ultra fluid and responsive for any task. If you buy this Realme and then switch to a less powerful model, you might see a big difference. [b][b] The Realme GT is equipped with a sophisticated cooling system which helps to dissipate heat better and testing a phone with Antutu helps to see if the heat dissipation is effective. The temperature of the phone rose 13 ° C during the test, in itself it is nothing extraordinary but I clearly felt the heat in the bottom of the device but not to the point of feeling an unpleasant sensation. I feel that it is heating up but it is reasonable where with a Samsung Galaxy S20, I have a feeling close to the burn. I find that at this level the Poco X3 Pro does better, we also feel the heat but the dissipation seems more efficient (but the processor is less powerful and will therefore produce less heat). [b]
Antutu score : 811858
Antutu CPU : 207153
Antutu GPU : 314949
Antutu UX : 162726
Antutu Mem : 127030
[b]Top 10 - performance ranking based on Antutu
1. Realme Gt - 811858
2. Oppo Find X2 Pro - 605184
3. Oneplus 8t - 595000
4. Poco F3 - 589677
5. Xiaomi Mi 10t Pro - 581650
6. Oneplus 8 Pro - 579417
7. Xiaomi Mi 10 - 579114
8. Poco F2 Pro - 569559
9. Samsung Galaxy S20 Fe - 565000
10. Samsung Galaxy S20 - 503905

Number of smartphones in the ranking:128
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:1/128

Note: this ranking only contains the phones I tested as well as a few others that I added for reference.
[b]Gaming[b]To test the performance in game, I download the mobile PUBG game and evaluate the in-game experience, graphics level and depth of vision. This game is quite demanding and should help you evaluating the performance of a phone. The Realme GT is a gaming war machine, nothing can resist it. I ran PUBG Mobile at full level of detail and didn't experience any slowdown. I even let a few other apps run while the game was running but didn't see a difference. If you're a gamer, you've found the phone for you. The temperature on the back of the phone rises a bit but I never had a problem with that. I find that the cooling is less efficient than on a Poco but with such a CPU the comparison is not very fair.[b]

Network performance

The Realme GT 5G offers very wide frequency coverage in 5G and while you don't know what frequencies will be used in your country yet, this Realme GT will seriously increase the chances of having a compatible device. The generosity in terms of frequencies is not limited to 5G, the coverage of frequencies in 4G is also very wide.[b]
3G frequencies : B1 (2100), B2 (1900), B4 (1700/2100 AWS A-F), B5 (850), B6 (800), B8 (900), B19 (800)
4G frequencies : B1 (2100), B2 (1900), B3 (1800), B4 (1700/2100 AWS 1), B5 (850), B7 (2600), B8 (900), B12 (700), B13 (700), B17 (700), B18 (800), B19 (800), B20 (800), B25 (1900+), B26 (850), B28b (700), B28a (700), B32 (1500), B34 (TDD 2100), B38 (TDD 2600), B39 (TDD 1900), B40 (TDD 2300), B41 (TDD 2500), B42 (TDD 3500), B66 (1700/2100)
5G frequencies : n1 (2100), n3 (1800), n5 (850), n7 (2600), n8 (900), n20 (800), n28b (700), n28a (700), n38 (2600), n40 (2300), n41 (2500), n77 (3700), n78 (3500), n79 (4700)
SAR / head : Bluetooth 5.2 LE
Volte : Yes
VoWifi : Yes
NFC : Yes
Number measurements : 843
Average signal (reference) : -96.49
Average signal (telephone) : -94.02
Average deviation reference/telephone : 2.47
Min/Max signal (reference) : -93 / -101
Min/Max signal (phone) : - 92 / -96
Choose your country to check if your phone is compatible:


The frequencies displayed below will allow you to see if this phone is compatible with your operator or if you will be able to use it in the country where you are going on vacation.


Signal 4G (before december 2020)[b]The ability to pick up the network correctly is an essential element for a phone but it is only very rarely measured. To measure a phone's ability to pick up the network, I perform a large number of measurements on the same cells to be able to compare phones under similar conditions. The signal is measured in dBm, a value of -90dBm indicates a worse signal than -70dBm. These measurements are therefore taken under real conditions and not in a laboratory, they are not scientific but give a good indication of performance. [b][b]Network signal sensitivity rating
Phone tested:Average signal (dBm)Number of measurements:
Xiaomi Mi 9t Pro-881600
Xiaomi Redmi Note 5-91.305600
Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite-93788
Samsung Galaxy A70-94.5111975
Nokia 5.3-94.98531
Realme 6-95.142301
Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro-95.9221599
Xiaomi Mi A3-95.951000
Huawei Y6 2019-95.951199
Doogee S58 Pro-96.22856
Redmi 9a-96.481000
Meizu Note 9-96.68937
Motorola G8 Power-96.881032
Xiaomi Redmi Note 7-97.011430
Redmi 9c-97.041000
Umidigi S3 Pro-97.131200
Xiaomi Redmi Note 8-97.34879
Samsung Galaxy A21s-97.781000
Umidigi F1-97.82298
Ulefone Armor 7e-98.71000
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite-991000
Honor 9x-99.14899
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s-99.41860
Poco F2 Pro-99.81247
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9-100.791785
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g-100.881198
Poco X3-101.19821
Umidigi F2-101.47712
[b][b]Signal 4G (from December 2020)[b]I decided to change the methodology for measuring the network because I noticed that the configuration of the mobile network changes over time. This makes it more difficult to compare phones because the conditions are no longer exactly the same.[b][b]To overcome this problem, I set up a device that captures 24 hours a day about ten parameters from the mobile network (ex: cell id, rssi, rsrq, snr, frequency,...). I then place the phone next to the device for 24 to 48 hours taking the same measurements so that I can compare them. [b][b] Overview of the phones tested with this methodology[b][b]
Phone tested:MeasurementsAvg signal (reference)Avg signal (phone)Min/Max (reference)Min/Max (phone)
Samsung Galaxy S10+457-93.06-97.39-89 / -98-97 / -99
Xiaomi Mi 9t Pro669-93.69-95.84-90 / -95-92 / -98
Poco F2 Pro1438-91.02-94.99-89 / -94-94 / -96
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g1645-90.77-95.02- 88 / -98-95 / -100
Poco X3821-94.89-103.19-91 / -97.7-101 / -104
Umidigi Bison2343-92.71-96.46-90 / -99-94 / -102
Oukitel C211101-92.04-94.99-90 / -97-92 / -95
Poco M31116-92.09-91.74-88 / -98-90 / -99
Xiaomi Mi 10t Pro1071-90.61-94.03-88 / -94-94 / -96
Umidigi A9 Pro981-90.40-94.01-88 / -95-93 / -95
Redmi Note 9t1201-92.149-91.71-90 / -97-91 / -97
Xiaomi Redmi Note 10999-92.35-93.99-88 / -97-92 / -98
Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro877-89.72-90.56- 88 / -92-89 / -95
Poco X3 Pro1876-91.45-92.91-90 / -94-90 / -96
Poco F31382-90.79-94.2-89 / -94-93 / -98
Oneplus Nord N100896-91.23-96.005-88 / - 99-96 / -99
Xiaomi Mi 11 Lite2875-91.36-91.49-87 / -96-90 / -96
Samsung Galaxy A521427-89.27-93.39-87 / -98-92 / -96
Doogee S96 Pro1259-94.2-91.21-90 / -102-88 / -95
Xiaomi Redmi Note 10s957-92.07-97.62-90 / -102-96 / -102
Poco M3 Pro1247-91.76-102.97-99 / -104-88 / -98
Realme Gt843-96.49-94.02-93 / -101- 92 / -96
F150 R20221002-92.4-105.1-90 / -97-98 / -110
[b][b]I had had good results with the Realme 6 when I tested it and had not had the opportunity to test other phones of this brand, so I was not sure if this was an isolated case or a sign that this brand had good network sensitivity. With the Realme GT, the trend seems to be confirmed, I have obtained very good results in terms of network sensitivity, the Realme GT has managed to do better than my measuring device, this is only the second time that this has happened since I did this test. [b][b]
The network signal was weaker and more unstable than usual because my meter generally obtains a signal around -92 dBm but this time the average is is set around -97 dBm. I think the weather was particularly bad the day I took the measurements. The measurements taken by the Realme GT give it a good lead over the entire duration of the measurement. [b][b] The Realme GT is equipped with a Snapdragon X60 modem which in theory allows it to reach a speed of 2000 Mbps in download and 150 Mbps in upload (in 5G). This modem is also used by other phones like OnePlus 9 Pro, Samsung Galaxy S21 (US / China version), Xiaomi Mi 11 and Xiaomi Mi 11 Ultra. So expect these phones to deliver the same kind of performance.[b][b][b]Download/Upload speed[b]To test the download speed, I have identified some 4G cells offering good performance where I test all my devices several times to see what download and upload speed they can achieve.[b]Top 10 - speed ranking in download
1. Samsung Galaxy S20 D:351Mbps U: 20Mbps
2. Poco X3 D:232Mbps U: 55Mbps
3. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g D:223Mbps U: 52Mbps
4. Poco F2 Pro D:207Mbps U: 53Mbps
5. Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite D:153Mbps U: 68Mbps
6. Xiaomi Mi A3 D:150Mbps U: 60Mbps
7. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s D:150Mbps U: 60Mbps
8. Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite D:149Mbps U: 60Mbps
9. Samsung Galaxy A21s D:147Mbps U: 51Mbps
10. Huawei Y6 2019 D:145Mbps U: 61Mbps

Number of smartphones in the ranking:30
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:0/30

Note: the theoretical maximum speed of a telephone is often limited by the configuration of the mobile network and the congestion of the network at the time of the measurement. So maybe you could get a higher speed on another network
[b][b]

Wifi performance

To test a phone's ability to receive the network properly, I take measurements near my router and then remotely (and always at the same place). This gives me an average in dBm where a value of -90 dBm indicates poorer performance than a value at -30 dBm.[b]
Wifi frequencies : 802.11a, 802.11b, 802.11g, 802.11n, 802.11n 5GHz, 802.11ac, WiFi 6 (802.11ax)
Download speed : 330
Signal / close : -12
Signal / distant : -55
Wifi signal[b]I measured a -12dBm signal near the router, this is the best signal level I have been able to measure so far. I also got a very good distance score with -55 dBm, I also think this is the best score I got here too. The Realme GT 5G therefore offers very good sensitivity to wifi.[b][b]Top 10 - wifi sensitivity ranking
1. Poco F2 Pro -11dBm
2. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro -12dBm
3. Realme Gt -12dBm
4. Samsung Galaxy A21s -13dBm
5. Oneplus Nord N100 -15dBm
6. Poco X3 Pro -15dBm
7. Poco F3 -15dBm
8. Redmi Note 9t -15dBm
9. Samsung Galaxy A52 -17dBm
10. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10s -17dBm

Number of smartphones in the ranking:48
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:3/48

[b]Download/Upload speed[b]To test the speed in Wifi, I connect to my router in 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz (if available) and use the Ookla application to measure the speed.[b]Top 10 - wifi download speed ranking
1. Poco F3 398Mbps
2. Poco X3 Pro 389Mbps
3. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro 367Mbps
4. Samsung Galaxy S20 351Mbps
5. Poco F2 Pro 341Mbps
6. Redmi Note 9t 332Mbps
7. Realme Gt 330Mbps
8. Doogee S96 Pro 328Mbps
9. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10s 325Mbps
10. Poco M3 Pro 323Mbps

Number of smartphones in the ranking:47
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:7/47

Note: I have a 400Mbps line and a modem capable of delivering higher speed, but I can never be sure how much bandwidth is available when doing a test.
[b]

GPS performance

[b]To test the quality of the GPS signal I use the Offline Maps application and I make the same train trip in pedestrian mode. Why? In pedestrian mode, the GPS does not artificially correct the signal to stick to the road, it has no markings, so you can see the actual position. I then use an application to measure the accuracy of the signal. The Realme GT 5G is equipped with a GPS chipset from Qualcomm and with this type of chipset I have never been able to obtain an accuracy below 3m, this is verified once again with this phone. An accuracy level of 3m can easily be corrected by a good GPS application (Google Maps can do this). The Realme GT is a dual band GPS phone, so it can pick up two GPS frequencies to improve responsiveness. On this video we also see that the phone manages to capture a large number of satellites (more than 40) and this regardless of the type of network used (GPS, Galileo, Beidou, ...)[b][b]Top 10 - GPS accuracy ranking
1. Oukitel C21 1m
2. Redmi 9a 1m
3. Doogee S96 Pro 1m
4. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10s 1m
5. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 1m
6. Redmi 9c 2m
7. Umidigi Bison 2m
8. Poco M3 Pro 2m
9. F150 R2022 2m
10. Redmi Note 9t 2m

Number of smartphones in the ranking:23
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:15/23

Note: An accuracy of 3 meters or less can easily be corrected by a good GPS application. Phone performance also plays a role in how fast your display updates, so good accuracy could be compromised by too slow a display.
[b]

Battery range

Capacity : 4500
Fast charge : Yes
W max : 65
Range (100% brightness) : 574.00
Range (50% brightness) : 1057.00
Charging time : 87.00
Discharge speed (100%) : 0.17
Discharge score (100%) : 7.84
Discharge speed (50%) : 0.09
Discharge score (50%) : 4.26
Charging speed : 1.15
Charging score : 51.72
From March 2020, I replaced my subjective battery test with a technical test to better measure the real behaviour of the battery. Now I test the autonomy and charging time under absolutely identical conditions. I perform several measurements, so this test alone takes several days during which I cannot use the phone for anything else.

Battery life - methodology
To test the battery life, I measure the battery consumption every minute in strictly identical conditions to be able to compare phones and also to allow you to evaluate your phone in the same conditions. I rule out any influence of applications that could interfere with the measurement. The autonomy is not linear, the battery sometimes discharges much faster at the end. This is a frustrating phenomenon but with my measurements, you will know if you need to find a charger quickly.

Battery life
The battery of the Realme GT has a capacity of 4500 mAh and has discharged from 100% to 1% in 574.00 minutes with 100% brightness, it has discharged from 100% to 1% in 1057.00 minutes with 50% brightness. I obtain in this way an average discharge speed of 0.17% per minute with 100% luminosity and 0.09% per minute with 50% luminosity, the consumption is therefore 7.84 mA per minute with 100% luminosity and 4.26 with 50% luminosity. To be able to compare the efficiency of the phone and its influence on the battery, you have to compare the 7.84 (or 50%) score with that of other smartphones, the figure should be as low as possible.

Charging time - methodology
To test the charging time, I always use the same charger with the same cable. I measure the charging time minute by minute to see the evolution of the charge as well as the charging speed. The charging speed of a battery is not linear, it is often faster at the beginning and slower at the end. The charger is compatible with fast charging.

Charging time
The battery of the Realme GT has a capacity of 4500 mAh and has been charged from 1% to 100% in 87.00 minutes. This gives me an average charging speed of 1.15% per minute and therefore an increase of 51.72 mA per minute. To compare the performance of the Realme GT compared to other phones, you should use the 51.72 per minute score, this score should be as high as possible.

Important note: the charging speed is not always linear, the graph below gives you an indication of the battery behaviour.

The following table lists the phones tested with the technical battery test, they are ranked in order of efficiency. A higher battery capacity should logically result in a higher battery life but it is not always the case and it does not give any indication of the efficiency of a phone.

SmartphoneCapacity (mAh)Battery life (minutes)Efficiency ScoreBattery life (minutes) / 50%Efficiency Score / 50%Charging time.Score charging
Samsung Galaxy S204000565.007.081217.003.29136.0029.41
Oukitel C214000497.008.051324.003.02167.0023.95
Nokia 5.34000549.007.291096.003.65199.0020.10
Honor 9x4000770.005.191333.003.00151.0026.49
Umidigi A9 Pro4150552.007.521562.002.66112.0037.05
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g4160749.005.551541.002.70163.0025.52
Realme 64300704.006.111104.003.89162.0026.54
Realme Gt4500574.007.841057.004.2687.0051.72
Samsung Galaxy A524500652.006.901239.003.63165.0027.27
Poco F34520657.006.881840.002.46122.0037.05
Poco F2 Pro47001150.004.091536.003.06180.0026.11
Oneplus Nord N1005000808.006.191278.003.91663.007.54
Xiaomi Redmi Note 105000691.007.241728.002.89193.0025.91
Redmi Note 9t5000766.006.532054.002.43148.0033.78
Xiaomi Redmi Note 10s5000636.007.861556.003.21161.0031.06
Poco M3 Pro5000657.007.611647.003.04131.0038.17
Redmi 9a5000694.007.201902.002.63195.0025.64
Motorola G8 Power5000912.005.482792.001.79311.0016.08
Samsung Galaxy A21s5000729.006.861283.003.90166.0030.12
Redmi 9c5000656.007.621915.002.61170.0029.41
Umidigi Bison5000550.009.091471.003.40238.0021.01
Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro5020625.008.031557.003.22213.0023.57
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s5020663.007.571876.002.68224.0022.41
Xiaomi Redmi Note 95020650.007.721808.002.78162.0030.99
Umidigi F25150927.005.561854.002.78299.0017.22
Poco X35160653.007.901654.003.12181.0028.51
Poco X3 Pro5160648.007.961688.003.06138.0037.39
Doogee S58 Pro5180845.006.131908.002.71177.0029.27
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite5260827.006.361609.003.27208.0025.29
Ulefone Armor 7e5500768.007.161140.004.82179.0030.73
Poco M36000842.007.131898.003.16217.0027.65
Doogee S96 Pro6350929.006.841405.004.52424.0014.98
F150 R20228300879.009.441498.005.54243.0034.16

helpHow to read these figures?
The battery capacity is an important element in determining the autonomy of a phone but it is not the only factor. A phone with a large battery may have a shorter battery life if it consumes more power. If I had to take an example from everyday life, I would use the universe of the car. If a car has a large fuel tank, it should be able to drive a longer distance unless its average fuel consumption is higher. The battery efficiency score works the same way, it should be as low as possible and represents the energy consumption of the phone. These differences in efficiency are often related to the brightness of the screen, large bright screens will tend to consume more energy and even if they have a large battery, their range will be shorter.

In summary The Realme GT 5G has a fast charge of 65W, it is an extraordinary speed that I have not been able to test on another phone yet. The charge goes from 0 to 100% in 87 minutes and after 20 minutes the battery goes to 25%. The load is linear, the speed does not decrease for the last percent.
[b][b] The Realme GT 5G has a lower capacity battery than competing phones like the Poco X3 Pro, so its autonomy is less but its energy efficiency is quite comparable to the Poco X3 Pro. The Realme GT 5G ranks in the middle, Realme seems to have played the card of the speed of loading rather than the autonomy. With normal use you should be able to last 2 to 3 days with a full charge, if you play intensely you will probably need to recharge the battery before the end of the day.
[b]

Photo camera test

To test the quality of photos produced by a phone, I do a technical test (resolution, sharpness, chromatic aberration,...) in studio (identical conditions) to evaluate the technical part objectively. From the second half of 2020, I built my own laboratory to take completely objective technical measurements. I then take pictures in real conditions to see how the camera performs. I then evaluate these photos according to my criteria but I publish the photos so that you can evaluate the result according to your criteria.[b]

Hardware

Selfie / resolution : 8
Resolution : 64
Sensor : Sony IMX682 Exmor RS
mm wide angle : 5.58 mm
Realme chose the Sony IMX 682 as the primary sensor. This sensor has been around for more or less 2 years but is still among the best sensors today. I had the opportunity to test this sensor in other phones like the Poco X3, the Samsung Galaxy A52 or the Xiaomi Mi 10T Lite. Beyond the natural qualities of the sensor, we must add the optimization layer that each manufacturer will add. This layer of optimization can sometimes make a pretty big difference between two phones that use the same sensor. Among the phones I have tested is the Samsung Galaxy A52 which makes the best use of the Sony IMX 682, so I'm curious to see if Realme can do better.[b]Default app[b]Not yet available / tested[b][b][b]

Photo quality

Photo test / studio[b]Not yet available / tested[b][b][b]Photo test / sunny[b] Main sensor: Sony IMX 682 I had to wait a long time before I could take these pictures, I had not had a sunny day for weeks and because of this bad weather, I 've got a lot of delay in my photo tests. I went out with 5 phones at the same time and after so much rain the vegetation was lush, you will see below that this sensor did a good job of capturing this jungle of vegetation. [b][b] The Sony IMX 682 is not a new sensor and I have already tested it in other phones like the Poco X3 or the Samsung Galaxy A52. This sensor has performed very well in these other phones, so it should be able to produce good photos with the Realme GT unless Realme missed the software part that optimizes the photos. [b][b]
I chose to use this first photo to illustrate one of the strengths of this phone, it's dynamic range. What does that mean? When a camera is faced with dark areas and bright areas in the same photo, it cannot always render these differences and either the sky turns white or the ground is too dark. No camera can compete with the human eye, but some do better than others. We can see here that more than half of the photo is occupied by dark areas (vegetation, water, soil) and a small part is occupied by the sky and some white clouds. The dark area is correctly exposed and the sky is still visible, we can also clearly see the clouds. [b][b]
If I give a little more importance to the sky (here it occupies almost 50% of the image), we see that the blue of the sky is deeper and the vegetation is a little darker when it is exposed to the sun. The camera has chosen to give more importance to the sky but the end result is still really good because I have hardly any underexposure or overexposure. [b][b] Based on the two previous photos, I can also identify two other points that are obvious. The first point is about color saturation, the colors are very vivid and richly saturated while I didn't use AI mode or HDR. The vegetation was really lush and the sky was really blue like that, the rendering is good. The second point concerns sharpness. The Realme GT applies a treatment of sharpness a little too pronounced. The detail of the leaves is very extensive to the point that the photo loses a little naturalness. This sharpening of the sharpness is visible when you zoom to 100% on the photo, white dots begin to appear on the outlines. This problem is not really seen on a phone screen, but if you view your photos on a large screen, the sharpening effect will be clearly visible. [b][b] I have taken many pictures with this sensor to give you an idea of what it is capable of doing. I have sometimes taken several photos of the same place by activating the HDR and the AI, you will see in particular that the AI still reinforces the colors while frankly the phone is doing very well without this effect. The Realme GT is therefore capable of producing very good photos but it fails to match the photo processing of the Samsung Galaxy A52 and mainly because the sharpness processing is too extensive and maybe also because the capture angle is too low. less important. Apart from the sharpness, I find the intrinsic qualities of this sensor which remains a reference sensor on the market. [b][b][b][b] Secondary sensor: unknown model I do not know which sensor Realme used to fulfill the role of ultra wide angle sensor, the characteristics of the photos I have taken lead me to believe that it is 'is a Sony sensor like the Sony IMX 355 for example. The ultra wide angle sensors produce photos of poorer quality than the main sensor but I find that with sensors like the Sony IMX 355, the situation is much improved. The main drawbacks of this type of sensor are the lack of sharpness, distortions and areas of blur.
This photo alone pretty much sums up what this photo sensor is capable of. The central zone is quite clear (in the foreground), I even find that it is particularly clear for an ultra wide angle sensor. This sharpness decreases quite quickly, the leaves on the sides are not sharp at all. The colors are fairly well saturated, this is what makes me think it is a Sony IMX 355. The dynamic range is not bad for a sensor of this type. Deformations are visible on the periphery, it is quite normal for this kind of camera. I also see chromatic aberrations on the periphery but nothing really dramatic. [b][b]
On this second photo the blur and distortion effects are even more visible and I also see a smoothing effect appear on the trunk of the tree that crosses the photo diagonally. This smoothing is not an optical phenomenon because it is irregular, I have the impression that Realme used a bit too aggressive an algorithm for the image compression. Chromatic aberrations are much more visible here. [b][b] I took many other photos to illustrate this analysis. If you take the analysis literally, you are probably thinking that this ultra wide angle sensor is not very good and if I only take the criteria listed, it is probably true. Now we must also say that no ultra wide angle sensor is able to compete with a normal sensor, so we must evaluate this kind of sensor with another evaluation grid. The Realme GT's ultra-wide-angle sensor produces better photos than a majority of such sensors in other phones. [b][b][b][b][b]Photo test / cloudy[b]
Main sensor: Sony IMX 682 [b] For my first photo trip, I was not lucky enough to have a beautiful clear sky, the sun was present intermittently and the brightness very changeable. These are good conditions for testing a camera's ability to capture bright areas and dark areas. The Sony IMX 682 is an excellent photo sensor and it does very well in this exercise. I had other phones with me when I took these photos and none could compete with the Realme GT and its Sony IMX 682. Most other phones produced underexposed photos with big differences between the sky and the ground. [b][b] The Sony IMX 682 has a good dynamic range, it manages to capture the sky and vegetation without falling into overexposure as is often the case. The sharpness is good but sometimes a little too pronounced (especially in 64 M mode), I see that at the level of the foliage, the clipping is sometimes too pronounced and this gives a less natural side to the photo when we linger on the details. [b][b] The colors are well saturated even without the use of AI mode, they are more saturated than in reality but without going overboard. As the conditions weren't ideal, I found the Sony IMX 682 to be able to pick up the colors faded by cloud cover. I took several photos of the same place with AI mode and HDR mode (see photos below). The HDR allows you to recover a little detail in the sky and allows you to light up the foliage a little, but I find that the Sony sensor does very well without this artifice. The AI mode tends to increase the color saturation in an exaggerated way, this can give a more vivid side to the photos but we are moving quite far from reality here [b][b] Ultra wide angle secondary sensor >
I don't know which sensor was used for the ultra wide angle module of this Realme, I might be able to become one after having did a purely technical test but at this point I don't know which sensor it is. Ultra wide-angle sensors produce poorer photos than the main sensor and this is again true here. I am positively surprised by the dynamic range of this sensor because I expected to have either a white sky or too dark vegetation but in the end, the sensor is doing quite well. The level of detail is much worse than that of the main sensor, if you zoom in you will find that the details are smoothed out and this is often the case for this kind of sensor. I also see traces of chromatic aberrations sometimes very visible at the level of the leaves and the color temperature is not optimal. In short, I do not want to give the impression that this sensor has only flaws because it is not correct. If I compare it to other sensors of this type, I find it capable of producing photos of acceptable quality. [b][b]Test photo / night[b]Not yet available / tested[b][b][b]

Video quality

Stabilisation[b] With such a level of performance, the Realme GT 5G shouldn't have any stabilization issues, that's true but only partially. The phone manages to perfectly compensate for the movements and the jolts caused by the steps are correctly absorbed. On the other hand, the recalculation of the sharpness is quite visible and it can be seen on the videos where there are a lot of details like this video with the foliage. I got better results in more open environments.[b]Video normale conditions I took this video at 4k 30 fps (same for the following ones) on a fairly cloudy day. My usual place to take pictures got overgrown after a few weeks of rain so I don't have the clear view like in my previous videos. I took this first video unassisted from AI mode and find that despite the non-ideal conditions, the Sony sensor is doing fine. The video is smooth, crisp, and produces well-saturated colors. The development is ultra fast, the passage of sharpness between the foliage in the foreground and the foliage in the background is very fast. The zoom on the other hand is not progressive, it literally jumps from one level to another. [b][b] For this video I activated the AI mode which is not often available for video. The effect is especially visible on the colors where the saturation is more important than the reality. For this last video I simply circled around to confront the phone at all levels of light, going from very bright areas to darker areas. The Realme GT adapts instantly to changes, I don't see any exposure jump and the phone manages to capture much more light than other phones I tested at the same time like the Redmi Note 10s. [b][b] The Sony IMX 682 sensor once again demonstrates its ability to produce good videos even when the conditions are not ideal![b]Video low light[b]Not yet available / tested[b][b]

Audio quality

To test the quality of the phone's audio output, I connect the device's audio output to a measuring tool, then play sounds on all frequencies and measure the differences between the original sound and the sound produced by the phone. In this way I measure the phone's ability to correctly reproduce all sounds.[b]
Frequency Respons : +2.83 / -4.64
Noise Level : -96.4
Dynamic Range : 94.4
THD : 0.065
Intermodulation : 0.025
Stereo crosstalk : -81.3
Frequency Response[b]This test is intended to test the device's ability to correctly reproduce all frequencies. The white line in the middle of the graph is the ideal situation and the other colors come from tests on different phones. A deviation from the reference line indicates a deviation from the ideal situation. To see good sound at all frequencies, it is therefore necessary to get as close as possible to the reference line. Not yet available / tested[b][b]Dynamic Range[b]This test is designed to test a phone's ability to play sounds at different volume levels. Here too, the phones must be as close as possible to the reference.Not yet available / tested[b][b]Noise Level[b]This test aims to identify if the device under test is able to reproduce sounds without too much noise. A high score indicates a low parasite rate, a lower score indicates a higher presence of parasites.Not yet available / tested[b][b]Concert recording[b]The purpose of this test is to measure the recording quality of the phone when there is a lot of ambient noise. Since I don't have the opportunity to go to a concert every time I test a phone, I simulate the noise of a concert in a closed environment.Not yet available / tested[b][b]

Screen quality

To test the screen, I use a colorimetric probe that measures the color accuracy of a screen, as well as other parameters to see if a screen is able to correctly reproduce an image. I also test the brightness level to determine if the screen will be able to display an image in full sunlight.[b]
Screen size : 6.43
Resolution : 1080 x 2400
Ratio : 21:9
Type : Amoled
% occupancy : 84
dE white : 0.3
dE red : 1.6
dE green : 1.4
dE blue : 1.8
dE jaune : 1.0
dE cyan : 0.6
dE magenta : 1.5
White temperature : 6474
Contrast : 29545:1
Brightness : 605
Colorimetry[b]
On paper, the Realme GT 5G is equipped with a very good amoled screen but I was surprised by my first measurements because I had obtained a dE above 5 and for a phone in this range c 'unacceptable. Like Xiaomi, Realme has chosen a flashy setting to artificially increase the vividness of the colors, but this kind of choice has the effect of deteriorating the colors. To get a better color rendering, you must go to the screen settings and choose a "soft" rendering. With this setup, I got an excellent dE of 1.17, it's one of the best screens I've tested so far. [b][b] I got a dE of 0.3 for white, I don't think I got such a good score on white. The color temperature is almost perfect.[b][b]Top 10 - ranking of the best screens by colorimetry
1. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g dE = 0.73
2. Xiaomi Mi 10t Pro dE = 0.83
3. Realme Gt dE = 1.17
4. Xiaomi Mi 11 Lite dE = 1.19
5. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 dE = 1.2
6. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 dE = 1.23
7. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro dE = 1.31
8. Samsung Galaxy S20 dE = 1.4
9. Poco M3 dE = 1.4
10. Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite dE = 1.46

Number of smartphones in the ranking:48
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:3/48

Note: the colorimetric difference is measured in dE. After three, the human eye will perceive a colorimetric difference, so the dE should be the lowest. The tests were all carried out with a colorimetric probe.
[b]Brightness / Contrast[b]In manual mode I obtained a brightness of 325 cd / m² which is insufficient to make the screen readable in direct sunlight. It is therefore necessary to activate the automatic mode so that the brightness of the screen adapts according to the ambient brightness. I measured over 600 cd / m² with automatic mode, this is an excellent score that will allow you to use this phone in the sun. [b][b] The Realme GT 5G uses an amoled screen, so it offers a very good contrast, I also measured a black with a brightness of 0.011 cd / m², it is a the blackest blacks that I have measured.[b]Light Absorption/Reflection[b]The smartphone screen reflect light and sometimes turn them into a real mirror. This mirror effect makes it harder to read. [b][b]The absorption index below indicates the percentage of light absorbed by the screen. The readability of a screen is better when the absorption index is high.[b][b]
Phone tested:% light absorption
Samsung Galaxy S10+58
Xiaomi Mi 9T Pro52
Honor 9x65
Redmi Note 9s55
Motorola G8 Power60
Realme 654
Umidigi F248
Poco F2 Pro52
Redmi Note 956
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite53
Samsung Galaxy S2047
Samsung Galaxy A21s53
The phones tested have an average absroption rate of54 %

Biometry

Not yet available / tested[b][b]

Operating system

[b]Not yet available / tested[b][b]

Encoutered bugs

Not yet available / tested[b][b]

Accessories Realme GT

To better enjoy your experience with your smartphone, I offer links to all kinds of accessories that you might find useful

Protective cover / case realme gt
Screen protection film realme gt
Memory card realme gt
USB Cable / Charger realme gt
Headphones realme gt
Bike rack realme gt

Compare Realme GT with the others

I assigned a score of 1 to 10 for each test that determines the strengths and weaknesses of a product. I am using 0 for criteria that have not (yet) been tested. A score of 1 to 3 indicates poor performance (and yes, it does), a score of 4 to 6 indicates average performance, a score of 7 to 8 indicates good performance, and a score of 9 and 10 indicates exceptional performance. .
The score is calculated based on my measurements and when there are no measurements, it is a subjective opinion based on my experience.

The scores are not static, they change over time because the performance of new products changes and this must be taken into account.

Realme GT
Finish quality8.006.00
Battery performance7.58.00
CPU performance106.5
GPU performance10.006.5
Screen quality8.57.00
Photo quality7.005.00
Video quality7.005.00
Wi-Fi performance8.007.00
Mobile download speed8.005.00
Mobile network sensitivity8.56.00
Frequency coverage8.007.00
Audio quality7.006.00
GPS performance7.006.00
Operating system8.008.00
Overall score112.589
Global ranking
1. Realme Gt 112.5 / 140
2. Poco F2 Pro 111.5 / 140
3. Poco F3 111.5 / 140
4. Samsung Galaxy S20 111 / 140
5. Poco X3 Pro 107.5 / 140
6. Samsung Galaxy S10+ 107 / 140
7. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro 106.5 / 140
8. Xiaomi Mi 9t Pro 106 / 140
9. Samsung Galaxy A52 104 / 140
10. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 101.5 / 140
11. Poco X3 101 / 140
12. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g 101 / 140
13. Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite 101 / 140
14. Redmi Note 9t 100.5 / 140
15. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro 100 / 140
16. Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite 98 / 140
17. Doogee S96 Pro 98 / 140
18. Poco M3 Pro 98 / 140
19. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s 98 / 140
20. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 97 / 140
21. Xiaomi Mi 11 Lite 96.5 / 130
22. Poco M3 94.5 / 140
23. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10s 94.5 / 130
24. Xiaomi Redmi Note 7 94 / 140
25. Realme 6 93 / 140
26. Umidigi Bison 92 / 140
27. Umidigi A9 Pro 92 / 140
28. Oukitel C21 89.5 / 140
29. Xiaomi Mi A3 89 / 140
30. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 89 / 140
31. Nokia 5.3 89 / 140
32. Motorola G8 Power 89 / 140
33. Oneplus Nord N100 88.5 / 140
34. Honor 9x 88 / 140
35. Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite 86 / 140
36. Meizu Note 9 86 / 140
37. Xiaomi Redmi Note 5 85 / 140
38. Umidigi S3 Pro 83 / 140
39. Samsung Galaxy A21s 82 / 140
40. Umidigi F2 82 / 140
41. Redmi 9a 81 / 140
42. Redmi 9c 80 / 140
43. Ulefone Armor 7e 80 / 140
44. Doogee S58 Pro 78.5 / 140
45. Honor 8x 78 / 140
46. Umidigi F1 77 / 140
47. Huawei Y6 2019 74 / 140
48. Xiaomi Mi 10t Pro 57 / 70
49. F150 R2022 53.5 / 80
50. Elephone U5 0 / 0

Test / Review conclusion

[b]Not yet available / tested[b][b]Strengths[b]Not yet available / tested[b][b][b]Weaknesses[b]Not yet available / tested[b][b][b]Alternatives to this product[b][b]Not yet available / tested[b][b]
Subscribe
Subscribe to my YouTube channel to receive updates.

Comments

Join the discussion / Ask your questions

Your comment will be published after validation. I respond to over 1500 comments a year in my spare time, so I can't always respond very quickly. Your email address will not be publicly visible and it will not be used for commercial purposes.









Be notified by email when a response is published