On this page:
Price Redmi 9a
Unpacking
First configuration
Finish
Specifications
CPU / GPU Performance
Benchmark Antutu/3DMark
Network performance
Wifi performance
GPS performance
Battery range
Photo camera test
Hardware
Photoquality
Video quality
Audio quality
Screen quality
Biometry
Operating system
Test / Review conclusion
Questions answers

Best new price:
93.9045 EUR
See the offer | Aliexpress

56 other prices available in other stores.



Redmi 9A test / review : best phone under 100€?

Redmi 9A test / review

Category: Tests / Reviews

I usually test phones between 200 and 300€ with some exceptions above 300€. I recently tested the Redmi 9C which was sold for 99€ and I thought I would test an even cheaper phone with the Redmi 9A which I bought for 79€.

This type of phone is definitely less fun to test than a top of the range phone but I can't neglect this part of the market. Even before I write my conclusion, I know that this phone will not perform as well as a 200€ phone, I'm not going to try to kick an open door.

What will be interesting, however, is to see if the gap between this phone and some of the more expensive competitors is really significant. The Redmi 9C was surprising, the Redmi 9A has many of the same features as the 9C, so will it become the best phone for under €100?



Structure of my tests

I test the phones according to a pre-established structure (see below) to provide you with as much information as possible. Unfortunately, this takes a long time. Some tests like network performance tests take several days and for photo tests I sometimes have to wait until the weather is suitable to take pictures in good conditions. I am therefore obliged to publish the tests step by step, so I invite you to come back if the test is not complete at the time of your visit.

How are my tests different from others on the web?

- I usually buy the devices with my own money, so price is just as important as you are!
- I keep the devices for at least a few weeks (sometimes more) to see what they are worth in real conditions.
- I answer (when possible) your questions to help you decide before you buy
- no one pays me to do these reviews, so I'm completely neutral and independent...
- My pages are not filled with ads



Poco F2 review - test - specs
Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite test, review and price
Umidigi F1 test, review and price
Honor 8x test, review and price
Xiaomi Redmi Note 5 test and review
Umidigi F2 test / review / specs
Leeco Coolpad Cool1 test and review
Motorola G8 Power test, review and price
Realme 6 test, review and price
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s test, review and price

Price Redmi 9a

The list below shows the prices for the Redmi 9a from more than 50 sites around the world. If you are not satisfied with any price, you can subscribe to a price alert to be the first to be notified when the price drops.
Global Version Xiaomi Redmi 9A Mobile Phone 2GB 32GB MTK Helio G25 Octa Core 6.53" Screen 5000mAh 13...
2020-10-21 12:20
111 USD
Xiaomi Redmi 9A 2GB/32GB (UK Version + Official 2 year warranty), Granite Gray...
2020-10-22 12:12
79 GBP
Global Version Xiaomi Redmi 9A 9 A 2GB 32GB Smartphone MTK Helio G25 Octa Core 6.53" Display 5000mAh...
2020-10-20 14:44
110 USD
Xiaomi Redmi 9a 32Gb...
2020-10-20 15:52
110 USD
Xiaomi Redmi 9C 6,53 pouces 2Go 32Go 5000mAh Helio G35 4G Smartphone Version globale...
2020-10-22 07:01
109 USD
Xiaomi Redmi 9A 2Go 32Go Bleu Smartphone 4G...
2020-10-22 11:05
99 EUR



helpThe above links are affiliate links from companies such as Amazon, Gearbest, Aliexpress,... If you appreciate my work, I would be grateful if you could purchase these products through these links. It costs you absolutely nothing but I get a small commission that allows me to buy the material I test. Thank you very much!

Timeline

02/09/20: Purchase of the Redmi 9A for 79€ at Edwaybuy
04/09/20: Telephone reception
20/09/20: start of the test, I didn't have time to start it earlier.

Why this phone?

Even if I test several phones at the same time, there is always one phone that I use more than the others. At the moment I am mainly using the Poco X3. This phone has absolutely nothing to do with the Redmi 9A and yet the Redmi 9A is far from ridiculous.

While testing the Redmi 9C, I realized that even though this type of phone is slower, it offers all the basics of a smartphone for a much more affordable price than what is usually found on the market. The Redmi 9A has a lot in common with the Redmi 9C, so it is highly likely that Xiaomi will once again drive the nail in by positioning this phone as a master bargain in this price range.

Unpacking



The Redmi 9A is packed in a box identical to what Xiaomi does for its other models. The box contains the phone, charger, micro USB cable and documentation. The box does not contain a transparent cover.

I was a bit surprised to find a MicroUSB port instead of USB-C, it's been a long time since I've seen a phone with this kind of configuration.



Length : 164.9
Width : 77.1
Thickness : 9
Weight : 194
Jack output : Yes
USB Type : Micro USB
Infrared port : No

First configuration

I couldn't take a screenshot of the startup procedure, the capture feature wasn't working. I had the same problem on the Redmi 9C, I guess it's a voluntary choice of Xiaomi.

The startup procedure follows the same steps as other Xiaomi phones under MIUI 12, there are no surprises here (good or bad).

Finish



The Redmi 9A is an entry-level phone, so you won't find a glass back with spectacular effects here. I was expecting a fairly basic level of finish, it is indeed the case but the level of finish is quite correct. I have tested more expensive phones that had a lower level of finish.



The back is made of single coloured plastic with a slightly textured surface. This type of material allows fingerprints to show up fairly quickly but there is nothing shocking here.

On the back is the photo module consisting of a single sensor and an LED lamp. This is the main feature of this 9A if I compare it with the 9C which has several sensors.

Here is a comparison with the Redmi 9C


As a whole the Redmi 9A has a fairly classic configuration with a SIM drawer on the left, this drawer can hold 2 SIM cards and a memory card without having to sacrifice a SIM card. On the right are the usual volume buttons and the start button. These buttons are correctly positioned.

Above is the audio jack connector and underneath is a micro USB port, a sound sensor and a loudspeaker. The Redmi 9A has only one input (bottom).

For this price level there, the finishing level is really good.



Specifications


The information below comes from the Device Info HW application. The application provides detailed technical information about the tested phone.

I tested the Redmi 9A in 2Gb / 32 Gb version, it is the basic version which answers to the code name M2006C3LG.

The technical specifications are nothing extraordinary except that for this price, I find it quite correct. I see a lot of criticisms about the performance of this phone but for 79€, I think it's quite correct.

CPU / GPU Performance

CPU : Mediatek Helio G25
GPU : IMG PowerVR GE8320 600MHz
Memory (RAM) : 2 - 4 Gb
Storage : 32-64Gb

Benchmark Antutu/3DMark

Testing the Redmi 9A with Antutu doesn't make a lot of sense because the performance will in no way be comparable with the phones I'm used to testing. I have a score of around 100,000 points, which is slightly lower than the Redmi 9C but much higher than the Huawei Y6 which is much more expensive.

So it is not a phone for those who play 3D games but in the next paragraph I will demonstrate that it is not a dead end.

Antutu score : 103411

Top 10 - performance ranking based on Antutu
1. Poco F2 Pro - 569559
2. Samsung Galaxy S20 - 503905
3. Xiaomi Mi 9t Pro - 430403
4. Xiaomi Mi Mix 3 5g - 385000
5. Oppo Reno 5g - 375000
6. Meizu 16s - 374190
7. Xiaomi Mi 9 - 372006
8. Sony Xperia 1 - 372000
9. Lg G8s Thinq - 371000
10. Lg V50 Thinq 5g - 370000

Number of smartphones in the ranking:102
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:79/102

Note: this ranking only contains the phones I tested as well as a few others that I added for reference.

Gaming
To test the performance in game, I download the mobile PUBG game and evaluate the in-game experience, graphics level and depth of vision. This game is quite demanding and should help you evaluating the performance of a phone.

I test all phones with PUBG Mobile because this game needs a minimum of performance to be playable. I was pleasantly surprised by the result. PUBG Mobile is a game that has been well designed because it automatically adapts its graphics level to the phone's capabilities in order to accommodate a maximum number of players. It is therefore possible to play PUBG Mobile with a Redmi 9A but the graphics are at the lowest level to ensure a smooth gameplay. The game is set in "fluid" mode to ensure a correct experience.

The video shows quite well that the textures are not very nice but the game is perfectly playable. I sometimes noticed a few slowdowns but that didn't stop me from playing.

Network performance

The Redmi 9A supports most 4G frequencies used in Europe including B28 (700 Mhz). For an entry-level phone, the frequency coverage is as good as a mid-range phone.

3G frequencies : B1 (2100), B2 (1900), B4 (1700/2100 AWS A-F), B5 (850), B8 (900)
4G frequencies : B1 (2100), B2 (1900), B3 (1800), B4 (1700/2100 AWS 1), B5 (850), B7 (2600), B8 (900), B20 (800), B28 (700), B38 (TDD 2600), B40 (TDD 2300), B41 (TDD 2500)
Bluetooth : Bluetooth 5.0 LE
SAR / head : 0.398
SAR / body : 1.186
Volte : Yes
NFC : No
Number measurements : 1000
Average signal : -96.48
Download speed : 49
Upload speed : 35
Choose your country to check if your phone is compatible:


The frequencies displayed below will allow you to see if this phone is compatible with your operator or if you will be able to use it in the country where you are going on vacation.


Signal 4G
The ability to pick up the network correctly is an essential element for a phone but it is only very rarely measured. To measure a phone's ability to pick up the network, I perform a large number of measurements on the same cells to be able to compare phones under similar conditions. The signal is measured in dBm, a value of -90dBm indicates a worse signal than -70dBm. These measurements are therefore taken under real conditions and not in a laboratory, they are not scientific but give a good indication of performance.

Network signal sensitivity rating
Phone tested:Average signal (dBm)Number of measurements:
Xiaomi Mi 9t Pro-881600
Xiaomi Redmi Note 5-91.305600
Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite-93788
Samsung Galaxy A70-94.5111975
Nokia 5.3-94.98531
Realme 6-95.142301
Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro-95.9221599
Xiaomi Mi A3-95.951000
Huawei Y6 2019-95.951199
Redmi 9a-96.481000
Meizu Note 9-96.68937
Motorola G8 Power-96.881032
Xiaomi Redmi Note 7-97.011430
Redmi 9c-97.041000
Umidigi S3 Pro-97.131200
Xiaomi Redmi Note 8-97.34879
Samsung Galaxy A21s-97.781000
Umidigi F1-97.82298
Ulefone Armor 7e-98.71000
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite-991000
Honor 9x-99.14899
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s-99.41860
Poco F2 Pro-99.81247
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9-100.791785
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g-100.881198
Umidigi F2-101.47712

I made about 1000 measurements in 4G to get an average signal of -96.48 dBM, this is an above average score and for Xiaomi this is a good score as I usually get lower scores with this brand.


Download/Upload speed
To test the download speed, I have identified some 4G cells offering good performance where I test all my devices several times to see what download and upload speed they can achieve.
Top 10 - speed ranking in download
1. Samsung Galaxy S20 D:351Mbps U: 20Mbps
2. Poco X3 D:232Mbps U: 55Mbps
3. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g D:223Mbps U: 52Mbps
4. Poco F2 Pro D:207Mbps U: 53Mbps
5. Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite D:153Mbps U: 68Mbps
6. Xiaomi Mi A3 D:150Mbps U: 60Mbps
7. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s D:150Mbps U: 60Mbps
8. Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite D:149Mbps U: 60Mbps
9. Samsung Galaxy A21s D:147Mbps U: 51Mbps
10. Huawei Y6 2019 D:145Mbps U: 61Mbps

Number of smartphones in the ranking:30
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:29/30

Note: the theoretical maximum speed of a telephone is often limited by the configuration of the mobile network and the congestion of the network at the time of the measurement. So maybe you could get a higher speed on another network

I got a 4G download speed between 40 and 50 Mbps. This is quite low compared to the other phones I tested but it shouldn't stop you from using the phone for common tasks like surfing the internet, watching videos or even playing games that don't require a lot of resources.


Wifi performance

To test a phone's ability to receive the network properly, I take measurements near my router and then remotely (and always at the same place). This gives me an average in dBm where a value of -90 dBm indicates poorer performance than a value at -30 dBm.
Wifi frequencies : 802.11b, 802.11g, 802.11n
Download speed : 38
Signal / close : -19
Signal / distant : -63
Wifi signal
I measured a signal of -19 dBm near the router, this is a good score indicating good wifi sensitivity. I measured -63 dBm remotely, this is an excellent score which is explained by the frequency used by the Redmi 9A. The phone uses the 2.4Ghz frequency which allows you to pick up a signal further away but this is at the expense of the download speed.


Top 10 - wifi sensitivity ranking
1. Poco F2 Pro -11dBm
2. Samsung Galaxy A21s -13dBm
3. Poco X3 -17dBm
4. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s -18dBm
5. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro -19dBm
6. Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite -19dBm
7. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g -19dBm
8. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 -19dBm
9. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 -19dBm
10. Redmi 9a -19dBm

Number of smartphones in the ranking:30
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:10/30


Download/Upload speed
To test the speed in Wifi, I connect to my router in 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz (if available) and use the Ookla application to measure the speed.The Redmi 9A uses the 2.4Ghz frequency in wifi, this is clearly a weak point of the phone as most phones nowadays support the 5Ghz frequency which allows a better download speed.

I got a download speed of just under 50 Mbps. This is not much compared to what I got with other phones but in principle the Redmi 9A is not for people who need speed. With 50 Mbps it is possible to surf or watch videos without too many problems. The phone is not capable of displaying a video in 1080p, so the speed problem does not arise anyway.


Top 10 - wifi download speed ranking
1. Samsung Galaxy S20 351Mbps
2. Poco F2 Pro 341Mbps
3. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro 319Mbps
4. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g 300Mbps
5. Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite 260Mbps
6. Poco X3 251Mbps
7. Xiaomi Redmi Note 7 250Mbps
8. Umidigi F1 220Mbps
9. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 211Mbps
10. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 207Mbps

Number of smartphones in the ranking:30
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:29/30

Note: I have a 400Mbps line and a modem capable of delivering higher speed, but I can never be sure how much bandwidth is available when doing a test.

GPS performance


To test the quality of the GPS signal I use the Offline Maps application and I make the same train trip in pedestrian mode. Why? In pedestrian mode, the GPS does not artificially correct the signal to stick to the road, it has no markings, so you can see the actual position. I then use an application to measure the accuracy of the signal.

I obtained an accuracy of 1m with the GPS position test on the Redmi 9A. This is the best score I can get on this kind of test. The accuracy is therefore very good but I would advise against using this phone for fast movement tracking as the weakness of its processor may create latency on the display.


Top 10 - GPS accuracy ranking
1. Redmi 9a 1m
2. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 1m
3. Redmi 9c 2m
4. Samsung Galaxy A21s 4m

Number of smartphones in the ranking:5
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:1/5

Note: An accuracy of 3 meters or less can easily be corrected by a good GPS application. Phone performance also plays a role in how fast your display updates, so good accuracy could be compromised by too slow a display.

Battery range

Capacity : 5000
Fast charge : Yes
W max : 10
Range (100% brightness) : 694.00
Range (50% brightness) : 1902.00
Charging time : 195.00
Discharge speed (100%) : 0.14
Discharge score (100%) : 7.20
Discharge speed (50%) : 0.05
Discharge score (50%) : 2.63
Charging speed : 0.51
Charging score : 25.64
From March 2020, I replaced my subjective battery test with a technical test to better measure the real behaviour of the battery. Now I test the autonomy and charging time under absolutely identical conditions. I perform several measurements, so this test alone takes several days during which I cannot use the phone for anything else.

Battery life - methodology
To test the battery life, I measure the battery consumption every minute in strictly identical conditions to be able to compare phones and also to allow you to evaluate your phone in the same conditions. I rule out any influence of applications that could interfere with the measurement. The autonomy is not linear, the battery sometimes discharges much faster at the end. This is a frustrating phenomenon but with my measurements, you will know if you need to find a charger quickly.

Battery life
The battery of the Redmi 9A has a capacity of 5000 mAh and has discharged from 100% to 1% in 694.00 minutes with 100% brightness, it has discharged from 100% to 1% in 1902.00 minutes with 50% brightness. I obtain in this way an average discharge speed of 0.14% per minute with 100% luminosity and 0.05% per minute with 50% luminosity, the consumption is therefore 7.20 mA per minute with 100% luminosity and 2.63 with 50% luminosity. To be able to compare the efficiency of the phone and its influence on the battery, you have to compare the 7.20 (or 50%) score with that of other smartphones, the figure should be as low as possible.

Charging time - methodology
To test the charging time, I always use the same charger with the same cable. I measure the charging time minute by minute to see the evolution of the charge as well as the charging speed. The charging speed of a battery is not linear, it is often faster at the beginning and slower at the end. The charger is compatible with fast charging.

Charging time
The battery of the Redmi 9A has a capacity of 5000 mAh and has been charged from 1% to 100% in 195.00 minutes. This gives me an average charging speed of 0.51% per minute and therefore an increase of 25.64 mA per minute. To compare the performance of the Redmi 9A compared to other phones, you should use the 25.64 per minute score, this score should be as high as possible.

Important note: the charging speed is not always linear, the graph below gives you an indication of the battery behaviour.

The following table lists the phones tested with the technical battery test, they are ranked in order of efficiency. A higher battery capacity should logically result in a higher battery life but it is not always the case and it does not give any indication of the efficiency of a phone.

SmartphoneCapacity (mAh)Battery life (minutes)Efficiency ScoreBattery life (minutes) / 50%Efficiency Score / 50%Charging time.Score charging
Honor 9x4000770.005.191333.003.00151.0026.49
Samsung Galaxy S204000565.007.081217.003.29136.0029.41
Nokia 5.34000549.007.291096.003.65199.0020.10
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g4160749.005.551541.002.70163.0025.52
Realme 64300704.006.111104.003.89162.0026.54
Poco F2 Pro47001150.004.091536.003.06180.0026.11
Redmi 9c5000656.007.621915.002.61170.0029.41
Redmi 9a5000694.007.201902.002.63195.0025.64
Samsung Galaxy A21s5000729.006.861283.003.90166.0030.12
Motorola G8 Power5000912.005.482792.001.79311.0016.08
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s5020663.007.571876.002.68224.0022.41
Xiaomi Redmi Note 95020650.007.721808.002.78162.0030.99
Umidigi F25150927.005.561854.002.78299.0017.22
Poco X35160653.007.901654.003.12181.0028.51
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite5260827.006.361609.003.27208.0025.29
Ulefone Armor 7e5500768.007.161140.004.82179.0030.73

helpHow to read these figures?
The battery capacity is an important element in determining the autonomy of a phone but it is not the only factor. A phone with a large battery may have a shorter battery life if it consumes more power. If I had to take an example from everyday life, I would use the universe of the car. If a car has a large fuel tank, it should be able to drive a longer distance unless its average fuel consumption is higher. The battery efficiency score works the same way, it should be as low as possible and represents the energy consumption of the phone. These differences in efficiency are often related to the brightness of the screen, large bright screens will tend to consume more energy and even if they have a large battery, their range will be shorter.

In summary

The Redmi 9A offers a good battery life provided that the brightness is not used at 100% because at this level of brightness the Redmi 9A offers average performance. With the screen on at 50%, I obtained a battery life of more than 32 hours and here, on the other hand, the Redmi 9A offers a good performance. In normal use, you should therefore be able to obtain an autonomy of 3 to 4 days.

Photo camera test

To test the quality of photos produced by a phone, I do a technical test (resolution, sharpness, chromatic aberration,...) in studio (identical conditions) to evaluate the technical part objectively. From the second half of 2020, I built my own laboratory to take completely objective technical measurements. I then take pictures in real conditions to see how the camera performs. I then evaluate these photos according to my criteria but I publish the photos so that you can evaluate the result according to your criteria.

Hardware

Selfie / resolution : 5
Resolution : 13
mm wide angle : 3.43 mm
The Redmi 9A is a simple phone, so it doesn't have a multitude of photo sensors on the back, there is only one. I don't have any information on the make or model of this sensor but it is probably the same sensor as the Redmi 9C which produces images of 13 million pixels and a focal length of 3.43mm.

Default app
The default photo application is about the same as on other Xiaomi phones. The Redmi 9A uses only one sensor, so there is only a photo and video mode. This photo application is designed for better equipped phones, so there is a bit too much information for such a simple phone.

The phone's weakness in performance will impact the use of the camera as there is latency in most actions coming from the camera. This does not prevent the camera from being used, but sometimes you have to be a little lenient.


Photoquality

Photo test / studio


I usually take several pictures in the studio to test each sensor but as the Redmi 9A has only one sensor, I will only take one picture and compare it with the Redmi 9C which is the closest to the 9A.



The difference in colour is very visible between the two phones. The Redmi 9A produces an image that is too cold and this is quite curious as I think the sensor is the same as the 9C. This would mean that the treatment applied to the photo is different. The sharpness of the photo is however quite good for a phone of this price.


Photo test / sunny


The Redmi 9A only has a photo sensor, which makes it easier for me to work on my test. I didn't expect much with this phone as the entry-level phones I've tested so far were frankly bad at taking pictures. The Redmi 9A surprised me positively. The photos are not extraordinary, it's true, but for 79€ the result is really interesting.

The colour temperature is a bit too hot and depending on the brightness, the photo sensor will quickly fall into overexposure or underexposure but overall the technical quality of the photo is quite good.




Photo test / cloudy


The Redmi 9A is quickly put into trouble when the light is less favourable. Pictures are often either overexposed or underexposed but in this price range I don't really see a better alternative. The quality of the photos is quite acceptable.




Test photo / night
Not yet available / tested


Video quality

Stabilisation


The Redmi 9A does not have video stabilisation and this is not surprising as video stabilisation is only available on much more expensive phones. This means that the vibrations are not damped and the pixel recalculation is clearly visible.

Video normale conditions

The Redmi 9A does not produce videos of extraordinary quality but I find that the phone does not fare too badly. The light and shadow management can quickly switch from one extreme to the other but when conditions are stable, the dynamics are not bad.

The video does tend to jerk and the pixel correction is clearly visible. This phone is therefore not recommended for fast movements.

Video low light
Not yet available / tested

Audio quality

To test the quality of the phone's audio output, I connect the device's audio output to a measuring tool, then play sounds on all frequencies and measure the differences between the original sound and the sound produced by the phone. In this way I measure the phone's ability to correctly reproduce all sounds.
Frequency Respons : +0.03 / -0.11
Noise Level : -89
Dynamic Range : 89.1
THD : 0.000156
Intermodulation : 0.012
Stereo crosstalk : -86.6
With a 79€ phone I didn't expect to get a very good sound quality. Listening without headphones shows that the loudspeaker is struggling to reproduce frequencies correctly and the sound is not very powerful (and this is a good thing given that the sound quality is not very good).

With headphones, on the other hand, the sound quality is better, it's quite comparable with what I've heard on mid-range phones.

Frequency Response
This test is intended to test the device's ability to correctly reproduce all frequencies. The white line in the middle of the graph is the ideal situation and the other colors come from tests on different phones. A deviation from the reference line indicates a deviation from the ideal situation. To see good sound at all frequencies, it is therefore necessary to get as close as possible to the reference line.
The Redmi 9A is capable of reproducing most frequencies correctly, it offers a sound quality very similar to the Redmi Note 9 which costs twice as much. It moves away from the reference quite quickly in the high frequencies but the deviation is not important before 10Khz.

The Redmi 9A and 9C probably share the same equipment as I have obtained almost identical results.

Dynamic Range
This test is designed to test a phone's ability to play sounds at different volume levels. Here too, the phones must be as close as possible to the reference.
The Redmi 9A does not produce a very powerful sound but it is still more powerful than a Redmi Note 9. The performance is fairly even across all frequencies with a weakness in the low frequencies.


Noise Level
This test aims to identify if the device under test is able to reproduce sounds without too much noise. A high score indicates a low parasite rate, a lower score indicates a higher presence of parasites.
The Redmi 9A has no interference problems, it is clearly not the phone with the best sound quality, but for its price, it offers a completely correct sound performance.

Concert recording
The purpose of this test is to measure the recording quality of the phone when there is a lot of ambient noise. Since I don't have the opportunity to go to a concert every time I test a phone, I simulate the noise of a concert in a closed environment.Not yet available / tested

Screen quality

To test the screen, I use a colorimetric probe that measures the color accuracy of a screen, as well as other parameters to see if a screen is able to correctly reproduce an image. I also test the brightness level to determine if the screen will be able to display an image in full sunlight.
Screen size : 6.53
Resolution : 720 x 1600
Ratio : 20:9
Type : IPS LCD
% occupancy : 81
dE white : 5.8
dE red : 4.4
dE green : 1.8
dE blue : 2.8
dE jaune : 2.1
dE cyan : 3.9
dE magenta : 3.5
White temperature : 7335
Contrast : 1746:1
Brightness : 365
Colorimetry


I measured a colour difference ofE of
3.47 with my probe is a very good result for a phone of this price. I obtained this score by choosing the standard mode in the display settings because the factory settings are not correct.

The white deviates quite strongly from the normal temperature of 6500k, I measured 7335k, so the colouring of the display is a bit too warm.


Top 10 - ranking of the best screens by colorimetry
1. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g dE = 0.73
2. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 dE = 1.2
3. Samsung Galaxy S20 dE = 1.4
4. Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite dE = 1.46
5. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s dE = 1.47
6. Honor 9x dE = 1.5
7. Poco F2 Pro dE = 1.73
8. Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite dE = 1.91
9. Samsung Galaxy S10+ dE = 2.01
10. Xiaomi Mi 9t Pro dE = 2.11

Number of smartphones in the ranking:29
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:15/29

Note: the colorimetric difference is measured in dE. After three, the human eye will perceive a colorimetric difference, so the dE should be the lowest. The tests were all carried out with a colorimetric probe.

Brightness / Contrast
I measured a brightness of 365 cd/m², which is a very average score. Reading the screen in full sunlight will be difficult. The Redmi 9A offers a "sunlight" mode but the brightness will not be sufficient to ensure good brightness in strong light.

I measured a contrast ratio of 1746:1 with my probe, which is a very good score especially in this price range. So I am quite surprised to find a screen like this on a 79€ phone. This screen is not perfect but at this price I can hardly complain.

Light Absorption/Reflection
The smartphone screen reflect light and sometimes turn them into a real mirror. This mirror effect makes it harder to read.

The absorption index below indicates the percentage of light absorbed by the screen. The readability of a screen is better when the absorption index is high.

Phone tested:% light absorption
Samsung Galaxy S10+58
Xiaomi Mi 9T Pro52
Honor 9x65
Redmi Note 9s55
Motorola G8 Power60
Realme 654
Umidigi F248
Poco F2 Pro52
Redmi Note 956
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite53
Samsung Galaxy S2047
Samsung Galaxy A21s53
The phones tested have an average absroption rate of54 %

Biometry

The Redmi 9A has no biometric options, not even a fingerprint sensor on the back and that's a pity because you have to get used to unlocking the phone by hand, as was the case before the fingerprint sensors or facial recognition.

Operating system

The Redmi 9A is marketed with MIUI 12, so it has the same features as the other Xiaomi (or Poco) phones. MIUI 12 runs without any problems on the Redmi 9A but the transition between screens or launching an application is not very fast, so don't be in too much of a hurry, but overall the phone works well.


Encoutered bugs

Not yet available / tested

Accessories Redmi 9a

To better enjoy your experience with your smartphone, I offer links to all kinds of accessories that you might find useful

Protective cover / case redmi 9a
Screen protection film redmi 9a
Memory card redmi 9a
USB Cable / Charger redmi 9a
Headphones redmi 9a
Bike rack redmi 9a

Compare Redmi 9a with the others

I assigned a score of 1 to 10 for each test that determines the strengths and weaknesses of a product. I am using 0 for criteria that have not (yet) been tested. A score of 1 to 3 indicates poor performance (and yes, it does), a score of 4 to 6 indicates average performance, a score of 7 to 8 indicates good performance, and a score of 9 and 10 indicates exceptional performance. .
The score is calculated based on my measurements and when there are no measurements, it is a subjective opinion based on my experience.

The scores are not static, they change over time because the performance of new products changes and this must be taken into account.

Redmi 9A
Finish quality6.006.00
Battery performance8.006.00
CPU performance3.005.00
GPU performance3.005.00
Screen quality6.005.00
Photo quality5.505.00
Video quality5.505.00
Wi-Fi performance5.005.00
Mobile download speed5.005.00
Mobile network sensitivity7.006.00
Frequency coverage7.006.00
Audio quality6.006.00
GPS performance7.006.00
Operating system7.007.00
Overall score8178
Global ranking
1. Samsung Galaxy S20 112 / 140
2. Poco F2 Pro 111 / 140
3. Samsung Galaxy S10+ 107 / 140
4. Xiaomi Mi 9t Pro 106 / 140
5. Poco X3 102 / 140
6. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g 101 / 140
7. Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite 101 / 140
8. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro 100 / 140
9. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s 98 / 140
10. Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite 98 / 140
11. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 97 / 140
12. Xiaomi Redmi Note 7 94 / 140
13. Realme 6 93 / 140
14. Motorola G8 Power 91 / 140
15. Nokia 5.3 89 / 140
16. Xiaomi Mi A3 89 / 140
17. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 88 / 140
18. Honor 9x 88 / 140
19. Meizu Note 9 86 / 140
20. Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite 86 / 140
21. Xiaomi Redmi Note 5 85 / 140
22. Umidigi S3 Pro 83 / 140
23. Umidigi F2 82 / 140
24. Samsung Galaxy A21s 82 / 140
25. Redmi 9a 81 / 140
26. Redmi 9c 80 / 140
27. Ulefone Armor 7e 80 / 140
28. Honor 8x 78 / 140
29. Umidigi F1 77 / 140
30. Huawei Y6 2019 74 / 140

Test / Review conclusion

I say it often but Xiaomi's strategy is to occupy as much territory as possible by placing a phone model in all price ranges. Obviously, it's not all about price, you still have to offer a good product.

Did Xiaomi succeed with this Redmi 9A? Yes, in this price range and with this level of equipment you really can't find much. The two most direct competitors are the Umidigi A7 and the Realme C11. So there are not many opponents to Xiaomi in this price range.

Even though I'm used to using faster phones, I didn't experience the test of this Redmi 9A as an unbearable nightmare. This phone is designed to meet basic needs such as making calls, sending messages/emails, surfing the internet and taking a few pictures. The Redmi 9A does it all right.

The Redmi 9A obviously has a bunch of flaws but they are choices in relation to the price.

I'll make an analogy with the car world to express how I feel about this phone. If this phone were a car, it would probably be a Dacia. So it doesn't make sense to compare a Dacia with a BMW (whatever the model) but the Dacia will get you from point A to point B like any other car. You'll probably go slower, with less comfort and less equipment, but you'll still get there.


Strengths
Price
Battery life
Network Sensitivity
GPS accuracy


Weaknesses
Slow
Download speed
Fluctuating photo quality


Alternatives to this product

Comments

Join the discussion / Ask your questions

Your comment will be published after validation. I respond to over 1500 comments a year in my spare time, so I can't always respond very quickly. Your email address will not be publicly visible and it will not be used for commercial purposes.









Be notified by email when a response is published