On this page:
Price Samsung Galaxy A21s
Unpacking
First configuration
Finish
Specifications
CPU / GPU Performance
Benchmark Antutu/3DMark
Network performance
Wifi performance
GPS performance
Battery range
Photo camera test
Hardware
Photo quality
Video quality
Audio quality
Screen quality
Biometry
Operating system
Test / Review conclusion
Questions answers

Samsung Galaxy A21s test / review

Samsung Galaxy A21s test / review (in-depth review, no biais)
Category: Tests / Reviews

After testing several Chinese brands, I decided to make a come back to Samsung by buying the Samsung Galaxy A21s. What motivated me to buy this phone is mainly the price because it falls into the same price category as the latest models from Xiaomi that I tested.[b][b]Samsung has always been more expensive than Xiaomi and the price/performance ratio was always in favor of Xiaomi. I wanted to see if things had changed.[b][b]The Samsung Galaxy A21s is priced on par with the Redmi Note 9s but seems to be more in competition with the Redmi Note 9. [b][b]My test will show whether the price difference is justified and how the Samsung Galaxy A21s can compete with its Chinese competitor.[b][b][b][b][b]

Structure of my tests

I test the phones according to a pre-established structure (see below) to provide you with as much information as possible. Unfortunately, this takes a long time. Some tests like network performance tests take several days and for photo tests I sometimes have to wait until the weather is suitable to take pictures in good conditions. I am therefore obliged to publish the tests step by step, so I invite you to come back if the test is not complete at the time of your visit.[b]
How are my tests different from others on the web?

- I usually buy the devices with my own money, so price is just as important as you are!
- I keep the devices for at least a few weeks (sometimes more) to see what they are worth in real conditions.
- I answer (when possible) your questions to help you decide before you buy
- no one pays me to do these reviews, so I'm completely neutral and independent...
- My pages are not filled with ads



Redmi Note 11 : test / review
Xiaomi 11T: test / review / photo quality
Umidigi F2 test / review / specs
Xiaomi Mi Watch Lite : test / review
Poco M3 Pro : test / review
Realme GT 5G : test / review
Google Pixel 5 test / review
TCL 10 Pro: test / review / price
Samsung Galaxy A21s test / review
Samsung Galaxy A52: test / review

Price Samsung Galaxy A21s

The list below shows the prices for the Samsung Galaxy A21s from more than 50 sites around the world. If you are not satisfied with any price, you can subscribe to a price alert to be the first to be notified when the price drops.[b]
Samsung Galaxy-A03s | Smartphone con pantalla de 6.5" TFT LCD HD+ | 3GB RAM y 32GB memoria interna a...
2022-01-27 00:11
129 EUR
SAMSUNG GALAXY A21S SM-A217F/DSN FACTORY UNLOCKED 3GB RAM 32GB BLACK BOXED...
2022-01-26 15:31
145 EUR
Samsung Galaxy A21 S215DL 32GB StraightTalk Check IMEI New -RJ6541...
2022-01-26 15:07
146 EUR
Samsung Galaxy A12, Smartphone, Display 6.5" HD+, 4 Fotocamere Posteriori, 64 GB Espandibili, RAM 4 ...
2022-01-27 02:12
149 EUR
Samsung Galaxy A21 32GB 6.5 inches Quad Camera A215 Unlocked Black Single SIM (Renewed)...
2022-01-27 01:53
153 EUR
Samsung Electronics Galaxy A21 Factory Unlocked Android Cell Phone, US Version Smartphone, 32GB Stor...
2022-01-27 01:53
155 EUR
[b]
helpThe above links are affiliate links from companies such as Amazon, Gearbest, Aliexpress,... If you appreciate my work, I would be grateful if you could purchase these products through these links. It costs you absolutely nothing but I get a small commission that allows me to buy the material I test. Thank you very much!

Timeline

July 2020: purchase of the Samsung Galaxy A21s on RueDuCommerce with trade-in pack[b]01/08/2020: I start the test with a little delay because I had a lot of other devices to test.[b][b]

Why this phone?

As I wrote above, it was the price that motivated me to buy this phone and it will probably be the case for many buyers as well. If you are not ready to buy a Chinese brand yet, this Samsung will surely be one of the first choices for buyers who don't want to pay more than 200€ for their phone.[b][b]Beside the price I also look at other elements that show that in theory this Samsung can't compete with the Redmi Note 9s but the test should be able to show if this is really the case. It is clearly a match between the Samsung entry-level versus the Xiaomi entry-level.[b][b]

Unpacking

samsung galaxy a21s test avis review revision analisis recensione opinion photo 1
[b]The Samsung Galaxy A21s comes in a classic white box containing the phone, charger, USB cable, earphones and manual.[b][b]In the same price range, Xiaomi offers in addition a transparent protection but does not offer earphones. Those who want to protect their smartphone against scratches will therefore have to buy an extra protection.[b][b][b][b][b][b]
Length : 163.7
Width : 75.3
Thickness : 8.9
Weight : 192
Jack output : Yes
USB Type : Type C
Infrared port : No

First configuration

The configuration of the Samsung has changed in recent months and this is not a good thing. Samsung now requires the use of an application called Smart Switch to transfer data from the old phone to the new one. So you still need to have the old phone to install the application. I find this kind of process completely useless and superfluous. Android is linked to a Google account and this Google account allows you to transfer and synchronize data across multiple devices. Smart Switch is an attempt by Samsung to access this data which is usually only accessible through the Google account.[b][b]At the end of the startup procedure, the phone will propose a screen to create a Samsung account, it's a fairly common practice but even refusing, Samsung will try to force the installation of some applications two screens later.[b][b]The Samsung Galaxy A21s has only 32Gb of data, it's been a long time since I've had a phone with so little storage memory. So I had to make a choice in what I wanted to copy from my old phone which had 64 Gb because the storage capacity of the Samsung did not allow me to transfer everything.[b][b][b][b]

Finish

samsung galaxy a21s test avis review recensione opinion prueba photo test 17
[b]The Samsung Galaxy A21s is an entry-level phone but the finishes are correct, the backside sags a bit when you press it but Samsung is used to making phones with a good level of finish in all price ranges. In this price range, it is possible to find phones with a glass back that offer a better finish but this doesn't change anything to the use of the phone, it's a rather subjective choice.[b][b]
samsung galaxy a21s test avis review recensione opinion prueba photo test 17
[b][b]The Samsung Galaxy A21s is an entry-level phone but the finishes are correct, the backside sags a bit when you press it but Samsung is used to making phones with a good level of finish in all price ranges. In this price range, it is possible to find phones with a glass back that offer a better finish but this doesn't change anything to the use of the phone, it's a rather subjective choice.[b][b]
samsung galaxy a21s test avis review recensione opinion prueba photo test 15
[b][b]The lower part of the phone has a very classic configuration with a USB type C port, a mono speaker and a jack socket for the headset.[b][b]
samsung galaxy a21s test avis review recensione opinion prueba photo test 11
[b][b]The volume and start buttons are located on the right side of the phone, the position of these buttons is similar to what is found on most phones today. The buttons are made of plastic, they don't stick out very strongly from the device but they are separated by enough space to be able to distinguish them. The SIM drawer is on the left side.[b][b]
samsung galaxy a21s test avis review revision analisis recensione opinion photo 6
[b][b]The back of the phone is almost perfectly smooth, it is only interrupted by the photo module which does not stick out much. Xiaomi tends to use photo modules that come out of the phone quite strongly, Samsung is better off.[b][b]
samsung galaxy a21s test avis review recensione opinion prueba photo test 16
[b][b]The Samsung Galaxy A21s has a large 6.5-inch screen and an occupancy rate of 82%, a border is visible all around the screen with a slightly thicker border at the bottom of the screen. The A21s is quite similar to what I was able to test at Xiaomi both in screen size and screen occupancy percentage. These borders are not annoying and the screen size offers a comfortable experience.[b][b]The camera for the selfies is housed in the top left of the screen, it appears as a black dot on the screen but it never bothered me in the use of the phone, the black dot is quite discreet.[b][b]

Specifications

[b]The information below comes from the Device Info HW application. The application provides detailed technical information about the tested phone.I bought the 3Gb version with 32 Gb of storage. There is another version with 4Gb and 64 Gb of storage.[b][b]I don't advise to buy a 32Gb version because even if you don't use a lot of applications, the lack of space will quickly force you to clean the phone.[b][b][b][b][b]

CPU / GPU Performance

CPU : Samsung ExyNos 850
GPU : ARM Mali G-76 1Ghz
Memory (RAM) : 3 - 4 Gb
Storage : 32 - 64Gb
[b][b]The Samsung Galaxy A21s is equipped with an Exynos 850 processor, it is an entry-level processor that offers lower performance than the Snapdragon 665. The processor is clearly not the strength of this phone and this is also felt in use. My opinion is obviously a bit biased because I'm used to testing more powerful phones and the difference is obvious. If on the other hand you have always bought entry-level phones, you probably won't feel this lack of reactivity as much. Of course, this does not prevent you from using the phone, it is first of all a question of comfort.[b][b]

Benchmark Antutu/3DMark

As I wrote above, the Samsung Galaxy A21s is not a performance brute and even if you are not a gamer, this lack of performance is felt when using the phone at every screen change or application launch. [b][b]I got a score of 123,000 points on Antutu, this is one of the lowest scores I've gotten so far. In this price range there, Samsung's positioning is therefore not very good. With a price of 199€, it's possible to buy a Redmi Note 9s which scores 270 000 points on Antutu. So the price/performance ratio is really not good at Samsung.[b][b][b][b]
Antutu score : 123904
Antutu CPU : 47099
Antutu GPU : 21186
Antutu UX : 21986
Antutu Mem : 33633
3D Mark Open GL : 906
3D Mark Vulkan : 897
[b]Top 10 - performance ranking based on Antutu
1. Realme Gt - 811858
2. Oppo Find X2 Pro - 605184
3. Oneplus 8t - 595000
4. Poco F3 - 589677
5. Xiaomi Mi 10t Pro - 581650
6. Oneplus 8 Pro - 579417
7. Xiaomi Mi 10 - 579114
8. Poco F2 Pro - 569559
9. Samsung Galaxy S20 Fe - 565000
10. Xiaomi 11t - 530135

Number of smartphones in the ranking:135
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:100/135

Note: this ranking only contains the phones I tested as well as a few others that I added for reference.
[b]Gaming[b]To test the performance in game, I download the mobile PUBG game and evaluate the in-game experience, graphics level and depth of vision. This game is quite demanding and should help you evaluating the performance of a phone.[b][b]The Samsung Galaxy A21s is not a phone for gamers but it allows you to run PUBG Mobile with a few sacrifices. The game works but the animations are jerky and the fluidity of the game is not always optimal. The screen resolution of the A21s is lower than average which allows the games to require less processing but this is at the price of a slightly degraded visual experience.[b][b]

Network performance

The Samsung Galaxy A21s, like most Samsung phones, offers comprehensive coverage that will allow you to use the phone anywhere in Europe. The B28 frequency for Bouygues and Free in France is also available.[b][b]
3G frequencies : B1 (2100), B2 (1900), B5 (850), B8 (900)
4G frequencies : B1 (2100), B3 (1800), B4 (1700/2100 AWS 1), B5 (850), B7 (2600), B8 (900), B20 (800), B28 (700), B38 (TDD 2600), B40 (TDD 2300), B41 (TDD 2500)
Bluetooth : Bluetooth 5.0
SAR / head : 0.230
SAR / body : 1.380
Volte : Yes
VoWifi : Yes
NFC : Yes
Number measurements : 1000
Average signal : -97.78
Download speed : 147
Upload speed : 51
Choose your country to check if your phone is compatible:


The frequencies displayed below will allow you to see if this phone is compatible with your operator or if you will be able to use it in the country where you are going on vacation.


Signal 4G (before december 2020)[b]The ability to pick up the network correctly is an essential element for a phone but it is only very rarely measured. To measure a phone's ability to pick up the network, I perform a large number of measurements on the same cells to be able to compare phones under similar conditions. The signal is measured in dBm, a value of -90dBm indicates a worse signal than -70dBm. These measurements are therefore taken under real conditions and not in a laboratory, they are not scientific but give a good indication of performance. [b][b]Network signal sensitivity rating
Phone tested:Average signal (dBm)Number of measurements:
Xiaomi Mi 9t Pro-881600
Xiaomi Redmi Note 5-91.305600
Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite-93788
Samsung Galaxy A70-94.5111975
Nokia 5.3-94.98531
Realme 6-95.142301
Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro-95.9221599
Xiaomi Mi A3-95.951000
Huawei Y6 2019-95.951199
Doogee S58 Pro-96.22856
Redmi 9a-96.481000
Meizu Note 9-96.68937
Motorola G8 Power-96.881032
Xiaomi Redmi Note 7-97.011430
Redmi 9c-97.041000
Umidigi S3 Pro-97.131200
Xiaomi Redmi Note 8-97.34879
Samsung Galaxy A21s-97.781000
Umidigi F1-97.82298
Ulefone Armor 7e-98.71000
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite-991000
Honor 9x-99.14899
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s-99.41860
Poco F2 Pro-99.81247
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9-100.791785
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g-100.881198
Poco X3-101.19821
Umidigi F2-101.47712
[b]Out of 1000 measurements I got an average signal of -97.78 dBm with the Samsung Galaxy A21s where I got -99.4 dBm with a Redmi Note 9s under the same conditions. The Samsung Galaxy A21s picks up the network better than the Redmi, this is not a surprise as it is a weak point of the Redmi range.[b][b]The Samsung's score is a bit above average, it exceeds most of the Redmi I tested.[b][b][b]Signal 4G (from December 2020)[b]I decided to change the methodology for measuring the network because I noticed that the configuration of the mobile network changes over time. This makes it more difficult to compare phones because the conditions are no longer exactly the same.[b][b]To overcome this problem, I set up a device that captures 24 hours a day about ten parameters from the mobile network (ex: cell id, rssi, rsrq, snr, frequency,...). I then place the phone next to the device for 24 to 48 hours taking the same measurements so that I can compare them. [b][b] Overview of the phones tested with this methodology[b][b]
Phone tested:MeasurementsAvg signal (reference)Avg signal (phone)Min/Max (reference)Min/Max (phone)
Samsung Galaxy S10+457-93.06-97.39-89 / -98-97 / -99
Xiaomi Mi 9t Pro669-93.69-95.84-90 / -95-92 / -98
Poco F2 Pro1438-91.02-94.99-89 / -94-94 / -96
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g1645-90.77-95.02- 88 / -98-95 / -100
Poco X3821-94.89-103.19-91 / -97.7-101 / -104
Umidigi Bison2343-92.71-96.46-90 / -99-94 / -102
Oukitel C211101-92.04-94.99-90 / -97-92 / -95
Poco M31116-92.09-91.74-88 / -98-90 / -99
Xiaomi Mi 10t Pro1071-90.61-94.03-88 / -94-94 / -96
Umidigi A9 Pro981-90.40-94.01-88 / -95-93 / -95
Redmi Note 9t1201-92.149-91.71-90 / -97-91 / -97
Xiaomi Redmi Note 10999-92.35-93.99-88 / -97-92 / -98
Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro877-89.72-90.56- 88 / -92-89 / -95
Poco X3 Pro1876-91.45-92.91-90 / -94-90 / -96
Poco F31382-90.79-94.2-89 / -94-93 / -98
Oneplus Nord N100896-91.23-96.005-88 / - 99-96 / -99
Xiaomi Mi 11 Lite2875-91.36-91.49-87 / -96-90 / -96
Samsung Galaxy A521427-89.27-93.39-87 / -98-92 / -96
Doogee S96 Pro1259-94.2-91.21-90 / -102-88 / -95
Xiaomi Redmi Note 10s957-92.07-97.62-90 / -102-96 / -102
Poco M3 Pro1247-91.76-102.97-99 / -104-88 / -98
Realme Gt843-96.49-94.02-93 / -101- 92 / -96
F150 R20221002-92.4-105.1-90 / -97-98 / -110
Umidigi Bison Pro936-94.2-104.98-91 / -98-95 / -105
Redmi 102141-94.74-100.92-92 / -98-99 / -101
Tcl 10 Pro871-93.43-94.001-92 / -96-93 / -95
Poco M4 Pro570-93.71-96.78-91 / -98-95 / -99
Google Pixel 51444-91.02-97.02-90 / -94-97 / -101
Xiaomi 11t1576-92.305-92.003-90 / -96-92 / -93
Redmi Note 111223-92.5-91.32-92/-97-90 / -93
[b][b][b][b]Download/Upload speed[b]To test the download speed, I have identified some 4G cells offering good performance where I test all my devices several times to see what download and upload speed they can achieve.[b]Top 10 - speed ranking in download
1. Samsung Galaxy S20 D:351Mbps U: 20Mbps
2. Poco X3 D:232Mbps U: 55Mbps
3. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g D:223Mbps U: 52Mbps
4. Poco F2 Pro D:207Mbps U: 53Mbps
5. Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite D:153Mbps U: 68Mbps
6. Xiaomi Mi A3 D:150Mbps U: 60Mbps
7. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s D:150Mbps U: 60Mbps
8. Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite D:149Mbps U: 60Mbps
9. Samsung Galaxy A21s D:147Mbps U: 51Mbps
10. Huawei Y6 2019 D:145Mbps U: 61Mbps

Number of smartphones in the ranking:30
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:9/30

Note: the theoretical maximum speed of a telephone is often limited by the configuration of the mobile network and the congestion of the network at the time of the measurement. So maybe you could get a higher speed on another network
[b]I got a 4G download speed of 147 Mbps which puts the A21s in the good average of the phones I tested. The network is probably limited to 150 Mbps but this Galaxy A21s will allow you to stream in HD without any problem.[b][b][b]

Wifi performance

To test a phone's ability to receive the network properly, I take measurements near my router and then remotely (and always at the same place). This gives me an average in dBm where a value of -90 dBm indicates poorer performance than a value at -30 dBm.[b]
Wifi frequencies : 802.11a, 802.11b, 802.11g, 802.11n, 802.11n 5GHz, 802.11ac
Download speed : 165
Signal / close : -13
Signal / distant : -70
Wifi signal[b]I got a signal of -13 dBm near the router, this is one of the best score I got which shows that the Galaxy A21s has a very good wifi sensitivity. [b][b]I measured a signal of -70 dBm away from the router, this is also a very good score.[b][b][b][b][b]Top 10 - wifi sensitivity ranking
1. Poco F2 Pro -11dBm
2. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro -12dBm
3. Realme Gt -12dBm
4. Samsung Galaxy A21s -13dBm
5. Oneplus Nord N100 -15dBm
6. Poco X3 Pro -15dBm
7. Poco F3 -15dBm
8. Redmi Note 9t -15dBm
9. Samsung Galaxy A52 -17dBm
10. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10s -17dBm

Number of smartphones in the ranking:54
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:4/54

[b]Download/Upload speed[b]To test the speed in Wifi, I connect to my router in 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz (if available) and use the Ookla application to measure the speed.I got a maximum speed of 165 Mbps in download, it's a good score that allows to stream in HD but it's below the average of what I got with other phones in the same conditions. [b][b][b][b][b]Top 10 - wifi download speed ranking
1. Poco F3 398Mbps
2. Poco X3 Pro 389Mbps
3. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro 367Mbps
4. Samsung Galaxy S20 351Mbps
5. Xiaomi 11t 350Mbps
6. Poco F2 Pro 341Mbps
7. Redmi Note 9t 332Mbps
8. Realme Gt 330Mbps
9. Doogee S96 Pro 328Mbps
10. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10s 325Mbps

Number of smartphones in the ranking:53
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:40/53

Note: I have a 400Mbps line and a modem capable of delivering higher speed, but I can never be sure how much bandwidth is available when doing a test.
[b]

GPS performance

[b]To test the quality of the GPS signal I use the Offline Maps application and I make the same train trip in pedestrian mode. Why? In pedestrian mode, the GPS does not artificially correct the signal to stick to the road, it has no markings, so you can see the actual position. I then use an application to measure the accuracy of the signal. [b][b]The Samsung Galaxy A21s captures most common GPS networks (GPS,Galileo,Baidou,...). I obtained an accuracy at 4 meters which fluctuate regularly between 4 and 6 meters. This is clearly not the best score I got and the lack of power of the phone may also create a discrepancy between the actual position and the displayed position. [b][b][b]Top 10 - GPS accuracy ranking
1. Oukitel C21 1m
2. Redmi 9a 1m
3. Doogee S96 Pro 1m
4. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10s 1m
5. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 1m
6. Umidigi Bison Pro 1m
7. Redmi 10 1m
8. Poco M4 Pro 1m
9. Redmi 9c 2m
10. Umidigi Bison 2m

Number of smartphones in the ranking:28
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:26/28

Note: An accuracy of 3 meters or less can easily be corrected by a good GPS application. Phone performance also plays a role in how fast your display updates, so good accuracy could be compromised by too slow a display.
[b]

Battery range

Capacity : 5000
Fast charge : Yes
W max : 15
Range (100% brightness) : 729.00
Range (50% brightness) : 1283.00
Charging time : 166.00
Discharge speed (100%) : 0.14
Discharge score (100%) : 6.86
Discharge speed (50%) : 0.08
Discharge score (50%) : 3.90
Charging speed : 0.60
Charging score : 30.12
From March 2020, I replaced my subjective battery test with a technical test to better measure the real behaviour of the battery. Now I test the autonomy and charging time under absolutely identical conditions. I perform several measurements, so this test alone takes several days during which I cannot use the phone for anything else.

Battery life - methodology
To test the battery life, I measure the battery consumption every minute in strictly identical conditions to be able to compare phones and also to allow you to evaluate your phone in the same conditions. I rule out any influence of applications that could interfere with the measurement. The autonomy is not linear, the battery sometimes discharges much faster at the end. This is a frustrating phenomenon but with my measurements, you will know if you need to find a charger quickly.

Battery life
The battery of the Samsung Galaxy A21s has a capacity of 5000 mAh and has discharged from 100% to 1% in 729.00 minutes with 100% brightness, it has discharged from 100% to 1% in 1283.00 minutes with 50% brightness. I obtain in this way an average discharge speed of 0.14% per minute with 100% luminosity and 0.08% per minute with 50% luminosity, the consumption is therefore 6.86 mA per minute with 100% luminosity and 3.90 with 50% luminosity. To be able to compare the efficiency of the phone and its influence on the battery, you have to compare the 6.86 (or 50%) score with that of other smartphones, the figure should be as low as possible.

Charging time - methodology
To test the charging time, I always use the same charger with the same cable. I measure the charging time minute by minute to see the evolution of the charge as well as the charging speed. The charging speed of a battery is not linear, it is often faster at the beginning and slower at the end. The charger is compatible with fast charging.

Charging time
The battery of the Samsung Galaxy A21s has a capacity of 5000 mAh and has been charged from 1% to 100% in 166.00 minutes. This gives me an average charging speed of 0.60% per minute and therefore an increase of 30.12 mA per minute. To compare the performance of the Samsung Galaxy A21s compared to other phones, you should use the 30.12 per minute score, this score should be as high as possible.

Important note: the charging speed is not always linear, the graph below gives you an indication of the battery behaviour.

The following table lists the phones tested with the technical battery test, they are ranked in order of efficiency. A higher battery capacity should logically result in a higher battery life but it is not always the case and it does not give any indication of the efficiency of a phone.

SmartphoneCapacity (mAh)Battery life (minutes)Efficiency ScoreBattery life (minutes) / 50%Efficiency Score / 50%Charging time.Score charging
Oukitel C214000497.008.051324.003.02167.0023.95
Honor 9x4000770.005.191333.003.00151.0026.49
Nokia 5.34000549.007.291096.003.65199.0020.10
Samsung Galaxy S204000565.007.081217.003.29136.0029.41
Google Pixel 54080773.005.281559.002.6281.0050.37
Umidigi A9 Pro4150552.007.521562.002.66112.0037.05
Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g4160749.005.551541.002.70163.0025.52
Realme 64300704.006.111104.003.89162.0026.54
Samsung Galaxy A524500652.006.901239.003.63165.0027.27
Realme Gt4500574.007.841057.004.2687.0051.72
Tcl 10 Pro4500465.009.68889.005.06133.0033.83
Poco F34520657.006.881840.002.46122.0037.05
Poco F2 Pro47001150.004.091536.003.06180.0026.11
Xiaomi Redmi Note 105000691.007.241728.002.89193.0025.91
Redmi Note 9t5000766.006.532054.002.43148.0033.78
Umidigi Bison Pro5000610.008.201632.003.06255.0019.61
Redmi 105000664.007.531684.002.97165.0030.30
Oneplus Nord N1005000808.006.191278.003.91663.007.54
Poco M4 Pro5000634.007.891600.003.13123.0040.65
Xiaomi 11t5000476.0010.501204.004.1597.0051.55
Poco M3 Pro5000657.007.611647.003.04131.0038.17
Xiaomi Redmi Note 10s5000636.007.861556.003.21161.0031.06
Redmi Note 115000592.008.451 376.003.6369.0072.46
Redmi 9c5000656.007.621915.002.61170.0029.41
Samsung Galaxy A21s5000729.006.861283.003.90166.0030.12
Redmi 9a5000694.007.201902.002.63195.0025.64
Umidigi Bison5000550.009.091471.003.40238.0021.01
Motorola G8 Power5000912.005.482792.001.79311.0016.08
Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro5020625.008.031557.003.22213.0023.57
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s5020663.007.571876.002.68224.0022.41
Xiaomi Redmi Note 95020650.007.721808.002.78162.0030.99
Umidigi F25150927.005.561854.002.78299.0017.22
Poco X35160653.007.901654.003.12181.0028.51
Poco X3 Pro5160648.007.961688.003.06138.0037.39
Doogee S58 Pro5180845.006.131908.002.71177.0029.27
Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite5260827.006.361609.003.27208.0025.29
Ulefone Armor 7e5500768.007.161140.004.82179.0030.73
Poco M36000842.007.131898.003.16217.0027.65
Doogee S96 Pro6350929.006.841405.004.52424.0014.98
F150 R20228300879.009.441498.005.54243.0034.16

helpHow to read these figures?
The battery capacity is an important element in determining the autonomy of a phone but it is not the only factor. A phone with a large battery may have a shorter battery life if it consumes more power. If I had to take an example from everyday life, I would use the universe of the car. If a car has a large fuel tank, it should be able to drive a longer distance unless its average fuel consumption is higher. The battery efficiency score works the same way, it should be as low as possible and represents the energy consumption of the phone. These differences in efficiency are often related to the brightness of the screen, large bright screens will tend to consume more energy and even if they have a large battery, their range will be shorter.

In summary [battery product="samsung-galaxy-a21s" capa="5000" lg="en"][b][b]The Samsung Galaxy A21s has a 5000 mAh battery that will give you a very comfortable autonomy of several days in normal use. [b][b]Charging the Samsung is quite fast, I recharged the battery from 1% to 100% in 166 minutes, it's about the same as the Redmi Note 9.[b][b]The battery capacity allows to last several days but the phone could have been more efficient because at equal capacity, other phones do much better. In particular, the Redmi Note 9 lasts 500 minutes longer with the display on at 50%.[b][b]

Photo camera test

To test the quality of photos produced by a phone, I do a technical test (resolution, sharpness, chromatic aberration,...) in studio (identical conditions) to evaluate the technical part objectively. From the second half of 2020, I built my own laboratory to take completely objective technical measurements. I then take pictures in real conditions to see how the camera performs. I then evaluate these photos according to my criteria but I publish the photos so that you can evaluate the result according to your criteria.[b]

Hardware

Selfie / resolution : 13
Resolution : 48
Sensor : Samsung S5KGM2
Video resolution : 1080p
mm wide angle : 4.6 mm
mm ultra wide angle : 1.42 mm
The Samsung Galaxy A21s is equipped with a 48 million pixel Samsung S5KGM2 main sensor which is also used in the Redmi Note 9, the Redmi Note 8 and the Samsung Galaxy A51. [b]This sensor has already proven itself on other phones, so it is the image processing provided by Samsung that can make the difference with other brands.[b][b]Default app[b]Samsung has made the choice of simplicity with its photo application. Where Xiaomi seems lost in a race for complexity, Samsung has chosen to limit the entry points to the bare minimum by placing the least used features behind a separate menu.[b][b]The photo application therefore offers by default an entry point for photo, video, portrait mode and everything else can be found in a sub-menu containing a pro mode, panorama mode, macro mode and food mode.[b][b]Since most users of this type of phone will be satisfied with the basic features, Samsung has probably made the right choice. Samsung also had the good idea to divert the icons to change the sensor, this makes them much more readable than with Xiaomi.[b][b][b]

Photo quality

Photo test / studio[b]Main sensor[b]
samsung galaxy a21s test review avis recensione prueba opinion beoordeling photo studio 1
[b][b]Exposure: good[b]Sharpness: good[b]Colours: good[b]Depth of field: good[b]Distortion: none[b]Chromatic aberration: none[b]Vignetting: none[b]Digital noise: none[b][b]Samsung sensors usually do less well than Sony sensors under artificial studio lighting, fortunately there are exceptions and this Samsung S5KGM2 sensor does a good job. The photo is properly exposed, the colors are natural even if they could have been a little brighter. The sharpness is good and the photo has no particular defects. I had not obtained such a good result with the Redmi Note 9 which applied an incorrect treatment on the colors.[b][b]Ultra wide angle sensor[b]
samsung galaxy a21s test review avis recensione prueba opinion beoordeling photo studio 3
[b][b]Exposure: underexposure[b]Sharpness: medium[b]Colours: too dark[b]Depth of field: good[b]Distortion: important[b]Chromatic aberration: none[b]Vignetting: none[b]Digital noise: none[b][b]The wide-angle sensor captures a very wide image, it's one of the widest sensors I've tested so far. So it has the advantage of capturing very close subjects but the distortion is very important. Usually the distortion is mostly visible in the periphery but here we see that the Statue of Liberty is thinner, the figure on the right is abnormally curved, the rest of the picture follows my same tendency. The exposure time is not good either, the photo is globally too dark and this is quite often the case for wide angles when there was enough light to increase the exposure time without risking to make a blurry photo.[b][b]This first technical test is promising for the future, the main sensor produces a better result than other phones that use exactly the same sensor. Samsung has an undeniable know-how in photo processing.[b][b][b]Photo test / sunny[b]Main sensor[b]
samsung galaxy a21s test review avis recensione prueba opinion beoordeling photo sun 5
[b][b]Exposure: good[b]Sharpness: good[b]Colours: good[b]Depth of field: good[b]Distortion: none[b]Chromatic aberration: none[b]Vignetting: none[b]Digital noise: none[b][b]When conditions are good the main sensor of the Galaxy A21s is able to produce beautiful, richly saturated photos with a dynamic range that can display dark and bright areas without falling into over/under exposure. Image sharpness is also good without being forced, leaf detail is clearly visible. [b][b]Ultra-wide-angle sensor[b]
samsung galaxy a21s test review avis recensione prueba opinion beoordeling photo sun 6
[b][b][b]Exposure: good[b]Sharpness: good except on the sides[b]Colours: good[b]Depth of field: good[b]Distortion: visible in the periphery[b]Chromatic aberration: none[b]Vignetting: none[b]Digital noise: none[b][b]The ultra-wide-angle sensor produces better pictures outdoors, especially when it comes to open landscapes like this one. Sharpness decreases as you move away from the center, it's quite visible on the foliage on the left. It is therefore always necessary to take care to have the main subject close to the center otherwise it may end up in a blurred area with significant distortion. I am positively surprised by the color treatment because it is very similar to what I obtained with the main sensor.[b][b]Main sensor[b]
samsung galaxy a21s test review avis recensione prueba opinion beoordeling photo sun 14
[b][b]Exposure: good[b]Sharpness: good[b]Colours: good[b]Depth of field: good[b]Distortion: none[b]Chromatic aberration: none[b]Vignetting: none[b]Digital noise: none[b][b]I took another picture made with the main sensor to show the level of detail and richness of colors when the scenery is closer. The foliage detail is very good and despite the dominance of dark colors, the sky does not lose saturation. I see a slight blur in the treetops but you have to zoom to more than 100% to see it.[b][b]Ultra wide angle sensor[b]
samsung galaxy a21s test review avis recensione prueba opinion beoordeling photo sun 13
[b][b]Exposure: good[b]Sharpness: good except on the sides[b]Colours: good[b]Depth of field: good[b]Distortion: visible in the periphery[b]Chromatic aberration: slight[b]Vignetting: none[b]Digital noise: none[b][b]The ultra wide angle sensor performs better than sensors of this type on other brands such as Xiaomi. The distortion is visible but not problematic for landscapes, the colors are well saturated and the exposure time is good. With closer scenery elements, the distortion is more visible and the blur area is even very large in the upper left corner of the picture. The tops of the trees seem to have been over-treated because I can see a thin white net surrounding the leaves.[b][b]The following pictures confirm the findings made on these first pictures. I knew that this sensor was capable of producing good pictures because I had been able to test it in other phones, but Samsung managed to apply quality processing to the images which allows the Galaxy A21s to move up a notch above other phones using the same sensor.[b][b][b][b][b]Photo test / cloudy[b][b]Main sensor[b]
samsung galaxy a21s test review avis recensione prueba opinion beoordeling photo cloud 6
[b][b]Exposure: slightly underexposed[b]Sharpness: good[b]Colours: slightly too dark[b]Depth of field: good[b]Distortion: none[b]Chromatic aberration: none[b]Vignetting: none[b]Digital noise: none[b][b]Under an overcast sky, the Galaxy A21s manages to reproduce the atmosphere well, the difference in exposure between light and dark areas is quite important but the phone manages to manage the differences well. The picture is a little too dark, the colors too but it's a good result in this price range. [b][b]Ultra wide angle sensor[b]
samsung galaxy a21s test review avis recensione prueba opinion beoordeling photo cloud 5
[b][b]Exposure: underexposed[b]Sharpness: good[b]Colours: too dark[b]Depth of field: good[b]Distortion: in the periphery[b]Chromatic aberration: none[b]Vignetting: none[b]Digital noise: none[b][b]The ultra wide angle sensor always captures less light than the main sensor and this is very visible in this picture. The photo is significantly darker even though it was taken a few seconds apart from the first photo. The distortion is visible on the side, the sharpness is also strongly degraded on the sides. This sensor does not perform as well under these conditions, and in addition, always make sure to have the main subject in the center to avoid falling into the peripheral blur area.[b][b]Pictures in cloudy weather are not extraordinary but they are quite correct for this price range. I can hardly criticize the result because even if these pictures are not perfect, this sensor allows me to capture the atmosphere of the scenery realistically enough.[b][b][b][b][b]Test photo / night[b]Main sensor[b]
samsung galaxy a21s test review avis recensione prueba opinion beoordeling photo qualite nuit 3
[b]Exposure: correct[b]Sharpness: medium[b]Colours: too cold[b]Depth of field: good[b]Distortion: distortion and blurring at the periphery[b]Chromatic aberration: none[b]Vignetting: none[b]Digital noise: visible[b][b]The Samsung Galaxy A21s does not have a night mode, so the photo does not benefit from any special treatment. Night photography is clearly not a strength of the Galaxy A21s, the sharpness is very average, some areas are even blurred, light halos are not corrected, colors are a bit dull and digital noise is visible. In the same price range, we find phones that are able to do much better using the same photo sensor.[b][b]Ultra wide angle sensor[b]
samsung galaxy a21s test review avis recensione prueba opinion beoordeling photo qualite nuit 2
[b]Exposure: underexposure[b]Sharpness: bad[b]Colours: too warm[b]Depth of field: not sufficient[b]Distortion: distortion and blurring at the periphery[b]Chromatic aberration: none[b]Vignetting: none[b]Digital noise: visible[b][b]Ultra wide angle sensors are not designed to take pictures at night and this is once again true with this phone. The photo is a little sharper in the center but the whole periphery is blurred. [b][b][b][b][b]

Video quality

Stabilisation[b][b][b]The Samsung Galaxy A21s does not have video stabilisation, vibrations and shocks will not be corrected. I haven't found a phone with good stabilization in this price range yet, so the Samsung is neither better nor worse than other phones in this price range.[b][b]Video normale conditions[b][b]The Samsung Galaxy A21s is capable of producing good videos when the light is good. Sharpness is good, colours are richly saturated and sound is well reproduced. The weakness of the Galaxy A21s is its lack of power and this is felt a little for videos because the recalculation of pixels during movements or changes in exposure is quite visible. The video processing is a bit too slow but this problem is only visible with important movements or brightness changes.[b][b]Video low light[b][b][b]The Samsung Galaxy A21s produces fairly average videos at night. The video should have been exposed a little more and the focus makes visible back and forth between the different elements of the video. When the scenery is too dark, it can't be fixed in one place. The digital noise is quite visible too.[b][b]In this price range, the Redmi Note 9s does better.[b][b]

Audio quality

To test the quality of the phone's audio output, I connect the device's audio output to a measuring tool, then play sounds on all frequencies and measure the differences between the original sound and the sound produced by the phone. In this way I measure the phone's ability to correctly reproduce all sounds.[b]
Frequency Respons : +0.03 / -0.08
Noise Level : -93.7
Dynamic Range : 93.2
THD : 3.205
Intermodulation : 1.765
Stereo crosstalk : -90.5
In this price range, you should not expect to find a phone with outstanding audio performance, most phones offer good sound without being exceptional.[b][b]The Samsung Galaxy a21s is no exception. The sound produced by the speaker is of average quality, the sound is not very powerful either. [b][b]With a headset the sound is of better quality and offers more power.[b][b]Frequency Response[b]This test is intended to test the device's ability to correctly reproduce all frequencies. The white line in the middle of the graph is the ideal situation and the other colors come from tests on different phones. A deviation from the reference line indicates a deviation from the ideal situation. To see good sound at all frequencies, it is therefore necessary to get as close as possible to the reference line.
[b]I compared the Samsung Galaxy a21s with the Redmi Note 9 to see which phone reproduced the frequencies more correctly. In the low frequencies it is the Redmi that is the most faithful and in the high frequencies it is the Samsung that is the most faithful. However, you have to be really careful to perceive the difference, it will also depend on the type of music. As a whole the A21s offers a good reproduction of frequencies but to find better it is necessary to pay more expensive.[b][b]Dynamic Range[b]This test is designed to test a phone's ability to play sounds at different volume levels. Here too, the phones must be as close as possible to the reference.
[b][b]The Galaxy A21s manages to produce a correct sound on all frequencies by offering much more power than the Redmi Note 9, this power is not very well controlled because at maximum volume the distortions are more important. So you have to lower the volume by 2 or 3 steps to get a better sound quality.[b][b]Noise Level[b]This test aims to identify if the device under test is able to reproduce sounds without too much noise. A high score indicates a low parasite rate, a lower score indicates a higher presence of parasites.
[b][b]The Galaxy A21s is capable of reproducing sound without interference, and it does much better than the Redmi Note 9 even if it is difficult to perceive the difference to the ear.[b][b]

Screen quality

To test the screen, I use a colorimetric probe that measures the color accuracy of a screen, as well as other parameters to see if a screen is able to correctly reproduce an image. I also test the brightness level to determine if the screen will be able to display an image in full sunlight.[b]
Screen size : 6.5
Resolution : 720 x 1600
Ratio : 20:9
Type : IPS LCD
% occupancy : 82
dE white : 8.2
dE red : 10.7
dE green : 8.0
dE blue : 4.4
dE jaune : 4.2
dE cyan : 7.8
dE magenta : 7.7
White temperature : 7883
Contrast : 1350:1
Brightness : 440
% reflection : 47
Colorimetry[b]
samsung galaxy a21s screen calibration
[b][b]Samsung generally produces good displays but this rule does not seem to apply to entry-level models. The Galaxy A21s has a color difference dE of 7.2, which is quite far from what I can get with a Redmi Note 9s for the same price. What does this mean? If you compare the screen of the Samsung with a screen like the one of the Redmi Note 9s, you will see a visible color difference. The Galaxy A21s deviates from the standard especially in the green area.[b][b]The screen is quite large but is limited to a resolution of 720x1600 where we usually find a resolution of 1080x2400 pixels on other phones of the same price. Using fewer pixels on the same surface means a less detailed image. [b][b][b]Top 10 - ranking of the best screens by colorimetry
1. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g dE = 0.73
2. Xiaomi Mi 10t Pro dE = 0.83
3. Redmi Note 11 dE = 0.91
4. Google Pixel 5 dE = 1.11
5. Realme Gt dE = 1.17
6. Xiaomi Mi 11 Lite dE = 1.19
7. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 dE = 1.2
8. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 dE = 1.23
9. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro dE = 1.31
10. Samsung Galaxy S20 dE = 1.4

Number of smartphones in the ranking:55
Position of this smartphone in the ranking:51/55

Note: the colorimetric difference is measured in dE. After three, the human eye will perceive a colorimetric difference, so the dE should be the lowest. The tests were all carried out with a colorimetric probe.
[b]Brightness / Contrast[b]I measured a brightness of 440 cd/m², this is a good score that should allow you to use this phone in almost any condition but there are many phones today that can produce much more light. This can be felt in bright sunlight where 440 cd/m² may be slightly insufficient for good readability.[b][b] I measured a contrast ratio of 1350:1, which is an average score for this type of screen. Once again the Redmi Note 9s does better for the same price.[b][b]

Biometry

The Samsung Galaxy A21s is equipped with a fingerprint sensor on the back, this sensor is fast and efficient. It also works better than most on-screen sensors. The 2D facial recognition also works well.[b][b]

Operating system

The Samsung Galaxy A21s benefits from Samsung's know-how for its operating system. Samsung UI is undoubtedly one of the most advanced operating systems on the market. If you come from a basic Android version, the adaptation time will be minimal.[b][b][b]

Encoutered bugs

Not yet available / tested[b][b]

Accessories Samsung Galaxy A21s

To better enjoy your experience with your smartphone, I offer links to all kinds of accessories that you might find useful

Protective cover / case samsung galaxy a21s
Screen protection film samsung galaxy a21s
Memory card samsung galaxy a21s
USB Cable / Charger samsung galaxy a21s
Headphones samsung galaxy a21s
Bike rack samsung galaxy a21s

Compare Samsung Galaxy A21s with the others

I assigned a score of 1 to 10 for each test that determines the strengths and weaknesses of a product. I am using 0 for criteria that have not (yet) been tested. A score of 1 to 3 indicates poor performance (and yes, it does), a score of 4 to 6 indicates average performance, a score of 7 to 8 indicates good performance, and a score of 9 and 10 indicates exceptional performance. .
The score is calculated based on my measurements and when there are no measurements, it is a subjective opinion based on my experience.

The scores are not static, they change over time because the performance of new products changes and this must be taken into account.

Samsung Galaxy A21s
Finish quality6.006.00
Battery performance6.008.00
CPU performance3.006.5
GPU performance3.006.5
Screen quality5.007.00
Photo quality6.005.00
Video quality6.005.00
Wi-Fi performance7.007.00
Mobile download speed7.005.00
Mobile network sensitivity6.006.00
Frequency coverage7.007.00
Audio quality6.006.00
GPS performance6.006.00
Operating system8.008.00
Overall score8289
Global ranking
1. Realme Gt 112.5 / 140
2. Poco F2 Pro 111.5 / 140
3. Poco F3 111.5 / 140
4. Samsung Galaxy S20 111 / 140
5. Google Pixel 5 109.6 / 140
6. Poco X3 Pro 107.5 / 140
7. Xiaomi 11t 107 / 140
8. Samsung Galaxy S10+ 107 / 140
9. Xiaomi Mi 9t Pro 106 / 140
10. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro 105.5 / 140
11. Tcl 10 Pro 104 / 140
12. Xiaomi Mi 11 Lite 104 / 140
13. Samsung Galaxy A52 104 / 140
14. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10s 102 / 140
15. Poco M4 Pro 101.5 / 140
16. Redmi Note 11 101 / 140
17. Xiaomi Mi Note 10 Lite 101 / 140
18. Xiaomi Mi 10 Lite 5g 101 / 140
19. Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 101 / 140
20. Poco X3 101 / 140
21. Redmi Note 9t 100.5 / 140
22. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro 100 / 140
23. Doogee S96 Pro 98 / 140
24. Poco M3 Pro 98 / 140
25. Xiaomi Mi 9 Lite 98 / 140
26. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9s 98 / 140
27. Redmi 10 97.5 / 140
28. Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 97 / 140
29. F150 R2022 95 / 140
30. Umidigi Bison Pro 95 / 140
31. Poco M3 94.5 / 140
32. Xiaomi Redmi Note 7 94 / 140
33. Realme 6 93 / 140
34. Umidigi Bison 92 / 140
35. Umidigi A9 Pro 92 / 140
36. Oukitel C21 89.5 / 140
37. Xiaomi Mi A3 89 / 140
38. Motorola G8 Power 89 / 140
39. Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 89 / 140
40. Nokia 5.3 89 / 140
41. Oneplus Nord N100 88.5 / 140
42. Honor 9x 88 / 140
43. Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite 86 / 140
44. Meizu Note 9 86 / 140
45. Xiaomi Redmi Note 5 85 / 140
46. Umidigi S3 Pro 83 / 140
47. Samsung Galaxy A21s 82 / 140
48. Umidigi F2 82 / 140
49. Redmi 9a 81 / 140
50. Redmi 9c 80 / 140
51. Ulefone Armor 7e 80 / 140
52. Doogee S58 Pro 78.5 / 140
53. Honor 8x 78 / 140
54. Umidigi F1 77 / 140
55. Huawei Y6 2019 74 / 140
56. Xiaomi Mi 10t Pro 57 / 70
57. Elephone U5 0 / 0

Test / Review conclusion

Not yet available / tested[b][b][b]Strengths[b]Daylight photo/video quality[b]Battery life[b]Signal wifi/4G[b]Operating system[b][b][b]Weaknesses[b]Low performance[b]Screen colorimetry[b][b][b]Alternatives to this product[b][b]In the same price range, I rather recommend the Redmi Note 9s which outperforms the A21s in most areas except for daylight photography and 4G network sensitivity.[b][b]

laurent willen Laurent Willen
Instead of watching nonsense on TV or YouTube, I spend my time in the evenings testing products and sharing my passion for technology, travel and photography.

I run this site in my own name and completely independently, no one pays me to do so.

I have more than 20 years of experience in the digital world, I have managed and developed many high traffic websites in companies in Belgium such as Mobistar, Microsoft, Immoweb, BrusselsAirlines, Proximus, Orange,...

Comments

Join the discussion / Ask your questions

Your comment will be published after validation. I respond to over 1500 comments a year in my spare time, so I can't always respond very quickly. Your email address will not be publicly visible and it will not be used for commercial purposes.









Be notified by email when a response is published